Injuries rock Cheetahs

The Cheetahs’ semi-final victory against the Sharks was marred by injuries to three key players.

Flyhalf Willem de Waal, centre JW Jonker and wing Gavin Passons all left the field injured and could miss the final against the Bulls.

“They all have a 50/50 chance of playing next weekend,” said coach Rassie Erasmus. “Losing them today disrupted our backline quite a lot and that’s probably why we had such a tough second half.”

Erasmus has able replacements in Meyer Bosman, Gaffie du Toit and Eddie Fredericks, but will be hoping for as little disruption as possible to his starting XV.

The Cheetahs will meet the Bulls in a Currie Cup final for the third consecutive season, and Erasmus is expecting another brutal clash.

“The Bulls are firing at the right time and we won’t be able to relax against them [like we did in the second half today],” he said. “We haven’t really thought about what surprises we’ll have in store for them – the preparation will only start tomorrow [Sunday].”

Cheetahs captain Ollie le Roux said home ground advantage would play a major role next weekend.

“We’ll have a sea of orange flags here for the final, which will give us a huge boost,” he said. “It’s great to be in the final and we’re 80 minutes away from another Currie Cup title. This is what you play for … the chance to showcase your talents in a big game in front of the whole country.”

Meanwhile, Sharks captain Warren Britz was at a loss to explain his side’s eighth consecutive defeat to the Cheetahs.

“If I knew what was wrong, then we wouldn’t have lost today,” he said. “The Cheetahs are a very good, structured side. We were half asleep in the first half and to trail 24-0 was devastating.”

214 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 » Show All

• 1.Muskadel: Reply to this comment

1e!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• 2.keepin_it_real: Reply to this comment

i think not having willem against the bulls will be a blessing for the cheetahs, take a look at what dries did to him last week

• 3.rebcraig: Reply to this comment

Congrats! Cheetah’s on your win.
    J.C.FORTUIN AND LINSTON MANUELS YOU ARE A BUNCH OF CHEATS, YOU DO NOT DESERVE TO DO THE JOBS YOU ARE DOING!
    But I suppose this is our wonderful New South Africa where being mediocre and useless will always see your types f—–g up good games of rugby. Show me a team that can come back after being blown up continuously for 20 minutes for every imagined infringement sucked from those 2 arseholes thumbs (Smiling linston and all) and funny we did not hear from the other touch judge all game YOU Two ARE a DISGRACE!
    Campo was right the referees in this country are plain ****. J.C. Fortuin 7th best ref and yet Tappa must sit TMO. Fortuin and Manuels please **** off to another country and ruin their rugby, S.A. really does not need you!

• 4.Hollie: Reply to this comment

#3 I would probably have said the same thing if the Cheetahs lost today.

• 5.ziyaad: Reply to this comment

wow rebcraig u didnt take that loss very well. as a wp supporter backing the sharks because of the better style they play, i was amazed to watch the cheetahs run the ball at almost every opportunity and the sharks using brad barrit as a crash ball centre. not once was their a purposeful line movement by the sharks. and ackerman deserved to get sent off, whilst jp also came in with a late charge on burger. as disappointing as it is, pls dont make race a part of this. what this country doesnt need is people like you, who would obviously rather have 80% of the population as slaves to your perfect white culture. shame on you. the sharks were second best, the referee’s were fine.

• 6.RedLion!: Reply to this comment

Well done my Cheetah brothers … guys do not fall for Simons spin, farms boys do not get hurt that easily. Look at Kabamba … he was bleeding badly from the head but he is ok he can afford to lose a lot of blood because I think that he has extra blood up there due to a smaller brain.

• 7.Quinnyshark: Reply to this comment

Gonna make it short * sweet (see the other Cheetahs-Sharks thread for longer version):

Sharks were outplayed by the better team on the day. Cheetahs were determined, polished & DISCIPLINED – the exact opposite of the Sharks!

**** needs to stop with the “mind games”.

Hope you can carry your 1st half perfomance over to the final!

• 8.rugby god: Reply to this comment

rebcraig you are a sour **** your attack on the two match officials is racially based. get a grip the better team won on the day. Ask most rugby fans they’ll tell you that Tappe is not a good ref him self think back to the bok game against the world 15

• 9.Dooster: Reply to this comment

rebcraig jou suurgat moer! erken maar die Sharks was eenvoudig net nie goed genoeg nie.

• 10.Quinnyshark: Reply to this comment

Oooo – just read Ziyaad’s comment at 5.

Have to disagree, JC Fortuin was not fine. He is a plonker who loves the sound of his own voice & tried to conduct the game – & its an embarrassment that he’s one of our “very top referees”.

BUT he was not the reason the Sharks lost. That was due to playing aa better team (at least on the day) & their OWN POOR DISCIPLINE (as a Sharks fan, the latter was embarrassing)!!!

• 11.Dooster: Reply to this comment

ziyaad what do mean Sharks “better style of play”?

Cheetahs out played every team this year in the CC with great 15 man rugby, with great vision and versatilty to adhjust their game plan continiously to outplay the wittless Sharks and WP.

• 12.ziyaad: Reply to this comment

come now, the cheetahs havent been playing a better style of rugby to the sharks. today they did, last week they did, but for the majority of the cc, they’ve relied heavily of their rolling maul, willem de waal’s boot and 1st phase moves. the sharks ability to score from deep within their own half is something of talent, flair and instinct, something lacking in the majority of the cheetahs players, bar kabamba floors and philip burger.

• 13.ziyaad: Reply to this comment

ya ok jc fortuin wasnt great, but rebcraigs comments were too harsh. i think he was quite heavily persuaded by the cheering and jeering of the crowd.

• 14.Quinnyshark: Reply to this comment

Cheetahs out played every team this year in the CC with great 15 man rugby, with great vision and versatilty to adhjust their game plan continiously to outplay the wittless Sharks and WP.

Comment by Dooster : October 7, 2006 @ 8:01 pm

Perhaps not the Bulls last weekend, but I still agree. They are blessed in that they are able to adjust game plans effortlessly & without panic. Bravo (from a Sharks fan swallowing their pride).

I hope they manage to avenge last week’s defeat next weekend. It should be a humdinger.

• 15.rebcraig: Reply to this comment

Hey Ziyaad whats with the racial thing? I did not mention race once. So get the chip off your shoulder! Look around you and see what S.A. supporters have stooped down to. Hell we win now and again against top teams and then we are satisfied and heap the praises. When last has our cricket, rugby, soccer???? been anything but mediocre. Then again our beloved President Mbeki did say that winning is not everything! See what I mean, being mediocre is fine in S.A.

• 16.evaCheetah: Reply to this comment

What a cracker!! The sharks were simply outfoxed, they were expecting a kicking game, and the Cheetah’s came out running.

The sharks discipline let them down badly. i think the Cheetah’s have heaped smelly vrot eggs on Campo’s head. if that isn’t creative, and flowing rugby, then I would love to see what is!!

maybe not every game, nbut they have overall, played the most attractive rugby, whilst still playing winning rugby. And therein lie’s the difference. the Cheetah’s ability to be able to switch styles almost at will

It is going to be a humdinger of a final

The free State, are going to put the gate money to good use, and be more formidable next year

YEAHHHHH!!! Cheetah’s and DJ Rassie

• 17.Suidwes: Reply to this comment

Gaan n taaie wees,maar states sal dit maak, versteekseker.

• 18.spinnaker: Reply to this comment

Quinny,

I have to disagree to your comment on 14, the Cheatus havent beaten the Bulls once this year.

So yeah they are good but to say outplay, thats a strong word.

• 19.wilfred: Reply to this comment

REBCRAIG. #3
    why don’t YOUU take your whole family and **** off to another country? *******.

• 20.Suidwes: Reply to this comment

Stem saam met 19. Dis onnodig, en tappe is in elk geval niks werd nie.

• 21.wilfred: Reply to this comment

rebcraig
    you not racist , just ******* stupid.

• 22.Quinnyshark: Reply to this comment

Sorry Spinnaker. Forgot Round 1 result, & was just referring to Currie Cup. Hey, at least pointed out last week’s result in Dooster’s original post! Those were his words. I also took exception, as Sharks outplayed them in 1st half of Durban game …. :shock:

• 23.hdp: Reply to this comment

Bullshit!

Hulle is almal beseer soos Barend die naweek was…

JW Jonker miskien…

• 24.rebcraig: Reply to this comment

What’s wrong “Willie” Wilfred ole pal Truth hurts does’nt it? I take it you must be one of those “mediocre” boys. As for stupid Ha,Ha,Ha,Ha!

• 25.evaCheetah: Reply to this comment

Sorry rebcraig, but you were being a bit of a bad loser old chap!!

The sharks were their own worst enemy. The bulls also tried to distract the cheetah’s by using off the ball tactics, and it backfired (l/yr’s final)

maybe if the Sharks tried to actyally play rugby from the 1st second the game wouldn’t have been over bar the shouting at half time,

true that Quinny which was also the case last year. The cheetah’s haven’t beaten the bulls, and once again anything can haapen in the final

Only the Cheetah’s have a chance of stopping a very good bulls team. Home advantage, and the Rassie factor might do it

Rassie was tactictly very astute once again!

All the comments of the Cheetah’s being over rated, boring and being so lucky to win the CC, are being sent back to the little guys with bells on it

Eigth consecutive semi – final, and third consecutive final.

The Cheetah’s are coming of age, and the money earned at the gates will be most welcome!!

• 26.shieldstheband: Reply to this comment

recgraig its a good thing mediocre is OK in SA. Otherwise you would have been out of a job.

• 27.shieldstheband: Reply to this comment

well done cheetahs you have indeed come of age.

• 28.shieldstheband: Reply to this comment

So rebcraig your team lost and in true saffa fashion you blame the ref who happen to be black. Your supposedly clean rugby team had some call against them but all in all you gave a horrible account of yourselves in the discipline stakes and I bet a foreign ‘white-non-mediocre?’ ref would have punished you far more, like a yellow card against Botes for pulling Floors etc.

• 29.hdp: Reply to this comment

Cheetahs het goed gespeel en dit gaan ‘n great finaal wees. Go Bulle.

Het julle gehoor toe Tappe vir JC Fortuin Shawn genoem het? Belaglik!

• 30.rebcraig: Reply to this comment

Shieldstheband ole chap, ole ****, luckily my job does not allow for mediocrity but it must be tough in your unemployed shoes hey? however if you are permanently employed, well I rest my case!

• 31.wilfred: Reply to this comment

spies is good but i think floors is a better player.
    spies look better because of his height.
    always rated k.daniels but floors outplayed him.
    cheaters lost to bulls twice but overall cheaters were better this season.
    as a w.p. supporter i will shout for frystaaaaaat.

• 32.shieldstheband: Reply to this comment

Hehe rebcraig I dont define myself by the work that I do, moreso by my contribtution to family and country. Trust me there are some very hard-working, progressive South Africans out there. You choose to generalise over an entire country because you are pissed off at 1 individual who alledgedly made your precious team lose. How sad and regressive is that? The whole ‘blaming the ref’ mantra is as mediocre as rugby post-match analysis get?

• 33.Oranje Orakel: Reply to this comment

wilfred

ka’MAMBA should be a permanent fixture in green 22

i will play the bok back row

7 smith
    6 baywatch
    8 spies

• 34.shieldstheband: Reply to this comment

OO you bullocks. You tirned me on to Ernst Joubert ’cause you kept on picking him in your bok teams. Now you change? Eish…

• 35.David: Reply to this comment

shields
    It’s called a short attention span.

• 36.Oranje Orakel: Reply to this comment

shields- my teams is based on the players that is playing and whom i am rating at that moment as the best in the position

i rate ersnt joubert highly- and as a unit- the lions backrow of joubert vheerden and baywatch was the pick of the cc 2006.

spies however is brilliant since returnong from the bok

he is brilliant

• 37.Bok: Reply to this comment

there should be a 3rd and 4th play-off on Friday

• 38.pieter: Reply to this comment

# ziyaad, your a f….g racist. who the hell are you to make such sarcastic unasked-for remarks bout whites. pls dont ever come back to this site again you idiot.

• 39.shieldstheband: Reply to this comment

Ag Pieter its just his opinion. Why you go all rock-spider if someone has an opinion that differs from yours? Do you control or own the site? How can you decide who can be here or not? Superiority complex kicking in is it?

• 40.ziyaad: Reply to this comment

well i re-direct my comments at people like u pieter. r u by any chance a relative of verwoerd. jokes, im not even gonna bother getting into a war of words with someone like you. im not rascist in any way, i just get soo upset with people who hate the new south africa, because that shows how threatened they feel to actually live in a country where there is equality. take a look at urself. and i will spk my mind if i want to and you should shut the hell up. i dont hold any grudges against white people for starters, despite the fact the horrors of apartheid, yet u r willing to call me rascist for making a slightly sarcastic remark about someone insulting the new south africa?! how dare you.

• 41.superBul: Reply to this comment

The moment you critisise anybody not white in SA, it a racial thing. Are we ever going to grow up. The ref and Linesman was poor today. I bet you the local newspapers wil agree, read The Sunday times, i love SIMNIKIWE XABANISA he is a good journalist and i bet he wil have something similar to say, just hope he covers the Sharks game.

what amazes me the whole week wilfred and shieldstheband was missing but the moment something with a race undertone apears , viola here they are almost like…

• 42.Henri F: Reply to this comment

I thought the refereeing in the Cheetahs game was better than the Bulls-Wp one. Jonker missed many offside infringements by the Bulls, and two WP tries were forward passes. Rebcraig is a racial bigot, and he knows it. In fact, he revels in it.

• 43.ziyaad: Reply to this comment

superBul, critising based on evidence is ok, in fact it is good, but as soon as you make the type of remarks of post #3, then surely u gotta stand up and say thats wrong? and there is definetely a perception in this country where non-white players are quota selections until they can prove otherwise… even i feel that way. i felt kinda surprised gavin passens scored two tries, because i assumed he was merely a quota. nevertheless, everyday is better than the last, and one day hopefully we will be rid of this rascial tension.

• 44.shieldstheband: Reply to this comment

Fortuin should have yellow carded Botes for holding on to Floors. Apart from that he had a fine game.

• 45.YoMama: Reply to this comment

RebCraig,

What you need to do is learn to count to 1000.

Very often, I feel the same way that you felt when you penned that poinson. If you wrote your comment tomorrow, you would probably find a more diplomatic way of expressing yourself.

The trouble is that no one wants to listen to you simply because of how you said it.

• 46.shieldstheband: Reply to this comment

hear hear ziyaad. you are a wp fan. I wont hold that against you even though it goes against human logic. Apart from that I respect you and your posts.

• 47.YoMama: Reply to this comment

The last time that Ollie was in a Currie Cup final for the Cheetahs in Bloem, he was nat agte die ore. I remember he shaved OVS into the back of his head (His hair was a little shorter then)

Free State had to play that game at Springbok Park Cricket Stadium because of renovations being made to the rugby stadium.

They lost to the Lions that day. Hopefully that is a piece of history that will remain there.

• 48.shieldstheband: Reply to this comment

Yo mama my freestate brother! Life is good!

• 49.hdp: Reply to this comment

Bulle het weer drie spanne in die finaal!

• 50.ziyaad: Reply to this comment

shot bud. i get the whole rascial thing at skewl as well, cos im at a predominantly white skewl on scholarship… so im quite used to it actually.

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.