Poms pasted in Paris
14 Sep 2007
The prophecy of an England pummeling came to pass when South Africa secured a 36-0 whitewash in St Denis.
With only two pool matches remaining against the USA and Tonga, the Boks are certain to top Pool A. By beating England, they have secured an easier path to the semi-finals.
The way South Africa began it appeared as if a 50-pointer was on the cards. After the initial exchanges, JP Pietersen broke down the blindside off a line-out and found Fourie du Preez in good support. The Bok scrumhalf lost his footing but was still able to set up flanker Juan Smith for a well worked try.
What followed was an all out assault on the England back three. South Africa dominated the line-outs and the ball never went further than first-receiver, where one of Butch James, Frans Steyn or Du Preez would send it into orbit. Their accuracy was telling, with the likes of Jason Robinson often caught out by the Bok chasers. Du Preez also showed some great vision when kicking infield off a penalty, finding space and Jaque Fourie collecting off the run. Unfortunately, the centre lost the ball just before he tried to place the ball over the line.
England were rudderless without Jonny Wilkinson, with Andy Farrell and Mike Catt producing poor efforts in clearing from the flyhalf channel. The number of mistakes the duo made in this position was also unacceptable, be it through a misdirected kick or spilled ball, it just served to heap more pressure on an already battered English defence.
Victor Matfield provided the platform from the line-out, while his second row partner Bakkies Botha got through an exemplary amount of work around the park. The South African scrum were also strong at scrumtime even though they received little opportunity to attack.
Wikus van Heerden was a worthy understudy to Schalk Burger, carrying the ball up strongly and pilfering a few balls off the deck. His cleaning around the rucks was also integral to quick ball, as this enabled the South African kickers to drive the English back into their own half.
Du Preez was in masterful form from the base, be it with ball in hand or with his formidable boot. He created the first try for Smith and then sparked the second just before half-time, stepping past a rushing defender and surging upfield. He drew the last man superbly before freeing up Pietersen, who raced in unopposed and ensured the Boks went to the break with a 20-0 advantage.
England persisted with their tight tactics but the poor attack evident in the World Cup warm ups was once again the inhibitor. Catt never challenged the Bok defence and Farrell was equally impotent. Anybody who expected a surprise in the department would have been bitterly disappointed. But conventional wisdom would suggest this group wasn’t numerous.
England scrapped, but South Africa never allowed the play to become scrappy. They continued to pin the Poms back in their own half, and the killer blow was delivered in the 64th minute through Pietersen’s second try. Du Preez was the orchestrator once again, benefitting from a great forward platform to race round the blindside and direct a simple run in for the South African right winger.
The gap between the two sides was gigantic, but South Afirca never shifted from third gear. They cruised to this win and at the same time ensured England suffered the ultimate humiliation by never securing a point.
For all his magic, Du Preez will be a concern for the Boks after clutching his troublesome shoulder late in the second half. He was duly substituted and the South Africans will hope there is not further damage.
England may not be so lucky, with Robinson pulling up with looked to be a serious hamstring injury. Although Wilkinson and Olly Barkley should be fit for the playoffs, the loss of the veteran should hit England just as hard. Jamie Noon was also stretchered from the field in the dying minutes and could also miss the deciding game against Samoa.
If this game confirmed anything it was that the Webb Ellis Trophy will change hands by the end of this tournament. The big question for England is whether they can surpass Samoa and qualify for the playoffs. On this sort of effort, even the most ardent English fan may be in doubt.
South Africa – Tries: Juan Smith, JP Pietersen (2). Conversions: Percy Montgomery (3). Penalties: Francois Steyn, Montgomery (4).
England – None.
By Jon Cardinelli

601 Comments
14 Sep 2007, 20:50 pm
BOKKE
14 Sep 2007, 20:50 pm
Piledrive those English gits
14 Sep 2007, 20:51 pm
Go Bokke. Supporting you on Live scoring from the Ukraine. Damn Sports coverage sucks here !! Give me the details guys !!
14 Sep 2007, 20:52 pm
WOOOOOOOOHOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!
14 Sep 2007, 21:01 pm
ENGLAND its time to taste the PAIN !
14 Sep 2007, 21:06 pm
Go to newstalk.ie and you will get radio commentary
14 Sep 2007, 21:09 pm
Try!
Told u all jpp is not so bad
14 Sep 2007, 21:20 pm
oh ****!! hope vic matfield is ok
14 Sep 2007, 21:21 pm
hello mense, flamedolla here flametoppie se vrou, go bokke!!!, flamebaba slaap lekker in sy bok babygrow en ons drink n bietjie meerlust in die bok honour.
14 Sep 2007, 21:28 pm
Penalty Try red card
14 Sep 2007, 21:29 pm
Cite the *******!
14 Sep 2007, 21:36 pm
Variety, Hands on the ball. Territory.
14 Sep 2007, 21:40 pm
Butch having a great game.
14 Sep 2007, 21:41 pm
I feel alone?
14 Sep 2007, 21:42 pm
C’Mon Percy, If you’re going to go for a droppie at least get it right. No one minds the points, but everyone prefers trys
14 Sep 2007, 21:43 pm
How can anyone enjoy Rugby when Hugh Bladen is commentating. Only Errol Tobias can be worse then him. This English team is weak.We will win easily.
14 Sep 2007, 21:44 pm
Matt Stevens doing his bit for the SA cause.
14 Sep 2007, 21:46 pm
The Irish commetary is awesome….John Robbie doing the job.
14 Sep 2007, 21:46 pm
Pieterson, trying to catch Habanero
14 Sep 2007, 21:47 pm
SA 20 – England 0
Go you beautiful things
14 Sep 2007, 21:47 pm
we like it!!! We have no coverage so listening on the radio, feel positively prehistoric.
14 Sep 2007, 21:48 pm
Give that try to Wikus Van Heerden. Feet up Schalk. Drool Richie.
14 Sep 2007, 21:49 pm
Where are you Flametop?
Boys, I am loving this…
Could be massive second half.
yea me too – no television coverage – listening to it on RSG from deepest Rajasthan in India – go Bokke. My prediction was 54-17 to bokke xxxx gonna have to change that to 60 – nil hahahahahah
14 Sep 2007, 21:50 pm
This Bok side is looking good.
Bok backline beginning to fire.
14 Sep 2007, 21:51 pm
Impressive first half. SA need to close the game out now by scoring next.
Great turnover Wickus.
Gareth
14 Sep 2007, 21:51 pm
The english defensive lines are going to open up in the second half.
There is too much pressure on them to save this game.
Whats up with fourie and his spill??
14 Sep 2007, 21:52 pm
Wickus has been monumental…
Should have made my prediction 48-0 instead of 48-11.
yomama, in dublin, but no cable tv!! Where you?
Anyone got an internet link to watch live??
14 Sep 2007, 21:53 pm
Wikus is ‘n YSTER!! What you on about wannabe?
14 Sep 2007, 21:54 pm
Chaps,
As much as this hurts (and it does) for a Kiwi bloke – you South Africans must be very proud of this Springbok team.
This is an awesome performance by the Boks.
You are finalists, unquestionably,
You’re halfback Fourie is without a doubt the best in the world.
If the All Blacks underrate this team, I’m afraid it will be ‘four more years, boys’.
Butch James had a really good half.
Great game so far boks, just keep them pinned in their own half Butch.
Butch james is playing a great game, but the man of the match at half time is Fourie du Preez.
England need a miracle from here!!
20-0 Should end up at about 40-0!!
14 Sep 2007, 21:56 pm
There you go so who has come to the party, all those that were written off, JPP, Frans Steyn, Wickus van Heerden, have all made huge contributions, but then so has FdP, Butch, Juan Smith, Bakkies has been enormous.
Steyn has had a tremendous game in the midfield, Wickus stole that all important ball for the second try, FdP is having a blinder and so is JPP so far.
#33 takes a big man to say that.
Looking forward to the final against the mighty ABs
What a game!
FDP is simply the best and Schalk may have just lost his place to Wikus
14 Sep 2007, 21:57 pm
Flametop.
I’m sitting in the States, watching the game through the internet on Setanta.
Ag te lekker!!!
20:0 half time
)
A nil on the cards
)
Where’s Big-Hit? … I think I saw him jump on the new Eurostar express to Paris … gone to tell the England players the game has actually started.
Percy, hand those drops to Steyn. Could be 30-0 by now!
Go bokke!!!
Would like to see Danie Rossouw feature a bit more in the second half and also waiting for CJ!!
14 Sep 2007, 21:58 pm
All I can say is WOW! Keep it up in the 2nd half!
Lets hope they keep up the pressure and don’t let up, keep up the intensity and push home the advantage.
where is big hit ?
I think that the Poms have too much pride to buckle, completely.
Either SA will start doing silly stuff or the Poms will start the niggle. I fear the latter.
14 Sep 2007, 22:00 pm
Yomama is the link subscription, can you post the link.
14 Sep 2007, 22:00 pm
Dave-o
Finalists only due to an easy route to the finals.
A grand final….the boks need stiffer opposition to ascertain their real worth.
Just think the english are not that good today.
One can see that the english players minds have succumbed to defeat before they went on the field.
14 Sep 2007, 22:02 pm
#45 It’s not about pride, the boks have too much class for these poms.
14 Sep 2007, 22:03 pm
Ja, It’s a bloody fortune. I’m glad that my wife loves me.
14 Sep 2007, 22:03 pm
Wallabie u are so right. This English team is useless and a win against them does not mean anything. I just hope the SA team realises it and do not become too arrogant
14 Sep 2007, 22:04 pm
Alek,
Here Here.
14 Sep 2007, 22:04 pm
#47, Still agree with Connoly re England being a biggere threat than SA in the QF?
14 Sep 2007, 22:05 pm
i had forgotten how excellent radio commentary of rugby is – in Afrikaans – reminds me of my youth – 23 -0 *** xlnt – go Percy
14 Sep 2007, 22:05 pm
23-0 bOKS!!
14 Sep 2007, 22:06 pm
hey chris – howzit dude
14 Sep 2007, 22:07 pm
Howzit Denno ho U doing!!?
not many fans can say they listened to boks play on RSG hahaha – from Rajasthan India
What a game bru!!
14 Sep 2007, 22:08 pm
lekker bru – no TV coverage – so this sad dude listening on internet radio – sounds brilliant
I’m at pozzie, just finished half a bottle of single malt!!
Yeah Bayby Yeah!!
i predicted54-17 to boks – will change to 60-0 to boks hahahahahah
14 Sep 2007, 22:09 pm
ahl be in South Africa Dec 01 – hope ure there – keep a beer cold for me
Ok all i will fill in for biggit hit
This is not our #1 team,we are out playing you guys in the forwrds cos we have the best forward pack in the world.
Is that close
Everything keeps going right toyota
14 Sep 2007, 22:10 pm
England are looking pathetic to be quite honest, but the game is 80 mins long, so let’s see what happens.
RSG must bring back some memories of Springbok Radio.
14 Sep 2007, 22:11 pm
Denno, for you bru I will have a phucking Keg of beer and much, much more!!
14 Sep 2007, 22:11 pm
exactly – sitting on the stoep eating biltong and listening to radio hahahahahahah xx commentary from Planet Rugby says “Englad are fading away” hahaha x more like Blown Away
14 Sep 2007, 22:13 pm
Engeland, ag man shame!!!
14 Sep 2007, 22:13 pm
Bokdrol, I envy you, all that lekker curry!!
14 Sep 2007, 22:15 pm
i am gatvol of curry bru xx i have all the guys here in Rajasthan braaing
The Boks are playing a very controlled game. They are very diciplined
Jake White for President!!
14 Sep 2007, 22:16 pm
England are a joke really,they deserved the cup in 2003 but in 2004 they shaould have gave it away,since then they have looked like a second rate team.
But not taking anything away from SA,you gys have turned it on which is a good thing
When did a All Black team last underrate a SA team,i would say never.
14 Sep 2007, 22:17 pm
Calm down,maybe if you win the RWC
now Ruaan Pienaar will spark – two more tries
Ruan Pienaar on the wing for Habana.
Check you in December Denno, will you be here for xmas?
14 Sep 2007, 22:18 pm
yea 74 – when i listen to the rugby in India and listen to commentary by Kiwis or Aussies i always say that they no more about rugby than any other – and no bias – and they really rate teh Bokke
14 Sep 2007, 22:19 pm
Jason Robinson just pulled his hammie!!
Now England are even more phucked!!
And Robinson is Gooooonnneeeee!!!!!!!!!!1
I’ll be in Durban Dec 1 – Dec 14 xx hope u n Big Mike there
Pienaar 10
Butch 12
Steyn 14
14 Sep 2007, 22:20 pm
Bad luck -he’s had a good game so far
14 Sep 2007, 22:20 pm
Intercept try coming up for SA soon
14 Sep 2007, 22:22 pm
Aw man what is it with the refs, us and contesting the high ball
14 Sep 2007, 22:23 pm
belaglik – haven’t heard that word for a long time. Thats what RSG commentators are saying about ref’s decisions
Aaarg Nooit Denno, I get home on the 29th Dec, dunno ’bout Big Bike though.
HABANA IS BACK !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!11
14 Sep 2007, 22:24 pm
Be prepared to have FDP cited for a year or three
14 Sep 2007, 22:24 pm
Habana back on, must have been a blood bin.
14 Sep 2007, 22:25 pm
aggg nee man meerlust klaar!!!
14 Sep 2007, 22:26 pm
England are now in danger of being ‘nilled’ hahaha
14 Sep 2007, 22:26 pm
Brian Ashton. “There’s a mood in the squad I haven’t seen in the whole time since I took over. It’s a different mind-set.”
Well Brian, there’s going to be different mind-set after this game -
14 Sep 2007, 22:27 pm
TRY!
Jaaaayyyy Peeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
TRYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY !!!!!!!!!! AND WHAT A TRY IS WAS !!FDP U DA MAN !!!!!!!!!!!11
we like it we like it!!!!!
Like I said, Peterson trying to catch Habanero.
Brilliant FdP break through to JPP and Steyn set it off, brilliant try, world class.
14 Sep 2007, 22:28 pm
Fourie du Preez for President!!
14 Sep 2007, 22:30 pm
One more try for the BP
14 Sep 2007, 22:30 pm
quote from Planet Rugby hahahahah “It’s getting stupid now – Corry takes a quick tap-penalty and breaks completely alone. He is brought down and mugged by Pietersen of all people. It’s hard to believe the English are professional rugby players. What has happened to them?
14 Sep 2007, 22:31 pm
Steyn always in the thick of the action stopping every midfield drive. FdP man of the match, Wickus, Steyn, Bakkies, JPP all having games like never before. This is the team to go to the final.
14 Sep 2007, 22:31 pm
Going on this performance,will England make it out of the pool.
Tonga must be a threat to England now,lol
14 Sep 2007, 22:32 pm
Great bit of commentary from Hugh Bladen . . .. “Sackie is sacked”!!
Percy having a Stormer
14 Sep 2007, 22:33 pm
one more frm PR “England were on the ropes, now they are on the canvas”
14 Sep 2007, 22:34 pm
Ref having a good game.
14 Sep 2007, 22:35 pm
Percy was once a stormer . . . . . if only he played as well those days!!
And Bobby the biscuit is now on!!
revenge for the 53-3 Go Bokke push them past the fifty pointer
The last Englishman to run with the ball was William Web Ellis!!!
14 Sep 2007, 22:37 pm
#110, that’s exactly what I was thinking . . . .
:-d
14 Sep 2007, 22:39 pm
**** these bloody smileys!!
14 Sep 2007, 22:40 pm
Too much malt scotch!!
Modawg..this one’s for you.
C’mon Boks let’s get the bonus point try!!
14 Sep 2007, 22:41 pm
Steyn off , great game by the youngster
This English teams are a bunch of clowns – bring on the real oppostition. SA just toying with them to pass the time LOL
Flametop . . .
U R my HERO!!
14 Sep 2007, 22:42 pm
Guys, get a room.
14 Sep 2007, 22:43 pm
Nog ‘n englesman wat seer gekry ——- he le en kreun hahah – commentary is brilliant
14 Sep 2007, 22:43 pm
Lewswey for Liverpool
14 Sep 2007, 22:45 pm
Awesome effort SA, very comprehensive, looking good, see you later.
Is the rest of tournament worth watching now?
Hope you havent peaked too soon, haha,
great stuff
Why bring AP on, he just cost us a try with a shockingly stupid pass.
Yo mama
Hardly, steady on.
Anyway what time does the game start.
(Are Eng still on Grenwich Mean Time?)
14 Sep 2007, 22:46 pm
Thumped – out of sight
well done bokke – good nite all from India
36-0 who would have guessed that, certainly not me.
14 Sep 2007, 22:47 pm
Englands biggest spanking in RWC history
World Champions = 0 points
Couple of Kiwis will be reaching for the prozac round about now.
Beauty where is Big Hit and St Mich HA HA HA
Well done Bokke from the Blarney Bokke Supporters
Cheers buggers, till next time.
36-0 superb!!! Well done Bokke!! England could do nothing, they are so weak, they will lose to Samoa at this rate
Game over, one consolation for England is that they stopped us from scoring a bonus point try.
Where is that Big(doos) Hit?
FYI a doos is a box . . . he he he ha bwah hmph!!
14 Sep 2007, 22:48 pm
For the next four years everytime St Mich opens that trap. Just say 36-0
England were lucky to score ZERO . . . . HA HA HA!!
Well done to the Boks!
Did not need a bonus point as they have already beaten the two strongest sides in their pool.
Now we can just hope Du Preez does not get sited so that we can prepare for the Welsh Boys Choir in peace…
14 Sep 2007, 22:50 pm
Today the world champs, tomorrow the Zimbabwean Pound.
14 Sep 2007, 22:50 pm
Well done Bokke but PLEASE!!!!!! dont get carried away. This is the worst English team, ever.
14 Sep 2007, 22:51 pm
England now still have to play Samoa . . . .OUCH!!”
Bokke Bokke Bokke !
Hanne op al die profete wat gese het Eng gaan wen!
14 Sep 2007, 22:52 pm
I think that Connaught would have beaten England today!!
14 Sep 2007, 22:53 pm
Du Preez was going for the ball, it would be a travesty if he was cited.
14 Sep 2007, 22:54 pm
That’s what happens when you pick an ex EP flyhalf.Great day for the Poms.Whipped in the cricket and drilled in the rugby.
England were lucky to score ZERO . . . . HA HA HA!!
Stunned! Now I believe we can go all the way. Well done EJ (sorry but you can see the transformation with EJ’s input).
JS came out looking like a man on a mission. An omen I dare-say.
Id there was a weak link it was JF. Why didn’y he pop pass to Habbana?
Did we miss Skalk? Naw. Steyn was absoultely brilliant and made more tackles/turnovers than Skalk (abely supported by Wikus).
FdP was excellent also. As was Percy.
Butch was totally solid and who wants to complain about his kicking now?
Also JPP showed he doesn’t deserve the bad press he has had. Obviously SA used him rather than Habbana and foiled England plans of watching Habbana like a hawk.
Everybody played well and hell I’m so proud! Just wondering what the neighbours (mainly Americans) are thinking of one person’s noise from a flat!
14 Sep 2007, 22:55 pm
yomama – no worries here mate, you keep the prozac to yourself.
Well done SA, and England, you were awful, a disgrace as current holders actually
What time is the Eng SA game?
Du Preez will be out for 4 weeks. It did not look good.
Now if england won i am sure big hit would have logged on here by now
14 Sep 2007, 22:56 pm
what did Du Preez do?
14 Sep 2007, 22:57 pm
I just think we should have gone for the line out instead of that last penalty, perhaps it was just a little too conservative from the boks!!
He played a man of the match performance.
Du Preez will be fine,that penalty was a joke.He got both hands to the ball.Italian linesman must open his eyes.
14 Sep 2007, 22:58 pm
#151, W
14 Sep 2007, 22:59 pm
#151, Where did you get that info from, is that coz of his injury?
14 Sep 2007, 23:00 pm
Just sorry for Robinson, he was England’s MOM.
He looked fine at the end of the game(FDP).
Where oh where, is Big hit…
I am loving this
14 Sep 2007, 23:01 pm
#158 I think 151 is just being sarcastic…
Who’s the best in the World ? the BOKS !! Comeon Mike Stofile ! you are the loser ! You don’t no anything about rugby. Leave sports to people who know’s what it’s about.
Congrats Boks !!!!!! We love you !!!
I hope you are right. But from what I saw, he played the man, and was not going for the ball. I hope you are right. Lets see who the officer is, if we get the fellow who screwed Schalk, well then, we know he’s pissed at us already.
14 Sep 2007, 23:02 pm
boks worthy finalists! classic act.
14 Sep 2007, 23:02 pm
No problems, steyn can play scrumhalf…
14 Sep 2007, 23:03 pm
#156, he definitely went to parry the ball back to his support, don’t think there will be a citing for that?
14 Sep 2007, 23:05 pm
I told you that FDP would be MOM!!
Well done boet!!
14 Sep 2007, 23:06 pm
and would you believe: no one bashing wynand olivier?
FdP may have got MOM but Steyn is the future of SA rugby. Hell the guy is good, no nerves this time round just raw talent.
Glad he’s with the Sharks.
Wynand should’ve been man of the match. He did absolutely nothing wrong.
I think that all 15 deserved the MOM award though.
14 Sep 2007, 23:07 pm
#166 That’s funny. I like it, but it’s very funny.
#167 I’ll take your word for it then.
#4788998521 No, England really did get 0.
#578 Yes I would also have liked to see 53-0
# 777890987987342 Yes it really is 2007, and no, it was not an error in the press the world cup champs really did go down
36-0.
14 Sep 2007, 23:07 pm
Well done to the Boks. A brilliant allround performance.
If I was making a training video for youngsters wanting to learn the game, I’d use this Bok performance as an example of the perfect game.
Well done.
14 Sep 2007, 23:09 pm
Amazing. im gonna sleep very well tonight
Boknaai!!! Well played Bokke! I can walk around London, wearing my Bok jersey, with PRIDE! Lekker!
This just in: WP Rugby sold Newlands and bought Steyn. They will in future play all their matches in Mowbray.
Well at least England won the toss today in the T20 game!!
14 Sep 2007, 23:10 pm
England were lucky to score ZERO . . . . HA HA HA hmph!!
14 Sep 2007, 23:11 pm
178, lmfao
Where’s “Wallabie” and all the other delightful Aussies, Poms and Kiwi’s who’ve had a wonderful time delighting us with their banter about this game?
Bet we won’t even get a handshake.
lovely win boys!!! Great game and keep up the focus and optimism!!
The game was lost at 10 and 12 for England. They needed direction and missed Wilkinson (even a Barkley) badly.
Aside from the early try they had parity and even the advantage in the scrums.
England will return once Jonny and Barkley come back.
Well done SA, you did what you had to do.
14 Sep 2007, 23:12 pm
#176 You should ALWAYS wear it with pride man, win or loose…
14 Sep 2007, 23:13 pm
Big hit: England were lucky to get nought.
14 Sep 2007, 23:13 pm
#183 Big Hit
The game was lost at #6. Schalk would have made it 60-0,
14 Sep 2007, 23:14 pm
Big Hit.
Well done mate.
Gallant.
14 Sep 2007, 23:15 pm
Biiiiigggg Hiiiittt????
Where are you now?
PLease come out of your shell and take the shame you deserve! I’ve had to listen to months of your pathetic attempts to convince both yourself and others that England stood a chance this RWC!
Doesn’t quite look like its going to happen anymore does it?
World champions……..I think not!
14 Sep 2007, 23:15 pm
Big Hit, When, oh god when will you ever have your full strength team? We didn’t have Jean nor Schalk mate.
The difference is our reserves stepped up and ripped your guys a new *****.
No modesty here. You’ve given us enough **** in the build up to this game.
14 Sep 2007, 23:16 pm
184 – I always do! This time it makes it soo much better! Bokke are the only side who can challenge the AB’s! Going to be a great final!
14 Sep 2007, 23:17 pm
So BH how you like our boy wonder inside center? I told you that was his position for keeps.
14 Sep 2007, 23:17 pm
Pity they don’t deduct points for waste of time and space during a world cup.
Romania would be above you the English. I guess that would be detrimental to world rugby.
14 Sep 2007, 23:19 pm
Has the queen ever taken an OBE back?
We didn’t and don’t need Schalk and Jean we got Wickus and Frans, they can play in the final together too.
Skoppy
Saw him make his debut at Lansdowne Road.
The boy is class.
Guys at leat Big Hit turned up to say well done.
Nobody likes a whipping but it happens to us all sometimes.
He could have stayed away or used multiple logins like the refugee
That was sweet, very sweet. And the sweetest sweet part is that big, fat, round zero under England’s name.
MoM: Du Preez, without a doubt. He was immense. A short head behind we have Monty – solid as the rock of Gibraltar – and Bakkies. Bakkies was huge in the tight loose.
The only guy that I feel didn’t come up to scratch, was JP. He made a few bad mistakes. Did a couple of good things too, but on balance this wasn’t his finest game.
On the Pom side Jason Robinson has to be saluted. The guy was the bravest player on the field. He fielded the high ball as though he had Matfield’s height and was the one, lone Englishman that kept the Boks busy and honest. His injury looked bad and England are going to miss him big time. Samoa for the quarter finals?
Josh Lewsey must also be commended. He defended very well.
It’s a pity that we didn’t get to see more of Steyn, Fourie and Habana but the guys were clearly playing under instructions. From the Scotland game I’ve had the idea that they are “practicing” their defence – win the game as fast as possible and then spend the remainder to stop the opposition from scoring.
Remember Jake’s words: Defence wins world cups. That means you have to take whatever points are on offer – a penalty means three points, it doesn’t mean a kick to the corner and a maul that may or may not cough up seven points – and make it as hard as possible for your opponents to get anything. Did anybody notice that the Poms had exactly one scoring opportunity in the entire match? Catt missed a drop goal in the first half and that was that. They didn’t get a single penalty that was kickable until it was too late to matter.
This Bok team is starting to look good. They’re not flash like the ABs and the Wallabies. They’re rock solid. Like the 1995 Boks …
14 Sep 2007, 23:20 pm
If Matt Stevens and Mike Catt stayed in SA they would be playing club rugby tomorrow.
The Samoans are going to really give the Poms a hard time! They must be really crapping themselves!
Well done Boks – English where pathetic though!! Boks should have beaten them by 60. Eddie (Chuckie doll)is along for a free ride, Jake is not coaching this side, Victor and Fourie are. All the tacical kicking and plays are from the Bulls play book. Well done Heyneke thank you for your contribution to RWC 2007 – coaching by correspondence.
Flame, I don’t really care about his courteous appearance.
14 Sep 2007, 23:21 pm
Only in Rugby can you be up 23nil and 33nil up and still take a shot at goal from a penalty.
14 Sep 2007, 23:22 pm
Captain.
Guessing you’re not crazy about him then?
14 Sep 2007, 23:22 pm
How sweet the feeling!
14 Sep 2007, 23:23 pm
The Boks must have still thought the poms could come back…not a good sign if your captain still thinks the games not safe with 23 points on the board. Still there for the taking.
Get rid of Chuckie a disgrace in the Boks tracksuit – let the players run the team. Chuckie could not do the job with the Wobbablies so he is handing onto the coat tails of the Boks.
Hi Cappies
mmmmmmmm…….
Thats the sounds of me basking in smugness at England’s complete humiliation……
Flame, I’ve been subdued to his nonsensical drivel for months leading up to this match.
And still he comes out complaining about not being able to field their best team.
Plonker.
14 Sep 2007, 23:24 pm
#199 SABRIEF – what utter arrogance and short sightedness. You sir, are not only blind, but a typical A class bulls supporter. You are the kind that give the other 85% a bad name. get over yourself!
Hallo Boerie!!!
Feel a little sorry for Martin Corry and Jason Robinson, Easter stood out and Lewsey otherwise nothing much happened, Catt is passed it and not the man to drive an attack, rugby has changed since ’03, its about game breaking supremo’s now like we saw from FdP and JP, their instincts for the right gap was flawless tonight and Steyn, Bakkies, Wickus had monumental games in defense.
Rugby hunter
It’s test rugby not basketball s14
14 Sep 2007, 23:25 pm
#199 lol what a typical responce, no one is ever happy. if we beat them by 50 it shouyld have been 60 lol. that was a very very solid win, we never even opened up the game they just did what they had to. That is a very big warning shot to everyone else.
Limeys were simply not allowed to do anything, anytime you looked at a pomn he was bleeding LMFAO.
14 Sep 2007, 23:26 pm
That interviewer after the match is a ****.
He didn’t even offer Corry a tissue.
#209 AGREE 100%
Farrell is not the real deal he is the real dud!
It is the best game by an SA scrumy I have seen since Jooste was at his best. Maybe even better.
14 Sep 2007, 23:27 pm
#204 – Why must a team take risks by opting for lineouts and scrums? Take the points, preserve the players for the rest of the competition!
14 Sep 2007, 23:28 pm
Big Hit – I told you that you were setting yourself up for a beating but hats off to you for showing up here tonite and a salute of respect to Kia for the congrats!
MY BLOOD IS GREEN!!!
14 Sep 2007, 23:29 pm
England were lucky to score ZERO . . . . HA HA HA !!
14 Sep 2007, 23:29 pm
France should finally be a fantastic place to be. All the English should be back home by tomorrow morning.
14 Sep 2007, 23:30 pm
Steyn was always in the thick of it every midfield attempt was thwarted either by Steyn or Bakkies or van Heerden, they were all three hero’s tonight.
SABrief…Pass the joint will you coz you are stoned!
#199 – We are supporting SA rugby now, not the Bulls. Take the horn out your hole, the S14 is over!
CLINICAL! DISCIPLINED PERFORMANCE!!!!!
14 Sep 2007, 23:31 pm
Goodnight from Helsinki bok supporters of the world!
:clap:
Well done Bokke!!!!!
Dont get me wrong – great win for the Boks! Just the English are terrible – you have to admit that? At least we wont hear them crowing about how poor South African rugby is or Southern Hemisphere for that matter. Still not sold on our backline play – I think that is where the 25% improvement can be made the Smitt was referring to in the post match interview.
14 Sep 2007, 23:32 pm
paul dobson had england by 3 on the planetrugby.com preview. now he has his mum to suck his balls.
14 Sep 2007, 23:32 pm
Soda, thought she did it anyway.
14 Sep 2007, 23:33 pm
SABRIEF, you just called it Bulls rugby, and now the backline is not up to scratch? Bad correspondence coaching from Heyneke then?
14 Sep 2007, 23:34 pm
only on special occassions. i’ll never visit that site again. what utter bullshit.
195 Flame yeah the boy is class and he’s got the mindset of a winner who won’t shirk his defensive duties, he was first to many midfield encounters and dealt with Farrell and some of Corry’s or Easter’s breaks.
Paul Dobson is a dinosaur! He probably still thinks that the try is still worth 3 points!
14 Sep 2007, 23:35 pm
I wouldn’t call them breaks. Maybe one…
14 Sep 2007, 23:35 pm
Well done boys,
You’ve really made us proud.
The greatest thing about this win is the complete control they showed. They executed the plan perfectly, took their chances and finished most of them off and played clean with hardly any penalties until the last ten minutes. That is the way to win World Cups.
England were beyond rubbish besides a few brave soldiers. I can’t work out if it’s the lack of top quality players or is Ashton completely out of his depth.
14 Sep 2007, 23:36 pm
Actually I am a Sharks supporter – if you really want to get into it. And yes the backline interplay will need to be better if we are to win the RWC 2007.
Die Vrede van Vereniging is gewreek!
I thought our scrum was poor… we lost three tightheads which is bloody rare!! Anyone else notice this??
BJ Botha definitely didn’t have the upper hand on Andrew Sheridan.
On a more positive note, I was very impressed with our 9, 10 and 12 tonight. They played extremely well.
Looking ahead, I hope we can put in a good performance with regards to distributing the ball out to the wings.
My team for Tonga would be the following.
15. JP Pietersen
14. Akona Ndungane
13. Jaque Fourie
12. Francois Steyn
11. Ashwin Willemse
10. Butch James
9. Ricky Janaurie
8. Bob Skinstad
7. Danie Rossouw
6. Wickus van Heerden
5. Bakkies Botha
4. Albert vd Bergh
3. CJ van de Linde
2. Bismark du Plessis
1. Gurthro Steenkamp
16. Gary Botha
17. BJ Botha
18. Victor Matfield
19. Juan Smith
20. Ruan Pienaar
21. Andre Pretorius
22. Wynand Olivier
The reason behind keeping our halfback pairing and centre combination would be to get them confident with regards to distributing the ball to the wings…
JP Pietersen at fullback is important since he is effectively our replacement should Percy be injured in the game.
Professional and clinical performance.No matter how bad England were/are we still gave them a good hiding.Samoa game is going to be very interesting.
It’s because the average age of the English team is 32.
Brilliant manne!!!
Keep it up!!!
LOL: I guess that old **** Ashton has learned to include SA into his plans to the trophy now!
England reduced to having to worry about Samoa!!! Priceless!!!
Hey, were can we get those navy blue shirts the bok team uses in training? My wife will buy me one to have a chance to get her hands on the green one to wash it
)
14 Sep 2007, 23:37 pm
Ok runs then not breaks
14 Sep 2007, 23:38 pm
Daar kak die Poms die 2e keer in een dag!!!!!!
#239 You are right, our scrums were a bit poor in the 1st half..must be a bit of a concern.
239.The scrums were a bit dissapointing but I’m sure they can sort it out.
#236 – True, I was very impressed with the discipline showed by the boks! I think that they only conceded 7 or 8 penalties and very few for playing the ball in the ruck! This was the most impressive, IMHO!
good comeback skop!
14 Sep 2007, 23:39 pm
If Dallaglio played the average age of the team would’ve increased to 41.
14 Sep 2007, 23:40 pm
Soda #229
Remember AB vs France in 1999? Remember AB vs Aus in 2003? Remember the Boks vs Aus in the first Tri-nations game this year? Remember how Ireland sukkeled against Namibia in this RWC?
Paul Dobson had a valid point. If the complacent “we just have to pitch to win” Bok team had shown up tonight, it would have been a very different story. Thankfully for SA supporters everywhere (including Paul Dobson – his a big one) the real Boks showed up and did us proud.
14 Sep 2007, 23:40 pm
That was EPICCCCCCC. Big hit predicted an SA win so guys be gentle on him. Hows the England captain saying in the post match how they first have to get over this loss before they can take on samoa. And pietersen ( kevin) wants to humilate the aussies. Eina .
14 Sep 2007, 23:41 pm
HI GUYS GOT TO LOVE IT,BUT DID U SEE AFTER THE GAME ON SABC2 THE WAY PIETER DE VILLERS COMMENTED ON JAKE & EDDIE SAYING THAT THEY HAVE ACHIEVED NOTHING ,PEOPLE LIKE HIM ANNOY ME
England were terrible. It’s still good that the game never quite became scrappy. Thought just occured to me, if Aus throws Wales game then they play us in quarter … perhaps a bash a an easier semi depending if they do get past us of course:)
big hit is a tosser. been one for ages.
Wish Lima recovers in time to sort out JW’s back when the poms play samoa
This was smart play by SA. They played a magnificent tactical game. It was one of the best tactical performances I have ever seen. Well done JW – we salute you!
England was an absolute embarrasment. Credit to SA for making them look so pathetic.
14 Sep 2007, 23:42 pm
None of the tightheads were bona fide! The referee is not up to scratch on his handling of the scrums, as twice the ball came out of the tunnel, and the one “tight head” was from an early shove! See!
14 Sep 2007, 23:43 pm
there is just no pleasing some people, luckily, i am not one of them. this was great, FDP is a legend, percy did nothing wrong and i dont think i have ever seen a bok team give away less penalties.
LEKKER!!!!!
Ta CD, I think it all clicked into gear tonight everything worked and Jutje looked like he was a little on our side this time, must be that common anti English sentiment going round Paris, but our boys did make the moves stick the fact that England were just shell shocked after that first break by JP and rounded off by FdP and Smith, they never got out their shells.
no windhoek. dobson is a moron and a prejudiced reporter purveying false hope. utter imbecile imo.
14 Sep 2007, 23:44 pm
Where’s that pasty st michael, I’d love to see what he has to say now. ‘tosser’………….
14 Sep 2007, 23:45 pm
BIG HIT = TACKLER = KEVIN PUTT!!!!
FFS – how many times do i have to say this before you all believe me?
14 Sep 2007, 23:46 pm
Scrums do need some improvement – I hope Chuckie is no where near them so they dont pick up on the Wallabies poor techniques. Was there one play off set piece that went past 12 or outside the 10 channel? The point is that to win the RWC you can not starve the backline of ball and then expect them to perform on call against the All Blacks. Yes control and winning is a priority during these early games however the next two games are essential in finding rythme in the backline to win the WC.
I never heard Pieter de Villiers say that freon you sure you not hearing things?
SA might not have the attacking brilliance of NZ. But by God this is a team that can play an awesome structured game – ever improving attack, enormous defense, excellent set pieces.
Wallaby, Tackler, Big Hit time to admit now: SA has a real chance to win the WC. They are VERY serious contenders. This was impressive…..
14 Sep 2007, 23:47 pm
#254, Can’t fault the oke for supporting his team gotta admire his loyalty . . . no matter how misplaced.
14 Sep 2007, 23:51 pm
Hey Wallabie – looking forward to Wales-Samoa in the quarters?
14 Sep 2007, 23:52 pm
It all clicked perfectly into gear, all 15 of them, now they just have to remain focused and positive throughout, if Wallabies take Wales tomorrow its Wales next big game up.
14 Sep 2007, 23:53 pm
That was worth every second of the extremely long wait. The whole team was fantastic – even Bakkies showed some brains, which was a turn up for the books. Credit for Big Hit for turning up here tonight – many would have disappeared for weeks.
14 Sep 2007, 23:54 pm
Go Samoa. I think they have a very goood chance next week.
Robinson was the only bloke to even try and give it a go. I hope he is around next week.
Say what you like about Edddie – its working.
NZ – SA final, if we keep our heeds.
Go Bokke!
14 Sep 2007, 23:55 pm
Soda,
Let’s agree to disagree. Dobson has been around long enough not to get carried away by the hype and I’ve been burned more than a few times because I got carried away with the hype. I welcome his views.
BadBok,
St Mick (St Prick, St Idiot, St Moron, Take your pick) only posts before games because he has no leg to stand on after the games. Expect to see him some two days before Eng vs Samoa. He will tell us how “her majesty’s loyal subjects” will “gently but firmly” put the “noble savages from the south sea” in their place.
After the game (when the “noble savages” have turned “her majesty’s loyal subjects” into a delectable after-dinner snack, he will disappear. Some days later, shortly before the Tonga game, he will repost his Samoa posts (with a small change here and there, for appearance sake). If England beat Tonga – there’s a 50/50 chance – he will be back as soon as the final whistle blows to tell all and sundry about this great and glorious victory that once again proves the superiority blah blah yakkity fishpaste (you get the idea).
Should Tonga be the winners, we shall be spared his sycophantic drivel until the six nations competition starts. One can but hope and pray.
14 Sep 2007, 23:55 pm
Well folks, it’s 5 to midnight here in SA, time to go to bed and sleep well tonite, sweet dreams to all Bok supporters, to the rest of you, have a few nightmares of the Boks beating your asses in this RWC . . . .
14 Sep 2007, 23:57 pm
Windhoek.Lager, great post. St. Prick the **** is the crunt from crunt street.
14 Sep 2007, 23:59 pm
Boerboel,
Ah yes, the most strategic “R” in Pretoria, as I recall
15 Sep 2007, 00:00 am
As an All Black supporter – my best wishes to the Boks on a great win.
You’re heading to the final, chaps.
The AB v Boks clash is going to be the game of the century.
15 Sep 2007, 00:00 am
Good sportsmanship by the Boks for not smashing Robinson once he had pulled his hammy.
So unfortunate for Robinson, great player and humble man. Hope he recovers quickly, shouldn’t end like this for him.
Gareth
15 Sep 2007, 00:01 am
Jaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!!!!!
Waar is daai naaier Big *** nou?
Ek kan nie wag vir al die d0nnerse excuses nie.
15 Sep 2007, 00:02 am
#276 Yeah, I guess since he was the only Pom that pitched for the game they decided to cut him some slack
15 Sep 2007, 00:03 am
# 277 – Big **** was here, briefly. Just long enough to make a t1t of himself, as usual
15 Sep 2007, 00:04 am
Clinical, clean, fantastic. If we play like this going forward, surely we are a force to be reckoned with
Ja, I hope we see no more from St Michel (Mickey England?). But BH can stay, because he had the balls to come onto this site after all his predictions.
Ai, maar dit was lekker….
Hey, where is Big Hit hiding?
15 Sep 2007, 00:05 am
Jis jis
El sien julle praat mooi Afrikaans noudat Ig en Wallabie slaap. hehehe. Was dit nie lekker om die soutpiele op hul moer te speel nie?? Nou 2 weke van rus, en dan Wallis in die quarters, Argies in die semi en All Blacks in die finale.
DIS LEKKER OM ‘n BOER TE WEES!!!!!!!
15 Sep 2007, 00:05 am
BOKKE
BOKKE
BOKKE
15 Sep 2007, 00:06 am
what game were you watching??
I thought the bok scrum struggled like heck
Hallo willa
Ek gaan volgende naweek Kleinbaai toe. Is jy dalk daar?
Hoesit KP!
My bloed is groen vanaand. Dit was nou heerlik!
Wanneer maak ons ‘n kap, ek vlieg volgende Maandag…
15 Sep 2007, 00:07 am
Ja, die Bok skrum het my ook bietjie gepla. Hoop hulle kan daai uitsort voor die semis.
15 Sep 2007, 00:08 am
What a wanker.
He has been raggin on for weeks how uniffecient us South Africans are at rugby and how we must brace ourselves for this game.
Wonder what they will say when they exit from this world cup when (not if) Samoa beats them.
Die enigste rede hoekom die Bokke gewen het is omdat daai takhaar Schalk nie gespeel het nie.
KP 286
Ek is hier, ons kan ‘n plan maak! Hoe klink Vrydagaand vir jou by die Buitesteen?
Hel, die konneksie is maar staaaaadig in die Overberg vanaand…
#281 – Actually I have a suspicion Big **** is more of a windup than a serious Pom fan. Nobody can be that far removed from reality.
Just hope the Boks keep their feet on the ground. All credit to Barney so far – the Bok discipline was amazing. And the ref – he may have made the odd error, but in general he blew a good game.
Awesome stuff. I gotta admit, I was nervous and did not think it would be this big a score. Not sure what scrums you were watching Jon, but that was an area I thought we took strain!!
“I can’t work out if it’s the lack of top quality players or is Ashton completely out of his depth.”
Definite lack of a game plan. I also think he’s gone for brawn and experience over agility and developing young talent. Whatever the case he’s got it badly wrong.
Well done the boks. Great effort. Now just sort out the scrum or else the ABs will be dominant in that area come final time.
15 Sep 2007, 00:09 am
Willa, dan sal ons ‘n plan volgende week moet maak. Ek gaan nou eers inkruip. Praat more weer.
GO BOKKE!!!
15 Sep 2007, 00:10 am
Re skrum
Ook maar net die eerste helfte, en net aan BJ se kant. Maar ons het hulle gerook in die vaste los, dit tap energie wat in die skrums later getel het.
Eddie Jones het jare lank vir derderangse voorrye raad gegee oor hoe om hul opponente te flous – BJ is ver van derderangs af, maar na halftyd het hy Sheridan ook laat kou! Jy kon Eddie se Aussie-hand sien in daardie stukkie taktiek…
15 Sep 2007, 00:11 am
Lekker slaap KP
15 Sep 2007, 00:12 am
One last thought before I hit the sack with a grin on my face … Does Skalla still make the run-on side?
I reckon the quetion of whether FdP is the best scrumhalf in the world has now been solved. He created 3 tries, and his kicking was brilliant. And francios Steyn – it’s like he was always a number 12.
Ja Kingpaul @ 288 – Ek was geskok met ons skrums. Ek het gedink ons gaan daar domineer, maar ons het agteruitgegaan.
Een groot plus vir my was die “penalty count” teen ons.
Loved the TV commentary. “Jake White sitting next to his new buddy, Eddie van Jones.”
Priceless!
15 Sep 2007, 00:14 am
# 300
Re the penalty count. Do you think the boys slipped the ref a few Kruger rands.
15 Sep 2007, 00:14 am
Poms are a Big Hit–hahahahahahaha!
15 Sep 2007, 00:15 am
294, I suppose I agree but I’m struggling to think of the changes they could make to the personal to lift their game. All the possiblities are a bit iffy.
Poor old england, they are at a real low. A very sorry display by the chumps. Boks just need to maintain their discipline and concentration and we are on our way to the final.
I can’t wait to go to work on Monday!!!!!
15 Sep 2007, 00:15 am
EJ masterminded that performance whether we will acknowledge it or not without his input I doubt very much if Steyn would have been at 12 tonight, or whether our guys would have opted to run it out of second phase play like they did. Steyn, FdP, Butch, Bakkies, Wickus, Percy even JP all played out their socks, Schalk wouldn’t have made a difference, in fact it worked more cohesively like a polished all for one, one for all, team effort.
15 Sep 2007, 00:18 am
Kingpaul, why is it nice to be a boer?? Didnt english speaking south africans contribute to the victory or are we still considered useless rugby players. Think Christie, Mallet, Teichman, Smit and White. Dont know where SA Rugby would be witout non – boers. Get over your laager mentality mate
15 Sep 2007, 00:18 am
Tight head is a pretty serious problem though with Hayman and Woodcock looming
15 Sep 2007, 00:19 am
#33 Dave-o as much as you maybe a kiwi I cant understand how you get such conviction over the Boks performance? A good win for sure, but all that happened was they held out a side who were in danger of losing to the USA. The poms backline was a disaster, the scrum was all over the shop(frontline fitness was about 75%), no play profile, no good set pieces, no structure really and no idea. I am sure that all Bokkies will agree that this was a win over a trumped up minnow side and if they were to take it seriously then they are really in a bad way as well.
15 Sep 2007, 00:20 am
Great to have the win, but collectively we should try to be a little more magnanimous. Referring to the defeated English players as “wankers”, “gits” and “chumps” doesn’t really reflect well on us.
15 Sep 2007, 00:21 am
#257 – Yes, but why were we getting wheeled – the first tighthead was definitely legitimate? I’m a die hard Os man but he didn’t look like an “immobile piece of granite” to me – because that’s where we were going backwards.
…I am sure the Boks would have been holding alot back for their sake.
Ja Skopie, our scrum was k*k. Needs work big time!
285# yea 2 heels against the head
Smit aint no Bismarck
15 Sep 2007, 00:22 am
Kaiveld @ 302 – Die manne was disciplined (jammer vir die engels).
Hulle het presies geweet wat om te doen.
15 Sep 2007, 00:23 am
I watched the game here in NZ with commentary by All Blacks legends Grant Fox and AJ Whetton.
They were full of praise for the Boks’ performance and consider your halfback Fourie du Preez as the best in the world.
Good on you South African supporters for keeping the faith through thick and thin.
15 Sep 2007, 00:24 am
# 314
Ja, die Bokke het baie slim gespeel (verskoon my swak Afrikaans).
15 Sep 2007, 00:25 am
308# it was a great win stop talking nonsense
15 Sep 2007, 00:25 am
Momentum is key during a WC
England are not a good side but few teams in the world would deny them even three points.
I’m sure that SA could have fired the ball about a bit more but they played tactically as if they were in the final, ie test rugby not S14.
Argentina showed that in test rugby you have to come away from the opposition half with at least three points on every visit. There’s no point in domination possession/territory if you don’t dominate the scoreboard.
SA did likewise tonight and that created the pressure on the opposition.
kicks win World Cup’s whether they lay the platform at the start of a game or a last minute drop goal.
15 Sep 2007, 00:28 am
#308 – they’re defending world champions with everything to play for, old son.
They’re not a second tier team – along with France they represent the best of Europe.
To beat them by 36 and keep them scoreless is a magnificent result.
I rest my case.
15 Sep 2007, 00:29 am
Dave-O @ 315 – who the hell is Grant Fox????
#317 joeboy- whatever- a win is a win I guess. I would be concerned if it counted for anything thats all.
Sjoe, die Bokke het goed gespeel. Die laaste 15 minute was nie te goed nie, maar die game was klaar gewen, die reserwes het opgekom, en ek dink hulle wou nie te veel wys nie.
Volgende spelers het my baie beindruk:
- Percy
- Steyn
- Butch
- Fourie
- Wicus
- Bakkies
Ek was veral beindruk met Butch se wedstryd. Koel en kalm gespeel, en vir die eerste keer in jare gelyk asof hy nou rustig geword het, en die wedstryd begin lees het. Hoop hy hou so aan.
Bietjie teleurgesteld met Jacques Fourie en JP se wedstryde. JP se hande is nie te veilig nie.
Verder het ons in die skrums gesukkel. Sal vir CJ speel.
BJ Botha is not a killer Tight-Head. Very average. I know I will annoy Sharks fans but he’s had a few games this season and has not really delivered. There is a big weakness there.
15 Sep 2007, 00:30 am
the Boks beat England 36-0 and a few of you idiots complain
15 Sep 2007, 00:30 am
Man of the Match Fourie du Preez in one of the greatest exhibitions of scrumhalf play in the history of the game. It seems that there is nothing he cannot do.
15 Sep 2007, 00:31 am
Dave o
They’re nowhere near the best in Europe.
Watch some Six Nations games over the past few years?
15 Sep 2007, 00:33 am
Joeboy # 324
I’m not complaing…I’m elated… but do see trouble in that area. It’s been a problem that has not been totally rectified.
15 Sep 2007, 00:33 am
Vossie @ 320, you’re having your old mate Dave-0 on, aren’t you?
You know who Foxie is, one of the best first fives the world has ever seen.
World Cup gold medalist in ’87 if I’m not mistaked.
Please tell me you’re just teasing, mate.
15 Sep 2007, 00:34 am
325# yes the greatest scrumhalf performance i have ever seen
Great great win
We have to do something about our scrums ***
the ABs
15 Sep 2007, 00:35 am
Dave-o thats no case old son its a joke. They are not the defending WC’s of 4 years ago. This mob (with the exception of a couple)have done zip to show or claim the part. The standard they played at last nite clearly demonstrated they are not a top tier team. Porugal had more answers against Italy than these chumps.
15 Sep 2007, 00:37 am
#285 Agreed, can’t believe anyone who watched the game could be please with our scrum.
But I’ve moved on from the old “our scrum will crush them” myth that comes out of SA rugby before every big game but seldom materialises.
We’ve got Oom Gert to thank for that. Useless.
But hey, this it celebration time. Still a few flaws but overall a very good performance. FDP absolutely brilliant, Percy’s best ever Bok performance, Wickus a more-than-adequate understudy and Frans Steyn immense. Jean’s injury will be a blessing in disguise…this kid has it all, in truckloads.
Great stuff, Springboks.
Yes, it is a mediocre England but it’s still England, in a WC, away from home.
I’ll happily take 36-0, thank you.
15 Sep 2007, 00:38 am
327# Jinx i was definitely not talking about you
I agree 100% our scrum was very weak
and our lineouts were average at times.
But our backline was awesome.
Steyn is just f*cking fantastic
DuPreez is king.
Bakkies is a legend
and with Burger back who knows what we can do.
15 Sep 2007, 00:38 am
Mark my words – SAMOA ARE GOING TO END ENGLAND’S WC MISERY!
15 Sep 2007, 00:39 am
joeboy wake up and look at what is in front of you. Even Bokkie supporters see the problems with the scrum. Its not about whetheer you won that one or not, its about what will happen if you are to play another “A’team at the top of their game the same way, could you expect the same result. I dont think so.
15 Sep 2007, 00:39 am
309 Kaiveld
very true, I can’t stand the English gloating whenn they win so I will try my best to be humble in victory. Even though I’ll be bursting to get my revenge.
This still doesn’t mean we can’t ridicule the English for their woeful play, they were simply poor tonight and we did pretty well.
15 Sep 2007, 00:42 am
#275. Well said. I also hope SA play the AB’s and what a great game it will be!
England may (have) be(en) the world champions but I still have a R100 on Samoa for a win.
Well done to the Boks, sort out the scrum issue and feed Burger some dog food for the QF, he’s going to go mongrel on them. Woohoo!
15 Sep 2007, 00:44 am
334# captain i was refering to you
Your comment was ridiculous and im being kind.
This was a f*cking great win, how dumb are you???
36-0 .
Ofcourse we have a scrum problem and even our lineouts werent pretty but the Boks were great.
You are fast asleep
15 Sep 2007, 00:45 am
England will beat Somoa one time
15 Sep 2007, 00:48 am
# 335
I’m all for taking the piss when it’s done with humour. But there comes a point where some comments can come across as xenophobic and just plain nasty. We wouldn’t do it as rugby players, so why do it as supporters?
15 Sep 2007, 00:48 am
Burger will end up in the bin faster than you will blink if he ##### up again. He is a marked man now and a player that puts himself and unfortunately others at risk with his reckless manner.
Before you all start retaliating ask yourselves how much noise you would be making if other teams fielded players with his brain/brawn ratio.
15 Sep 2007, 00:51 am
Are England playing soccer this weekend?
The reason I’m asking is that their cricket side lost by plenty,Mclaren lost $100M and all their const. points for the season and their rugby side,well they got a bit of a hiding too.Bafana here’s your chance!!!
15 Sep 2007, 00:55 am
Joeboy # 332
Pardon me guv’ner, I thought you were referring to me.
Steyn is so awsome. It’s changed our whole backline having a 12 that can read a game and also has a big boot. Plays more like a 2nd 5/8ths…al la NZ style. It’s freed up our back tremendously.
Also worth noting that we had probably the least penalties conceded in the modern era. Schalk is a great player but he does give at least 3 to 4 penalties away a game.
He will obviously come back but I was very impressed with Wickus.
Joeboy our entire backline has tremendous boot power when needed. Fourie/Ruan, Butch/AP, Frans Steyn, Jaque Fourie(ex Full back)JP(ex-Full back), Habana and Percy. All very sound in the line kicking department. Nice to have the ability to pull the trigger when needed.
We need our scrum to fire. I don’t want to go down “if only” road…but Henk Van Der Merwe at 1 and Jannie Dup at 3 were my choices. Be that as it may we need to work very hard in this area of our game.
Fourie Dup is a diamond. Big respect.
15 Sep 2007, 00:57 am
HIER KOMMIE BBBBBBBBBBBOOOOOOOOOOOOOOKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
15 Sep 2007, 00:59 am
Goeienaand Oom Boerboel!!
15 Sep 2007, 00:59 am
Had we scored those two gift tries we could have won 50-0. Facts.
15 Sep 2007, 01:02 am
Goodnight all…zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz calls.
15 Sep 2007, 01:03 am
#341 They have darts and snooker to lift trampled spirits, hooker.
That’s about it, really.
Evening all,great win by the Green machine,bit dissapointed though,reacon 70 would have been a more better option,Percy with his stupid farkin drop goal attempts was an absolute waste of try scoring opportunities.Fourie was an absolute machine and has to be by far the best 9 in the world.Solid pack performance but I feel we could have exerted more dominance over a weak Pomm pack
BOKKE!!!!
Yip Jinx, we left a handfull of points out there.
15 Sep 2007, 01:06 am
What are you talking about, “exerted more dominance”? Our pack was ordinary, came a distant second to the Poms.
At least that’s what happened in the game I watched.
joeboy whatever u need.
good win almost got 40pts I wanted
Wickus did well and du Preez, Rossouw, Matfield,Bakkies all did well.
Best positive is no injuries
Jason Robinson was the best back on the field bar
du Preez.
**some negatives**
it was pretty boring game entertainment wise
BJ Botha, Smit and Os got smashed in the scrum.
BJ has being found out for his illegal technique.
15 Sep 2007, 01:07 am
..be warned there is train wreck coming if thats all you got.
15 Sep 2007, 01:07 am
Congrats to the Bokke – well played.
But – how bad were England?? Is there a physicist in the house – I’m trying to explain England’s game – but don’t know what is less than one-dimensional! Jeez – they had no idea – other than rumble another half metre in the forwards!
Land of mope and gory!
On another front – its interesting to see the tactics many teams – including SA today – are using. It seems a bit negative really – hoist the ball in the air, and wait for the other side to make a mistake. The Argies did it against France, and it seemed like the main tactic today.
15 Sep 2007, 01:08 am
“The South African scrum were also strong at scrumtime even though they received little opportunity to attack. BJ Botha caused opposite number Andrew Sheridan all sorts of problems”
WTF?? WE LOST 2 TIGHTHEADS!!
WHAT GAME WERE YOU WATCHING??
BJ GOT HIS *** HANDED TO HIM.
someone callup Richard Bands please
15 Sep 2007, 01:09 am
The Bok’s did not play to full potential the score could have been higher, at least one more try and the bonus point. We need to look at this and say .. this was not good enough. I was convinced by the hype that a 15 point plus for the Bok’s was going to be convincing but the 36 point win was a bit of a let down. Come on guys (I mean you the players) you had sooooo much more in the tank but could not put your foot down.
My man of the match is Jason Robinson a real stand but no backup.
Fourie du Preez and Francois Steyn were the Bok king pins for me, JP Pietersen great but needs some polishing, You could see that Habana was a marked man and had the short end of the stick but still put in a good effort. Burger would have put a little more beef into the effort and maybe the 4th try bonus point.
Guys you need to pull this together a bit more if you are going to take the cup home.
15 Sep 2007, 01:11 am
we have to be careful with avoiding injuries against the harder tackling tongans.
maybe play Pienaar at flyhalf
15 Sep 2007, 01:11 am
Gerber…easy on the Bulls bias!!!
And to reckon Rossouw had a great game is taking it a tad too far. He looked like the carthorse of old – and with Bob reduced to little more than an impact player, I reckon Spies’ loss will be more keenly felt than any other.
Now Gerber, didn’t Meisiekind look the part, too????
15 Sep 2007, 01:18 am
Marking Habana is no problem, and I hope the other teams do it too. It means whoever is marking him restricts their own opportunities.
Well done bokke! Have a good rest then get back to it!
15 Sep 2007, 01:38 am
Great performance by the Boks, although England were ****. Only worry was du Preez coming off – does anyone know if/how badly he was injured?
15 Sep 2007, 01:43 am
Our first phase possession was poor, but I really do feel there will be no other teams who have the forwards to compete with ours. NZ may have a stronger scrum but our line out is quite significantly superior.
The feature of our game I still hope we can improve on is setting the wings loose via a full line movement.
This may seem like an odd comment considering that JPP scored two, but both were very opportunistic and reliant on individual brilliance from FdP. The ball went through two players hands… FdP and JPP.
Yes, you can argue that defense wins World Cups, but at 22 – 18 down against New Zealand with 5 minutes to go we won’t be able to rely on an intercept or turnover ball to score trust me… so in that situation what would we do?
I dunno… I just can’t see SA scoring through the backline. Hopefully things will change or they will prove me wrong.
15 Sep 2007, 01:43 am
Manne,
Ongeag ‘n paar probleme wat nog uitgeskakel kan word, het al die Bokke eintlik goed gespeel, en was dit ‘n skitterende poging.
Natuurlik kan dinge nog beter, maar los dit vir later, ons moet nie nou al heeltemal ‘peak’ nie.
Jammer Jean DV is beseer, sou as hy reg was Steyn op senter gelos het en JDV op vleuel gespeel het, waar ek dink sy beste posisie is.
Manne, kom ons hou op om mekaar se provinsiale spelers af te kraak, en skree saam vir die Bokke !
Natuurlik kan ‘n mens kritiek gee waar nodig, en verskil met spankeuses, maar ons hoef nie mekaar en veral die spelers te beledig nie.
Sterkte aan AL die Bokke … ook die Haai-Bokke!
15 Sep 2007, 01:44 am
we beat England 36-0 and some of u guys are still complaining. Sure our our front 3 are weak
but show sum respect u morons
15 Sep 2007, 01:45 am
if we somehow beat the ABs in the final u nutcases will still complain
15 Sep 2007, 01:51 am
Wow what a prospect for the All Blacks. If France in their own backyard isn’t bad enough, then Australia in their semi-final and then these mighty Springboks in the final. All 3 are World Cup knockout stage-hoodoo teams for the All Blacks, and arranged in the most difficult possible order.
If the All Blacks are still able to win the tournament, they would surely have deserved to… but the betting odds for this tournament might be about to undergo a drastic change.
15 Sep 2007, 02:00 am
365# what country u from Meph?
15 Sep 2007, 02:08 am
Hi Guys, good win against the POMS. Have to say that they were ****, they owned you guys in the scrum but that was the only highlight, no backline to speak off. I wouldn’t suggest that your forwards would be better than the AB’s just yet and the AB’s and with carter at no10 their backline is 10 times more potent than what I say tonight. Good win but
15 Sep 2007, 02:10 am
We are not knocking the Bok’s just pointing out the soft spots that need work. As far as i am concerned if The Bok’s played the AB’s in the same fashion …..well Need I say …. not good enough.
three failed drop goal attempts …thats the game lost add that to other failures there is no hope. So the message is work on it guys. You have what it takes now use it.
15 Sep 2007, 02:14 am
367# *******
15 Sep 2007, 02:18 am
369. now now be nice
15 Sep 2007, 02:22 am
A mature performance from the Boks. Say what you like. We gave the Poms far too much credit. It should have been 50-0. The poms were plain Sh*t. They had no game plan, no confidence. Disarray is the only word that comes to mind. The Poms are definitely the worst “ex” world champions.
The Boks are only warming up. NZ, AUS, France, be afraid. Be very afraid! BOKKE!
15 Sep 2007, 02:23 am
370# Ditto
15 Sep 2007, 02:26 am
Where’s big hit, joeboy, just tried to point out AB’s are No1 for a reason
15 Sep 2007, 02:28 am
Have to say but, I wouldn’t put money against you guys not making the final. Its just depends on who wants to join you
15 Sep 2007, 02:35 am
The Boks played well, but the front row was very very weak. Two tightheads versus England’s scrum? What went wrong?
15 Sep 2007, 02:40 am
Don’t say that Tackler you’ll upset the Saffas. I can’t believe that Styen missed his drop goal, The tosser hit two awesome drop goals to save them in SA against us and misses one straight infront, How ironic.
15 Sep 2007, 02:45 am
373# big hit wouldnt dare *** here tonite
376# Steyn was awesum
what the f*ck is wrong with u???
ur stupid little backward comments
15 Sep 2007, 02:47 am
come on joeboy admit it, England were ****, any top four team should have nailed them
15 Sep 2007, 02:57 am
yes aussie england were lousy but the Boks were great. scrums excluded.
To criticise Steyn for missing a drop goal when he was magnificent reflects on ur ****** personality.
Give credit were it is due and dont be a sarcastic ******* 24/7
15 Sep 2007, 03:00 am
SAus, better not to waste your time…
Tackles, would like to know as well. From the first scrum it ‘looked’ like BJ was under pressure but then the games started with the pommie #9 taking ages, well until such time the ref awarded a penalty/freekick before attempting to put the ball in.
Some shots from the top showed BJ scrumming in but then on at least one occassion I had a clear view the pom loosehead did the same and the ref still thought it good to award them a penalty.
All aside, BJ was put in for a specific reason, being shorter to make it difficult for the taller oppo prop, seems it backfired but JW was reluctant to replace him. I assume he felt comfortable with the way the score was going…
Lets wait on the experts (tighthead and loosehead) to tell us more.
15 Sep 2007, 03:02 am
joeboy, time to put down the dop and head for bed!
15 Sep 2007, 03:08 am
I hear you mate, in first post I said that it was a good win, congratulations. In my world your win is as good as your opposition. I didn’t go around saying we’re going to win this comp after beating Japan. It was what it was. Unless we beat the AB’s in the semi’s which i feel is unlikley but possible we won’t play you. But keep up the pretence of thinking all is rosy and your team has a damm good chance of beating the AB’s cause it doesn’t mean **** when your facing a rampaging AB team, thats reality, so good luck with that and I wish you all the luck
15 Sep 2007, 03:22 am
381# hey Koosie doosie i dont drink
15 Sep 2007, 03:31 am
Dagse Koos,
Lekker opgestaan vir die game,en jy?
Fourie Dup was skitterend,Percy was clinical and the most underrated flyhalf Butch James was good.
I think Butch is the best we’ve had since Honiball and Fourie dup is better than Joost.
My respect to Jason Robinson,the ONLY Eng player who was trying.
15 Sep 2007, 03:36 am
joeboy learn some respect
15 Sep 2007, 03:39 am
Great win for the Boks. Tactically, they outplayed the Poms.
It is a bit worrying, though, that the Poms managed to win two tightheads. The Bok scrum looked rather vulnerable at times.
Unless there’s a major upset, the Boks will be one of the finalists.
Mark my words, it’s either going to be an AB-SA final, or an Aus-SA final!
15 Sep 2007, 03:41 am
#365 meph- that game is only going to shorten the odds against the AB’s. Really cant believe you guys read so much into performance like that. The poms were like a dog chasing their tail. If you honestly think that game highlighted how the Boks are going to beat NZ go and place a big bet.
15 Sep 2007, 03:45 am
Ian it will be more obvious after the Wales game tonite but am thinking NZ -Sa.
How weird was it seeing Eddie Jones sitting with Jake the peg.
If SA doesnt fix their scrum the AB’s are going to crush them and smack em in the lineout as well.
Overall there was some really good play from SA, place kicking and backline work but it wont be enough to take the AB’s come high noon.
15 Sep 2007, 03:46 am
Youre sounding nervous there Fantail,and who said anything about beating NZ,but in saying that we are the only side who is capable of beating you.
15 Sep 2007, 03:49 am
386# well said Ian
at last some common sense
385# for whom? i dont respect saracsm
15 Sep 2007, 03:57 am
Hi Manlybok, I can assure you that there are no nerves. Actually I have never sat more comfortably over the prospect of a major game in my life. If we play you and lose, that will also sit ok with me as you would have deserved to.
This game, if it comes to be will be the most fiercly contested game in history. What I find it difficult to comprehend is how so many confuse this team of AB’s with the past teams and in doing so underestimate what their whole campaign has been about. I actually have alot more respect for the Boks than you would believe, but if they think that the victory over the poms relates to points on the board against the AB’s they are in for a hugh disappointment.
Heres why in case you havent read my theory.
Graham Henry – Master and Magician
The word ‘tweaking’ is quite common place amongst professionals. It means to refine something as it is happening. The end result is defined but as the process has so many variables it is constantly ‘tweaked’. This is exactly what GH has been up to, except the ‘tweaking’ has been going on behind closed doors and away from prying eyes.
These two teams, or combinations there-of that Henry has fielded over the last few years have been more successful than any team in the history of rugby. They have, without doubt set the benchmark of world rugby leading towards the World Cup.
Figuratively speaking, if you had the best two teams in the world to practise strategies in private what would you do?
Here’s what I think has been going on in the All Black camp.
For sometime now there has been something a little ‘askew’ with the AB’s game. It took me sometime to realise what it was and when I did I saw the genius behind it. As a leading team you are under the microscope constantly so only a fool would lead his team into something so important with the displaying the same game for three years.
The fielding of two teams has been part of the smoke screen. We all talk of depth, injury cover etc but really the ‘A’ team was picked three years ago and the ‘B’ team was developed for three reasons. Depth of course. Firstly and most importantly, as training partner for the ‘A’ team, secondly to run interference on any professional analysis.
In a nut shell, the All Blacks have dominated world rugby over the last four years. All areas of their game are either the best there is or so close to it, that it runs a parallel with the best any other team has to offer.
That is of course except for the lineout.
As a pivotal part of the game and set piece, the lineout has never really been ‘fixed’ as it should have been. It has meandered along, just getting by. My call is that the AB lineout is the sucker punch that no one has seen coming.
The answer is really in the question.
Do you think Graham Henry is stupid enough to let something so important go unattended for so long and deliver this to France?
No, unless it is on purpose. Why would he do this? Quite obvious really. To let everyone think it is an area of fair contention.
The scrum cannot be tampered with. It must compete at every opportunity to improve.
If, as with the AB scrum, who wins a lot (if not all) of their ball, it enhances the attacking skills of the backs. So how and, more importantly, why is part of the plan for the backs to develop greater defending skills?
Henry has been deliberately letting the line out give away ball (losing some of the lineout on purpose). He has been able to secure wins without a great lineout. By doing this it has empowered the defensive skills of the backline and exposed all the major plays in the opposition’s lineout.
Henry has the kickers to place the ball where needed and this is where his masterstroke will come into play.
Having two teams to practise this with for three years and winning both home and away with the team as it is, has given him the latitude to form a plan to put all opponents to the sword when the time is right.
The lineout and ‘A’ game will not be seen until the semis or the finals. It will be succinct and dominating. The play will hem the opposition within their twenty-five. Due to the defending prowess of the AB backline and the power of the forwards the opposition will have no way to clear other than by kicking. Having a lineout that has improved by as much as fifty percent will take its toll against the throw particularly due to even a minor miscalculation.
This World Cup will be won here.
15 Sep 2007, 03:59 am
Ian I think you may understand this after your comments # 386.
15 Sep 2007, 04:02 am
391# what a nutcase
15 Sep 2007, 04:08 am
More Manly, ja lekker opgestaan. My blerrie pel van SA het my natuurlik 3.30am gebel. Deur die kuk soos mens is dog ek dis my alarm en druk so ewe ‘snooze’ en sit die tv aan en alles…fo-ol rugby!!! Vat my so twee minute en sy message om deur te kom om uit te werk dit is 3.30 en nie 5.00 nie. Kyk toe maar die CC wat ek getape het…
Die hele span het goed gespeel, sal maar wag vir die eksperts om my te vertel wat daar in die skrum aangegaan het…
15 Sep 2007, 04:10 am
#390 And nobody respect insults, get over yourself!
15 Sep 2007, 04:11 am
#391 Hehe Fantail,you sound like the Hitler youth expounding the AB propoganda manual,do you read it while doing the Haka ?
Be careful about that “lineout”smokescreen theory,I thought the French were running a smokescreen since they beat SA in SA but it turned out there was no smoke,just a little fizzle.
Lastly I would love nothing better than a SA/NZ final its still the ultimate in Union.
15 Sep 2007, 04:12 am
Morning boys
Well done the Boks
I had to listen to English commentary & they kept banging on about Boks having more handling errors than the the Poms – Well heavens, statistically that will happen when you have more posession
Then again they didn’t have a lot to say about England … What could you say ?
15 Sep 2007, 04:22 am
Hi Princess feel for you without the Screen. Boks played well and Poms had no advantages-thats pretty much it in a nutshell.
Anyone conspicuous by there absence on this otherwise but delightful day?
15 Sep 2007, 04:23 am
Top of the morning from sunny Rajasthan and all,
Never managed to get satellite tuned for the game but listened to it from RSG broadcast while logged on here.
Listening to commentary only was weird – reminds me of thirty years ago – listening to rugby, boxing etc on the radio hahahah.
Only think i picked up on radio was that the Bok scrumming wasn’t all that good ho hum.
15 Sep 2007, 04:25 am
Good win for SA, but England wouldn’t beat a S14 side.
15 Sep 2007, 04:25 am
More Princess, assume the cable made it then?
Think we had the same commentators, they had little to say towards the end and the captain almost shed a tear during the interview…
Have to add a special word to Robinson, outside of the hammy he pulled with the shock of seeing the tryline and a man on his outside, a very brave performance by the little man. He was battered all day long by the Boks but did not take one step back, blood all over when he came off and surely a very tender body for the bloke. Hats off to him and all respect.
15 Sep 2007, 04:26 am
Ian that final would be the best. Have made two days free either side of the event for celebrations or commiserating.
15 Sep 2007, 04:28 am
Fantail
No, you missed my big news ! I found dodgy little Cable TV company yesterday afternoon who were willing (for a fee) to hook me up last night for just 3 months. So 11:25pm last night I was watching a re-run of USA v Tonga ! I am all set now …
Biggles appeared to do a quick “Mea Culpa” & then scuttled of like the Pom he is
15 Sep 2007, 04:29 am
This puts France’s close win against the Pommes at Twickers in perspective. If we play the French in Cardiff we will put 30/40 points on them.
15 Sep 2007, 04:29 am
At least he pitched Princess, even if it was for a mere few seconds…
15 Sep 2007, 04:31 am
More Koos
Yes – he called me to say he was running late. I told him I don’t care but you set it up before you go home … He did, finishing the set up @ 11:25pm
However my broadaband died completely (Internet & TV) for about 4 hours yesterday evening – strangely not long after I had made the Cable TV booking – jealousy I am thinking …
15 Sep 2007, 04:36 am
RP
Well done Boks, congratulations. Apparently stuck to your game plan. Have not seen the game myself yet. It will be screened on a delayed basis here in the US.
Some perspective though would be wise. Despite BH’s blathering nonsense these past weeks bear in mind Ashton’s comments earlier this year. He said that England are playing 2nd division rugby, his words not mine. Clearly that has not changed up to this point & will not change in the near future. So the Boks need to be tested by a more worthwhile opponent before evaluating their true potential. Granted a team can only play as good as the opposition offered, but some caution at this stage would be prudent.
15 Sep 2007, 04:40 am
JT
The Boks have thrown their arms around success & big b*ggers that they are will not let go easily. They have had the best “prep” games of any team so far leading into QFs.
15 Sep 2007, 04:46 am
RP
Not sure why I addressed that message to you Princess, force of habit I guess
Pleased to hear you got your cable under control. You will probably see some of the games before me. SETANTA devote a lot of time to soccer which chews up the schedule for rugby. But they have promised to screen all 48 games. It’s not so much fun though when you already know the result
15 Sep 2007, 04:57 am
396# Lol brilliant
15 Sep 2007, 05:30 am
# 358
“Now Gerber, didn’t Meisiekind look the part, too????”
Yes yes but really he should have started.
we have one weakness that is obvious
our scrum and we need to isolate this against the Abs or french in the final. I think JW should rest Smit and Os until the finals. We have soo much depth in the backline but the pack is the problem
this is my pack for the next game
08.Rossouw 06/10 against eng, solid defence though
06.van Heerden 7/10 awesome at breakdown
05.Matfield 7/10 solid at lineout
04.Botha 7/10 better discipline this time.
02.Botha – needs to start in the next game
01.Steenkam- needs gametime
15 Sep 2007, 05:30 am
he Sprinbok boys are happy
The Springbok boys are we
We never never quarrel
We never disagree
For the motto of the Springboks
Is come and drink with me
For the motto of the Springboks
Is come and drink with me.
Forwards form the scrum
Half-back puts it in
Half-back to the centre
Centre to the wing
Wing scores a try
The English begin to cry
Hurrah hurrah
For we can sing and play
Hurrah hurrah
For we can sing and play.
Bokke!
15 Sep 2007, 05:38 am
#407 JT well said and good to hear the truth from a relative ‘neutral’.
The game tonite with OZ vs Dragons will be on a more pivotal scale than SA/Poms. A good win by OZ will change the colour of the quarters and semis somewhat, still waiting on the outcome of the group of death and sense there maybe another upset on the way.
15 Sep 2007, 05:58 am
John Coward is a hunt.
15 Sep 2007, 06:01 am
Manly …
Oohh so cranky so early in the day & after a Bok win to boot ?
15 Sep 2007, 06:04 am
Guys dont write off the possibility of a Argentina/ NZ final.
If the Dragons get over the OZ and France bow out of ‘D’ with Argentina at the top, we will be looking at SA vs OZ quarter, with the poss: of SA meeting Argentina in the semis. Watch out the underdog on a roll.
NZ will get to play Ireland in the semis and if the Argies surprise SA it could be a NZ vs Argentina final. (We wish).
15 Sep 2007, 06:05 am
Manly and such bad spelling…
15 Sep 2007, 06:05 am
fantail
You are getting a bit carried away there don’t you think ?
15 Sep 2007, 06:08 am
Just dropping in to say congratulations to all South Africans on a magnificent all round performance by your team. SA look very good for a place in the final now, a top display of total rugby from all players used. A marker for all the rest of the teams to aspire to. You all must be very happy.
And manlybok above, your right as well.
15 Sep 2007, 06:14 am
Great effort from the Boks,good game plan(Eddie J?)and stuck to it for the full 80. Scrums and lineouts still need lots of work.
Viva le Bokke
15 Sep 2007, 06:41 am
That was a good win for SA, much better performance, more complete, few things to fix but in a all-most complete game of rugby display by the boks, you can’t say too much other than congrats to the men in green.
England will now have to lift against the South sea islanders, dare I say we may see an upset?!? wishful thinking but not a bad thought.
15 Sep 2007, 06:41 am
Hi Princess,
Where the hell have you been??
While you were away the SKY fell in… and Schalk was suspended in a game where they should either have cited 30 players or none at all.
I got so the moer in that I got a pain down the side of my chest that I was sure was a heart attack so while I was trying to tell myself that i’ts only a game,Koos made me laugh and I passed a large amount of wind(myself stukkend gepoep)…(dodgy salmon sandwich)……and the pain was gone.
15 Sep 2007, 06:50 am
Well done to the Boks, a disciplined and calculated win.
15 Sep 2007, 06:55 am
Australia V ENgland in the Qtr-Finals. But if Wales pull off the upset of the World Cup then we will have one of the most interesting Qtr-Final series ever. Fingers crossed.
15 Sep 2007, 07:28 am
C’mon boys I asked Keo to save all the comments where JW and the Boks were slagged off by our “loyal” fans. Useless and **** were words that featured prominently. You @rseholes know who you are and I must admit a lot of you are professing total commitment to the cause. I am just pleased that our Boks are made of sterner stuff than our fans. Petty- perhaps but never two faced!
15 Sep 2007, 07:33 am
Loosehead, how many penalties did we concede in the game? it was min hey, I don’t think i ever saw us give away so few.
15 Sep 2007, 07:36 am
Good game by the boks,I cant understand some of you guys yes there are some areas we have to work on before the QF,but **** cant we just enjoy the performance this weekend and start pulling it apart on monday?
15 Sep 2007, 07:36 am
so hopefully it will be a sa nz final, now that will be a game!!!
southern hemisphere rules!!! (except for the aussies)
15 Sep 2007, 07:38 am
Agreed BulAnt
15 Sep 2007, 07:43 am
Manly
Heavens that was a horrible mental picture you painted – esp as I do not eat seafood to begin with – Bleuch
I followed the SB citing – agree there was no intent & the punishment was over the top, not to mention plenty of others who should have kept him company at the judiciary. However, fair or not, best he learns to tidy up his play else they will ping him again.
I had no idea “Doktor Koos” was so effective in providing “relief” – Clearly a man of many hidden talents !
I cheered fr yr Boks last night so best you wear black to encourage my ABs tonight
15 Sep 2007, 07:48 am
this article i think misses some points. we did not have a good scrum. in fact we lost a tight head on the hook. we also had our scrum turned a few times. BJ was absolutely dominated by sheridan. i dont for one second believe our scrum was ok.
our lineouts were ok. that gets pass mark.
the 2 other issues i have was the below par performance from oupa danie. so slow again. all the talk before was how vital he was for our big titanic clash with england on the slow fields. he was average, got caught with the ball behind the line, made half @rsed tackles with amazing regularity. i cant wait till burger is back, and the intensity of our team returns. we looked dull, bored and really unmotivated for that game.
the positives i saw, was our determination to hold england to 0. that impressed me. percy’s compsure also got it for me. smit’s leadership to take his team to a good win that will put some demons to rest for long last was good to see too.
jp looked to slowly start to believe in himself some more. habana is getting opposition defensive lines doing their homework. they know they need 2 guys and a dedicated cover defender to watch him.
fdp was realy good. i usually dont like his game, but he did really well.
congrats bokke..now lets get a move on to that quarter!
15 Sep 2007, 07:52 am
#422 Jy bedoel seker, ‘heel gepoep’…?
15 Sep 2007, 07:52 am
flipping funny is the only way to describe comming on here and reading all the rugby “experts” doom and gloom yet again lol. it just does not matter what the Boks do, they are doomed to keep winning and still be pathetic at it lmfao.
thank god all the rugby sense in the land sees Jake White and co in France and none of the plonkers on this forum with any input to the Bok side or god help us.
15 Sep 2007, 07:58 am
yap wls, this game is gonna have legendary status and will be remembered for ages. this is the game where we finally laid the ghosts of twickenham 2002 to rest. to loose and score no points, well this is unthinkable isn’t it, yet some complain, there will always be some.
15 Sep 2007, 08:04 am
Yep Princess…I hear his “aviary’ s quite well hidden too.
Right so the vicars outfit for the AB game.
15 Sep 2007, 08:13 am
exactly this was a very very solid performance, no matter which way you look at it.
Boks have laid down a marker, in fact since our opening two games have had the toughest oposition so far for any of the big sides we look the best. i mean what are NZ getting out of today? nothing. Australia should walk the game today aswell.
15 Sep 2007, 08:16 am
not being toio negative here but geez this article is TOTALLY OFF THE TRACK regarding the comment about BJ. Jon Cardinelli, were you watching the game in a french nightclub??
because you totally weren’t watching the same game as 99% of people here.
WTF? legendary status ? this game was mundane and boring but win is a win. Bring on the ABs in the final…unless the frogs sneak up from behind and play the game of their lives in the quarter
final
15 Sep 2007, 08:26 am
437 beating england in a wc 36-0 is legendary. just cos england looked kak does not take credit away from us. this was a game between old old rivals who have dominated us for the last how many years.
Manly
Poor koos & his “aviary – leave it alone !
Yes the Vicars outfit for the AB game – Let those “Los Lobos” think in addition to everything else the ABs have God on their side
& what is ‘heel gepoep’ ?
Like I sald boys there are those of us who have stuck behind the Boks through thick and thin and there are those who can’t even enjoy a good win without criticising the boys.
15 Sep 2007, 08:28 am
437. Agree with you on the BJ comment. He watched the game from between his legs. I think he got a good pummeling. Good win though. The boks never seemed to break a sweat.
15 Sep 2007, 08:34 am
#440 there is always room for improvement
its easy to sit back and enjoy it but there was major scrum issue. the front row were scrumming like a trio of WP props.
sigh of relief to win and win well but we can’t over look a major weakness.
15 Sep 2007, 08:35 am
greatest @ 437
i agree with you on the win. we needed to win this game and we’ve done just that. our scrum looked shakey for a while there, and it was only after the england forwards began to tire that we managed to get the upperhand in this department. after reading a lot of the news reports on yesterdays game, i fear that we are taking too much out of this game.
1. we were not as good as the scoreline indicates.
2. there are no easy/ easier way to the final. its a myth. just ask nz.
3. this england side is nothing short of pathetic. i predicted last week (after their game against the usa) that they may even become the 1st defending champs to bow out in the group stages. i think samoa must really fancy their chances.
jeez, this england side have no idea of what to do to enable them to score points.
15 Sep 2007, 08:35 am
Spot on, Dee-dah.
I was at that game in Perth four years ago when Corne’s mob lost to the English in WC03. It was painful stuff and anyone wishing to suggest that Jake has not done an outstanding job delivering an antidote for much of the pain is living in denial – and has ulterior motives, won’t face up to reality.
Despite occupying the most challenging coaching post in international rugby, Jake White has done a very good job. We’ve come an awful long way during his tenure. His plans to build a squad, inculcate a sense of belonging among the group, re-establish pride in the Bok jersey, are just some examples of enormous progress.
Yes, there’s still a job to be done, there are still areas to hone, there are bigger challenges ahead and we’re not guaranteed the ultimate prize.
But it would be nice to see the buffoons heading the “Jake must gooooooooooooooooooooo!” brigade concede that perhaps a sharper brain than theirs has been guiding our fortunes over the past four years.
Go Jake, go John, go Bokke.
Go all the way!!!
15 Sep 2007, 08:36 am
#418 princess, yes maybe a little but CSI is on to it. If Wales beat OZ tonite we could have a Eng/tonga vs Wales, SA vs OZ. If Argie can stay on top of Ireland we then have NZ vs Ireland quarter.Heres the possibility. If Argie becomes what France has been to NZ previously in regards to SA (for the semi) we are looking at a Argie/NZ final if we beat Ireland. Dont say it cant happen as it has once before and you know these latinos, self belief is a dangerous thing and dont know if the structured game of SA could deal with it under those conditions.
I maybe talking it up but it IS a possibility.
15 Sep 2007, 08:36 am
First of all, as I predicted on Thursdays site, BJ completely dominated Sheridan.
Believe me Sheridan would rather scrum against any other tight head but BJ. Once again it is the intepretation of that contest by the ref that leads to penalties sometimes going the wrong way.
Yes we lost 2 tight heads, which were a result of poor concentration and poor refeering. This does not take away from the fact that on the tight head side of the scrum Sheridan was bent badly.
The tight head scrumming in at an angle at times although illegal is an important weapon in destroying the whole of the opposite front row.
Much like the fetcher flanker it is the tight heads job to play at the edge of the law.
Believe me BJ is one of the most important weapons we have if we are to beat the all blacks and Jake, John Smit will be banking on that.
Where they have to manage his playing time carefully is because he scrums close to the edge of the law,and it is important to assess the ref you are dealing with and how he will blow the penalties at scrum time.
Lastly what are we going to do about the terrible camera coverage we are getting. Can someone tell the french to get rid of the aerial overhead camera and save it for soccer.
15 Sep 2007, 08:43 am
Fantail
Already sounding as if u have enjoyed a little red & marinara
Let’s not get a head of ourselves, I agree that anything is possible – this could be an RWC filled with bolters & upsets … hopefully just not our upset
15 Sep 2007, 08:47 am
#443 cheers, the English have the pack but the backline offers nothing on attack and cover defence. As I predicted, little men such as Robinson caused us much headarche but he was a lone ranger.
you must be from Durban? because the overall analysis is that our scrum as a unit was weak.
BJ was penalised for illegal scrummaging at one point.
as for the arial overhead, does take getting use to. Its the slow motion shots that annoy me!..
slow motion replay of player facials is just pure ***.
15 Sep 2007, 08:50 am
Hey princess bar-b-q and coronas tonite and then home after the AB game to catch the Dragons fry the Wallys( wishfull I know). The outcome pool D will really start the ball rolling. Can you see any reason to date as to why the Argies cant top that group? Two good wins and France playing catch up. Only Ireland to beat France by a healthy margin and games on.
15 Sep 2007, 08:53 am
graetest13gerber- careful with the *** remarks I’m recovering from kneeling on broken glass for forgiveness over similar comments.
15 Sep 2007, 08:55 am
england pack + fijian backline = decent WC defence
it will take a miracle for England to lift their game after this lost. they will now try and play a forward based game against Samoa.
Samoa will go for an all out attack sevens style to rattle the wounded poms.
We will now need to focus on the semi final and final. I seriously think JW should consider dropping Os and starting Gurthro. Harsh but we can’t risk him. Feel the squad is carrying him,
15 Sep 2007, 09:01 am
#450 hehe only careful if I ever go to cape town
15 Sep 2007, 09:04 am
BJ is a good player BUT he got his *** handed to him last night. Why is everyone saying how great he was. He cam off second best in this contest. The boks look good. They never paniced and looked as though they were in cruise control. I think they have another gear or 2.
15 Sep 2007, 09:07 am
#453 that is about best summary I have read about this game. Fair, honest and to the point.
shame Visagie and Bands were injured.
next gear please! bring on the final.
15 Sep 2007, 09:14 am
Thought BJ was one of our weaker players.. kept getting penalised in the first half.
One complaint: wish I had watched it in a VERY LOUD PLACE coz between Hugh Bladen stumbling over his words and the stuuuupid English post match interviewer…
But that’s my problem.
Anyways, FdP and Butch take a bow. And Steyn. Oh heck, all of them…
And kudos for them not pummeling Robinson when he pulled the hamstring (also congrats to Hugh for not workin out that the standing ovation was partly because that was very probably the last action of his career)
15 Sep 2007, 09:15 am
448 The overall analysis is very often by people who dont know what is actually going on in the front row.
453 is a good example of this.
Of course BJ got penalised for illegal scrumming, that is what happens when you play close to the law. How many times do Burger, Smith, Mc caw get prnalised?
15 Sep 2007, 09:15 am
Jp Pietersen hopefully silenced his critics last night. Im happy for him he had a good game. BJ and his whole build up in the media… ya , the talk didn’t turn into walk. He got nailed and was pretty average. Its time to give Gurthro a chance.
15 Sep 2007, 09:17 am
444 I agree with you and am ashamed to admit that I once joined the chorus for JW’s head. He does seem to have stuck to his guns and given himself a good chance of winning the WC but I would like see a better winning percentage. I live abroad and deal with alot of Aussies and Kiwis and can’t take the abuse. We should be an 80-90% win ratio team. The only side that deserves to beat us occationally are the AB’s
15 Sep 2007, 09:18 am
#453 I must agree. I thought BJ’s side of the scrum was getting murdered (1st 60 minutes). But I honestly dont always see whats going on in the scrum. (similar to the ref, I guess). Hell but we dondered those okes. And FDP was quite brilliant. Pity england were k*k else these okes on the site would actually have to be happy – and we know thats impossible
15 Sep 2007, 09:21 am
456 How do you reackon he had a good game? Playing close to the law does not mean getting penalised. This would mean he was overstepping the law. You must be a prop with that dof mentality.
15 Sep 2007, 09:22 am
SA were at their best against a piss poor England outfit.
Why I say their best, because they held their structure, played to their pattern and didn’t go loopy thinking anyone from anywhere could score.
As good as SA were, England were exposed doubly on how out of step they are to the modern game.
But then again, England are getting the brick bats infairly. The entire NH game is a joke!
15 Sep 2007, 09:22 am
Well contested game. England never stopped coming, and it was good to see the passion we defended our line with.
To all most comments from OZ,NZ – I find your comments and criticisms very positive on the whole. And I think fantail, etc make good points about our weaknesses. There were some bad mistakes. Our scoreline masked some terrible moments. I am the first to admit I am clueless on what goes on in a scrum, but it was clear we were not dominant, even a bit weak, here.
JPP still knocks on.
JF had the tryline fever – a move like that would cost us the cup next time.
BJ missed some crucial tackles in the last quarter.
Wikus knocked on, missing a simple high ball in our 22.
Ou OS the legend, looked a little spent in the 2nd half, at the breakdown. Sorry, true. And folks it was pure lady luck that his pass to no one, dribbling on the ground, was not intercepted for Eng try. FDP’s brilliance made it our try.
Missing drop kicks, when you have loads of time is a match costing mistake.
Habana – no try. He was closed down early. A stronger team will make him dissappear even more.
However, I believe it is the manner in which we took this win that will see us to the final and to an epic battle beyond comprehension. There was no undue celebration after the match. JS gave a noble and humble post test interview. JW had the look of a man who is not yet finnished his job. The atmosphere was more like, boys see you in the morning for training..
I believe it ids also positive that we have not peaked. 3rd gear is right. If all goes well. We must keep our heads down. Keep sobriety.
IMHO.
15 Sep 2007, 09:29 am
agree on os. for the doubters … watch the 1st scrum after os left the field.
15 Sep 2007, 09:31 am
Agreed. Good overall performance, enough to get the job done. Not the finished article – yet. I’d be worried about the AB’s in the final. We’ve always had a tendency to be somewhat over confident – i just hope that this is not the case now.
Now… Please can i watch that all over again!!
15 Sep 2007, 09:32 am
asha1 @ 463
Was that one where the pack finally held their ground?
15 Sep 2007, 09:33 am
IMHO, you have to remember that England were not trying to win this game, just spoil and play for territory. I think our lads played like a team with all facets of play – something they did not have in the tri nations (inventive backline play)
If England werent so hell bent on defending it would have opened up more gaps for us. It looked like they knew they had done well but there are bigger games to come. Go the Bokke
15 Sep 2007, 09:34 am
Sporto getting personal now.
Talk about dof, let me explain this to you only one more time.
Playing close to the law like BJ or the great fetchers I mentioned means that sometimes you get blown up. That is the risk you take.
If you believe any player can play close to the law and never get blown up then you have obviously never played this game and are a good theorist.
15 Sep 2007, 09:34 am
#462 – China, in fairness – JPP, JF, Wikus all made one mistake of the kind you mentioned. And the drop goal thing was clearly a directive from the coach. And furthermore, the Os pass-FDP scoop-> well, if it was the AB’s we’d be saying how brilliant their loose play is, no?
I thought it was one of our best performances I’ve seen, so composed and classy – pity Poms were soooo k*k. The old, shiny Bentley looked so confident kicking at goal. Eish I really enjoyed watching
15 Sep 2007, 09:35 am
odm @ 455
agree on hugh blaiden. if anyone know the guy, have his cellphone number or e-mail adress… please ask this guy to STOP counting percy’s every single point! jeez, i feel like cutting my wrists when he start with “and he’s now on 699 points, can he make it 702 points … blah blah blah yes he can”. then with the next conversion/ penalty “he’s now on….”. he does this in every single game and with every single conversion/ penalty!!!
15 Sep 2007, 09:38 am
brads @ 465
no, that was the one where the england props’ heads was shoved up their asses!
15 Sep 2007, 09:41 am
i listened to Ben Tune and Darwin (Aus) – they were actually quite excited about SA. Buuuuut watch this space – if we do well, it’ll all be because of Eddie. They will rub that in – over and over. Ah well, its a small price for the trophy
15 Sep 2007, 09:42 am
I always thought its our front row and our 8th man that will be our Achilles heel not our 12 or 14, the backs did fine, FdP turned the game on its head, JP made the initial break that put the english to the sword early on, Steyn tackled and mixed it with the big boys and stood his ground like a warhorse veteran, even JF, Habana, Percy, all did very well, in fact if not for our game breaking backs this could have been a whole other contest because the English front row were dominant and their loosies Easter and Corry made a few meters into our territory, if they had had a decent flyhalf-center combination the game could have swung on a different momentum.
Having said that our boys kept them out time and again and thwarted all their adventures into our 22, I must add I think Jutge gave us a decent reffing game and if anything was perhaps a little generous our way a couple times.
15 Sep 2007, 09:44 am
asha1
In other words, Os is past it!
15 Sep 2007, 09:44 am
There is some one missing here and the name is Big Hit if I’m not mistaken. Please enlighten us with regards to the theory behind the thrashing of that team you call the world champs. Mmmm… I thought so no response at all. Bye bye and may you enjoy the rest of the tournament.
15 Sep 2007, 09:45 am
Dont know about BJ being bad. If there was one place where the English could stand toe toe with the Bokke it was scrum time.
Having said that. What a beautiful game that was. I just watched it again and its the type of game that you teach other players with. Focus on the basics etc… And then just slowly and carefully close your fist.
I really take my hat off to the team and Jake. Having said that the influence of Eddie Jones is as CLEAR as daylight. i have not seen our backline with so much languid confidence EVER. Butch James??? what contained and managed passion. FdP Best scrum half in the world.
Francois Steyn? Wow. he was 11/12 when Jannie de Beer kicked 5 drop goals and now he is playing with Percy. Jaque Fourie .. looked for work.
The english were so focused on containing Habana that they forgot about JP Pietersen… Et tu Brute
If Jakes and the team read here : Well done and thank you
15 Sep 2007, 09:50 am
brads @ 473
thats a bit harsh, but, i think the wc came 1 season too late for the great os. dont get me wrong, he will still be a force if used correctly, but over the years he’s set a standard of what we can expect of os, and unfortunately he’s not near his own standard. (sadly)
15 Sep 2007, 09:51 am
England won enough possessio nthat they should have competed.
Go only knows what went through their minds.
Sarkey on the left wing had a prick of a game, but the main reason for that was the Poms shovelled any ball they wanted to run with as quick as they could to the man.
In some scenarios that is a good thing, but when the Boks are spread man for man across the field, all they achieved was leaving a player with the ball and no options. Idiots!
Any S14 team would have dealt to England on their performance today.
15 Sep 2007, 09:51 am
Yes it is true without Eddie our backs would not have had the confidence which is obvious to see taking shape this is not the same bok backline that we saw 4 or 5 months ago, in fact I even doubt that Jake would have had the courage to blood Steyn so early if JdV was gone, he might very well had stuck with WO through his penchant for conservatism. I am convinced it is Eddies perceptions that has given Jake the self belief to make the brave calls which is a far cry from that which I saw lacking in our game plans before he came on board.
15 Sep 2007, 09:52 am
#472 = agreed about the ref. Maybe Schalk was a sacrifice to the refs – now they have their pound of flesh and are reffing us properly – i dunno
#475 agreed – thanks for that lads – such control and confidence
15 Sep 2007, 09:57 am
Doesn’t anybody see anything wrong with the picture in which the Springboks really cannot OUTSCRUM their English opponents?
Even when England put a 50-point winning margin on the Boks (53-3) at Twickenham some years back, the Boks did not yield as much as one inch in the scrum.
It’s a matter of honour, surely?
But the Bok front row came off a very distant second-best in their 38-0 triumph in Paris.
And the peerless Hayman, Mealamu/Oliver and Woodcock lie as a blockage in their passage onwards and upwards.
Oh dear!
15 Sep 2007, 09:57 am
Where is Gurthro he hasn’t taken the field for MONTHS, who is going to stand up to Hayman and Woodcock, I fear not BJ and OS?
15 Sep 2007, 09:58 am
Now is that telepathy, Tackler, or what?
15 Sep 2007, 10:00 am
Great minds think alike.
15 Sep 2007, 10:00 am
I would go as far as to attempt Gurthro Bismark CJ as a second string front row but with the view to replacing OS Smit BJ within 50 mins or even earlier.
15 Sep 2007, 10:01 am
knersboy @428
you just summed up my rugby philosophy mate!
15 Sep 2007, 10:01 am
483 Guess its got to be the case.
15 Sep 2007, 10:04 am
TheTackler
The scrum has lost a lot of its effect over the last few years and today the lineout is more effective at winning ball, and is more frequent in the game as well.
Where it is usefull though is draining the marrow out of players legs through endless resets.
15 Sep 2007, 10:07 am
why
are all the kiwis
on this board
so nasty
about the bok
victory
are they perhaps
shitting themselves
for what may happen
in the final
or did they eat
too much cabbage
15 Sep 2007, 10:09 am
When you kick away your line-out possession in the direction of Muliaina, Rocokoko and Howlett/Sivivatu, you’re ASKING for trouble!
And the scrum is, was and always will be the heartbeat of rugby dominance. Rule the scrum and the battle is three-quarters won.
15 Sep 2007, 10:09 am
467, Tight head, not getting personal, just some fun…sorry. I do understand what you are saying…however he was going backwards at pace and was still getting blown up. This is a lose lose situation. I am a big fan of BJ, I just don’t think he had a great game. Sheridan was forcing him in and he had nowhere to go but backwards or up.
15 Sep 2007, 10:16 am
Sheridan was utterly SMASHED on the Lions tour to NZ — even by the pretty average NZ provincial opposition!
BJ and CJ really are far too weak of backbone and technique to play test rugby against the seriously big boys of rugby. Os is a legend. He’s got what it takes. Nobody argues with an anchor like Os, even if he is two years past his prime. (No prop on earth peaks until he turns 30, anyway.)
15 Sep 2007, 10:16 am
Where the Jake bashers now!! And where is Bit Hit lol
15 Sep 2007, 10:17 am
Porra @ 488
The simple answer is no.
15 Sep 2007, 10:20 am
491. Tackler, the only sense you spoke in this comment was “Os is a legend. He’s got what it takes. Nobody argues with an anchor like Os, even if he is two years past his prime.”…the rest is absolute drivel…
15 Sep 2007, 10:20 am
TheTackler @ 491
I guess Hayman will need tights and a cape when reaches 30 then!
15 Sep 2007, 10:23 am
Mike H @ 492
Don’t despair, they will be plenty thick on the ground before this competition is done and dusted.
15 Sep 2007, 10:25 am
#480 Tackler, you twat.
The score was 36-0 not 38-0! Can you not even get the basics right?
15 Sep 2007, 10:27 am
Tackler, you disappoint me. I’d have thought you had more sense than to brand skopskiet a “great mind”.
C’mon skopskiet, give Jake some credit. He blooded Steyn long before Eddie arrived. He blooded Habana too, when all you guys (yes, stand up, own up) said he was mad.
And he had the wisdom and foresight to secure Eddie’s services as technical advisor for the WC when many were lauging at Eddie’s days as Reds coach…they still laugh in Oz but I suspect it’s starting to die down.
Great mind se moer…
Good on you for conceding your error, sporto. Sign of character.
15 Sep 2007, 10:27 am
scrum scrum scrum, that is all anybody ever speaks about. very seldom does a team truly dominate in the scrum when playing opponents in a similar league.
how often does the famed all black scrum push the puff aussie scrum off their own ball? not too much. don’t get me wrong, i believe the AB’s to have the best scrum in the business, but i really feel that dominance in the scrum is dampened because it is such a complicated set piece.
the scrum is a symbol of rugby power, this is why we all see it as the holy grail, but logically, there are just too many degrees of freedom in a scrum, too many variables for a weaker team to play with to negate the oppositions advantage.
15 Sep 2007, 10:29 am
Larkham is out of the Wales match with a knee injury and possibly the rest of the WC. That’s going to be an enormous blow for the Wobblies. They’re mad if they play Barnes as first choice 10 and leave Giteau at 12, which is what it looks like.
15 Sep 2007, 10:30 am
howzit Joe.
Long time
Well done last night Bokke
15 Sep 2007, 10:31 am
I agree mate. Although barnes has been brought in to do just that. Fill in for larkham. Blokes about to start climbing a step learning curve.
Gits at 10, staniforth at 12.
15 Sep 2007, 10:32 am
boland would have put 30 past this english side.
15 Sep 2007, 10:33 am
Oh dear! It was 36-0 and not 38-0 like I said.
I guess that changes everything, hey?
15 Sep 2007, 10:35 am
Whats up Joe, you reckon Jake would have started with Steyn if not for Eddy holding his hand, maybe its more a case of Jake abdicating the technical strategic job to his bosom pal and opting for the limelight role, most of what we seeing take shape here is in effect a mix of destiny ruling out Spies, JdV and Burger and giving Jake a hand along with Eddies input to put a decent working combination together, but somebody better do something about no.8 and the front row quick before the semis come around.
15 Sep 2007, 10:39 am
tight head, don’t you think that it was more a case of Sheridan binding on BJ’s shorts / lower back and pulling his arse out that caused the Bok scrum to crab and BJ to go in?
Did we go back or did we just crab sideways?
15 Sep 2007, 10:39 am
Congrats BOks that was surperb and there is life without Schalk which is great to see
15 Sep 2007, 10:40 am
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….u
15 Sep 2007, 10:41 am
Steyn, Habana, Pienaar, Wickus, JP, these are some of the match winners, and they were blooded not by Jake, who would have played others (barring Habana that is) Like JdV or WO and Willemse.
15 Sep 2007, 10:44 am
This didn’t even look like a Bok side, they were so controlled and structured.
You could see Eddies’ influence at the breakdown as well. We had only 2 or 3 players committed to the rucks with virtually no attempt to counter ruck. I just hope that we add a bit more aggression against the ABs, otherwise we won’t see any ruck ball at all.
15 Sep 2007, 10:45 am
we need to urgently look at no.8
15 Sep 2007, 10:45 am
All I’m saying, skopskiet, is give Jake some credit. He has taken this side a long way in four years.
Yes, he’s human, he’s fallible, but he has done an outstanding job under trying circumstances. To deny that is to be mindlessly childish.
Jake knew he needed backline assistance as Coetzee has been about as useful as an ashtry on a motorbike BUT his place is cemented by the powers higher up the pecking order. Jake can’t change that but he can bring someone in who can make a difference.
That’s clever. That, my friend, is a great mind, not the grey matter you’re lumbered with.
Howzit Flametop…
How’s the youngster coming along? Must be about six months old now, already practicing drop kicks ala Frans Steyn? Trust you had him watching last night, in his Bok jersey; trust he has the emerald green one for those other occasions, too.
All the best with your campaign, still believe you’ll make it out of the group of death.
15 Sep 2007, 10:46 am
#506 — are you suggesting that a professionally-coached Springbok prop like BJ was technically OUTSMARTED by a mediocre Pom opposite number like Andy Sheridan? To the tune of two tightheads in a losing side that got whacked by a massive 36-0?
Jeez! That’s a pretty scathing indictment of the Boks scrummaging coach, isn’t it? Asleep at the wheel?
15 Sep 2007, 10:48 am
All those players you mentioned came into the Bok fold with jake at the helm, idiot!
That’s mne on this subject. I’ve argued with you once before and receieved the same imbecilic responses.
Cheers…he’s all yours, Tackler.
15 Sep 2007, 10:49 am
tighthead,
you can’t deny that BJ struggled. He was neither in control nor had the upperhand. And I can talk with experience in the position backing me up. But you are correct with the playing close to the rules, I hope all the players play close on the boundary.
15 Sep 2007, 10:50 am
To settle the Os issue once and for all guys, he is an integral part of the TEAM!! and his value doesn’t just come in what he does in his position, but what he brings to the team. Don’t for one moment think that White will risk losing the cup over sentiment by picking him and dare I say he knows a thing or two more than you well educated rugby experts when it comes to team selections etc.
In a nutshell stop fantasising about the perfect team and agree with the experts who will confirm this was the best side we could field.
Celebrate the win!!!
15 Sep 2007, 10:50 am
Judging from what I have read, we have just about won the WC. Lets enjoy it but be realistic.
Lets not get carried away, this was just a pool game against one of the weakest teams at the WC. Our scrum was pathetic and we should have scored at least two or three more tries with all the possession we had.
I saw nothing that will scare the AB or Aus. A lot of improvement is needed before the big boys arrive.
15 Sep 2007, 10:52 am
The stat that should really be celebrated is the zero in the Pom scoring column.
That was outstanding!
15 Sep 2007, 10:56 am
RL’s take on the players.
1.Os was his usual best. Solid as a rock at scrum time and popping up all over the place to compete for the ball while making some good tackles. Maybe Os is a yard slower than in the past but for an old legend he is going well. There is no doubt that he will be rested until the QF match.
2.The skipper did what he did best, and that was lead by example. JS and the team made sure that they kept to their simple but effective game plan of playing for field position and turning the big and slow pommy forwards around by hoisting the ball to the back 3 all night long. JS and the team also made sure that there was great discipline on defence.
3.BJ was in the war zone, some good scrums and some not so good ones. There was some real funny stuff going on there and I think that both teams were guilty of bending the laws to gain the upper hand, the poms were just more successful with their tactics.
4.Bakkies was huge, some great work in the lineout and around the park, the poms were literally left battered and bruised by the enforcer. There were poms lying all over the place, bleeding and looking like they wanted to cry. Yes we won the war in the trenches.
5.Matfield was at his usual best, he had a good game but he knows that there is some work to do to get the lineouts working at full efficiency. On the night all it took was one good lineout and some brilliant work by FDP that resulted in a brilliant try.
6.Wikus and a great game, he stole ball, he slowed ball and he carried ball well. These are things that Burger does well too but Wikus does not have the same energy and intensity that Burger brings to the park.
7.Juan just gets better and better the more he plays, he was huge in the line out and did some great work in the contact area. What a great run to finish off the brilliant work of FDP.
8.Danie was the other enforcer on the night, that is why he was selected start against the poms and he did his job, he and Bakkies had great fun in bashing the poms and as a result two pale faced poms are now out of action – lol Perhaps Jake is keeping Bob fresh for the knockout stages when match winners are needed.
9.FDP – The Man of the Match – The worlds best halfback by a mile – The General and main decision maker of the team.
10.The poms were laughing at the inclusions of Butch at 10. Well pommy’s Butch does his talking on the field, his kicking out of hand was brilliant, his vision and passing game excellent. He turned the pommy Neanderthal pack around time and time again. He defended his channel well bringing down pom after pom after pom – he was our enforcer in the backline.
11.Habana had a few good runs and a good match. To contain Habana the poms commited extra bodies to the left side of the field just to look after Habana, it was a big mistake – notice that the poms conceded all their trys on the right side of the field.
12.Steyn was very good, the big boy stood up well in defence and often found himself switching roles with Butch. His best position may just be at inside centre/flyhalf and the more he plays the better he will become.
13.At this point in time I would say the JF is the almost best outside centre in the world. Solid in defence, always a threat in attack and break any team down if given just half a gap. He too attracts extra bodies to mark him which opens up other dangerous players.
14.JPP is the player that teams underestimate, mainly because they are more afraid of Habana than him. He made some good runs, was huge in defence and for the top try scorer in the S14 he will have no problem with fewer defenders marking him.
15.Percy was solid as usual, his kicking out of hand was top notch and when presented the chance to put point on the board he did just that. There is a lot more that the fullback can do especially in attack and I am sure that our new consultant Eddie Jones, will bring out the best of Percy very soon.
16.(Bismarck, CJ, Muller, Bobby, Pienaar, Petoors, WO) – The players on the bench looked exactly like the player they were replacing, there were no disruptions at all to the way the team was playing, when this happens then you have a squad of 22 that can go all the way.
15 Sep 2007, 10:58 am
NZ are about to play Portugal who I exect to get thrashed by 100+ points.
However, as weak as the Portugeuse are, I still expect they will score some points, probably an intercept try.
Which is more than the Poms could do against SA.
15 Sep 2007, 10:58 am
Hi Loose head.
What is not being understood is the different strategy we had on our put in as opposed to their put in.
On our put in BJ had just to keep it steady and make sure we got clean ball.
On their put in, in the first half he attacked Sheridan to put the pressure on. Later in the second half it was obvious that we were happy to wheel them and give them bad ball from the scrum with our scrummie and loosies putting the pressure on them after the pick up.
15 Sep 2007, 10:59 am
NOTHING went wrong for Os. He held up his end of the bargain with his usual aplomb. Same goes for Smit, who is a powerhouse in the scrum.
The Bok scrum blew apart with BJ, who failed spectacularly and totally. And, later in the game, we saw how weak CJ vd Linde is — as if confirmation was ever needed.
Ditch BJ.
Ditch CJ.
Send out an SOS for DJ…
(Whoa! That idea sounds even dodgier! Is there an AJ in the house?)
15 Sep 2007, 11:00 am
Fantail
Enjoy yr BBQ & Coronas tonite – how is this for irony – I finally get the RWC on telly & have to go out for dinner tonight with a bunch of non-rugger people ! Criminal waste
I doubt the Welsh will step up, then again who (apart from me) picked the Argies ?
Life is starting to get a little bit interesting !
15 Sep 2007, 11:02 am
From The Times September 15, 2007
Hapless Ashton still seeks big performance to avoid early exitOwen Slot, Chief Sports Reporter, in Paris
After what had appeared the darkest of days — the match against the United States last week — the message from the England team was that they could not wait to get out there again. The Springbok game could not come around fast enough.
England fans can judge for themselves whether yesterday was better or worse, but can the kneejerk comeback be the same? Do you, England, really feel you cannot wait for Samoa. Do you feel the Samoans simply cannot come fast enough?
Or would England rather not have a year and a day to prepare for Samoa. Because that game now looms horribly. This England side are rattling up a sequence of humiliations, but failing to qualify from the pool would be the absolute ultimate.
“Shell-shocked†was how Martin Corry, the captain, described his colleagues. A more concerning admission was that, once chasing the game, they had no plan. Neither did Brian Ashton inspire much faith in this side when he conceded that teams such as England spill chances when “down on confidenceâ€. How the gentle men of Samoa will feast on all that.
Related Links
How England rated
England suffer worst ever World Cup defeat
Grand plan falls flat on its face
England will go into the Samoa game still bleating about the big performance that remains within them. Few are they who remain convinced that it is genuinely there, though, as Ashton conceded: “If there’s one, it’s going to have to come out on Saturday. Otherwise, we’re going home.â€
Indeed, but if England cannot score points, they cannot win. A new verb — “to nil†— has become modern rugby slang and England can now get used to it. They were not just nilled by South Africa, they barely got close to a point. The closest they got was a miscued Mike Catt dropped goal. All that talk about whether Andy Farrell is or is not a world-class goalkicker was utterly irrelevant because England did not put him in a position from which to show us. Not one penalty. Just a nil.
If the sight of England trudging off at the final whistle was a miserable one, the booing didn’t help. Some 20 minutes after the finish, a number of players returned to the field to stretch and they were also booed by the remnants of England’s supporters who urged them callously to score a try.
courtesy of the Times
15 Sep 2007, 11:02 am
Well done Bokke…keep your heads and you will win the trophy.
Stavros not sure what you are smoking chap… Wikus had agreat game – he may not be as flamboyant as Schalk – but he did his job well. They called him the “Silent Assassin:..very apt I think. And what “big hit” our guy had two hands stretched out to the ball and was infront of the pom…infact the pom went into him….the Touch Judge got it wrong…
Bokke Bokke Bokke…. Keo great to see such a fabulous write up about the boys in the Argus…
15 Sep 2007, 11:03 am
I reckon Eddie’s added a lot more finesse to the forwards than we realised. After working with a suspect Australian pack he must be in 7th heaven. It’s all very well developing peripheral vision, but Eddie seems to have shown the players how to make use of it. Let’s face it, he’s taken only a month to teach Schalk and Juan how and when to pass, which Gert couldn’t manage in almost 4 years!
15 Sep 2007, 11:03 am
Skopskiet the more you talk the more niave you look. You think Eddie is the reasons the boks beat England. This team has been built by Jake over 4 years not by Eddie in 4 months. Please hush you getting annoying
15 Sep 2007, 11:06 am
#517 Joejoe – then you weren’t watching the same game then. Yes the AB’s and possibly the Wallies will offer much more of a challenge – but they would be stupid to think they could walk over us. Both teams would have to have had an outstanding game to have beaten us last night. We were co-ordinated, confident, organised and mature under pressure (the ref has no clue about scrummaging…)
15 Sep 2007, 11:07 am
Some people can’t see something good even when its smashing them in the face. Go Jake Go Bokke, this really is a team we can be proud of.
15 Sep 2007, 11:07 am
i have got to admit to being a huge Jake fan, but the boks are passing a lot more out of tackles than they used to, it does seem to something that started to happen with the arrival of Eddie, coincidence or not!!
15 Sep 2007, 11:08 am
No doubt that Eddie has contributed hugely to our game…definitely added more flair and attacking ability, but we would have beaten them without Eddie.
St Michel,
Where art thou? Please elaborate how the superior English schooling system that you always rant about was again evident in yesterday’s performance?
NZ 33 SA 6
Earlier this year.
And many weren’t impressed and thought the ABs were flat and a bit indifferent.
33-6
15 Sep 2007, 11:09 am
Is there any new about the FdP injury?
He didn’t look too concerned afterwards… but I am a bit worried. If there was ever an example for young scrumhalves last night was one; he played himself out of his skin and into my WC dream team!
15 Sep 2007, 11:09 am
one wonders how the durban scoreline would of looked if Foure Du Preez was playing on that afternoon against the All Blacks , i’m sure the All Blacks watched his perfomance last night with a wee bit of worry
15 Sep 2007, 11:10 am
Tackler you giving odds against the all blacks?
15 Sep 2007, 11:13 am
#252 Mr Freon –
I agree Peter De Villiers came across as negative and bitter through the whole thing (pre and post match chatter)…all he did was pick us apart and basically say what Jake White had did wrong – he wouldn’t even mention Eddie Jones name. Arsehole!
How is this for a coincidence?
The ’91 champs were beaten by the team to win the ’95 RWC
The ’95 champs were beaten by the team to win the ’99 RWC
The ’99 champs were beaten by the team to win the ’03 RWC
The ’03 champs were beaten by the team to win the ’07 RWC … ?
I don’t doubt Eddie’s influence. It’s a huge positive.
But how many of you pooh-poohed it as another Jake fiasco? After all, who would want the ditched Queensland Reds coach anywhere near the Boks? God forbid…this White guy is truly and idiot.
Oh yes?
All credit to Jake. Congrats to eddie for his input. But as Mije H said, this is no overnight success story. Jake has been planning it and working on it for four years. We may not win the WWE Cup but no-one can deny we have made enormous strides since the dark days of Dolf and Corne.
And, by the way, had Eddie thought Jake an idiot, there is simply no way he would have taken the position.
15 Sep 2007, 11:14 am
Wat ‘n uitstekende vertoning van ons Bokke. Mens kon dit sommer al voel met die sing van die volksliedere dat SA heelwat beter voorberei het as die Pommies. Uitstekende vertoning deur FDP. Het iemand getel hoeveel duikslae het Frans uitgevoer? Kon heel moontlik meer as Schalk se gemiddelde per wedstryd gewees het.
Maar aan die ander kant moet ons realisties bly. Die Bleekbene was nie swak nie, hulle was eenvoudig pateties. Hoe een van die top rugbylande in die wêreld so kon agteruitgaan is skokkend. Ten minste 12 uit die 14 super14 spanne hierdie jaar sou gisteraand se wedstryd gewen het. My magtig, self die Reds sou hulle ‘n “go” gegee het.
Al het Brian Ashton eers einde verlede jaar oorgeneem (of begin van die jaar? is nie seker nie), moes hy en sy span afrigters tog hulself beter voorberei het vir hierdie belangrike wedstryd.
Maar my innige simpatie met die Engelse ondersteuners. Ons weet waardeur julle gaan. Ons was ook al ‘n paar keer die afgelope 10/12 jaar daardeur.
Een ding wat Jake en Eddie net moet besef is dat die taktiek wat hulle gisteraand gebruik het om die Engelse te wen, nie gaan werk teen die AB en selfs teen Aus nie. Om “Up and under” taktiek teen die AB te gebruik is selfmoord met hulle gevaarlike teenaanvalle. Maar ek glo hulle het meer as genoeg verstand om nie in daardie slaggat te trap nie.
Intussen, kom ons “party” behoorlik (sonder om arrogant te raak) en wees trots om wat die span en afrigters gisteraand vermag het.
15 Sep 2007, 11:18 am
Hi Joe,
sorry had to get a few zzzz’s while he was sleeping.
Yep, he’s getting big, strong legs,kicks me in the head, headbutts, and claws at my face/eyes with razor sharp little nails.
(guess it’s in his genes
)
As for Ireland ….we’ll know more after tonight.
I fear are not going to do ourselves justice, which is a shame as we have a good team, but badly out of form. Pity, cos I don’t rate France/Arg that highly for talent (Arg good passion/brawn though)
15 Sep 2007, 11:19 am
#538 – Interesting stuff, but by that logic Samoa might be champs too??
15 Sep 2007, 11:20 am
533, Tackler.
Do not worry about SA. NZ will not make it do the final, I say this based on mathematical facts. They chocked 2 out of 4 RWC in the semis and chocked only once in the final and the odds are that the convicts will make it ot the final as they have been there the most.
15 Sep 2007, 11:21 am
Ireland beat them first, and have not lost the last four
15 Sep 2007, 11:21 am
#533 Yes… it took the AB’s a good 69 minutes of play to “look†the score; the Pom’s “1st team†were done and dusted at the break!
#537… PdV is a “political preferred†choice and don’t have much substance; was he born for some strange reason with a white skin he would be coaching some club in the cape!
Suddenly with Eddie in the mix… He is worth his weight in wet newspaper!
15 Sep 2007, 11:22 am
Why isnt that we are having “cold water” poured on us by people who won’t allow us to enjoy this victory. Do you guys honestly think that we dont know there is a lot to do still? This vicotry was more than beating the Poms 36 Nil…it was the fact that we all saw the fabulous potential in our men of war coming into fruition. We saw that whatever the outcome of the World Cup, we know that we have a talented skillful Springbok Rugby Team. We saw that after the team of 2003, the team of 2007 have given us hope of a win….Hope is something that people should not try to take away..so I will gloat all the way until the next game – because then all prevous wins and losses dont count anymore….
GO BOKKE!!!!
15 Sep 2007, 11:23 am
Just a Fan
I’m supporting Ire & SA
Who do you think I’m more pleased with?
15 Sep 2007, 11:25 am
If Zim can beat Aus in a once-off 20/20… Wales can beat Aus and the French/Irish can beat the AB’s too…
15 Sep 2007, 11:25 am
4teen
I certainly hope so
15 Sep 2007, 11:27 am
Flametop
mmm Well not sure the reason for the question, but since ireland battled to put away the Nambians…I would say Sa..why?
#533 Tackles
Only Wickus (who came in for a suspended Schalk) and Pietersen (who played fullback in NZ) were in both starting line-ups of the 6-33 Christchurch loss and yesterday’s 36-0 win. Don’t you get it that we send our B-team over whilst the A-team were resting and preparing for the World Cup? Is the Christchurch test now the new whip for the immediate future replacing the 0-28 Carisbrook test?
jake is a moron,he knows only boring rugby,eddie’s influence can be seen,the way the forwards are linking with the backs can be credited only to eddie.
15 Sep 2007, 11:28 am
Good to hear, Flametop.
Liam Seamus Malachy ‘Bakkies’ O’Connor has a nice ring to it!!
You’re right, Ireland’s form has largely deserted them but I’m still confident they’ll do the business when it matters. A QF spot beckons…and then anything can happen.
15 Sep 2007, 11:29 am
You, my friend, are the moron uber alles.
15 Sep 2007, 11:29 am
just a fan
you just walloped England and some are not happy.
it’s a good start as opposed to Ireland’s
15 Sep 2007, 11:30 am
#538 RedLion,
Let us hope history repeats itself!
15 Sep 2007, 11:31 am
#552 – what a AH…go sleep off your hangover…
What Jake knows its how to develope a confident competent team. He knows how to develope players skills and knows have to develope team spirit..and MORE importantly he knows how to use the skills and expertise of other coaches and advisers to his advantage.
Obviously you are not a manager and if you are you shouldn’t think that you are a successful one!
15 Sep 2007, 11:32 am
Gotcha Flametop….feel like walloping some of the negative people on this site though…some people are never happy…
15 Sep 2007, 11:33 am
#546… Agree… there is also another element that must be considered; the expectation on the shoulders of the Boks and they achieved nether the less. At no point in time did it look as if they were jittery.
I think another turning point in the match was the superior defense of Steyn at 12 vs JdV; he tackled several locks and AF head-on without any hesitation, competed in the loose like a mad man for the ball and that totally derailed the England plan to exploit his channel!
15 Sep 2007, 11:35 am
Joe
If we want to be one of the big boys we just have to beat both France and Argentina. Period.
If we do confidence will be high though the team will be knackered, by the “no rotation policy”
Same mistakes as last time.
But like you said you never know.
Bokke looking very good and playing smart rugby.
Putting points on the board for every visit to the oppo half
15 Sep 2007, 11:35 am
I’m thrilled, JaF. A great result.
Yes, imperfections, but we’ll take 36-0 against the arrogant English, move on and prepare for the next hurdel.
Not counting chickens but so far, so good.
15 Sep 2007, 11:36 am
Steyn tackling is awesome…not only was he fearless but he must have had supper glue in his palms, because he just didn’ let go…..I know there is alot of great talent in our team and it is hugely exciting to watch all their contributions..but Frans Steyn is going to be one of the rugby greats…..
15 Sep 2007, 11:37 am
# That’s “hurdle” before The Headmaster, aka TheTackler, picks me out for spelling errors…
15 Sep 2007, 11:37 am
SA are saying the right things, happy with the win but more to work on.
That’s a winners mentality
Positive but looking for more
15 Sep 2007, 11:39 am
Joe Maher and Mike H, I have been steadily impressed with what I have seen developing with the bok team SINCE EJ came on board, and to put your assertions in perspective I have never thought Jake was an idiot, a conservative and manipulative self seeker yes I have thought that of him, idiot no.
I am happier than you realise for seeing that there is in fact hope and structure coming out of the fiasco we had to endure a few months ago, but I would almost certainly assure you had it not been for some clear sighted ‘other’ technical advice bestowed on these boys, we would not have been in the frame of mind and settled structure as is now prevalent, also I seriously have my doubts that Jake would have had sufficient conviction of his own to play Steyn ahead of WO, or to play many structural or tactical roles that we now see unfolding. Most of the cohesion and the confidence coming through is as a direct result of some ‘other’ more astute thinking behind the team and so if you guys are saluting grey matter here I would strongly suggest you salute the one who hasn’t the priveledge of wearing the blazer.
15 Sep 2007, 11:40 am
With you on Frans Steyn, JaF.
This kid will go down as one of the game’s greats…he could well be our answer to the number 10 position come NZ2011 (and he’ll be just 24 then).
15 Sep 2007, 11:42 am
what the …k are u guys talking about .jake has been losing all the big matches since he took over.
15 Sep 2007, 11:42 am
This Bok performance is going to give Graham Henry some food for thought.
The Boks have previously been a bit wild with their passion, but this game showed a level of control and maturity that wasn’t evident in the past. The fact that England didn’t have one kickable penalty opportunity was the most telling factor.
For the first time in years we actually looked as if we knew how to play intelligently rather than just passionately.
This England side might not be the best but that doesn’t detract from the composure shown by the Boks.
Sure, there were some weak areas, but I’ve not seen a Springbok side playing with such a calm authority for many years.
There were so many little
15 Sep 2007, 11:44 am
Jake White is a devil in his own right, but I’ll rather stick to the devil I know:
If the so-called rated coaches like Henry, Laporte, and Knuckles etc had to coach the Boks… they would have faded under all the external pressures that the Bok coach must endure.
The mere fact that JW had the tenacity/guts to push through must also incensed the player’s mindsets.
All this off-the-field stresses of the last 4 years must have a hardened the players mindset, build character on a level and in a way other teams will not be able to mimic or comprehend!
JW made lots of mistakes… but he paid the bills before he went gambling!
15 Sep 2007, 11:45 am
What was the Boks penalty count?
15 Sep 2007, 11:45 am
skopskiet, i this the start of you digging yourself out of a hole, a few months back you were predicting that Jake would break our hearts at this world cup, but now the his as Eddie, we are looking good, let me remind you that Jake was the one who asked Eddie to join us and asked Sarfu to let Eddie join us, i have always said that a mans greatest strenght is to acknowledge his weaknesses AND address them Jake did that ….HAVE A BIT OF RESPECT SKOPSKIET, NOT A LOT JUST A BIT
15 Sep 2007, 11:46 am
#567 Bla Bla Bla…
A small mind if you cant see the big vision….
15 Sep 2007, 11:49 am
If I recall it was most of you grey matter specialists that were saying no Steyn is not mature enough to start at center, play him on the wing or full back but he’s too young and inexperienced to start at 12, well I was one that said 12 is his natural preferred position and I am glad that EJ twisted JW’s arm to have courage enough to throw him to the wolves in there instead of going with his usual conservative approach and stick with his non performing pre selections like WO and Willemse.
15 Sep 2007, 11:50 am
567 what about the tri nations win after ho took over only other coach to do that was mallet, untill he dropped teich in 99 and became mullett
15 Sep 2007, 11:50 am
We’ll agree to disagree, skopskiet.
When things go wrong, you blame Jake; when things go well, you congratulate ‘others’.
You can’t have it both ways. Nice, but not possible.
South Africa’s biggest problem during Jake’s tenure has been an absolutely useless, politically imposed Alistair Coetzee as backline coach. Gert Smal is little better.
Jake has had to live with this clown, he simply did not have the option of getting rid of him. Imagine the outrage from Mad Mike and Khompela had Jake shafted this passenger!!!
So Jake was clever enough to bring his mate Eddie into the fold.
Eddie, by the way, probably could not give a rat’s arse about SA rugby long-term, but I believe he joined because he felt confident it would enhance his CV (no small matter in the professional era, despite John O’Neill’s kindergarten bitchings).
In other words, he had confidence in the head coach and the players.
Yes, he’s an asset..and it’s so evident because poor Jake has been lumbered with kaksleg Coetzee for four long years.
Four long years during which we have made enormous strides, thanks largely to Mr Jake White.
15 Sep 2007, 11:51 am
i am sharks supporter i would of played Steyn as loose head if it gave him a jersey, so no that was not me
15 Sep 2007, 11:52 am
no difference between virgins if you ask me,whether small or big.
15 Sep 2007, 11:53 am
577 …..don’t talk about food in that way
15 Sep 2007, 11:53 am
Hey, I am a fan of having Steyn everywhere all the time. I am just sorry that he is too ypung for me to marry – I would snap him up in an instant….maybe he could be my toy boy….
15 Sep 2007, 11:54 am
just a fan…..he was a MAN last night not a boy
15 Sep 2007, 11:56 am
sigh…yeah..don’t make heart ache worse…..
15 Sep 2007, 11:57 am
Yes surrey it is true, perhaps in the nick of time Jake realised his own weaknesses and luckily enough as is the case with a few unfolding situations around this campaign destiny favored the situation because Eddy was ostracised out of Aussie rugger fraternities and sought a platform to show them up, what better situation than to team up with Jake who was floundering for tactical and strategic acumen, and badly. So it is highly fortuitous that now we have two head coaches training this team or perhaps they’ve switched roles, Eddy being coach and Jake being manager.
15 Sep 2007, 12:02 pm
#575… JW have a big heavy ball and chain to drag wherever he goes in the form of SA political correctness…
Coetzee is just one of the chapters!
If JW’s stay with Boks could be compared with an exam… he would score 60% in my eyes; he made a lot of foolish mistakes but he passed.
If he must leave after the WC there will be a foundation worth building on!
The only question I have is… will they use 1st grade baked clay brick or the same brittle bricks used the build the cracking RDP houses!
15 Sep 2007, 12:03 pm
Joe
Jake has been the “coach” for 4 years, so I don’t think that Coetzee and Gert can carry all the blame as his assistants.
The fact that he’s brought in Eddie is admirable, but let’s face it, the differences in both forward and back play since Eddie joined shows that Jake wasn’t up to doing the coaching job at this level. He managed to bring the Boks so far, but the tactical and playing skills that we are now seeing is where he fell short. And that’s the one thing that a coach is employed for.
15 Sep 2007, 12:04 pm
#577… Virgins are like ghosts… people talk a lot about them, but confirmable sightings… are seldom!
15 Sep 2007, 12:06 pm
It needed an Aussie to sort our dumb no brain minds out, like it needed an Aussie to put the bulls and sharks attacks on track so it needed an Aussie to put the boks into shape, so credit to White for realising it albeit a little late that we don’t have gumption or courage or vision of our own until we employ Aussie thinkers into our mix then all of a sudden we become world beaters.
But White on his own with Coetsee and Smal we would have still been the shambles we were before, the winners here will come from the brave commitments of Steyn, van Heerden, FdP and JP, Habana, Pienaar etc. mostly late inclusions apart from FdP and Habana, but certain necessities to this years cause.
15 Sep 2007, 12:11 pm
Anyway I am extremely happy to see some ‘vordering’ at long last, keep it up, but sort out the front row and 8th man positions quick, when Schalk comes back put him at 8 and keep Wickus at 6, Danie can play lock off the bench.
15 Sep 2007, 12:15 pm
Alister Coetzee would, on purest merit, be allowed to coach nothing more than the Rondebosch BHS 5th XV.
But the biggest Bok flop didn’t come in the back division.
It came up front. Where the untransformed white boy Gert Smal miraculously retains his job.
His front row was pathetic.
Well, not quite.
Os carried his load. Smit carried his load. BJ Botha got absolutely MONSTERED by Andy Sheridan.
No point in talking to you skopskiet – you have used your last braincell…..
Skop
Yes, Schalk was a revelation when he moved to 8 against Samoa. For me, his suspension that prevents continuing with that experiment before the QF, was probably the biggest blow.
15 Sep 2007, 12:27 pm
Larkham out unti quarterfinals
15 Sep 2007, 12:27 pm
that was until
15 Sep 2007, 12:34 pm
Good on Jake!
Call it as you like… the Aussies were World champions and top rated when we were still in isolation. They were figuring out how to improve their Rugby academies when we were thinking to start some!
Smaller player pools forced them longtime ago to develop their Rugby technical approach to be competitive too.
For a SA coach to keep up with the best without additional input will be a daunting task without assistance… at least our coaches used their heads and stuck their pride somewhere else and went to learn the better ways.
This “learn from the best approach†is becoming evident: just look the growth and adaptation of modern principals into our rugby unions!
The Aussies tenure at to top is at a crossroad and I think teams like Griquas and Boland will give their clubs a good run for their money these days.
When considering that Griquas lost seven players too clubs overseas one realizes that our growth curve is phenomenal and acknowledged!
Why do you think the Aussies embraced these new Rugby rules with such a speed; because becoming familiar with these rules ASAP is their only chance to stay at the top!
I still think JW did well with Eddie, the eye doc and the shrink. Yeye, Coetzee, Hoskins, ANCYL, minister of sport etc. are the blue ticks (Political Parasites) around the Springboks arse!
15 Sep 2007, 13:15 pm
Sorry, David, must disagree.
Jake has done a very good job under most trying circumstances.
Give any chief exec kak managers (like Coetzee and Smal) and he’s pushing ***** uphill. In this day and age of specialisation, you need your specialist managers to deliver within their departments.
Blame Jake for sticking with kak Gert, I’ll concede. But he had no choice when it came to kaksleg, politically-imposed Coetzee.
In a busines environment, both should have – indeed, would have – been shown the door long ago.
But that’s not possible in South Africa’s embroyonic post-apartheid political environment.
Harsh, unpallatable, but fact.
15 Sep 2007, 13:19 pm
embryonic…just in case The Headmaster’s still logged on…
Anyway, I’m outta here, time to watch some sport rather than discuss and debate it.
Go well, all.
Go exceptionally well, Boks.
15 Sep 2007, 13:27 pm
this ashton is a pathetic excuse for a coach.
how can he say that their performance was an improvement on their game against the US.
they scored sero points – how can that be an improvement !!!
15 Sep 2007, 13:30 pm
Gertie Smal….
Yeah, right!
15 Sep 2007, 13:42 pm
And Tackler you dropped “your load ” ha ha ha
15 Sep 2007, 15:57 pm
Guys pathetic – squabling about our coach in a time when we should be uniting behind the whole team, coach and staff.
Shame on you!
17 Sep 2007, 10:45 am
re:594
too true Joe Maher.
Alistair Coetzee is the most inept backline coach in international rugby; his time with the hapless EP proves this.
If it were’nt for Eddie Jones, our world cup campaign would be dead in the water.
as for Gert, there is a problem with our scrummaging.
In a business environment, these 2 guys would be back in the fold looking for a coaching job with boland or border bulldogs…
time to be professionals…
17 Sep 2007, 10:47 am
but as for 36-0….
whoooooooooooooooooooooooooo hoooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!!
BOKNAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII !!!