Sharks snub Solly again

Springbok flank Solly Tyibilika still can’t find a way into the Sharks match 22.

Coach Dick Muir has gone with veteran loose forward Warren Britz at No 6 and named Samoan import Daniel Farani on the bench for Saturday’s match against the Chiefs in Durban. It is a selection that will no doubt irk Bok coach Jake White who has spent the last two years trying to convince the Sharks that Tyibilika is good enough to play in the Vodacom Super 14.

Tyibilika earlier in the week told keo.co.za that he needed regular game time ahead of the World Cup and was in the best form of his life. In Bok conditioning tests held over the last year, Tyibilika was always the fittest loose forward in the squad.

While Muir’s decision to play Britz and AJ Venter on the flanks is understandable, he will have a hard time defending the selection of a foreigner ahead of a black Bok.

However, Britz’s selection is subject to a fitness test after he obtained a mild strain at training on Tuesday evening, when he was pulled from training as a precautionary measure.

Should he be unable to play, his position will be taken by Jacques Botes with Farani moving to eighthman, and Tyibilika taking his place on the bench.

Britz’s inclusion should be finalised at training on Wednesday evening.

Sharks team to play Chiefs:

15. JP Pietersen
14. Dusty Noble
13. Gcobani Bobo
12. Andries Strauss
11. Henno Mentz
10. Percy Montgomery
9. Ruan Pienaar
8. Jacques Botes
7. AJ Venter (c)
6. Warren Britz
5. Johann Muller
4. Johan Ackermann
3. Brendon Botha
2. Skipper Badenhorst
1. Heinke van der Merwe

Reserves:
16. Jody Jenneker
17. Brent Moyle
18. Albert van den Berg
19. Daniel Farani
20. Sandile Nxumalo
21. Bradley Barritt
22. Brent Russell

146 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] Show All

• 101.Veltie: Reply to this comment

Ja jong. so val die manne. Geluk en sterkte jou kant ook. Weskus is awesome. I used to go diving in Lambertsbaai and Donkiesbaai quite often. cold water but moerse krewe!

• 102.Veltie: Reply to this comment

Howzit RobD

So why is Solly not in ****’s squad?

As for my *** life… healthy at present – and it will stay that way after the wedding. with or without her… (joke)

• 103.gecko: Reply to this comment

rob – just a shared mortgage and a cat cost me my sexlife. and she’s talking kids – engagement hasn’t even come up as a topic yet.

• 104.RedCard: Reply to this comment

Had supper at Die strandloper one evening, R140 bucks pp for a 9 course meal, jeepers I’ll go back any time. Stayed in Paternoster, not a shabby neck of the woods.

• 105.Fawlty: Reply to this comment

Eish

• 106.Veltie: Reply to this comment

Next time you are there – try “Die Boesmanlandplaaskombuis”. I think they are better than the Strandloper. Bit cheaper, but atmosphere is unbelievable. they start you off with a Vaaljapie when you enter…

It’s also in Langebaan – just passed the Mykonos turnoff.

• 107.RedCard: Reply to this comment

Veltie you know why the ladies smile when they walk down the isle?

• 108.Veltie: Reply to this comment

Heard that one, yup.

• 109.Veltie: Reply to this comment

So gentlemen

What are the predictions for the Stormers game on Sat?

• 110.RedCard: Reply to this comment

I’ve heard about it, sounds awesome. I’m not too sure that I will get back to the west coast very soon again, lady love has a son, which I am proud to say, is just about mine as well, and there is not too much for laaities to do.

It’ll bore him shitless!

• 111.robdylan: Reply to this comment

Veltie – your right hand will become your best friend!

• 112.gecko: Reply to this comment

I predict a nervous afternoon running between a Six Nations game and internet commentory on RSG.
    Stormers – just, possibly by 2 in a poor game.

• 113.robdylan: Reply to this comment

Veltie – Cats to win by 2

• 114.RedCard: Reply to this comment

Veltie I’ve got the Cats by 5, Bulls by 7, Chiefs by 10 (sorry rob), Crusaders by 10, Blues by 10, Brumbies by 15 and Waratahs by 20.

• 115.Veltie: Reply to this comment

RC

what do you mean man? There are lots of stuff for the laaities to do. Diving, fishing, dunesurfing, quadbiking, swimming.

But when you are there again – try it out. worth every cent.

• 116.Ig: Reply to this comment

Also check out Strand Kombuis in Yezerfontein….pretty sweet

• 117.RedCard: Reply to this comment

And old IG pops up like pimple, howzit boet?

• 118.Veltie: Reply to this comment

RobD

LMAO – but I’m left-handed. Honest

Ja, I’ve got to agree with the predictions. I don’t have too much faith in my moutain goats. The backline looks lekker. I havn’t seen this new winger of ours – not Nokwe, the other one – but I hear he is blitsvinnig.

• 119.robdylan: Reply to this comment

That’s ok, RC. Hope you’re wrong. You coming on Sunday?

• 120.Veltie: Reply to this comment

Howzit brew.

• 121.RedCard: Reply to this comment

Rob, will try my best, my better half is an estate agent so sometimes it a bit difficult. Need to keep an eye on the youngster.

• 122.Ig: Reply to this comment

Hey Redcard, looking forward to the game this weekend ? Planning to go ?

Howzit Veltie – nice to see you float in again – whats this about marriage ?

• 123.RedCard: Reply to this comment

Rob and then offcourse I’m going to a braai on Saturday eve. I’m guessing that if my team loses you might see me, If they win well…

TEQUILA!!!!!!

• 124.RedCard: Reply to this comment

Ig wanted to. Havent seen one of my mates in a long time. Remember the name “Gena”? Having a braai with him and some other blokes.

• 125.Veltie: Reply to this comment

ja boet

Got engaged about 3 weeks ago. Getting married early next year on a lekker Stellenbosch wine farm.

jsut sorting out the dates as soon as I get next year’s S14 schedule…

• 126.robdylan: Reply to this comment

Sweet. Bring the lightie, though. Tis brings his kids…

• 127.RedCard: Reply to this comment

Ig, are we wagering a beer or something on the game? Or are the boys from the cape not up to wagers?

• 128.Ig: Reply to this comment

Congrats brew…eish like three of my mates have gone down in the last month ! Something in the air.

Redcard – we can place a little wager ? A quiet beer next time you happen to be in the cape or i happen to stumble north !

• 129.RedCard: Reply to this comment

Veltie,

having mine just after the cc final, this bright spark friend of mine had his wedding on the F%^&ing cc final! His whole family from Bloem, the other half just about all Blue Bulls.

As MC offcourse I did drop the Playstation joke, was hillarious!

• 130.RedCard: Reply to this comment

SHOT Ig, you’re on. Beer it is then. Have to run chaps keep well!

PS! That song about Maak die bulle almal…

We should change it to: Moer die Aussies net met stokke. :)

• 131.Veltie: Reply to this comment

RC

That friend should be shot. I can promise you everybody was listing to theri transistor radios anyway.

Playstation joke?

• 132.Murph: Reply to this comment

Red

I can vouch for Ig , he’s good on his word !

• 133.Veltie: Reply to this comment

Gotto go chaps

• 134.Guppyonroids: Reply to this comment

Ig – Do you know if its possible to log on to a server in the States from Europe, and access sites from the other server? If this is possible, perhaps the rest of us could also take advantage of the kuduclub option to see all the games.

• 135.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

in reply to comment number 2 (yes a bit slow I am)

there are no Noble australians.

• 136.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

with floors getting game time at freestate, could he eclipse Solly as SA’s no 2 no 6? well, 3rd choice really. Jake would play Big Joe there before Solly in a big test match.

• 137.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Ag man this is so sweet!

4 Weddings and a Wedding!!!!

Robdylan. Stop raining on everyone’s parade.

Nice to see manne not scared of commitment for a change. Cmon Stig. Your turn. Pop the question. You know you want to!

• 138.BlouBloed: Reply to this comment

So **** has lost the plot and the Super 14 hasn’t even started yet. Crazy bugger. If this carries on the Sharks will be stuck at the bottom of the log and relegated at the end of the Super 14. No Springbok captain in next years Super 14.

• 139.CouchRugga: Reply to this comment

**** Muir is a conservative ********. For this the sharks must go down and Solly must jump ship before they do. Solly is a waste of a guy with one of the best attitudes towards the game.

Death to the Sharks!

• 140.Jason: Reply to this comment

poor solly waisting his time at the sharks!!!
    under rated loosie pretty sad but u hear the sharks have sighned another samoan player a wing
    who is 114kgs

• 141.Jason: Reply to this comment

plus wats so great about warren britz????

• 142.Onlooker: Reply to this comment

Simon,
    Why when Brent Russell is dropprd there’s no protest from your side
    Muir only became a vilain when dear Solly is dropped, why?
    Solly was subbed at half time against Wales and dropped altogether against France by JW for being ineffective at the breakdown, it only happened 3 months ago.

• 143.Grune: Reply to this comment

Shame, Solly is such a nice guy … No, really. His always the first at every ******* breakdown point, so that he can cheer on the guys who can fight for the ball on the ground … WTF … Who needs cheerleaders, when you have Solly, because **** knows what else he is suppose to do on the field. Sorry guys, he just ain’t strong and BIG enough to be a good forward. So unless you wanna irritate the opposition into submission, I suggest we let Solly be.

• 144.cab: Reply to this comment

could be a hellse side this sharks side, i like ackerman, muller, BJ and AJ all in the same side. Mofo what a pack, throw John Smit and Daniel Farani in the mix and that pack is going to steamroll many a team.

• 145.RedCard: Reply to this comment

Veltie,

What does Anton Leonard do after leading the bulls to their 4th successive Currie Cup title?

He turns off the playstation and goes to bed.

The ‘Staters loved me, the Bulls wanted to hang me.

• 146.Murph: Reply to this comment

This is Bullshit !

Pages: « 1 2 [3] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.