Poms pasted in Paris

The prophecy of an England pummeling came to pass when South Africa secured a 36-0 whitewash in St Denis.

With only two pool matches remaining against the USA and Tonga, the Boks are certain to top Pool A. By beating England, they have secured an easier path to the semi-finals.

The way South Africa began it appeared as if a 50-pointer was on the cards. After the initial exchanges, JP Pietersen broke down the blindside off a line-out and found Fourie du Preez in good support. The Bok scrumhalf lost his footing but was still able to set up flanker Juan Smith for a well worked try.

What followed was an all out assault on the England back three. South Africa dominated the line-outs and the ball never went further than first-receiver, where one of Butch James, Frans Steyn or Du Preez would send it into orbit. Their accuracy was telling, with the likes of Jason Robinson often caught out by the Bok chasers. Du Preez also showed some great vision when kicking infield off a penalty, finding space and Jaque Fourie collecting off the run. Unfortunately, the centre lost the ball just before he tried to place the ball over the line.

England were rudderless without Jonny Wilkinson, with Andy Farrell and Mike Catt producing poor efforts in clearing from the flyhalf channel. The number of mistakes the duo made in this position was also unacceptable, be it through a misdirected kick or spilled ball, it just served to heap more pressure on an already battered English defence.

Victor Matfield provided the platform from the line-out, while his second row partner Bakkies Botha got through an exemplary amount of work around the park. The South African scrum were also strong at scrumtime even though they received little opportunity to attack.

Wikus van Heerden was a worthy understudy to Schalk Burger, carrying the ball up strongly and pilfering a few balls off the deck. His cleaning around the rucks was also integral to quick ball, as this enabled the South African kickers to drive the English back into their own half.

Du Preez was in masterful form from the base, be it with ball in hand or with his formidable boot. He created the first try for Smith and then sparked the second just before half-time, stepping past a rushing defender and surging upfield. He drew the last man superbly before freeing up Pietersen, who raced in unopposed and ensured the Boks went to the break with a 20-0 advantage.

England persisted with their tight tactics but the poor attack evident in the World Cup warm ups was once again the inhibitor. Catt never challenged the Bok defence and Farrell was equally impotent. Anybody who expected a surprise in the department would have been bitterly disappointed. But conventional wisdom would suggest this group wasn’t numerous.

England scrapped, but South Africa never allowed the play to become scrappy. They continued to pin the Poms back in their own half, and the killer blow was delivered in the 64th minute through Pietersen’s second try. Du Preez was the orchestrator once again, benefitting from a great forward platform to race round the blindside and direct a simple run in for the South African right winger.

The gap between the two sides was gigantic, but South Afirca never shifted from third gear. They cruised to this win and at the same time ensured England suffered the ultimate humiliation by never securing a point.

For all his magic, Du Preez will be a concern for the Boks after clutching his troublesome shoulder late in the second half. He was duly substituted and the South Africans will hope there is not further damage.

England may not be so lucky, with Robinson pulling up with looked to be a serious hamstring injury. Although Wilkinson and Olly Barkley should be fit for the playoffs, the loss of the veteran should hit England just as hard. Jamie Noon was also stretchered from the field in the dying minutes and could also miss the deciding game against Samoa.

If this game confirmed anything it was that the Webb Ellis Trophy will change hands by the end of this tournament. The big question for England is whether they can surpass Samoa and qualify for the playoffs. On this sort of effort, even the most ardent English fan may be in doubt.

South Africa – Tries: Juan Smith, JP Pietersen (2). Conversions: Percy Montgomery (3). Penalties: Francois Steyn, Montgomery (4).
England – None.

By Jon Cardinelli

601 Comments

Pages: « 13 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 » Show All

• 501.Flametop: Reply to this comment

howzit Joe.

Long time

Well done last night Bokke

• 502.McDirk_Sydney: Reply to this comment

I agree mate. Although barnes has been brought in to do just that. Fill in for larkham. Blokes about to start climbing a step learning curve.

Gits at 10, staniforth at 12.

• 503.e-tigerhabs: Reply to this comment

boland would have put 30 past this english side.

• 504.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Oh dear! It was 36-0 and not 38-0 like I said.

I guess that changes everything, hey?

• 505.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Whats up Joe, you reckon Jake would have started with Steyn if not for Eddy holding his hand, maybe its more a case of Jake abdicating the technical strategic job to his bosom pal and opting for the limelight role, most of what we seeing take shape here is in effect a mix of destiny ruling out Spies, JdV and Burger and giving Jake a hand along with Eddies input to put a decent working combination together, but somebody better do something about no.8 and the front row quick before the semis come around.

• 506.Loosehead: Reply to this comment

tight head, don’t you think that it was more a case of Sheridan binding on BJ’s shorts / lower back and pulling his arse out that caused the Bok scrum to crab and BJ to go in?
    Did we go back or did we just crab sideways?

• 507.footy: Reply to this comment

Congrats BOks that was surperb and there is life without Schalk which is great to see

• 508.e-tigerhabs: Reply to this comment

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….u

• 509.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Steyn, Habana, Pienaar, Wickus, JP, these are some of the match winners, and they were blooded not by Jake, who would have played others (barring Habana that is) Like JdV or WO and Willemse.

• 510.David: Reply to this comment

This didn’t even look like a Bok side, they were so controlled and structured.
    You could see Eddies’ influence at the breakdown as well. We had only 2 or 3 players committed to the rucks with virtually no attempt to counter ruck. I just hope that we add a bit more aggression against the ABs, otherwise we won’t see any ruck ball at all.

• 511.e-tigerhabs: Reply to this comment

we need to urgently look at no.8

• 512.Joe Maher: Reply to this comment

All I’m saying, skopskiet, is give Jake some credit. He has taken this side a long way in four years.

Yes, he’s human, he’s fallible, but he has done an outstanding job under trying circumstances. To deny that is to be mindlessly childish.

Jake knew he needed backline assistance as Coetzee has been about as useful as an ashtry on a motorbike BUT his place is cemented by the powers higher up the pecking order. Jake can’t change that but he can bring someone in who can make a difference.

That’s clever. That, my friend, is a great mind, not the grey matter you’re lumbered with.

Howzit Flametop…

How’s the youngster coming along? Must be about six months old now, already practicing drop kicks ala Frans Steyn? Trust you had him watching last night, in his Bok jersey; trust he has the emerald green one for those other occasions, too.

All the best with your campaign, still believe you’ll make it out of the group of death.

• 513.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

#506 — are you suggesting that a professionally-coached Springbok prop like BJ was technically OUTSMARTED by a mediocre Pom opposite number like Andy Sheridan? To the tune of two tightheads in a losing side that got whacked by a massive 36-0?

Jeez! That’s a pretty scathing indictment of the Boks scrummaging coach, isn’t it? Asleep at the wheel?

• 514.Joe Maher: Reply to this comment

All those players you mentioned came into the Bok fold with jake at the helm, idiot!

That’s mne on this subject. I’ve argued with you once before and receieved the same imbecilic responses.

Cheers…he’s all yours, Tackler.

• 515.Boerboel: Reply to this comment

tighthead,

you can’t deny that BJ struggled. He was neither in control nor had the upperhand. And I can talk with experience in the position backing me up. But you are correct with the playing close to the rules, I hope all the players play close on the boundary.

• 516.Red Apple: Reply to this comment

To settle the Os issue once and for all guys, he is an integral part of the TEAM!! and his value doesn’t just come in what he does in his position, but what he brings to the team. Don’t for one moment think that White will risk losing the cup over sentiment by picking him and dare I say he knows a thing or two more than you well educated rugby experts when it comes to team selections etc.
    In a nutshell stop fantasising about the perfect team and agree with the experts who will confirm this was the best side we could field.
    Celebrate the win!!!

• 517.Joejoe: Reply to this comment

Judging from what I have read, we have just about won the WC. Lets enjoy it but be realistic.

Lets not get carried away, this was just a pool game against one of the weakest teams at the WC. Our scrum was pathetic and we should have scored at least two or three more tries with all the possession we had.

I saw nothing that will scare the AB or Aus. A lot of improvement is needed before the big boys arrive.

• 518.Brads: Reply to this comment

The stat that should really be celebrated is the zero in the Pom scoring column.

That was outstanding!

• 519.RedLion: Reply to this comment

RL’s take on the players.

1.Os was his usual best. Solid as a rock at scrum time and popping up all over the place to compete for the ball while making some good tackles. Maybe Os is a yard slower than in the past but for an old legend he is going well. There is no doubt that he will be rested until the QF match.

2.The skipper did what he did best, and that was lead by example. JS and the team made sure that they kept to their simple but effective game plan of playing for field position and turning the big and slow pommy forwards around by hoisting the ball to the back 3 all night long. JS and the team also made sure that there was great discipline on defence.

3.BJ was in the war zone, some good scrums and some not so good ones. There was some real funny stuff going on there and I think that both teams were guilty of bending the laws to gain the upper hand, the poms were just more successful with their tactics.

4.Bakkies was huge, some great work in the lineout and around the park, the poms were literally left battered and bruised by the enforcer. There were poms lying all over the place, bleeding and looking like they wanted to cry. Yes we won the war in the trenches.

5.Matfield was at his usual best, he had a good game but he knows that there is some work to do to get the lineouts working at full efficiency. On the night all it took was one good lineout and some brilliant work by FDP that resulted in a brilliant try.

6.Wikus and a great game, he stole ball, he slowed ball and he carried ball well. These are things that Burger does well too but Wikus does not have the same energy and intensity that Burger brings to the park.

7.Juan just gets better and better the more he plays, he was huge in the line out and did some great work in the contact area. What a great run to finish off the brilliant work of FDP.

8.Danie was the other enforcer on the night, that is why he was selected start against the poms and he did his job, he and Bakkies had great fun in bashing the poms and as a result two pale faced poms are now out of action – lol Perhaps Jake is keeping Bob fresh for the knockout stages when match winners are needed.

9.FDP – The Man of the Match – The worlds best halfback by a mile – The General and main decision maker of the team.

10.The poms were laughing at the inclusions of Butch at 10. Well pommy’s Butch does his talking on the field, his kicking out of hand was brilliant, his vision and passing game excellent. He turned the pommy Neanderthal pack around time and time again. He defended his channel well bringing down pom after pom after pom – he was our enforcer in the backline.

11.Habana had a few good runs and a good match. To contain Habana the poms commited extra bodies to the left side of the field just to look after Habana, it was a big mistake – notice that the poms conceded all their trys on the right side of the field.

12.Steyn was very good, the big boy stood up well in defence and often found himself switching roles with Butch. His best position may just be at inside centre/flyhalf and the more he plays the better he will become.

13.At this point in time I would say the JF is the almost best outside centre in the world. Solid in defence, always a threat in attack and break any team down if given just half a gap. He too attracts extra bodies to mark him which opens up other dangerous players.

14.JPP is the player that teams underestimate, mainly because they are more afraid of Habana than him. He made some good runs, was huge in defence and for the top try scorer in the S14 he will have no problem with fewer defenders marking him.

15.Percy was solid as usual, his kicking out of hand was top notch and when presented the chance to put point on the board he did just that. There is a lot more that the fullback can do especially in attack and I am sure that our new consultant Eddie Jones, will bring out the best of Percy very soon.

16.(Bismarck, CJ, Muller, Bobby, Pienaar, Petoors, WO) – The players on the bench looked exactly like the player they were replacing, there were no disruptions at all to the way the team was playing, when this happens then you have a squad of 22 that can go all the way.

• 520.Brads: Reply to this comment

NZ are about to play Portugal who I exect to get thrashed by 100+ points.

However, as weak as the Portugeuse are, I still expect they will score some points, probably an intercept try.

Which is more than the Poms could do against SA.

• 521.tight head: Reply to this comment

Hi Loose head.
    What is not being understood is the different strategy we had on our put in as opposed to their put in.
    On our put in BJ had just to keep it steady and make sure we got clean ball.
    On their put in, in the first half he attacked Sheridan to put the pressure on. Later in the second half it was obvious that we were happy to wheel them and give them bad ball from the scrum with our scrummie and loosies putting the pressure on them after the pick up.

• 522.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

NOTHING went wrong for Os. He held up his end of the bargain with his usual aplomb. Same goes for Smit, who is a powerhouse in the scrum.

The Bok scrum blew apart with BJ, who failed spectacularly and totally. And, later in the game, we saw how weak CJ vd Linde is — as if confirmation was ever needed.

Ditch BJ.

Ditch CJ.

Send out an SOS for DJ…

(Whoa! That idea sounds even dodgier! Is there an AJ in the house?)

• 523.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Fantail

Enjoy yr BBQ & Coronas tonite – how is this for irony – I finally get the RWC on telly & have to go out for dinner tonight with a bunch of non-rugger people ! Criminal waste :(

I doubt the Welsh will step up, then again who (apart from me) picked the Argies ?

Life is starting to get a little bit interesting !

• 524.surreyshark4: Reply to this comment

From The Times September 15, 2007

Hapless Ashton still seeks big performance to avoid early exitOwen Slot, Chief Sports Reporter, in Paris
    After what had appeared the darkest of days — the match against the United States last week — the message from the England team was that they could not wait to get out there again. The Springbok game could not come around fast enough.

England fans can judge for themselves whether yesterday was better or worse, but can the kneejerk comeback be the same? Do you, England, really feel you cannot wait for Samoa. Do you feel the Samoans simply cannot come fast enough?

Or would England rather not have a year and a day to prepare for Samoa. Because that game now looms horribly. This England side are rattling up a sequence of humiliations, but failing to qualify from the pool would be the absolute ultimate.

“Shell-shocked” was how Martin Corry, the captain, described his colleagues. A more concerning admission was that, once chasing the game, they had no plan. Neither did Brian Ashton inspire much faith in this side when he conceded that teams such as England spill chances when “down on confidence”. How the gentle men of Samoa will feast on all that.

Related Links
    How England rated
    England suffer worst ever World Cup defeat
    Grand plan falls flat on its face
    England will go into the Samoa game still bleating about the big performance that remains within them. Few are they who remain convinced that it is genuinely there, though, as Ashton conceded: “If there’s one, it’s going to have to come out on Saturday. Otherwise, we’re going home.”

Indeed, but if England cannot score points, they cannot win. A new verb — “to nil” — has become modern rugby slang and England can now get used to it. They were not just nilled by South Africa, they barely got close to a point. The closest they got was a miscued Mike Catt dropped goal. All that talk about whether Andy Farrell is or is not a world-class goalkicker was utterly irrelevant because England did not put him in a position from which to show us. Not one penalty. Just a nil.

If the sight of England trudging off at the final whistle was a miserable one, the booing didn’t help. Some 20 minutes after the finish, a number of players returned to the field to stretch and they were also booed by the remnants of England’s supporters who urged them callously to score a try.

courtesy of the Times

• 525.Just a Fan: Reply to this comment

Well done Bokke…keep your heads and you will win the trophy.

Stavros not sure what you are smoking chap… Wikus had agreat game – he may not be as flamboyant as Schalk – but he did his job well. They called him the “Silent Assassin:..very apt I think. And what “big hit” our guy had two hands stretched out to the ball and was infront of the pom…infact the pom went into him….the Touch Judge got it wrong…

Bokke Bokke Bokke…. Keo great to see such a fabulous write up about the boys in the Argus…

• 526.David: Reply to this comment

I reckon Eddie’s added a lot more finesse to the forwards than we realised. After working with a suspect Australian pack he must be in 7th heaven. It’s all very well developing peripheral vision, but Eddie seems to have shown the players how to make use of it. Let’s face it, he’s taken only a month to teach Schalk and Juan how and when to pass, which Gert couldn’t manage in almost 4 years!

• 527.Mike H: Reply to this comment

Skopskiet the more you talk the more niave you look. You think Eddie is the reasons the boks beat England. This team has been built by Jake over 4 years not by Eddie in 4 months. Please hush you getting annoying

• 528.Just a Fan: Reply to this comment

#517 Joejoe – then you weren’t watching the same game then. Yes the AB’s and possibly the Wallies will offer much more of a challenge – but they would be stupid to think they could walk over us. Both teams would have to have had an outstanding game to have beaten us last night. We were co-ordinated, confident, organised and mature under pressure (the ref has no clue about scrummaging…)

• 529.Mike H: Reply to this comment

Some people can’t see something good even when its smashing them in the face. Go Jake Go Bokke, this really is a team we can be proud of.

• 530.surreyshark4: Reply to this comment

i have got to admit to being a huge Jake fan, but the boks are passing a lot more out of tackles than they used to, it does seem to something that started to happen with the arrival of Eddie, coincidence or not!!

• 531.Just a Fan: Reply to this comment

No doubt that Eddie has contributed hugely to our game…definitely added more flair and attacking ability, but we would have beaten them without Eddie.

• 532.Tjorts: Reply to this comment

St Michel,

Where art thou? Please elaborate how the superior English schooling system that you always rant about was again evident in yesterday’s performance?

• 533.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

NZ 33 SA 6

Earlier this year.

And many weren’t impressed and thought the ABs were flat and a bit indifferent.

33-6

• 534.4teen: Reply to this comment

Is there any new about the FdP injury?

He didn’t look too concerned afterwards… but I am a bit worried. If there was ever an example for young scrumhalves last night was one; he played himself out of his skin and into my WC dream team!

• 535.surreyshark4: Reply to this comment

one wonders how the durban scoreline would of looked if Foure Du Preez was playing on that afternoon against the All Blacks , i’m sure the All Blacks watched his perfomance last night with a wee bit of worry

• 536.surreyshark4: Reply to this comment

Tackler you giving odds against the all blacks?

• 537.Just a Fan: Reply to this comment

#252 Mr Freon –

I agree Peter De Villiers came across as negative and bitter through the whole thing (pre and post match chatter)…all he did was pick us apart and basically say what Jake White had did wrong – he wouldn’t even mention Eddie Jones name. Arsehole!

• 538.RedLion: Reply to this comment

How is this for a coincidence?

The ’91 champs were beaten by the team to win the ’95 RWC
    The ’95 champs were beaten by the team to win the ’99 RWC
    The ’99 champs were beaten by the team to win the ’03 RWC
    The ’03 champs were beaten by the team to win the ’07 RWC … ?

• 539.Joe Maher: Reply to this comment

I don’t doubt Eddie’s influence. It’s a huge positive.

But how many of you pooh-poohed it as another Jake fiasco? After all, who would want the ditched Queensland Reds coach anywhere near the Boks? God forbid…this White guy is truly and idiot.

Oh yes?

All credit to Jake. Congrats to eddie for his input. But as Mije H said, this is no overnight success story. Jake has been planning it and working on it for four years. We may not win the WWE Cup but no-one can deny we have made enormous strides since the dark days of Dolf and Corne.

And, by the way, had Eddie thought Jake an idiot, there is simply no way he would have taken the position.

• 540.Clark Kent: Reply to this comment

Wat ‘n uitstekende vertoning van ons Bokke. Mens kon dit sommer al voel met die sing van die volksliedere dat SA heelwat beter voorberei het as die Pommies. Uitstekende vertoning deur FDP. Het iemand getel hoeveel duikslae het Frans uitgevoer? Kon heel moontlik meer as Schalk se gemiddelde per wedstryd gewees het.
    Maar aan die ander kant moet ons realisties bly. Die Bleekbene was nie swak nie, hulle was eenvoudig pateties. Hoe een van die top rugbylande in die wêreld so kon agteruitgaan is skokkend. Ten minste 12 uit die 14 super14 spanne hierdie jaar sou gisteraand se wedstryd gewen het. My magtig, self die Reds sou hulle ‘n “go” gegee het.
    Al het Brian Ashton eers einde verlede jaar oorgeneem (of begin van die jaar? is nie seker nie), moes hy en sy span afrigters tog hulself beter voorberei het vir hierdie belangrike wedstryd.
    Maar my innige simpatie met die Engelse ondersteuners. Ons weet waardeur julle gaan. Ons was ook al ‘n paar keer die afgelope 10/12 jaar daardeur.
    Een ding wat Jake en Eddie net moet besef is dat die taktiek wat hulle gisteraand gebruik het om die Engelse te wen, nie gaan werk teen die AB en selfs teen Aus nie. Om “Up and under” taktiek teen die AB te gebruik is selfmoord met hulle gevaarlike teenaanvalle. Maar ek glo hulle het meer as genoeg verstand om nie in daardie slaggat te trap nie.
    Intussen, kom ons “party” behoorlik (sonder om arrogant te raak) en wees trots om wat die span en afrigters gisteraand vermag het.

• 541.Flametop: Reply to this comment

Hi Joe,

sorry had to get a few zzzz’s while he was sleeping.
    Yep, he’s getting big, strong legs,kicks me in the head, headbutts, and claws at my face/eyes with razor sharp little nails.

(guess it’s in his genes ;-) )

As for Ireland ….we’ll know more after tonight.
    I fear are not going to do ourselves justice, which is a shame as we have a good team, but badly out of form. Pity, cos I don’t rate France/Arg that highly for talent (Arg good passion/brawn though)

• 542.odm: Reply to this comment

#538 – Interesting stuff, but by that logic Samoa might be champs too??

• 543.RedLion: Reply to this comment

533, Tackler.

Do not worry about SA. NZ will not make it do the final, I say this based on mathematical facts. They chocked 2 out of 4 RWC in the semis and chocked only once in the final and the odds are that the convicts will make it ot the final as they have been there the most.

• 544.Flametop: Reply to this comment

Ireland beat them first, and have not lost the last four

• 545.4teen: Reply to this comment

#533 Yes… it took the AB’s a good 69 minutes of play to “look” the score; the Pom’s “1st team” were done and dusted at the break!

#537… PdV is a “political preferred” choice and don’t have much substance; was he born for some strange reason with a white skin he would be coaching some club in the cape!

Suddenly with Eddie in the mix… He is worth his weight in wet newspaper!

• 546.Just a Fan: Reply to this comment

Why isnt that we are having “cold water” poured on us by people who won’t allow us to enjoy this victory. Do you guys honestly think that we dont know there is a lot to do still? This vicotry was more than beating the Poms 36 Nil…it was the fact that we all saw the fabulous potential in our men of war coming into fruition. We saw that whatever the outcome of the World Cup, we know that we have a talented skillful Springbok Rugby Team. We saw that after the team of 2003, the team of 2007 have given us hope of a win….Hope is something that people should not try to take away..so I will gloat all the way until the next game – because then all prevous wins and losses dont count anymore….

GO BOKKE!!!!

• 547.Flametop: Reply to this comment

Just a Fan

I’m supporting Ire & SA

Who do you think I’m more pleased with?

• 548.4teen: Reply to this comment

If Zim can beat Aus in a once-off 20/20… Wales can beat Aus and the French/Irish can beat the AB’s too…

• 549.Flametop: Reply to this comment

4teen

I certainly hope so

• 550.Just a Fan: Reply to this comment

Flametop

mmm Well not sure the reason for the question, but since ireland battled to put away the Nambians…I would say Sa..why?

Pages: « 13 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.