Saders survive Waratah siege
7 Apr 2006
The Waratahs were within 15m of the Crusaders’ line from the 70th minute until the 83rd, but the champs did not crack and emerged with an epic 17-11 victory in their Vodacom Super 14 clash in Christchurch.
Those who have bemoaned the quality of rugby in the competition should be handed a tape of a masterful 80 minutes, and sent to a quiet room to practise the art of apologising.
A repeat of last year’s final was hyped, and what transpired was a game worthy of a final. The two leading sides in the competition reinforced why the smart money has to be on Sydney or Christchurch laying claim to the inaugural Vodacom Super 14.
Which of the two, however, is still debatable.
A halftime score of 14-3 seemed to answer the question, as the Saders delivered the near perfect 40. Both scores through Chris Jack and Leon MacDonald were works of art, but what was even more remarkable was the fact that Jonny Kaplan did not award the Crusaders a single penalty in the first half.
The Tahs conceded one in the second half, which Dan Carter banged over, but that was it. To triumph in the face of such incredible discipline is perhaps the most glowing tribute the Crusaders could receive.
Equally, it is a testament to the effort of the Tahs. The old cliche that it takes two teams for a great game of footy is applicable, and the Sydney side’s second half performance showed that they are a team genuinely capable of winning the tournament.
By shutting down their errors to virtually zero, the pressure applied was almost unbearable. Morgan Turinui’s try came packaged with a healthy dose of fortune, but in the context of the second half, it was deserved.
Masterful performances from Carter, Richie McCaw (who made 25 tackles in a demonic defensive display) and MacDonald aside, the Saders won this game through grit and composure. Camped on their line, they did not falter and everything the Tahs threw at them was repelled.
When the first scrum of the game comes after 16 minutes, the losing side only concedes a solitary penalty and arguably the world’s top back Carter and forward McCaw are firing, the recipe is for Test and not regional rugby.
The other 12 sides would have watched with envy, but they should be grateful. Eighty minutes of superb rugby later, and new life has been breathed into a tournament starting to go just a little stale.
SCORERS
Crusaders
Tries: Chris Jack and Leon MacDonald
Cons: Dan Carter 2
Pen: Carter
Waratahs
Try: Morgan Turinui
Pens: Peter Hewat 2
By Chris Hewitt
THE MOMENTS THAT MATTER
66 misn: Scotty Hamilton a few centimetres from scoring an epic. Great chip ahead and chase, he leaves Hewat sprawling but the ball just scrapes the line before he touches down, and the TMO rules not try.
58 mins: Tahs are resurgent in the second 40, and are rewarded with a penalty bang in front. Hewat takes the points. (Hewat 2/5)
49 mins: Tahs are overly robust at ruck time. Three easy points for Carter. (Carter 3/3)
46 mins: Tahs back in it! Hewat launches a seemingly harmless kick downfield, but a wicked bounce embarasses MacDonald and good chasing by Morgan Turinui is rewarded. Hewat misses the conversion. (Hewat 1/4)
39 mins: Corey Flynn is pinged for hands in the ruck, giving Hewat his third opportunity to put the Tahs on the board. This time he nails it. (Hewat 1/3)
34 mins: Saders on fire. It’s patience this time. From a 5m scrum, they go right and suck in defenders repeatedly by bashing it up. A change of direction is deadly, and a huge pass left from Carter has the outside backs lining up. It’s Leon MacDonald who scores it. Carter converts. (Carter 2/2)
28 mins: Reuben Thorne is pinged for breaking his bind at scrumtime early, and Hewat again steps up. It’s a shocker, the worst kick of his career. He scoops it and it’s miles short. (Hewat 0/2)
9 mins: Saders pinged at the ruck, Jonathan Kaplan’s decisions here could be crucial. Peter Hewat misses a difficult attempt. (Hewat 0/1)
6 mins: Awesome score by the champs. A frantic beginning sees the skills of both these sides exhibited, as the ball is spread and interchanged without one knock. The Saders are just that much more incisive, and fine angles by virtually the entire team in a multiphase movement stretches the Tahs enough for a switch on the wing to find Chris Jack with no-one in front of him. Carter converts. (Carter 1/1)
3 mins: Aaorn Mauger takes the gap brilliantly, steps and dummies and he’s clear. Well weighted kick ahead bobbles in-goal, and Peter Hewat just outsprints Dan Carter to dot down.

625 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 13 » Show All
7 Apr 2006, 07:35 am
ha ha, in half an hours time i’ll be sitting with a draught in the pub suckers wathcing the game!!!!! Enjoy work
7 Apr 2006, 07:41 am
ha ha ha next weekend I will be sitting in my holiday home at a beutifull dam with stunning sunsets,eating crayfish.Having a braai NOT a barbeque with decent meat and some biltong.Enjoy the Fosters Moegrat.What a ****** drop.
7 Apr 2006, 07:48 am
Moegrat and Bliksem,
you can have your beer and your crayfish for a week. i’ve got a Table Mountain view every time i watch the beuatiful game from my TV room and also every night i step on to the balcony for a cold one.
I rate the Waratahs as an attacking force, but doubt that they can force the Crusaders into enough errors to take the game. Hewat and Carter’s goal kicking will be key as well as Tahs’ new flyhalf in a pressure cooker game.
7 Apr 2006, 07:49 am
next weekend i’ll be in Thailand drinking cheap beer whilst watching the rugby
7 Apr 2006, 07:50 am
ye i’ll put a 100 bucks on the Crusaders, the forward battle is going to be an interisting one with Rithchie and Phil going at each other
7 Apr 2006, 07:51 am
Bliksem…
So, how does she look?
7 Apr 2006, 07:54 am
Langman i dont know,dont really care.RiaanF31 good for you.I can go to my holiday home every weekend if I want to.Despite the probs SA stays a beautifull place.Personally I am not a mountain oke.I will rather relax next to the water and do some bassfishing.
7 Apr 2006, 07:56 am
Hello everyone, see that Keo’s dating service is open early for business this morning.
7 Apr 2006, 07:59 am
Bliksem… Why you in such a bad mood, you doos? Lighten up!!!
Moegrat… **** the mountain!!! I got to that urine-soaked hell hole called Cape Town every second weekend to see my family and mates, but Jozzie is the place boet!!!
7 Apr 2006, 08:00 am
Langman no i am not in a bad mood and yes i am a doos because you are what you eat.
7 Apr 2006, 08:01 am
Hi valkie
Well Keo’s dating service seems to have lost a bit of sparkle since yesterday…
7 Apr 2006, 08:03 am
Jozzies is for hookers and crack dealers. Which one are you? Better than Snorcity though (or is it officially Tswane now?)
32 – 22 for Crusaders
7 Apr 2006, 08:08 am
Cape Town is for pussies with no ambition who get off on the fact that they have the stupid mountain to look at from there 2x3m balconies, fooling themselves into thinking that it offers some sort of compensation for the fact that they’re stuck in a minimum wagers, dreaming of the days when their ship will finally sail.
**** boet, you ous are losers!!!!
7 Apr 2006, 08:12 am
Ye enjoy it up there in Gauteng where you chances of getting hijacked, raped, mugged, murdered is 10 times more. Plus the Cats is the worst ever S12 team and will probably finish last this season as well.
You guys up North sure do live the dream
7 Apr 2006, 08:16 am
Stats stats stats boetie…
**** the Cats, I still support my beloved, yet ******* useless Stormers…
7 Apr 2006, 08:17 am
at least you got one thing going for you then
7 Apr 2006, 08:19 am
****, boet, if you calls the Stormers performances “going”, then you need your head read!!!! ***!
7 Apr 2006, 08:20 am
they will be ahead of any south african team this season
7 Apr 2006, 08:20 am
Lets all try get along shall we – its friday – cause enough to celebrate ! And a fine game of rugger to keep our attention
7 Apr 2006, 08:23 am
Yes Langman, chill. Or is the mugger downstairs making you jumpy
7 Apr 2006, 08:24 am
My Stad is beter as joune, nee myne is beter . Nee myne, Nee myne .
WTF.
Are we back in sub A. Moegrat, it must be great being you!
7 Apr 2006, 08:24 am
Hi Iggy…
I agree, but its difficult to reason with these close minded Capetonians.
7 Apr 2006, 08:26 am
Moegrat, I can’t stand the local Thai beer. Tiger is ****. Rather fork out the extra for a Heineken. It’s worth every cent.
I’d put a few bob on the Crusaders. It’s going to be difficult to beat the Saders at home. Eish.
Yes it is great. Especially when my team is on the up (but we’ll talk after the Blues if it is still great to be me)
Moeg
Nope, but my spicey secretary is looking mighty fine this morning.
She just dropped off my coffee and flashed a bit of cleavage as she leant over the desk.
Might ask her if she’s keen to watch the game with me in my office…
7 Apr 2006, 08:27 am
Blues are going to kill us mate…
7 Apr 2006, 08:28 am
Blueblood
Ye i dont dont like Tiger, like Shangai beer altough the hangover on it is like being in a scrum against the Bulls, not fun.
7 Apr 2006, 08:31 am
Lang – difficult to point fingers when you one of the mense arguing
7 Apr 2006, 08:33 am
Jealousy makes you nasty
7 Apr 2006, 08:35 am
Ja true…
7 Apr 2006, 08:37 am
CHRIS YOU MUST OF REALLY WORKED HARD TO GET ALL YOUR STORIES THIS MORNING? ALL ONE HAS TO DO IS WATCH BOOTS & ALL TO GET ALL THE INFORMATION YOU WROTE ON TODAY. WHY DON’T YOU GO OUT AND DIG DEEP FOR RELEVENT INFORMATION INSTEAD OF WHAT NAAS THINKS OF THE BULLS.YOU ARE REALLY A KUK JOURNALIST WHO HAS TO RELY ON SUPERSPORT RUGBY NEWS TO WRITE. GET ANOTHER JOB BROODKOP!!!!
7 Apr 2006, 08:38 am
Ek dink ek gaan hiedie game maar kyk en die werk eers ‘n bietjie los. Die losbal game gaan ‘n helse stryd afgee tussen RM en PW en ek dink die verskil gaan kom in die handling van die balle wat nie uitgeskop word nie.
Die Saders se backs is skrikwekkend met enige turnovers en as hul bal gaan kry is dit die eiende vir Tahs.
Dit is darem ‘n pluimpie vir die Aussies dat die Tahs in ‘n redelike kort tyd hul span so omgedraai het en die laaste 2 jaar werklik lyk soos moontlike wenners v S14.
Die gaping tussen die 2 spanne en enige SA span is werklik so groot soos ‘n werkende vredesooreenkoms tussen Israel en Palistina.
7 Apr 2006, 08:38 am
Heard from Bad Boy lately?
7 Apr 2006, 08:39 am
I feel an upset is due for the ‘Saders.
Whats the hell.Tahs to edge it in a close one.
7 Apr 2006, 08:40 am
hey i dont have boots & all here so dont mind it being posted on the site though on of my friends said that it is really getting kakker by the episode
7 Apr 2006, 08:42 am
I hope the Crusaders kick some a*s today. Hate the bloody Ausies
7 Apr 2006, 08:42 am
Anvil i hope your wrong, hate the Tahs. They are the most arrogant pricks in the S14
7 Apr 2006, 08:46 am
The result is’nt going to have impact on any SA team Moergat.Just going against the tide here.You never know
7 Apr 2006, 08:48 am
Score?
Hi Anvil. I also hope u wrong as I’m a NZ supporter and the Sharks the only SA team I support.
Sorry, I only saw the kick-off time now!
7 Apr 2006, 08:49 am
Lang – Nah – he probably got bored of his little games.
7 Apr 2006, 08:49 am
Good on you reds.
7 Apr 2006, 08:50 am
Aslong as no one gets bonus points i will be happy.
7 Apr 2006, 08:50 am
Bulls to SMASH Chiefs!
7 Apr 2006, 08:51 am
Crusaders to put 50 points on the Tahs!
7 Apr 2006, 08:51 am
Think this is gonna be the game of the weekend!
7 Apr 2006, 08:53 am
Cats vs Reds = Game of the Week!
Battle of the **** C*nts
7 Apr 2006, 08:54 am
saders 42 tahs 17
7 Apr 2006, 08:55 am
Yep game of the weekend for sure, not really looking forward to any of the other games except a little for the stormers/blues one
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 13 » Show All