Steve’s shocker
Here’s the photographic evidence to prove New Zealand referee Steve Walsh incorrectly determined the outcome of the Super 14 final.

Walsh told this website’s Ryan Vrede he may have got it wrong. No Steve you DID get it wrong.
This is not a picture to encourage play on. Walsh should have blown for either a knock, or penalised the Bulls player on the ground for scooping the ball back after losing it or any one of three Bulls players for not being on their feet at the ruck.
Whatever the choice play should have been stopped and possession should have been handed to the Sharks. It would have also been the end of the game.
Once again a failure to use technology has determined a championship and where the bloody hell was the touch judge’s vision?
This was a shocker!
Richard Young, who sent the clip, writes (sic)
Dear Country People
I only watched the last three minutes of the main game on Saturday afternoon for reasons that might have been deduceable on Sunday.
But I have captured a series of nine still images of the video between the 45th and 47th seconds of the 80th minute thereof.
Here is just one of them in the 45th second of the 80th minute.
Would anyone care to offer an opinion on what is the meaning of this?
Apologies to recipients of this email who have no interest whatsoever in the outcome of the Vodacom Super Whatever 2007.
Some Answer Options
Is it legal?
Is it illegal?
Is it blindness?
Is it shortsightedness?
Is it outofsightedness?
Is it conspiracy?
Is it sad?
Is it not sad?
Is it a combination of any of the above?

May 22nd, 2007 at 5:36 pm
241 BLUERUGGA,
I can only read English or Tagalog unfortunitly. Can you repost?
May 22nd, 2007 at 5:38 pm
300 agree with STB
May 22nd, 2007 at 5:41 pm
From planet-rugby’s brickbats and bouquets:
Big Match Temperament award: The Bulls needed 20 points from their last four matches, needed to beat the Reds by 72 points and needed to beat the defending champion Crusaders in the semi-final. 1,2,3 all achieved with minimum fuss, and then, six points down with a minute to go in the final…
May 22nd, 2007 at 5:41 pm
Note to self…..do not finish top of the log, my players can’t handle the pressure of playing a final at home.
May 22nd, 2007 at 5:42 pm
Doosdief,hou op kak praat.skruk wakker uit jou babbelas.Albert se drie was ‘n drie,gaan kyk maar weer.en Habana moes ‘n ****** rooie gekry het.En cheers anyway vir die sharks nie ,so my opinie is neutraal.
May 22nd, 2007 at 5:42 pm
BobZimmerman, Kevin W,
I think that the worst decision in the Sharks Crusaders game was one that has always been a pet hate of mine. When a player knock the ball on the air but it has not hit the ground they should be treated as being in posesion of the ball. You should be able to tackle them.
If you could not tackle them then you can simpley throw the ball forward and catch it again as an anti-tackle tactic.
Some refs call this a tackle without the ball. That is just silly
The decison did change the initial momentum but the Crusaders lost becasue the other team was better. Team decide games not referees
May 22nd, 2007 at 5:43 pm
#299 blou masjien
go look at it again in slow mow and ull see the knock folowed by playing the ball back on ground in to the ruck followed by playing the ball in ruck when off feet..all by bulls
May 22nd, 2007 at 5:43 pm
Note to self…..pretty rugby does not win finals, points on the board does.
May 22nd, 2007 at 5:44 pm
Note to self…buy new lap-top to help me store and remember all these notes to myself.
May 22nd, 2007 at 5:46 pm
Die sharks is in die hol genaai,en die bulls het gewen.Maar dis nou verby.Kan ons asseblief ****** aanbeweeg,want dit raak nou baie irreterend om op die site te kom en dan herkou ons nog aan die saga.
I was just referring to the sharks saders game played, and the fact that that game was not viewed frame by frame because the sharks won , proving that they are bad losers and that the sader fans have class.
The sharks have not won anything for the last decade so I don’t understand why they are upset did they really expect to win. still they say the sharks is the best team but the trophy cabinet says otherwise , they should go and make wine with all those sour grapes maybe they will be able to make better arguments
St.Petersburgbok
note to yourself
**** off
May 22nd, 2007 at 5:47 pm
Note to self…..Polly needs chill-pills and a sharkgirl BJ after every loss.
May 22nd, 2007 at 5:48 pm
309 St. Ptersburgbok,
I think that the Brumbies victory over the Saders showed that negative rugby can win any game. Not good for bonus points though
May 22nd, 2007 at 5:49 pm
wow so much bad language. classy .
May 22nd, 2007 at 5:51 pm
and agreeing fully with you r previous post to KEO
May 22nd, 2007 at 5:53 pm
297 Doosdiefdrieduisend,
I thought that when I posted in 226 I may be in trouble with Keo. Thanks for taking the heat off me
Looks like you posted under an alternate log in (AKA Tackler style)
May 22nd, 2007 at 5:58 pm
learn the rules before you speak, Albert’s try was a try. Its only double movement if you move your whole body but you are allowd to go down and then place just like in a ruck.
May 22nd, 2007 at 6:01 pm
I’m a Sharks fan, and whilst I think they deserved to win because they were the better team on the day, and during the tournament on a whole, I don’t think you can take anything away from the Bulls.
They won. Yes the ref might have had a schoolboy by missing that knock on/penalty, but then was Albert’s try really a try?
The Sharks have had some luck of their own this season, like against the Blues away, so I reckon this time they were on the receiving end.
The main thing is a South African team won, and the final, whilst not technically good, was still an excellent showpiece showing a lot of the pros of our Rugby.
May 22nd, 2007 at 6:03 pm
There was double movement in Albert’s try. He shook his head up & down twice to confirm it’s a try!
He’s only allow to shake his head once!
May 22nd, 2007 at 6:03 pm
Even if albert’s try wasn’t a try the sharks would have still been in the lead and bulls would have still have to score points after the hooter to win.
May 22nd, 2007 at 6:19 pm
318 Axel,
Not sure if that is right becasue the ball was already on the ground before the try line. Anyone?
May 22nd, 2007 at 6:23 pm
297# DDD
Jy moet ophou daai kak rook, jy gaan vrek jong!
Sit neer daai zol en slaap.
May 22nd, 2007 at 6:26 pm
The Keywords are “PLACE THE BALL”….. not “ROLL THE BALL”….
The Splitpin v/ d Berg try happened 20 m right in front of my eyes, in other words I was way better sighted than the Ref. V/d Berg went down about 25 cm short with the ball then proceeded to ROLL the ball over the tryline…… so he did’nt place the Ball….
Anyway, it’s a fact acompli, the try was awarded, as was Habana’s!
Well done Sharks, well done Bulls….. the Cup is in Pretoria for a year!
May 22nd, 2007 at 6:29 pm
Eienaardige Bul-ondersteuners hier vanaand.
Heng, Doosdief 3000…
Is dit n nuwe promosiedeur Steyn’s Ford in Proesstraat Pta?
Dit is nou vir jou n ding.
May 22nd, 2007 at 6:29 pm
chch,
The laws are not clear on specific grounding of the ball.
It does say however that the tackled player is allowed to place the ball in any direction (on or over the goal line) after being tackled providing he does so immediately.
So according to the laws the ball is not dead once a tackled player is tackled with the ball touching the ground which means he is then not allowed to place it. He can place it after being tackled (grounded or not) but he must do so immediately.
Law 15 (g)
May 22nd, 2007 at 6:31 pm
Eish Pietman
Hier is ‘n paar eienaardige karakters op hierdie site deesdae.
Pietman,
Jy mag maar slaap broer… of het Pampoentjie jou uitgeskop?
Dis forrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrkennnnnnnnnn brrrrrrrrrrr koud hier!
GBS,
The laws also states that a tackled player may role the ball in any direction after being tackled…
Except forward…
As a matter of interest, a double movement is only a double movement once a player uses his arms or legs to propel his body forward in a tackled situation, or crawling.
May 22nd, 2007 at 6:32 pm
GBS
Dis n ‘feit soos n koei’
(in Potchefstroomseregsfakuliteitsterme)!
Faita’compli, of soiets…
May 22nd, 2007 at 6:32 pm
role = roll – I need to go – later.
May 22nd, 2007 at 6:34 pm
GBS
Lekker warm hier.
Ek en Pampoen sit op die verandah en kyk na die maan, en drink n nag sopie.
Dink ek gaan gou n koue stort vat…
May 22nd, 2007 at 6:36 pm
To freshen a now very boring debate – Who is your super 14 team of the tournament?
Mine is :
15 : Huxley
14 : R.Gear
13 : Toeava
12 : Giteau
11 : Shepherd
10 : Carter
9 : Du Preez
8 : Lauaki
7 : McCaw
6 : Botes
5: Flavell (capt)
4: Botha
3 : Hayman
2: Smit
1: Woodcock
What do you think of my selection ?
Post yours if you think you can do better !
Pietman
Jy, sy en die rekenaar?
I sat in line with the deadball line…. Splitpin rolled the ball forward… I SAW IT… none of the TV angles saw it that clearly as I did either….
… The ball made at least 1 full revolution forward…. unmistakable…..
May 22nd, 2007 at 6:37 pm
Hello Katvis
Maar het jy gesien GBS is die nuusmaker op IOL?
May 22nd, 2007 at 6:38 pm
Katvis
Nee, net ek en die rekenaar gaan stort!
May 22nd, 2007 at 6:39 pm
GBS
Dit was darem ook na ‘n hele paar doppe hehehehehe
Pietman
Ja ek het gesien. Debbie does GBS – of iets in dien voege
May 22nd, 2007 at 6:39 pm
Ek deel more om 12:00 handtekeninge uit…. siende dat ek nou famous is…… hehehehe
May 22nd, 2007 at 6:40 pm
Wou net sê!!!
May 22nd, 2007 at 6:40 pm
niceone- how can u leave out the worlds best fullback??- gio aplon. if i had to bet my life on a player making a tackle then gio’s the man
May 22nd, 2007 at 6:41 pm
KIR
What r u smoking? What about Rose? hehehe
May 22nd, 2007 at 6:42 pm
Die Bulle het gewen, end van die storie.
Hulle was die beste span in die S14 in elk geval, by verre.
Dit is net jammer van FduP
Dit kan ons kos in die WB.
May 22nd, 2007 at 6:44 pm
Ek sê mos hoeka al dat Heinie Adams SA se 3de beste scrummie is…. vêr beter as Rickie (stoffelkop) Januarie…..
May 22nd, 2007 at 6:47 pm
So gepraat van H Adams (terloops – ek stem nie saam nie) – wat het van Norman Jordaan geword? Die bulle het hom ook so opgehemel op ‘n stadium.
May 22nd, 2007 at 6:48 pm
#341 – Good call but I was basing my selection for this position on sheer consistency only and thus Huxley is my pick.
May 22nd, 2007 at 6:48 pm
donnerleeu- imagine white played rose and aplon as the bok centre combination, the oppostion would have to be bloody brave or farking crazy to try run through that brick wall
May 22nd, 2007 at 6:50 pm
GBS you should have paid for better tickets! Cheapskate.
The reason why there are sooooo many bulls supporters on this threas is because they know they won it by crook and they are clambering for justification.
Forget it okes you won, you don’t have to justify it, it was the refs (linesmans) fault not yours (excpet for your dirty player on the ground). The more you justify it the more you tell us that you know you don’t deserve the cup!
May 22nd, 2007 at 6:50 pm
Ok cheers julle. O – so ten laaste. Ek dink Stevie Wonder kan beter sien as Stevie Welsh hehehehe
May 22nd, 2007 at 6:52 pm
Welsh = Walsh.