digimag-banner

Steve’s shocker

Here’s the photographic evidence to prove New Zealand referee Steve Walsh incorrectly determined the outcome of the Super 14 final.

Walsh told this website’s Ryan Vrede he may have got it wrong. No Steve you DID get it wrong.

This is not a picture to encourage play on. Walsh should have blown for either a knock, or penalised the Bulls player on the ground for scooping the ball back after losing it or any one of three Bulls players for not being on their feet at the ruck.

Whatever the choice play should have been stopped and possession should have been handed to the Sharks. It would have also been the end of the game.

Once again a failure to use technology has determined a championship and where the bloody hell was the touch judge’s vision?

This was a shocker!

Richard Young, who sent the clip, writes (sic)

Dear Country People

I only watched the last three minutes of the main game on Saturday afternoon for reasons that might have been deduceable on Sunday.

But I have captured a series of nine still images of the video between the 45th and 47th seconds of the 80th minute thereof.

Here is just one of them in the 45th second of the 80th minute.

Would anyone care to offer an opinion on what is the meaning of this?

Apologies to recipients of this email who have no interest whatsoever in the outcome of the Vodacom Super Whatever 2007.

Some Answer Options
Is it legal?
Is it illegal?
Is it blindness?
Is it shortsightedness?
Is it outofsightedness?
Is it conspiracy?
Is it sad?
Is it not sad?
Is it a combination of any of the above?

436 Responses to “Steve’s shocker”

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All

• 101. RuggaReply to this comment :

Blaah Blaah Blaah. So what the reg was on the wrong side of the ruck. I bet you guys if you go anylise this game @t all the breakdown points you will find that there is one or two situations that wasn’t seen by Mr ref. What about the ruck where the Bulls just needed quick ball and they would have gone scored. that was a professional fowl [ Sure try ] A sure 7 points was then only awaded with 3 >>>>

• 102. Some BlokeReply to this comment :

In all fairness. The Bulls at that stage had nothing to lose. What was that guy going to do, sit there and stare at the pill lying on the Sharks side of the ruck? And anyway, Walsh was unsighted. This one falls squarely on the TJ.

I think somebody already said it. Spilled milk. Lets have a good Currie Cup campaign and come back next year.

• 103. robertparkerReply to this comment :

Groen en Goud you are a good example of how a Shark fan should behave.

• 104. kevin wReply to this comment :

steyn #98

quite correct then – so the game should have been stopped and the bulls awarded a penalty (infringement either way as you claim). Not enough time for a lineout, not enough points in a kick. Tap and go the best option then.

You can come up with whatever excuse mate, officials made a huge mistake and it probably cost the sharks the title.

• 105. thefeatherReply to this comment :

Well said 99!!

• 106. niceoneReply to this comment :

If a picture was released showed a Sharks player doing it would their supporters be making noise ?? Likewise in that scenario would the Bulls fans just say its part of the game ? Food for thought from a bloody rugby genius !

• 107. kevin wReply to this comment :

why you here … we should all just post something nice like well done bulls … it will be great site.

• 108. Steyn The Blue BullReply to this comment :

Kevin

then it cost the sharks……the cup is in PTA buddy….nothing will change….i was one of the first that said…the bulls had alot of luck…..but luck no luck……die beker is blou

• 109. shotReply to this comment :

aah get the F over it. We complained all we wanted in 2005 when Habana was sent of for a kak decision in the CC final but it doesn’t change the fact that everybody now only remembers the CC winners of that year, which was the Cheetahs.

The score’s on the board!!!

• 110. HoringReply to this comment :

History will show that the Bulls won the 2007 S14 – so to all anti-bulls, dry your eyes.

If you rewind the entire tape you will notice there were several questionable decisions (as in most rugby games), some went for you and some against. Stop focusing on one desicion. Or better yet, have a look at all the games during the season and see how many doubtful calls went for the Sharks and helped you get a home semi and final.

Be true sportsman and acknoledge that the Sharks got beaten by a champion side!!

• 111. MartinReply to this comment :

wow that was fun. like i’ve said many times this week. it is spilled milk. play to the whistle, no whistle means play on. bulls used their chances and it paid off. all the iff’s and buts won’t change a thing

• 112. kevin wReply to this comment :

niceone

depends if it was the last movement of the game and who was in the lead … just a thought from somebody using common sense

• 113. MartinReply to this comment :

true sportsmen don’t cheat!!

• 114. niceoneReply to this comment :

Lets Stop Arguing about this ! Lets concentrate on more serious issues like who will Richie McCaw pass the WC trophy to first after he has raised it ?

• 115. Some BlokeReply to this comment :

I’m nearly over Saturday’s result but I think the Springboks putting 50 points over England will go a long way to curing me. Especially if Habana scores a couple of them.

• 116. kevin wReply to this comment :

Horing … just one guy (sportsman) ha ha

• 117. thefeatherReply to this comment :

#114 more than likely the nearest policeman.
    You aren’t allowed to touch the cup if you get knocked out in the quarters.

• 118. wallabie.Reply to this comment :

People you can rant on what the ref did or did not do but that will not change the result.

Get over it!

The Bulls won and you guys are making such a big deal of a warm up tournament.
    Maybe this is your ‘WC’ tournament!!

• 119. niceoneReply to this comment :

#114 – HAHA ! YA THATS A GOOD ONE ! I have no comeback for that – brilliant !

• 120. The FishReply to this comment :

Fine, can we have photographic evidence of that “From the Mountain” try from the Sharks, please…..could he do anymore movements on the ground!!???!

• 121. niceoneReply to this comment :

Sorry I meant post #119 to refer to #117 !

• 122. AirwellReply to this comment :

As a Bulls Supporter and this is said especially to Kevin W.
    You should have won the game you didn’t get over it as we chatted before the game your team generally chokes like the AB’s and The Sa Cricket Team in WC’s.
    I know how it feels as an Sa supporter, I have sympathy.
    But whinging about refs does not change the fact you lost. Sorry for You.

• 123. kevin wReply to this comment :

Excellent Steyn #108

At least you can admit the Bulls got lucky with getting away with that. Totally agree cup stays in Pta and nothing going to change that. Just debating the picture and the thread, most can’t see that and come back with no better than sore losers, sour grapes and spilt milk … move on, support the boks and give peace a chance!

• 124. wallabie.Reply to this comment :

In the above photo it would be understandable for steve to have not seen the indiscretion as he is on the other side of the ruck and has a sharks player in the line of sight.

• 125. BLUERUGGAReply to this comment :

The decisions a team gets in a game is part of the game, both teams got bad an good decisions. The mere fact that this person went trough the footage to find errors (with a very impartial eye I am sure) just proves that the shark supporters are bad losers, or are we going to have the whole game viewed on a frame by frame basis. It is absurd. At the end of the day the points on the board is what counts and no amount of bickering is going to change that .

Tickets R 300.00 , Beer R 800.00 Sharks blaming the ref for their loss priceless

• 126. trueblueReply to this comment :

To pot the lid on the pot… If two teams of equal passion collide, winning means lasting one minute longer. (Taken from the foyer of the ‘Tahs club in Sydney) Which is exactly what the Bulls did, they did not stop playing, whilst the Sharks were waiting for the final whistle…. so be it!!

• 127. BobZimmermanReply to this comment :

Does everyone then agree that the officials were plain ****.
    If the answer is yes then let us all hope we never see them officiating at such a high level game agian.
    Imagine if the players wearing Blue were the All Blacks, The Sharks were the Boks and that was the world cup that had been won/lost.
    Not funny.

• 128. kevin wReply to this comment :

Airwell

and i’ll ask you … what is the point of this website? It’s a place to debate and this thread is about a wrong decision. i’m debating, so best you do the same on the topic or go find a thread that reads sharks are chokers or just get over it, cup is in pretoria. I think some posts had to be removed and people warned if not banned over the Bulls supporters racial insults towards Linston Manuels. Boots on the other foot now mate, all of a sudden a complete about turn on slagging the ref.

The Fish

19-5=14
    20-7=13

• 129. normanReply to this comment :

boots 95
    there is nothing in the laws that states you are not allowed to play the ball while lying on the ground
    for example i am on the ground tying up my boot lace and the ball is kicked towards me and i am on the ground i can play it
    falling on the ball on the ground is an allowable thing to do provided it is done in context with the provisions of the law
    there are far too many laws and hopefully after the world cup simplicity will prevail in the proposed changes

• 130. thefeatherReply to this comment :

Thanks niceone, at least SOME humour remains… :-)

• 131. AirwellReply to this comment :

Not all bulls supporters slagged of the ref and all I am saying is debating this is a futile exercise. Any number of calls could have changed the game and the fact remains the Sharks being the best team on day did not close the deal period because they choked.
    Please do not generalize about bulls supporters as I do not generalize about Sharks supporters as where I was watching at Outer Limits in Joburg they were real gentleman in defeat unlike you.

• 132. kevin wReply to this comment :

norman,

except he is not tying his shoelace, he is part of the ruck… and what, the ball got there through divine intervention? apparently something like that was involved in everything else. even making an arse out of yourself climbing the poles and pulling the sign of the devil (jaco is such a twat)

cheers, out of her, always fun.

• 133. leeusekindReply to this comment :

DonnerLeeu, as jy weer na die game kyk, let op hoe Steve aan sy oor vat, asof hy luister nie die lynregter, en dan nie die fluitjie blaas nie. Ek dink hy het iets gehoor.

• 134. normanReply to this comment :

127 bob
    you will not see a free flowing game with a poor ref
    walsh was good
    he should have sent habana to the cooler but that would not have helped the sharks as monty was already hit and him been taken off was possibly for concussion otherwise montys substitution was a mistake

• 135. stinky-winkyReply to this comment :

Kevin W

You shouldn’t complain. If the shoe were on the other foot you would never hear a bulls fan on this site complain! Thank Bulls fans for teaching us all to be humble in victory and gracious in defeat….

PS. There is not an ounce of sarcasim in what I’ve just written.

• 136. blou masjienReply to this comment :

Bulls were cheated many a time over the last few years, I think it was time for justice, and still it wasn’t Walsh that made way for habana to score a try, that will be remembered in the same way as stransky’s drop goal, it was about ten sharks who missed him completely. In the end it’s what you make of your opportunities.

• 137. NZINCHINAReply to this comment :

STOP WHINING.
    You are beginning to sound like the Pommes.

• 138. BLUERUGGAReply to this comment :

kevin w

The purpose of debating is to change or alter decisions or procedure, the fact that there where bad calls in this game if you can call the that (how many of people saw this when watching the game )comes back to the question of should we be using more technology in these games and then how much technology, sure you can feel hard done by if your team gets a bad one but no amount of debate is going to change that .

Are you debating the outcome of the game or are you debating the issue of technology in sport. if it is the latter I will gladly debate this and we aill most probably have the same view but if you are debating the outcome of the final there can be no debate. As it is a fact that the Bulls are the first SA S14 winners and no argument can ever change that.

We can probibly sit here for days on end cmparing all the decisions ever made but isn’t that a bit pointless as it will not influence the results.

To All shark supporters: The Sharks are a very good team and will be for some time to come and it must be heartbreaking losing the HOME FINAL but like one of the guys said “no use in crying over spilt milk “

• 139. AirwellReply to this comment :

135 You have d@@ses from all provinces supporters including the Bulls.
    But to whinge is just plain stupid and boring. And probably very Aussie or Pommie. Come on we support the Boks so lets be better than them.

• 140. Xkreni-WPReply to this comment :

Now show us a picture of Alberts try. I forgot. It will have to be a video as he rolled it forward for about 15 seconds.

Also some forward passes by the Sharkes. Particularly the one in their round robin game against the Saders for their final try. Had they lost that game there season would have fallen apart.

Stop looking for excuses.

Just been on the Sharks site reading some post match comments. Piceless. They sound like halwitted 11 yr olds. I am slowly losing all respect for sharks rugby

• 141. AirwellReply to this comment :

XK

Do you have a copy of the game on DVD.

• 142. thefeatherReply to this comment :

“They sound like halwitted 11 yr olds.”
    That’s a bit rich…..

• 143. NZINCHINAReply to this comment :

Move on fella’s nobody will care or remember who won the Super 14 this year.

• 144. Xkreni-WPReply to this comment :

Read this, I couldnt stop laughing
    bloublitz (Witbank) AND

To all the idiots who have a go at South Africans who have returned to Europe:

You have not got a clue! Wake up, your decendants are not exactely “Inboorlinge” from AFRICA you idiots.

The ONLY “Inhabitants” of Southern Africa where the Khio and San people…

No wonder the people can’t just get on with living in the present age in South Africa.

And for your info:
    Ek is n Afrikaner van die Trekboer groep families wat op Bloedrivier oorleef het. Noem my maar Piesangboer!

Ek het hier gekom op werkers vakansie en het in Militere Diens gegaan om vrede te bewaar oor die wereld heen in Britse diensplig. Toe het ek n ordentelike Engelse meisie ontmoet in diensplig en getrou, dit sou nogal onredelik & ongeskik wees my Vrou weg te neem van Haar familie… Veral aagesien haar ouers redelik oud en sieklik is met kanker en epilepsie.

Word wakker! Julle is not onbeskof & oordeltrekkend. Dit se niks vir my omtrent julle “uitverkore Volk” se godsdienstige nonsens nie! Gaan dien julle afgod Bakkies en gaan speel saam met Lucifer rugga!

Your personal attacks on Sharks supporters on OUR Blog is just another confirmation of your dispicable, unhonorable & calous behaviour that we have come to expect from arrogant fools. (Please note this does not include the REAL Rugby supporters in the Bulls camp; this is in response to the BULLIES in their midst.)

So gaan speel met julle ballietjies op die “Highway”!

En stop met julle gevloekery hier, daar is kinders wat ONS Blog besoek.
    830. Posted by Sharks fan UK (SWINDON, Wiltshire) on Monday, May 21, 2007 – 14:11

• 145. RuggaReply to this comment :

#128 —– 20-7 = 13 . Now wht you do is , you substract that penalty that Liefling got over for hands in the ruck right on the try line , where the Bulls would have scored a for sure try. That makes the score 14- 10 to the Sharks and you ad either 5 points for just the try or 7 for the try and the coneversion and the score is still 15 or 17 to the Bulls and 14 to the Sharks .

• 146. CRUSHReply to this comment :

You can go get all the pictures that you want.
    At the end of it all it is just one thing that maters and that is the scoreboard that said
    Bulls 20-19 Sharks. To go on about this is useless. To say the Sharks are the best SA side is
    sour grapes. They are very good but in the end not good enough. So put a sock in it and lets focus on the Bokke.

• 147. Xkreni-WPReply to this comment :

Airwell, no. I am sure some one does.

Something to say feather?

• 148. AirwellReply to this comment :

NZinchina

Do you think this year that NZ is going to choke in The Super 14, Tri Nations as well as the normally do in the WC.

• 149. Xkreni-WPReply to this comment :

He even calls Bakkies a god

• 150. Xkreni-WPReply to this comment :

” The ONLY “Inhabitants” of Southern Africa where the Khio and San people…”

Do you think he meant Keo instead of khio. Or is it Khoi

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All

About the author

keo has written 1431 articles.

Personal website

Poll

Should Peter de Villiers be axed?
View Results

Back in time

Recent Comments

digimag-banner
Terms and conditions of use | My Profile
keo.co.za is the online partner to SA Rugby magazine and SA Cricket magazine.
Copyright 2008 Keo.co.za. All Rights Reserved.HSM Site
Design by osOutsource | Designed by Carthage.
Email Webmaster
Afrigator