Steve’s shocker
Here’s the photographic evidence to prove New Zealand referee Steve Walsh incorrectly determined the outcome of the Super 14 final.

Walsh told this website’s Ryan Vrede he may have got it wrong. No Steve you DID get it wrong.
This is not a picture to encourage play on. Walsh should have blown for either a knock, or penalised the Bulls player on the ground for scooping the ball back after losing it or any one of three Bulls players for not being on their feet at the ruck.
Whatever the choice play should have been stopped and possession should have been handed to the Sharks. It would have also been the end of the game.
Once again a failure to use technology has determined a championship and where the bloody hell was the touch judge’s vision?
This was a shocker!
Richard Young, who sent the clip, writes (sic)
Dear Country People
I only watched the last three minutes of the main game on Saturday afternoon for reasons that might have been deduceable on Sunday.
But I have captured a series of nine still images of the video between the 45th and 47th seconds of the 80th minute thereof.
Here is just one of them in the 45th second of the 80th minute.
Would anyone care to offer an opinion on what is the meaning of this?
Apologies to recipients of this email who have no interest whatsoever in the outcome of the Vodacom Super Whatever 2007.
Some Answer Options
Is it legal?
Is it illegal?
Is it blindness?
Is it shortsightedness?
Is it outofsightedness?
Is it conspiracy?
Is it sad?
Is it not sad?
Is it a combination of any of the above?

May 22nd, 2007 at 3:17 pm
147 not much, but judging on some of the stuff you’ve been posting here recently, I hardly think you’re in much of a position to accuse people of sounding like halfwitted 11 year olds.
Your stuff has hardly been the makings of higher intelligence.
What’s the point in insulting someone for what they write on this blog? Everyone is entitled to an opinion without having to be abused for it. Especially when you don’t even talk about the game or the point in question.
May 22nd, 2007 at 3:18 pm
Keo stop being pathetic and pedantic. The referee is human too. Are you perfect?
I thought Steve Walsh had a great game, and is definitely one of the better refs out there.
If you want to blame someone then blame Steyn. Missing a conversion from in front, missing touch as well as two shocking drop goals attempts.
May 22nd, 2007 at 3:19 pm
… plus Steve missed the obstruction infringement of Habana as he set off on that final try scoring run …
May 22nd, 2007 at 3:21 pm
Airwell, how many Super titles has SA won?
How many Tri Nations has SA won?
How many World Cup has SA won?
Happy to concede we choked in 99/03 but lets have a discussion about Bokke rugby in the last 10 years it shouldn’t take too long?
May 22nd, 2007 at 3:22 pm
Such as feather our learned friend? I suppose you have been a bubbling spring of interesting, informative and sensible information and posts.
You must be a sharks supporter
May 22nd, 2007 at 3:23 pm
I think I must start watching women tennis.Rugby is becoming to difficult to understand.
May 22nd, 2007 at 3:24 pm
you okes till fighting over spilt milk.
May 22nd, 2007 at 3:25 pm
Habana should have got a yellow and bakkies aswell for his dangerous high tackle on bismarck, both are rules not decisions Welsh had to make, 20 minutes with 14 men would have changed the game, it shouldn’t have even come to the knock-on shocker
or Steyn’s missed touch.
Hopefully the Currie Cup Final can be decided by a refing f**k up between the Bulls and Sharks. Love to hear their opinion then.
Don’t hate the player hate the game…
May 22nd, 2007 at 3:26 pm
i knew this was going to happen the minute i saw the bulls player cheating. the sharks would be whinging till next years s14. i don’t know what is worse their whinging or the bulls bragging.
May 22nd, 2007 at 3:26 pm
155 your memory is short clearly.
At least I try to comment sensibly on the topic at hand without dragging people’s characters down as a last resort in failed wit because of which team they support. Let it go dude!
May 22nd, 2007 at 3:27 pm
May 22nd, 2007 at 3:28 pm
only so much can be said on the topic dude. I will be sure to make an effert to go and read your sensible comments again.
May 22nd, 2007 at 3:31 pm
do you smell that ?????????????????
May 22nd, 2007 at 3:31 pm
So wheres the pic of Alberts try?????????????????
One sided views are useless
Steve has always been a pathetic ref although he seems like a nice chap.
May 22nd, 2007 at 3:32 pm
must be sour shark !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Airwell one other question, when did the Bokke last win in NZ? mate its not called choking they just wern’t good enough,like us at the 99/03 World cups end of story.
( Dont read faether)
This guys name says it all. He should stay of the malpitte.
These dumbass bulletjies have got nothing better to say!!! shows how low their IQ is! Admit it idiots- the only way your team knows how to win is to play dirty (and to perhaps make a kind payment to the ref). Sharks are the true champs- they know how to play within the law. haha well what do you expect- this is South Africa where criminals get away with everything, and the Bullshitters prove me correct
704. Posted by Mal 01 (Richards Bay) on Sunday, May 20, 2007 -
What have the Sharks and Man United in common??
They are both wingers..
May 22nd, 2007 at 3:33 pm
China
Lets discuss it if we had agreed to take part in Super 14 or Tri Nations you wouldn’t have made enough money to enter the professional era as the real money in these competitions are here in SA as we have the supporter base. We agreed to go across time lines to play you in both Comps. You have never won a WC with us playing.
Anymore you want to discuss Choker supporter?
May 22nd, 2007 at 3:35 pm
Maybe he was paid
May 22nd, 2007 at 3:35 pm
But we still respect the rivalry
May 22nd, 2007 at 3:36 pm
Andre they offered him a couple of hours with the Bulls Babes
May 22nd, 2007 at 3:37 pm
Sharks Fan UK again.
Hy kan die britte vergewe maar nie die Bulle nie.
Scarface (Johannesburg)
Moenie vergeet nie ou perd: Die eerste klomp trekboere het op die ou ende in Natal gevestig, jy weet die sterker meer volwasse Voortrekkers.
Mag ek ook op die stadium vir jou noem dat my familie deur die geveg van Bloedrivier oorleef het, dat ek spyt is oor die fyt dat na die Zulu impies verslaan is dat saar n kommando uitgestuur is om seker te maak dat hulle sou weg bly, maar dat ek nie n rasis is nie, en my broeders in die Zulu nasie vergewe het wat my voorouers wou vermoor het.
Ja dit is darem maar swak dat julle soort nog op die Boereoorlog lewe. Ek se weer hier dat ek die Britte ook vergewe het vir knonsentrasie kampe.
Onthou dat die Afrikaners ook nie sonder foute is nie, dit blyk hier vir my dat die wat in Pretoria gebly het baie meer probleme behou het uit die verlede…
696. Posted by Sharks fan UK (SWINDON, Wiltshire) on Sunday, May 20
May 22nd, 2007 at 3:38 pm
167# i reckon u should stay off the malpitte
“sharks are true champs”
Maybe a psychiatrist can help?
Reality denialist
May 22nd, 2007 at 3:39 pm
Xkreni, you are taking things out of context. The Sharks site is a more moderate site and quite obviously the sentiment will be pro-sharks.
If you have a beef with the guy, take it up with him but don’t generalise or patronise the Sharks supporters as a whole. Most of the sharkies on this site took the loss graciously.
Die ou het duidelik bietjie skade oorgehou van bloedrivier af. Wonder of ‘n zoeloe hom met ‘n assegaai teen die kop geklap het
This is not so easy. I went back and re-looked at the incident. The photo shown is very carefully chosen. My version is as follows: Thiart (lying on the ground) got tackled and had the ball on his chest. A Sharks player, who in the photo is out of sight behind the rightmost Bulls player, but who could have been Bismarck du Plessis, came in and knocked the ball out of Thiart’s hand, making it roll the way it did. Thiart then reaches for it, but it’s inconclusive whether he got it or not. Kuhn then goes for the ball, which is then kept in the ruck for a while, comes out for Heinie Adams, and everyone knows the rest.
Keo, why don’t you publish the rest of the pics as well? A snapshot of a dynamic situation does not prove anything. Exactly which direction was the ball rolling? Did Thiart get hold of it? His arm is stretched out quite far, and the ball was still rolling when he reached for it.
Interestingly, all talk of a knock-on seems to have disappeared, because those who saw the pics could see that du Plessis in fact knocked the ball out of Thiart’s hands. Is that not maybe illegal? Just asking…
Come on, Keo, show us the rest of the pics.
H-J
Change your name to Xkreni-WP&SHARKS
May 22nd, 2007 at 3:40 pm
“Richard Young, who sent the clip, writes (sic)
Dear Country People
I only watched the last three minutes of the main game on Saturday afternoon for reasons that might have been deduceable on Sunday.”
What’s that all about?
Is this THE Richard Young who this Sunday exposed Chippy Shaik’s Ph.D as a fraud and at whose name crooked politicians run for cover.
If it is he – you are a REAL South African hero.
May 22nd, 2007 at 3:40 pm
I know sampioen. I have no beef. It is just very funny.
May 22nd, 2007 at 3:41 pm
ATTENTION BLUE BULLS FANS
To all Blue Bulls fans complaining that Sharks supporters are nothing more than whingers, please see some of our comments (see my first comment in this thread). The people complaining speak the loudest so they get the most attention, my mates and myself are over it now and just want to see the Sharks learn from the mistakes at the end of the game.
BUT!! You should be slightly objective in this because pretty soon the shoe is going to be on the other foot whether it is against the Bulls or the Boks. I would hope that not one of you will ever complain about a referee decision again. If you have complained in the past then you know who you are. So, debate the referees decision, or don’t, but if you choose not to, just remember to stick to that same decision next time a call goes against you. This thread will remind us who those people are.
May 22nd, 2007 at 3:41 pm
he should have been guided by the tj. he wasn’t!
May 22nd, 2007 at 3:43 pm
I should Bob. If I could I would
May 22nd, 2007 at 3:47 pm
By the way, the whole choker theme is old. If the Sharks won, would the Bulls suddenly be chokers because they couldn’t pull it through in the knock out stages for a third year?
May 22nd, 2007 at 3:48 pm
Someone told me this on Sunday already. So it’s the truth , i have seen it with my own two eyes. Sharks have won the game
May 22nd, 2007 at 3:49 pm
hjk
If I rip the ball from you and you loose it forward it counts as a knock!!!! You make the handling error!!!
May 22nd, 2007 at 3:51 pm
XK
What do you add after the Sharks- the Lions then the Cheetahs. Thank heaven the Lion Cup days are gone-imagine your nick then…
Xkreni-WP&SHARKS&CHEETAHS……&…VERE NOOORD….&STELLALAND.
No wonder Steve sings about “die hele bloody spul”
May 22nd, 2007 at 3:51 pm
hjk
Is there anyway I can get a copy of the game on DVD from you
May 22nd, 2007 at 3:53 pm
And people call us Kiwis ‘whingers’ who cant take defeat like men ! Ha ! I guess we now have competition. Goodness sakes , I say forget about it. Super 14’s come and go ! Theres always next year Sharkies boys !
May 22nd, 2007 at 3:55 pm
184 yes the Bulls would be chokers.
But they won and the Sharks and AB’s in WC are the the real Chokers.
May 22nd, 2007 at 3:56 pm
188 Airwell – I’ll try to write a DVD (or two) and see what I can do. What’s your email address?
186 – And if the ball goes forward from you? The ball seemed pretty much to roll sideways, from what I can recall. Anyway, Bismarck did NOT rip the ball from Thiart, his left arm knocked it out of Thiart’s grasp. Difference.
This article is a bit idiotic. That is by no means the only refereeing mistake in the game, or the tournament. Albert van de Berg’s try should not have been allowed, and neither should Kevin Mealamu’s try.
But at the end of the day, the Sharks have only themselves to blame. For heaven’s sake, haven’t we beaten to death the mistakes the Sharks made in the last minutes that cost them the game. The players made far more mistakes than the referee.
Ultimately the Bulls deserve to win for showing greater composure.
Bob, like I always say. Eers ‘n Bul dan ‘n Bok
the sharks not only are losers and chokers but whingers as well. pathetic to say the least. i’ve lost respect. at least the stormers are only losers hehe
May 22nd, 2007 at 3:57 pm
leon@airwell.co.za
May 22nd, 2007 at 3:58 pm
Niceone, I think they are scared it will be another 100 years before they win a trophy (apart from B division) It has been 11 already
May 22nd, 2007 at 3:59 pm
Last one I promise. I think I am going to copy all his comments and publish a book.
sleeric (PMB)
Absolutely! I am the most proud of the Sharks team and management I have ever been! They have outperformed themselveswith a team that is in it’s infancy.
As for plyaers being bought into Natal….
It does say something for the clubs that release them, now doesn’t it; eh?
I realy enjoyed Butch’s tackle, at first I thought it was a but iffy; but on replaying it I knew he was not fowl in his tackle,it was just a combination of Du Preez’s speed and Butch’s power & tenacity!
Butch did well to keep his temper in check,I always have concern about him in that way but he has HUGELY impoved his self control & discipline. It is a shame Balkkies Botha still has issues, he will need to sort that out before the England game.
Steyn is not to blame by himself, if Percy was not stunned & dazed he may well have slotted one of the penalties or conversions that was missed…
They should have benched himearlier. Everybody could see he was not himself. Poor Francois is only a young lad and should not have been given the choice; John should have taken his responsiblity as Captain (Democracy can be a bad thing) and made the decision to use a well experienced International like Butch to kick the conversion.
Yes experience was lacking for Francios, but let us be truthful, he played a great game and added to our strenghts morethan our weaknesses.
sharkfanatic (cork)
The fewer player are spent on the Springboks the better. The Springboks will be ruined by the negative play of the Bulls players like Bakkies Botha whose attitude really stinks.
candyman
Jy is Godslaterlik (Ek raak nou baie gewoond aan dit, die godsdienstiges van Pretoria het GEEN geloof in God nie -Nes hulle span), mag die Here jou spaar op die Dag van oordeel perd!
Do you know I thought I had gone deaf coz I never heard the hooter, and I had rereun the game a few times…
Francois did his best just like the whole team, which is more than we can say of the Bulls and their supporters that ry to slag us off.
IGNORE ALL THEIR COMMENTS …
628. Posted by Sharks fan UK (SWINDON, Wiltshire) on Sunday, May 20, 2007 – 18:26
My main problem with this article is that it uses one carefully chosen photo to “prove” a point that is under dispute. The fact that the situation is a dynamic situation with lots of people moving around means that one photograph proves nothing. More sinisterly, one photograph could be used to prove whatever the wielder thereof wants to prove. What’s the agenda behind this? Who stands to gain from it? Come on, Keo, show us the other pics…
#192 – Well said .
Didnt Kipling say :
IF you can keep your head when all about you
Are losing theirs and blaming it on you…you’ll be a man my son ?
Pertinent in this regard !
May 22nd, 2007 at 4:00 pm
Martin FSteyn is the King choker