Du Preez a goner

Fourie du Preez will not play in the Springboks five opening tests because of a shoulder injury.

The Bulls player risked a troublesome shoulder injury to be a part of the Bulls Super 14 title-winning challenge and further hurt the shoulder in the 20-19 final win against the Sharks.

He has not trained with the Boks and while he has already been ruled out of the Boks opening test against the English in Bloemfontein, word from the Bok camp is they don’t expect to see him in action until the away leg of the Tri Nations.

Os du Randt, expected to start in what would be his final home test in Bloemfontein, is also doubtful. He limped out of training on Monday. Du Randt has played very little rugby this season.

Jake White confirmed the match 22 to the squad in Bloemfontein on Monday evening and there will be no Luke Watson. The controversial selection, on the insistence of rugby’s politicians and administration, is a probable starter against Samoa.

White will use the same team to play the first two tests against England and then rotate for the Samoan test before settling on a match 22 for the two home tests in the Tri Nations.

Outside of Du Preez, the Boks will be missing regular first choice players Andre Pretorius and Jaques Fourie.

White will announce the Bok team publicly on Wednesday.

England confirm their match 22 on Tuesday afternoon.

129 Comments

• 51.DonnerLeeu aka Katvis: Reply to this comment

Jake said he wants to pick the strongest available team this weekend. Is Butch injured?

• 52.JL1: Reply to this comment

Airwell very mature with the name calling

• 53.Airwell: Reply to this comment

51 I don’t think so but he needs a worl class flyhalf who can stand with Carter and kick the ball out at full time when they have won the game :lol:

• 54.Anvil: Reply to this comment

Pity about FdP.

But to all the tossers blaming the Bulls management…

He was 100% fit when he took the field on Saturday.It was a final and the intensity took it’s toll.

A player can get injured in so many ways.I can counter argue that FdP (Or any player for that matter) has as much off a chnace can get injured in a silly freak accident or the rugby field.

Ask FdP if he would missed the final knowing that he could play and was 100% fit.He would said an emphatic “YES LET ME HAVE A GO”!!

Thats professional sport.And dont forget who pays FdP’s salarie.

So stop bitching about FdP.

If Ruan Pineaar is second best,then lets see what he can do.Provided Jake puts him there of course..

• 55.Airwell: Reply to this comment

Worl = World

• 56.JL1: Reply to this comment

Wolfman

Totally different viewpoint from what was posted by others

I feel that all players should now start to get into the Bok team to form a team like the Sharks and Bulls had in the S14.

One can only achieve this if all players are fit and well. If a new players comes in it takes some time to get used to the team

• 57.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

I care bugger all about the effect fourie’s selection for the final may have on our world cup chances. However, if his selection while injured allowed the sharks to stay in the game, then he should not have played. Now the real question is, why does barney never get injured? With him out, matfield as captain, du preez as vice captain and the matfield/gary botha line out combo, we might actually win the world cup…

• 58.Kerneels: Reply to this comment

Kir – that is probably the best team Jake can pick at the moment (with the injuries), my bench would be:

16. Gary
    17. CJ
    18. Danie
    19. Wikus
    20. Ruan
    21. F Steyn
    22. Odwa/Akona

• 59.nr nine: Reply to this comment

Jake white is so outyds hy sal seker hy sal die nuwe ouens kans gee nie

• 60.keepin_it_real: Reply to this comment

the boks are not goin to take any psychological momentum from the super14 unless they have a good tri nations!!

• 61.Airwell: Reply to this comment

60 and for that they need Liefling at flyhalf our only true international consistantly quality flyhalf.

• 62.pompies: Reply to this comment

I read in the paper this morning that Bakkies got so big because of all the gym while he was injured that he could not fit into the his regular size Bok clothes,they had to make him new ones.

• 63.DonnerLeeu aka Katvis: Reply to this comment

Airwell = Liefling.

• 64.asha1: Reply to this comment

didnt i see hougaardt fold under the pressure on saturday, or was it just my imagination?

• 65.Airwell: Reply to this comment

63cYes and Donner = AP
    Seer Boud en al.

• 66.DonnerLeeu aka Katvis: Reply to this comment

Yep – I saw the same thing. That’s why he has been dropped by the bulls so many times before.

• 67.Airwell: Reply to this comment

61 Yes it must have been or did the Bulls not win

• 68.Kerneels: Reply to this comment

Asha – IMO the Sharks targeted him on Saturday in an attempt to get him out of the game, I thought it was a great tactic to place him under so much presure. I am of the opinion that he actually handeled everything they gave him pretty well.

• 69.Airwell: Reply to this comment

66 see 67

• 70.Airwell: Reply to this comment

And with an injured FDP just shows how good he really is

• 71.nr nine: Reply to this comment

I also think AP is the best flyhalf but derick is good and i am a lion. Play derick and play ruan, yes fourie is the best but this is not ballet this is RUGBY players will get injuries and then you need a back up.

• 72.neels: Reply to this comment

dh was so **** on satureday behind a pack that got killed, peter grant played behind a really **** pack and did quite well.

• 73.Bod: Reply to this comment

The Iq on this thread has probably reached an all time low.

Wolfman, just to inform you, that these five games are paramount to the build up to WC 2007, the final pieces of an overall plan that began way back in 2004 and definately included the 2007 S14.

Now if you and the bulk of Bulls supporters wish to pull your foreskins over your heads and proclaim the S14 title as the pinnacle of rugby, then so be it. Take your cup back to Loftus, clean, polish and worship it every day, lock up your doors, close your shutters and watch tape after tape after tape of your S14 win.

Whilst you are doing that, the rest of us and the world, will enjoy the World Cup and support our National side with pride and in peace

• 74.asha1: Reply to this comment

so now fdp was injured, wasnt he? thought fdp was declared 100% fit before taking the field?

• 75.DonnerLeeu aka Katvis: Reply to this comment

Just imagine if u had a proper flyhalf.

Kerneels

Its not about handling the situation pretty well. It is about making adifference – regardless of the pressure.

• 76.Stormers: Reply to this comment

Guys I still dont get the issue with FDP. People are still on about how he is the best scrumhalf in the world. Im telling you, he’s not even the best in SA.

Ruan Pienaar played at a level way above FDP on Saturday. FDP is great when the Bulls forwards are bullying their opponents into submission, but I thought he was exceptionally poor on Saturday when finally a pack of forwards stood up to the Bulls.

Sorry, but I am not convinced that this guy is as good as the scribes are saying!!! Ruan Pienaar is a superior player in my opinion.

• 77.Airwell: Reply to this comment

Again Bod another tosser the bulk of the Bulls supporters would give up the Super 14 to win the WC. End of Story.
    And we support the bok above all.

• 78.Weepee: Reply to this comment

Must start with Pienaar, Rickie hasn’t had enough go-forward ball to drive the Bok backline! Os should not even be considered for the Boks anymore, loyal and great hero for our front row, but I think we have enough depth with form to cover any potential experience he can bring!

Centers is now interesting – with Fourie and JDV out – I’d play the obvious hand of WO and WM, the 2 in form centers of the SA sides! I mean this isn’t exactly the Full England squad, I suspect the touring squad would have lost the S14 final by 50 points! Hence play Wynand and Wylan – let’s test the alternative option and truly understand it’s potential! For me, Murray offers more than Fourie and Olivier’s work rate overshadows JDV’s – could be interesting!

• 79.neels: Reply to this comment

how do you put the cork back into the champagne bottle? ask john smit

• 80.Airwell: Reply to this comment

Winning the cup does that not count in making a difference.

• 81.Anvil: Reply to this comment

Bod, Do not generlise.

We all support the Boks.

It’s just that their chances at the RWC are’nt exactly great.Politcal circuses notwithstanding.

The S14 does’nt being won by an SA team does’nt mean a thing in the larger scheme of things re the RWC.

We will still fail to impress.

But Bokke all the way!

• 82.Airwell: Reply to this comment

I think that Liefling has prooved himself consistantly this season especially the last 5 games and especially in the Semi behind a dominant pack and in the final with an injured Scrummie. I never rated him until know and I think he has developed into great player.

• 83.DonnerLeeu aka Katvis: Reply to this comment

Liefling was poor on Saturday and has once again been exposed as the average flyhalf he is. Fact!

• 84.Airwell: Reply to this comment

81 Anvil we will do well and I think we will reach the Semis at least and then anything can happen.

Up the Bokke !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

• 85.Airwell: Reply to this comment

83 in your opinion not fact D@@S

• 86.Ruggafreak: Reply to this comment

Airwell,

Why don’t you get Hougaards number and ask him out on a date. Hougaard is good, but he gets rattled to easily. Against the Crusaders the only thing that made him look good was the fact that the Crusaders conceded a **** load of penalties. He also doesn’t have a good attacking game. Overall he is definitely not a world class flyhalf. He lacks BMT. Francios should rather be groumed to be uor next flyhalf.

• 87.neels: Reply to this comment

for the bulls supporters to be such tough men,why do they sing lieling to another man?

• 88.DonnerLeeu aka Katvis: Reply to this comment

Typical hehehehehe

• 89.Bod: Reply to this comment

Its hard not to generalise when it comes to Bulls supporters… but we do concede there are exceptions to the norm.

Few and far between, but they are out there…

• 90.Airwell: Reply to this comment

86 Possibly you are right but what I have seen in the last 5 weeks give him a chance in the home tests and the tri nations.
    Steyn had a kak game under pressure on saturday and Butch and AP are not consistant enough.
    If Liefling performs like he has then we have a world class flyhalf if not we take what we got to the WC. No World class flyhalf and hope for the best.

• 91.jondood: Reply to this comment

neels

lieffllinggg

Hapyy now.

• 92.Anvil: Reply to this comment

neels, are you a WP/Stormers supporter by chance ?

• 93.DonnerLeeu aka Katvis: Reply to this comment

Yes please let him play in the tri nations. Then we dont have to pick real centres.

• 94.neels: Reply to this comment

anvil, im a lions supporter

• 95.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

We need Heini there quick quick , please Sarfu get im in there aswell.

• 96.Bruzo: Reply to this comment

I hate to say I told you so, but this was inevitable. He should never have played those last two games for the Bulls.

There is also no guarentee that this type of injury ill be healed before the World Cup.

Very short sighted selection by the Bulls!

• 97.Airwell: Reply to this comment

Andre
    On season does not make a springbok he is still young let him develop a bit more.

• 98.Airwell: Reply to this comment

Agree Bruzo and nearly cost them the cup.

• 99.leeanthonyw: Reply to this comment

This injury will give Ruan a chance to shine at scrum half. I thought he out played Du Preez last saturday, and he plays a very good attacking game

• 100.Airwell: Reply to this comment

99 yes because FDP was playing with an injury.
    Ruan is good but it is only his second season of super rugby.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.