Poms pasted in Paris
14 Sep 2007
The prophecy of an England pummeling came to pass when South Africa secured a 36-0 whitewash in St Denis.
With only two pool matches remaining against the USA and Tonga, the Boks are certain to top Pool A. By beating England, they have secured an easier path to the semi-finals.
The way South Africa began it appeared as if a 50-pointer was on the cards. After the initial exchanges, JP Pietersen broke down the blindside off a line-out and found Fourie du Preez in good support. The Bok scrumhalf lost his footing but was still able to set up flanker Juan Smith for a well worked try.
What followed was an all out assault on the England back three. South Africa dominated the line-outs and the ball never went further than first-receiver, where one of Butch James, Frans Steyn or Du Preez would send it into orbit. Their accuracy was telling, with the likes of Jason Robinson often caught out by the Bok chasers. Du Preez also showed some great vision when kicking infield off a penalty, finding space and Jaque Fourie collecting off the run. Unfortunately, the centre lost the ball just before he tried to place the ball over the line.
England were rudderless without Jonny Wilkinson, with Andy Farrell and Mike Catt producing poor efforts in clearing from the flyhalf channel. The number of mistakes the duo made in this position was also unacceptable, be it through a misdirected kick or spilled ball, it just served to heap more pressure on an already battered English defence.
Victor Matfield provided the platform from the line-out, while his second row partner Bakkies Botha got through an exemplary amount of work around the park. The South African scrum were also strong at scrumtime even though they received little opportunity to attack.
Wikus van Heerden was a worthy understudy to Schalk Burger, carrying the ball up strongly and pilfering a few balls off the deck. His cleaning around the rucks was also integral to quick ball, as this enabled the South African kickers to drive the English back into their own half.
Du Preez was in masterful form from the base, be it with ball in hand or with his formidable boot. He created the first try for Smith and then sparked the second just before half-time, stepping past a rushing defender and surging upfield. He drew the last man superbly before freeing up Pietersen, who raced in unopposed and ensured the Boks went to the break with a 20-0 advantage.
England persisted with their tight tactics but the poor attack evident in the World Cup warm ups was once again the inhibitor. Catt never challenged the Bok defence and Farrell was equally impotent. Anybody who expected a surprise in the department would have been bitterly disappointed. But conventional wisdom would suggest this group wasn’t numerous.
England scrapped, but South Africa never allowed the play to become scrappy. They continued to pin the Poms back in their own half, and the killer blow was delivered in the 64th minute through Pietersen’s second try. Du Preez was the orchestrator once again, benefitting from a great forward platform to race round the blindside and direct a simple run in for the South African right winger.
The gap between the two sides was gigantic, but South Afirca never shifted from third gear. They cruised to this win and at the same time ensured England suffered the ultimate humiliation by never securing a point.
For all his magic, Du Preez will be a concern for the Boks after clutching his troublesome shoulder late in the second half. He was duly substituted and the South Africans will hope there is not further damage.
England may not be so lucky, with Robinson pulling up with looked to be a serious hamstring injury. Although Wilkinson and Olly Barkley should be fit for the playoffs, the loss of the veteran should hit England just as hard. Jamie Noon was also stretchered from the field in the dying minutes and could also miss the deciding game against Samoa.
If this game confirmed anything it was that the Webb Ellis Trophy will change hands by the end of this tournament. The big question for England is whether they can surpass Samoa and qualify for the playoffs. On this sort of effort, even the most ardent English fan may be in doubt.
South Africa – Tries: Juan Smith, JP Pietersen (2). Conversions: Percy Montgomery (3). Penalties: Francois Steyn, Montgomery (4).
England – None.
By Jon Cardinelli

601 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 … 13 » Show All
14 Sep 2007, 23:40 pm
That was EPICCCCCCC. Big hit predicted an SA win so guys be gentle on him. Hows the England captain saying in the post match how they first have to get over this loss before they can take on samoa. And pietersen ( kevin) wants to humilate the aussies. Eina .
14 Sep 2007, 23:41 pm
HI GUYS GOT TO LOVE IT,BUT DID U SEE AFTER THE GAME ON SABC2 THE WAY PIETER DE VILLERS COMMENTED ON JAKE & EDDIE SAYING THAT THEY HAVE ACHIEVED NOTHING ,PEOPLE LIKE HIM ANNOY ME
England were terrible. It’s still good that the game never quite became scrappy. Thought just occured to me, if Aus throws Wales game then they play us in quarter … perhaps a bash a an easier semi depending if they do get past us of course:)
big hit is a tosser. been one for ages.
Wish Lima recovers in time to sort out JW’s back when the poms play samoa
This was smart play by SA. They played a magnificent tactical game. It was one of the best tactical performances I have ever seen. Well done JW – we salute you!
England was an absolute embarrasment. Credit to SA for making them look so pathetic.
14 Sep 2007, 23:42 pm
None of the tightheads were bona fide! The referee is not up to scratch on his handling of the scrums, as twice the ball came out of the tunnel, and the one “tight head” was from an early shove! See!
14 Sep 2007, 23:43 pm
there is just no pleasing some people, luckily, i am not one of them. this was great, FDP is a legend, percy did nothing wrong and i dont think i have ever seen a bok team give away less penalties.
LEKKER!!!!!
Ta CD, I think it all clicked into gear tonight everything worked and Jutje looked like he was a little on our side this time, must be that common anti English sentiment going round Paris, but our boys did make the moves stick the fact that England were just shell shocked after that first break by JP and rounded off by FdP and Smith, they never got out their shells.
no windhoek. dobson is a moron and a prejudiced reporter purveying false hope. utter imbecile imo.
14 Sep 2007, 23:44 pm
Where’s that pasty st michael, I’d love to see what he has to say now. ‘tosser’………….
14 Sep 2007, 23:45 pm
BIG HIT = TACKLER = KEVIN PUTT!!!!
FFS – how many times do i have to say this before you all believe me?
14 Sep 2007, 23:46 pm
Scrums do need some improvement – I hope Chuckie is no where near them so they dont pick up on the Wallabies poor techniques. Was there one play off set piece that went past 12 or outside the 10 channel? The point is that to win the RWC you can not starve the backline of ball and then expect them to perform on call against the All Blacks. Yes control and winning is a priority during these early games however the next two games are essential in finding rythme in the backline to win the WC.
I never heard Pieter de Villiers say that freon you sure you not hearing things?
SA might not have the attacking brilliance of NZ. But by God this is a team that can play an awesome structured game – ever improving attack, enormous defense, excellent set pieces.
Wallaby, Tackler, Big Hit time to admit now: SA has a real chance to win the WC. They are VERY serious contenders. This was impressive…..
14 Sep 2007, 23:47 pm
#254, Can’t fault the oke for supporting his team gotta admire his loyalty . . . no matter how misplaced.
14 Sep 2007, 23:51 pm
Hey Wallabie – looking forward to Wales-Samoa in the quarters?
14 Sep 2007, 23:52 pm
It all clicked perfectly into gear, all 15 of them, now they just have to remain focused and positive throughout, if Wallabies take Wales tomorrow its Wales next big game up.
14 Sep 2007, 23:53 pm
That was worth every second of the extremely long wait. The whole team was fantastic – even Bakkies showed some brains, which was a turn up for the books. Credit for Big Hit for turning up here tonight – many would have disappeared for weeks.
14 Sep 2007, 23:54 pm
Go Samoa. I think they have a very goood chance next week.
Robinson was the only bloke to even try and give it a go. I hope he is around next week.
Say what you like about Edddie – its working.
NZ – SA final, if we keep our heeds.
Go Bokke!
14 Sep 2007, 23:55 pm
Soda,
Let’s agree to disagree. Dobson has been around long enough not to get carried away by the hype and I’ve been burned more than a few times because I got carried away with the hype. I welcome his views.
BadBok,
St Mick (St Prick, St Idiot, St Moron, Take your pick) only posts before games because he has no leg to stand on after the games. Expect to see him some two days before Eng vs Samoa. He will tell us how “her majesty’s loyal subjects” will “gently but firmly” put the “noble savages from the south sea” in their place.
After the game (when the “noble savages” have turned “her majesty’s loyal subjects” into a delectable after-dinner snack, he will disappear. Some days later, shortly before the Tonga game, he will repost his Samoa posts (with a small change here and there, for appearance sake). If England beat Tonga – there’s a 50/50 chance – he will be back as soon as the final whistle blows to tell all and sundry about this great and glorious victory that once again proves the superiority blah blah yakkity fishpaste (you get the idea).
Should Tonga be the winners, we shall be spared his sycophantic drivel until the six nations competition starts. One can but hope and pray.
14 Sep 2007, 23:55 pm
Well folks, it’s 5 to midnight here in SA, time to go to bed and sleep well tonite, sweet dreams to all Bok supporters, to the rest of you, have a few nightmares of the Boks beating your asses in this RWC . . . .
14 Sep 2007, 23:57 pm
Windhoek.Lager, great post. St. Prick the **** is the crunt from crunt street.
14 Sep 2007, 23:59 pm
Boerboel,
Ah yes, the most strategic “R” in Pretoria, as I recall
15 Sep 2007, 00:00 am
As an All Black supporter – my best wishes to the Boks on a great win.
You’re heading to the final, chaps.
The AB v Boks clash is going to be the game of the century.
15 Sep 2007, 00:00 am
Good sportsmanship by the Boks for not smashing Robinson once he had pulled his hammy.
So unfortunate for Robinson, great player and humble man. Hope he recovers quickly, shouldn’t end like this for him.
Gareth
15 Sep 2007, 00:01 am
Jaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!!!!!
Waar is daai naaier Big *** nou?
Ek kan nie wag vir al die d0nnerse excuses nie.
15 Sep 2007, 00:02 am
#276 Yeah, I guess since he was the only Pom that pitched for the game they decided to cut him some slack
15 Sep 2007, 00:03 am
# 277 – Big **** was here, briefly. Just long enough to make a t1t of himself, as usual
15 Sep 2007, 00:04 am
Clinical, clean, fantastic. If we play like this going forward, surely we are a force to be reckoned with
Ja, I hope we see no more from St Michel (Mickey England?). But BH can stay, because he had the balls to come onto this site after all his predictions.
Ai, maar dit was lekker….
Hey, where is Big Hit hiding?
15 Sep 2007, 00:05 am
Jis jis
El sien julle praat mooi Afrikaans noudat Ig en Wallabie slaap. hehehe. Was dit nie lekker om die soutpiele op hul moer te speel nie?? Nou 2 weke van rus, en dan Wallis in die quarters, Argies in die semi en All Blacks in die finale.
DIS LEKKER OM ‘n BOER TE WEES!!!!!!!
15 Sep 2007, 00:05 am
BOKKE
BOKKE
BOKKE
15 Sep 2007, 00:06 am
what game were you watching??
I thought the bok scrum struggled like heck
Hallo willa
Ek gaan volgende naweek Kleinbaai toe. Is jy dalk daar?
Hoesit KP!
My bloed is groen vanaand. Dit was nou heerlik!
Wanneer maak ons ‘n kap, ek vlieg volgende Maandag…
15 Sep 2007, 00:07 am
Ja, die Bok skrum het my ook bietjie gepla. Hoop hulle kan daai uitsort voor die semis.
15 Sep 2007, 00:08 am
What a wanker.
He has been raggin on for weeks how uniffecient us South Africans are at rugby and how we must brace ourselves for this game.
Wonder what they will say when they exit from this world cup when (not if) Samoa beats them.
Die enigste rede hoekom die Bokke gewen het is omdat daai takhaar Schalk nie gespeel het nie.
KP 286
Ek is hier, ons kan ‘n plan maak! Hoe klink Vrydagaand vir jou by die Buitesteen?
Hel, die konneksie is maar staaaaadig in die Overberg vanaand…
#281 – Actually I have a suspicion Big **** is more of a windup than a serious Pom fan. Nobody can be that far removed from reality.
Just hope the Boks keep their feet on the ground. All credit to Barney so far – the Bok discipline was amazing. And the ref – he may have made the odd error, but in general he blew a good game.
Awesome stuff. I gotta admit, I was nervous and did not think it would be this big a score. Not sure what scrums you were watching Jon, but that was an area I thought we took strain!!
“I can’t work out if it’s the lack of top quality players or is Ashton completely out of his depth.”
Definite lack of a game plan. I also think he’s gone for brawn and experience over agility and developing young talent. Whatever the case he’s got it badly wrong.
Well done the boks. Great effort. Now just sort out the scrum or else the ABs will be dominant in that area come final time.
15 Sep 2007, 00:09 am
Willa, dan sal ons ‘n plan volgende week moet maak. Ek gaan nou eers inkruip. Praat more weer.
GO BOKKE!!!
15 Sep 2007, 00:10 am
Re skrum
Ook maar net die eerste helfte, en net aan BJ se kant. Maar ons het hulle gerook in die vaste los, dit tap energie wat in die skrums later getel het.
Eddie Jones het jare lank vir derderangse voorrye raad gegee oor hoe om hul opponente te flous – BJ is ver van derderangs af, maar na halftyd het hy Sheridan ook laat kou! Jy kon Eddie se Aussie-hand sien in daardie stukkie taktiek…
15 Sep 2007, 00:11 am
Lekker slaap KP
15 Sep 2007, 00:12 am
One last thought before I hit the sack with a grin on my face … Does Skalla still make the run-on side?
I reckon the quetion of whether FdP is the best scrumhalf in the world has now been solved. He created 3 tries, and his kicking was brilliant. And francios Steyn – it’s like he was always a number 12.
Ja Kingpaul @ 288 – Ek was geskok met ons skrums. Ek het gedink ons gaan daar domineer, maar ons het agteruitgegaan.
Een groot plus vir my was die “penalty count” teen ons.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 … 13 » Show All