Steyn poised for national selection

Luke Watson still won’t make the Springbok squad for the Ireland and English tests, but the national selectors will blood several in-form Currie Cup players.

The form of Pierre Spies gives White an escape not to pick Watson, although Spies has been devastating as a No 8 in the Absa Currie Cup and not as an open-side option. Watson, consistently, has been the best open-side flanker in the country, through the Super 14 and the Currie Cup. He was very good playing in a beaten pack in Western Province’s semi-final defeat and newspaper reports that played off his performance against that of Spies were outrageous. One played openside flank in a pack whose tight five got murdered. The other played No 8 in a pack that marched relentlessly to a final.

Most independent observers would laud the possibility of Watson playing as open-sider, Spies playing at No 8 and Juan Smith completing the loose-trio. For those who still argue that Watson misses out because there are better, don’t kid yourself. Watson misses out because White does not rate him and never will.

White this weekend told the Sunday newspapers, English and Afrikaans, that for the first time his focus was on winning the World Cup and not the next test. Let’s hope the national coach can maintain this supposed belief on tour. He mentioned a similar thing prior to the Tri Nations. Then the Boks got hammered by France and White feared for his job. His reaction was to stick with the same players who failed him the year before.

Injuries forced him to introduce younger players and Spies was one of those to benefit with two outstanding home tests against New Zealand and Australia. But before we get too carried away, look at the impact of Spies at No 8 in his test debut. Yeah, there was no impact because there was nothing happening among the tight five.

To beat Ireland and to get at least one win out of two against England will require a tight five that is dominant and not just competitive. The loosies in the northern hemisphere will only ever be as good as their tight five. And White and his selectors will have to think carefully about who goes and stays in that department.

Rudolf Straeuli also opted for a young tight five in 2002 to play France, Scotland and England. Deon Carstens, Bakkies Botha and Wessel Roux were all the stars of the domestic competition. They got smashed by teams, whose tight five were well versed in technique.

It will require a mix and match in selection if White is to succeed where all Bok teams have failed since 1997.

Taking younger loose-forwards and backs is to be applauded, but the wiser and more battle-hardened souls are the non negotiables among the pack.

Speculation, based on White having a banter with the Sunday newspapers, include the selection of Francois Steyn as a utility back, potentially Brad Barritt and Jaco Pretorius as a second string midfield combination and the injection of youth in Hilton Lobberts and Kabamba Floors. Chiliboy Ralepelle will again tour, despite the Bulls selectors rating him third, at best, in their current senior set-up – a rating I fully agree with when you consider the quality of Botha and replacement hooker Strauss.

White will not select overseas-based players like Cobus Visagie, although there is a very strong case to be made for Visagie, given he has given all the English props a torrid time in the last two seasons, while French-based Shaun Sowerby would be a ‘horses for courses’ selection.

White will continue to pick John Smit as his first choice hooker and captain, but Os du Randt and Percy Montgomery will be rested. There is also talk that White will ‘rest’ his best outside back in the last two tests in Breyton Paulse. Just why only the selectors would know because Paulse has played very few matches this year and has ended his overseas commitments with Clermont two months ago.

With Montgomery out, White can choose between Bevin Fortuin, JP Pietersen and Steyn, but it seems Johan Roets is very much in the Watson mould. Regardless of what he does, he won’t make the team.

Of the contracted Boks who SARU will be paying until the end of 2007, Hanyani Shimange, Eddie Andrews, Jaco van der Westhuyzen, Marius Joubert and De Wet Barry are unlikely to tour, while a decision has to be made on Jacques Cronje and Victor Matfield.

Joe van Niekerk, who has not had any rugby since the away leg of the Tri Nations, is also unclear about his tour involvement. Van Niekerk hurt his neck in August and it would be wiser to give him an additional month to make a complete recovery.

White’s biggest selection headache comes at lock. Matfield is the best contesting lineout in the world and Bakkies Botha is the best foil in a partnership to Matfield. Without Botha and Matfield, the likes of Johann Muller, Albert van den Berg and Danie Rossouw aren’t as imposing a prospect.

If you look at the two teams that will contest the Currie Cup final, the majority of the players are unlikely to feature in the touring squad. Of the Free Staters, Fortuin is the only probable backline inclusion, with Floors and Jannie du Plessis candidates among the pack. Among the Bulls, Ndungane and Wynand Olivier will probably tour, while Spies, Lobberts, Rossouw and Gary Botha should be in the national squad of 30. That’s less that 10 players out of the 30 coming from the two teams who have dominated the domestic competition.

652 Comments

Pages: « 14 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 » Show All

• 501.RedCard: Reply to this comment

Francois “Swys” Swart

• 502.Shosoloza: Reply to this comment

boomer,

francois swart

• 503.boomer: Reply to this comment

• 504.jonny: Reply to this comment

Howzit Supa, enjoy the gloating – this time next week I bet you’re not so windgat!

Well done Bulls, the better team won on the day no doubt. I think you will have a tougher game this week though, no Hofmeyer to stir the crowd – who will be mainly oranje!

Please please please will someone sort out that mediocre litte wingat winger Marius Delport! Who exactly does the litte poephole think he is? If Johan Ackerman deserved his yellow card in the other game then Delport should’ve been sent off for 2 similar yellow card offences.

• 505.budachaos: Reply to this comment

from unbiased Lions suppoter- From this weekends was very impressed with Fortuin, Floors and Spies.
    Not sure what the hype is with Russel, he was thrown around like a rag doll I see why he isnt first choice for Sharks, Watson ….well on that performace alone floors must be ahead of him on JW tour list.

• 506.valjeanthesaint: Reply to this comment

Ettienne Botha

• 507.Kerneels: Reply to this comment

I have to agree with you on that point – it really seemed like evrything went wrong for the Sharks – and the ref did make a lot of 50/50 call in favour of OVS.

Hey, that is the game – the ball didn’t bounce for WP on saturday, its just the way it is.

• 508.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

finmaster’s bitter rants gives me such sublime pleasure its almost sinful. i can sense your pain and frustration and helplessness. you are so pathetic that i cannot even feel sorry for you.

you give decent sharks fans such a bad name.

stop blaming the ref/phase of the moon/weather/Dicks menstrual cycle/Barrit’s hairdresser for what was a fair game. your team did well but you are a disgrace.

why dont you go find a hole and crawl into it?

• 509.capebull: Reply to this comment

hmmm

I agree that Lobberts must learn the art of controlled aggression. That ‘s why he’s an excellent impact player and not a starter, one must applaud the Bulls for using him like that.

Remember Schalks first year with about 50 yellow cards. Every one forgets that Spies has been involved in 2 years of S14/S12.

The whole WP wants Diack in the bok team, I say let him play S14 first ( he disapeared with “the Dentist” on saturday)

Pick new players for the tour yes but pick players with s14 experience.

• 510.bigg: Reply to this comment

well said Zorro – very good point

• 511.boomer: Reply to this comment

What did Marius Delport do to piss you all off?

• 512.valjeanthesaint: Reply to this comment

507 agreed.

• 513.valjeanthesaint: Reply to this comment

511. His hair cut…wahaha

• 514.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

481, spies_is_king, spot on buddy. Great post and I agree completely.
    Like I said earlier, instead of saying spies is so much better let`s rather see the possibilities in playing them together. I personally think they compliment each other and will be untouchable together.

• 515.Kerneels: Reply to this comment

Barb

Once again, I felt some of those call from the ref were dodgy at best – the yellow card? I don’t know that it deserved a sin bin – if it did, about half the team should have been carded later in the game.

I hope the sharks can pick themselves up and continue building what they started this year – same goes for WP.

See you guys in the S14…

• 516.jonny: Reply to this comment

Finmaster, you were watching a different game to the one I was if you think the Cheetahs didn’t deserve to win!

Of the 4 teams in the semis your lot were the biggest disappointment. The Cheetahs ran you ragged and killed the game off in the 1st half because they were better organised and seemed hungrier for the win than the Sharks. Disappointing considering the raw talent in your backline.

• 517.RedCard: Reply to this comment

capebull,

RE Diack, the same goes for guys like Jaco Pretorius, Aplon, Francois Steyn, etc etc.

• 518.Shosoloza: Reply to this comment

he ran over corne uys and sidestep the fidji oke too easily, he made them look like school children, now they hate him

• 519.capebull: Reply to this comment

The Bulls have put up posters ( of Ollie smoking his sigar ) at Loftus , this is going to be a great game.

Cheetas have the ability to play with backs and forwards.

I think that the Lions would have put up a better show that the Sharkies. ( **** slim vang sy baas )

• 520.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

val,
    alles is ge-organise, van die ring to n sigaar vir op die strand voor die tyd vir n bietjie “courage”

• 521.Oranje Orakel: Reply to this comment

Supa

i like your attitude

It will be tuff

• 522.jonny: Reply to this comment

Lots of off-the-ball nonsense Boomer. Even Joel Stransky commented on it!

He reminds me of a playground bully who is all mouth when his tjommies are with him. Would love to see Barend Pieterse rub his insignificant little face into the Bloem dirt this weekend!

• 523.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

I have found a few Afrikaans sayings….

Luke is so kort hy weet nie of dit keelseer of aambeie is nie.

• 524.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Hello OO,

Jy kry nou-nou jou Quote!

Tuff game tussen ons spanne in die final!!

• 525.valjeanthesaint: Reply to this comment

bluebarb,

He he> Cool dis al waaroor my ma praat. Sy het my al 4 keer gevra: ” Het jy jou vlug gebook?” Ek sal die jack daniels bring.

• 526.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

every team has a chop. WP has Bolla, States have Phillip Burger, we have Delport, Sharks have, uhm well, take your pick.

daar is altyd n drol in die drinkwater..

• 527.Kerneels: Reply to this comment

Luke is so kort jy kan sy skoene op sy id foto sien.

• 528.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

Luke ìs so kort hy slaan tot sy onderbroek se pype om.

• 529.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

“Die Bulle voel nou so goed, hulle vul sommer die lottonommers verkeerd in.”

• 530.valjeanthesaint: Reply to this comment

Bolla’s Boo(almost fell off the couch laughing) reminded me of Tinus Delport on Ellispark against the Crusaders just before the crusader came back from a 27 – 0 behind and shock the lions….Justin Marshall a legend…

• 531.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

jonny,
    while Barend grinds Delport, Fondse will be moering Phillip “Swandive” Burger on the other side of the field?

• 532.Oranje Orakel: Reply to this comment

Thnks groot blou

Yip

this is the business end

• 533.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

“Almal kry die voorreg om onnosel te wees, net jammer WP/Sharks maak misbruik daarvan.”

• 534.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Ig , Keo

Where can we buy tickets online for the final??

Computicket does not seem to feature the game??

• 535.capebull: Reply to this comment

I think that Jake should look at Derick Hougaard and Meyer Bosman for this tour.

Derick has BMT.

There is no point to pick a guy that has played 1 decent game for the Sharks against WP.( He was shocking against Bulls.)

• 536.finmaster: Reply to this comment

508# Bluebarb, what you smoking boet, I am calling it as I see it, get of your high horse and go back to the farm. I did not blame anybody for the Sharls loss, I am merely saying that a team of nobodys like the Cheetahs should not be in the finals.
    PS Paul Kruger wants his mustache back.

• 537.Bulla: Reply to this comment

En dan was daar …Bolla(tantrum)Conradie…

As Bolla ge-tackle word …gooi hy ‘n tantrum..!

As Bolla ‘n drie druk …dan gooi hy ‘n tantrum..!

He he he …!

• 538.valjeanthesaint: Reply to this comment

Did enjoy doing the macarena to Rassies coloured paddles.

• 539.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

luke is so klein sy check-hemp het net plek vir een blokkie.

• 540.Quinnyshark: Reply to this comment

Congrats all Cheetahs fans!

I think we were pretty lucky not to concede more points against the Cheetahs…the way we played in the 1st half reminded me of a certain 63-6 drubbing by the Bulls in the early nineties… I wish the Boks could play like the Cheetahs – crisp, fast passing, good running on to the ball, very few handling errors, watertight defense & how refreshing to see a DISCIPLINED SA team for once! For the first time in my life I was embarrassed to be a Sharks fan with all the off-the-ball incidents. These guys are all pros & surely they know the consequence of their indisciplined actions??? I think it was a Cheetahs ploy to bait & wind-up the Sharks players, given their reputation. Very sneaky & ingenious, I must say…cause it certainly worked!

JC Fortuin was cr!p, but to place the blame on him for our defeat is taking it too far. His main problem seems to stem from his wanting to conduct the entire game – & his self-importance. This guy must never be allowed to referee international games, as he’s clearly not up to scratch. As for L. Manuels, he’s even more of an embarrassment. Clearly incompetent.

Looking ahead to the S14, I’m a little nervous for the Sharks. Yes we have the “ideal” draw, but if **** doesn’t sort the following out it could become the draw from hell:
    1) DISCIPLINE (has been shocking most of the season)
    2) Defense – esp in the backline. Sharks have leaked a number of soft tries…
    3) Handling (has not been up to scratch)
    4) Stop trying to mind games (this is for ****, cause he sucks at it!)

Also well done Blue Bulls on beating WP. Looking forward to watching the final as a neutral…

• 541.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

“Luke is so lelik, as sy op die sand sit wil die katte haar toekrap..”

• 542.Bamber: Reply to this comment

Francoise Steyn is an excellent prospect, as are Floors, Lobberts and Ralepelle. I’d give Steyn a run at flyhalf outside Pienaar. I’d also take Butch James to cover for flyhalf and inside centre. It’s pointless taking Paulse. Yes he did have an excellent game last time out, but was largely anonymous in the earlier games over the summer and is, quite frankly, too slow these days. Whatever happened to Shandre Frolick? He looked an absolute corker at full back until he got injured. If he’s fit, why not let him travel to acquaint himself with the squad…after all, in previous end-of-year tours there’s always been at least one fellow traveller.

• 543.valjeanthesaint: Reply to this comment

536..Yes the cheetahs only have the player that has scored the most points in the cc for the last two years???? MMMMM

• 544.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

finmaster,
    why dont you come wash my car next week. its not like your team will be playing rugby or anything..

• 545.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

“Die mens is op aarde geplaas om ‘n sekere hoeveelheid werk te doen. Op die oomblik is Supa so ver agter met die tyd wat hy op keo spandeer hy sal nooit dood gaan nie.”

• 546.Quinnyshark: Reply to this comment

And Francois Steyn should NOT be picked for the Boks on the EOYT!!! He will be a Bok in the future, but he still has loads to learn! Were they not referring to Morne Steyn instead? I think we need to take someone with a little more experience along for the EOYT as back up for AP… dare I say Hougaard/De Waal?

BTW, there is a rumour circulating in Natal that Butch is considering retiring…

• 547.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

Ons kannie almal helde wees nie, iemand moet langs die pad staan en hande klap – Luke….

• 548.valjeanthesaint: Reply to this comment

540. Agree with what you saying. Maybe out poor backline defense is caused by Campese? Remember the days of Johan Mullers HUGE tackles..

• 549.valjeanthesaint: Reply to this comment

544 LOL

• 550.Quinnyshark: Reply to this comment

542 Shandre Frolick???

Let him actually start a game for the senior WP squad before making him a Bok FFS!!!

Pages: « 14 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.