All Blacks 33 Boks 6 (f/t)

Keo.co.za brought you all the action from the Vodacom Tri-Nations game in Christchurch.

All Blacks – Tries: Brendon Leonard, Nick Evans, Dan Carter. Conversions: Carter (3). Penalties: Carter (4).
Springboks - Penalties: Derick Hougaard (2).

80 min: The hooter goes, but the Blacks try to keep it alive. A great spot tackle by Pietersen on Conrad Smith sees the ball travel back. Carter tries to chip for the chase and some untidy work at the following ruck sees the ball squirm loose. Carter collects and strolls to the tryline unopposed. He adds two more to take his tally to 23, as Dickinson signals the end of the game (7/8). ALL BLACKS 33-6

78 min: Olivier toes it down the touchline and races against Carter, who manages to hoof it out just before the corner flag. But an elaborate lineout move breaks down because of a spilled ball. The Boks are penalised at the scrum and the Kiwis clear.

76 min: The All Blacks receive slow ball, but maintain possession and continue their assault on the Bok line. Eventually Nick Evans takes it wide and the overlap forces an uncertain Paulse to come in. Evans eludes him and scores in the corner. It’s a great conversion by Carter, who is striking them with real confidence now (6/7). ALL BLACKS 26-6

73 min: The All Blacks test the Boks defence and the kick is placed in space. Pietersen tries to get back but the bounce evades him. Fotunately for the Boks, Gerrie Britz saves the day and they are able to clear.

69 min: The Boks try to keep the ball alive by offloading in the tackle but the All Blacks intercept and initiate the counter. Howlett slips through on the inside and flips it to Rokocoko who juggles and veers to the left. Replacement scrumhalf Brendon Leonard is in support to receive the final pass and shows good gas to finish. Carter adds the extras to the match-winning movement (5/6). ALL BLACKS 19-6

67 min: A shocking clearance by Wynand Olivier sees Rokocoko field and counter. Jerry Collins is in support but cannot complete the pass to Muliaina. It’s the story of the All Blacks’ night: a promising move ruined by poor handling.

65 min: Pienaar misjudges a kick over the top that rolls dead and brings play back to halfway. The good news for South Africa is Wannenberg is back on the park.

60 min: The Boks win a penalty and Pienaar will have a crack from 50m out. It’s a poor connection once again, but it eats into the time the Boks have the one-man disadvantage (0/2).

58 min: The relentless All Black wave is stopped short by some fantastic defence and Dickinson gives South Africa the penalty. However, a stupid error by Albert van den Berg sees Dickinson reverse the decision, and Carter extends the lead (4/5). ALL BLACKS 12-6

56 min: With a man in the bin, the Boks look to slow the game down and Paulse is penalised for being offside at the ruck. Carter takes quickly as the All Blacks try to keep the momentum going. But it’s another unforced error that thwarts their intentions again, with captain McCaw knocking on.

52 min: Rodney So’oialo surges through the middle of a maul and the All Blacks are in a very promising scoring position. Wannenburg kills the ball and this time Dickinson reaches into his pocket and sends him to the sin bin. Carter makes it tell on the scoreboard (3/4). ALL BLACKS 9-6

50 min: A strong run by Muliaina allows the All Blacks to move into the Boks 22. The defence looks stretched but manages to regroup. Carter opts to kick crossfield to Rokocoko but Paulse lumps him into touch. The Boks breathe again.

49 min: The Kiwis take it wide again but the Boks’ defence force the kick from Howlett. Pienaar is back again and clears up to halfway.

46 min: The All Blacks are penalised at the breakdown and Hougaard has a chance to level the scores. Great kick (2/3). SCORES LEVEL 6-6

43 min: Another poor lineout by the New Zealanders sees the ball come back to Pienaar who drops a clever kick that rolls out on the opposition 22. Weepu tries to clear from the following lineout, but he carried it back into the 22. Great opportunity for the Boks.

42 min: The Boks spill the ball off the kickoff and the All Blacks swoop on the loose ball. It goes out quickly and the All Blacks have an overlap. Isaia Toeava decides to hold the pass and the Boks are able to snuffle the attack. The defence proves telling again and Van Heerden collects a loose ball. Pienaar clears.

Half-time: ALL BLACKS 6-3

39 min: It’s a scrappy scrum, but somehow the Boks get it back through Wannenburg. Pienaar finds space with a great rolling kick that sends the Kiwis scrambling back. They opt to counter but the move eventually comes to nought and Dickinson points everbody towards the changing room.

38 min: Carter clears but keeps it in play. Pietersen covers and is eventually bundled into touch by Joe Rokocoko. But a skew throw by Mealamu allows the Boks to get out of trouble once again. Some great work off the scrum by Cronje and the supporting Pedrie Wannenburg sees the Boks advance 15 m downfield and secure another scrum.

35 min: The Boks edge closer to the line and Dickinson eventually awards the scrum to the visitors. It really has been tough for the Bok frontrankers against the likes of Tony Woodcock and Hayman, but they do well on this occasion. However, some superb defence drives the second phase attack backwards and the Kiwis are handed the scrum.

33 min: Another penalty against the Blacks. Robinson is called for taking out the player’s legs at the maul from the lineout. Hougaard could level the scores with this kick, which is 45 m out and near the left hand touchline. It doesn’t have the distance (1/2), but Piri Weepu’s clearing kick comes off the side of his boot and the Boks will have a lineout 15m out.

30 min: New Zealand run hard at the Boks but the line holds firm and the ball is eventually lost forward by a Kiwi player. The ‘B’ team is showing plenty of heart but it has to be said the All Blacks are failing to execute with any great authority. The Kiwis exert immense pressure on the Bok scrum but Carl Hayman then puts a boot on a player at the ensuing ruck. Dickinson penalises him and Hougaard provides a relieving clearance.

27 min: Great steal by Keith Robinson at the lineout on the Bok 22 and the All Blacks swing it wide. McAlister steps beautifully and breaks, but his passing it less accurate and the move falls flat. Missed opportunity for the Blacks but it’s an ominous sign the hosts are finding their rhythm.

25 min: Jacques Cronje is penalised for a transgression at the breakdown. Dickinson calls on the captains to have a word as the breakdown offences are slowing the game significantly. This penalty is in Carter’s range, an absolute sitter in fact. No mistake by Carter, and the hosts are back in front (2/3). ALL BLACKS 6-3

23 min: The Boks enjoy a sustained period of possession and move up into Kiwi territory. The All Blacks are called for a high tackle 15m in from touch and 30m from their own line. Hougaard lines it up – it’s good (1/1) . SCORES LEVEL 3-3.

21 min: This time it’s the Boks’ turn to deny a promising attack, as Wikus van Heerden wins a turnover on his own 22. Hougaard shows a willingness to run the ball and throws it as far as Murray who bounces the first tackle and then goes to ground. Pienaar sends it back to Hougaard who now decides to put it out on halfway.

19 min: Carter tries a short 22 drop out by Mealamu knocks on. The Boks now have a great attacking opportunity to pick up some points. A great Kiwi scrum forces the Boks to go blind and Pietersen surges through. McCaw nails him and the All Blacks reign supreme at ruck time again. Penalty New Zealand. Carter clears.

18 min: The Boks are awarded a penalty in centre-field about 55m from the All Blacks’ line. Pienaar steps up to take the monster kick. He hits it terribly and it dribbles over the dead ball line (0/1).

16 min: Another great throw to the line-out by Du Plessis and Pienaar opts to employ a box kick once again. The ball bounces loose and CJ van der Linde snaps it up on the All Blacks’ 22. Unfortunately, he loses it forward and the Boks impede at the ruck. Carter clears up to the Boks’ 10m line.

13 min: A solid scrum by the Boks sets up a promising sequence of pick-and-goes. Ruan Pienaar chips overhead to Doug Howlett, who evades the defender and makes a few metres before going to ground. Carter finds space with the kick and the ball rolls out in the Boks’ 22.

12 min: The All Blacks turn it over at ruck time yet again but some superb defence by Bismarck du Plessis results in Mils Muliaina being held up. The Boks win the scrum.

9 min: The All Blacks forwards are playing some enterprising rugby and make 30 metres before Breyton Paulse is called for offside play. Carter will have another shot at goal. It’s a beauty form the left-hand touchline 45m out (1/2). ALL BLACKS 3-0.

7 min: Daniel Carter opts to kick for goal and strikes the right hand upright (0/1).

5 min: First scrum to the Boks in centre-field. Jannie du Plessis is penalised and the All Blacks tap quickly. Bismarck du Plessis is then penalised for not rolling away at the subsequent ruck.

1 min: Derick Hougaard kicks deep to Richie McCaw in the centre. It comes back to Luke McAlister who clears as far as JP Pietersen. The fullback makes a good run but the All Blacks manage to turn it over. It’s a long build up that eventually is culled by an alleged high-tackle on a Kiwi player. Harsh call by Stuart Dickinson.

Kickoff: Chilly conditions but the rain has stayed away and the wind is minimal. The All Blacks perform the haka. This time it’s the Ka Mate rather than the Kapa a Pango, which is unsurprising considering the Boks are playing with what is effectively a ‘B’ team.

All Blacks: 15 Mils Muliaina, 14 Doug Howlett, 13 Isaia Toeava, 12 Luke McAlister, 11 Joe Rokocoko, 10 Dan Carter, 9 Piri Weepu; 8 Rodney So’oialo, 7 Richie McCaw (c), 6 Reuben Thorne, 5 Keith Robinson, 4 Chris Jack, 3 Carl Hayman, 2 Keven Mealamu, 1 Tony Woodcock.
Subs: 16 Andrew Hore, 17, Neemia Tialata, 18 Jerry Collins, 19 Chris Masoe, 20 Brendon Leonard, 21 Conrad Smith, 22 Nick Evans.

South Africa – 15-JP Pietersen; 14-Breyton Paulse, 13-Waylon Murray, 12-Wynand Olivier, 11-Jaco Pretorius; 10-Derick Hougaard, 9-Ruan Pienaar; 8-Jacques Cronje, 7-Pedrie Wannenburg, 6-Wikus van Heerden, 5-Johann Muller (c), 4-Albert van den Berg; 3-Jannie du Plessis, 2-Bismarck du Plessis, 1-CJ van der Linde.
Subs: 16-Gary Botha, 17-Eddie Andrews, 18-Gerrie Britz, 19-Hilton Lobberts, 20-Michael Claassens, 21-Peter Grant, 22-Tonderai Chavhanga.

61 Comments

• 1.JL1: Reply to this comment

Wakey wakey you all!!

• 2.butana: Reply to this comment

Hope the boks give it a good go and make me proud don’t care about the score line as long as they play with controlled passion

• 3.JL1: Reply to this comment

Controlled passion, controlling the ball and once only this one time let Hougie come right

Is that too much to beg for??

• 4.whatever: Reply to this comment

OOOOOOOOOOOOOOhh, I take back some of my recent posts. The score flattered the AB’s at the end. I though the boys did okay, played with passion and made a full strength AB’s side look rather ordinary

• 5.frenchiebokfan: Reply to this comment

What a joke !

Maybe Mr White should ask for the 3N to be cancelled on RWC years…

• 6.whatever: Reply to this comment

Oh as an aside, and I hate doing this because it does sound like sour grapes but sh*t we never, ever get the 50/50 calls. The ref has an appropriate name!

• 7.Arnie: Reply to this comment

Bok B team: RESPECT!. As the NZ commentators (and RmC’s face) said: the score flattered the AB’s.

• 8.youwha: Reply to this comment

that was so dissapointing – olivier must not make the rwc squad he falls off too many tackles and looked clueless with the ball in hand

• 9.whatever: Reply to this comment

#5 explain ?

• 10.Saasveld: Reply to this comment

With All the players leaving S.A

Can we not Help Albert van Den Burg with a
    free plane ticket or something…

He is just a joke for S.A rugby…

• 11.Saasveld: Reply to this comment

I agree with Jake you need Expericenced players,

But Van den Berg makes a mokkery of that suggestion…

• 12.Arnie: Reply to this comment

I got it wrong with several players:

1. JC had a great game
    2. JP much better than last week
    3. DH much better game but PG does look more the part.

• 13.youwha: Reply to this comment

did anyone else see Richie on his stomach pulling the ball back? the touch judge was right there too

• 14.whatever: Reply to this comment

Old “Bert from the mountain” is like a bee at a braai. Just hangs around in your face the whole afternoon.

• 15.frenchiebokfan: Reply to this comment

#9 : what is the use for SA to compete in the 3N if the coach decides not to try and win it at all ?

• 16.youwha: Reply to this comment

and when the fff are we going to play a whole game with 15 players

• 17.Saasveld: Reply to this comment

van den Berg MUPPIT…

PLEASE dont take him to World Cup…
    Gerrie Brits is Loads better…

• 18.Brads: Reply to this comment

Well that was Durban all over again, only difference was NZ didn’t come from behind.

The AB’s strung it together in the last 10 minutes to show why they are the top rated team in the world. But before that, they did no better than the Bok’s who seemed to have decided this lost cause was an opportunity to try out an open game plan. Did well actually!

An observation I take from the game is individuals like JP and that outrageously talented half back Ruan Pienaar are wasted in the normal 10 man machine Jake has been moulding for the “First” Bokke outfit.

• 19.Saasveld: Reply to this comment

Wannenburg nearly cost us the game at Newlands when he got yellow card.

Today the game definately swung when he got a
    yellow card again….

• 20.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

WAT N KLOMP KAK

• 21.Saasveld: Reply to this comment

Not Bad for a “B” or “C” side against an All Black “A” Side…

Just a pitty about the odd muppits we still
    keep picking…i.e.van den Berg etc.

Could have been alot closer if it werent for
    Wannenburg and van den Berg…

• 22.whatever: Reply to this comment

#21 saas. lets have a run down on why your though Bert was so bad? Apart from the fact that as a lock he is 10kg’s lighter than the other locks.

• 23.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

The difference was that the AB backline looked like they wanted to do something when they had ball in hand.
    The bok backline stood flatfooted and pretty much looked surprised that the ball came their way.

• 24.Brads: Reply to this comment

Saasveld

Please! He got the card because he did what was asked of him by the coach, but he failed to execute it to the letter of the law.

His crime was he was the person seen to transgress.

Ignorant I agree that it was in clear view of the ref, but it was a potential try saving sin.

• 25.Saasveld: Reply to this comment

Do I need to explain more than the reversed Penalty…
    Last week Sprinting off his defensive lines…

• 26.whatever: Reply to this comment

#25 Pleeeease, that was a kak decision. If he had kneed the guy in the face yes, but the frigg’n ref looked for any reason the blow against the Boks

• 27.citizenc: Reply to this comment

Dickerson had his usual one-eyed game, I’ve given up expecting anything different from him.

For me Jacques Cronje had his best game ever in a Bok jersey, Peter Grant is clearly up to it, Waylon just needs time, Breyton is still up to it and JP Pieterson has the goods. Pienaar is very special.

Hougaard and Wynand Olivier are clearly NOT international standard players – finish and klaar!

• 28.Saasveld: Reply to this comment

potential try saving sin…..

• 29.strikers: Reply to this comment

Saasveld what are you talking about? Im not an Albert fan but wow did he have a good game, 1 error was the reliving penatly reverse, that was stupid.

Brits was the one that threw the ball to the ABs with a 50/50 pass allowing them to score the first try and open the floodgates.

DH and WO are average, had we started with PG and WJ we might have had a diff result.

• 30.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

The boks made the AB look good!

• 31.Saasveld: Reply to this comment

Dickenson lives up to his name again…
    ****”.
    How can all these “Referring Pannels” accept this
    bullshit week after week…

• 32.Captain Danger: Reply to this comment

31 He did make a lot of dodgy calls in favour of us too.

But he is a useless ref allround.

• 33.Brads: Reply to this comment

Saasveld

Okay, I acknowledge your point.

• 34.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

There was at least 3 occassions that a Bok entered the ruck from the side….but Dickenson overlooked the indescretions.

You cant blame the ref for the defeats if you send a ‘B’ side over.

• 35.Saasveld: Reply to this comment

strikers (29)

Opinion accepted…

• 36.whatever: Reply to this comment

Yip, agree with citizec re J Cronje. Thought Wikus was quiet, P3 ordinary. Tight five held their own. Hougaart just does not do it for me. Backline held their own.

• 37.Saasveld: Reply to this comment

wallabie.

At least we have a “B” side…
    That we can send in the first place…
    hahahah

• 38.whatever: Reply to this comment

Walla, open your other eye Boet. If there were 3 occassions that a Bok entered from the side then there were 10 for the AB’s. I though “****” head had his usual below average game. Although what do you expect from a whinger from that big desert in the Pacific

• 39.Brads: Reply to this comment

The disaster that it was for the AB’s confidence in Melbourne has not been expunged by this win tonight.

• 40.strikers: Reply to this comment

****” was Horrific today! Worst ref performance in a long time. Oh and everyone else see that last try the AB’s scored? AB knocks on, WO kicks it ahead, AB’s regather and score….

WTF is all i can say, doesn’t he know the word, advantage, match should have been blown there and then, the diff of 26-6 instead of 33-6 is not huge but still, that was what it should have been

• 41.citizenc: Reply to this comment

Did Murray EVER get a pass from Olivier – I don’t think so. This game would have suited Julies.

• 42.Brads: Reply to this comment

whatever

As a rule I suppose there is something like 20 plus camera’s covering Test matches these days. Who cares the actual numbers, there seem to be truck loads.

From my experience, a decision based on a view from one angle can be completely wrong when you get it from another angle viewed by the TMO.

Saw nothing wrong myself with the decisions by Dickenson.

• 43.Brads: Reply to this comment

strikers

calm down. you lost – as was expected.

Just absorb the fact everyone cheats, but only losers blame the ref.

• 44.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

NZ do not look like a World Cup Winning side at the moment, but continue to win. They lost against the OZ’s fortnight ago, and all the OZ’s had to do was hold onto the ball. NZ managed to get the ball back only to knock it on. Patchy win against Canada. Injuries here and there. Win it in the last quarter of the game. ALL LOOKS LOST!!!

But I would rather see room for improvement then to go into the RWC with “no plan B” like the last lot did in the year they racked up 50+ points in consecutive weeks.

Also, anyone agree that we have not seen any backline cut, miss pass, wrap around move by the AB backs to date?!?

• 45.Hop Hop Spinnekop: Reply to this comment

If Wynand Olivier scores a winning try in a WC final, he will still be a doos. Man that guy is kak.
    JC had a good game.

• 46.Brads: Reply to this comment

CSI

12 months ago everyone said NZ had peaked and the rest of the world would catch up.

I hate to admit it, but there it is in front of us!

• 47.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Brads,

The AB’s made more handling errors then SA, meaning they had more possession, but they made 24-4 line breaks. Though a SA B team, they gave us plenty. More games like that will only make the AB’s better.

AB’s will come right come the RWC, they are only one game away from focusing 101% on the bill.

• 48.whatever: Reply to this comment

#42 Brads, open the other eye, or kick the camera.
    Sorry bud, but the ref called Richie for the same offence as p3 (and in fact said the same words), but the big difference was he sent p3 off and Richie got a warning. Sucks bru, but we don’t expect anything less to be fair!!

• 49.Fern: Reply to this comment

howzit whatever you jafa

• 50.pukana: Reply to this comment

Its a sad day in SAfrican rugby when tonights game is viewed with anything but despair.
    The boks lose by 27 points , never look like scoring a try…
    and somehow its the opposition that are playing like ****.
    A or B team who cares… put up or shutup…

• 51.Rooineck: Reply to this comment

These are Mullers words after the game to SABC sport, need we say more
    If Richie McCaw had blond hair and wore a green jersey or had dreadlocks and wore a yellow jersey he would never finish a test,” said Muller, referring to Springbok flank Schalk Burger and the Wallabies’ openside George Smith.

I rest my case that we should get decent refs in our games

• 52.captain fantail: Reply to this comment

Sorry the AB’s were so bad and you were beaten by so little.

• 53.cane: Reply to this comment

33-6.

Yip, the Ab’s didn’t play that well. But the score is also a reflection on the SA Team of the day. They had heart, stout defence, but not much else.

Joe Rokocoko’s inside/flick pass to Evans had more class than anything shown by the Bok “B” Team in 80 minutes.

AB’s are certainly not peaking too early.

• 54.captain fantail: Reply to this comment

53 Cane AT the end of the day,as you say the score was 33-6. As I said on the other thread GH must be ashamed that the Boks scored two penalties against his team in 80mins.

• 55.cane: Reply to this comment

Rooineck,

Sour grapes I’d say. Ref had a good game. The usual slip ups here and there, but no more than anyone else on the field.

He’ll be at the WC for sure, time SA learned how to play him. How many Tests has Dickinsen officiated in when SA has been playing?

• 56.cane: Reply to this comment

Capt,

I’m sure GH isn’t too thrilled at this point. But I don’t think any of the other contenders for WC glory are exactly hitting their straps either.

Next week looms as a great contest. Bledisloe and 3N up for grabs.

SA on the other hand now have no meaningful opposition until they meet England in a must win Pool match at the WC.

• 57.Rooineck: Reply to this comment

Cane
    We have had a problem with Dickinsen since 2003 when we wanted him banned. Read the following
    Save Boks from Dickinson
    29/05/2003 22:03 – (SA)
    Terror ref returns
    Hendrik Cronjé, Die Volksblad
    Durban – Attempts are being made behind the scenes to prevent Australian referee Stuart Dickinson from ever handling a Test involving the Springboks again.

To the amazement of many rugby enthusiasts, Dickinson, who is accused of being blatantly prejudiced towards South African teams, was named referee for the Tri-Nations Test between South Africa and New Zealand in Dunedin on August 9.

This despite opposition from the South African Rugby Football Union (Sarfu), which had written to the International Rugby Board (IRB) to complain about Dickinson’s poor handling of matches involving South African teams.

An informed source confirmed on Thursday that Dickinson would be the subject of a meeting in Cape Town on Friday, and that everything possible would be done to ensure that the Australian did not handle the Test in Dunedin. “I can’t say more,” the source said.

• 58.cane: Reply to this comment

Rooineck,

Just goes to show how deeply entrenched the Paranoia is.

Welcome to the real world.

Actually I can’t believe how myopic you mothers are. 33-6 and you complain about a neutral ref.

Unf*cking believeable.

• 59.ddrek: Reply to this comment

Cane….Blacks were better by far on attack (as would most other intnl sides) and deserved their win and you are right I dont thuink Dicky is oing to go away and its time we learned how to play him ….BUT it is consistent that he makes some very poor calls and we never get the 50/50′s….he also allows very very little advantage or tons of it and it always seems to benefit SA opposition.
    We are complaining that althoi the AB’s hsould have won the game by a reasonable margin perhaps 33-6 is not the margi the Boks deserved on the day given their stout defence (bar Olivier) and in your face tactics agaisnt an AB side that we are far superior on paper (and on the field).

• 60.osmosis: Reply to this comment

Great game we looked very good for 69 minutes ,All Blanks were very paniced , we need to keep our aces up Jakes sleeve, the score flattered the ALL BLANKS !

ALL BLANKS WILL MISSFIRE At RWC, remember their victory parade in 99 Very embarssing.

Argentina vs France

SA. Vs ALL Blanks

Semies of RWC

• 61.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

The score’s up there on the scoreboard.

33-6

Third-largest clobbering ever by NZ.

“Looks at the scoreboard” (Boy Louw)

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.