digimag-banner

Steve’s shocker

Here’s the photographic evidence to prove New Zealand referee Steve Walsh incorrectly determined the outcome of the Super 14 final.

Walsh told this website’s Ryan Vrede he may have got it wrong. No Steve you DID get it wrong.

This is not a picture to encourage play on. Walsh should have blown for either a knock, or penalised the Bulls player on the ground for scooping the ball back after losing it or any one of three Bulls players for not being on their feet at the ruck.

Whatever the choice play should have been stopped and possession should have been handed to the Sharks. It would have also been the end of the game.

Once again a failure to use technology has determined a championship and where the bloody hell was the touch judge’s vision?

This was a shocker!

Richard Young, who sent the clip, writes (sic)

Dear Country People

I only watched the last three minutes of the main game on Saturday afternoon for reasons that might have been deduceable on Sunday.

But I have captured a series of nine still images of the video between the 45th and 47th seconds of the 80th minute thereof.

Here is just one of them in the 45th second of the 80th minute.

Would anyone care to offer an opinion on what is the meaning of this?

Apologies to recipients of this email who have no interest whatsoever in the outcome of the Vodacom Super Whatever 2007.

Some Answer Options
Is it legal?
Is it illegal?
Is it blindness?
Is it shortsightedness?
Is it outofsightedness?
Is it conspiracy?
Is it sad?
Is it not sad?
Is it a combination of any of the above?

436 Responses to “Steve’s shocker”

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 » Show All

• 251. PissAntReply to this comment :

I will remember all these comments from Bulls supporters next time they call Kaplan a cheat…

• 252. BobZimmermanReply to this comment :

BLUERUGGA
    Exactly what bad decission are you on about in the Sharks / Crusaders game.

• 253. cmmReply to this comment :

YAWN!!!!! Geez okes, get over it already.

Has anyone noticed that the sun is shining?

Just thought I’d ask…

• 254. AirwellReply to this comment :

Hullo Kevin Whinger

When are you going to slit your wrists because the Sharked choked and you blame the Ref

• 255. niceoneReply to this comment :

#249 I can neither confirm or deny that I am a player at this time.

• 256. kevin wReply to this comment :

Airwell

you saying the ref’s call had nothing to do with the outcome … admit that to me and i’ll shut up! See if you can put your money where your airhole is

• 257. BLUERUGGAReply to this comment :

kevin w
    BobZimmerman

Nope sorry to tell you this Kevin but the sharks f uped the game all on their own ,inexperiance lost them the game .

Bob, my point exactly you did not see the crusader fans carry on like this , atleast they have a bit of class

• 258. niceoneReply to this comment :

#256 – Thats unfair on Airwell , Kev. Its a very subjective question.

• 259. AirwellReply to this comment :

PA

Remember this all teams have some supporters who are D@@ses but the Sharks are taking one incident to the extreme. Even **** complimented the ref.

• 260. cmmReply to this comment :

Look, give Steve a break. He doesn’t get to blow a super14 final often. The kiwis are always in it so he’s normally at home driking beer.

He probably did it to the Sharks on purpose because they made him travel…hehehehe!!!

C’mon guys. The earth is still turning.

• 261. BLUERUGGAReply to this comment :

kevin w
    BobZimmerman

what has your great team done in the last decade??????????

• 262. AirwellReply to this comment :

Kevin Whinger

I will admit that all decisions or non decisions the ref makes have a baring on the outcome of a match. Now can we talk about who should be in the team.
    BTW Congrats on your team topping the log.

• 263. PissAntReply to this comment :

Air,

No doubt – but most of the time it is also a case of when the shoe fits.

I though Walsh had a good game.

For a final with that intensity he did a great job of trying to get the game to flow – hell we saw 4 tries in this match.

He missed a lot too – both ways, but that is part and parcel of rugby.

Again for me it is a case of when the shoe fits – remember all the Bulls comments in 2005 after the Currie Cup?

Same thing, different game.

• 264. AirwellReply to this comment :

BOK TEAM ANYONE?

• 265. kevin wReply to this comment :

niceone

then he should think twice about saying i’m whinging and suggest i slit my wrists…

• 266. cmmReply to this comment :

#264 – think it only gets announced tomorrow

• 267. JUSMReply to this comment :

from that picture one could deduce that the player in question went down with the ball and was in the process of placing it back when the picture was taken. i’d hardly call it evidence.

lol :)

• 268. AirwellReply to this comment :

Agree PA

But thats history and whinging won’t change the result.
    All the Bulls Fans who whinged you are the same as a Pommie or an Aussie.

• 269. niceoneReply to this comment :

You know what it is. Blind dissapointment. The Sharkie fans had visions of Smit lifting the trophy as they drank all that beer they bought and ate all that biltong. They saw it as destiny and the media hyped it up so much and they were convinced. When the Bulls arrived and crushed that dream they performed the normal human function , look for a scapegoat. Its all in ecology .

• 270. cmmReply to this comment :

kevin w, please go get a cuppa or something bru. You’re going to do yourself some damage.

• 271. AirwellReply to this comment :

Cmm

Who would you put in the team?

• 272. niceoneReply to this comment :

#265 – fair enough call mate.

• 273. cmmReply to this comment :

Airwell,

Have I missed one of your posts or are you asking me for a team?

• 274. joeboyReply to this comment :

255# ok then i take it your a supporter cos the players arent that confused

• 275. PissAntReply to this comment :

Shot Air, agree totally.

To all Sharks boys – I think you dominated and chucked it.

To all Bulls boys credit where credit is due – you stuck it out and kept yourself in with a chance – and it came.

Anyone saying the Bulls dont deserve it is a fool.

Anyone saying the Sharks were the worse team on the day is also a fool.

It was a great final – celebrate the rugby and lets move on.

• 276. pollyReply to this comment :

guys guys come on now..games over, trophys gone and nothing we can do..we living in a new south africa..theft,crime,robbery and cheating happening every day..we just got to accept it..thieves get caught but get away scott free..Walsh fucked up bad and hes free..accompice bulls are also free with the bouty..just accept it..but remember what goes around comes around..live by the sword and die by the sword!!
    Justice will prevail!
    ps lets all who were at ground and who witnessed the cheating make a police report!!(bet they will be bought off too)

• 277. St.PetersburgbokReply to this comment :

Kevin W
    The Bulls won…get over it.
    For years you have been posting how stupid and slow the Bulls are.
    Well,boy…they only had to be smarter and faster for 2 minutes to beat your soft-**** characterless chokers.And, the most talented player SA has seen in the past 5 years,apparently(Steyn),showed true Sharks credentials and choked not ONCE,but TWICE….in the same game….how wierd is THAT?
    And they will continue to beat them again and again just like it has always been for the past 100years.

Bulls…22 or so CC’s
    ……..1 S14 C

Sharks…3 CC’s
    ………0 S14’s

• 278. AirwellReply to this comment :

Yes Cmm who would you put in the bok team

• 279. niceoneReply to this comment :

#274 – Hey mate as I said I cant say anything . I wont not say that I am a player nor a fan .

• 280. kevin wReply to this comment :

I’ve never once said that the Sharks (steyn) never screwed up. But they did enough to still manage to keep the Bulls out.

Unfortunately the ref / tj missed a crucial infringement at a time of the game when there was no way for the Sharks to rectify it. Every other refereeing error left time for the other team to overcome the obstacle. Not the final one in extra time when the Sharks were leading.

So crucify me / call me a whinger for stating the facts or the game as i see it. That’s what makes this site what it is anyway. Imagine if everyone agreed. That’s my last take on it.

• 281. StaalReply to this comment :

Bulls vs Sharks,

Easy game – even away! :lol:

• 282. cmmReply to this comment :

Airwell,

1. Guthro
    2. Smit
    3. BJ
    4. Bakkies
    5. Victor
    6. Schalk
    7. Juan
    8. AJ(like Spies, but he’s young and AJ’s in better form)
    9. Ruan (Fourie is injured)
    10. Butch
    11. Habana
    12. De Villiers
    13. Murray (we won’t have a better time to see what he can do)
    14. JP (Akona is JP doesn’t recover)
    15. Percy

doubt there’s many surprises there.

• 283. AirwellReply to this comment :

Thank God Kevin
    My team for Saturday
    BJ
    Smit
    Guthro
    Victor
    Schalk
    AJ
    Spies
    Pienaar
    Liefling
    WO
    Murray
    Ashwin
    Habana
    Percy

• 284. AirwellReply to this comment :

cmm I think Juan is injured

• 285. cmmReply to this comment :

forgot about ashwin.

• 286. kevin wReply to this comment :

Well done St Pete, the Bulls have a very proud record. Give yourself a pat on the back or bang your head into the door, whatever you guys do.

And don’t cheer when that youngster knocks over a mostrous drop goal for the boks.

• 287. niceoneReply to this comment :

The Boks could field :

15 – Andre Joubert
    14 – James Small
    13 – Japie Mulder
    12 – Hennie Le Roux
    11 – Pieter Hendriks
    10 – Naas
    9 – Werner Swanepol

And whoever the hell they like as forwards ( even Paarl Boys maybe) and still kick the **** out of this half – *** team of poms.

• 288. cmmReply to this comment :

airwell, well in that case spies must play 8. With AJ and 7. I agree.

• 289. BobZimmermanReply to this comment :

Kevin W
    After reading 277 I think I understand why you have been posting those unkind things for so many years.You must have pissed on his battery somewhere, sometime in history.

• 290. AirwellReply to this comment :

cmm De villiers also injured.
    So only real difference is Flyhalf.
    Only reason I want to try Liefling is to see what he has at this level because both Butch and AP are injury prone. Good game to test him.

• 291. SkabengaReply to this comment :

#277 “soft-**** characterless chokers”

Yeah man your such a big toss arent you!, they’d pummel your little pantoffel pansy arse into oblivion, hahaha…tell us another gem you soft-**** blogger, and thats a fact! PS dont bother responding you vitriolic little unknowledgable pooftah!

• 292. cmmReply to this comment :

cmm, bugger well then I suppose WO is the next best 12 option.

Probably not a bad game to try Hougaard. I think he’s a good flyhalf for northern hemisphere rugby, so I hope he goes to the WC.

Would love to know what Jake’s plans for Steyn are. If handled properly and given some good game time off the bench he could be a long term solution.

• 293. cmmReply to this comment :

sorry, airwell – #292 was meant for you.

• 294. AirwellReply to this comment :

I think he is also but we must bring him in slowly like the AB’s did with Carter where he started at inside centre.

• 295. cmmReply to this comment :

airwell, good point. So then maybe he should play at 12 this weekend ? :o ) Why wait?!?

we know what WO can do.

• 296. AirwellReply to this comment :

Why not give him a go.

• 297. DoosdiefdrieduisendReply to this comment :

KEO

YOU ARE ******* STUPID.

WHAT ABOUT THE MISTAKES THAT THE SHARKS MADE AND GOT AWAY WITH. FIRST OF ALL, ALBERT VD BERGH’S TRY WAS NO TRY. THERE WAS ALSO A KNOCK INVOLVED FROM THE SHARK PLAYERS WHILE THE REF WAS PLAYING ADVANTAGE FOR THEM. I CAN ALSO SEND YOU VIDEO CLIPS.

THE BULLS HAVE WON IT FAIR AND SQUARE, FACE IT YOU LITTLE **** FACE

• 298. BLUERUGGAReply to this comment :

kevin w
    you must be joking
    “I’ve never once said that the Sharks (steyn) never screwed up. But they did enough to still manage to keep the Bulls out”

obviously they didn’t keep the bulls out otherwise we would not be having this “debate”

besides 1X intercept try and 1X carry over try vs 2 tries from play , yes the sharkies looked better on the day but even on a bad day the bulls still won the game. I know it is hard to accept but the sharks lost. just like they have been doing for the past decade.
    so stop embarrassing you fellow shark supporters and shut up your just rambling on and on and on .
    by the way you still haven’t answered my previous question

• 299. blou masjienReply to this comment :

Can someone positively prove that it wasn’t hands in the ruck and/or not rolling away that made the ball go out of the ruck. As I saw it, thiart went into the ruck, the tackler didn’t roll away which helped the 3rd person to use hands. There was definitely no knock-on! The player of the sharks who used his hands may have had a second atempt at stealing the ball after the second bulls player came into the ruck, which is illegal. Can someone look at the tape and correct me.

• 300. St.PetersburgbokReply to this comment :

Skabenga…aka…Fuzzy Bear aka….short stack

Sharks lost because they where stupid, how funny is THAT?!?!?

Stupid, characterless and aparently leaderless for letting the youngest of the lot take the most crucial kick. WHAT exactly was Muir thinking(if he was thinking at all)????
    Probably too busy shaking hands and slapping Plumtree on the back for a great 79 minutes.

Note to self…..the game is only over when the ref blows the final whistle.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 » Show All

About the author

keo has written 1431 articles.

Personal website

Poll

Should Peter de Villiers be axed?
View Results

Back in time

Recent Comments

digimag-banner
Terms and conditions of use | My Profile
keo.co.za is the online partner to SA Rugby magazine and SA Cricket magazine.
Copyright 2008 Keo.co.za. All Rights Reserved.HSM Site
Design by osOutsource | Designed by Carthage.
Email Webmaster
Afrigator