Safety first stresses Du Plessis

The number of injuries in the older age groups of schoolboy rugby is on the increase and is a major cause for concern, says former Springbok captain Morne du Plessis.

Addressing the 29th Discovery SharkSmart Coaching Conference – a joint initiative between the KwaZulu-Natal Rugby Union [KZNRU] and Discovery, Du Plessis explained that the age group most at risk is boys 19 years and younger, with 70 per cent of those injured being in the 17-19 year old bracket.

He however added that great strides were being made to make the game safer for players at the age of 13 and younger.

“In recent years, there has been a significant increase in the number of catastrophic injuries sustained by rugby players,” he said. “Most of these injuries, which are predominant amongst the 16-19 year old group, occur between March and April with an increase during July and August,”.

“The relative incidence of injury in rugby is low, but one catastrophic injury is one too many,” he explained.

The Chairman of the Chris Burger/Petro Jackson Players’ Fund also pointed out that there has been a shift in where the injuries are occurring in the game compared with previous years.

“It is now in the tackle area, not the scrum, where we are finding the most injuries occurring. The new scrum laws are making a huge improvement,” he said.

Du Plessis put the responsibility on the coaches to provide their players with a balanced approach to the sport rather than instilling a win at all costs attitude.

“The climate of enjoyment is essential,” he said. “Let’s return the spirit of the game to schoolboy and club rugby.”

Du Plessis also explained that the South African Rugby Union has undertaken to put in place a programme which will identify the regions where the most injuries are occurring and then introduce an injury prevention programme.

This will include the introduction of all-encompassing injury reporting structures; enforced legislation of safety and injury prevention measures at all levels; a unified, positive prevention programme focusing on prevention campaigns and injury management; highlighting risk areas to coaches, referees, teachers, trainers and parents; and a positive marketing and communications programme.

13 Comments

• 1.Jannesvdm: Reply to this comment

1STE

• 2.Jannesvdm: Reply to this comment

2DE

• 3.Chuck Norris: Reply to this comment

With the increase in anabolic steroid use amongst school boys the smaller kids are at a serious disadvantage. As with most professional teams bigger players add an advantage over smaller opposition.

Even where there are no anabolic use, kids younger than 19 develop at a different rate. You will find a talented/gifted boy competing against a boy that is more developed and that already has a grown up body. In a contact situation the more developed child will always have an advantage.

It will be difficult to address this

• 4.RedLion: Reply to this comment

They should change to teams based on weight categories and not age divisions … that way the fly weights will not hurt the heavy weights.

• 5.Cheetha Champs: Reply to this comment

The new ruck laws is not going to help this. Basically allows players to put hands in ruck – which could mean more players flying in head first.

I think the scrumming rule (grabbing opposition before engaging) – should be applied to senior rugby as well. Less collapsed scrums me thinks…

• 6.Skim: Reply to this comment

If it’s too hot for you get out of the kitchen cause this is rugby, no room for the faint of heart.

• 7.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

And rugby IS played to win. At all costs, but only just inside the laws. The ref applies the laws. That’s the man who bears the responsibility.

• 8.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Tackler,

I’m beginning to understand your ferver about quotas and what’s wrong in this beautiful country, SA.

I still live here, but am “Gatvol” of the discrimination now turned around since 1994!

I have had huge fights in the last couple of days with some plonkers here on Keo about these issues.

Yet, it would be nice to see you saying good things about SA, so try buddy, it won’t hurt!

• 9.Tomsta: Reply to this comment

grootblou..howzit

kids getting hurt at school rugby.
    changing room setting before a school rugby match in SA. players are getting fired up and talking about beating the **** out of the other team.
    the bigger okes are requested to moer the opposition playmakers.

sounds a bit like jannes trying to take out johnny in 2002 game at twickers.

change room setting in school rugby match in nz. make the tackles count, get those turnovers and run them around the park for 80 minutes.

have the rugby administrators in SA even heard that nz have their school leagues in wheight divisions. seems to work well doesnt it, with smaller guys managing to develop their talent and when they starting to get littl bigger they all of a sudden compete on the big stage with success.

• 10.Rev. Jim Jones: Reply to this comment

Why are were the comments turned off in the “Work for keo” thread?

• 11.willievz: Reply to this comment

The kids are using WAY too many steriods at school rugby level…..

• 12.clinton cridick: Reply to this comment

We need to think about weight groups at the early age group level’s… as players grow stronger and more evenly contested as a result of maturity …We actually want this kids to be “finished product’s ” when they graduate.Right out of high school there’re expected to be on the big platform… Less expected —let them enjoy some u20 days for a change b4 selectors push for higher honours..

• 13.rich: Reply to this comment

Many years ago when i played rugby everyone wanted to moer everyone. Thats rugby and nothing
    will change it. Its a sport only for the brave and strong.
    Morne Du Plessis is the only person with integrity and decency and he alone can save SA rugby.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.