Jones Bok blazer jolt

Eddie Jones will not be allowed to wear the Springbok blazer at the World Cup, writes Keo in the Independent Newspapers.

Former Wallabies coach Jones is being paid to help South Africa win the World Cup, but not even the prospect of a World Cup win will get him a Springbok blazer.

Jones, the mastermind of Australian rugby between 2001 and 2005, has officially been appointed the Springboks Technical Adviser at the Rugby World Cup, but he won’t be allowed to wear the Springbok blazer.

Jones can wear the Springboks training gear and he can wear the Springboks suit, which has a Springbok emblem on the pocket, but the Presidents’ Council of the South African Rugby Union has determined he cannot be seen in a Springbok green and gold blazer.

Jones is understood to be accepting of the regulation and so too is Bok coach Jake White, who has employed Jones for his technical expertise and not fashion sense.

But the irony is that the man who most neutral observers believe will be the major influence in a Springbok World Cup success is not allowed to put on a green blazer, but the Presidents’ Council has no problem with an assistant physiotherapist, a physiotherapist, a video technician, a doctor, a media officer and a consulting specialist, who wore an England blazer in 2003, wearing the green and gold Bok blazer.

The country’s president, Thabo Mbeki is given a Bok blazer, Nelson Mandela is given a Bok blazer. Jones is not. Jones, who assisted the Boks for a fortnight in South Africa and the another week in Scotland, has consistently boosted their cause at the World Cup.

He has said New Zealand are the tournament favourites, but he has singled out the Springboks as the only team to beat them. He has said his loyalty at this World Cup is with the Boks, because that’s where his professional association is. He has done this at his expense in Australia.

The Bok players have waxed lyrical about Jones’ input. Springbok centre Jaque Fourie said the backs have started to straighten the line again and attack space.

Every Bok backline player has complimented Jones.

The forwards have been as generous in their praise. Bok captain John Smit said it was refreshing to hear such applicable wisdom and the Bok coach (White) has consistently preached the virtues of Jones, believing him to be the best technical strategist in the game.

Yet, the amateurs who continue to run the professional side of the South African game, are more concerned with whether or not Jones gets given a Bok blazer.

120 Comments

• 51.16 inch black: Reply to this comment

#42 thats more like it! its the “if we win ” part that made me think you could be serious! truce then!

#44 LOL!

#46 Good question and whilst you are at it , also include the forward coaching staff. With all the resources we have in that area, we have under archieved! We should be decimating any scrum coming our way. Is that the case ? Not!
    Good question indeed!

Lastly , credit be given to JW. He’s a wiley b@stard! With jones there , he already has an excuse should we not win the WC!

• 52.16 inch black: Reply to this comment

#49 Oh! so true but remember each sport has different dynamics and culture! Rugby and soccer are sooo different !

• 53.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

Rugby is significantly more tradional than football. Footballing nations literally buy players for their national. Rugby has not yet completely lost its soul.

• 54.jdjames: Reply to this comment

he must wear it….he deserves it….unlike other admin, etc…

• 55.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

After the litany of embarrasments can we please ask Strauli to return his blazer ….

• 56.Bok Drol inIndia: Reply to this comment

OK so here we are caught up in the Green and Gold clouds and talking about EJ and Bok Blazers. But there is a bigger problem. I have just arrived back in India – slap bang in middle of desert in a caravan in Rajasthan with my sat dish and just found out ESPN India and Australia Network not broadcasting RWC arghhhhhhhhhh. Only ESPN Star Sports Singapore broadcasting all. So – there i am on sat phone to sat dealer. He is coming out in his 4X4 tomorrow (Saturday) with decoder n trying to hook me up to PAS 10 n Singapore. Here’s hoping. Otherwise I will be watching games on net. Ho hum – hope it all works out.

• 57.chch: Reply to this comment

Can someone please send Bok Drol a blazer

• 58.Bok Drol inIndia: Reply to this comment

hahaha – well said chch. Send to Bok Drol, Rajasthan, close to road NH15, Koslu Village, Barmer, Rajasthan.

• 59.J.B. Cowper: Reply to this comment

I fully share your disgust Keo at this preposterous petty-mindedness so typical of African politics.

• 60.chch: Reply to this comment

Does Rawlinson have a blazer that he can give Eddie?

• 61.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

He can have mine if he wants. I dont use it anymore.
    Doubt it would fit him though.

• 62.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

well i am not going to read through all the comments on this one because I am busy getting ready for the WC opener and starting a braai.

but Keo summs it up perfectly in his last line:

“Yet, the amateurs who continue to run the professional side of the South African game, are more concerned with whether or not Jones gets given a Bok blazer.”

so here is the thing, start a fund, let the supporters of this game give old eddie moans one!

(I cannot believe the level of professionalism in this beautiful game of ours – another example is the media boycott against the IRB and WC, this **** is not only in SA, but all over the world)

• 63.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Rugby has never really come to terms with the professionalism thing.

• 64.wardie: Reply to this comment

This is a true test of good manners. Do we have any? One answer: Jake and Eddie Jones wear the same. They can wear either Springboks training gear or they can both wear the Springboks suit. Its going to be hot – why wear a blazer anyway?????

• 65.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

#62 braai? any muppets invited?? :)

• 66.wardie: Reply to this comment

Remember in 1995 – not a blazer to be seen. Mandela wore the #6 jersey.

• 67.Pik Steal: Reply to this comment

If I was Eddie Jones……
    I would insist on the Bok Blazer or else I will let the back line run sideways again and defend empty space….easy

• 68.Nightwalker: Reply to this comment

STUPID TWATS

• 69.Nightwalker: Reply to this comment

Did any of those on the PC actually earn a bok blazer themselves?

• 70.Nightwalker: Reply to this comment

# 64 Excellent idea!

• 71.e-tigerhabs: Reply to this comment

for ****** sake the is paid,why don’t he buy a replica and wear it when springboks play.

• 72.joeboy: Reply to this comment

who cares

• 73.dWeePer: Reply to this comment

Small things amuses small minds

• 74.Xkreni-WP: Reply to this comment

iffs=off’s

• 75.stavros: Reply to this comment

I really couldn’t begin to site each and every comment here that says Jones couldn’t give a rats testicle about SA rugby. There are just too many. But I must point out one very important fact…

EJ is a pro.

Of course he wants the Boks to win. It’ll make him look good and his income will go up. That’s WHY he is a pro.

For goodness sake, how thick are you ppl?

• 76.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

For goodness sake, how thick are you ppl?

Comment by stavros : September 7, 2007 @ 6:26 pm

That is surely rethorical stavros?

I’ve given up all hope for a large contingent of ppl who are either too stupid to understand or are unwilling to chnage their thinking.

• 77.e-tigerhabs: Reply to this comment

already drunk so early,you bloody useless,or maybe you wanna share a toilet with eddie moans snorting.

• 78.vindicated: Reply to this comment

Hello Ladies

• 79.vindicated: Reply to this comment

are the Facist Police still about ??

• 80.Pik Steal: Reply to this comment

Eddie will, get his Bok Blazer after the final, or not, before the final….

• 81.e-tigerhabs: Reply to this comment

did the reds give him their blazer after such an embarassing season.

• 82.AB: Reply to this comment

I see etterkoppie and his alternative lifestyle friend are at it again

• 83.e-tigerhabs: Reply to this comment

abelly howzit my friend,looking forward to the big match.

• 84.AB: Reply to this comment

Yip I hope the froggies get stretched a bit tonight!

• 85.e-tigerhabs: Reply to this comment

they will get stretched my friend,those pumas forwards are very strong.

• 86.AB: Reply to this comment

I just hope they can last the last 20min!Its unlikely but would make for a nice change if they win!

• 87.e-tigerhabs: Reply to this comment

no no no they shouldn’t we need the host to go all the way to the final.

• 88.AB: Reply to this comment

They will get klapped by the Boks etterkoppie!

• 89.e-tigerhabs: Reply to this comment

yes they’ll get klopped after the world cup,the froggies have flair,you know flair right my friend.

• 90.e-tigerhabs: Reply to this comment

after todays game you’ll be hoping england beat us,so we play nz in the semis.

• 91.e-tigerhabs: Reply to this comment

i need a blazer too,like to ripit apart to make me self a nice shade

• 92.Johannes Expatinus: Reply to this comment

Maybe money for another blazer is the issue. Can we put Alistair in a jumper and give his blazer to Eddie, since he doesn’t add real value?

• 93.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Johannes – same goes for Gert Smal

• 94.e-tigerhabs: Reply to this comment

everybody loves aussies now.

• 95.e-tigerhabs: Reply to this comment

how can anyone trust a man who betrays his nation,in fact his family.i don’t trust him,i bet the aussies are laughing at you fools trying to get eddie maons a bok blazer.

• 96.e-tigerhabs: Reply to this comment

i can give him my voottrekker hoerskool blazer,bloody useless to have this kak with me,never like that fakken skool anyway.steyn can vouch for me.

• 97.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

I hear Eddie has changed his name to

Eddie ‘Judas’ Johannes

• 98.K-Rod: Reply to this comment

For goodness sake. Here we go again with those idiots who sit on the Presidents Council.

• 99.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Bok blazers are a commonplace these days. If the team’s wintergreen-rubber gets to wear one, so should Eddie Jones.

• 100.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

SARU are a sick joke from head to toe, hey?

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.