Lions livid with Rassie… again

Lions loose forward Willem Alberts is the latest player Rassie Erasmus is trying to lure to Cape Town.

WP’s senior professional coach has been busy trying to contract players for next year’s Super 14. He recently acquired the services of Blue Bulls lock Adriaan Fondse, but the deal with Cheetahs prop Jannie du Plessis fell through. Erasmus then targeted Brian Mujati of the Lions, behind the back of the Lions administration, a course of action which angered the Johannesburg union.

Beeld reports the same has been done with Alberts, a promising player who can play lock, flank or No 8 with consummate ease. When asked for comment coach Loffie Eloff stated that Alberts was happy at the Lions and had told Erasmus he wasn’t interested in joining WP and the Stormers.

117 Comments

• 1.ddrek: Reply to this comment

I wont say dragons …never

• 2.ddrek: Reply to this comment

Has Rassie secured anyone yet ?

• 3.Roosbok: Reply to this comment

ddrek

Yes he got some lock from the bulls.

• 4.Namwp: Reply to this comment

Het Rassie mal geword ons probleme le nie by die losvoorspelers nie on het oor genoeg van hulle kry vir ons stutte.

• 5.Redox: Reply to this comment

ddrek

Nothing big as yet really he signed Adrian Fondse from the bulls and Heinrich Stride from Griquas by the sound of things Mujati could get out of his contract with the lions and according to agent Jason Smith 2 big name players who’s names havent been made public as yet dont know if he can be believed.

• 6.ddrek: Reply to this comment

Thanks Roos, i hope he coaches them lekker so we can get back to our winnig ways of yesteryear…whenever. Its not just about players.

• 7.SharkMarine: Reply to this comment

#01 please don’t say dragon again

• 8.Roosbok: Reply to this comment

Why another loosie? we have enough!! We need props! we need wings we need centers! Why not try and brig a in form marius back.

• 9.Bod: Reply to this comment

Dankie Namwp

Ons het ook genoeg slotte. Ek verstaan nie hierdie Fondse storie ook nie…

• 10.Redox: Reply to this comment

Namwp

Die Stutte is n probleem maar n groter een is dat daar nie genoeg bal draaers in the vaste vyf is nie. Dis waarom die wp sukkel om hul agterlyn vinige besit te kry die los voorspelers en vaste vyf speel agter toe. I dink dat rassie vir alberts as n slot so gebruik het hy het n paar super 14 wedstryde daar gespeel.

Verskoon my afrikaans dit is nie my eerste taal nie :)

• 11.SharkMarine: Reply to this comment

#08 no,You need a miracle.Not even Rassie can help your ailing team.
    I think you should play in the Vodacom league.

• 12.Namwp: Reply to this comment

#9 My ander vraag is het wp rugby genoeg $$$ om vir al hierdie ouens kontrakte aan te bied ffs is daar nie genoeg goie spelers in die kaap nie(veral stutte)

• 13.Roosbok: Reply to this comment

South Africa needs a strong wp!

• 14.Redox: Reply to this comment

Bod

They do have alot of locks but none of them are really effective ball carriers SKeate and Bekker are all a bit light.

• 15.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Raiding the lions is one thing. But his backstabbing attempted raid on freestate has demonstrated the true flaws in his character.

• 16.Kid_Senekal: Reply to this comment

I get the feeling Rassie has been watching too much of “Friday Night Lights”! Trying to lure players to his paddock.

13. Bro, only WP needs a strong WP. I need a strong WP as much as I need a *** on my elbow.

• 17.katman: Reply to this comment

Good for Willem, telling Rassie no thanks. Rassie, like myself, has a very astute rugby mind and can spot a future star. Both Alberts and Mujati are going to be Boks some day.

• 18.iceman: Reply to this comment

Get Daan Human, Pat Barnard and Faan Rautenbach back them things will start to happen in the Cape.

Your frontrow is the biggest problem not with the loosies!

• 19.Bod: Reply to this comment

Redox

Bekker is definitly not light and is very effective ball carrier. Then there is still Francois v/d Merwe, who for some strange reason is continually overlooked.

Seborne Boome is still around as well, so the acquisition of a relatively unknown Bulls lock who cant even make their CC side, even when Matfield/Botha are unavailable, mystifies me a bit…

• 20.Kid_Senekal: Reply to this comment

15. You’ve got a point. But Rassie is a pro, not bringing too much emotion into things.
    He spots a player he likes, then tries to get him. But in saying that, there’s something called business ethics and if Rassie really wants someone to play for the Stormers he should follow the proper channels (contacting the player’s agent etc.)

• 21.SharkMarine: Reply to this comment

I think Rassie needs to decide whether Peter Grant is better @ 10 or 12,I think 10 is his best.
    Thereafter sort out that terible tight five,and then they might be in business again.

• 22.Loosehead: Reply to this comment

Alberts is an excellent player, but WP need to invest in props and centres, not locks and loose forwards.

WP should be looking for props in Argentina.

• 23.Attie Karate: Reply to this comment

I’m a Lion. Rassie is just doing his job in trying to build a team for the future at Western Problems. And what gets me going is that for years now the Lions have let talent go for unknown reasons. You’ll see- Mujati and whoever alse will go to WP. Jannie du Plesis was just a little slip but Rassie will get his way and the Lions will as usual let the talent leave.

• 24.THEKOMS: Reply to this comment

Twee sterk skrummende baldraende stutte (CJ en Mujati), sterk baldraende slot (gee Francois v.d Merwe meer kans), `n 8 wat die bal kan opdra (Robbie Diack dalk anders koop vir Alberts), skrumskakel wat bal vinnig skoon maak en ook goed kan breek (Ricky Januarie), `n 13 met goeie hande, met `n sidestep (dink nie ons het sidesteppede senter in land nie, anders koop vir Ruan speel hom as 10 en Grant binnesenter).
    Kry al hierdie spelers Rassie dan kan jy dalk nog die top tien v. Super 14 maak

• 25.katman: Reply to this comment

22 – At this stage I’d even suggest looking in Australia :)

• 26.Loosehead: Reply to this comment

Hell Katman, Steady Eddie and Crock Harris aren’t that bad, are they?

• 27.Davaro: Reply to this comment

Vaste vyf, Vaste vyf – wat van die vaste ses?

• 28.the dood: Reply to this comment

I wish WP would F*CK OFF and stop trying to sign Lions players!
    That’s 3 now that they have gone for this season……is this Rassie’s grand plan?
    Raid the Lions and FS?
    He can piss off to the backwaters of club rugby in the Cape and talent scout……just like Eugene Eloff did in Jhb when he took charge!
    Loffie is building something exciting in jhb and that requires homegrown talent,he’s not looking for a quick fix like WP are.

I hate Western Province,I hope we give them 50 on Sat!

• 29.katman: Reply to this comment

Loosehead, a short while ago alll the Province okes here on keo were almost creaming their chinos at the mere mention of Brock Harris. He’s gonna shove this prop’s head up his arse. He’s gonna snap that prop in two. I am yet to see a game where this actually materialises. And I notice the hype has died down completely.

And who else do they have? Eddie, JD and that smallish prop with the black hair (whose name escapes me right now). Put that bunch up against the first choice props of any of the other top CC unions and tell me they really measure up.

• 30.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Jeez… doesn’t take old Rassie long to get into the Province way of things of buying other players. WP’s current lot better phone their agents and get an overseas contract. The whole current Cheetha, plus a few other players from other unions will make up WP next year….

• 31.King Cheetah: Reply to this comment

Rassie, sit die WP spelers se nommers voor op hulle truie, dan sal hulle dalk vorentoe speel !!

• 32.emiel: Reply to this comment

Have no problem with Rassie trying lure talent to the Cape, but either agent Jason Smith is breaking the rules or the Lions administration has treid to contract players with worthless non binding contracts. If history is anything to go by, my guess is that the Lions management have screwed up once more.

• 33.King Cheetah: Reply to this comment

Ek het vir julle gese Rassie is ‘n Judas in Kaapstad !!

• 34.katman: Reply to this comment

emiel, so far neither of the 2 Lions players nor the Cheetahs player were successfully poached. Seems like Rassie is going for the shotgun approach – blast it wide and you might hit a few.

• 35.What Would Doc Craven Do?: Reply to this comment

lol @ 27.

Perhaps Province should be allowed to play with an extra tightie, just until they can find their feet again.

• 36.Loosehead: Reply to this comment

Schalk Ferreira is who you are thinking about Katman. Harris was a nothing player at the Leopards and is a nothing player at WP.
    A year or two ago WP bought a few players from the Griquas, a prop whose name I forget and a lock called Duimpie Theron. They have also done nothing.
    Surley if WP have enough money to bid for Jannie DuP then they have enough to buy a few young good props from the Argies.

• 37.Bod: Reply to this comment

Davaro

I still reckon that that oke in the pink shirt knows more about rugby then Joost, Kobus and ol’ Erril combined…

• 38.lion4ever: Reply to this comment

I used to like Rassie. But I am changing my mind. First Mujati, now Alberts. Rassie, leave our players alone and look in your own backyard first.

• 39.emiel: Reply to this comment

Agree Katman, but still seems as if Lions are relying on player loyality to Eloff instead of doing their homework when contracting players. Players such as Ludik, Heinke and Jano Vermaak have signed similar contracts.

• 40.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

and Rassie reply to all this criticism???

• 41.Martin: Reply to this comment

the last time i checked rugby was a professional sport….or is the same pre 80′s mindset still in existance?

• 42.Redox: Reply to this comment

A bit self righteous from the lions after they stole Jody rose and his malnourished brother from under the wp without letting them know they where negotiating with him. In fact all these administrators can be self righteous when it suits them the big 5 unions kicked up a big fuss about the spears not paying back a loan from sarfu. Meanwhile a few months later it emerged that all the major unions bar wp currently have outstanding loans from sarfu, the only reason why wp didnt have any loans at the time was because they were selling of assets fidentia style im sure they will have made a few loans by now as well :D

• 43.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Didn’t the Lions perfect the art of poaching players in the late 80′s and early 90′s?

Pretty rich I would think.

• 44.Redox: Reply to this comment

Martin

I think the administrators arent the only ones being self righteous you would swear ricky januarie , Ryno Benjamin,Thabang Molefe, Ernst Joubert,Louis Strydom,Jaco van Schalkwyk etc are all born and bred lions in fact bar molefe and strydom all the abovementioned players are from the cape anyway.

• 45.Martin: Reply to this comment

it’s all about money. loyalty does’nt put food on the table.

• 46.katman: Reply to this comment

Jody and Earl weren’t poached by the Lions management. They were rescued by child welfare and were taken from WP by court order.

• 47.Martin: Reply to this comment

and anyway….after wp win the cc all the lions players will want to come down to the cape hehe

• 48.Loosehead: Reply to this comment

#46: same thing is going to happen to the Rose brother’s girlfriends.
    Surprizingly little has been said about the Rose boys antics.

• 49.katman: Reply to this comment

47 – By then they’ll all be in their nineties and won’t know where they are anyway.

• 50.Martin: Reply to this comment

• 51.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

• 52.Redox: Reply to this comment

Loosehead

Yah those two seem to have serious issues esp earl that really hasnt received alot of media attention.

• 53.the dood: Reply to this comment

Crisis you WP fans cant seem to let the Rose brothers issue go!

Don’t forget that WP raid the Lions for star players all the time (Joe,Brits,Jantjies) and we took pity on your 2nd rate club players and tried to DEVELOP them.
    All the players that have come to the Lions from the Cape (or other regions for that matter) have come at a young age and not when they were established.
    Wee Pee should invest in a youth system rather than poaching the Lions talent!
    Develop your own talent you brokeback mountain c*nts!

• 54.Martin: Reply to this comment

#53 – double standards i see. you obviously still have a pre 1980′s mindset. go seek help chap. rugby is PROFESSIONAL. get over it. jeez!

• 55.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

#11 & #53:

You guys are f*cking lame man. Suck my d*ck!!!!

• 56.jondood: Reply to this comment

the dood

• 57.jondood: Reply to this comment

wp_boytjie

Typical WP *** response.

I am sure Bolla is up for a bit of sucking.

• 58.Mick Dundee: Reply to this comment

Under Rassie WP must stand for “Wonderful Poacher”. The Kenyan KWS have a great policy for poachers…. shoot on sight!

• 59.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

Jondood my name would also have the name dood in if i was a lions supporter…..exactly when last did you guys see silverware or a super 14 log position worthy of mention??????

If I was a lion i was allready dead. The Lions , the team where jake picks his charity players. Ashwin and Enrico and Pretorius.

And you guys are typical Lion moaning and groaning

• 60.Martin: Reply to this comment

jondood – i think you need to come out of the closet. you sure like to talk about sucking etc.
    it must fascinate you. let me guess, you one of these okes who comes down to the cape and frequents all the *** bars? is that how come you know so much?

• 61.jondood: Reply to this comment

NOU DIE BLOU

S14 and CC Champs

Suck on that you faggots.

• 62.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

OOOO die Blou ???

Morne Steyn , Wikus , Hougaard , Gurthro , Jp Nel , Julies , Nonshinga , Louw….

Practice what you preach…. ***

• 63.katman: Reply to this comment

59 – lol, so the Lions’ 12th place on the S14 log isn’t worth mentioning but the Stormers’ 10th is?

• 64.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

F***kkkon strontkop

• 65.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

#60 yeah, the nite life in Cape Town does not really appeal :)

Yes, I remember the early ’90s when there was a mass exodus of players from Pretoria, Bloem and Cape Town to Tvl.

it got to the point where they ended up with
    3 bok fullbacks and 3 bok hookers in one season.

• 66.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

#63: apoligies , i get worked up with some of these c*nts on the site. I respect the lions , but this pointless b*tcing about buying players , like its never happend before gets my blood boiling

• 67.jondood: Reply to this comment

greatest

That is when Luyt poached all the Bulls team.

At that stage Tvl was the Northens 1st team.

• 68.jondood: Reply to this comment

wp

No need to apologize.

Typical cape flats behaviour.

We understand.

• 69.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

Was I talking to you Jondood. On a forum which doesn’t involve your team? Im actually white and I live in Bishopscourt….. And don’t say WE understand? Who are you speaking on behalf for?? Sh*thead

Some of you on this forum should go get French lessons , then you go to french clubsides websites and go moan over there too about buying players.

Seems like a brand new thing to some of you. You could swear its 1969

• 70.jondood: Reply to this comment

wp

I think you bought a bad sack of papsak wyn.

You sound so bitter.

You sound like you have been sand blasted.

• 71.Davaro: Reply to this comment

Dood – u spelled your name wrong…

Replace one of the “d”‘s with an “s”

And not the first one…

Thereafter, load up your voorlaaier, tell Sanie to tie up her bonnet, get in your oxwagon and go back to holland.

• 72.jondood: Reply to this comment

#

Dood – u spelled your name wrong…

Replace one of the “d”’s with an “s”

sood does not make sense.

You dumb doos

• 73.Martin: Reply to this comment

ignore him. schools out. one can expect this type of thing from schoolkids.

• 74.Davaro: Reply to this comment

72 – Shame. Pityfull comeback.

• 75.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

The only doos here is you Jondood. You smell of sh*t

• 76.jondood: Reply to this comment

hook line and sinker

You intellectuals are far toooo clever for me.

• 77.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

jondood? sounds like someone who phones the suicide hotline often

• 78.jondood: Reply to this comment

If I supported WP it would be a foregone conclusion.

I would be dead.

• 79.lion4ever: Reply to this comment

Touchy subject this, isn’t it. Seems WP supporters get hot under the collar when they are called poachers. Does it hurt when you cannot get homegrown talent? Or when you are reminded that the former Lions players in your team, with the exception of Jantjes this season actually end up ruining their careers in the Cape. Us Lions supporters are actually begging you guys to take Earl Rose Back.

Yes, the Lions currently don’t have the best development programme in place, but have started strengthening club rugby in the province so that we can start developing local players properly.

• 80.jondood: Reply to this comment

lion4ever

You just had to post that.

Now wp_boytjie is going to burst a blood vessel in his head.

That means he will be bleeding more than once month.

What a doos

• 81.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

jondood jou ma se p0es

• 82.jondood: Reply to this comment

wp_boytjie

BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAAHAH

You just made my day.

plonker

• 83.jondood: Reply to this comment

wp_boytjie

Repeat after me.

The wheels on the bus go round and round

round and round

Thanks for the laugh you little prick

• 84.BobZimmerman: Reply to this comment

Cape Towns finest are obviously hanging out here today.

• 85.Davaro: Reply to this comment

It’s not the jibes at “poaching” that get us hot under the collar. It is the neanderthal comments that come from some of your supporters.

Besides – Rassie went to JHB to pay them. Not for new players but to keep Rose up there :lol:

• 86.jondood: Reply to this comment

Davaro

I would also pay Rose to stay up there.

WP can be glad for that loss.

• 87.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

I see what old Rassie is trying to do. He wants me to become a WP supporter. Rassie, my mate… You can’t just buy the Lions team and make them WP and think I won’t notice. Come now, they wear those ugly hoop jerseys… Horizontal stripes are sooooo last season.

• 88.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Funny thing. Since I live in Capie Town I’m starting to warm towards my old blue Jukskei cousins. They might all wear two toned kaki shirts, drink ‘brannas’ and listen to Steve but hell at least they are not WP supporters. Goodness me….

• 89.jondood: Reply to this comment

Grrrr

Give us a ROAR

Don’t frighten wp_boytjie into downing his whole papsak.

eina

Dis maar kak om vir WP te skreeu.

• 90.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

one too many trips up the mountain I say

I still remember the uproar when Uli went to Joberg..I was gutted when I heard the news.

know Joost was offered mega deal by Luyt to defect in 94 but he declined as he wanted to rebuld NTvl.

• 91.Davaro: Reply to this comment

Retract the above –

WP_ unfortunately you have just dropped to their level.

• 92.lion4ever: Reply to this comment

AAHH, I love it when a plan comes together. Even with former Lions players I struggle to support WP. Last week I was a draadsitter Griquas vs WP. I didn’t want Griquas to win due to log position and their thugby against the Lions the previous week. I also didn’t want WP to win, simply because they are WP. I will even support Bulls and Sharks against WP. Its just soemthing about them that rubs me the wrong way

• 93.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

I miss the Keo site of old…

• 94.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

lion4ever

Know what you mean but it wasn’t all ways like that. I never could support the Bulls but since moving down to ‘Kaapstad’ that changed, ‘sommer vinnig…’ I will gladly support the men in blue before I support WP. Even the Valke and Bulldogs before these guys. :roll:

And now you WP okes can commence to rant and rave, I’m off for a beer.

• 95.Davaro: Reply to this comment

92 – I know the feeling. I am a WP supporter thru and thru. (Ja, I know…) but I have the same feeling about the Sharks.

Every person has the right to support who they want to and not like who they want to as well.

When it gets personal, it gets stuupid.

Adult talk about Rugby is great. Childish defamatory comments are not.

Winning is always, historically, in cycles.

For about 3-4 years a team is kak. Then for the next few they “build” and then they are top for a few years.

As a previous post said, “the wheels go round” and that is true. WP are kak now but WILL be back.

Just like Arnie… :lol:

• 96.jondood: Reply to this comment

Davaro

True I had to live through 7 years of hell when the Bulls were absolutely kak.

• 97.the dood: Reply to this comment

Cry me a river!

• 98.seak1_cpt: Reply to this comment

Schalk Brits is from WP

There are plenty of players who move all over the place….some are “clean” takes, others not so much. It is as it is….and I don’t see why the media should be involved.

I believe even WP legends like Carel du Plessis and Bob Skinstad played for both WP and Lions/Tranvaal.

Professional sport….get over it…players move.

• 99.big dawg: Reply to this comment

I think the point that the Lions supporters are making is that we always hear how much talent is in Western Province rugby and how the club scene is strong.There is a rugby player factory down the N1 in Stellenbosch which already draws players from all over the country.
    So there really shouldn’t be a need to poach developing players from other provinces.

• 100.Davaro: Reply to this comment

Just like Hougaard. (but between us, you can keep him)

• 101.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Jeepers, some of the comments on this site – from both WP and Lions supporters – are utterly childish.

And I can just imagine what will happen after Saturday, depending on who wins at Ellis Park – more of the same.

I think one thing that has been proven is that, unfortunately, some supporters from both WP and the Lions are sore losers AND sore winners, under the right circumstances.

Looking forward to the game, though.

• 102.lion4ever: Reply to this comment

Look, rugby is a pro sport, and players can move where they like, but it still hurts when a player from your team is lured to another province. I hope rugby does not become like soccer where you have a silly season of transfers and acquisitions, and players are paraded like trophies.

• 103.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

lion4ever – it seems, unfortunately, like it’s heading that way.

What I would find fascinating would be an old-school round robin tournament after the Currie Cup. You just use the old five main unions (WP, Free State, Natal, Transvaal, Northern Transvaal) in a short five-week tournament and those teams are only allowed to pick players born within their territorial borders and who finished school there.

Would be quite fascinating, I reckon…

• 104.seak1_cpt: Reply to this comment

perhaps WP need to poach players from other provinces because all our players are poach or have moved to other provinces.

Shall I name a few…??? Hardly would seem fare to do so, and most who comment seem to not do research or would not agree as to how or why the person is a province player….as these could be subjective.

Bob Skinstad was schooled in Natal, went to Stellenbosch, player from WP and the Stormers…then the Lions, then Natal….who or where is he from. I think we was born in Zimbabwe.

Guthro Steenkamp is a Paarl boy, he went to Bloem to study law, then move to the Bulls….where is he “from?”

Shimange, and Brits were both schooled in WP, but one went to Bloem, the other the Lions…is Brits who played under 21 for WP a Lion who we stole, or did he come home?

Lions captain, Ernst Joubert….anyone want to guess where he went to varsity? Is he a product of the Lions or WP?

Seems a rediculas conversation, and one that is impossible to win. The Lions buy players of colour (sorry for using this term…I hate to) from Boland and WP all the time….is this fine?

Let players decide where they want to play…end of it…they are looking after themselves…EVERYONE steals/poaches/transfers/lures from everywhere else.

• 105.big dawg: Reply to this comment

seak1 you are missing the point pal,the fact is that the Lions have a development program.If they do buy a player,they get him when he is young and develop his talent.
    No lets say that in 2004 (Schalk Burgers break through year in World Rugby) the Lions poached Schalk from WP.As a WP fan you would feel aggrieved due to the fact that WP has developed him and made him into the player he is.Why didn’t WP want Willem Alberts and Brian Mujati a year ago?…..cos they were unknowns and still just Lions deveopment players.
    I think that the Lions should get some reward for investing in these players and not WP who are after a quick-fix.

• 106.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

didn’t Gaffie du Toit
    like play for 6 provinces??

• 107.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Dawg,

The Lions are only doing that in the last year cause they got **** all money left!

WP talent identification is ****, thats why they lose players – nothing wrong with the club system, it is the administration.

At the top of the food chain, CC and S14 rugby no-one belongs to no-one.

After studying 7 years in varsity do you think anyone gives a hoot where I studied in relation to where I work?

Its the final product that counts.

• 108.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

Nooooooo PA #107…

Schalk Brits…Enrico January…etc are rejected WP players who were bought as unknowns…

AP, JoevN, Alberts, JF, Reyneke, etc etc etc all came through teh dev program…

And some of them have playing for a good few years…

• 109.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Uhm Hmmm,

Which is why I say the talent identification is up to ****.

If it weren’t, Brits, Hougaard and the likes would never have left…

And what development program would that be?

• 110.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Anycase you Lions are just sour cause there is talk of Jorrie coming back…

• 111.katman: Reply to this comment

Yep, PissAnt is right. Rassie is talking to Jorrie too. And this is the professional era. Nothing we can do.

• 112.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Haha Kat,

Nah, just had a vision what the Lions backline will look like once other provinces are done raiding them because of poor contracts.

10. Cutman (back out of retirement again for the 9th time)
    12. Doppies
    13. Jorrie
    14. Human
    15. Rose

• 113.seak1_cpt: Reply to this comment

Part of Schalk Burger’s contract is: if someone offers to pay me more….i can go, so it would be WP fault had he left…so I don’t think I get your point. Understandably, you are being all provintial here, but we need to more away from that kind of thinking.

How many Lions cried when Jantjies left…none I bet…coz you were all licking your lips because the Rose brothers were moving in.

By your view, then why have you “taken” Ernst Joubert? Can we have him back please?

Surely by your view, WP should be compensated for forfilling the countries quota system? And due to this, WP are now quits with the money owed to the Lions for “poaching” their development players :)

I get your point, but it is moot. Rassie is hands on…always has been. Does it suprise you he is hands on with precurement of players?

And besides…we are just stealing Januarie back aren’t we?

• 114.katman: Reply to this comment

112 – When you put it like that, it looks scary indeed.

• 115.David: Reply to this comment

Since when have the Lions bought young talent in order to develop it? They’ve bought young talent because it’s cheap.
    As for the new plan to invigorate club rugby in Gauteng, by most assessments it’s rapidly becoming a shambles. The theory’s good, but the implementation a mess.

• 116.svs: Reply to this comment

If he wants Lions players, can’t we sell him back the Rose brothers??

• 117.out wide: Reply to this comment

Seems like we need a “province of origin” game like the Oz rugby league do with their state of origin series between NSW and Queensland?

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.