Poms pasted in Paris
14 Sep 2007
The prophecy of an England pummeling came to pass when South Africa secured a 36-0 whitewash in St Denis.
With only two pool matches remaining against the USA and Tonga, the Boks are certain to top Pool A. By beating England, they have secured an easier path to the semi-finals.
The way South Africa began it appeared as if a 50-pointer was on the cards. After the initial exchanges, JP Pietersen broke down the blindside off a line-out and found Fourie du Preez in good support. The Bok scrumhalf lost his footing but was still able to set up flanker Juan Smith for a well worked try.
What followed was an all out assault on the England back three. South Africa dominated the line-outs and the ball never went further than first-receiver, where one of Butch James, Frans Steyn or Du Preez would send it into orbit. Their accuracy was telling, with the likes of Jason Robinson often caught out by the Bok chasers. Du Preez also showed some great vision when kicking infield off a penalty, finding space and Jaque Fourie collecting off the run. Unfortunately, the centre lost the ball just before he tried to place the ball over the line.
England were rudderless without Jonny Wilkinson, with Andy Farrell and Mike Catt producing poor efforts in clearing from the flyhalf channel. The number of mistakes the duo made in this position was also unacceptable, be it through a misdirected kick or spilled ball, it just served to heap more pressure on an already battered English defence.
Victor Matfield provided the platform from the line-out, while his second row partner Bakkies Botha got through an exemplary amount of work around the park. The South African scrum were also strong at scrumtime even though they received little opportunity to attack.
Wikus van Heerden was a worthy understudy to Schalk Burger, carrying the ball up strongly and pilfering a few balls off the deck. His cleaning around the rucks was also integral to quick ball, as this enabled the South African kickers to drive the English back into their own half.
Du Preez was in masterful form from the base, be it with ball in hand or with his formidable boot. He created the first try for Smith and then sparked the second just before half-time, stepping past a rushing defender and surging upfield. He drew the last man superbly before freeing up Pietersen, who raced in unopposed and ensured the Boks went to the break with a 20-0 advantage.
England persisted with their tight tactics but the poor attack evident in the World Cup warm ups was once again the inhibitor. Catt never challenged the Bok defence and Farrell was equally impotent. Anybody who expected a surprise in the department would have been bitterly disappointed. But conventional wisdom would suggest this group wasn’t numerous.
England scrapped, but South Africa never allowed the play to become scrappy. They continued to pin the Poms back in their own half, and the killer blow was delivered in the 64th minute through Pietersen’s second try. Du Preez was the orchestrator once again, benefitting from a great forward platform to race round the blindside and direct a simple run in for the South African right winger.
The gap between the two sides was gigantic, but South Afirca never shifted from third gear. They cruised to this win and at the same time ensured England suffered the ultimate humiliation by never securing a point.
For all his magic, Du Preez will be a concern for the Boks after clutching his troublesome shoulder late in the second half. He was duly substituted and the South Africans will hope there is not further damage.
England may not be so lucky, with Robinson pulling up with looked to be a serious hamstring injury. Although Wilkinson and Olly Barkley should be fit for the playoffs, the loss of the veteran should hit England just as hard. Jamie Noon was also stretchered from the field in the dying minutes and could also miss the deciding game against Samoa.
If this game confirmed anything it was that the Webb Ellis Trophy will change hands by the end of this tournament. The big question for England is whether they can surpass Samoa and qualify for the playoffs. On this sort of effort, even the most ardent English fan may be in doubt.
South Africa – Tries: Juan Smith, JP Pietersen (2). Conversions: Percy Montgomery (3). Penalties: Francois Steyn, Montgomery (4).
England – None.
By Jon Cardinelli

601 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 » Show All
15 Sep 2007, 11:27 am
#533 Tackles
Only Wickus (who came in for a suspended Schalk) and Pietersen (who played fullback in NZ) were in both starting line-ups of the 6-33 Christchurch loss and yesterday’s 36-0 win. Don’t you get it that we send our B-team over whilst the A-team were resting and preparing for the World Cup? Is the Christchurch test now the new whip for the immediate future replacing the 0-28 Carisbrook test?
15 Sep 2007, 11:27 am
jake is a moron,he knows only boring rugby,eddie’s influence can be seen,the way the forwards are linking with the backs can be credited only to eddie.
15 Sep 2007, 11:28 am
Good to hear, Flametop.
Liam Seamus Malachy ‘Bakkies’ O’Connor has a nice ring to it!!
You’re right, Ireland’s form has largely deserted them but I’m still confident they’ll do the business when it matters. A QF spot beckons…and then anything can happen.
15 Sep 2007, 11:29 am
You, my friend, are the moron uber alles.
15 Sep 2007, 11:29 am
just a fan
you just walloped England and some are not happy.
it’s a good start as opposed to Ireland’s
15 Sep 2007, 11:30 am
#538 RedLion,
Let us hope history repeats itself!
15 Sep 2007, 11:31 am
#552 – what a AH…go sleep off your hangover…
What Jake knows its how to develope a confident competent team. He knows how to develope players skills and knows have to develope team spirit..and MORE importantly he knows how to use the skills and expertise of other coaches and advisers to his advantage.
Obviously you are not a manager and if you are you shouldn’t think that you are a successful one!
15 Sep 2007, 11:32 am
Gotcha Flametop….feel like walloping some of the negative people on this site though…some people are never happy…
15 Sep 2007, 11:33 am
#546… Agree… there is also another element that must be considered; the expectation on the shoulders of the Boks and they achieved nether the less. At no point in time did it look as if they were jittery.
I think another turning point in the match was the superior defense of Steyn at 12 vs JdV; he tackled several locks and AF head-on without any hesitation, competed in the loose like a mad man for the ball and that totally derailed the England plan to exploit his channel!
15 Sep 2007, 11:35 am
Joe
If we want to be one of the big boys we just have to beat both France and Argentina. Period.
If we do confidence will be high though the team will be knackered, by the “no rotation policy”
Same mistakes as last time.
But like you said you never know.
Bokke looking very good and playing smart rugby.
Putting points on the board for every visit to the oppo half
15 Sep 2007, 11:35 am
I’m thrilled, JaF. A great result.
Yes, imperfections, but we’ll take 36-0 against the arrogant English, move on and prepare for the next hurdel.
Not counting chickens but so far, so good.
15 Sep 2007, 11:36 am
Steyn tackling is awesome…not only was he fearless but he must have had supper glue in his palms, because he just didn’ let go…..I know there is alot of great talent in our team and it is hugely exciting to watch all their contributions..but Frans Steyn is going to be one of the rugby greats…..
15 Sep 2007, 11:37 am
# That’s “hurdle” before The Headmaster, aka TheTackler, picks me out for spelling errors…
15 Sep 2007, 11:37 am
SA are saying the right things, happy with the win but more to work on.
That’s a winners mentality
Positive but looking for more
15 Sep 2007, 11:39 am
Joe Maher and Mike H, I have been steadily impressed with what I have seen developing with the bok team SINCE EJ came on board, and to put your assertions in perspective I have never thought Jake was an idiot, a conservative and manipulative self seeker yes I have thought that of him, idiot no.
I am happier than you realise for seeing that there is in fact hope and structure coming out of the fiasco we had to endure a few months ago, but I would almost certainly assure you had it not been for some clear sighted ‘other’ technical advice bestowed on these boys, we would not have been in the frame of mind and settled structure as is now prevalent, also I seriously have my doubts that Jake would have had sufficient conviction of his own to play Steyn ahead of WO, or to play many structural or tactical roles that we now see unfolding. Most of the cohesion and the confidence coming through is as a direct result of some ‘other’ more astute thinking behind the team and so if you guys are saluting grey matter here I would strongly suggest you salute the one who hasn’t the priveledge of wearing the blazer.
15 Sep 2007, 11:40 am
With you on Frans Steyn, JaF.
This kid will go down as one of the game’s greats…he could well be our answer to the number 10 position come NZ2011 (and he’ll be just 24 then).
15 Sep 2007, 11:42 am
what the …k are u guys talking about .jake has been losing all the big matches since he took over.
15 Sep 2007, 11:42 am
This Bok performance is going to give Graham Henry some food for thought.
The Boks have previously been a bit wild with their passion, but this game showed a level of control and maturity that wasn’t evident in the past. The fact that England didn’t have one kickable penalty opportunity was the most telling factor.
For the first time in years we actually looked as if we knew how to play intelligently rather than just passionately.
This England side might not be the best but that doesn’t detract from the composure shown by the Boks.
Sure, there were some weak areas, but I’ve not seen a Springbok side playing with such a calm authority for many years.
There were so many little
15 Sep 2007, 11:44 am
Jake White is a devil in his own right, but I’ll rather stick to the devil I know:
If the so-called rated coaches like Henry, Laporte, and Knuckles etc had to coach the Boks… they would have faded under all the external pressures that the Bok coach must endure.
The mere fact that JW had the tenacity/guts to push through must also incensed the player’s mindsets.
All this off-the-field stresses of the last 4 years must have a hardened the players mindset, build character on a level and in a way other teams will not be able to mimic or comprehend!
JW made lots of mistakes… but he paid the bills before he went gambling!
15 Sep 2007, 11:45 am
What was the Boks penalty count?
15 Sep 2007, 11:45 am
skopskiet, i this the start of you digging yourself out of a hole, a few months back you were predicting that Jake would break our hearts at this world cup, but now the his as Eddie, we are looking good, let me remind you that Jake was the one who asked Eddie to join us and asked Sarfu to let Eddie join us, i have always said that a mans greatest strenght is to acknowledge his weaknesses AND address them Jake did that ….HAVE A BIT OF RESPECT SKOPSKIET, NOT A LOT JUST A BIT
15 Sep 2007, 11:46 am
#567 Bla Bla Bla…
A small mind if you cant see the big vision….
15 Sep 2007, 11:49 am
If I recall it was most of you grey matter specialists that were saying no Steyn is not mature enough to start at center, play him on the wing or full back but he’s too young and inexperienced to start at 12, well I was one that said 12 is his natural preferred position and I am glad that EJ twisted JW’s arm to have courage enough to throw him to the wolves in there instead of going with his usual conservative approach and stick with his non performing pre selections like WO and Willemse.
15 Sep 2007, 11:50 am
567 what about the tri nations win after ho took over only other coach to do that was mallet, untill he dropped teich in 99 and became mullett
15 Sep 2007, 11:50 am
We’ll agree to disagree, skopskiet.
When things go wrong, you blame Jake; when things go well, you congratulate ‘others’.
You can’t have it both ways. Nice, but not possible.
South Africa’s biggest problem during Jake’s tenure has been an absolutely useless, politically imposed Alistair Coetzee as backline coach. Gert Smal is little better.
Jake has had to live with this clown, he simply did not have the option of getting rid of him. Imagine the outrage from Mad Mike and Khompela had Jake shafted this passenger!!!
So Jake was clever enough to bring his mate Eddie into the fold.
Eddie, by the way, probably could not give a rat’s arse about SA rugby long-term, but I believe he joined because he felt confident it would enhance his CV (no small matter in the professional era, despite John O’Neill’s kindergarten bitchings).
In other words, he had confidence in the head coach and the players.
Yes, he’s an asset..and it’s so evident because poor Jake has been lumbered with kaksleg Coetzee for four long years.
Four long years during which we have made enormous strides, thanks largely to Mr Jake White.
15 Sep 2007, 11:51 am
i am sharks supporter i would of played Steyn as loose head if it gave him a jersey, so no that was not me
15 Sep 2007, 11:52 am
no difference between virgins if you ask me,whether small or big.
15 Sep 2007, 11:53 am
577 …..don’t talk about food in that way
15 Sep 2007, 11:53 am
Hey, I am a fan of having Steyn everywhere all the time. I am just sorry that he is too ypung for me to marry – I would snap him up in an instant….maybe he could be my toy boy….
15 Sep 2007, 11:54 am
just a fan…..he was a MAN last night not a boy
15 Sep 2007, 11:56 am
sigh…yeah..don’t make heart ache worse…..
15 Sep 2007, 11:57 am
Yes surrey it is true, perhaps in the nick of time Jake realised his own weaknesses and luckily enough as is the case with a few unfolding situations around this campaign destiny favored the situation because Eddy was ostracised out of Aussie rugger fraternities and sought a platform to show them up, what better situation than to team up with Jake who was floundering for tactical and strategic acumen, and badly. So it is highly fortuitous that now we have two head coaches training this team or perhaps they’ve switched roles, Eddy being coach and Jake being manager.
15 Sep 2007, 12:02 pm
#575… JW have a big heavy ball and chain to drag wherever he goes in the form of SA political correctness…
Coetzee is just one of the chapters!
If JW’s stay with Boks could be compared with an exam… he would score 60% in my eyes; he made a lot of foolish mistakes but he passed.
If he must leave after the WC there will be a foundation worth building on!
The only question I have is… will they use 1st grade baked clay brick or the same brittle bricks used the build the cracking RDP houses!
15 Sep 2007, 12:03 pm
Joe
Jake has been the “coach” for 4 years, so I don’t think that Coetzee and Gert can carry all the blame as his assistants.
The fact that he’s brought in Eddie is admirable, but let’s face it, the differences in both forward and back play since Eddie joined shows that Jake wasn’t up to doing the coaching job at this level. He managed to bring the Boks so far, but the tactical and playing skills that we are now seeing is where he fell short. And that’s the one thing that a coach is employed for.
15 Sep 2007, 12:04 pm
#577… Virgins are like ghosts… people talk a lot about them, but confirmable sightings… are seldom!
15 Sep 2007, 12:06 pm
It needed an Aussie to sort our dumb no brain minds out, like it needed an Aussie to put the bulls and sharks attacks on track so it needed an Aussie to put the boks into shape, so credit to White for realising it albeit a little late that we don’t have gumption or courage or vision of our own until we employ Aussie thinkers into our mix then all of a sudden we become world beaters.
But White on his own with Coetsee and Smal we would have still been the shambles we were before, the winners here will come from the brave commitments of Steyn, van Heerden, FdP and JP, Habana, Pienaar etc. mostly late inclusions apart from FdP and Habana, but certain necessities to this years cause.
15 Sep 2007, 12:11 pm
Anyway I am extremely happy to see some ‘vordering’ at long last, keep it up, but sort out the front row and 8th man positions quick, when Schalk comes back put him at 8 and keep Wickus at 6, Danie can play lock off the bench.
15 Sep 2007, 12:15 pm
Alister Coetzee would, on purest merit, be allowed to coach nothing more than the Rondebosch BHS 5th XV.
But the biggest Bok flop didn’t come in the back division.
It came up front. Where the untransformed white boy Gert Smal miraculously retains his job.
His front row was pathetic.
Well, not quite.
Os carried his load. Smit carried his load. BJ Botha got absolutely MONSTERED by Andy Sheridan.
No point in talking to you skopskiet – you have used your last braincell…..
Skop
Yes, Schalk was a revelation when he moved to 8 against Samoa. For me, his suspension that prevents continuing with that experiment before the QF, was probably the biggest blow.
15 Sep 2007, 12:27 pm
Larkham out unti quarterfinals
15 Sep 2007, 12:27 pm
that was until
15 Sep 2007, 12:34 pm
Good on Jake!
Call it as you like… the Aussies were World champions and top rated when we were still in isolation. They were figuring out how to improve their Rugby academies when we were thinking to start some!
Smaller player pools forced them longtime ago to develop their Rugby technical approach to be competitive too.
For a SA coach to keep up with the best without additional input will be a daunting task without assistance… at least our coaches used their heads and stuck their pride somewhere else and went to learn the better ways.
This “learn from the best approach†is becoming evident: just look the growth and adaptation of modern principals into our rugby unions!
The Aussies tenure at to top is at a crossroad and I think teams like Griquas and Boland will give their clubs a good run for their money these days.
When considering that Griquas lost seven players too clubs overseas one realizes that our growth curve is phenomenal and acknowledged!
Why do you think the Aussies embraced these new Rugby rules with such a speed; because becoming familiar with these rules ASAP is their only chance to stay at the top!
I still think JW did well with Eddie, the eye doc and the shrink. Yeye, Coetzee, Hoskins, ANCYL, minister of sport etc. are the blue ticks (Political Parasites) around the Springboks arse!
15 Sep 2007, 13:15 pm
Sorry, David, must disagree.
Jake has done a very good job under most trying circumstances.
Give any chief exec kak managers (like Coetzee and Smal) and he’s pushing ***** uphill. In this day and age of specialisation, you need your specialist managers to deliver within their departments.
Blame Jake for sticking with kak Gert, I’ll concede. But he had no choice when it came to kaksleg, politically-imposed Coetzee.
In a busines environment, both should have – indeed, would have – been shown the door long ago.
But that’s not possible in South Africa’s embroyonic post-apartheid political environment.
Harsh, unpallatable, but fact.
15 Sep 2007, 13:19 pm
embryonic…just in case The Headmaster’s still logged on…
Anyway, I’m outta here, time to watch some sport rather than discuss and debate it.
Go well, all.
Go exceptionally well, Boks.
15 Sep 2007, 13:27 pm
this ashton is a pathetic excuse for a coach.
how can he say that their performance was an improvement on their game against the US.
they scored sero points – how can that be an improvement !!!
15 Sep 2007, 13:30 pm
Gertie Smal….
Yeah, right!
15 Sep 2007, 13:42 pm
And Tackler you dropped “your load ” ha ha ha
15 Sep 2007, 15:57 pm
Guys pathetic – squabling about our coach in a time when we should be uniting behind the whole team, coach and staff.
Shame on you!
17 Sep 2007, 10:45 am
re:594
too true Joe Maher.
Alistair Coetzee is the most inept backline coach in international rugby; his time with the hapless EP proves this.
If it were’nt for Eddie Jones, our world cup campaign would be dead in the water.
as for Gert, there is a problem with our scrummaging.
In a business environment, these 2 guys would be back in the fold looking for a coaching job with boland or border bulldogs…
time to be professionals…
Pages: « 1 … 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 » Show All