How to make Russell rock
17 Jan 2007
Brent Russell needs a coach who believes totally in his skills.
I thought Kobus van der Merwe would be the man to do so, but I fear the pre-season optimism has quickly been dashed after one trial game. Naas Olivier is a competent flyhalf, but he is in the Louis Koen mould. He’ll never let you down, but he won’t win you championships. Russell is a player who can be the difference in a competition like the Super 14.
The Aussies have always said that if Stephen Larkham was South African he would never have played test rugby. Equally, they’ve said if Brent Russell was Australian he’d have played 50 tests by now. Invariably because there are so many good players in this country in every position coaches are unwilling to coach a player when it comes to Super 14 or test level. They want the finished article and the investment in a player is minimal when you compare it to the likes of Australia, who have a limited supply of quality rugby union players.
Russell, in other countries, would be an asset because of what he can do and not a liability or potential weakness because he has vulnerabilities in his game.
Already the doubts have been allowed to creep in. The media questioned Russell’s first appearance and the coach felt obliged to concur that the player had struggled. What did he expect? Russell has played a handful of games at flyhalf in the last five years. Take the good in his attacking game and nurture it. Take the weaknesses and work on them.
Playing percentages rugby in the Super 14 has never won a team anything. So the Stormers looked more structured when Olivier played flyhalf in the second half against the Bulls. So what. Structure is not the key ingredient to winning the Super 14. The Stormers last year lacked a playmaker close to the scrum. The did not have that X-factor from broken play or when quick ball was recycled. They had solidity in Peter Grant and Olivier. Nothing more. Near misses remained just that.
Russell has the X-factor, but he is also a player who simply has to be boosted to get the best out of him. He has to be trusted to make an impact and I can only hope Van der Merwe has sat with him pre-season and told him he’s got the first 5 games to prove he is good enough. To judge him on every game individually will lead to failure. To unleash the beast, there has to be some massaging of the shoulders and there has to be a belief from the coach that playing Russell at flyhalf is not a gamble, but an investment.
Russell’s out of hand kicking game must improve and as a natural soccer player it is something that can be fixed. He is not a goalkicking option and to try and make him one will lead to frustration.
To allow Russell to prosper Van der Merwe should pick Grant at inside centre, shift Jean de Villiers one out to the number 13 jersey and give Grant the goalkicking duties.
If blue is the new black in Cape Town, then boldness must be the coach’s motivation. A year ago Van der Merwe suffered because of conservatism in his selections and because of a reluctance to back playmakers. Russell gives him the chance to change all that.

689 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 » Show All
18 Jan 2007, 13:45 pm
Ig, it is because Supa has a great love and respect for you, yesterday on the mails he was all soppy…
18 Jan 2007, 13:46 pm
Ig, how`s about posting the top 50?
GBS,
Not a pre-requisite as such but it helps as you normally know a thing or two about computers then…
Nope Tony…i hear selling gravestones is the new thing!
Ive got one with your name written all over it!
lol at saint
18 Jan 2007, 13:47 pm
Howzit Vinnie, you closet dutchie!
18 Jan 2007, 13:47 pm
But what does the postings and who has posted how many times look like?
Who is leading and does that get restarted every year…
18 Jan 2007, 13:48 pm
Bluste wants to compare ***** sizes again.
18 Jan 2007, 13:49 pm
Tony – next Tuesday i will post the entire list
GBS – not sure, but i think so.
Ahhh gee Supa – why not turn your sadness into 1000 cheque and mail it to me
18 Jan 2007, 13:49 pm
Yeah do # 402
18 Jan 2007, 13:50 pm
Cool Ig…
18 Jan 2007, 13:50 pm
hehe – Ig
I said im gonna miss you…not feel sorry for you!
18 Jan 2007, 13:51 pm
Ig, se gou P*@s…
Ig,
Supa only has firestone cheques….. all rubbery!
# 408
No need Viinie
I know i’ll win
En bo-op dit is ek nog moer nederig ook…
Lees maar die vroeer posts…
18 Jan 2007, 13:52 pm
Hey Supa – whip up a tombstone for Tony – he’s gonna need it soon with that kind of language
18 Jan 2007, 13:52 pm
I feel sorry for supa, he and Tony suffer from Oneirogmophobia…
18 Jan 2007, 13:53 pm
he he…
18 Jan 2007, 13:54 pm
I would – but he is too fat – i’ll have to make wall!
Ban die vark Ig!
18 Jan 2007, 13:55 pm
a wall
18 Jan 2007, 13:56 pm
LMAO Supa
Verassing?
LMAO Saint!!!!!
18 Jan 2007, 13:57 pm
Brent Russel can be a great flyhalf if he gains 40 pounds, learns to kick and grows 7 inches. He also needs to play in such a way that people think he is part of the team coz just wearing the same jersey just doesn’t seem to make a difference to him… other than that, I think he is a great Currie Cup player, no more.
18 Jan 2007, 13:58 pm
Blouste
Dan gooi ons sy as op Loftus! Sodat Wessel Roux daarop kan trap!
Supa het sy Proctophobia oorwin….
OK Bloubulle en vet vriende en Ig, cheers for the rest of the afternoon!
18 Jan 2007, 13:59 pm
Carla Jane
Still no answer to my question hey? Coming back for more?
18 Jan 2007, 14:00 pm
Cheers GBS
18 Jan 2007, 14:01 pm
Enjoy GBS
18 Jan 2007, 14:02 pm
Nou moet Supa nog net werk aan sy Ablutophobia
18 Jan 2007, 14:02 pm
Cheers Groot blou scooter
18 Jan 2007, 14:03 pm
GBS
Mooibly oupa…
18 Jan 2007, 14:03 pm
Hey Saint, still no cure for that rash? There are gyneas who can help, you know?
18 Jan 2007, 14:04 pm
Now now Carla – no need to get personal….
18 Jan 2007, 14:05 pm
432, LOL Saint!!!
18 Jan 2007, 14:06 pm
All the Stormers have beaten their kakorrhaphiophobia…
18 Jan 2007, 14:07 pm
Talking out of experience? I wonder…
18 Jan 2007, 14:09 pm
LOL Blouste!!!
Everybody searching for the phobia list?
Last post,
All Stormers still suffer from Cyantaurusnokiaphobia!
18 Jan 2007, 14:14 pm
Don’t stress, I asked her a question which she couldnt google, now she is pissed…
Probably Kakorrhaphiophobia
18 Jan 2007, 14:15 pm
Cant be a great national team if you have no flyhalves in the country.
Steyn for no 10
White wake up are you listening
18 Jan 2007, 14:15 pm
Hehe groot 414…..
18 Jan 2007, 14:16 pm
#444 do you listen to posts:?:
18 Jan 2007, 14:20 pm
Julle is almal bloody copy-cats…
18 Jan 2007, 14:23 pm
Saint, I’m getting Ig’s job… I’m going to ban your hairy white *** every single day. You’ll be the first woman to exprience virtual torture!
18 Jan 2007, 14:24 pm
Henceforth everyone should call me The_Saint: The Muppit who slayed the man-beast that is Carla Jane…hehe
18 Jan 2007, 14:25 pm
Rich, I agree, Steyn has to be our fly!
He would rival Wilkinson and Carter, but each of Pretorius, James and other SA flyhalves have at least one glaring weakness. Steyn seems to have none!
Pages: « 1 … 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 » Show All