Komphela slams Aussie ‘racists’
14 Jul 2007
Butana Komphela has described the Wallabies’ reluctance to hold the Mandela Plate as an act of racism and disrespect for South Africa’s former president.
Komphela, the chairman of the parliamentary Portfolio Committee on Sport answered questions put forward by concerned South Africans in the Sunday Times. One reader queried the Australians’ attitude, and Komphela pulled no punches in slamming their actions.
“Australia has a history of racism,” he said. “If you recall, during the times of the struggle for non-racial sport it was Australia who were pumping apartheid South Africa with rebel tours.
“I was not surprised to see them do what they did. That is the same country where South African expats wave the Vierkleur flag and Indians are called terrorists. Remember when Hashim Amla took that catch [when the Proteas played played Australia]? An Australian commentator said something like ‘another wicket for the terrorist’.
Komphela has featured prominently in the media this year and has come down on the South African Rugby Union for the slow rate of transformation in the sport. He confirmed the process will be an arduous one, but unless the opportunities for non-white players are increased at Currie Cup and Super 14 level, the Springbok side will continue to be predominantley white.
“Transformation can’t start from the top,” he said. “You need to build a solid foundation from the bottom up. Then you target areas that are not transformed, such as administration and coaching. It’s a holistic approach. We have another 15 years to go in pursuit of free sport and non-racism.”
To those supporters who say it doesn’t matter what colour the team is as long as it’s a successful one, Komphela responded by stating this is an unacceptable attitude.
“Winning cannot be at the expense of change and transformation. We must not be dying to win when we can’t move forward. We should be saying we are not going to win for the next five years while we transform so that one day when we do win, we all win as a country, with no black and white issues.”

131 Comments
15 Jul 2007, 13:30 pm
Ha ha Ozzies, what you got to say about that? Put in your place?
15 Jul 2007, 13:33 pm
I like that in 5 to 15 years we will have representational teams that have no idea why they play, it will certainly not be to win.
This sounds like an open invite for all other countries to come and do their rugby shopping in SA. There will heaps of players to leave in this time.
Still think if this oke was serious he would take it club level and school level, rather than CC & S14.
15 Jul 2007, 13:36 pm
Khompela’s going to get a lot of flack from the Australian High Commission. The Aussie government took a tough anti apartheid stand, and there were numerous Aussie NGOs in SA.
Also, one of the most innovative schemes regarding coaching rugby in Soweto schools, only managed to get started after receiving funds from Australia after drawing a blank in SA.
It makes nice headlines to blame the insult on racism. The reality, I believe, is that the Aussie players felt that SA devalued the trophy by sending their B side.
And I hate defending the Wobblies!
15 Jul 2007, 13:37 pm
Get over it, Butane! You can’t be a kompeller and oblige the Aussies to treat that shiny hubcap in any way that YOU wish them to. It’s THEIR hubcap and they can do as they blimmin well like with it.
Put it on the barby and sizzle up a few prawns in it, I reckon.
When it’s been properly transformed, you can have your hubcap back. If you don’t want it, it can be pitched into the rubbish skip.
15 Jul 2007, 13:40 pm
Huh?
Last paragraph.
We are not going to win while we transform?
What kind of defeatist attitude is that?
I can’t believe we have people like Komphela in our rugby ‘politics’. The man is a a racist in the extremest sense of the word.
15 Jul 2007, 13:41 pm
Ozzies, now you know what right minded Saffas have to deal with! Not very pleasant hey?
Hahahahha the irony is really funny.
What you did with the plate was in bad taste. And you should apologise. But it WAS NO RACIST GESTURE!!!
Komphela you are retarded. Sorry mate, but WTF has race got to do with it? They would have done the same thing to a PW Botha plate..They cannot help it they are lacking in class!!! Get a life.
Interesting point – transformation above success. Winning is not everything? I kind of agree. But quota system is not the way to go.
15 Jul 2007, 13:43 pm
And when did the Aussies send rebel tours to SA during the ‘struggle’?
Is he referring to the NZ Cavaliers?
Or is he talking about another ‘struggle’ at another time at another place? Maybe in Liberia or Haitii.
15 Jul 2007, 13:45 pm
By agreeing, I mean one should not place winning above fairness IMO. And there is slow transformation. But Khomphela is really backward. He is dismally unintelligent. (no Khomphela that is not a racist comment)
15 Jul 2007, 13:45 pm
bloody politicising!! piss off from our sport Komphela, you are embarrassing us!
Real transformation of sport means that every young individual has the choice to choose which sport he wants to play, and the resources to follow this choice through.
Representation equality issues are pure bloody politicising for persona gain. Vote maximising scum.
THis politition is just trying to get into the press.
15 Jul 2007, 13:46 pm
Pietman
I think he was referring to Kim Hughes rebel cricket tour.
15 Jul 2007, 13:48 pm
Howdy David
Thanx.
Oh, cricket, must be that then.
Where can I find this article, in today’s ‘ST’?
15 Jul 2007, 13:50 pm
Pietman
The article refers to the ST. Haven’t seen it myself, although it may be online.
15 Jul 2007, 13:50 pm
A guy like Komphela will always see race. That is his trumpet. Yes start at the bottom ,pre CC and S14 and lets a have ateam that represents the strongest rugby players and team of SA,(not the politicak makeup of the country fool)….whoever they may be…just the best.
15 Jul 2007, 13:55 pm
David,
I hope he gets a bit more than a bit of grief from the Australian High Commission. I hope the full Australian Government gets involved.
Guys like Komphela have got a little big for their boots over the last 15 years since obtaining power. They are loose cannons who believe that because they were a once-repressed people that it is ok to hit out against all and sundry.
Not all who have been brought ot power in SA are like that. I find it highly ironic that Komphela chose to use Nelson Mandela in his argument too given Mandela’s preference for racial harmony and reconciliation over jibes and aggression.
As for his view that it should matter what the demographic of the Springbok team, this is yet again more evidence that the days of merit based selections are gone. In 15 years time, even after transformation has taken place, if the best 15 rugby players are still white, they will never be allowed to be selected to represent their country.
I would suggest that someone should buy Mr Komphela a dictionary for his birthday and get him to look up the definition of racism.
If he looks, he will find that racism is defined as “discrimination or prejudice based on race”.
Two wrongs don’t make a right. They just create a bigger mess.
South Africans affected by this stupid policy, I feel for you. I really do.
15 Jul 2007, 13:55 pm
what a moron. what has redneck saffie expats got to do with Australian attitudes? There were no Australian rebel rugby tours to SA. the cricket sides that came over, most of those tourists never played for Australia again. We gave you Mike Haysman
Nelson Mandela has got little connection with Australia and we don’t hate him. That trophy looks like it was taken from a Chinese banquet restaurant.
15 Jul 2007, 13:56 pm
Ouch!
Well he is right to a point – the Aussies for many, many, many decades only allowed white immigrants to their shores. Was that a racist policy?
I cannot wait for the reponse from the Aussies.
15 Jul 2007, 13:59 pm
I suppose the West Indians are also racists, since they had a rebel cricket team, as well.
15 Jul 2007, 14:00 pm
RedLion,
The Ozzies were guilty of it as were the majority of white western societies. In the bad old days, non-whites were deemed to be second class citizens.
Our ancestors left us with this legacy. Unfortuntely, as a white person, we have to try and redress the imbalance that they engineered.
15 Jul 2007, 14:01 pm
BWAHAHAHAHAHHAAHAH
Butana should do us all a favour and necklace himself.
15 Jul 2007, 14:02 pm
David,
How did that work? Were the Windies allowed to play in SA?
That’s kind of hypocritical of the then SA government to allow non-whites to tour and play their sporting teams when they specified that teams like the ABs were not able to play their Maori and Polynesian players.
15 Jul 2007, 14:03 pm
I think Butane might be receiving a call from the Dept of Foreign Affairs, after they’ve received a blistering complaint from the Aussie Govt.
I get the feeling this man lives in the shadow of his brother, who was the SA Soccer captain and now coaches the SA u/23 side, and is desperate to make a name for himself.
15 Jul 2007, 14:05 pm
David,
Well maybe it is a good thing in the end. Up until now, no-one from a foreign nation has wanted to say boo to South African politicians’ outburts for fear of being branded as racist.
This is the first big stick that has been provided to hit back with.
15 Jul 2007, 14:06 pm
David
I have just read the whole article.
This guy Komphela actually also states openly that he will stop the Springboks from going to France if the team doesn’t conform with the ‘law’.
He draws a parallel with the Aussies being prevented from playing cricket in Zim because of ‘human rights abuses’ there (at least he is the one parliamentarian who recognises the tragedy in Zim).
I don’t see the relevance of the Zim situation to the WC in France at all.
You guys should read the whole thing, keo merely touched on it.
It is a b@lls-up, I tell you. These people are power drunk.
15 Jul 2007, 14:07 pm
Problem is the world moves on while the SA politicians flog the hell out of the dead horse. This dude should be made an example of. In countries that are interested in progress and strive to be the best, people like these get left behind.
I think it is funny that he has done this because he effectively has brought a roll of toilet paper to a gun fight! If the Ozzies care to respode or pursue this, it will demostrate so clearly the differences in approach to Western world thinking and African thinking.
It may also spark a discussion between the sponsors and the SANZAR representatives about who can play and who cannot.
I don’t think SKY give a toss about SA demographics, they want their pound of flesh & that is what pays for idiots like this (albeit in a protracted way).
15 Jul 2007, 14:08 pm
Stodders
The Nats had already allowed mixed sides to tour, after sanctions were already in place.
The team contained Sylvester Clarke, Kallicheran etc.
In the first test at Newlands, Barry Richards treated the WI speedsters with absolute disdain. This after being semi retired. I think one of the commentators called it “the finest half century he’d ever seen”.
I was there, and couldn’t believe how brilliant Richards still was, after being out of test cricket for so long.
The WI was virtually a full strength one, that did it for the money. A number of them stayed on.
15 Jul 2007, 14:09 pm
Pietman,
which paper is it in?
15 Jul 2007, 14:10 pm
Sunday Times.
15 Jul 2007, 14:11 pm
Stodders
Today’s Sunday Times, om ananzi dot co dot za.
Click on the paper’s search station for ‘Komphela’.
The whole interview is there verbatim.
15 Jul 2007, 14:20 pm
Just a few snippets from that article:
You are concerned by the lack of black representation in rugby, yet there is not the same interest in the lack of white representation in soccer. Surely this makes you a hypocrite? — E Joseph, Cape Town
That story is unfounded. I would use as an example Highlands Park, which was coached by Joe Frickleton. It started as a predominantly white team but the team management never said it was exclusively for white people and it evolved.
This is an example of a team changing when it opens up. The racists in rugby, instead of understanding this, are closing ranks and maintaining the game should be white and exclusive in character.
If they remove the boundaries, rugby will also evolve. For us it is a luta continua [the struggle continues] as far as that is concerned.
So to say there is no transformation in soccer is complete madness. In Neil Tovey we had a white captain for Bafana Bafana for a long time, and soccer defied apartheid.
You wouldn’t like it if the teams playing in the 2010 World Cup were not full strength, yet you propose we send our rugby team to this year’s Rugby World Cup based on the demographics of the country. Will that be our best side? — G Long, East London
If the rugby team go to France after the President has signed the Sport Amendment Bill into law, that team will have to conform to the Act. If not, they will be in contravention of the law. If that happens, they will be stopped. When the Australian cricket team were supposed to play in Zimbabwe their prime minister said the team would not be allowed to go because there were no human rights there, and the team didn’t go.
Our government will do the same. We will take appropriate action by stopping them from leaving the country if necessary. We will hit them hard. People must understand we are a government and South Africa is not a banana republic. Rugby wants to have its own government. This country has only one government, led by President Mbeki.
Long wins R500 for this week’s best question
What experience do you have in sports administration? — Lesedi Dibakwane, Pretoria
I was part of the administration of a team called Shamrock Flowers FC. Then I was part of the management of Welkom Real Hearts under the leadership of owner **** Nkuna. I know what football is all about, I know the challenges and I know all the other things in football.
Please explain what real transformation means to you and your committee? — Xolani Nkosi, Rosettenville
It means equal opportunities, open access, building non-racialism, non- sexism and contributing to a democratic South Africa. Those are the key pillars of transformation.
15 Jul 2007, 14:20 pm
Stodders
Ask your wife to bring you a copy of today’s edition on her return.
David
Did you read the part about rugby development in the townships, where he talks about water and sanitation?
Someone should ask this man why the government only spent R179,000 on black rugby development the last year.
That toothless IRB should get off its whiskey swirling carousel and get involved here.
And I hope the Oz government takes some stern action against Komphela’s libellous comments of its people.
15 Jul 2007, 14:22 pm
Stodders
No, ok, you have it.
15 Jul 2007, 14:23 pm
So, apparently, according to Mr Komphela, rugby in SA wants to have its own government.
When does the coup kick off? I’d love to see what an army of rugby players could do
I’m just being sarcastic of course if Mr Komphela is reading. I wouldn’t want to be a marked man now!
15 Jul 2007, 14:25 pm
“People must understand we are a government and South Africa is not a banana republic.”
Now that is irony
15 Jul 2007, 14:26 pm
Stodder
Yes, you might run into him soon, in CT!
Pietman,
The bit I loved especially was Komphela’s answer to a question about his experience in sport’s administration. He answered:
“I was part of the administration of a team called Shamrock Flowers FC. Then I was part of the management of Welkom Real Hearts under the leadership of owner **** Nkuna. I know what football is all about, I know the challenges and I know all the other things in football.”
So according to Komphela, this limited experience in ONE sport is all you need to become chairman of the parliamentary sports committee who are repsonsible for ALL South African sports.
I’m penning a letter to the IRB. I wonder if they’ll respond.
#25 David, there was an article a few months back on cricinfo about what actually happened to those guys after they toured they were treated as social outcasts back in the west indies. Many of them left the Windies, only one of them got to play for the windies again the rest were banned for life. A couple of them are now homeless drug addicts begging on the streets very depressing stuff what happened to those guys
15 Jul 2007, 14:29 pm
Was dit rassis?
15 Jul 2007, 14:29 pm
Check out his CV, where he is asked about his experience.
Shamrock Flowers en Welkom Real Hearts nogal, ek se jou!
15 Jul 2007, 14:31 pm
Eish…Im extremely patriotic for my country and have pride in my provincial and national sides (Bulle en Bokke), however I do not see how this is an act of racism by the Aussies.
15 Jul 2007, 14:34 pm
35# Stodders
My #38, I had exactly the same chuckle over here, very funny indeed!
What an a…hole this oke is.
Talking about a ‘banana republic’, hell, we have a Butana Republic.
It’s not a racist thing. I bet you it was an attitude of we beat a second string team, so what we dont want the trophy.
This guy needs some salsa for that chip on his shoulder. Picking a person because of color is racist, two wrongs dont make a right people.
Having said this though in 2003 there were 120,000 registerd black players compared to 180, 000 white players.
If the numbers above are correct then white players only outnumber black player 1.5:1, thats not much at all. Why arent more of these players given opportunities at provincial level?
Perhaps the solution here is the critical evaluation of selection policies of provincial teams. Is this where the problem starts?
nads
I’d love to have read the article. I know the ones who didn’t stay in SA like Clarke, Kallicheran, Haynes and a guy (all rounder)who played for FreeState, can’t remember his name, went to the UK.
Can you remember who the drop outs were?
15 Jul 2007, 14:35 pm
He must be talking about the ‘HUB CAP”!
Not holding the ‘hub cap’ is not a reflection or dislike of the former SA president but a true analysis of pathetic Bok team.
No point in being proud beating kids or taking candy from kindergarten children.
The Boks pride themseles in doing this but when beaten by men they blame the ref!
Komphela must have elections coming up soon…what away to get some media mileage.
15 Jul 2007, 14:37 pm
wp_boytjie,
Statistics hey.
If you had made that statement before this years Tri Nations you would have been correct.
In the last two years though, SA have won 1 and lost 4 to NZ. Oz have won 1 and lost 4 too in the last two years.
Statistics hey.
“That is the same country where South African expats wave the Vierkleur flag”
Komphela you said it….”south africans”
Girshin
That’s the major complaint. It’s difficult to establish the full picture, which is something that SARSU (South African Rugby Supporters Union) are currently trying to establish.
15 Jul 2007, 14:38 pm
“If you recall, during the times of the struggle for non-racial sport it was Australia who were pumping apartheid South Africa with rebel tours.”
I think he needs to get his facts before he rants..
15 Jul 2007, 14:40 pm
I think it is a case of give them enough rope…
See ya later Mr I worked in one z grade soccer club (for how long?) and now I can call other countries racist!
Big fish in a little pond. I’d love to see the education levels among these politicians. How many of them have doctorates? Masters degrees? Ok then. How about mere Bachelors degrees? Because from their comments i see we are dealing with some real genius-types here. The kind that think dancing around in the front ranks of a group of toy-toying barbarians is qualification enough to warrant parliamentary appointments…
“Komphela has featured prominently in the media this year and has come down on the South African Rugby Union for the slow rate of transformation in the sport. He confirmed the process will be an arduous one, but unless the opportunities for non-white players are increased at Currie Cup and Super 14 level, the Springbok side will continue to be predominantley white.
“Transformation can’t start from the top,†he said. “You need to build a solid foundation from the bottom up.”
Two paragrapghs and a contradiction…
Unless he thinks the CC is grass roots!
15 Jul 2007, 14:42 pm
““Transformation can’t start from the top,†he said”
Then tell me why he has a ‘top’ position!
15 Jul 2007, 14:42 pm
Hallo Tact, Hoe gaan dit?
15 Jul 2007, 14:43 pm
Butane has to understand one thing – expats i.e ex South Africans, who leave their country and become citizens of another country can no longer be called South African expats – they should be called Aussie citizens, not expats.
“To those supporters who say it doesn’t matter what colour the team is as long as it’s a successful one, Komphela responded by stating this is an unacceptable attitude.”
What happens if a white man wants your job….is it exclusive for black people?
David, go to the west indies section of the cricinfo website and go to player profiles look up Franklyn Stephenson’s profile, it still there the article is called “the unforgiven” quite a hectic read what can happen to some sportsmen
15 Jul 2007, 14:44 pm
Now why are there about 1 million Saffas in the UK and 300 000-500 000 Saffas in Australasia againg?
I wonder?
15 Jul 2007, 14:45 pm
““Winning cannot be at the expense of change and transformation. We must not be dying to win when we can’t move forward.”
Running a country well must not be at the expense of change and transformation!
15 Jul 2007, 14:45 pm
Tacitus,
Careful there boet. A university degree does not instantly mean you have intelligence. It is a piece of paper you get at the end of a course if you say and write the correct things that were taught during the course.
Also, university degrees are quite cheap to buy if you can’t be bothered spending 3/4 years studying for one.
15 Jul 2007, 14:46 pm
49# Tact
You can check their CV’s and qualifications on the ParliamentSA site.
Komphela has none, they only list some school in Springfontein under his name. I don’t think it is a university…
15 Jul 2007, 14:48 pm
Komphela….that was just hot air…..go and do something worthwhile for your electorate instead of dabbling in what you have no clue in.
15 Jul 2007, 14:49 pm
nads
It’s sad to here he’s fallen on hard times, he was a nice young guy, who only wanted out of poverty. Thw Windies didn’t pay their players that much.
He was the name I forgot.
He was busy pomping some girl in the changeroom when 2 quick wickets fell and he had go on the field. Let’s just say he had a problem getting his box to fit!
15 Jul 2007, 14:50 pm
wallabie
His electorate is in Springfontein, a sleepy hollow in the the S-Free State. There isn’t even a rugby field there.
15 Jul 2007, 14:51 pm
“For us it is a luta continua [the struggle continues] as far as that is concerned.”
The real reason why Komphela is after rugby administrators is because they are the survivors of the Broederbond. Yes, the same secret racist society that ran SA is now running SA rugby.
15 Jul 2007, 14:51 pm
Uh… isn’t George Gregan black?
15 Jul 2007, 14:53 pm
RedLion
And who are they, those ‘BBs’? Hoskins, Stofile, Koos Basson?
I don’t get it.
15 Jul 2007, 14:53 pm
Quite Clearly this idiot has no idea about rugby or what any sport actually means for that matter. He is using his racist comments to incite racist hate and to gain more exposure with the uneducated and lower classes. He is actually telling lies and making gross allegations with zero substance. How on earth could any serious democratic political party accept their members to try and use such blatant underhand tactics?
15 Jul 2007, 14:56 pm
65 Pietman
They are only pawns.
15 Jul 2007, 14:59 pm
Far more shocking than his lack of rugby knowledge is his lack of understanding of world affairs, international relations, and the rather insignificant place held by the anc on the greater world stage. Your little pond is not the universe, butana…
Enough of this twat, we all know he is a fool. Anyone know where I can find the ratings of the players yesterday?
Madiba must be shaking his head in disbelief, for all his suffering and noble ideals have come down to this foolishness……
15 Jul 2007, 15:01 pm
67# RedLion
Then who are these people and where?
Or are you also just talking without substance like BK?
15 Jul 2007, 15:04 pm
Goei’emiddag Rooi Leeu, Tact, Piet en almal.
15 Jul 2007, 15:05 pm
Jis Bloubul
Hoesit?
Ek en Rooileeu is hier doenig met die politiek!
15 Jul 2007, 15:12 pm
Pietman
Speaking about pubs (on the other overl;ong thread), I have had the pleasure of becoming good friends with one of the owners of the Aardvark Pub in London. What a stand-up guy. Since arriving in South Africa on a short sabbatical, he has become deeply involved with the organisation Women against Rape (WAR), assisting them with branding, marketing and fundraising.
He is also deeply involved with the Afrikaans music industry, as many SA expats who have attended gigs at Aardvark would know.
We went jorling the other night and I had the pleasure of visiting the Steak and Ale (the oldest pub in Pretoria), where Adrian introduced me to members of the band Beeskraal. We also attended a Klopjag gig and again I had the pleasure of meeting the band.
The amazing thing for me about the Klopjag gig, is that they ended their set (as they always do) with the song “nie langer” (ek sal nie langer jammer se nie).
If I had just heard the song on the radio, I may have dismissed it as another angry anthem. However, actually being there at the gig, the only black person in a room of Afrikaners, I realised that the song was not about anger and bitterness but about hope and a certain sadness that young Afrikaners are apparently not welcome in the new SA.The experience touched me deeply. I believe that this type of real interaction between our people really does go a long away toward promoting understanding.
However, the interesting thing is, is a few days later, and completely unrelated to the Klopjag gig, a Jewish friend pleaded with all South Africans, black and white, never to adopt a “victim” attitude or else we would never move on, innovate and prosper despite the cirfumstancez. Interesting. Given for how many moons they’ve been around, the Jews probably know better than anyone else about persecution and how to propser in spite of it.
I think all of the above shows the need for real dialogue amongst future leaders in this country – black, white, Jewish, Chinese, Christian, Muslim, new atheists – to imagine a new future.
I think together, with our diverse experiences and particular histories (of how to overcome persecution despite structural discrimination; how to prosper in business, etc.) we can really begin to encourage, motivate and assist each other (including political assistance) to become vibrant members of a truly inclusive South Africa. Always the idealist.
Anyway, I’m off, I really don’t want to get back into blogging.
15 Jul 2007, 15:13 pm
I rule out no possibilty that they still exist. I may be wrong but I may be right.
15 Jul 2007, 15:16 pm
Who takes Khompela seriously? Really.
Now that I think about it (and no disrespect to the Aussies) but maybe the Mandela Cup might have had more resonance if it were instituted between Ireland (or even France) and South Africa.
After all, the Irish know a little about hostiltiy, oppression and struggle and the Cup might have had more meaning for them as a celebration of fortitude, reconciliation and forgiveness.
The Mandela and Freedom Cups are hollow competitions with little or no no real meaning. The Ashes has more resonance.
15 Jul 2007, 15:17 pm
Stodders, this is LL, got your facebook request, will add you
15 Jul 2007, 15:20 pm
Let’s hope the Aussies don’t respond to this clown. It will only make him a 100% more important than he really is.
Why should it matter what the composition of a team is? It never stopped me from supporting Bafana Bafana. Sport is a business now, not a charity.
He’s in charge of the Portfolio Committee, yet sounded very vague when making references to the Hashim Amla incident. You would think that he would know the exact details of that. I was under the impression that happened when we played Sri Lanka.
15 Jul 2007, 15:25 pm
Wrong thread, but here are my thoughts on cheating in rugby, business or any other competitive arena.
Deliberate cheating, to the extent that it gives a team an advantage over the other, must surely create an ethical dilemma for some opponents, i.e. do I similarly cheat to “level the playing fields” or do i maintain my integrity? For this reason alone I believe that refs should apply the law strictly, whether it be against overzealous thuggish “enforcers” on the field or players prone to gamesmanship.
15 Jul 2007, 15:36 pm
#3 – The Aussies took a stand against racism??? – what a laughable, ridiculous, warped, pathetic, dishonest, assertion – they obviously were trying to deflect their own perversions against the Aborigies – just look in the Aus back-yard to see the worse perversions of human rights since, and before apartheid. Pleeeease!
15 Jul 2007, 15:43 pm
Komphela’s ideas on social engineering reminds me of the Nazis.
After WW1 they also believed in rebuilding Germany and reinforcing the identity of the Aryan race at the expense of all others. The Jews were seen to have too much power and that they were exploiting the Aryans.
A policy of appeasment was adopted (by the international community) when Jews were removed from positions of power (including sports teams).
Everyone thought that if they turned a blind eye everything would quiten down.
Instead after the Olympics in late 30s things just got worse.
Before anyone gets deperately excited, I’m not saying that Komphela wants to send non-blacks to gas chambers. I’m sure he doesn’t But his logic and chip on the shoulder are very similar to those german politicians of the early 1930s.
Instead of trying to make South Africa great he is focussing on a specific ethnic group.
15 Jul 2007, 15:58 pm
Sh*t… This guy is a joke!!!
I really can not understand, how person of his standing can come out and say a ountry is racist for not acknowledging a Cup, it was obvious why the Oz team decided not to pick it up… they felt it was a hollow victory and that it meant nothing… they didn’t care whose name was on the damn thing…
SA will never move on until they drop the whole “you are a rascist” remark… it is used whenever a person of colour is critisized or whenever a white person does anything in relation to a different culture… It is such a powerful comment, “you are a racist” send shivers down peoples spines, fear runs through their veins, and they run and hide, it is the verbal equivelant of a 9mm pistol in South Africa… but when you start swinging that weapon around in the international arena, you better make sure it is for the right reasons… People outside of Southern Africa, do not take to slander very easily… Countries like Oz and the USA who have their own historical demons, and they do not enjoy such comments, especially since they have move forward and beyond their pasts and taken positive steps forward (unlike our politicians). I really hope that Komphela gets into hot water for this and not only from the international community but internally as well… but I seriously doubt it!!!
They should make it illegal for a person to brand another a racist… it would allow many to put forward their critisisms without facing a loaded weapon as a repercussion!
15 Jul 2007, 16:02 pm
Wallaby, and all other Australians- Please desist from commenting on anything to do with racism – until of course, you admit and declare that Aus has a terrible human rights record – as bad as apartheid, and bordering on nazism – referring to your treatment of the Aboriginies. Only then can we have a decent debate.
15 Jul 2007, 16:03 pm
82# Komphela is a rude, uncouth and dumb individual.
We in SA know that, and I hope the Aussies do too.
He is the Mugabe of SA rugby.
15 Jul 2007, 16:05 pm
raven
That’s just stupid man. You sound like BK now.
The Aussies behaviour post-match has nothing to do with apartheid or racism.
They objected to playing our ‘B’ team, rightly or wrongly, and they said so before the time.
15 Jul 2007, 16:09 pm
geez and this guy is in government??
transformation = reverse racism.
thank God I moved to NZ
15 Jul 2007, 16:10 pm
While I don’t necessarily agree with Khomphela’s outburst…
I did find the Aussie’s attitude with the Mandela Trophy offensive. The morons showed a total lack of understanding of what the Trophy and Mandela represent. A little class and respect costs nothing and goes a long way…
And… before you Aussie’s get on your high horses… you DO have a racist past. Aborigines were hunted for sport in your early days and even today are kept in little better than reservations and plied with cheap alcohol.
Hell… even your Bush-wannabe Howard was addressing that very issue not more than a week ago… you should read more than the sports pages in your own press…
15 Jul 2007, 16:44 pm
Khompela so reminds me of Tackler – opposite sides of the same coin. Neither lets the facts or context get in the way of the boulders on their shoulders.
GOSH! I wonder if they’re related…after all, South Africans are more intertwined than many would admit….
15 Jul 2007, 16:48 pm
Hey Pietman! – I regard myself as an intelligent human being – work out the context of my remarks before branding me stupid! OK – Let me help you – I was referring to Wallaby’s remark that Australia were somehow lily-white opponents of apartheid – Get the joke??
15 Jul 2007, 17:05 pm
Komphela as long as YOU and the ANC see colour as an issue this country will be doomed.
Then surely if you say that “winning at the expense of transformation” is a a wrong attitude….so too must governing and being INCOMPETENT in your role as chairman for Portfolio Committee on Sport.
Go anywhere in the the world where we have modern and COMPETENT administrations and SUCCESSFUL organisations…those running it are chosen on MERIT,COMPETENCE and good ORGANISATIONAL skills….and NEVER as a result of fast tracking its citizens into top positions because of skin colour the likes of which the ANC is a chief instigator.
15 Jul 2007, 17:28 pm
A fish rots from the head Komphela….time to clear out…..as YOU and the ANC have failed to pump in money or find the means to do so to encourage rugby in the townships and other poorer communities ! YOU reap what you sow and the results we have today are your and your organisations own doing.
Another blogger Pietman wrote that R174000 was made available for rugby to encourage its establishment in townships and less privileged communities…..thats peanuts in todays money !
New Zealand just made if i stand correct NZD 4.6 million just on the construction of a huge rugby ball-like structure to be erected near the Eiffel Tower in Paris to promote New Zealand rugby,its history and tourism….
What has the ANC done in its time in Goverment ?
15 Jul 2007, 17:44 pm
Komphela like so many others is just floating in the gravy and having a good time.
Where I am (ME) I have to keep explaing to others that the jokes they see on TV are not really those in control of things that actually matter. For instance we always see ‘Government officials’ explaining that the next FWC will actually take place in SA and things like completion of stadiums will be done on time because, unlike the black jokes that are presented as the ones in control of these facilities, that are ‘representives’ of the SA W/C Football are, in fact, not the ones actually responsible for the facilities and that it is white engineers who actually do know what they are doing.
There are differences between what the ANC wants the world to believe and actual reality of getting something done in SA.
Whether the ANC like it or not, this brings relief to those for whom football means something.
Guess that the rest of the world, outside of the ANC’s buddies like Mugabe, see ‘black empowerment’ as what it is – a means of self enrichment at the expense of the masses.
It’s about time the rest of the world again started isolating SA sports because of racist interference.
Think it’s the only way that one could eventually get the ANC and its’ cohorts to understand that racism can be attributed to blacks as well.
Sure it would be painful in the short term but when dealing with mentality at this level one has to resort to Pavlovian conditioning.
15 Jul 2007, 18:02 pm
Spot on OCO !
15 Jul 2007, 18:44 pm
Rumplestilskin # 74
Great post. Good medicine.
15 Jul 2007, 19:14 pm
here’s Campo’s take…
“But look, for instance, at what happened on the weekend with the Nelson Mandela Plate. After the game there was a big hoo-hah about it. I thought it was a bit silly the way the Australians carried on,…”
15 Jul 2007, 21:22 pm
so the race card gets played yet again, but this time across international boundaries.
I really hope the aussies make a big fuss over these allegations of racism and demand a full and public apology.
15 Jul 2007, 21:29 pm
The Bill
U’re a muppet…
Aus were one of the most vocal supporters of sanctions against SA during apartheid! Yes they may be racist anyway, but their track record holds no reason to believe they DONT want the Mandela trophy because they’re racist! This idiot thinks he can get away with calling another country racist and not suffer any consequences…
15 Jul 2007, 21:37 pm
just finished reading the full article on teh sunday times website. He also has a nice go at Kallis for not singing the national anthem aloud at the cricket world cup, saying that “Kallis demonstrates the depth of the hate and racism that exists”.
If I were Kallis I’d be bl0ddy incensed.
Everywhere this guys turns he sees a racist. Even if they are on another continent, they are still racist.
His comments on Trevor Phillips are particularly enlightening. He is effectively saying that the only role for whites in the “new” SA is to transfer their hard earned skills to blacks, and then to humbly submit and prostrate themselves as they watch their jobs be taken.
15 Jul 2007, 21:50 pm
when it comes to test rugby, WINNING IS EVERYTHING!!! Why else play??? If we keep ‘transforming’ our test team we’ll never hold the Mandela plate again.
“Transformation can’t start from the top,â€
“Winning cannot be at the expense of change and transformation”
How’s that for 2 contradictory terms!!!
15 Jul 2007, 23:03 pm
it is clear these politicians do not have the interests of sport in mind. and if their proposed interferance does not materialise we will find ourselves once again under sanctions for all the wrong reasons.
15 Jul 2007, 23:11 pm
All I can say about this thread is
BWAHAHHAAHAHAHAHAHAHHAAHAHAH
Priceless
15 Jul 2007, 23:12 pm
this guys rampant and unsubstaniated use of the word racist makes one wonder who actually is prejudiced here.
it seems every white to him is a racist.
15 Jul 2007, 23:15 pm
Jeez I hate this egomaniac racist C@#$%t. He is so ensconsed in his little game of SA politics, that he even tries to pull the racist card on Australia?
THAT BULLSHIT DOES NOT WORK IN THE REAL WORLD YOU IDIOT! ONLY IN THE SHAM WORLD OF SA POLITICS CAN YOU PULL OUT A GET OUT OF JAIL CARD “RACIST” CARD ANYTIME YOU WANT, AND BE TAKEN SERIOUSLY.
I hope he gets a suitably phrased (a nice subtle one) response from the Aus governmnet telling him to “F#$% off”. I also hope he gets a suitable reprimand from his own superiors, putting him in his place as a lesser politician, who can’t even perform his current functions properly.
He really is an idiot.
15 Jul 2007, 23:30 pm
Just a question from my side:
Arent the black bloggers on this site embarrassed when they read the nonsense Komphela writes? I for one would be if I were black. He is a disgrace, but his mediocricy will continue to be condoned by the banana republic politicians.
16 Jul 2007, 00:32 am
Pommie, one doesn’t have to be black to be embarrassed; I’m white, but I’m also South African so that makes me embarrassed because Komphela is a member of the government of my country.
Yet his utterances also give me heart, because what he said is such undiluted bullshit that one can only imagine that his “10 blacks per team” statement that has been so hotly debated falls squarely into the same category. Something like Idi Amin’s (and more recently Khadaffi’s) “United States of Africa” pipe dream.
We have clever, capable people in our government. The economy is being very well managed. But we also have blockheads, whose skill sets probably qualify them for nothing more than wielding a shovel in someone’s back yard.
16 Jul 2007, 01:22 am
What a TWOT!
16 Jul 2007, 01:29 am
ansie
I agree, the Aussies won’t respond, and probably rightly so.
They would study the whole interview with Komphela and then decide it’s not worth an official reply. Soon the world will know that our chairman of the sport committee is a colourblind old lunatic.
We fortunately have some other politicians of renown, such as Trevor Manual, in the ANC government.
But then we have the likes of Komphela, Dr Manto, Robert the Supercop…..hard to explain their actions when they appear on TV over here, as OCO says in #92.
They are an embarrassment to all decent SA citizens abroad who are trying to proudly represent our nation.
16 Jul 2007, 01:35 am
Aish, where to start? Suffice to say that the issue re the cup was already addressed in Oz early last week. The guilty parties rapped on the knuckles and an official apology lodged. Kompela missed it all I assume.
The story goes that it was a joke played on Mortlock where the rest of the team decided beforehand they will shy away from taking the trophy leaving Mortlock a little flustered. A little silly and childish if anything but not even close to racist.
They were told to stop their silly games in future and the apology passed on to SARU and SA in general…
The rest of is utterings are not worthwhile commenting on…
16 Jul 2007, 01:37 am
More Pete, die ou gee mens goor maag so op ‘n Maandag oggend!
16 Jul 2007, 02:07 am
More Koos
Eintlik moet mens die rassistiese ou p##s ignoreer. Hy herinner my al meer aan Robert Makapie elke slag wat hy sy ou bek rek. Ouens soos hy laat my tweekeer dink om terug te gaan SA toe.
Hoe gaan dit daar? Wat van Saterdag, ek die Ozzies kan wen.
Verder raak jy nou te ver voor op CCbruvvas, ek sal bietjie moet begin spoed aansit!
16 Jul 2007, 02:10 am
89# raven
Read Koos 110#.
That is the true story, nothing racist about it.
That was what I tried to tell you.
16 Jul 2007, 02:23 am
Pete, twee weke in ‘n ry bo aan die leer…maar superbru word nie in Julie gewen nie!
Ek weet ek moet nie maar kan jy die berig vir my email, hom gesoek sonder sukses…?
16 Jul 2007, 02:26 am
PS Where is that court ruling that said calling someone a racist without sufficient proof is racism in itself? Should mail Komphela a copy…
16 Jul 2007, 02:27 am
Koos
Maak so, ek moet net gou iewers heen. Sal stuur as ek terug is.
16 Jul 2007, 02:32 am
Thanks Pete….I assume that is in response to #115
16 Jul 2007, 03:19 am
“The best lack all conviction, the worst are full of passionate intensity… ” W. B Yeats
16 Jul 2007, 03:25 am
Koos
Ek is terug en het die artikel gepos.
Ontvang jy?
16 Jul 2007, 04:04 am
Go it…I see from the article all is A OK!!! Hulle gaan pap en wors verkoop by die stadions in 2010…
16 Jul 2007, 04:23 am
120# Koos
LOL!
Hoe honger raak ek nou…rol aan WB 2010!
Ek kan nie wag vir die amptelike opening van die pappotte nie.
16 Jul 2007, 04:39 am
Dear Mr Komphela,
I live in Sydney, Australia. I relocated to Australia from Johannesburg. I have never waved the Vierkleur flag and my wife is Australian. I’m neither racist, nor do I trash South Africa. Most South Africans living in Australia have the same mindset. You would be suprised Mr Komphela to find that there is a large expat coloured community living here. Your comments not only smack of severe stupidity and ignorance, but they are downright insulting to Australians.
16 Jul 2007, 05:08 am
Se hom Seefie!!!!
16 Jul 2007, 05:10 am
“Amptelike opening van die pappotte” Hehehe dink jy daar is nog kaartjies beskikbaar?
16 Jul 2007, 05:18 am
Koos
Ek dink ook Kalis moet vir Komphela dagvaar vir naamskending.
Die ou mal ding gaan aan soos Idi Amin destyds.
16 Jul 2007, 05:26 am
Pete, the Kallis issue was also addressed a very long time ago. From a vague memory it was investigated by Cricket SA and he had a valid reason for not signing it at the time. Everyone was happy but Komphela finds it necessary to fetch this koei agter die bult just to ‘prove a point’, a point only he will know because outside of hatespeech I can’t really see another point…
16 Jul 2007, 05:41 am
Pietman #109,
Meant to ask whether other SA Expats had to answer for the SA governments doings.
Sick of being asked how the football W/C could be put in the hands of incompetents.
Being told that people would like to visit SA but it’s far too dangerous to go there and one is taking one’s life in one’s hands as soon as you land.
There are a lot of people with a lot of serious money here but they would rather invest in China or India – even Lebanon – than in SA or Africa as a whole
Gets very embarrasing and how long can it be defended!
If one thinks Oz are turning a blind eye to this type of thing – not to mention the rest of the world – just remember they have already said that they are ready to host the FWC when SA fails to deliver on time. Can one blame them for this?
16 Jul 2007, 06:05 am
OCO
I happened to meet with our ambassador here last Friday.
He says the interest in SA is enormous, so much so that Stofile and the SA vice-president came over recently to look at the manner in which Korea/Japan presented WC 2002 and to meet the local sport administrators and sponsors.
Korean and Asiana Air, for instance, is looking at opening offices in SA soon, for the first time.
Many contracts are being awarded to companies such as Hyundai for the construction of the infra-structure needed for 2010 WC.
So, things are looking good.
But, on the other hand a lot of questions are being asked by ordinary folks about the crime, HIV and ‘sport transformation’ issues.
People like Komphela with dictatorial public displays, make it hard for us to keep a straight and honest face when we attempt to defend our homeland against misconceptions.
We are seen as a ‘black’ country, and people sometimes look at me in disbelief at first when I tell them I am South African.
‘Whites’ are seldom shown in SA promotions of the WC on TV.
16 Jul 2007, 06:14 am
Butane might well be able to kompel Jacques Kallis to warble his anthem, but he has no control over what the Wallabies choose to do with that Mandela hubcap. Or whatever flag other people may want to wave to annoy him and his pals.
Butane is too big for his boots and good on those Wallabies for cutting him down to size.
16 Jul 2007, 06:57 am
I like this Khompela fellow; he’s got the same basic principals as I have and from the KISS (Keep It Simple Stupid) school. eg.
Why did the Aussies ignore the trophy? Ans: It’s a racist plot, no transformation.
Why did we lose the test matches/games/cup etc? Ans: It’s a racist plot, no transformation.
Why are we spending money on stadiums, not development, housing etc etc? Ans: It’s a racist plot, no transformation.
Why is SA battling for skills? Ans: It’s a racist plot, no transformation.
Why is crime so high? Ans: It’s a racist plot, no transformation.
Start to get the picture.
16 Jul 2007, 07:24 am
Tackler,
You are spot on. Butana has no control over what the Wallabies do with the Mandela Hubcap. He is now trying to force the Springboks to call their mascot Stompie. He is also pursuing a new South African sponsor and has his eye on Firestone Tires and Lion Matches. Where can I purchase a Vierkleur?
16 Jul 2007, 11:31 am
Ah, that gang of racists, with the ringleader Gregan and his klansmen, Tuqiri, Smith, Blake, Palu, Gerrard, and their old mates Sailor, Paul, and Turinui! C’mon, Australia is the only team in the tri-nations with a dark skinned captain since Umaga quit. The Aussies have an open door policy like us Kiwis. The only thing stopping us all selecting more brown faces are the damn IRB regulations preventing us (well, trying to prevent us) from just grabbing anyone Fijian, Tongan, or Samoan (and South Africans) we want.
16 Jul 2007, 15:02 pm
This man is even more stupid than I imagined!!!.
Khompela, you cannot stereotype an entire nation for what one wag shouts out at a cricket match. No Australian I know has ever had anything but utmost words of respect for Nelson Mandela, without exception.