Fourie: ‘Thanks to the pack’

Scrumhalf Fourie du Preez paid tribute to his forwards after he was named man-of-the-match as the Springboks ended the Vodacom Tri-Nations with a great win.

After the teams were locked at 3-3 at the break, the match opened up nicely in the second 40 minutes, with du Preez particularly prominent.

As the Bok pack dominated, du Preez revelled in the space provided and got his backs away brilliantly. He also scored a crucial 56th minute try that gave the Boks some much-needed breathing space.

“I think after half-time the altitude got to them and we came out firing,” he said. “Jake told us we needed to take our chances and try a few things, but I would not have been able to do that if I had not had the forwards giving me good, clean ball.”

“They definitely laid the platform and scrummed and drove well, so all credit to them.”

The Springboks beat the Wallabies 24-16 in a hard-fought encounter that brought the curtain down on the first extended Tri-Nations. “It was a nice way to end, but actually it’s been a Tri-Nations to forget, but I’m pleased how the guys showed character in the last two games.”

If nothing else, this competition has seen the emergence of several exciting youngsters, particularly Pierre Spies – who was outstanding again – and JP Pietersen in his debut today.

“It’s been great to have the youngsters come through and with 12 months to the World Cup they showed up well on the field. It’s important to get some rest and we now have a break until November.”

The result continued Australia’s woeful record at Ellis Park, taking their defeats to eight in nine Tests. The last time Australia won at Ellis Park was way back in 1963.

The Australians though did have something to celebrate having won the Mandela Plate after wins in Brisbane and Sydney, effectively winning 2-1. “We knew it was going to be tough,” said Wallaby skipper George Gregan. “After the first half, we needed to control possession and take our chances better. Unfortunately they did that and we didn’t.”

“It is disappointing to come over and lose again as I thought we created enough opportunities to win it. We obviously still have plenty of work ahead.”

By Andrew Hollely, at Ellis Park Stadium

44 Comments

• 1.Haydn Sais: Reply to this comment

Well done Bokke !!!!

• 2.Die Groot Generaal: Reply to this comment

Great game from Vuurhoutjie!

• 3.Haydn Sais: Reply to this comment

LETS BE FAIR !!!!!!!!!

For the guys to rise up after a dismal overseas leg of the Tri-nations ,and beat The AB and Wallies in two consecutive saturdays shows character .

• 4.superBul: Reply to this comment

Funny , we start to win when the loose forwards and #9 understands each other , all you FDP slayers , shut the f%$k up. He was under all sorts of presure and for me he was the Player of the series(SA,s)

I say get the back 2 in place before R Pienaar is wasted

• 5.klippies: Reply to this comment

ja well said haydn

• 6.Bulala: Reply to this comment

With these 2 wins look wats-on can forget the green and gold

• 7.cyberscamp: Reply to this comment

Here we go again. Let there be no misapprehension about this game. It may have been a win on paper but it was a very poor game from SA. Sadly it does nothing to allay the serious suspicions that Jake White has run out of ideas and has reached the limit of his abilities in terms of adaptation to circumstances and devising an appropriate game structure for the Boks.

I said last week that the win against New Zeeland will only be of use if the Boks could continue and build upon what appeared to be a positive an attacking running game. I also expressed doubts about what happened against the All Blacks had indeed have been born of a pre-planned game strategy. In effect I was suggesting that it what transpired in that game had little to do with constructive planning by White but was primarily a result of enforced changes wrought by injuries and an inadvertent result of how the game developed on the day. Sadly this suspicion was vindicated today.

The Boks went straight back to the old tried and tested, and predictable “kick-and-subdue” structure. Throughout most if this match against Australia the Boks and surprisingly, Pretorius, went back to this old disease of retreating to the “laager” and kicking the skin off the ball. Gone was the positive approach of building a platform and then attacking from there, moving the ball wide when and if possible.

This game may have been won, but the win came from attacks that arose out of broken play and superb efforts from a few individuals such as Pierre Spies, Breyton Paulse and Fourie du Preez (about whom I would have to say I had doubts over the last several weeks).

However if this win, such as it was , is to be used as a vindication of Jake White’s tactical nous and abilities of adaptation then we are all more deluded than before. (And that comes from a long time apologist for Jake White!)

The shocking issue here was the absolute absence of any discernable game plan – and let nobody try to claim that the game strategy was disrupted by Australia in some way or the other, or the that the ref was poor (he certainly made his usual quota of mistakes, but equally so for both sides); or that the injury list; or the quota system was to blame.

The truth is plain and clear, sadly Jake White has run out of ideas, and what is even of greater concern, is incapable of admitting these failures and weaknesses. In short he has indeed reached his point of dysfunction (Peter Principle).

That is not to say that we have the staff to replace him forthwith, for both Muir and Erasmus are still learning their business and would be done a great disservice if coerced into this role at this premature stage. SA Rugby and the public at large would be well advised to allow them the time to learn the ropes and cut their teeth in the Super 14 and prepare for the next world cup (if we qualify- that is… And yes that is a possibility!).

But there are possible remedies: The first is that Jake White simply cannot be allowed to live in an Ivory Tower of self–delusion. We have a small team of selectors who are both entitled and franchised to apply influence upon the incumbent coach and indeed overrule his follies on selection policies. Moreover the SA team’s abysmal record over the last year should entitle the SARB to seriously question his game strategies (as they have tried to do in a typically inefficient way by their “conference of mentors”).

I believe that White is seriously flawed but that his obvious shortcomings can still be alleviated and even rectified if he is reigned in and forced to face reality. As I had mentioned before: Some humility form his side and recognition of his own shortcoming would go a long way towards salvaging something from that World Cup I am quite convinced that this is the only means through which SA could avoid serious and permanent embarrassment and ignominy in next year’s world cup.

• 8.rex: Reply to this comment

Finally. But still wish they looked as dangerous on attack as the ABs and Wallabies. If they can crack that and playing away – they’ll be in with a fair chance at the RWC.

Well done though.

• 9.pieterman: Reply to this comment

Geluk Fourie!!
    Dankie Bokke, ek gaan lekker slaap vanaand.

• 10.Steel Shark: Reply to this comment

Even Lorry Sephaka was smashing the wobblies, porridge indeed!

• 11.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

cyberscamp,

please shut up. you’ve obviously said some things about Jake and now that he’s proven you wrong you are too arrogant to admit it.

Probably has something to do with you not knowing a good coach when you see one.

Idiots like you who ruin rugby in South Africa.

• 12.pieterman: Reply to this comment

11# Hendrikp
    Did you really read through all that from cyber? Wow!
    So what is he about? I didn’t read his thesis, too long. Give it it to me in one sentence, if possible.

• 13.cyberscamp: Reply to this comment

Pieterman: Here it is in a nutshell. This win was bad for SA ’cause it will allow Jake White to claim he has got it right for the World Cup. Point is he has not – the World Cup is NOT played at home, at altitude and at the end of a season where SA has already claimed the very last place in the competitiona and the other teams have little but pride to play for! It was a poor game without any discernable and positive gameplan. I will take the win for sure – but lets not be deluded that this was the beginning of a renaiscance – it is not!

• 14.the cape thug: Reply to this comment

boks still came last in the comp…AGAIN! sad but true

• 15.cyberscamp: Reply to this comment

As for Hendrikp #11 – well let me allow you the right to hang yourself. Watch the World Cup sonny! It will be a just great for SA! And no I have said precisely what I said today about Jake since about two months ago – and nothing has changed. For the record my name is B Borchardt and I am a paid part-time rugby coach in the UK (albeit in the minor leagues).

• 16.the cape thug: Reply to this comment

too many ******** in the side.

where the hell is russel.he could have done way better than wynand olivier who i hear by the way wants to come to the cape after turning the offer down that he got from clown fish…puh,no thanks china!

he would be surplus to requirements down south

• 17.the cape thug: Reply to this comment

sephaka finally got his chance! destroyed the green horn aswell as the much hyped about rodzilla,shackle draggers,thanks for comming!

sephaka also demolished wessel roux and the other ******** who replaced him.oh and lets not forget kees lessons i mean lessing.

• 18.Chelsea: Reply to this comment

Well done Bokke, I would have given the Man of the match to Pierre Spies, he had another blinder yet again!! I just hope Jake White releases some guys to play in the Currie Cup – Ruan Pienaar, JP Pietersen, Pierre Spies, Wynand Olivier, Akona Ndungane and Andre Pretorius especially!!

• 19.oxfordshark: Reply to this comment

Absolutley pissed off,the frikkin Poms put a local game ahead of the Boks game,only saw the second half,Blood pressure still very high,maybe drinking the ozzies Fosters will make a diff.

• 20.levit8: Reply to this comment

Well said cyberscamp. Two wins and all is forgotten and forgiven by most of the goldfish memory bok supporters.

Jake himself admitted he stumbled onto the current effective backrow by accident.

• 21.Windhoek.Lager: Reply to this comment

cape thug,

i’m a ********. wind your neck in.

• 22.cyberscamp: Reply to this comment

Thanks for that bit of information levit8 #20. If Jake is admiting something along those lines he may still be able to get a grip on himself and return to the intelligent and balanced rugby analyst he was prior to achieving the one year of rear-guard success he had bequethed SA rugby, two seasons ago. If so there may just be some hope – but don’t hold your breath just yet.

• 23.cyberscamp: Reply to this comment

Oxfordshark, it was actually live mate, but on the red-button bit. Pity they did not broadcast the fact a bit better though. (from another UK -based Shark)

• 24.sarky: Reply to this comment

# 7 A chillpil and sharp needle for deflating the pompous one?

Well earned FdP, although I think you kill the back line with slowish service.

• 25.JH: Reply to this comment

cyberscamp cut and pasting on other threads my man!
    Stay Positive ignore the negative………
    Of course there was a game plan, Subdue,Dominate, Trample and out-jump. You winna da ball you can winna da game.

• 26.brus: Reply to this comment

Cyberskamp, I agree with many of your thoughts.(to long though).I am not sure if you actually played any rugby however.PRIDE is most propably the one thing that every good player is playing for. Forget about the OZ and AB not wanting to beat us.If they could , they would have made it 49-0 again and again and again.We were just better on the day.OZ had no gameplan today.

• 27.sparticus: Reply to this comment

Good win Bokke , I watched the game twice to check and I must admit the boks played with much more planning and better execution. the first half was alot like last week though where they played on passion alone.The second much better. This win for me was much better than last week cos the boks seemed to have a plan and played much more interlligent , also they never seemed to be worried. MPTM ?? OS OS OS OS OS !!! FDP deserved the recognition but OS was simply OS-SOME !!!! Paulse again showed his value and it seems the break from rugby is benefitting him. Rassie please dont play OS in any more matches this year except the final against WP.

• 28.RedLion!: Reply to this comment

FDP played as well as he has always played. As a former Lion while growing up in the Lions territory he learnt to be unpredictable and we saw what happened today. FDP come home to the pride and you will flourish stay where you are and you will sadly fade.

• 29.Knersboy: Reply to this comment

well done FDP, u had a great game.

sparticus, agree on paulse.

• 30.superBul: Reply to this comment

Acording to the match report on Fox sports website FDP ran 35m for his try

• 31.bok and lion fan: Reply to this comment

Cyberscamp, we just beat the top 2 teams in the world 2 weeks in a row. Give them a break!!!! No wonder you have to take up all the space here, no decent sports editor would print your drivel!!!!

• 32.Jak: Reply to this comment

To Sarky & company, FDP hits it right on the head when he thanked his pack, he cannot deliver quick ball to his backs if his pack can’t give him clean ball.

I am not sure what game you watched today, but FDP’s service was lightning fast today, as quick as anyone could service his backline. And he was simply everywhere, his workrate was incredible and his pass to Paulse was sublime.

In previous games where he does take his time, it is because of two things: his forwards could not secure him clean ball immediately, and/or his backline is not in position. He will then clearly under instruction slow the ball and not play high risk rugby.

He is the most talented scrummie in the country, allowing Jake so many options, he has a very solid rugby brain, reading the game, very good cover defense and a flyhalf’s boot, yet he is very quick and surprisingly strong for his size.

This is almost to his detriment as Jake can make him play almost any style, FDP’s natural style is to dart around the scrums, make space for his backs, tackle the opposing scrummie before he thinks he has the ball, but because he is so multi talented, this part almost gets coached out of him, yet today we saw what he can do. How many MOM has he now raked in at test level, against NZ, France, Aus, not many scrummies in the world that can say that.

Be assured that FDP is here to stay and he will be our nr 1 scrummie going into the RWC

• 33.Borr: Reply to this comment

# 26 I must agree with Brus, Pride is all a true rugby player plays for.

As for Cyberscamp: In a perfect world with perfect players you can play the perfect game plan. Unfortunately we have players with strong attributes in certain areas, but they are not perfect. That’s why you adjust your game plan to suite them. You as a coach should know that if the other team has faster and better fetchers than you (Waugh, Elsom and the whole backline does the job too), you do not play a game plan that will isolate players and give these guys the change to pinch the ball.

I must agree that this does not mean we are the best team in the world, but a renaissance does not happen overnight. This is at least a step in the right direction

• 34.superBul: Reply to this comment

The pass to Andre also gave AP the chance to execute that dropgoal.
    The Players who came trough this 3N campaign as best is
    Nr 1 Fourie du Preez,
    2 Os Du Rant,
    3 Victor Matfield

New Finds 1 Pierre Spies,
    2 Johan Muller, 3 Wynand Olivier

worst players , hopefully history-
    1 Eddie Andrews, 2 Jaco vd Westhuizen, 3 Percy/JS

• 35.KiaKahaNZ: Reply to this comment

Well done yous fullas, but it was still too touch and go to be called a solid win for you lot.

As said by many, at home, on the highveldt etc, and for the opposition – not a huge amount to play for, but still a test match, and its your job. A work in progress I would assume for many an Aussie trying to stake their ticket for RWC07.

Your only assessment is going to be the SA performance on the northern tour – thats it, simple.

Here we will see how far JW has progressed, how well you guys travel and can you lift yourselves without thousands of supporters being there for you.

Its true, its the only area where all three (SA, Aus and NZ) can really see how far they have come this year, because France is where the next RWC is – and by the look of things only NZ have a superior record to anyone when it comes to playing rugby in France, esp Paris.

History should mean nothing though next year.

• 36.Biscuit: Reply to this comment

SuperBul,

re:JS for the worst player (well 3rd)

JS certainly played well the last 2 weeks.

• 37.KiaKahaNZ: Reply to this comment

31: (bok and Lion Fan) Aus are not in the top 2, France are, with us.

The scoreboard does not lie – I’ll grant you that, and only SA had something to play for in these last two games, home grounds, high veldts, thin air……. la de da de da……

Just an observation.

• 38.gothemullet: Reply to this comment

I agree biscuit
    i don’t know what smit has to do to shut you critics up.
    He was one of the best ‘loose forwards’ out there last night getting several turnovers,
    captained intelligently,
    and was faultless in his lineout throwing.

• 39.gothemullet: Reply to this comment

super,
    spot on with your other ratings IMO!!

• 40.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Furry the Pree had a good game, all told.

• 41.KiaKahaNZ: Reply to this comment

bang for your buck I thought Paulse roared!

• 42.aimtobenumber1: Reply to this comment

How come no one gives any credit to AJ Venter for his contribution to overall performance of the forwards? In my opinion his efforts added that crucial physical dimension that has been laking with the absence of Bakkies. AJ could make a very significant contribution in the conditions prevalent in he Northern Hemisphere where the ball will have to be kept more with the forwards.We need AJ and Bakkies together in the same pack at the WC 2007 to impose on the opposition in the way that Springbok forwards have done in the past.This still remains the strong point in our rugby.The only provincial side to run attacking lines from deep positions in the past five years has been the Free State when coached by Gysie Pienaar. Jake needs to get him on board.

• 43.kiwi: Reply to this comment

Well done Springboks. Congratulations. Didn’t see the game live (1:00am here), but I will some time.

aimtobenumber1 (42)
    It would seem to be more than a coincidence that Venter played the last two matches and you won the last two matches?

• 44.wls: Reply to this comment

Cyber camp is almost as *** as Tackler. probably another KEO ALIAS to get hits on the threads.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.