White: ‘It will be close’

After performing so admirably in front of a dismal crowd of just 26,000 in Phokeng last weekend, the Springboks are looking forward to playing at a packed Ellis Park.

Ellis Park holds 62,500 people – the biggest rugby ground in the country – and it is expected to be filled to capacity for the final Vodacom Tri-Nations Test against Australia tomorrow.

Coach Jake White is relishing the opportunity to play in-front of a full house. “It is always a great thing to play in front of a packed stadium. We know what Ellis Park means to us and the fans and I don’t think there are too many better stadiums to play in than Ellis Park when it’s jam-packed,” White said at the team hotel on Friday.

The Boks are looking to finish a poor campaign on a high, but have not used their dominance over the Wallabies at altitude as a motivating factor. “I don’t talk about that sort of stuff with the team. Obviously it is a thing people are speaking about. I was thinking about it outside that the (the Wallabies) have won just two out of 18 games away from home yet they have won two World Cups, so you have got to put things into perspective.”

White pointed out that when the Boks won at Loftus Versfeld last year it took a late Andre Pretorius drop-goal to seal the 22-16 win. “I know we were ahead, but that drop kick that went over need to be kicked twice and it could also have been a charge down and a try on the other side. Test matches between South Africa and Australia have hardly ever been one-sided.”

The Boks are banking on home ground advantage and a a bit of Madiba Magic to help them again. Last year Nelson Mandela was present as the Boks won 33-20 in Johannesburg. This time round he will not be present, but did present every member of the squad with a personally signed copy of his Long Walk to Freedom book. “That was great,” said captain John Smit, “and I would love to get another phone call from him before the match.”

Meanwhile, news from the Wallaby camp is that Strling Mortlock did not train because of a problem hamstring. Team management though dismissed it as “precautionary” and that “he will definitely play tomorrow.”

By Andrew Hollely, at the Bok team hotel

73 Comments

• 1.Gee Gas: Reply to this comment

Whatever…

• 2.cane: Reply to this comment

It’ll be close until Victor gets a Yellow or a Red.

• 3.Gee Gas: Reply to this comment

The main game is tonight at 19:00!

• 4.cane: Reply to this comment

Gee you had too much Gas for me .

• 5.Catfish: Reply to this comment

Hope Ruan gets a lot more game time. FdP should warm the bench.

• 6.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

Gee Gas…

Obviously talking about the Lions/Valke game….???

• 7.leeanthonyw: Reply to this comment

I reckon the Boks will thump the ozzies. The ozzies always seem completely dissinterested with these games.

• 8.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

YAWN…. “Madiba magic”?

Is THAT outworn little prayer-rug ever so threadbare?

Ho hum!

• 9.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

Talk talk talk , lets hope we win this one. All the best for South Africa

• 10.JH: Reply to this comment

Strling (sic) Mortlock still recovering from babbelaas and awaiting the dreaded,(but fun) aussie breathalyser test “I keep telling you don’t suck!don’t suck mate” you’ll hurt the wallaby.

• 11.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Mandela doesn’t even bother to pitch up to the game, but barely-literate collection of Bok players get a book he wrote when they were still in primary school!

Where’s the “magic” in that?

• 12.Crack Damage: Reply to this comment

TheCackler is trying hard to get a reaction?!
    Shame, poor boy.

• 13.RedLion!: Reply to this comment

I cannot see this being a close match. Jake is just overplaying the convicts chances, he knows that with players like Petoors and Jaque Fourie in the team there is no way the boks can lose.

It is a pity that Ricky is not in the team, he and the other Lions would of been the main stars, the rest would have been a good support act though.

• 14.Gee Gas: Reply to this comment

Hmmm,

Even that will be a cracker! Might just be better viewing than the Bok vs Aus game! hehehehe

• 15.logie: Reply to this comment

Rattlebones will play vs Akona…..any thoughts?

i think we need to stop the ball before it gets to Gerard or Clyde

• 16.Wizard: Reply to this comment

Every time Jake White opens his mouth, his foot slips into it.

Test matches between SA and Aus are hardly ever one sided.

The match in 1997 at Loftus was one-sided. And if that is so far in the distant past to warrant mention, the match eight weeks ago was also one-sided.

• 17.logie: Reply to this comment

wiz

spot on mate….

• 18.A.N.Other: Reply to this comment

PROVINCE

• 19.logie: Reply to this comment

tackler…..you just love him don’t you…tell me the truth. You want to buff him!

You sick sheepshagging shadow of a man.

• 20.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Ig,

Die Cheat-us thread rook boom op die oomblik, wat’s fout??

• 21.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Waars Steyn (bolla se ene)?

• 22.bluebarb.lek.Hougie.se.gat: Reply to this comment

tests between Sa and Aus have hardly ever been one sided?

49-0

whaddayacallthat?

• 23.DavidS: Reply to this comment

Hey Andrew

Other members of the media were not to complementary about you before you came into the venue boet…

• 24.Steyn Bolla het my gesoen en ek het dit geniet yipeee: Reply to this comment

hier is ek slappes !!!

• 25.mikegee: Reply to this comment

oh, **** off Tackler…

• 26.Mistral: Reply to this comment

Sorry, Can you guys read????? What does hardly ever mean????? Really anything to get in a derogatory chirp, your lives must really be empty and meaningless.

• 27.Naas is JOU Baas: Reply to this comment

Jake is an even bigger Idiot than Joost

• 28.Koos: Reply to this comment

mikegee, scrolling down I thought for once I will post an appropriate response to the clown…thanks for saving me the time!

PS **** you Tackles!

PPS And that will be it…

• 29.pieterman: Reply to this comment

Keep trying Tackler, you never know your luck on a lazy thread like this one. Someone might just get bored and decide to drop you a line.

Not nice to know you are out there by your lonely little self, desperately slamming the keyboard for some reaction fom SA.
    Be patient litle one, the big boys are a little busy here tonight, lots of serious rugby coming up.

As they say,”Watch this space!”

• 30.DavidS: Reply to this comment

Does the poor tackling ******* still hang out here?

Yisis you poor lonely old git

It must be what

02h00 in the morning in NZ

Shame man…

• 31.Koos: Reply to this comment

pieterman, dit so ‘n goeie pull gegee en toe uit gespoeg, sy aas proe kak…

:lol: @ DavidS, some things never change…

• 32.Naas is JOU Baas: Reply to this comment

I’ll bet he cries himself to sleep every night.

• 33.DavidS: Reply to this comment

Pietrman

The worst is it’s a Friday night, no Saturday morning

So at the time when tonight many of us will be bringing their delicious stukkies home from a night on the town or otherwise safely asleep in bed this poor ******* is trying to justify why he left SA by coming here to insult us.

You seriously gotta feel sorry for the oke

He has no life otherwise why cruising a South African rugby website when the only time you cruise websites at 02h00 in the morning is to find free porn.

He spends his whole life still trying to justify to himself why he left SA for NZ by insulting us.

What a sad lonely pathetic individual

The worst being he’s done it on this site for three years.

He’s been banned from almost all the news sites in SA that allow comments.

Only keo and friends feel sorry enough to let him keep spouting his **** here

• 34.Blue_Is_Best: Reply to this comment

Kom ons praat sou bietjie Afrikaans, daan f#k@f daai Tackler d@@s somme gou

• 35.Koos: Reply to this comment

Maybe I should go to bed now…before David starts feeling sorry for me too!

• 36.bluebarb.lek.Hougie.se.gat: Reply to this comment

mistral,
    If you thought my post about the one sided gaffe was made me empty and meaningless, i think you would consider me spawn of satan if you knew what i think of your sanctimonious preaching to me.

wow, what a sentence…

• 37.bluebarb.lek.Hougie.se.gat: Reply to this comment

laaste dag van hougie se gat lek.
    en nie n donnerse dag te vroeg nie!

• 38.Koos: Reply to this comment

Blue, no go, die jammerte is tackles is so Afrikaans soos ek en jy, sal dit net nooit erken nie! Siestog…nee wat flok dit!

• 39.Koos: Reply to this comment

Yes Blue en kyk net hoe blink hy?

• 40.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Hey bluebarb – hoe proe daai gat nou???

eish jou asem ruik seker na ice-cream..

• 41.Naas is JOU Baas: Reply to this comment

Tackler is nie vir ‘n F_K in NZ nie.

Hy triek julle almal

• 42.Koos: Reply to this comment

Naas nee Boet, hy is rerig in NZ! Die knaap is al op meer as een site getract na NZ, pateties sso dit is…

• 43.Blue_Is_Best: Reply to this comment

Tackler

You little dweeb

SHOW SOME RESPECT you sheep shagging turncoat.

You want to chirp then chirp but at least try showing that you have some intellect and are not barely out of nappies either

• 44.Skim: Reply to this comment

Ahaaaa.
    I quite neutral in this battle.

• 45.DavidS: Reply to this comment

Ja Naas and he isn’t keo

Remember 2004 he won the prize for predicting the correct score in the SA v Ireland game when Honiss got his fat Irish paycheck.

He was on here first thing on Monday demanding his prize and crowing about how clever he was.

Koos

Hoekom?

Waar is jy?

• 46.Koos: Reply to this comment

In Oz David, amper 12!

Kak week, kak dag afgesluit met drinks by die werk, nou slaap almal en ek drink ‘n bier…of twee voor bedtyd!

• 47.Naas is JOU Baas: Reply to this comment

Why don’t we do an online first and raise funds among KEO.co.za fans, enough to buy him a russian mail order bride.

Plan B, we could allways send him Bolla for some lovin.

Ig I’m sure a move like this could get some great publicity

• 48.Naas is JOU Baas: Reply to this comment

Also Ig, Its time you guys start a Keo.co.za fantasyrugby league

• 49.benjamin: Reply to this comment

The only reason Tackler gets under anybody’s skin is because occasionally what he has to say has an air of truth to it (albeit in a cocky, arrogant, New Zealander {read: c*nt} sort of way). But man, all animosity sure disappears fast when you see Os tear Richie McCaw a new *******, and see the look of utter gutted disappointment on those poor Kiwis faces, seeing their team go down to the lowly Boks. Who woulda thought…and guess what boys! We’ll see that look again soon enough when they make yet another early exit from the RWC!

• 50.Koos: Reply to this comment

Ag nee Naas, arme Bolla!

• 51.Naas is JOU Baas: Reply to this comment

Bolla sal dit laaik, Shame hy lyk ook altyd so down

• 52.DavidS: Reply to this comment

Jis Koos

Ek moes ook al lankal by die huis gewees het.

Vir vroulief vertel ek gaan net vanmiddag gou uit en dan na huis toe

Het moerse verkoue.

• 53.Skim: Reply to this comment

Skim:”Ek weet dit gaan close wees maar julle beter wen anders gaan ek jou kom donner.”

• 54.Koos: Reply to this comment

Hehehe David, skoonmoer het nou net vir vroulief ‘n sms gestuur! Is die nou de moer in…ek be-aam net alles ;-)

• 55.superbok: Reply to this comment

Lets hope Mandela lives forever, because if they need him to motivate them to win a test, then I just don’t know anymore.

• 56.Naas is JOU Baas: Reply to this comment

#55 Superbok, they just need to lose five tests in a row to motivate them…

That’s the only thing that gets these guys to play these days

• 57.pieterman: Reply to this comment

DaveS Thanx
    So, TT is an old customer? You say he has been hanging around this site for three years?
    Holy Moses! Then the boy is lost and beyond, or he has a moer of a thick skin if he didn’t get the message by now?
    He is getting more presumptious and abnoxious by the hour, he even took a sucker swing at Madiba on this thread.
    No, seriously, why would anybody leave his country and use every opportunity from abroad to to run down his own motherland.
    Peter Hain had a motive when he moved from Pretoria to the UK to agitate against the erstwhile government, but I do not for the life of me get this boy’s drift. In NZ, of all places.

• 58.modawg: Reply to this comment

SavidS whassup with da oracle dude?

• 59.RedCard: Reply to this comment

Yes last feek it was a question of not enough Phokeng supporters !

• 60.pieterman: Reply to this comment

Koos
    TT verstaan Afrikaans doodlekker.

• 61.Koos: Reply to this comment

Yip, ek vermoed hy is ‘n boer…iets wat hy nooit sal erken nie en dit is goed so.

• 62.Blue_Is_Best: Reply to this comment

Well probably for the same reason he left here, because he was to stupid to how great this place is.

i bet he was a skinny nerdy dweeb, who got his *** kicked every where he went, could find a girl friend (well one he didn’t pay for) and now lives, where ever it is he lives, in obscurity un known to the local stuck to his keyboard on the net just waiting to chirp from there where he is safe from another asswhiping

• 63.Blue_Is_Best: Reply to this comment

in my haste I type could, when it should obviously should have been couldn’t

• 64.pieterman: Reply to this comment

Koos
    Maar wat my dronkslaan is dat hy n ultra-regse wese is, moerse rassisties en als, hoe kom hy oor die weg in NZ? Of kom hy nie oor die weg nie?
    Spruit sy besoeke aan hierdie site dalk uit n perverse tipe verlange na Mamparrafontein, of waar hy ookal vandaan is?
    Nee fok, dis n weird geval, ek se jou broer. Miskien het die ou hulp nodig.

• 65.Koos: Reply to this comment

pieter, al ‘n ruk terug gese die man soek hulp. Jy sal verbaas wees hoeveel ver regse mense in die res van die wereld bly, as jy wil en op die regte pleke soek is hulle daar. Dink net selfs hulle het hom weg gejaag…

• 66.Moaner: Reply to this comment

Pumas 28
    Bulls 27

• 67.Voetap: Reply to this comment

Jy’s reg, Tackler. Hulle moet nou ophou met hierdie “magic” strond. Dis nou hoe desperaat die Bokke is, en ook sonder verbeelding.

• 68.arigi: Reply to this comment

i wonder if the boks can read let alone spell madiba!!…

i pray that the book has nice pictures in them for them to look at instead!!!

• 69.JH: Reply to this comment

I just have to respond with my new found afrikaans vocabulary. My mum suggested to me that the tacky tackler should try some extramurial activities like he should nye sy hand instead of typing kak.

• 70.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Mens kry amper hierdie vaal Japies jammer, of hoe, wanneer die TT hulle flou sieletjies so maklik uitryg?

• 71.CJ Venter: Reply to this comment

Jake is King!

• 72.Wallabie: Reply to this comment

The reason they won is that there were not so many people last week so the Boos were a distant whisper, but now the Boos will be amplified!

Go the Wallabies!

I have friends in High (highveld) places such as Loftus to come to the party for me and boo the boks.

• 73.cane: Reply to this comment

Benjamin.
    The only part factual in your post was “lowly boks”.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.