Curtain falls on Calamity

Tiaan Snyman has retired from rugby with immediate effect.

Cats CEO Andy Turner confirmed that Snyman’s obvious ineptness led to the decision to call it quits.

“Since his junior rugby days Tiaan has been an excellent rugby player and it was on that basis that we decided to contract him again. Tiaan has however decided that he was not playing the kind of rugby that one would expect at Super 14 level and have therefore decided to return to his professional career as an accountant,” Turner told Suparugby.

“The union respects his decision and wish him all the best for the future. We were privileged to have a player of his stature with us,” Turner said.

Snyman announced that he had no regrets, although Cats fans would not be hard pressed to think of a few.

“I enjoyed every minute of my time as a rugby player. I never played for anything other than the pure enjoyment of the game. I started at a very young age and as a result have played rugby for close on twenty years. It is time to pursue my professional career and I feel this is the time to do it.”

61 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 » Show All

• 1.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

he’s retiring again?

• 2.Knersboy: Reply to this comment

eish, he musta been reading this site

• 3.SERanger: Reply to this comment

Dragon calls it quits. Hurrah

• 4.ebay addict: Reply to this comment

i hope he is a better accountant than a rugby player

• 5.Paws: Reply to this comment

Thank goodness … I’m sure his not a bad guy, and tried his best, unfortunatly he was just not good enogh. A brave and good deceision on his part. Goog luck.

• 6.Stan: Reply to this comment

Trust the WP to contract him soon….

• 7.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

Respect Cutman, I was one of the guys abusing you for your play but I must say good on you for realizing your not good enough and being man enough to admit it and move on instaed of milking it…

Well done!

If only other players like Gus and others would be man enough to admit they are not good enough.

• 8.kamerau: Reply to this comment

I played against the bugger at school and he kicked us to death in the big derby – everyone thought he was a class act in those days.

Wonder what goes wrong between “schoolboy brilliance” and “professional nightmare”. Maybe he made the step up too soon?

• 9.bigg: Reply to this comment

I respect Tian for admitting he is not up to Super 14 standard. Well done mate – good luck!!!

• 10.ebay addict: Reply to this comment

kamerau…

some guys are just not cut out for top flight rugby, just look at where some of the guys are from u19 rugby, most of them go off to do other things and less than a handful make it to the big time

• 11.Ollie: Reply to this comment

Guys,
    It’s the coach who chooses him to play.

• 12.capebull: Reply to this comment

How many of us ( Simon , Keo included ) will be bigg enough to admit failure

• 13.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Revenge of the Killer Accountants!

Tiaan Snyman? Who is he?

• 14.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

This evening i’m gona pray extra hard that Gus Theron and Werner Greef do the same. Reckon Werner may be a bit stubborn tho, so gona start praying right now …

• 15.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

Actually, think we can add Peter “The Dud” Grant to that list

• 16.deonkrige: Reply to this comment

let’s see how tiaan tackles accounting

• 17.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

Well at least now we understand his lack of creativity on the rugby field. Accountants aren’t exactly renowned for being the most exciting folk around …

• 18.katman: Reply to this comment

It’s ****** unprofessional of Andy Turner to mention Tiaan’s level of play/competence when announcing his retirement. Not cool, Andy. Just say that he’s decided to retire. Not that his play was not up to Super14 standard – even if you just claim to be quoting Tiaan himself.

It doesn’t help either that Chris put his usual sensationalist spin on it by saying: “Cats CEO Andy Turner confirmed that Snyman’s obvious ineptness led to the decision to call it quits”.

Did Turner use the words “obvious ineptness”? I doubt it. Leave it to the muppets to make fun of players. As journos here, you guys have an obligation to keep it reasonably truthful and professional. Otherwise you’re just undermining the credibility of the site.

• 19.Ollie: Reply to this comment

Katman,
    It’s like farting gainst thunder when you try and tell the journo’s that here. Hell, they don’t even have the decency to reply to genuine questions.

• 20.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

At least he had the decency to put his hand up and say he’s not up to scratch. It is sad that he has been driven from the game altogether as a result though. He is talented and perhaps he could have been more successful with better guidance.

Typically though, in SA we destroy our talent rather than nurture it.

• 21.green blood: Reply to this comment

give Gus and Jorries sel no’s to Tiaan. let him convince them this step is not so bad. FFS pay him commision to get rid of these oke’s.

• 22.Stan: Reply to this comment

Now, if only half of the WP team would be this honest and do the right thing….

• 23.gecko: Reply to this comment

Isn’t this the third time he has retired? And he is what, 24?

• 24.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

Davids will be over the moon with this news.

• 25.Knersboy: Reply to this comment

dudes, everyone needs a nemisis, this is why gus and jorrie are so valuable to the rugby watching public. they bring us together in our hatred, they cut through the boundaries of provincialism that keep us apart.

if it wasn’t for them we would be taking it out on good players who might be ruined by the criticism.

• 26.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Ha ha ha!!! I knew it! I told you guys he looks more like a bookworm than a rugby player. Cheers Tiaan.

• 27.Knersboy: Reply to this comment

coffee, how are u man.

• 28.katman: Reply to this comment

I just hope when Turner, Ludeke, Allister etc “retire” they also announce to the world their obvious ineptness.

• 29.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

I’m good thanks Kners and you?

Lovely day we are having here, lets hope it stays like this hey?

• 30.Hop Hop Spinnekop: Reply to this comment

I personally think he was pushed too early into big rugby. I remember straight out of high school into the Blue Bulls team. Some can do that jump and others can’t. So needs to go through u/19, u/21 and then club rugby. I was also a Tiaan basher but it not good to see a guy go out like this. Good luck to you Tiaan. All the best.

• 31.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

True sportsmanship by this bloke, he may not have been the best, but at least he went out on his own terms and with dignified class. Good luck mate.

• 32.Shosoloza: Reply to this comment

Munkiboy,

My first thoughts as well….. lol

• 33.Knersboy: Reply to this comment

yap coffee, we will see, i need summer man, this 9 month winter is killing me. call this a firsat world country and they dont even have a decent summer.

• 34.Lem: Reply to this comment

Come on people show some respect. If the rest of the useless “rugby players” in SA had any balls they would do the same. But no, instead of respecting the man we diss him some more.

Nice. Proudly South African.

• 35.farmer: Reply to this comment

and have therefore ?

• 36.farmer: Reply to this comment

never heard of this guy, info please.

• 37.Ig: Reply to this comment

Farmer – he was the starting fly half for the cats in the first four or so rounds this year – he struggled at this level. Another junior “apparently with talent’ that couldn’t hack it !

Wish him well with accountancy !

• 38.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

Maybe Rose can learn from this. It is not a given that if you are a good junior player and even bought by a union that you will live up to that unions hopes.

Your still young Rose, start looking for a career where 73 kg is not a mockery. Gosh I know a skinny Afrikaner that is 182cm (1cm shorter than rose) and he ways 85 ?!?

Quite before you become the next Tiaan.

• 39.FoxAche: Reply to this comment

I recall watching the 1998 Craven Week in Van der Bijlpark, and Tiaan Snyman was outstanding, and widely regarded as the player most likely to succeed and become a Bok. As I recall, the only guys who did come through from that lot were Big Joe, Brent R, and Adi Jacobs.

• 40.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

quite should be quit

• 41.Bluestripe: Reply to this comment

One cannot but feel sorry for Tiaan. Obviously a great talent, but failing to succeed at the higher level for whatever reason. But that’s life and similar things happen to many people.

Takes courage to recognise it and make the right decision as he did. Tiaan, here’s wishing you all the best in your new career.

• 42.sarky: Reply to this comment

One cannot admire the Cats talent scouts for contracting this much retired person. Turner – you are a TURNIP.

• 43.yoda: Reply to this comment

This guy could of been a great, all the talent in the world. Problem is that he never put 100% into rugby and he wasn’t managed properly. His first priority was academics. So good for him, atleast he is gonna do now what he worked so hard for. Hopefully he just sticks to his guns now, and doesnt try to make another comeback.

• 44.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

Hmmm,

Funny how so much money was invested into Earl huh. What must those coaches have been thinking(said with the utmost sarcasm)???

• 45.Coach: Reply to this comment

Good riddens. He is kak. As soon as the going gets tough he retires. Its the 3rd time. Now we need FL to retire

• 46.Coach: Reply to this comment

The rose brothers should also retire.What a bad investment

• 47.BrumbyIV: Reply to this comment

this has a lot to do with bad management. he might have taken a while to develop now they don’t know his full capabilities. The Bulls management wouldn’t say to Derrick Hougaard that he isn’t Super 14 standard.

• 48.katman: Reply to this comment

Coach, a good investment would be a dictionary. It’s “riddance”.

• 49.flippin_greenie: Reply to this comment

At least Tiaan did kick the cats to victory once.

Credit where credits due.

• 50.Coach: Reply to this comment

Hey katman, ever heard of slang

Pages: [1] 2 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.