Poms pasted in Paris

The prophecy of an England pummeling came to pass when South Africa secured a 36-0 whitewash in St Denis.

With only two pool matches remaining against the USA and Tonga, the Boks are certain to top Pool A. By beating England, they have secured an easier path to the semi-finals.

The way South Africa began it appeared as if a 50-pointer was on the cards. After the initial exchanges, JP Pietersen broke down the blindside off a line-out and found Fourie du Preez in good support. The Bok scrumhalf lost his footing but was still able to set up flanker Juan Smith for a well worked try.

What followed was an all out assault on the England back three. South Africa dominated the line-outs and the ball never went further than first-receiver, where one of Butch James, Frans Steyn or Du Preez would send it into orbit. Their accuracy was telling, with the likes of Jason Robinson often caught out by the Bok chasers. Du Preez also showed some great vision when kicking infield off a penalty, finding space and Jaque Fourie collecting off the run. Unfortunately, the centre lost the ball just before he tried to place the ball over the line.

England were rudderless without Jonny Wilkinson, with Andy Farrell and Mike Catt producing poor efforts in clearing from the flyhalf channel. The number of mistakes the duo made in this position was also unacceptable, be it through a misdirected kick or spilled ball, it just served to heap more pressure on an already battered English defence.

Victor Matfield provided the platform from the line-out, while his second row partner Bakkies Botha got through an exemplary amount of work around the park. The South African scrum were also strong at scrumtime even though they received little opportunity to attack.

Wikus van Heerden was a worthy understudy to Schalk Burger, carrying the ball up strongly and pilfering a few balls off the deck. His cleaning around the rucks was also integral to quick ball, as this enabled the South African kickers to drive the English back into their own half.

Du Preez was in masterful form from the base, be it with ball in hand or with his formidable boot. He created the first try for Smith and then sparked the second just before half-time, stepping past a rushing defender and surging upfield. He drew the last man superbly before freeing up Pietersen, who raced in unopposed and ensured the Boks went to the break with a 20-0 advantage.

England persisted with their tight tactics but the poor attack evident in the World Cup warm ups was once again the inhibitor. Catt never challenged the Bok defence and Farrell was equally impotent. Anybody who expected a surprise in the department would have been bitterly disappointed. But conventional wisdom would suggest this group wasn’t numerous.

England scrapped, but South Africa never allowed the play to become scrappy. They continued to pin the Poms back in their own half, and the killer blow was delivered in the 64th minute through Pietersen’s second try. Du Preez was the orchestrator once again, benefitting from a great forward platform to race round the blindside and direct a simple run in for the South African right winger.

The gap between the two sides was gigantic, but South Afirca never shifted from third gear. They cruised to this win and at the same time ensured England suffered the ultimate humiliation by never securing a point.

For all his magic, Du Preez will be a concern for the Boks after clutching his troublesome shoulder late in the second half. He was duly substituted and the South Africans will hope there is not further damage.

England may not be so lucky, with Robinson pulling up with looked to be a serious hamstring injury. Although Wilkinson and Olly Barkley should be fit for the playoffs, the loss of the veteran should hit England just as hard. Jamie Noon was also stretchered from the field in the dying minutes and could also miss the deciding game against Samoa.

If this game confirmed anything it was that the Webb Ellis Trophy will change hands by the end of this tournament. The big question for England is whether they can surpass Samoa and qualify for the playoffs. On this sort of effort, even the most ardent English fan may be in doubt.

South Africa – Tries: Juan Smith, JP Pietersen (2). Conversions: Percy Montgomery (3). Penalties: Francois Steyn, Montgomery (4).
England – None.

By Jon Cardinelli

601 Comments

Pages: « 13 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 » Show All

• 451.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

england pack + fijian backline = decent WC defence

it will take a miracle for England to lift their game after this lost. they will now try and play a forward based game against Samoa.

Samoa will go for an all out attack sevens style to rattle the wounded poms.

We will now need to focus on the semi final and final. I seriously think JW should consider dropping Os and starting Gurthro. Harsh but we can’t risk him. Feel the squad is carrying him,

• 452.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

#450 hehe only careful if I ever go to cape town

• 453.sporto: Reply to this comment

BJ is a good player BUT he got his *** handed to him last night. Why is everyone saying how great he was. He cam off second best in this contest. The boks look good. They never paniced and looked as though they were in cruise control. I think they have another gear or 2.

• 454.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

#453 that is about best summary I have read about this game. Fair, honest and to the point.

shame Visagie and Bands were injured.

next gear please! bring on the final.

• 455.odm: Reply to this comment

Thought BJ was one of our weaker players.. kept getting penalised in the first half.

One complaint: wish I had watched it in a VERY LOUD PLACE coz between Hugh Bladen stumbling over his words and the stuuuupid English post match interviewer…

But that’s my problem.

Anyways, FdP and Butch take a bow. And Steyn. Oh heck, all of them…

And kudos for them not pummeling Robinson when he pulled the hamstring (also congrats to Hugh for not workin out that the standing ovation was partly because that was very probably the last action of his career)

• 456.tight head: Reply to this comment

448 The overall analysis is very often by people who dont know what is actually going on in the front row.
    453 is a good example of this.
    Of course BJ got penalised for illegal scrumming, that is what happens when you play close to the law. How many times do Burger, Smith, Mc caw get prnalised?

• 457.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

Jp Pietersen hopefully silenced his critics last night. Im happy for him he had a good game. BJ and his whole build up in the media… ya , the talk didn’t turn into walk. He got nailed and was pretty average. Its time to give Gurthro a chance.

• 458.sporto: Reply to this comment

444 I agree with you and am ashamed to admit that I once joined the chorus for JW’s head. He does seem to have stuck to his guns and given himself a good chance of winning the WC but I would like see a better winning percentage. I live abroad and deal with alot of Aussies and Kiwis and can’t take the abuse. We should be an 80-90% win ratio team. The only side that deserves to beat us occationally are the AB’s

• 459.svs: Reply to this comment

#453 I must agree. I thought BJ’s side of the scrum was getting murdered (1st 60 minutes). But I honestly dont always see whats going on in the scrum. (similar to the ref, I guess). Hell but we dondered those okes. And FDP was quite brilliant. Pity england were k*k else these okes on the site would actually have to be happy – and we know thats impossible

• 460.sporto: Reply to this comment

456 How do you reackon he had a good game? Playing close to the law does not mean getting penalised. This would mean he was overstepping the law. You must be a prop with that dof mentality.

• 461.Brads: Reply to this comment

SA were at their best against a piss poor England outfit.

Why I say their best, because they held their structure, played to their pattern and didn’t go loopy thinking anyone from anywhere could score.

As good as SA were, England were exposed doubly on how out of step they are to the modern game.

But then again, England are getting the brick bats infairly. The entire NH game is a joke!

• 462.rugby911: Reply to this comment

Well contested game. England never stopped coming, and it was good to see the passion we defended our line with.

To all most comments from OZ,NZ – I find your comments and criticisms very positive on the whole. And I think fantail, etc make good points about our weaknesses. There were some bad mistakes. Our scoreline masked some terrible moments. I am the first to admit I am clueless on what goes on in a scrum, but it was clear we were not dominant, even a bit weak, here.

JPP still knocks on.
    JF had the tryline fever – a move like that would cost us the cup next time.
    BJ missed some crucial tackles in the last quarter.
    Wikus knocked on, missing a simple high ball in our 22.
    Ou OS the legend, looked a little spent in the 2nd half, at the breakdown. Sorry, true. And folks it was pure lady luck that his pass to no one, dribbling on the ground, was not intercepted for Eng try. FDP’s brilliance made it our try.
    Missing drop kicks, when you have loads of time is a match costing mistake.
    Habana – no try. He was closed down early. A stronger team will make him dissappear even more.

However, I believe it is the manner in which we took this win that will see us to the final and to an epic battle beyond comprehension. There was no undue celebration after the match. JS gave a noble and humble post test interview. JW had the look of a man who is not yet finnished his job. The atmosphere was more like, boys see you in the morning for training..

I believe it ids also positive that we have not peaked. 3rd gear is right. If all goes well. We must keep our heads down. Keep sobriety.

IMHO.

• 463.asha1: Reply to this comment

agree on os. for the doubters … watch the 1st scrum after os left the field.

• 464.Oxbok: Reply to this comment

Agreed. Good overall performance, enough to get the job done. Not the finished article – yet. I’d be worried about the AB’s in the final. We’ve always had a tendency to be somewhat over confident – i just hope that this is not the case now.

Now… Please can i watch that all over again!!

• 465.Brads: Reply to this comment

asha1 @ 463

Was that one where the pack finally held their ground?

• 466.SW13 shark: Reply to this comment

IMHO, you have to remember that England were not trying to win this game, just spoil and play for territory. I think our lads played like a team with all facets of play – something they did not have in the tri nations (inventive backline play)
    If England werent so hell bent on defending it would have opened up more gaps for us. It looked like they knew they had done well but there are bigger games to come. Go the Bokke

• 467.tight head: Reply to this comment

Sporto getting personal now.
    Talk about dof, let me explain this to you only one more time.
    Playing close to the law like BJ or the great fetchers I mentioned means that sometimes you get blown up. That is the risk you take.
    If you believe any player can play close to the law and never get blown up then you have obviously never played this game and are a good theorist.

• 468.svs: Reply to this comment

#462 – China, in fairness – JPP, JF, Wikus all made one mistake of the kind you mentioned. And the drop goal thing was clearly a directive from the coach. And furthermore, the Os pass-FDP scoop-> well, if it was the AB’s we’d be saying how brilliant their loose play is, no?
    I thought it was one of our best performances I’ve seen, so composed and classy – pity Poms were soooo k*k. The old, shiny Bentley looked so confident kicking at goal. Eish I really enjoyed watching

• 469.asha1: Reply to this comment

odm @ 455
    agree on hugh blaiden. if anyone know the guy, have his cellphone number or e-mail adress… please ask this guy to STOP counting percy’s every single point! jeez, i feel like cutting my wrists when he start with “and he’s now on 699 points, can he make it 702 points … blah blah blah yes he can”. then with the next conversion/ penalty “he’s now on….”. he does this in every single game and with every single conversion/ penalty!!!

• 470.asha1: Reply to this comment

brads @ 465
    no, that was the one where the england props’ heads was shoved up their asses!

• 471.svs: Reply to this comment

i listened to Ben Tune and Darwin (Aus) – they were actually quite excited about SA. Buuuuut watch this space – if we do well, it’ll all be because of Eddie. They will rub that in – over and over. Ah well, its a small price for the trophy

• 472.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

I always thought its our front row and our 8th man that will be our Achilles heel not our 12 or 14, the backs did fine, FdP turned the game on its head, JP made the initial break that put the english to the sword early on, Steyn tackled and mixed it with the big boys and stood his ground like a warhorse veteran, even JF, Habana, Percy, all did very well, in fact if not for our game breaking backs this could have been a whole other contest because the English front row were dominant and their loosies Easter and Corry made a few meters into our territory, if they had had a decent flyhalf-center combination the game could have swung on a different momentum.

Having said that our boys kept them out time and again and thwarted all their adventures into our 22, I must add I think Jutge gave us a decent reffing game and if anything was perhaps a little generous our way a couple times.

• 473.Brads: Reply to this comment

asha1

In other words, Os is past it!

• 474.pompies: Reply to this comment

There is some one missing here and the name is Big Hit if I’m not mistaken. Please enlighten us with regards to the theory behind the thrashing of that team you call the world champs. Mmmm… I thought so no response at all. Bye bye and may you enjoy the rest of the tournament.

• 475.Bulala: Reply to this comment

Dont know about BJ being bad. If there was one place where the English could stand toe toe with the Bokke it was scrum time.

Having said that. What a beautiful game that was. I just watched it again and its the type of game that you teach other players with. Focus on the basics etc… And then just slowly and carefully close your fist.

I really take my hat off to the team and Jake. Having said that the influence of Eddie Jones is as CLEAR as daylight. i have not seen our backline with so much languid confidence EVER. Butch James??? what contained and managed passion. FdP Best scrum half in the world.

Francois Steyn? Wow. he was 11/12 when Jannie de Beer kicked 5 drop goals and now he is playing with Percy. Jaque Fourie .. looked for work.

The english were so focused on containing Habana that they forgot about JP Pietersen… Et tu Brute

If Jakes and the team read here : Well done and thank you

• 476.asha1: Reply to this comment

brads @ 473
    thats a bit harsh, but, i think the wc came 1 season too late for the great os. dont get me wrong, he will still be a force if used correctly, but over the years he’s set a standard of what we can expect of os, and unfortunately he’s not near his own standard. (sadly)

• 477.Brads: Reply to this comment

England won enough possessio nthat they should have competed.

Go only knows what went through their minds.

Sarkey on the left wing had a prick of a game, but the main reason for that was the Poms shovelled any ball they wanted to run with as quick as they could to the man.

In some scenarios that is a good thing, but when the Boks are spread man for man across the field, all they achieved was leaving a player with the ball and no options. Idiots!

Any S14 team would have dealt to England on their performance today.

• 478.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Yes it is true without Eddie our backs would not have had the confidence which is obvious to see taking shape this is not the same bok backline that we saw 4 or 5 months ago, in fact I even doubt that Jake would have had the courage to blood Steyn so early if JdV was gone, he might very well had stuck with WO through his penchant for conservatism. I am convinced it is Eddies perceptions that has given Jake the self belief to make the brave calls which is a far cry from that which I saw lacking in our game plans before he came on board.

• 479.svs: Reply to this comment

#472 = agreed about the ref. Maybe Schalk was a sacrifice to the refs – now they have their pound of flesh and are reffing us properly – i dunno

#475 agreed – thanks for that lads – such control and confidence

• 480.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Doesn’t anybody see anything wrong with the picture in which the Springboks really cannot OUTSCRUM their English opponents?

Even when England put a 50-point winning margin on the Boks (53-3) at Twickenham some years back, the Boks did not yield as much as one inch in the scrum.

It’s a matter of honour, surely?

But the Bok front row came off a very distant second-best in their 38-0 triumph in Paris.

And the peerless Hayman, Mealamu/Oliver and Woodcock lie as a blockage in their passage onwards and upwards.

Oh dear!

• 481.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Where is Gurthro he hasn’t taken the field for MONTHS, who is going to stand up to Hayman and Woodcock, I fear not BJ and OS?

• 482.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Now is that telepathy, Tackler, or what?

• 483.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Great minds think alike.

• 484.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

I would go as far as to attempt Gurthro Bismark CJ as a second string front row but with the view to replacing OS Smit BJ within 50 mins or even earlier.

• 485.SAFA: Reply to this comment

knersboy @428

you just summed up my rugby philosophy mate!

• 486.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

483 Guess its got to be the case.

• 487.Brads: Reply to this comment

TheTackler

The scrum has lost a lot of its effect over the last few years and today the lineout is more effective at winning ball, and is more frequent in the game as well.

Where it is usefull though is draining the marrow out of players legs through endless resets.

• 488.Porra: Reply to this comment

why
    are all the kiwis
    on this board
    so nasty
    about the bok
    victory
    are they perhaps
    shitting themselves
    for what may happen
    in the final
    or did they eat
    too much cabbage

• 489.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

When you kick away your line-out possession in the direction of Muliaina, Rocokoko and Howlett/Sivivatu, you’re ASKING for trouble!

And the scrum is, was and always will be the heartbeat of rugby dominance. Rule the scrum and the battle is three-quarters won.

• 490.sporto: Reply to this comment

467, Tight head, not getting personal, just some fun…sorry. I do understand what you are saying…however he was going backwards at pace and was still getting blown up. This is a lose lose situation. I am a big fan of BJ, I just don’t think he had a great game. Sheridan was forcing him in and he had nowhere to go but backwards or up.

• 491.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Sheridan was utterly SMASHED on the Lions tour to NZ — even by the pretty average NZ provincial opposition!

BJ and CJ really are far too weak of backbone and technique to play test rugby against the seriously big boys of rugby. Os is a legend. He’s got what it takes. Nobody argues with an anchor like Os, even if he is two years past his prime. (No prop on earth peaks until he turns 30, anyway.)

• 492.Mike H: Reply to this comment

Where the Jake bashers now!! And where is Bit Hit lol

• 493.Brads: Reply to this comment

Porra @ 488

The simple answer is no.

• 494.sporto: Reply to this comment

491. Tackler, the only sense you spoke in this comment was “Os is a legend. He’s got what it takes. Nobody argues with an anchor like Os, even if he is two years past his prime.”…the rest is absolute drivel…

• 495.Brads: Reply to this comment

TheTackler @ 491

I guess Hayman will need tights and a cape when reaches 30 then!

• 496.Brads: Reply to this comment

Mike H @ 492

Don’t despair, they will be plenty thick on the ground before this competition is done and dusted.

• 497.Tjorts: Reply to this comment

#480 Tackler, you twat.

The score was 36-0 not 38-0! Can you not even get the basics right?

• 498.Joe Maher: Reply to this comment

Tackler, you disappoint me. I’d have thought you had more sense than to brand skopskiet a “great mind”.

C’mon skopskiet, give Jake some credit. He blooded Steyn long before Eddie arrived. He blooded Habana too, when all you guys (yes, stand up, own up) said he was mad.

And he had the wisdom and foresight to secure Eddie’s services as technical advisor for the WC when many were lauging at Eddie’s days as Reds coach…they still laugh in Oz but I suspect it’s starting to die down.

Great mind se moer…

Good on you for conceding your error, sporto. Sign of character.

• 499.Knersboy: Reply to this comment

scrum scrum scrum, that is all anybody ever speaks about. very seldom does a team truly dominate in the scrum when playing opponents in a similar league.

how often does the famed all black scrum push the puff aussie scrum off their own ball? not too much. don’t get me wrong, i believe the AB’s to have the best scrum in the business, but i really feel that dominance in the scrum is dampened because it is such a complicated set piece.

the scrum is a symbol of rugby power, this is why we all see it as the holy grail, but logically, there are just too many degrees of freedom in a scrum, too many variables for a weaker team to play with to negate the oppositions advantage.

• 500.David: Reply to this comment

Larkham is out of the Wales match with a knee injury and possibly the rest of the WC. That’s going to be an enormous blow for the Wobblies. They’re mad if they play Barnes as first choice 10 and leave Giteau at 12, which is what it looks like.

Pages: « 13 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.