Jones Bok blazer jolt
7 Sep 2007
Eddie Jones will not be allowed to wear the Springbok blazer at the World Cup, writes Keo in the Independent Newspapers.
Former Wallabies coach Jones is being paid to help South Africa win the World Cup, but not even the prospect of a World Cup win will get him a Springbok blazer.
Jones, the mastermind of Australian rugby between 2001 and 2005, has officially been appointed the Springboks Technical Adviser at the Rugby World Cup, but he won’t be allowed to wear the Springbok blazer.
Jones can wear the Springboks training gear and he can wear the Springboks suit, which has a Springbok emblem on the pocket, but the Presidents’ Council of the South African Rugby Union has determined he cannot be seen in a Springbok green and gold blazer.
Jones is understood to be accepting of the regulation and so too is Bok coach Jake White, who has employed Jones for his technical expertise and not fashion sense.
But the irony is that the man who most neutral observers believe will be the major influence in a Springbok World Cup success is not allowed to put on a green blazer, but the Presidents’ Council has no problem with an assistant physiotherapist, a physiotherapist, a video technician, a doctor, a media officer and a consulting specialist, who wore an England blazer in 2003, wearing the green and gold Bok blazer.
The country’s president, Thabo Mbeki is given a Bok blazer, Nelson Mandela is given a Bok blazer. Jones is not. Jones, who assisted the Boks for a fortnight in South Africa and the another week in Scotland, has consistently boosted their cause at the World Cup.
He has said New Zealand are the tournament favourites, but he has singled out the Springboks as the only team to beat them. He has said his loyalty at this World Cup is with the Boks, because that’s where his professional association is. He has done this at his expense in Australia.
The Bok players have waxed lyrical about Jones’ input. Springbok centre Jaque Fourie said the backs have started to straighten the line again and attack space.
Every Bok backline player has complimented Jones.
The forwards have been as generous in their praise. Bok captain John Smit said it was refreshing to hear such applicable wisdom and the Bok coach (White) has consistently preached the virtues of Jones, believing him to be the best technical strategist in the game.
Yet, the amateurs who continue to run the professional side of the South African game, are more concerned with whether or not Jones gets given a Bok blazer.

120 Comments
7 Sep 2007, 15:05 pm
He should be allowed to wear it. I actually can’t fathom this trivial thinking.
7 Sep 2007, 15:05 pm
Great piece Keo, real circus hey!!
7 Sep 2007, 15:08 pm
I would expect nothing less from our president’s council.
7 Sep 2007, 15:08 pm
Aagh no man!
What is wrong with these politicians, do they always have to insult people?
Bloody morons.
7 Sep 2007, 15:09 pm
“Bok captain John Smit said it was refreshing to hear such applicable wisdom ” Sad indictment of Alistair Coetzee I would say.
Anyway. I don’t think Eddie feels that bad. The Bok blazer may just be a step to far for him.
7 Sep 2007, 15:10 pm
To wear the Springbok Blazer… you need to deserve it:
Not because you are a good assistant coach,
Not because you are well connected and,
Not because you are the “politically preferredâ€!
You must only be allowed to wear it if you deserve it on the basis of merit!
7 Sep 2007, 15:10 pm
Screw them anyway!!, they The Presidents piesang! are worth nothing to us the supporters! and we know that Jonesey has been a good input and we salute him either way!
So this message is for you, stand tall and keep being the pro you are, we salute you! dont worry about the guys who are sitting there , they dont know rugby even if it sat on their face and said I am rugby!
7 Sep 2007, 15:11 pm
Hulle moes nooit vir al daai assistente baaidjies gegee het nie, dan was die nie nou so groot probleem nie. Reken net spelers en hoofafrigter moet die regte egte bokbaadjie kry. Hulle kan n ander official baadjie ontwerp vir die ander.
7 Sep 2007, 15:11 pm
Their decision smacks of double standards, just like our polititians.
7 Sep 2007, 15:13 pm
No appollogies for the *** in polititians.
7 Sep 2007, 15:14 pm
Blazer…………… No.
Betrays his country with a kiss,
Takes 30 pieces of silver.
Give him a rope.
Let him find his own tree.
7 Sep 2007, 15:15 pm
What if he cuts off the lifting loops? Can he wear it then?
7 Sep 2007, 15:17 pm
Now, i truely believe that there is a third party running our rugga and i dont think its likes of Kompela and Stofile…….
7 Sep 2007, 15:18 pm
#12 katman
7 Sep 2007, 15:21 pm
Shocking decision by the PC…….. I wondered why, during the Scottish game Eddie was in the stands next to Jake without the Green & Gold blazer……
Pathetic, silly…….. dowwer as dowwe Dolla…
Jeeeeeeeeeeeeeez
7 Sep 2007, 15:23 pm
Lol katman.
This some funny stuff. I wanna hear the president’s point of view
7 Sep 2007, 15:28 pm
This man will be worth 100 blazers when we lift the cup! I believe that he is the final piece in the Bok-puzzle.
My apologies for using this Aussie term but here goes: GO YOU GOOD THING!
7 Sep 2007, 15:29 pm
Hypothetical question: Boks need a new coach next year, Eddie Jones applies and is appointed. Will he then be allowed to wear the Bok Blazer?
I agree with post no 8. Only players and head coach should be allowed to wear the official blazer, but another one to be designed for assistant coach and other support staff.However, the system as it stands sucks. PC is double minded and childish, churlish and chicken.
Come guys, don’t get cynical!
Maybe it’s just cause the wool blazer makes Eddie a tad horny and homesick – don’t want him to be distracted…
The 3rd force running our rugby might be stupidity!
7 Sep 2007, 15:31 pm
To be honest I could’nt give a damn whether he’s given or not. The memory is too fresh in my mind when the Aussies refused to show respect in the Mandela plate so I believe I may be forgiven for not caring about Jones as an Aussie. What makes us think they would repect and cherish the things we do.They are Aussies for ****** sake, their attitudes stink!
Lasts , to mention Madibas name and that of the President in the same line is rather insulting. The context was even more insulting keo. Its as if you are saying Madiba and Mbeki were less deserving because they are not directly involved in rugby and if they could get them then why not Jones. I really hope I misunderstood !
7 Sep 2007, 15:32 pm
No, #20 – stupidity is force 1 and 2 – surely the 3rd force should have a different agenda.
Madiba would never done it this way.
But then again, he is another kind of person altogether.
He is educated, and he has manners.
The PC members have neither of those attributes.
Wow! Straighten the line and run into space!
What a rugby wizard this Jones guy is.
What an utter ***head Fourie makes of himself.
You didn’t know this Jacquie boy?
Where the &^% did you learn rugby?
Macintosh and Jake White school of grunt and groan predictable rugby?
Yup it shows. We’re doomed.
7 Sep 2007, 15:33 pm
A disgrace, he should be welcomed into the Bok setup, not excluded!
7 Sep 2007, 15:35 pm
Big deal out of nothing I say.
theres always being a hint of payback in Eddie decision to take the job anyway.
7 Sep 2007, 15:41 pm
Eddie Jones is not an asset….he’s helping the boks to bury themselves….they wont make the semi’s
7 Sep 2007, 15:41 pm
genius, you’re not.
7 Sep 2007, 15:42 pm
if we win it, i would not only give him a blazer, but make him president of the PC and vote him as one of the top 10 south africans of all time.
7 Sep 2007, 15:42 pm
he is a genius…
7 Sep 2007, 15:45 pm
nope…
7 Sep 2007, 15:46 pm
Whilst I agree that this is a stupid decision (I questioned why he wasnt wearing a blazer after the Scotland game already), I think you guys are looking for controversy where there is none.
For the first time ever, we’ve had a smooth build up to the world cup, and just because there is no sensationalism to report on, now it needs to be made up.
Who cares about this?
7 Sep 2007, 15:47 pm
Mongril #19,
Great Stuff.
7 Sep 2007, 15:49 pm
#32. Spot on, nobody does!
7 Sep 2007, 15:50 pm
Hi guys,
The man from Texas again. I did over hear the commentators watching the Scotland game saying that Eddie would be seen dead in a bok blazer.
Maybe if he does he won’t be allowed back in OZ. I think this is all to do with Eddie and not the Bok setup.
7 Sep 2007, 15:53 pm
How does Eddie Moans feel about it? Does he care a mouse **** about the bok blazer? If I were him, it would be no big deal. He is there to offer badly needed professional advice for money and not because of his love of SA rugby.
Also after this tournament he will probably head off somewhere else, say England, France, Ireland, USA or where-ever. Will the Poms for example give him a blazer. If every nation gave these freelance coaches/advisors the official gear, dear Eddie can put together a very impressive wardrobe for his retirement.
I do feel however that he may be given an honorary blazer should the boks win the ultimate prize – not really for wearing but just as a gesture.
7 Sep 2007, 15:53 pm
#29 Stop embarrasing yourself with such rubbish! I’m not a fan of these men that lurk in the Shadown (the PC) but how soon we forget about Jones. The guy is an Aussie at heart, he can sell he’s mother for a $ and he does’nt give a sh@t about us. Mark my words , do not be suprised if he starts talking kak about us in the very near future when he’s made up with his own ilk. Lastly , he’s getting paid for his contribution , its not like he’s doing it out of the goodness of his heart. I wonder if Bok Physios get blazers too. Why not just give the whole lot?
7 Sep 2007, 15:59 pm
Would anyone notice the difference if he just wore his gold and green Aussie blazer instead?
- a wallaby looks similar to an upside-down antelope anyway!
Hmmmm… The big question though is – would Geo Cronje share a toilet with Eddie?!
Ahhh… the President’s Council… a bigger bunch of bell-ends you are not likely to meet
7 Sep 2007, 16:07 pm
I have a question ? Who the Hell is this Mafia called the PC. Everyone seems to be scared of them and nobody want to mention names. Please people put me out of my misery and tell me who these men (or maybe three legged Aliens) are ?
7 Sep 2007, 16:08 pm
sorry, you are quite correct, perhaps elevate him to no 2 on the alltime list just behind hansie?
u seemed to have lost your sense of humour.
7 Sep 2007, 16:10 pm
listen EJ could not give a ****, he has a job to do and is getting paid for it, the only ones that are getting the pluk are the aussies and some of the other teams, mostly because they are poepbang that an already strong bok team might just get that extra missing ingredient.
7 Sep 2007, 16:10 pm
Question is : Who would share HIS toilet with such an *******?
7 Sep 2007, 16:12 pm
September 7
Better be careful September the 11th is around the corner.
7 Sep 2007, 16:14 pm
thebacks have been aving about Eddie Jones’s contribution to the mix,
What has Alistair Coetzee been doing for 4 yrs????
paid holidays and free food!!
7 Sep 2007, 16:15 pm
Jones is a paid gun. The man is a turncoat. Would use a turncoat for what his worth, but never honour. The WC is about national pride not money. Jones sold his soul.
7 Sep 2007, 16:18 pm
Jones is a high class prostitute. Enjoy whats on offer but don’t honour like your wife.
7 Sep 2007, 16:22 pm
#47. Guess the same holds true for your Brazilian football coach! Very well paid as well.
7 Sep 2007, 16:23 pm
if Jake had any sense he would give Jones his blazer, it’s another downright STUPID move, it makes us look like plonkers, it is nothing short of a disgrace, if his opinion and work is good enough, then he should get a blazer!! finished and klaar!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
7 Sep 2007, 16:26 pm
#42 thats more like it! its the “if we win ” part that made me think you could be serious! truce then!
#44 LOL!
#46 Good question and whilst you are at it , also include the forward coaching staff. With all the resources we have in that area, we have under archieved! We should be decimating any scrum coming our way. Is that the case ? Not!
Good question indeed!
Lastly , credit be given to JW. He’s a wiley b@stard! With jones there , he already has an excuse should we not win the WC!
7 Sep 2007, 16:28 pm
#49 Oh! so true but remember each sport has different dynamics and culture! Rugby and soccer are sooo different !
7 Sep 2007, 16:33 pm
Rugby is significantly more tradional than football. Footballing nations literally buy players for their national. Rugby has not yet completely lost its soul.
7 Sep 2007, 16:35 pm
he must wear it….he deserves it….unlike other admin, etc…
7 Sep 2007, 16:38 pm
After the litany of embarrasments can we please ask Strauli to return his blazer ….
7 Sep 2007, 16:38 pm
OK so here we are caught up in the Green and Gold clouds and talking about EJ and Bok Blazers. But there is a bigger problem. I have just arrived back in India – slap bang in middle of desert in a caravan in Rajasthan with my sat dish and just found out ESPN India and Australia Network not broadcasting RWC arghhhhhhhhhh. Only ESPN Star Sports Singapore broadcasting all. So – there i am on sat phone to sat dealer. He is coming out in his 4X4 tomorrow (Saturday) with decoder n trying to hook me up to PAS 10 n Singapore. Here’s hoping. Otherwise I will be watching games on net. Ho hum – hope it all works out.
7 Sep 2007, 16:48 pm
Can someone please send Bok Drol a blazer
7 Sep 2007, 16:50 pm
hahaha – well said chch. Send to Bok Drol, Rajasthan, close to road NH15, Koslu Village, Barmer, Rajasthan.
7 Sep 2007, 16:59 pm
I fully share your disgust Keo at this preposterous petty-mindedness so typical of African politics.
7 Sep 2007, 17:09 pm
Does Rawlinson have a blazer that he can give Eddie?
7 Sep 2007, 17:15 pm
He can have mine if he wants. I dont use it anymore.
Doubt it would fit him though.
7 Sep 2007, 17:19 pm
well i am not going to read through all the comments on this one because I am busy getting ready for the WC opener and starting a braai.
but Keo summs it up perfectly in his last line:
“Yet, the amateurs who continue to run the professional side of the South African game, are more concerned with whether or not Jones gets given a Bok blazer.”
so here is the thing, start a fund, let the supporters of this game give old eddie moans one!
(I cannot believe the level of professionalism in this beautiful game of ours – another example is the media boycott against the IRB and WC, this **** is not only in SA, but all over the world)
7 Sep 2007, 17:28 pm
Rugby has never really come to terms with the professionalism thing.
7 Sep 2007, 17:33 pm
This is a true test of good manners. Do we have any? One answer: Jake and Eddie Jones wear the same. They can wear either Springboks training gear or they can both wear the Springboks suit. Its going to be hot – why wear a blazer anyway?????
7 Sep 2007, 17:35 pm
#62 braai? any muppets invited??
7 Sep 2007, 17:36 pm
Remember in 1995 – not a blazer to be seen. Mandela wore the #6 jersey.
7 Sep 2007, 17:47 pm
If I was Eddie Jones……
I would insist on the Bok Blazer or else I will let the back line run sideways again and defend empty space….easy
7 Sep 2007, 18:00 pm
STUPID TWATS
7 Sep 2007, 18:02 pm
Did any of those on the PC actually earn a bok blazer themselves?
7 Sep 2007, 18:03 pm
# 64 Excellent idea!
7 Sep 2007, 18:09 pm
for ****** sake the is paid,why don’t he buy a replica and wear it when springboks play.
7 Sep 2007, 18:16 pm
who cares
7 Sep 2007, 18:17 pm
Small things amuses small minds
7 Sep 2007, 18:21 pm
iffs=off’s
7 Sep 2007, 18:26 pm
I really couldn’t begin to site each and every comment here that says Jones couldn’t give a rats testicle about SA rugby. There are just too many. But I must point out one very important fact…
EJ is a pro.
Of course he wants the Boks to win. It’ll make him look good and his income will go up. That’s WHY he is a pro.
For goodness sake, how thick are you ppl?
7 Sep 2007, 18:28 pm
For goodness sake, how thick are you ppl?
Comment by stavros : September 7, 2007 @ 6:26 pm
That is surely rethorical stavros?
I’ve given up all hope for a large contingent of ppl who are either too stupid to understand or are unwilling to chnage their thinking.
7 Sep 2007, 18:28 pm
already drunk so early,you bloody useless,or maybe you wanna share a toilet with eddie moans snorting.
7 Sep 2007, 18:33 pm
Hello Ladies
7 Sep 2007, 18:33 pm
are the Facist Police still about ??
7 Sep 2007, 18:36 pm
Eddie will, get his Bok Blazer after the final, or not, before the final….
7 Sep 2007, 18:39 pm
did the reds give him their blazer after such an embarassing season.
7 Sep 2007, 18:45 pm
I see etterkoppie and his alternative lifestyle friend are at it again
7 Sep 2007, 18:47 pm
abelly howzit my friend,looking forward to the big match.
7 Sep 2007, 18:49 pm
Yip I hope the froggies get stretched a bit tonight!
7 Sep 2007, 18:55 pm
they will get stretched my friend,those pumas forwards are very strong.
7 Sep 2007, 18:58 pm
I just hope they can last the last 20min!Its unlikely but would make for a nice change if they win!
7 Sep 2007, 19:03 pm
no no no they shouldn’t we need the host to go all the way to the final.
7 Sep 2007, 19:05 pm
They will get klapped by the Boks etterkoppie!
7 Sep 2007, 19:11 pm
yes they’ll get klopped after the world cup,the froggies have flair,you know flair right my friend.
7 Sep 2007, 19:14 pm
after todays game you’ll be hoping england beat us,so we play nz in the semis.
7 Sep 2007, 19:21 pm
i need a blazer too,like to ripit apart to make me self a nice shade
7 Sep 2007, 19:23 pm
Maybe money for another blazer is the issue. Can we put Alistair in a jumper and give his blazer to Eddie, since he doesn’t add real value?
7 Sep 2007, 19:25 pm
Johannes – same goes for Gert Smal
7 Sep 2007, 19:27 pm
everybody loves aussies now.
7 Sep 2007, 19:34 pm
how can anyone trust a man who betrays his nation,in fact his family.i don’t trust him,i bet the aussies are laughing at you fools trying to get eddie maons a bok blazer.
7 Sep 2007, 19:41 pm
i can give him my voottrekker hoerskool blazer,bloody useless to have this kak with me,never like that fakken skool anyway.steyn can vouch for me.
7 Sep 2007, 20:46 pm
I hear Eddie has changed his name to
Eddie ‘Judas’ Johannes
7 Sep 2007, 20:59 pm
For goodness sake. Here we go again with those idiots who sit on the Presidents Council.
7 Sep 2007, 21:13 pm
Bok blazers are a commonplace these days. If the team’s wintergreen-rubber gets to wear one, so should Eddie Jones.
7 Sep 2007, 21:46 pm
SARU are a sick joke from head to toe, hey?
7 Sep 2007, 22:02 pm
I reckon eddie did not want to wear the Bok blazer so this decision was made to save face.
7 Sep 2007, 23:50 pm
Dis nou hokken belaglik.
8 Sep 2007, 00:29 am
Eddie Jones is a ledgend. He in furiated us when he coached the ozzys and now he is going to get under everyone elses skin at the RWC by helping the boks get past the semis!
He is one of the best coaches of all time, and SARU have slapped him in face with this kak!
8 Sep 2007, 02:27 am
i think stofile stole jone’s jacket that why he does nt have one!!!! i wonder if stofile will try to fine jones when he comes back for a visit…….
8 Sep 2007, 07:55 am
There are a lot of SA. rugby player’s that don’t deserve there blazer’s.
8 Sep 2007, 07:59 am
Keo, you should extract the best comments and publish them on a funnies page.
8 Sep 2007, 08:41 am
Hierdie politicians is deur die kuk…
Die man moet ons help om die WC te wen, maar hy mag nie n bok blazer kry nie!!!
They more worried about not giving Eddie a boks blazer then what they are about the crime and corruption in this country!!!
If I was jake, I would have given Eddie a bok blazer… What can they do, fire him??? In the WC!!!
MMMmmmm must say, these politicians is SA will probably do that!!!
8 Sep 2007, 09:38 am
#98 Your rugby association did not want him, so who are the idiots here?
8 Sep 2007, 09:45 am
16″ black
your comment 21 proves what little you know about rugby. Jones was not involved in this years aussies set up. Jones should wear the Bok blazer and it is a nonsensical decision by our politicians.
8 Sep 2007, 10:19 am
well written keo. good reflection of the state of the rugby administration.
similar to the political floor crossing. always a good reason why the crosser aligns with a new political party. normally for the “good of the constituency”. no one ever mentions the backhander(of course not)
the biggest insult probably is that these fat cats making decisions in the closed boardroom think that the public out there is stupid!
i think that says it all. that’s the intelligence we dealing with. i rest my case.
8 Sep 2007, 10:22 am
following 110.
if he was offered to wear it he probably would not have. would have caused to much upset back home.
they really missed the point.(luckily, EJ know how stupid and childish the administrators are)
8 Sep 2007, 11:55 am
Eddie Jones is a professional and it shouldn’t worry him too much. What worries me is this “Presidents Council” (don’t they have more important matters to deal with like SA’s image- this just makes us the laughing stock of the rest of the world). Then there is the the oxwagon mentality of some – why is Eddie a prostitute, a judas and all the other stuff? It’s a free world and he can ply his trade where he likes – if Robbie Deans does leave Canterbury and become the Aus coach doubt if he’ll be subject to the same namecalling.
8 Sep 2007, 12:22 pm
I don’t know what the basis for not allowing him to wear the Bok blazer is but it sure does not sound right. However, I really could not careless if he was only permitted to wear an underwear with the Bok logo on it. Jeez lets not get worked up too much on it. We need to talk about rugby and that is all…some idiot in SARU will always stuff up but we cannot control that…all we can hope for is that Jones can contribute something positive in his short time with the Boks. Tomorrow we face Samoa and they will come at us at 100 miles per hour!! We have to be ready and subdue them. That is only thing on my mind right now!!not some bok blazer!!
8 Sep 2007, 13:41 pm
bhupendra the issue is deeper than the bok blazer.
most people on this site are pissed off by the trivialties of the rugby fat cats. and the way they take decisions.
all of us (SA supporters) are fired up for the upcoming match!!!! enjoy the match
8 Sep 2007, 14:52 pm
#11 Since when did you follow the boks on this blog? Go find a kiwi site, lol. Only joking mate you love them Ozzie’s I know that.
8 Sep 2007, 14:53 pm
well said whistleblower! Why are the administrators dreaming up stupid an offensive ideas like this when half the unions in the country are bankrupt or underperforming. [EG WP/EP/Boland etc]
Just shows how misplaced and amatuer their priorities are!
[P.s. I would love to know if Tim Lane and all the other foreigners who have help the boks were denied the blazer??]
8 Sep 2007, 15:28 pm
As long as we will the wereld beker. I sure he will get SARU Presidential nomination
8 Sep 2007, 15:39 pm
Eddie jones is scared to face the tug committee. That is why he is not getting a blazer
8 Sep 2007, 16:59 pm
What is the difference between Rattlebones turning his back on South Africa and going to play for Australia and Eddie Jones turning his back on Australis helping to coach South Africa?
Most bloggers here villified Rattlebones as a traitor, but Jones does the same thing and because you think he may help SA win the WRC it is ok and he is a great man!
A bit of a double standard isn’t it?
9 Sep 2007, 10:56 am
Either jones is part of the team or not. And it has been shown that he is. But the SARU idiots as usual do not have a single bone of management expertise in their bodies (in addition to not having a spine).
The oppportunity was there to draw him in, make him feel part of teh team, make the team feel he was with them. Now the team feels embarrassed (for their administrators being callous), and puts their mind on other things. Smart, real smart, you Freaking amateur morons. The quicker an oil robber baron steals your positions out from under you , the better…