Steyn poised for national selection

Luke Watson still won’t make the Springbok squad for the Ireland and English tests, but the national selectors will blood several in-form Currie Cup players.

The form of Pierre Spies gives White an escape not to pick Watson, although Spies has been devastating as a No 8 in the Absa Currie Cup and not as an open-side option. Watson, consistently, has been the best open-side flanker in the country, through the Super 14 and the Currie Cup. He was very good playing in a beaten pack in Western Province’s semi-final defeat and newspaper reports that played off his performance against that of Spies were outrageous. One played openside flank in a pack whose tight five got murdered. The other played No 8 in a pack that marched relentlessly to a final.

Most independent observers would laud the possibility of Watson playing as open-sider, Spies playing at No 8 and Juan Smith completing the loose-trio. For those who still argue that Watson misses out because there are better, don’t kid yourself. Watson misses out because White does not rate him and never will.

White this weekend told the Sunday newspapers, English and Afrikaans, that for the first time his focus was on winning the World Cup and not the next test. Let’s hope the national coach can maintain this supposed belief on tour. He mentioned a similar thing prior to the Tri Nations. Then the Boks got hammered by France and White feared for his job. His reaction was to stick with the same players who failed him the year before.

Injuries forced him to introduce younger players and Spies was one of those to benefit with two outstanding home tests against New Zealand and Australia. But before we get too carried away, look at the impact of Spies at No 8 in his test debut. Yeah, there was no impact because there was nothing happening among the tight five.

To beat Ireland and to get at least one win out of two against England will require a tight five that is dominant and not just competitive. The loosies in the northern hemisphere will only ever be as good as their tight five. And White and his selectors will have to think carefully about who goes and stays in that department.

Rudolf Straeuli also opted for a young tight five in 2002 to play France, Scotland and England. Deon Carstens, Bakkies Botha and Wessel Roux were all the stars of the domestic competition. They got smashed by teams, whose tight five were well versed in technique.

It will require a mix and match in selection if White is to succeed where all Bok teams have failed since 1997.

Taking younger loose-forwards and backs is to be applauded, but the wiser and more battle-hardened souls are the non negotiables among the pack.

Speculation, based on White having a banter with the Sunday newspapers, include the selection of Francois Steyn as a utility back, potentially Brad Barritt and Jaco Pretorius as a second string midfield combination and the injection of youth in Hilton Lobberts and Kabamba Floors. Chiliboy Ralepelle will again tour, despite the Bulls selectors rating him third, at best, in their current senior set-up – a rating I fully agree with when you consider the quality of Botha and replacement hooker Strauss.

White will not select overseas-based players like Cobus Visagie, although there is a very strong case to be made for Visagie, given he has given all the English props a torrid time in the last two seasons, while French-based Shaun Sowerby would be a ‘horses for courses’ selection.

White will continue to pick John Smit as his first choice hooker and captain, but Os du Randt and Percy Montgomery will be rested. There is also talk that White will ‘rest’ his best outside back in the last two tests in Breyton Paulse. Just why only the selectors would know because Paulse has played very few matches this year and has ended his overseas commitments with Clermont two months ago.

With Montgomery out, White can choose between Bevin Fortuin, JP Pietersen and Steyn, but it seems Johan Roets is very much in the Watson mould. Regardless of what he does, he won’t make the team.

Of the contracted Boks who SARU will be paying until the end of 2007, Hanyani Shimange, Eddie Andrews, Jaco van der Westhuyzen, Marius Joubert and De Wet Barry are unlikely to tour, while a decision has to be made on Jacques Cronje and Victor Matfield.

Joe van Niekerk, who has not had any rugby since the away leg of the Tri Nations, is also unclear about his tour involvement. Van Niekerk hurt his neck in August and it would be wiser to give him an additional month to make a complete recovery.

White’s biggest selection headache comes at lock. Matfield is the best contesting lineout in the world and Bakkies Botha is the best foil in a partnership to Matfield. Without Botha and Matfield, the likes of Johann Muller, Albert van den Berg and Danie Rossouw aren’t as imposing a prospect.

If you look at the two teams that will contest the Currie Cup final, the majority of the players are unlikely to feature in the touring squad. Of the Free Staters, Fortuin is the only probable backline inclusion, with Floors and Jannie du Plessis candidates among the pack. Among the Bulls, Ndungane and Wynand Olivier will probably tour, while Spies, Lobberts, Rossouw and Gary Botha should be in the national squad of 30. That’s less that 10 players out of the 30 coming from the two teams who have dominated the domestic competition.

652 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 1114 » Show All

• 151.macdaddy: Reply to this comment

sure thing dave but it aint no disruption,all the wp ous speak highly of him and if anyone believes what they read in the press well then ther is no hope.

you have too allow everyone to embrace his individual talents otherwise you get 15 robots on the field.look at the skinstad era in the cape….sublime rugga.thats what we wanna see in schlaapstad.

• 152.pieterman: Reply to this comment

GWB
    Moenie bekommer oor BlouBlaas, ons het sy soort ook, soos jy weet.
    Al die rugbymaters, dankie vir die naweek, ons vang mekaar later.

Cheers Jinxie and Dave…some other day…

• 153.macdaddy: Reply to this comment

gwb…en hoe greef wynand doed getackle…en hoe bolla dai scrummie doed getackle het.

i also remember aplon nailed jp nil head on to save a certain try.

• 154.macdaddy: Reply to this comment

(148) GWB..you keep on praating oor wattie ou skaap,do you want to have *** with the guy?

he was actually one of wp’s better players but would never last in the moftus set up because he aint no yes man.he speaks his mind and we dig that in the cape.

• 155.GWB: go with the bulls..: Reply to this comment

maar dit was nie genoeg nie, macbroodkops.
    soos verlede jaar.
    en volgende jaar….

• 156.David: Reply to this comment

macdaddy
    I was going on personal observations not the press.
    Have you noticed that Diacks game has deteriorated in direct proportion to Lukes expanded playmaker role over the last few games.
    I don’t think that’s a coincidence.

• 157.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Luke will make the team.

Barrit and JP has shown absolutely nothing to suggest that they should be selected.

In Wynand and Jean (who had precious little game time this year through injury) we have enough cover at 12.

Preotius (Jaco) is a fair call to give MOssie a rest.

JP Pietersen has never impressed me – it is time to give Fortuin and Roets a go.

Steyn…

Not too sure, seeing our depth at flyhalf I might consider him, but then again, Bosman is back (10 & 12 cover) and if you use consistency as a guideline, then De Waal and Hougaard (cant believe I said that) must surely be considered.

Hougaard is still very young, and has played well lately.

I am no big fan of De Waal, in fact, I still believe in some way he is only a good CC player.

But if you bring up a consistency argument to include the likes of Luke and Co, then surely Pietersen must be dropped and guys that have performed in the CC given a chance – and with that, not guys that ‘show promise’ but dont deliver.

On the by and by, congrats to the Bully boys, your team with that of the Cheetahs most definately looks a class above the rest, it will be a cracking final.

• 158.macdaddy: Reply to this comment

why cant wp be different,thats all the moftus crowd seem to talk about in these blog.

we respect good talent up north too…spies and and and mm who else? NOT roets,please no.not even danie.bakkies,yes and matfield ook.

• 159.keepin_it_real: Reply to this comment

i think jp pieterson got some unfair criticsm. i thought he linked up well with russell yesterday and those 2 were the best sharks backs on the field, which doesn’t say much for how the backline played cos both have played better

• 160.RedLion! ... Kabamba is Luke's hero.: Reply to this comment

This is my team of 30 for the eoyt only this is not my RWC team. I have left out a lot of players because they do not fit into my plans, so please no Luke posters.

Head Coach – JW
    Assistant Coaches – Loffie, ****, Rassie
    Team Manager – Doctor Khumalo
    Spin Doctor – Keo

1 Heinke vd Merwe, Engels
    2 G Botha (vc), Chilli boy
    3 BJ Botha, J Du Plessis, Sephaka

4 F van Der Merwe, D Rossouw
    5 B Pieterse, Van Schouwenburg

6 Baywatch, Kabamba, Ryno vd Merwe
    7 Wikus (c), J Smith
    8 Spies, J v Niekerk

9 Ricky, Pienaar, FdP
    10 Petoors, Bosman

12 JdV, Olivier
    13 J Fourie, Jaco Petoors

14 Ndungane, Passens
    11 Habana

15 Fortuin

• 161.GWB: go with the bulls..: Reply to this comment

macbroodkop,
    Nee, Bolla sal dit nie toelaat nie.
    Kyk wat sê david hierbo. Ek stem saam met hom.
    Watson will almal se werk doen, ipv sy eie.
    Hoeveel losballe het hy gesteel gister?
    Nie n enkele een nie.
    en dit teen Dinorossouw?

• 162.macdaddy: Reply to this comment

dave i know,diack started the season full throtal and has dwindled,they should have given fran van der merwe a go,the guy looks like he has the goods.

wp just need to give all these youngsters a chance,thats all.

gerrie and van der merwe are a good combo in the engine room.melck,wattie and either diack or fran van der merwe at the back.brits,brock and jd in the front row and let they grow as a unit….for goodness sake.

• 163.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

I read some posts on Diack.

Just as an aside, guys for your info, Diack’s dad is really ill reportedly, in fact, his break last week was apparently more due to this fact than the reported tummy bug

• 164.David: Reply to this comment

pa 153
    Did you write that or did I, LOL. You stated my sentiments exactly from an earlier post.
    Clinton vd Bergh in the Sunday Times stated that Barrit cannot be ignored. It’s easy. The Cheetahs and Bulls managed it without raising a sweat.

• 165.keepin_it_real: Reply to this comment

redlion- u chose 31 players. u should drop 2 loosies from that squad (5 is enough) and add a player to your back 3. otherwise thats not a bad team

• 166.Hollie: Reply to this comment

**** White het klaar sy club med-span gekies wat sal toer in November.JW het een goeie besluit gemaak in drie jaar,Spies!!!

• 167.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Hehehe,

Sorry David, I just plunged into this thread after readin Keo’s piece, but it wont be the first time we agree on something :)

• 168.David: Reply to this comment

red Lion
    Not a bad choice except for Baywatch and Wickus. I really appreciate your sense of humour.

• 169.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

I tell you what though, after watching Spies closely for the last month or so, and hearing him speak, I believe this boy is our captain for the future.

I said it about 4 months ago, last time I was this excited about a player, was in Bob Skinstad’s time.

Heyneke called it in the start of the season, and man has his call been vindicated!

• 170.Skim wil GRAAG 'n Blou Bul word!: Reply to this comment

A deal is deal.

• 171.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Hello rugby buddies,

I was at Loftus yesterday….

Only able to function coherently now….

All I can say is:

Dis lekker om ‘n Bul te wees!

• 172.Skim wil GRAAG 'n Blou Bul word!: Reply to this comment

Hey daar Groot.

• 173.keepin_it_real: Reply to this comment

skim- nice to keep yr side of the deal, i think it would have been funnier if gbs had 2 change his nick because he is more conservative with that type of thing

• 174.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Hey Skimmie,

Thanks for the nick change bud…..like you said, a deal is a deal….for the whole week, nê!

• 175.Skim wil GRAAG 'n Blou Bul word!: Reply to this comment

ja, ek weet.
    My span het my lelik in die steek gelaat.

• 176.David: Reply to this comment

pa
    I was more interested in how your logic followed mine.
    Didn’t realise about Diack. I’ve just lost my mother and understand how distracted it leaves you.
    If that’s the case it would have been kinder to have left him out and played Francois Louw as Macdaddy suggested.

• 177.thehef: Reply to this comment

LOL vir Skim en gbs… Skim, RESPECT for taking it like a man.

• 178.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

Yes guys , what good rugby we had ysterday. So sorry for WP and the Sharks. What’s with the sharks ? can’t believe they played so bad. So there’s only two teams left hey.

Who’s going to make it this year ? If i have to look back at the year, i think the Cheetha’s will take it again. Not that i have anything against the bulls , but the cheetha’s been the best team this year.

• 179.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Skim,

Ek gaan nou eers die game op TV kyk, het dit opgeneem, maar nog nie op TV gesien nie, want ek was mos op Fort Loftus!

Ek en Steyn & Madeleintjie het saam gebraai en saam gesit en rugby kyk.

Dit was ‘n mooooosa game, freekin lekker atmosfeer…alles!

Ja, jou span het jou lêlik in die steek gelaat!

• 180.Skim wil GRAAG 'n Blou Bul word!: Reply to this comment

Wp het die game al verloor voor die afskop.
    Ons koppe was nie reg nie.

• 181.David: Reply to this comment

pa
    What have you got against Spies? I wouldn’t wish the Bok captaincy on anyone!
    I really hope that Jake persists with him at 8. His talents are wasted at 6 and Jake must stop looking for a clone to replace Schalk.

• 182.GWB: go with the bulls..: Reply to this comment

Andre, Ek stem nie saam nie.
    Ons het die FS 2 keer hierdie jaar oortuigend geklop en sal hulle ook nie weer onderskat nie.

• 183.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Skimmie,

Jou koppie was nog nooit reg nie!!!

Heheehhehehe

PS: Ek joke net!

• 184.GWB: go with the bulls..: Reply to this comment

Hallo GBS!

• 185.Zinto: Reply to this comment

Zinto’s eoyt 30:
    1. Heinke van der Merwe/Laurence Sephaka
    2. John Smit/Chilliboy Rallepele
    3. BJ Botha/Jannie du Plessis
    4. Francois van der Merwe/Barend Pietersen
    5. Selborne Boome/Gerrie Brits
    6. Kabamba Floors/Luke Watson
    7. Juan Smith/AJ Venter
    8. Pierre Spies/Joe van Niekerk
    9. Bolla Conradie/Fourie du Preez
    10. Andre Pretorius/Willem de Waal
    11. Jongi Nokwe/Luis Ludic
    12. Jean de Villiers/Brad Barrit
    13. Jaques Fourie/Jaco Pretorius
    14. Brain Habana/ Gio Aplon
    15. Bevin Fortuin/JP Pietersen

• 186.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

David,

You ask me, I would play Spies at 7, Juan at 8.

To complete the most lethal trio in world rugby, a fit Schalla making up the numbers, would destroy anything in their path.

Man it is mouth-watering!!!

• 187.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Hello Blou broer!!

Dis lekker om ‘n bul te wees!!

• 188.GWB: go with the bulls..: Reply to this comment

Stan sê vanoggend vir my dat die heel lekkerste van gister se oorwinning is dat hy weet dat Keo en sy kneg Ig albei WP ondersteuners is !
    Bwahahaahhhhhhhaaaaaaa!

• 189.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

What have you got in Spies?

Andre Venter, Bob Skinstad, Tiaan Strauss, and the brain and leadership possibility of Teich’s.

I am really impressed with this kid.

• 190.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Ja, hierdie week gaan hulle seker net ‘n klomp kak threads opsit waarin WP moan, die ref blameer ens….

En ‘n paar pro Cheat-us threads opsit…

• 191.GWB: go with the bulls..: Reply to this comment

PA,
    and humility, while he knows he is good. How many MOM awards this year.
    If Lulu learns that trait, he might become something.

• 192.GWB: go with the bulls..: Reply to this comment

Die mooiste was toe Spies oor Lulu gehardloop het…

• 193.David: Reply to this comment

pa
    I’ve also wondered about that combination and it is a great option. If Schalks not fit it should be Floors/Watson. Both bring something different but wouldn’t upset the balance.
    I’ve never been convinced about our loose trio combination. Even with Schalk they seemed to play more as 3 individuals than a unit.
    Schalk was often criticised for isolating himself but where was his 7 or 8 support that should have been on his shoulder?

• 194.GWB: go with the bulls..: Reply to this comment

en toe Roets die bal uit Pigmee Aplon se hande gevat het.

• 195.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Ek sien ons het darem hier ‘n paar manmoedige WP manne wat krediet gee, en hul pak soos manne vat……maar wil elkeen van daai wilde woeste WP outjies wat so grootbek was voor Sat persoonlik aanspreek, beginnende by Macfucktup, wat gesê het dat ons almal lang trane gaan huil en dat hulle nog die Pretoria meisies ook gaan doen!

Hulle is stert tussen die bene huis toe, soos ons geweet het gaan gebeur!

Selfde geld Martin, Spokie, WP-Man, WP_Boytjie, Logie, Twig, Bester…….

• 196.Skim wil GRAAG 'n Blou Bul word!: Reply to this comment

Chose a young squad with some old heads.

1.Visgagie
    2.Gary Botha
    3.Sephaka
    4.Francois van der Merwe
    5.Danie Rossouw
    6.Luke Watson
    7.Juan Smith
    8.Pierre Spies
    9.Ruan Pienaar
    10.Petoors
    11.Egon Seconds
    12.Bradley Barrit
    13.Jaco Pretoruis
    14.Breyton Paulse
    15.Johan Roets

16.Bismarck Du Plessis
    17.BJ Botha
    18.Andries Bekker
    19.Kabamba Floors
    20.Janno Vermaak
    21.Brent Russel
    22.Butch James

Jannie Du plessis
    Chilliboy
    Gerrie Brits
    Hilton Lobberts
    Fourie Du Preez
    Akona Ndugane
    Wynand Olivier
    JP Pietersen

• 197.Simeon: Reply to this comment

PA,

Whassup? Have you read comment 42? Disgraceful

My WC team

1. Os
    2. Gary/Richard Struass
    3. Jannie du Plessis
    4. Bakkies
    5. Matfield/Pieterse
    6. Kabamba (Burger will most probably not play rugby again)
    7. Spies
    8. Van der Merwe/AJ
    9. Ruan
    10. AP
    11. Philip Burger
    12. Jean de Villiers
    13. Jaco Pretorius
    14. Habana(if he’s still out of form, perhaps Passens.
    15. Fortuin

• 198.David: Reply to this comment

Afternoon GBS
    Your team would have lost without your loyal support!
    Still suffering?
    Well done to your guys. I doubt if any WP supporters question the fact that the Bulls deserved the win.

• 199.keepin_it_real: Reply to this comment

skim- egon can’t even make the wp side?

• 200.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Manne ek moet my vuur begin!

Nice Sunday with rain on the way it seems, lovely!

And WP seems to be winning something in the cricket in Bloem which I will enjoy as much as I enjoy a cold one, catch you all later.

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 1114 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.