Sharks snub Solly again
8 Feb 2006
Springbok flank Solly Tyibilika still can’t find a way into the Sharks match 22.
Coach Dick Muir has gone with veteran loose forward Warren Britz at No 6 and named Samoan import Daniel Farani on the bench for Saturday’s match against the Chiefs in Durban. It is a selection that will no doubt irk Bok coach Jake White who has spent the last two years trying to convince the Sharks that Tyibilika is good enough to play in the Vodacom Super 14.
Tyibilika earlier in the week told keo.co.za that he needed regular game time ahead of the World Cup and was in the best form of his life. In Bok conditioning tests held over the last year, Tyibilika was always the fittest loose forward in the squad.
While Muir’s decision to play Britz and AJ Venter on the flanks is understandable, he will have a hard time defending the selection of a foreigner ahead of a black Bok.
However, Britz’s selection is subject to a fitness test after he obtained a mild strain at training on Tuesday evening, when he was pulled from training as a precautionary measure.
Should he be unable to play, his position will be taken by Jacques Botes with Farani moving to eighthman, and Tyibilika taking his place on the bench.
Britz’s inclusion should be finalised at training on Wednesday evening.
Sharks team to play Chiefs:
15. JP Pietersen
14. Dusty Noble
13. Gcobani Bobo
12. Andries Strauss
11. Henno Mentz
10. Percy Montgomery
9. Ruan Pienaar
8. Jacques Botes
7. AJ Venter (c)
6. Warren Britz
5. Johann Muller
4. Johan Ackermann
3. Brendon Botha
2. Skipper Badenhorst
1. Heinke van der Merwe
Reserves:
16. Jody Jenneker
17. Brent Moyle
18. Albert van den Berg
19. Daniel Farani
20. Sandile Nxumalo
21. Bradley Barritt
22. Brent Russell

146 Comments
8 Feb 2006, 15:39 pm
bigg – I certainly don’t believe that picking Britz ahead of Solly weakens the team. For one thing, Britz’s defence is 100% better than Solly’s, which is comforting when he’s playing against Lauaki the freak.
Solly will get his chance – no way Britz is going to play all 13 games!
8 Feb 2006, 15:43 pm
hobo
You KWV and munkiboi must be friends.
***** the whole lot of you.
8 Feb 2006, 15:46 pm
hobo – not quite. We’re talking about a single player here and the consensus among those who actually know something (not you, in other words) is that BJ is one of the most underrated players in the country.
8 Feb 2006, 15:47 pm
rob, you mean all 15 games? 13 games plus 1 semi and one final?
8 Feb 2006, 15:47 pm
RobD yes I agree about Britz but **** could play him on the other flank… I dont know, ity does not hurt to have to specialized fetchers playing two different roles. At least put him on the bench… Sorry Rob D but **** has got this wrong first round… Solly needs game time…
8 Feb 2006, 15:48 pm
X- Fire… you mean the Stormers, yes we will play 15 games…
8 Feb 2006, 15:51 pm
bigg
comical
8 Feb 2006, 15:52 pm
bigg, ja the stormers will play 15 games including the CC…
8 Feb 2006, 15:53 pm
x – I’m definitely buying you a beer on Sunday for that one!
bigg – I’m tempted to agree with you. A combination of Solly and Britz with a hard guy like AJ would probably work. I’d probably go with that over the Britz/Botes combo. I’d still prefer two big guys (AJ and Farani or maybe an in-form Breedt) with a specialised fetcher. In my opinion, the pecking order is clearly Britz, then Solly. Botes to me is a good impact player. Great skills and vision, but he’s too small for 8 and hasn’t mastered 6.
8 Feb 2006, 15:53 pm
Get a wake up call — stop being emotional, Solly, was never teh best fetcher after SCHALK & if you are honest you will accept this. We know why Solly was picked so stop beating around the bush.
He has deficiencies in his play which the “staff” have told him about & he has to work on this. The Sharks are trying to stay out of the “RED ZONE” SO WHY NOT PLAY WHAT **** DEEMS HIS STRONGEST TEAM.
PLEASE, guys, see the picture.
8 Feb 2006, 15:57 pm
I think that Britz at 7 and Solly at 6 will work, but not not againts the Chiefs. The Chiefs are going to be really physical, especially their loosies. Maybe in another game.
8 Feb 2006, 15:58 pm
RobD – well I hope for the Sharks fans that all goes well… good Luck and I will be rooting for the Sharks believe it or not… By that I should be pissed coz we would have watched the Stormers game, watching at Peddlars on the bend – a great pub in Cape Town…
8 Feb 2006, 16:03 pm
agreed, x. I still would’ve gone with Farani or Breedt ahead of Botes for this game, though.
8 Feb 2006, 16:04 pm
bigg – last time I was at peddlars they had to carry me out! Awesome spot. That and Forries are my two favourite spots to watch rugger in Cape Town
8 Feb 2006, 16:07 pm
As a Sharks fan i’m a bit pissed about this – not that Britz got the nod ahead of Solly, but that Solly didn’t even make the natch 22.
Come home boys Solly @6; Gerber @ 7 and Watson @ 8 and captain for the Spears next year.
8 Feb 2006, 16:08 pm
robd,
Have to agree – BJ Botha has been handing most looseheads’ asses to them on a plate. He’s one helluva scrummager.
Off the topic, I hope the Sharks come good this year. Its sad to see the team that has been the flagbearing SA franchise struggle so much.
8 Feb 2006, 16:08 pm
robd when last have you been at kingspark?
8 Feb 2006, 16:12 pm
robd.
Where is Nico Breedt?
8 Feb 2006, 16:12 pm
Geez Mountain Goats …
A New 70 000 capacity stadium …
You must be so excited , now you’s can hold The 3N Final …
The Cape Carnival …
and the *** Pride march on the same day in the same venue …
Moerse lekker vir julle !
8 Feb 2006, 16:14 pm
Yeah Botes is proabably a better super sub with Farani at 8. But who knows maybe when Farani does come on we could get the Chiefs worried…. Not Solly’s game this one.
So the question is asked – who are the top 4 loosies at the Sharks? For me, AJ is definitely no 1 and would be part of any combination. I pick Britz at no 2.
nos 3&4 need to be a combination of a big guy and a little guy – so you can’t really have Botes and Solly filling in those places. You need one of them with a guy like Farani, Breedt or Immelman in the other spot.
Now we all know that **** has a soft spot for Botes and to be fair, the guy has better ball skills and vision than Solly T does. Solly has a lot of pace, fitness and heart, but Britz and Botes have those attributes too, plus something extra.
Murp,Dawn is gonna kak you out for targeting ****.
i have said it before i will say it again super 12/14 is there to bridge the gap between currie cup and test match rugby it is another step in grooming our players into world beaters we should invest in our own players. i don’t mind bringing experienced foreigners in to pass on knowledge and experience, but who is this samoan chap?
the only conclusion that can be reached here is that muir would rather develop samoan rugby than south african rugby. solly is a test match quality player, why is it that only jake white seems to acknowledge this fact? perhaps we should send our coaches on a life skills course with an emphasis on racial equality.
continued decisions like this will only damage sa rugby and invariably the sharks will get relegated.
8 Feb 2006, 16:15 pm
RobD – well come this saturday. We will be sitting at the table next to the doors leading to the beer garden… Pull in!!??
8 Feb 2006, 16:15 pm
Kevin W – we agree on something for a change… With you on Solly…
8 Feb 2006, 16:16 pm
ktb – I think it’s fair to say Solly has been judged (by the muppits supporting him) on his Bok performances – and they have not been bad. One game against the Argies, when J Cronje did nothing and put a tremendous workload on Smith & Solly was his worst show.
8 Feb 2006, 16:16 pm
bliksem – not since the tri-nations test in 02. KSA – he’s in the squad. Just hasn’t been selected for this one.
8 Feb 2006, 16:17 pm
My predictions for Saturday at Kings Park.
Sharks to lose.
Lots of pissed chicks at One Stop.
bigg where are you watching the game?
8 Feb 2006, 16:18 pm
Im going down tomorrow night,obviously not for the game especially.Gonna be a good jol I reckon should be a couple of people with false hope at the start of the season pitching up.
8 Feb 2006, 16:18 pm
Bliksem – i came to work this morning in a real bad mood… I read your post re Mac hitting rock bottom and writing for Keo is rock bottom…**** that was funny… LOL You made my day and I am still laughing about it… So you recon Simon is a kuk journalist??
8 Feb 2006, 16:21 pm
Bliksem – I am watching the rugby at Peddlars on Saturday. I go there all the time and you?
8 Feb 2006, 16:21 pm
Simon is.He doesnt realise that he is busy creating his future career wise.He is a very shortsighted young man,a very short man as well.i dont think keo hires people that are taller than him.Then he drags my mother into the whiole thing.Simon,both my parents were murdered 2 years ago so at the next Muppit evening in Jhb me and you are going to have a serious ****** talk.
8 Feb 2006, 16:22 pm
I think you all in for a surprise this weekend. Hurricanes, Brumbies, Cheetahs, Crusaders, Waratahs, Cats and Sharks. Looking forward to the One Stop chicks though : )
8 Feb 2006, 16:22 pm
where is peddlers?I am watching the game at Kingspark this weekend from the Quins box,and getting plastered.
8 Feb 2006, 16:23 pm
Fawlty are you going to one stop?
8 Feb 2006, 16:23 pm
Bulls – Cheetahs game on Sky Sports 3 at 5pm for us UK dwellers on Friday.
Sharks – Chiefs on at 6pm on Sky Sports 2 on Saturday.
Stormers – Waratahs on next Saturday.
8 Feb 2006, 16:24 pm
bigg – would love to, but I live in Jozi.
Dee Dah, you plonker, you’re missing the fact that Farani and Solly play completely different roles in the loose trio. It’s pointless trying to compare them to one another.
BTW – the relegation debacle makes it each man for himself. The Sharks (and any other SA team for that matter) must play whatever players they see fit to ensure them of suceess. SARU has created this fuckup, so they must live with the consequences.
8 Feb 2006, 16:29 pm
cheers guys I’m off like a jewish foreskin
8 Feb 2006, 16:31 pm
Afternoon boys
long time no see.
Bliksem Fok – you make me laugh… Peddlars is in Cape Town Constantia, best place to watch rugga…
Looks like I am going to the game now so I will definitely be breazing through One Stop for one drink…..ok maybe 1 drink 2 many
Dagsê Veltie,
Whats up?
8 Feb 2006, 16:33 pm
Howzit RC
freezing my arse off; working hard. Nothing much.
Just shaking my head when I see the **** that still goes on in SA rugby…
8 Feb 2006, 16:33 pm
Just a question about The Force, are their kinsman called force-kins?
8 Feb 2006, 16:34 pm
LMAO RC
8 Feb 2006, 16:34 pm
You in UK right? Its not been very warm in Joburg. Cool rainy and generally as misserable as my mother in law to be.
8 Feb 2006, 16:38 pm
Ja, sitting in London. so when you getting married, RC? I just got engaged three weeks ago. Getting married early next year.
Was in Cape town for 3 weeks over Christmas. Glorious glorious glorious
8 Feb 2006, 16:41 pm
congrats, Veltie! Say cheers to your *** life
8 Feb 2006, 16:41 pm
Veltie, in Oktober got engaged on the ‘Weskus’ in December just bloody marvellous that place. Congrats by the way… So val die helde!
8 Feb 2006, 16:43 pm
*october*