Steve’s shocker
Here’s the photographic evidence to prove New Zealand referee Steve Walsh incorrectly determined the outcome of the Super 14 final.

Walsh told this website’s Ryan Vrede he may have got it wrong. No Steve you DID get it wrong.
This is not a picture to encourage play on. Walsh should have blown for either a knock, or penalised the Bulls player on the ground for scooping the ball back after losing it or any one of three Bulls players for not being on their feet at the ruck.
Whatever the choice play should have been stopped and possession should have been handed to the Sharks. It would have also been the end of the game.
Once again a failure to use technology has determined a championship and where the bloody hell was the touch judge’s vision?
This was a shocker!
Richard Young, who sent the clip, writes (sic)
Dear Country People
I only watched the last three minutes of the main game on Saturday afternoon for reasons that might have been deduceable on Sunday.
But I have captured a series of nine still images of the video between the 45th and 47th seconds of the 80th minute thereof.
Here is just one of them in the 45th second of the 80th minute.
Would anyone care to offer an opinion on what is the meaning of this?
Apologies to recipients of this email who have no interest whatsoever in the outcome of the Vodacom Super Whatever 2007.
Some Answer Options
Is it legal?
Is it illegal?
Is it blindness?
Is it shortsightedness?
Is it outofsightedness?
Is it conspiracy?
Is it sad?
Is it not sad?
Is it a combination of any of the above?

May 22nd, 2007 at 4:00 pm
Martin
But you get whinger Bulls too remember the CC finals.
You win some you loose some but whinging is for pommies and Aussies
Agree with XK eers a bull dan a bok.
May 22nd, 2007 at 4:01 pm
#196 – Ah I see !
May 22nd, 2007 at 4:02 pm
Maybe Sharks fan UK (SWINDON, Wiltshire), will blame Bakkies and say Steyn choked on his horing
May 22nd, 2007 at 4:03 pm
Saffa – Comment #14 , Yes I would have loved for Habs to be suspended for that tackle , it was stupid and very dangerous , Monty could have had very serious injury and Habs needed to be taught a lesson in dicipline. Look I like the oke but what if Habs now tries that in a test match or worse in the WC final , would u like it if SA plays the ABS for 78 mins minus a winger in a final ? Habs was a *** and yes he got away with it but he remains a *** for that k@k cowardly tackle.
May 22nd, 2007 at 4:03 pm
how does that wonder bra joke go?…it’s called the sharks bra…all the support and no cup…something like that hehe
May 22nd, 2007 at 4:04 pm
X – Steyn just turned 20 , he will learn from that. Remember Hougard in 2003 ? He matured a hell of a lot since then
May 22nd, 2007 at 4:06 pm
Sparticus, At least Hougaard won a Cup at 19
May 22nd, 2007 at 4:06 pm
#204 – Ya I just watched a clip of that tackle and it deserved action definitely. BUT when it is all said and done , the Loftus faithful will forget that part and immortalize ‘flying Bryan’ for his winning try ! All I can say is if he tries to pull asimilar stunt against the ABs, he is cruising for a bruising !
May 22nd, 2007 at 4:08 pm
Nicone
I also think it was not intentional but I am sure Bakkies and Pakslae will look after their mate against the best the AB’s can muster.
May 22nd, 2007 at 4:11 pm
Each team could keep the trophy for six months and they could engrave on the side of it ‘2007-the Shulls’ or ‘2007-the Burks’.
Or someone to invent a time machine.
May 22nd, 2007 at 4:11 pm
Serious bru ? Maybe but I reckon one clap from Lauaki or Collins and Bakkies would cry like a dog ! HAHA ! Wow that would be a rumble hey ?
On a happier note , those Bulls and Sharks girls are hot !!!
May 22nd, 2007 at 4:12 pm
After reading the all above ….
The Bulls won, and that is it!!
Even Keo predicted this at the start of the Super 14.
May the others rest in peace. It was not only the Sharks that were brilliant on the day, please just remind your self that they could not score at random. The Bulls were sound on defence throughout the whole game!!
May 22nd, 2007 at 4:14 pm
The Bulls won it fair and square. No need to share. Seems like all teams in black always have excuses of payoff, suzie etc
#212 – Yes thats it Oblix. I agree. I am a Crusaders fan but realize that crying is not going to change anything. One must show respect to the champs and Bulls are champions 2007 end of story ! Next year will they do it again though ?
i have never seen Steve Walsh have a good game as a referee, he is f*cken hopeless and yes
i agree 100% the Sharks have only themselves to blame.
He gave Alberts try as well, what an idiot
May 22nd, 2007 at 4:15 pm
#213 – Hope there is no hinting at the AB’s there mate ! We never have an excuse !
May 22nd, 2007 at 4:16 pm
no, suzie and the gold rolex is real
Niceone
I agree Maybey the sharks should have let Steve spend a couple of hours with their girls and who knows
This whingeing is piss willy tame compared to that spewed by the Bulls after the small misinterpretation made by Linston Manuals.
May 22nd, 2007 at 4:18 pm
Ya Suzy is as real as water or any tangible substance. She better not go to France !
May 22nd, 2007 at 4:19 pm
#218 – For sure mate !
May 22nd, 2007 at 4:20 pm
Niceone you Kiwi’s have a knack of making us whinge.
Are mr Walsh and his officials getting any flak in NZ.
May 22nd, 2007 at 4:20 pm
#219 – Oh yeah I remember that ! But again mate why scratch at scars ? Worry about the real and forthcoming threat of the future WC champs , the ABs !
May 22nd, 2007 at 4:22 pm
#222 – Not really mate . Havent seen or heard anything besides very general statements . I think because it had no direct bearing on us we dont really care. However any bad reffing is not good for rugby as a whole
May 22nd, 2007 at 4:23 pm
216 And you never mentioned the gold watch and Suzie
May 22nd, 2007 at 4:24 pm
Keo,
How can you focus on an individual incident and say that it cost the game?
Every game of rugby is full of decisons that go either way, if you are good enough you will dominate and win. If teams are evenly matched then many facters can contribute to deciding the game.
I am shocked that this sort of article would appaer on a site like this. I really expected more
May 22nd, 2007 at 4:24 pm
Tacitus
Jy is n ****** groot bek.
How many weeks did you guys whine about the Linston Manuels incident?
And NO the best team did not win on the day you wop
May 22nd, 2007 at 4:26 pm
219 Like I said earlier you have D@@ses on all sides Whinging is for Pommies and Aussies not South Africans and Niceone hopefully not Kiwis.
May 22nd, 2007 at 4:26 pm
Judging by the politics going on in SA Rugby these days, I am surprised Origen Hoskins, (being a Sharky himself) havent conspired with the Stofile brothers to try and overruled the result. The Bulls are persieved to be the all white afrikaans broederbond union and it appears the Stofiles are on a mission to show the “whities” who is in charge of SA rugby and Origen Hoskins is too spineless to stand up for what is best for the game. If it was any another team that speared the Sharks it might have gone down a bit easier.
May 22nd, 2007 at 4:27 pm
Chch
Could not agree more
May 22nd, 2007 at 4:28 pm
Rebcraig
Refer comment 228 especially the part about being a D@@s.
May 22nd, 2007 at 4:30 pm
I don’t think we can lay too much blame on steve for this one. look at where he stands, he can’t see the ball. who should have seen was the tj. why didn’t he call it? maybe a bulls fan wipped out her cajunes for him when it occured?
May 22nd, 2007 at 4:31 pm
#228 and #225 – Aw , mate we have had some dubious moments . I like to think that we Kiwis are gracious in defeat . The Suzy story will be one of those debatable topics ! Hopefully we have passed the need to have any fake excuses.
May 22nd, 2007 at 4:34 pm
After the Semis I have the utmost respect for the Kiwi sides not one blamed the travelling and said the better team won.
Maybey the Sharks supporters should learn from this.
May 22nd, 2007 at 4:35 pm
227 – slight difference between the Walsh incident and the Manuels incident. Manuels was the TMO. He had all the time in the world to watch, rewind, watch again, get another angle, etc. and still he gets it wrong. In the first place, he sees a knock-on that wasn’t there, then his prescribed course of action was way off, for a knock on. Remember – he ordered a 22m dropout, which should have been a 5m scrum assuming it WAS a knock-on.
Walsh’s “mistake” (which I dispute was one) at least occurred in real time.
May 22nd, 2007 at 4:38 pm
235 But the Waratas still won end of story Manuels is a bad ref. But to slit your wrists not going to help anything its history.
May 22nd, 2007 at 4:39 pm
#234 – Yeah Airwell its cos its the honest truth. The truth is that we were soundly beaten by better teams. We only had our own weaknesses and failings to blame as well as the superior play of the other two SA teams. It would not be professional or sportsmanlike to cry and whinge like a baby .
May 22nd, 2007 at 4:41 pm
237 Niceone something like some of the Sharks supporters.
May 22nd, 2007 at 4:42 pm
Martin,
If you call the Bulls cheaters, then you imply ALL rugby player are cheaters. Even the SHARKS!!
The Bulls player clearly disobeyed the rules, but that does not make him a cheater. Why are penalties given? Because players disobey the rules, not because they cheat…
May 22nd, 2007 at 4:42 pm
Have a go at this. After applauding AB sportsmanship I just saw a story wherby Sean Fitzpatrick said the poms won’t win the WC because they are a “bunch of fatties…” !
May 22nd, 2007 at 4:43 pm
chch
in die kol
Ek het nie van een van die sharks ouens gehoor to hulle die game teen die saders gewen het nie , nie een het oor die swak beslising gepraat of fotos in gestuur , somige van die shark ouens is net suur en swak verloorders mens sou sweer hulle het al iets gewen die laaste 11 jaar soos wat hulle aan gaan. hoe durf `n span wat al die laaste 3 jaar domineer in SA hulle wen. Die Bulle is die BESTE en die troefee kas bewys dit . waar kom hulle vandaan om te se die sharks is die beste span, wat het hulle al die laaste eeu beryk?
shut up en gaan maak wyn van al daai suur druiwe miskien kan julle dan beter argumente maak.
May 22nd, 2007 at 4:44 pm
#238 – I dont like pointing fingers but yup.
Fitzie can be very observant sometimes
Well done to the Bulls. To their fans – please ignore all the negative comments from the Sharks supporters and enjoy the win.
This is the way the game is, was and always will be – one day the ball bounces for you and other times not.
The record books will forever show that the Bulls were the 2007 S14 champs and that is all that matters.
May 22nd, 2007 at 4:46 pm
#243 – Haha . He further added :
“Maybe in England they’ve enjoyed talking about being world champions for too long and have been going backwards in the process.”
“You won’t win anything with a bunch of fatties,”
May 22nd, 2007 at 4:47 pm
#244 – Yes Polar Lion that is an astute comment . This debate really is dead .
May 22nd, 2007 at 4:50 pm
Xkreni
What’s the point of going onto the Sharks site and posting some stupid comments … there are probably lots of very balanced comments there. Sad.
We could all just go into the archive of this site and find some ridiculous halfwit Bulls statements. Argue the thread, argue the topic but playing paste the post, it’s so cool is a bit childish.
Does Steve Komphela speak on behalf of all South Africans …
May 22nd, 2007 at 4:50 pm
245 we will see first in SA in the next 2 weeks.
May 22nd, 2007 at 4:51 pm
233# the kiwi players and coaches are humble in defeat, their supporters are pathetic in defeat,
dont suppose you are a player niceone?
May 22nd, 2007 at 4:52 pm
Bluerugga
Explain the similarity between the Crusaders game and saturday. One the ref fucked up, the other one the players fucked up.
Stop trying to disguise the fact that the ref made a crucial mistake.