Saders survive Waratah siege

The Waratahs were within 15m of the Crusaders’ line from the 70th minute until the 83rd, but the champs did not crack and emerged with an epic 17-11 victory in their Vodacom Super 14 clash in Christchurch.

Those who have bemoaned the quality of rugby in the competition should be handed a tape of a masterful 80 minutes, and sent to a quiet room to practise the art of apologising.

A repeat of last year’s final was hyped, and what transpired was a game worthy of a final. The two leading sides in the competition reinforced why the smart money has to be on Sydney or Christchurch laying claim to the inaugural Vodacom Super 14.

Which of the two, however, is still debatable.

A halftime score of 14-3 seemed to answer the question, as the Saders delivered the near perfect 40. Both scores through Chris Jack and Leon MacDonald were works of art, but what was even more remarkable was the fact that Jonny Kaplan did not award the Crusaders a single penalty in the first half.

The Tahs conceded one in the second half, which Dan Carter banged over, but that was it. To triumph in the face of such incredible discipline is perhaps the most glowing tribute the Crusaders could receive.

Equally, it is a testament to the effort of the Tahs. The old cliche that it takes two teams for a great game of footy is applicable, and the Sydney side’s second half performance showed that they are a team genuinely capable of winning the tournament.

By shutting down their errors to virtually zero, the pressure applied was almost unbearable. Morgan Turinui’s try came packaged with a healthy dose of fortune, but in the context of the second half, it was deserved.

Masterful performances from Carter, Richie McCaw (who made 25 tackles in a demonic defensive display) and MacDonald aside, the Saders won this game through grit and composure. Camped on their line, they did not falter and everything the Tahs threw at them was repelled.

When the first scrum of the game comes after 16 minutes, the losing side only concedes a solitary penalty and arguably the world’s top back Carter and forward McCaw are firing, the recipe is for Test and not regional rugby.

The other 12 sides would have watched with envy, but they should be grateful. Eighty minutes of superb rugby later, and new life has been breathed into a tournament starting to go just a little stale.

SCORERS

Crusaders

Tries: Chris Jack and Leon MacDonald
Cons: Dan Carter 2
Pen: Carter

Waratahs

Try: Morgan Turinui
Pens: Peter Hewat 2

By Chris Hewitt

THE MOMENTS THAT MATTER

66 misn: Scotty Hamilton a few centimetres from scoring an epic. Great chip ahead and chase, he leaves Hewat sprawling but the ball just scrapes the line before he touches down, and the TMO rules not try.

58 mins: Tahs are resurgent in the second 40, and are rewarded with a penalty bang in front. Hewat takes the points. (Hewat 2/5)

49 mins: Tahs are overly robust at ruck time. Three easy points for Carter. (Carter 3/3)

46 mins: Tahs back in it! Hewat launches a seemingly harmless kick downfield, but a wicked bounce embarasses MacDonald and good chasing by Morgan Turinui is rewarded. Hewat misses the conversion. (Hewat 1/4)

39 mins: Corey Flynn is pinged for hands in the ruck, giving Hewat his third opportunity to put the Tahs on the board. This time he nails it. (Hewat 1/3)

34 mins: Saders on fire. It’s patience this time. From a 5m scrum, they go right and suck in defenders repeatedly by bashing it up. A change of direction is deadly, and a huge pass left from Carter has the outside backs lining up. It’s Leon MacDonald who scores it. Carter converts. (Carter 2/2)

28 mins: Reuben Thorne is pinged for breaking his bind at scrumtime early, and Hewat again steps up. It’s a shocker, the worst kick of his career. He scoops it and it’s miles short. (Hewat 0/2)

9 mins: Saders pinged at the ruck, Jonathan Kaplan’s decisions here could be crucial. Peter Hewat misses a difficult attempt. (Hewat 0/1)

6 mins: Awesome score by the champs. A frantic beginning sees the skills of both these sides exhibited, as the ball is spread and interchanged without one knock. The Saders are just that much more incisive, and fine angles by virtually the entire team in a multiphase movement stretches the Tahs enough for a switch on the wing to find Chris Jack with no-one in front of him. Carter converts. (Carter 1/1)

3 mins: Aaorn Mauger takes the gap brilliantly, steps and dummies and he’s clear. Well weighted kick ahead bobbles in-goal, and Peter Hewat just outsprints Dan Carter to dot down.

625 Comments

Pages: « 13 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 » Show All

• 551.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

Predawn I’ll be up the road in Honeydew so we should def meet up.

• 552.Predawn: Reply to this comment

Fully.
    Drop me a mail and send your SA mobile number boet. I’ve hooked up with some very hot chicks from Fourways and they’re ALL single. Bring your own condoms.

• 553.Stan: Reply to this comment

are they white?

• 554.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

Fantastic! :grin:

• 555.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

Stan jou ou doring :lol:

• 556.Stan: Reply to this comment

maar julle oud polisiemanne gee mos nie om nie..

• 557.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

Soek altyd P*&S , P*&S altyd skaars.

• 558.Stan: Reply to this comment

het jy dan van jou kriminele meisie ontslae geraak? Moeg om haar elke keer te bodysearch vir jou wallet na sy by jou gekuier het?

• 559.Predawn: Reply to this comment

I have some standards in my old age.:))

• 560.Stan: Reply to this comment

ek hoop julle het meer geluk as jou rugbyspan…

• 561.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

ek ook stan…ons sal maar more sien hoe gaan dit…

• 562.Stan: Reply to this comment

nou wat het van jou meisie geword?

• 563.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

Australia toe getrek…wou nie saam kom nie

• 564.Predawn: Reply to this comment

No worries…we’ll get you a rich Fourways chick.

• 565.cab: Reply to this comment

coffee – an ex-SAP that eats couscous and avocado, this is just too much. The world has gone mad.

• 566.Predawn: Reply to this comment

Much too civilised for an ex cop…the shame.

• 567.Stan: Reply to this comment

why not? you dont need a criminal record anymore to go there nowadays.

cab, geen fout met die avo, maar couscous proe soos iets wat in n koshuis gemaak is.

• 568.Guppyonroids: Reply to this comment

Coffee…you at the Roo tonight?

Howzit Predawn…

• 569.katman: Reply to this comment

couscous is wat Justin Langer moes gedoen het.

• 570.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

Stan the secret to a tasty cous-cous is using vegetable/Chicken or beef stock depending on what kind.

cab difficult one to explain… :cool:

• 571.Stan: Reply to this comment

maar toe koeskoes ons spul nuttelose kolwers..

• 572.Guppyonroids: Reply to this comment

Having my first Grolsh of the evening…

“Geniet, maar drink met mate”

• 573.cab: Reply to this comment

stan – you too, bloody hell, the one saving grace about the right-wingers was their traditional love of boerweors and biltong.

• 574.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

Guppy I should be there just after 6 , how was the dinner last night?

katman hy het a bietjie laat ge couscous :lol:

• 575.Predawn: Reply to this comment

Howzit china!
    What made you come onto this thread bru? You must be bored.

• 576.cab: Reply to this comment

CSB, sounds very healthy, but i’ll stick to the braaivleis.

• 577.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

*a- n*

My Afrikaanse has gone to pot…

• 578.Predawn: Reply to this comment

Ja I’m going to enjoy some kak Albanian beers with mates later CSB.

• 579.Guppyonroids: Reply to this comment

Thought I might find the two of you here…have a bachelor’s in Amsterdam tomorrow. Going to be a good one.

• 580.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

cab,
    Love braaivlies , pity I’m a vege though , But a nicely prepared butternut wrapped in tin foil is a winner at a braai.

• 581.Predawn: Reply to this comment

Ja vege..don’t forget your greens..:)

• 582.katman: Reply to this comment

CSB, so now you’re blaming your poor Afrikaans on pot?

• 583.cab: Reply to this comment

so are you still breaking heads in amsterdam or have you given up policing along with red meat?

• 584.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

Guys have a wicked weekend and lets hope the Cats do the business for a change.

Pre enjoy china could be worse, you could be drinking kak Heineken.

Ciao

• 585.Predawn: Reply to this comment

Would smaak to be in Amsterdam myself. Still one of my favorite cities.

• 586.cab: Reply to this comment

check u later coffee,

even with all the dog turds Predawn?

• 587.Guppyonroids: Reply to this comment

Fully – will tune howzit to the aunties in the windows for you haha…
    spot you around, am also of to the Roo…looking forward to the replay of this mornings match.

• 588.Predawn: Reply to this comment

CSB how right you are. Luckily I found Czech Budweiser here.
    Cheers CSB and good luck to the Cats.

• 589.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

cab,
    What can I say I’m a changed man.

katman,That and not enough Afrikaanse speaking folk around.

• 590.Predawn: Reply to this comment

Fully Guppy. Thanks.
    Enjoy bru and say howzit to the menses from me.

cab now that brings back one of my frustrations about Holland besides the spitting.

• 591.cab: Reply to this comment

guppy, where’s that replay being shown?

• 592.Stan: Reply to this comment

cab, maar ek sê mos dit proe hondkak.

• 593.Guppyonroids: Reply to this comment

cab – they are showing it on SKY, will be watching it at the Kangaroo in the Hague.

• 594.cab: Reply to this comment

• 595.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

How’s those Cats??? The General is back!! It is the time of the Cats!!

• 596.londonshark: Reply to this comment

NZL girls are ugliest girls on the planet, bar none!!!

• 597.londonshark: Reply to this comment

‘the ugliest’ rather

• 598.Predawn: Reply to this comment

I have to agree. Australian chicks seem to be quite cute though.

• 599.Stan: Reply to this comment

yes they are nice.and very grateful too.

• 600.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Pages: « 13 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.