Poms pasted in Paris

The prophecy of an England pummeling came to pass when South Africa secured a 36-0 whitewash in St Denis.

With only two pool matches remaining against the USA and Tonga, the Boks are certain to top Pool A. By beating England, they have secured an easier path to the semi-finals.

The way South Africa began it appeared as if a 50-pointer was on the cards. After the initial exchanges, JP Pietersen broke down the blindside off a line-out and found Fourie du Preez in good support. The Bok scrumhalf lost his footing but was still able to set up flanker Juan Smith for a well worked try.

What followed was an all out assault on the England back three. South Africa dominated the line-outs and the ball never went further than first-receiver, where one of Butch James, Frans Steyn or Du Preez would send it into orbit. Their accuracy was telling, with the likes of Jason Robinson often caught out by the Bok chasers. Du Preez also showed some great vision when kicking infield off a penalty, finding space and Jaque Fourie collecting off the run. Unfortunately, the centre lost the ball just before he tried to place the ball over the line.

England were rudderless without Jonny Wilkinson, with Andy Farrell and Mike Catt producing poor efforts in clearing from the flyhalf channel. The number of mistakes the duo made in this position was also unacceptable, be it through a misdirected kick or spilled ball, it just served to heap more pressure on an already battered English defence.

Victor Matfield provided the platform from the line-out, while his second row partner Bakkies Botha got through an exemplary amount of work around the park. The South African scrum were also strong at scrumtime even though they received little opportunity to attack.

Wikus van Heerden was a worthy understudy to Schalk Burger, carrying the ball up strongly and pilfering a few balls off the deck. His cleaning around the rucks was also integral to quick ball, as this enabled the South African kickers to drive the English back into their own half.

Du Preez was in masterful form from the base, be it with ball in hand or with his formidable boot. He created the first try for Smith and then sparked the second just before half-time, stepping past a rushing defender and surging upfield. He drew the last man superbly before freeing up Pietersen, who raced in unopposed and ensured the Boks went to the break with a 20-0 advantage.

England persisted with their tight tactics but the poor attack evident in the World Cup warm ups was once again the inhibitor. Catt never challenged the Bok defence and Farrell was equally impotent. Anybody who expected a surprise in the department would have been bitterly disappointed. But conventional wisdom would suggest this group wasn’t numerous.

England scrapped, but South Africa never allowed the play to become scrappy. They continued to pin the Poms back in their own half, and the killer blow was delivered in the 64th minute through Pietersen’s second try. Du Preez was the orchestrator once again, benefitting from a great forward platform to race round the blindside and direct a simple run in for the South African right winger.

The gap between the two sides was gigantic, but South Afirca never shifted from third gear. They cruised to this win and at the same time ensured England suffered the ultimate humiliation by never securing a point.

For all his magic, Du Preez will be a concern for the Boks after clutching his troublesome shoulder late in the second half. He was duly substituted and the South Africans will hope there is not further damage.

England may not be so lucky, with Robinson pulling up with looked to be a serious hamstring injury. Although Wilkinson and Olly Barkley should be fit for the playoffs, the loss of the veteran should hit England just as hard. Jamie Noon was also stretchered from the field in the dying minutes and could also miss the deciding game against Samoa.

If this game confirmed anything it was that the Webb Ellis Trophy will change hands by the end of this tournament. The big question for England is whether they can surpass Samoa and qualify for the playoffs. On this sort of effort, even the most ardent English fan may be in doubt.

South Africa – Tries: Juan Smith, JP Pietersen (2). Conversions: Percy Montgomery (3). Penalties: Francois Steyn, Montgomery (4).
England – None.

By Jon Cardinelli

601 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 1113 » Show All

• 151.stavros: Reply to this comment

Du Preez will be out for 4 weeks. It did not look good.

• 152.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

Now if england won i am sure big hit would have logged on here by now

• 153.BHUPENDRA DU SOLANKY: Reply to this comment

what did Du Preez do?

• 154.modawg: Reply to this comment

I just think we should have gone for the line out instead of that last penalty, perhaps it was just a little too conservative from the boks!!

• 155.Captain Danger: Reply to this comment

He played a man of the match performance.

• 156.Hooker: Reply to this comment

Du Preez will be fine,that penalty was a joke.He got both hands to the ball.Italian linesman must open his eyes.

• 157.modawg: Reply to this comment

#151, W

• 158.modawg: Reply to this comment

#151, Where did you get that info from, is that coz of his injury?

• 159.OCO: Reply to this comment

Just sorry for Robinson, he was England’s MOM.

• 160.Hooker: Reply to this comment

He looked fine at the end of the game(FDP).

• 161.McDirk_Sydney: Reply to this comment

Where oh where, is Big hit…

I am loving this

• 162.walter: Reply to this comment

#158 I think 151 is just being sarcastic…

• 163.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

Who’s the best in the World ? the BOKS !! Comeon Mike Stofile ! you are the loser ! You don’t no anything about rugby. Leave sports to people who know’s what it’s about.

Congrats Boks !!!!!! We love you !!!

• 164.stavros: Reply to this comment

I hope you are right. But from what I saw, he played the man, and was not going for the ball. I hope you are right. Lets see who the officer is, if we get the fellow who screwed Schalk, well then, we know he’s pissed at us already.

• 165.rucknroll: Reply to this comment

boks worthy finalists! classic act.

• 166.Captain Danger: Reply to this comment

No problems, steyn can play scrumhalf…

• 167.modawg: Reply to this comment

#156, he definitely went to parry the ball back to his support, don’t think there will be a citing for that?

• 168.modawg: Reply to this comment

I told you that FDP would be MOM!!

Well done boet!!

• 169.baasklaas: Reply to this comment

and would you believe: no one bashing wynand olivier?

• 170.OCO: Reply to this comment

FdP may have got MOM but Steyn is the future of SA rugby. Hell the guy is good, no nerves this time round just raw talent.
    Glad he’s with the Sharks.

• 171.Captain Danger: Reply to this comment

Wynand should’ve been man of the match. He did absolutely nothing wrong.

• 172.modawg: Reply to this comment

I think that all 15 deserved the MOM award though.

• 173.stavros: Reply to this comment

#166 That’s funny. I like it, but it’s very funny.

#167 I’ll take your word for it then.

#4788998521 No, England really did get 0.

#578 Yes I would also have liked to see 53-0

# 777890987987342 Yes it really is 2007, and no, it was not an error in the press the world cup champs really did go down
    36-0.

• 174.Dave-O: Reply to this comment

Well done to the Boks. A brilliant allround performance.

If I was making a training video for youngsters wanting to learn the game, I’d use this Bok performance as an example of the perfect game.

Well done.

• 175.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

Amazing. im gonna sleep very well tonight

• 176.Tight5: Reply to this comment

Boknaai!!! Well played Bokke! I can walk around London, wearing my Bok jersey, with PRIDE! Lekker!

• 177.Captain Danger: Reply to this comment

This just in: WP Rugby sold Newlands and bought Steyn. They will in future play all their matches in Mowbray.

• 178.Hooker: Reply to this comment

Well at least England won the toss today in the T20 game!!

• 179.modawg: Reply to this comment

England were lucky to score ZERO . . . . HA HA HA hmph!!

• 180.Captain Danger: Reply to this comment

178, lmfao

• 181.stavros: Reply to this comment

Where’s “Wallabie” and all the other delightful Aussies, Poms and Kiwi’s who’ve had a wonderful time delighting us with their banter about this game?

Bet we won’t even get a handshake.

• 182.Jason: Reply to this comment

lovely win boys!!! Great game and keep up the focus and optimism!!

• 183.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

The game was lost at 10 and 12 for England. They needed direction and missed Wilkinson (even a Barkley) badly.

Aside from the early try they had parity and even the advantage in the scrums.

England will return once Jonny and Barkley come back.

Well done SA, you did what you had to do.

• 184.stavros: Reply to this comment

#176 You should ALWAYS wear it with pride man, win or loose…

• 185.mongrel: Reply to this comment

Big hit: England were lucky to get nought.

• 186.stavros: Reply to this comment

#183 Big Hit

The game was lost at #6. Schalk would have made it 60-0,

• 187.Flametop: Reply to this comment

Big Hit.

Well done mate.

Gallant.

• 188.Yetirat: Reply to this comment

Biiiiigggg Hiiiittt????

Where are you now?

PLease come out of your shell and take the shame you deserve! I’ve had to listen to months of your pathetic attempts to convince both yourself and others that England stood a chance this RWC!

Doesn’t quite look like its going to happen anymore does it?

World champions……..I think not!

• 189.Captain Danger: Reply to this comment

Big Hit, When, oh god when will you ever have your full strength team? We didn’t have Jean nor Schalk mate.

The difference is our reserves stepped up and ripped your guys a new *****.

No modesty here. You’ve given us enough **** in the build up to this game.

• 190.Tight5: Reply to this comment

184 – I always do! This time it makes it soo much better! Bokke are the only side who can challenge the AB’s! Going to be a great final!

• 191.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

So BH how you like our boy wonder inside center? I told you that was his position for keeps.

• 192.Captain Danger: Reply to this comment

Pity they don’t deduct points for waste of time and space during a world cup.

Romania would be above you the English. I guess that would be detrimental to world rugby.

• 193.Captain Danger: Reply to this comment

Has the queen ever taken an OBE back?

• 194.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

We didn’t and don’t need Schalk and Jean we got Wickus and Frans, they can play in the final together too.

• 195.Flametop: Reply to this comment

Skoppy

Saw him make his debut at Lansdowne Road.
    The boy is class.

Guys at leat Big Hit turned up to say well done.
    Nobody likes a whipping but it happens to us all sometimes.

He could have stayed away or used multiple logins like the refugee

• 196.Windhoek.Lager: Reply to this comment

That was sweet, very sweet. And the sweetest sweet part is that big, fat, round zero under England’s name.

MoM: Du Preez, without a doubt. He was immense. A short head behind we have Monty – solid as the rock of Gibraltar – and Bakkies. Bakkies was huge in the tight loose.

The only guy that I feel didn’t come up to scratch, was JP. He made a few bad mistakes. Did a couple of good things too, but on balance this wasn’t his finest game.

On the Pom side Jason Robinson has to be saluted. The guy was the bravest player on the field. He fielded the high ball as though he had Matfield’s height and was the one, lone Englishman that kept the Boks busy and honest. His injury looked bad and England are going to miss him big time. Samoa for the quarter finals?

Josh Lewsey must also be commended. He defended very well.

It’s a pity that we didn’t get to see more of Steyn, Fourie and Habana but the guys were clearly playing under instructions. From the Scotland game I’ve had the idea that they are “practicing” their defence – win the game as fast as possible and then spend the remainder to stop the opposition from scoring.

Remember Jake’s words: Defence wins world cups. That means you have to take whatever points are on offer – a penalty means three points, it doesn’t mean a kick to the corner and a maul that may or may not cough up seven points – and make it as hard as possible for your opponents to get anything. Did anybody notice that the Poms had exactly one scoring opportunity in the entire match? Catt missed a drop goal in the first half and that was that. They didn’t get a single penalty that was kickable until it was too late to matter.

This Bok team is starting to look good. They’re not flash like the ABs and the Wallabies. They’re rock solid. Like the 1995 Boks …

• 197.Captain Danger: Reply to this comment

If Matt Stevens and Mike Catt stayed in SA they would be playing club rugby tomorrow.

• 198.Tight5: Reply to this comment

The Samoans are going to really give the Poms a hard time! They must be really crapping themselves!

• 199.SABRIEF: Reply to this comment

Well done Boks – English where pathetic though!! Boks should have beaten them by 60. Eddie (Chuckie doll)is along for a free ride, Jake is not coaching this side, Victor and Fourie are. All the tacical kicking and plays are from the Bulls play book. Well done Heyneke thank you for your contribution to RWC 2007 – coaching by correspondence.

• 200.Captain Danger: Reply to this comment

Flame, I don’t really care about his courteous appearance.

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 1113 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.