Sharks to sign Snyman
15 Mar 2006
Andre Snyman could join the Sharks when he returns to South Africa from his stint with the Leeds Tykes.
Sharks CEO Brian van Zyl confirmed that Snyman could be on his way back to Durban, after Bok coach Jake White offered the centre/wing a contract ahead of the World Cup.
Snyman has been in excellent form, playing on the wing, in a weak Leeds team in the English Premiership this season and White believes the Springboks need his experience at the World Cup in France next year.
“Yes, SA Rugby have asked us if we can accommodate Andre,” Van Zyl told The Witness. “We have told them that we would definitely be interested in having him but we certainly haven’t committed ourselves as yet.”
Snyman’s mother lives in Umhlanga and he is reportedly keen to return to Durban.

79 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All
15 Mar 2006, 13:53 pm
Goei aanwins.
15 Mar 2006, 14:04 pm
What an awesome player he was, both on attack and defense.
Snyman was the fastest Bok in the 98 team that won the Tri-Nations under Mallet. His great pace -much quicker than Jeff Wilson – was a great attribute, considering that we had an outside centre who was faster than the opposing wings in almost every game.
Many a time his pace neutralized an opposing overlap on the cover defence. He actually ran down their wings!
On attack, he was even better. Best outside gap bar none. Unlike Habana, he coupled great pace with incredible strength.
His only weakness was his hands (figuratively), and of course his ankles (literally).
When he played for the Bulls he was awesome. Even Danie v Schalkwyk’s ineptitude could not make Snyman look bad next to him.
His solo try at Twickenham was legendary.
I also remember the celebrity 200m sprint at the horseracing track, where Snyman left Percy, Joost, Joubert etc. in the dust.
Man he had pace.
Hope he is still great now that he is a bit slower off the mark.
All in all, one of my all time favourite players.
15 Mar 2006, 14:06 pm
How is Thinus Delport’s from these days? He was the only guy imo who had a decent showing in the last RWC.
15 Mar 2006, 14:07 pm
i also loved this guy. didnt he fire for the sharks in a super 12 a few seasons ago? just after coming back from injury and just before he left the country.
this guy is to me like pieter muller, i always seem to think of the two together.
15 Mar 2006, 14:22 pm
Now this is an outstanding signing, the sharks side is starting to look exceptional, they needed some talented centers and Snyman is made to order.
15 Mar 2006, 14:30 pm
Maybe the Sharks should sign Lem and Teichman up as well. And Andre Joubert… and Mark Andrews… And Wahl… Would be a mean team…
15 Mar 2006, 14:33 pm
YEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!!!
What more can we ask for?
Andre back at the sharks would be absolutely FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!!
Yeah for Andre!
15 Mar 2006, 14:47 pm
Snyman could & would have been a legend if not for injuries.
Now he is an abslute monster & what he has lost in speed he has in strenght. I rekon he will give the Bulls front 5 a hiding!
15 Mar 2006, 14:55 pm
can you believe it. seems most of us agree on this one. Is this the end of provisialism. lol
15 Mar 2006, 15:03 pm
no more slapchips to fall on him and break his ankles
15 Mar 2006, 15:08 pm
It seems as if the Sharks are looking good for the future. Lots of younsters and a few old hands to guide the young players. So the signing of old Stroily as Director of coaching was not such a bad idea after all. Maybe the Stormers can swap Stroily with Mallett.
15 Mar 2006, 15:14 pm
It’s about time some of the home boys came back. One or two more, like Sowerby and the Sharks will be up there again. We are on a upward curve now and with the Wildebeasts shaking the Vodacom cup, things are looking up. Dickie is the man !!
15 Mar 2006, 15:23 pm
Yip I remember reading once that Jeremy Guscott said that Snyman in his prime was the best centre he ever played against. Justin(Wanker) Marshall who is also playing for leeds also recently said that Snyman is the toughest/hardest player he ever played with.
Would have been one of the best if it wasnt for all the injuries early in his career. Still awesome player though. He has been one of Leeds best player the last few seasons and believe me they are a **** side but Andre has always been solid on the wing for them. Wonder why they didnt use him more in Centre.
15 Mar 2006, 15:26 pm
Oh yeah. Can’t wait : )
15 Mar 2006, 15:29 pm
Just had a look at the Opta stats on Sky Sports regarding the UK premiership and andre is 9th on the list of the top ball carriers with 129. Top guy is on 150. And 8th on the Top tacklers list on 124. And this is all playing of wing.
Out of interest Tinus Delport is 10th on the top metre makers list with 806 metres. But I think he has been injured for a few games mid season as he missed a few matches.
15 Mar 2006, 15:40 pm
Yeah! Wahl Bartmann for president
15 Mar 2006, 15:46 pm
looking at his stats, it appears snyman has really developed a very powerful build, he was always wiry strong, but i see he’s 103kgs these days, reckon thats at least 15kgs extra to when he played for the boks. He’ll always have a bit of pace.
Great option to have at either wing or centre.
15 Mar 2006, 15:49 pm
cab – reckon – Jakes looking at him on the wing – with Ashwin out indefinelty we are a little shy in that Dept….top it all off he has experience playing in NH conditions.
15 Mar 2006, 16:08 pm
I would pick Snyman anytime ahead of any of the Gel boys from the cape, including JDV.
15 Mar 2006, 16:11 pm
Stan….and thats why you post here and don’t pick rugby sides
15 Mar 2006, 16:13 pm
OK so the heading says Sharks to sign Snyman.This means its definitive as the word to alludes to.In the story you guys say he may.Mmmm
15 Mar 2006, 16:17 pm
Ig, yes would be nice to have a powerful winger too perhaps complement the pace of Habs, especially if Ashwin is out. Some fantastic depth in JdV, Joubert, Barry, Fourie – for once we’re getting a backline with pace, power and skill.
15 Mar 2006, 16:17 pm
Yeah.. the sharks are coming together nicely (lets hope)
Credit to Streali,Van Zyl **** and crew … theyv gained a LOT of ground lately and their depth and structures have devolpd nicely…
As I said, NO 1 was expecting this, even me.. so DURBANITES(KZN ppl), lets get behind our boys when they get back.. I hope they sort their tour out @least get a win..
Wev got to start making noise and be counted.. I cant stand this BLOU BULLS tryp..That being THE PINNICLE of SA RUGBY..OH GOSH !!!
15 Mar 2006, 16:18 pm
DAMN SHAME bout Ashwin…
15 Mar 2006, 16:19 pm
The Bill,
That only because he was a Bull!
15 Mar 2006, 16:20 pm
Oh Gosh Nathino !
Yeah, beef up your side with a ex-Bull !
15 Mar 2006, 16:20 pm
nathino are you stoned or pissed.Muir is not a coach.Van Zyl only cares about himself and his friends in high places,stuff the fans.I dont know how they appointed Strauli without advertising the post.
15 Mar 2006, 16:21 pm
My first fish for the day- Ig the Sardine.
Is that why you work here and we all post here Ig?
15 Mar 2006, 16:23 pm
I guess he could really add some much needed experience too a very young Sharks side.
I still wish the Sharks could find a real flyer for their back 3.
15 Mar 2006, 16:24 pm
Nah stan i work here cause its a cushy job and the pays pretty good – whats your excuse ?
15 Mar 2006, 16:24 pm
Nathino no one in Aussie wants to give Campo a job.Go figure.
15 Mar 2006, 16:26 pm
Nathino
O, en steek weg jou girlfriend anders gaan Andre dit sommer namens jou doen.
15 Mar 2006, 16:27 pm
Rude wat gaan Andre namens hom doen?Sy girl wegsteek?
15 Mar 2006, 16:28 pm
Bliksem
Jip. Sien my post nr 20.
15 Mar 2006, 16:32 pm
Rude hy sal darem nie n doll by kan wegvat nie so daai is vir my n interresante brokkie nuus en n waarskuwing vir julle gewone manne wat nou nie n charmer soos ek by die dolle is nie.Hoekom rafel die manne so uit?Maak nie saak wie jy is nie daar is altyd iemand wat jou kan moer.
15 Mar 2006, 16:32 pm
Ig, Praat kak met die diere, soos Kepler gesê het!
nahtino, name me 5 players that learned to play rugby in natal in the Sharks team?
15 Mar 2006, 16:35 pm
Stan vandat Mackintosh weg is is daar niemand daar gewees om hulle teleer om rugby tespeel nie.Swys de Bruin doen darem goed met die Wildebeeste
15 Mar 2006, 16:36 pm
Ok, so Andre het nie die hint gekry dat die girl nie belangstel nie. Dis in die verlede. Besides, bliksem ek sal betaal om te sien hoe jy vir andre moer, hy’s ‘n groot mannetjie, ek’t hom ontmoet voor hy weg is en hy was toe al stewig.
15 Mar 2006, 16:36 pm
Bliksem
“Charmer soos ek by die dolle” – LMFAO !
Flip, dink net wat gaan met jou gebeur as jy onwetend met Danie Pakslae Rossouw se girl peuter !
15 Mar 2006, 16:39 pm
sharksgirl ek se nie ek kan hom moer nie.gaan lees weer.gaan lees rudebud se post no20.Veral die happily married deel.sy het by die golfdag laat weet sy stel nie belang nie en toe hou hy aan.Dis bietjie ongevraagd in my boek.
15 Mar 2006, 16:40 pm
Sharkgirl
“Hy’s ‘n groot mannetjie” & “Hy was toe al stewig”
Klink my jy veral sal moet ligloop….
15 Mar 2006, 16:41 pm
sharksgirl,bottom line.Respect marriage.Thats all that I am saying.I would never try and spade a married,engaged or a chick in a relationship.Neither would i give into advances from chicks fitting the before mentioned description.
15 Mar 2006, 16:44 pm
I did not say that what he did was/is right!!!
Rudebud – leave the mind games for your woman/man ok!
Besides, andre isn’t here to defend himself, so someone has to!
15 Mar 2006, 16:46 pm
sharksgirl so why do you feel you have to defend him?Rudebud was there you werent so what makes you capable to defend a person in a situation where you werent even present but Rudebud was?
15 Mar 2006, 16:49 pm
Sharky
You don’t have to defended Andre.
Seeing that you are so closely connected to the Sharks team why don’t you ask Andre if he can remember the Discovery gholf day at Devonvale (close to Stellenbosch) where he was guest speaker ?
15 Mar 2006, 16:49 pm
In general i have to defend all sharks player, old and new.
So don’t get your R2 nickers in a twist!
15 Mar 2006, 16:51 pm
Rude – i might just do that when i see hom again, whenever that may be!
15 Mar 2006, 16:52 pm
Sharks girl how old are you?In general you have to defend all sharks players?Is that part of some kind of oath you have to say when joining the junior sharks club.Are you going to take Rudebud up on his suggestion.Where in Dbn did you hang out?You sound like a town clown
15 Mar 2006, 16:53 pm
Sharky
You’re gonna be one big dissapointed Shark groupie…
15 Mar 2006, 16:54 pm
sharkiegirl dont if or but.Ask Andre when you see him again and I am sure Rudebud is man enough to apoligise if he is wrong,which i doubt.
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All