Sharks target Bulls stars
17 Sep 2006
The Sharks are set to poach three of the Bulls most valuable players.
According to Rapport newspaper, Bakkies Botha, Wynand Olivier and Bryan Habana are being targeted by the KwaZulu-Natal Rugby Union.
The Sharks are prepared to pay Botha R500,000 to play for them in the Vodacom Super 14, which would see the lock earn R2 million next season – the most by a South African rugby player.
Olivier has been offered a R950,000 contract by the Sharks, which is more than the Bulls’ best paid player Victor Matfield.
Finally, the Sharks are prepared to pay Habana R1.35 million to swop his blue jersey for a black and white one.
The Sharks “poaching” follows the signing of former Bulls and Leeds prop Kees Lensing, who is paid R1.3 million a year for playing his rugby in Durban.

74 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All
17 Sep 2006, 10:33 am
i’l believe it when i see them in a sharks jersey
17 Sep 2006, 10:34 am
yeah but lensing wasn’t playing for the bulls when the sharks signed him
17 Sep 2006, 10:40 am
imagine this tight 5.
1) kees
2) smit
3) bj
4) bakkies
5) ackerman
ouch, i wouldnt wanna come up against that.
17 Sep 2006, 10:42 am
Rumours.
All of it.
I don’t believe a word of it.
Maybe Wynand and Habana, but Bakkies?
Nooit ooit ever never ever.
17 Sep 2006, 10:43 am
Where do the sharks get all their money from to pay such huge salaries?
i thought the sharks had a quality academy, and now they are trying to poach bulls players!
17 Sep 2006, 10:45 am
Bakkies is unlikely to leave Bulle teritory, he barely speaks English,
Oliver would not be a good signing by the sharks, it will be a slap in the face of Barrit, Strauss, Rees and others.
Habana would add value to any SA team, and would be a very good signing if they can secure him
17 Sep 2006, 10:53 am
did u guys here the rumours that carlos spencer will play for the Boland Cavaliers…?
17 Sep 2006, 10:54 am
Funny how all the Sharks fans say the Bulls suck, but they want the Bulls’ players. It’s funny how these things work out.
17 Sep 2006, 10:57 am
ja one day they will booooo them of the field but when these players find themselves in a black / white jersey they are heroes –
but is was the same with wp – when they bought guys like **** muir and james small; i didn;t like that much but when they were wearing blue and white i had 2
17 Sep 2006, 11:01 am
ja ja we all do that dont we. we support a team not a player.
anyway Andy, i dont know many, no matter what province they support, who wouldnt want bakkies or habana in their team.
17 Sep 2006, 11:02 am
-tell us more Bernard, how did it make you feel?
17 Sep 2006, 11:04 am
doesnt that mean Carlos will play for the Stormers in the s14? dnt do it, we already have a shortage of South African fly halves.
17 Sep 2006, 11:05 am
Bakkies was quoted (confirming the offer), plus their agent (all 3) is one and the same guy – Habs’ dad.
Also, this report does not state that the Bulls and Sharks CEO is meeting (today) to discuss this where the Sharks will be asked to withdraw their offers (Botha and Habs) because according to Saru regulations a union is only allowed to approach a player if his current contract is 120 (or 90) away from expiring.
Both Botha and Habs have long contracts, only Wynand can be approached – he said he will make a decision by this Tuesday.
17 Sep 2006, 11:06 am
shouting for small and muir – was ok; they played for my province so they were ok
17 Sep 2006, 11:07 am
yes he will then play for the Stormers in the Super14 – and i will enjoy that plenty – a guy with his experience – can only be good 4 a backline like province has
17 Sep 2006, 11:07 am
how did it effect your relationships bernard?
olivier would not be wise to leave. is guarenteed the 12 jumper at the bulle, is not guarenteed game time at the sharks.
17 Sep 2006, 11:08 am
Have Russian oligarchs discovered rugby franchises since Putin’s visit to SA?! I’m actually now also very interested in the Shark’s financial statements for the previous years.
Although, I wouldn’t spend the money quoted in the article on Olivier and Habana. Bakkies definitely. This article however, follows the Skinstad rumours, so should we expect some denials from the 3 Bulls soon?!
17 Sep 2006, 11:09 am
lol, durban poison!
17 Sep 2006, 11:10 am
Bakkies confirmed he was approached, Olivier confirmed he will decide by Tuesday – but the Bulls are threatning legal action…
17 Sep 2006, 11:14 am
habana would be a bit of a mercenary if he was to leave-three provinces in four seasons methinks?
17 Sep 2006, 11:17 am
Yeah, Habana does come across as a rugby prostitute!
17 Sep 2006, 11:18 am
fair enough though, if it is going to improve your career, why not? plus his dad is his pimp…!
17 Sep 2006, 11:25 am
There is only one other union that has such a big cheque book and that is the Lions. We should buy Bakkies, Spies and Habana before the fish get their hands on them. This will even the top 5 nicley.
17 Sep 2006, 11:26 am
Yeah, I dont mind Habana moving, but Bakkies in my eyes is always a Bull.
Oliver is best served at the bulls, I cant see him getting 1/2 the gametime in Durbs, unless he is played on the wing?
17 Sep 2006, 11:30 am
PA,
How do you have so much inside info?
Also, do you have a way for me to contact you? I have a proposal for you
17 Sep 2006, 11:38 am
Well, after a whipping like that, I’d also want every Bulls player in my side. Why don’t the Sharks managers not just trade places with the Bulls managers? Surely that will work out cheaper for them?
17 Sep 2006, 11:41 am
Bakkies will have to change his name to Land Rover, ons praat engels hier my ou…:)
17 Sep 2006, 11:42 am
The Sharkes have the kakest colour rugby jersey out. its so outdated and “ou-doos”?!
If Hababa goes he should get in the mix as a centre, his preferred position- Danie Gerber mould.Hopefully **** Muir can see his talents are wasted on the wing.
17 Sep 2006, 11:44 am
Post 8:Bakkies,Habana and WO are class players.When did anyone say otherwise?
17 Sep 2006, 11:45 am
Post 5:There player budget is around R35 mil. The sharks are a franchise in Durbs not just a rugby team.
17 Sep 2006, 11:47 am
Strikers,
By keeping an ear on the ground and my nose clean – well most of the time anycase
Mail me here: p_i_ant@yahoo.com
17 Sep 2006, 11:47 am
Our jersey is the best mate, brings a tear to my eye, sniff sniff, blou is “ou” hehehe….
17 Sep 2006, 11:50 am
Pieterson and Habana, with Olivier, gonna be explosive…
17 Sep 2006, 11:51 am
blou is ou…hahaha thats priceless!
blou is defernately OU!
17 Sep 2006, 11:53 am
londonshark,cant buy success my chom.
look at yesterday??
3/4 of that sharks team are reterads from other unions!
try getting some players from your own back tuin and you will see.
fran steyn,classic,hero against wp and ZERO yesterday,costing his team 14 points!
17 Sep 2006, 11:55 am
(21)durban poison,he sure does bro
17 Sep 2006, 12:05 pm
35: McDaddy,whatever boet?
We beat the Bulls at Loftus,one slip up mate,thats all.
PS Money can buy success (chom),just look at Chelsea.
17 Sep 2006, 12:08 pm
would be nice to see them come to the sharks, the most important being habana cause he is one sa back who can get up there with joe roff an cullen when it comes to try scoring records
17 Sep 2006, 12:08 pm
chelsea on the big stage…where?
champions league? oh ok
17 Sep 2006, 12:28 pm
I must say I agree.
If I was a Shark supporter I would be slightly worried.
Remember them doing this about 6 or so years ago after Teich’s, Jouba and the rest of the mighty Sharks retired?
Their CEO (Van Zyl) is also on record saying they should not have bought so many players – basically mercenaries.
They have invested in their academy, and it has proved wonders so-far – they should not be too impatient – their fans are loyal and if they explain their motives and plans to the fans (transparency) I am sure they will reap the rewards very very soon (2 years).
**** has already done a lot as the Super 14 illustrated – they should be patient, this is a bit unexpected.
17 Sep 2006, 12:32 pm
Maybe we can get Habana gwaffed on some DP slow the dude down a bit…
17 Sep 2006, 12:32 pm
Bakkies and Habana are still contracted until the end off next year and by law the sharks cannot offer them a contract
17 Sep 2006, 12:36 pm
Imagine if Habana came to WP!
10. Naas/Peter grant
11.Habana/Zahier Ryhland
12.Jean De Villiers/Sarel Potgieter
13.Corne Uys
14.Sereli/Joe Petersen
15.Aplon/Jatjies/Greef
What a backline!!
17 Sep 2006, 12:38 pm
Skim
u okesmust get just a tad worried after seeing the bulls in action last night
17 Sep 2006, 12:42 pm
Eish, is all i can say Skim….
17 Sep 2006, 12:43 pm
Ja the Bulls colours were inspired by my g.g.g.ggran ou blourokke inspiring to say the least but we win da games!
17 Sep 2006, 12:46 pm
Kappie Kommando’s…the bulle need combs in their socks then they will win the CC…
17 Sep 2006, 12:49 pm
Skabenga
didnt see any combs last night
17 Sep 2006, 12:54 pm
hehehe… the boys need combs I’m telling you its their secret weapon…
17 Sep 2006, 12:59 pm
What do you mean by combs in their socks? is this a voodoo witchdoctor thing?
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All