Pumas in for Louw blow
16 Aug 2006
With Justin Melck out injured, SA U21 loose forward Pieter Louw gets his first start for Vodacom Western Province this season.
Due to the successful back row combination of Melck, Luke Watson and Robbie Diack, as well as Kobus van der Merwe’s inclination to stick with a winning formula, Louw has received minimal game time this season. This seems surprising considering his pedigree, as the 21-year old represented his country at the U21 World Championship in France earlier this year, and was also a part of the same team who won the tournament in 2005.
“There is a lot of competition in the side at the moment, and the loosies have been playing particularly well,” Louw told keo.co.za. “It’s good to be in a team where you have a lot of guys pushing for a spot in the starting line-up.”
Melck has not yet recovered from the thumb injury he sustained against Griquas a fortnight ago, and so Louw replaces him on the side of the WP scrum. He helped the Baby Boks win the World Championship in Argentina last year at No 8, but feels that he is versatile enough to perform just as well on the flank.
“I’m looking forward to playing at No 7. I am one who believes that a loose forward has to be good at everything. You need to be a strong ball-carrier, quick to the ball on the ground, and of course, uncompromising on defence.
“We haven’t decided whether myself and Luke will play as two fetchers or as a regular blindside and openside. It will depend on the particular situation we find ourselves in against the Pumas.”
Getting back into a winning team is not easy for a player returning from injury, as Ross Skeate and Andries Bekker discovered recently. Current WP second rowers Francois van der Merwe and Gerrie Britz have done well in the stead of Skeate and Bekker, who both got crocked ahead of the Absa Currie Cup opener. Skeate and Bekker should return at some stage, but with the incumbents performing, the WP coaching staff will be reluctant to make a change just yet.
With Melck out, Louw is aware of the similar opportunity that has been set before him. “I now have a great chance to go out there and show my coach what I can do. I’ve been looking forward to getting a full 80 minutes, so I’ll be sure not to waste the opportunity.
“Running out at Newlands for the first time is also something I’ve been looking forward to all season. Griquas showed us that we can’t take the smaller unions for granted. That was a fantastic game, they pushed us, but we held out and won the match.
“The Pumas have struggled this year, but we won’t make the mistake of underestimating them.”
By Jon Cardinelli

309 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 » Show All
16 Aug 2006, 15:36 pm
faithfull, i’d place my bets on them blaming the ref again.
16 Aug 2006, 15:36 pm
Here we go again.
16 Aug 2006, 15:37 pm
it’s you okes – you drive me to drink with this luke saga.
16 Aug 2006, 15:37 pm
a loss is a loss, and that loss will bite u later in cc
16 Aug 2006, 15:38 pm
no need for excuses after this week-end faithseeker… ShARKS to put at least 20 past the poor lions…
skim
i totally agree, they ALWAYS do that, isn’t it boring??
Supa – why not? the boeing has gone over long ago
Are you telling me you are prepared to work?
Of is jy ‘n Willie Werkie outjie
16 Aug 2006, 15:39 pm
Your lack of taste is obvious *****. As is your crudity.
yes, yr u 21′s will win that far, as for the cc game, 27 – 23 lions favour, care to put yr moeny where yr stinking mouth is??
Wonder what happend to Jurgens , Missing link after his stats posting.
16 Aug 2006, 15:41 pm
***** you outgun Supa for sheer stupidity.
Never thought it was possible.
Howzit Dawn
Did you manage to find a kys yet?
capeflats – i suffer from congo fever. con go to work.
***** check the log boet
log after w/e
wp 33
cheetas 30
bulls 29
sharks 26
lions 21
wpfaith
Steve a mo!f? He has like 5 children with women or something. You van call him al lot of things but a mo!f is not one.
By the way, who is that mo!f in the ccup ads supporting the wp? always clapping his hands screaming jipiee
Dawn dont ever forget Jurgens
16 Aug 2006, 15:42 pm
These idiot bulls supporters are on my kys.
faithseeker, yip a loss is a loss, agreed…
but broadening our player experience base wont bite us (we will still have the CC in KZN at the end of this year) and be better of for it in the S14…!!! see, our coach also think ahead a little and not only bout head – wp plonkers…
srem # 111
jurgens had to go and count caravans..
dawn aka eloise
jy vat die koek vir stupidity!
Supa maar Steve sing dan op Moftus
16 Aug 2006, 15:43 pm
supa – 5 that he knows about.
Steve has kids from twenty different women.
supa
he hired all the kids from streets..
16 Aug 2006, 15:44 pm
Supa
Hoesit my boetie
Sien ek jou daar op Loftus oor 2 weke?
Dawn… is that counting his sisters…?
moenie skrik as jy uit jou droom wakker word nie, want dan will reality check, and the cc be in CAOE TOWN, best place on earth bru!!
Weet iemand of hulle die WP game uitsaai???
Supa you smiley-besotted degenerate.
I will never in a million years call myself Eloise.
You are STUPID.
Get it?
16 Aug 2006, 15:45 pm
lol at Martin
Thats why i say – he is no m!of
Honestly guys, who is that wp guy in the ccup ad? Does anyone know? I know the other Steve, Jeremy etc.
16 Aug 2006, 15:45 pm
supa – did’nt know you had a boetie in ct.are you close.
16 Aug 2006, 15:46 pm
srem
nee, they shwoing cheetas vs gri and lions game saturday
faithfull i’ll put my money where my mouth is anyday… name the odds and i’m there… that is if you are not scared then…
supa – that’s capeflats is it not?
16 Aug 2006, 15:47 pm
nee supa
jy’s die inbred, we told u y/day, ai, slow people these bulls..
16 Aug 2006, 15:48 pm
cfb
With the boks test? Dont think so mate, ist there still tickets available?
Martin
Go play with dawn aka eloise
16 Aug 2006, 15:48 pm
Thanks wp faithful , Sal maar dan in die Rapport moet lees oor ons 15 drieë
16 Aug 2006, 15:49 pm
Hey Supa – let me ask you a question, its a pity i removed that lat comment but – would you speak to a lady like that face to face – your wife, g/f or even just a friend ?
srem
why u not go to game, u not live in CPT??
wpfaith
praat jy van jou vrou??? jys n ****** brood man
supa foetsjek!
16 Aug 2006, 15:50 pm
ig
thanks
16 Aug 2006, 15:51 pm
srem – i hear they going to blindfold half of the province team to give the pumas a chance. just like we gave the lions a headstart too and still thay coul’nt beat us.
ig
think it is time u remove supa for a while again
supa, not nice bru..
ig
The inbred comment? If they call me one why should i?!
16 Aug 2006, 15:52 pm
wpfaith
You started it bru…
wp faithful , Use to live in CC . Moved to JHB last year , work related.
martin
we not even going back out after half time
luke to take them on alone, get yellow card 10 min into 2nd half, final score
56-8 wp
lw 7 tries, 5 conv
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 » Show All