Power to powder blue

Keo, in his News24 column, reminds the Muppits that Saturday’s Currie Cup winner was identified some time ago.

This is what I wrote in my column on September 27:

‘One team of the top five is going to miss out and it is going to be the Lions. Brave and brilliant in the last seven matches, the Lions will curse their early season experiments that cost them easy points. Lesson learned by Eugene Eloff who will not easily again surrender league points to prove a point to his senior players.

‘The Cheetahs will lose in Pretoria on Saturday but still end top of the table, with the Bulls ending second on points difference from Western Province who’ll take the five league points at Newlands. The Sharks will hammer the Falcons to set up another trip to Bloemfontein and a semi-final exit from the competition.

‘The Sharks, my early season call to win the competition, have mixed and matched so much this season that they cost themselves a home semi-final and with that any chance of winning the competition. The Sharks can’t beat the Cheetahs at the moment. In the other semi-final match-up Western Province will travel to Loftus and this time there won’t be an ambush.

‘I’m tipping the Bulls to win on Saturday, win against Province the next week and then travel to Bloemfontein and set the record straight for last season’s defeat to the Cheetahs in the final.’

Are these words, written more than two weeks ago, to be viewed as some sort of prophecy? Absolutely not. Because I also wrote in May that the Waratahs would win the Super 14 and the Wallabies would triumph in the Tri Nations.

Domestically, though, it was always going to be the Bulls once the Sharks started fading through excessive experiment.

That’s why I could write with such conviction on September 27 as to how the Bulls march to the trophy would unfold. It is now October 11 and nothing in my view has changed. I am still backing the Bulls to go to Bloemfontein and win. Individually, they are a better unit and cohesively they have made as much impact as the Cheetahs in the last month.

Take nothing away from Ollie le Roux and Rassie Erasmus. The former, in his role as captain, has been inspirational. The latter is the most exciting thing to happen to the South African coaching scene. He is talented, innovative and definitely not a one season wonder. South Africa rugby is healthier in the coaching department because of Rassie’s emergence.

But if you want to know why the Cheetahs won’t win on Saturday, then you simply have to look at the tight five composition of the Bulls and the kicking game of Derick Hougaard at flyhalf. The tight five will set up the victory for the visitors and Hougaard’s boot will close the deal.

There won’t be much in the final, but all you need to win it is one point.

Statistics favour the Bulls. They’ve lost just one out of their last 10 against the Cheetahs, while winning the last four in Bloemfontein. The defeat happened to be in last year’s final and it took a miraculous comeback and the bounce of the oval ball to sink them.

The surprise element a year ago was with the Cheetahs, but this weekend there won’t be any such tricks in the party packs handed out during the final. The Bulls know exactly what to expect and they are in no doubt as to what they have to do to succeed. This is a victory that will be fashioned on preparation as much as execution and with Heyneke Meyer back from his overseas travels his input is crucial.

Pote Human has settled as Bulls coach, but Meyer’s technical and analytical contribution will be massive to the Bulls success. He remains the Director of Rugby at the Bulls and the man in charge.

The Bulls have been the form team in South African rugby in the last month. They’ve put 50 past the Sharks in Durban, given the Cheetahs 41 points in Pretoria and scored 45 comfortably against Western Province a week ago. They’re scoring tries with ease and Hougaard is kicking well.

Gary Botha’s captaincy has been outstanding and the tight five are fronting for each challenge. The Cheetahs, this season, have thrived on forward domination against most teams. The exception has been when playing the Bulls. That is why they lost in Bloemfontein earlier in the competition, got hammered in Pretoria and will again come second best on Saturday.

The path to the final was recorded here a fortnight ago. And nothing in the last fortnight convinces me to change the call that has the Bulls to win the Cup again.

1,320 Comments

Pages: « 112 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 19 20 21 2227 » Show All

• 801.Supa Die Bloubul: Reply to this comment

Quinny

I know that is a ccup team – but the worst team ever surely have Rodney Blake at prop?

• 802.Quinnyshark: Reply to this comment

LOL Supa – fight your own battle!

• 803.keepin_it_real: Reply to this comment

798- very sharp redcard

• 804.Supa Die Bloubul: Reply to this comment

ig

ek stem saam ban wallabie asb

• 805.RedCard: Reply to this comment

gbs, F*k hom, soos Supa gese het, ignoreer hom net.

• 806.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Any major injury worries for the boks before November tour, i read many injuries for Oz n Nz

• 807.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

Supa

surrendering already!

• 808.Carla Jane: Reply to this comment

Hey boys, I’m back, miss me?

• 809.Xkreni-WP: Reply to this comment

Kyk, nou het ek alles gesien. Ek dog dit is net macdaddy wat so hiperaktief kan kakpraat, maar blou_tunami gee hom ‘n goeie go.

• 810.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

csi

Who in the wallaby has injuries.

• 811.RedCard: Reply to this comment

CSI, not that I’m aware of. But then again, the weekend might change things.

• 812.keepin_it_real: Reply to this comment

wallabie- i heard drew mitchell is injured

• 813.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

redcard

You finding it a bit hot in the kitchen as well!

Agh Shame man!

• 814.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

wallabie

Cordingley and obviously the past few weeks of stirling having surgery and a few guys that are carrying niggling injuries.

• 815.wolfman2006: Reply to this comment

RedCard, only long term injuries-Bakkies, Ashwin (will he ever play again?!), Steenkamp, and Schalk

• 816.Carla Jane: Reply to this comment

Wallabie, are there no Aussie blogs for you to play on or is rugby just not big enough to warrant a website in Oz?

• 817.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

drew mitchell was in the wallaby team last year, did not play this year.

He has attacking potential when given time with the ball, not good in defense.

• 818.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

Quinny, we need to apologise…

Here is Dippenaars stats for ODI’s last season….Ave 81.75 s/r 92.37

He was the best in terms of ave and had the 3rd best s/r of all…..

• 819.Ig: Reply to this comment

Wobblie – no fishing !! I don’t feel like overseeing a run through of the sheep jokes – the rest of you ignore !

• 820.RedCard: Reply to this comment

wolfman, I’m also not too sure about Ashwin, its really sad, though.

• 821.dangerbot: Reply to this comment

run wallabie run!

• 822.pieterman: Reply to this comment

Hello Boys!!!

Was gou uit. Ek sien alles is rustig nog. Mooi!!!

Terloops, Redcard en Supa…

As julle van Wallabie praat, praat Afrikaans en spel WALLABIE groot. Hy hap in die lug rond sulke tyd, weet nie waar die aas hang nie!!!

• 823.potts: Reply to this comment

Kyk stats is great as jy daarin glo! Saterdag gaan nie net oor hoe groot jou forwards is nie en hoe hulle oor die laaste paar games gevorder het nie, nee, Ek dink/glo die team wat die beste kop op die veld het gaan wen. Dis nie hoe groot die hond in die fight is nie, maar hoe groot die fight in die hond is. Die cheetahs is gatvol vir 2de plek. Hulle is in n goeie plek mentally. As die bulls se dinge dalk nie mooi uitwerk nie en hulle raak agter, sal hulle genoeg kop kan he om terug te kom? Ek weet een ding! En dit is as die mental side reg is gaan: 1) disipliene wat gaan lei tot beter konsentrasie 2) wie dit die meeste wil he sal dit ook kry! Amen

• 824.Carla Jane: Reply to this comment

sQuintyShaft, you still here, you blue balled freak?

• 825.keepin_it_real: Reply to this comment

and gregan has got (quick, someone insert a health problem that old people get)

• 826.Xkreni-WP: Reply to this comment

hey wallabie
    did aus not have a team in last place in the S14 and one in 12th. Brumbies finished way under the bulls as well if I remember correctly. The S14 is a marathon not a sprint.

• 827.Supa Die Bloubul: Reply to this comment

Carla

Post jy nie meer as Tammy nie? hehe

• 828.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

Cordingley is a good player but not outstanding, giteau will play scrum half I hope.
    Probably a future scrummie in the making as he got a boot and attacking style from the base.

• 829.wolfman2006: Reply to this comment

KIR-arthritis, demensia, a broken hip?

• 830.Steyn The Blue Bull: Reply to this comment

Wallabie

Die baas het gepraat: No fishing allowed………

• 831.Quinnyshark: Reply to this comment

Choked when I read that – who against? Zim, Bangladesh & the Windies?

Hey Wallabie
    I see Josh Valentine is not getting a call-up after all to deputise Brett Sheehan. So do you think that means the Aussie selctors will try convert Giteau to 9 in the EOYT, & not merely use him as back-up?

• 832.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

But it just never seems like he gets away though does it…..

Unlike AB, it seems like every ball he plays is going to end up on the boundry…

• 833.Carla Jane: Reply to this comment

Iggi-pop, sweetheart, pleas leave Wannapee… shame, he is always the odd one out here, even though he is a poepol, he just needs some luuuurve….

• 834.Quinnyshark: Reply to this comment

Don’t you have some exams to study for, Fanta Orange?

• 835.pieterman: Reply to this comment

X-kreni

Hello broer!

Ja nee, ons twee bly net soet, en kyk hoe party van die ouens hulle deur die gety laat verswelg!!

• 836.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

How many log points did brumbies and the bulls have in the the round robin stage.

The bulls are guests in the semi finals they make their appearance then they go home.

• 837.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

Quinny, good worst team, would play Bobo in the centres and Welsh on left wing

• 838.wolfman2006: Reply to this comment

i wonder if the force would be willing to use their golden boy at scrumhalf

• 839.Supa Die Bloubul: Reply to this comment

ja pieter ek gaan gereel WALLABIE tussen in gooi – om hom te irriteer!

• 840.Quinnyshark: Reply to this comment

Wallabie

I see John Mitchell got a bollocking from the Aussie press today for resfusing to consider Giteau at scrummie for the S14 next season. Apparently your compatriots are now fuming & stating that it’s “Mitchell’s revenge for NZ’s semi-defeat in 2003…” !!! LOL!!!

• 841.Xkreni-WP: Reply to this comment

Dagse weereens Pieterman

Ja ek moet maar in my spore trap.

• 842.Carla Jane: Reply to this comment

Quinny!!!!! great to have you back, you dogbreath!

Yea, I couldn’t wait to get back here, haven’t even showered yet, still sticky. and no, I have a low intensity tan, just to get rid of some of my natural tan lines

• 843.bok_befok: Reply to this comment

Supa,

ek dink Carla Jane is ‘n vet bloubul ondersteuner wat sy dogter se onderklere dra… so pasop.

• 844.Xkreni-WP: Reply to this comment

Oh yes, I forgot the Brumbies won 1 more game, but could not score any tries for bonus points.

• 845.Steyn The Blue Bull: Reply to this comment

Supa

dink jy nie ook Spies gaan volgende jaar daai WALLABIE met die lang hare stukkend hardloop nie hehehe

• 846.keepin_it_real: Reply to this comment

842- dam cj i think that is more info than anyone here wanted

• 847.wolfman2006: Reply to this comment

Thanks for answering my question concerning Giteau Quinny! When you pay the kind of money the Force are paying him, they damn well should have control over where he plays.

• 848.Xkreni-WP: Reply to this comment

Very one dimensional I’d say

• 849.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

Quinny,

We played Zim, Eng, Ind, Aus, WI, NZ….

Not sure if he played against all though….Do remember he really took WI appart in that series (he moved into the 10 to world ranking after the next series, he is now 16 or something)

• 850.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

Just doing my duty of reviving the blog.

The real rugger buggers will continue to talk rugger and I will join them I am merely just trying to get rid of the riff raff.

Pages: « 112 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 19 20 21 2227 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.