Mike lets Catt out bag
14 Sep 2007
Mike Catt and not Andy Farrell will play flyhalf against South Africa.
Farrell had been named at flyhalf in the England line-up but Catt admitted he would wear the No 10 jersey on Friday night.
“I’ll start at 10 and predominantly stay at 10,” Catt told BBC Radio 5live. “Obviously with Andy’s left foot, I think it’s a vital part of our game,” he added.
“It’s a bit like myself and Olly (Barkley). We want to get us down in the right parts of the pitch and when we do that we can attack off it. It’s a massive task for us but as long as we play down there anything can happen.”
England coach Brian Ashton said he viewed the two players as being interchangeable in the role.
“As an educated guess, Catt will play 10 and Farrell 12,” said Ashton. “I see them both as inside backs, mixing and matching during the game. If I didn’t think they could do it, I wouldn’t have picked them.”
Farrell has won all his six caps as a centre since his high-profile switch from rugby league, while Catt has won caps at full-back, centre, fly-half and even on the wing since making his England debut in 1994.
Speaking on Tuesday, Farrell said that he viewed the inside centre and fly-half positions as much of a muchness.
“The last few weeks the 10s and 12s have all been swapping in and out anyway, and we share the workload and responsibility,” he said.
“The way Brian likes to play, he likes his 10 and 12 to control the game between them. There is not that much difference, just a bit more responsibility at 10.
“When Olly went off during training on Tuesday, me and ‘Catty’ just sorted it out between ourselves.”
England will start with Farrell as their first-choice goal-kicker with replacement scrum-half Andy Gomarsall lined up as second choice should anything happen to the former Great Britain rugby league captain.
Catt has kicked 22 penalties and 16 conversions for England during a 13-year Test career, but did not kick at goal for his club London Irish last year to protect his problematic back.
Farrell’s goal-kicking pedigree in rugby league is unquestioned, having landed 1042 goals in 230 Super League appearances for Wigan, but his last kick at goal in an international was three years ago when playing league for Great Britain.

297 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 » Show All
14 Sep 2007, 05:48 am
No team who has lost a pool game has gone on to win the WC, outside of pride and anything, momentum is very important. There is no way the Wobblies will throw the game…
#198 Hurricane, wish I had the same confidence. To many dissapointments for a Saffa supporter to take it as a given!
14 Sep 2007, 05:50 am
really.
I would prefer a Bok/Wallaby final. really want the boks to do it again. Seems so very long ago.
‘Not 60’000 South Africans, 43 million South Africans’
Just unreal. And if we don’t the wallabies are my adopted side, so a win there would be good too. nothing like a Bok win, but i would take it.
I do kind of feel sorry for the AB’s though. They really ahve been the best rugby side in the last decade, yet just cannot turn that into a Webb Ellis. Strange.
14 Sep 2007, 05:56 am
202 – the main reason i’d like to face the AB’s is because if we won at least they’d stop talking about suzie. and if we lost. well, i dont think there is any shame in losing a world cup final to the all blacks. bitter disapointment yes, shame no.
but let me not get ahead of myself here. boks and AB still have a lot of work to do before we can even start dreaming of another final between the old foes. that said, i like to dream.
14 Sep 2007, 05:59 am
Too right.
I ahve been telling my mates back home about how much the wallabies have warmed to the boks of late, and then i read this from foxsports…
***** of London could not have said that any better – Burger got what he deserved for that blatant head high. A player will ALWAYS say they were going for the ball…
Lets hope The Chrio shakes that concussion off and brings out a few more bone rattlers in this tournament… Really enjoyed how he pointed out Pretorius before he set off on his kamikaze mission.
People like that should not be allowed to support rugby.
14 Sep 2007, 06:00 am
Princess might have to settle for Hong Kong.I am a bit worried about the Boks against England. Hope its not going to be another cricketing fiasco eg SA went to the WI as No1. Ended up #0
14 Sep 2007, 06:05 am
McDirk, I was very surprised to hear the lot on Inside Rugby last night, even old Marto was having something good to say about the Boks, including saying the citing of Burger was rediculous not to even speak about the sanction…
14 Sep 2007, 06:06 am
Understand,maybe i am just hoping you guys will win.
If you want to talk about disapointments,i am a kiwi and this is the tournament that has had the better of us kiwis.
But honestly i would love to win this but i would rather not have the cup and have another great three and a bit years of playing good rugby than to have the cup and play like England have over the last three years,if you know what i mean
14 Sep 2007, 06:09 am
Ye, watched as well.
Kafe has been a massive supporter of the Boks through the year, as has kearnsy.
Has been quite refreshing.
Just wish the boks supporters back home could see it.
There is a perception that the Aussies hate the boks. Probably more animosity the other way round.
14 Sep 2007, 06:13 am
Dominee
You almost have me feeling sorry for you padre – then you went & made the “settle for Hong Kong” refernce
WTF is that
Stiletto being sharpened as I type
Koos
Gun the Chivalry I am in need of a getaway driver for a stiletto a drive by / hit & run mission.
14 Sep 2007, 06:14 am
hurricane – you know you guys would do justice to your crown should you win. unlike the current chumps.
14 Sep 2007, 06:16 am
Yip McDirk, they do like ribbing us and we fall for it every time. The respect is there though and from last night I got the feeling they think we stand a very good chance of winning the whole thingy…more than I do at this stage anyway!
#207 Thought you might and was not going to draw the parallel out of courtesy
14 Sep 2007, 06:18 am
208 – very interesting and good to hear. i was in Melbourne when jake sent his B team for the tri nations, and the level of vitriol against the boks was totally unnatural. especially when they tried to blame the boks when they failed to sell out sydney for gregan and larkhams last game on aussie soil.
certainly there is no love lost between our cricketers!
14 Sep 2007, 06:19 am
#209 Ready and rearing to go…just speaka da word!
PS Remember to change the green to say, ah well canary yellow or white, don’t want it to be traced back to a Bok supporter…
14 Sep 2007, 06:19 am
Hurricane
If the boys don’t win this year it will not be for lacking of preparation, training, sweat, tears or blood even.
What is WILL be is soul destroying
14 Sep 2007, 06:21 am
Even the thought is throwing your words out I see Princess…
14 Sep 2007, 06:22 am
Cricket is another thing. Smith destroyed any chance of building bridges there. He is a class A muppit that bloke.
What is great to see on this site is that each set of supporters seems willing to accept a win from either of the SH sides.
Most seem happy to just have the trophy back where it belongs, in the SH.
Great to see.
14 Sep 2007, 06:22 am
Koos
But no one wud believe a white or yellow jersey wud have the guts to do it – How about a nice “Samonan blue”jersey ? That would be at least considered credibe – Perhaps not even surprising …
14 Sep 2007, 06:24 am
Koos
Persactly – just the thought of such a tragedy causes the hands to tremble on the keyboard
14 Sep 2007, 06:44 am
well mcdirk to be honest there are a lot of teams i’d like to see win before aus win again. i have utmost respect for their professional approach to sport, but for a country that doesn’t generally take union seriously i’d be gutted to see them pick up their 3rd crown.
besides i think they’ve been told they can keep the trophy if they win again – well whoever wins it 1st for a 3rd time that is.
14 Sep 2007, 06:47 am
can’t fault the logic.
14 Sep 2007, 06:50 am
munkiboi – yeah – I’ve been eating up my fingers like they just another meal (for the last month) about this game. It makes me even more nervous reading these dooses say we’ll win by 30. It would be wonderful if we didnt crow before the game (just once, pls)
14 Sep 2007, 07:00 am
ha ha, I have been crowing big time. not about a 30 point whipping, that is unrealistic and silly. but i have little doubt about the outcome. and i am never this bullish before a game of this magnitude.
14 Sep 2007, 07:02 am
Inside Rugby – I saw that as well – I was staggered to hear a positive word from Aus. Perhaps the fool Wallabie will actually be waking up to himself soon as well
14 Sep 2007, 07:05 am
Ja ou’s there is still 80 mins of rugby to play. I feel a kinda nervous optimism about the game, but sh*t i get even more nervous when some of you dudes start predicting big scores…………eish lets do the big talking on the field.
14 Sep 2007, 07:20 am
Mike Catts longevity in the top level has to be comended, one of the last players from the amateur era. As for the upcoming test between the Boks and Pohms, its going to be a great game, and obviously this is a Saffa site that will always have the full support of the saffa bloggers and the lobsided scoreline.
These two teams dislike each other and thats a given, so it makes for a close game?!? Thats my thought. England will step up in this game knowing full well that they are firstly the under-dogs in this game, secondly its the Boks and last but definately not the least, its a do or die game (OZ’s in the qtr’s) game for the Pohms.
“Cheating Boks” v “Whinging Pohms” these are not my words, its on rugbyheaven. I say its going to be the Boks by 12 and under with a scoreline of 29-18…
14 Sep 2007, 07:20 am
Koos
This is going to make you sick …
I have found a Cable TV Service in HKG that is running the RWC. I called them 5 minutes ago & they apologised for not having an engineer available to come & set up the connection before 8pm this evening ! They are even running an RWC “special” that allows me to sign up for a non-contract period & cancel the service after the RWC by just giving them 1 months notice
God I love living in HKG
I will be “online” in time to cheer Boks tonight & ABs tomorrow & am consequently a very happy girl
14 Sep 2007, 07:28 am
EISH….
14 Sep 2007, 07:29 am
Good stuff Princess, enjoy!
14 Sep 2007, 07:35 am
Lucky you RP, good afternoon all.
Fox comes standard with a standard package with add-ons like sports avilable. However you do need to sign up for a contract.
What a good idea. being able to sign up just for the duration of a tournament
14 Sep 2007, 07:43 am
Old News Keo this was reproted on the Follow England site of the RFU on Tuesday!!!!
14 Sep 2007, 07:53 am
Watch out for the Poms!
Bokke play better when underdogs.
Close game, Bokke by less than 7!
14 Sep 2007, 07:54 am
Koos & Dirk
Opting out of an 18 month contract only doubled the monthly fee for the 2 motnhs I do have it … what is not to love ?
The little Chinese man on the Customer Service hotline clearly had taken plenty of calls because he knew what Rugby was, which tournement I was referring to, the start & finish dates of the RWC & did not not quibble at all about the “short time frame” request !
14 Sep 2007, 07:59 am
Cliff Jennings should sing God save the Queen!
14 Sep 2007, 08:04 am
#232 Mmm if I opt out it will cost me about the same as three months full subscription, in addition I also get the first month free…no couple of hours notice though!
14 Sep 2007, 08:05 am
Jake not to make any changes till game is won!
14 Sep 2007, 08:08 am
Comment by rastafox : September 14, 2007 @ 7:43 am
As did Keo mate… check the date of the first post on this thread…
14 Sep 2007, 08:10 am
Francois Steyn to score 2 tries in 24/18 win.
14 Sep 2007, 08:14 am
OK then, England to win by 15!
14 Sep 2007, 08:21 am
All set then.
Enjoy the rugby from where-ever in the world you might be.
Spare a thought for us here in Oz, getting up at 04H45 to watch the game. I shall have a coffee in hand rather than a chilled beer.
Something very wrong with that.
I am off down the boozer. Cheers all.
Go the boks.
14 Sep 2007, 08:22 am
Come on the Bokke!! Do it for Schalk!! (and me!!) …er and…these other okes as well
14 Sep 2007, 08:24 am
Enjoy McDirk…cold beer at 5am mmmm!
14 Sep 2007, 08:36 am
Koos
& I did not have to beg /threaten etc to get the guy to turn up
I save all that for #1 honey !
14 Sep 2007, 08:39 am
Yeah yeah Princess, rub it in. By the way, talking about honey, did you catch Manly and his grand plan for Vetkoek…it involves honey (a few litres of the stuff) and a … uhmm stickey situation?
14 Sep 2007, 08:42 am
Koos
EEwwwww ! What ?? I was wondering where he was today – perhaps they are still stuck in a compromisign position ? God, pls do not let the back set of the Chivlary be involved in this !
14 Sep 2007, 08:45 am
I saw this coming a mile away and the Chivalry is off limits to him. Hope he did not pick a park somewhere, may be overcome by ants or something…
14 Sep 2007, 08:49 am
Oohh … They use the honey & ants as torture in some Asian culturea you know … Never mind the Batman suit, tighty-whiteys & thig leaf – his silky could get a mauling ! Although depending on which sub-species of ants attack the swelling could go in his favour … so to speak
14 Sep 2007, 08:51 am
hello ppl cant wait! SKOPSKIET, I rate pakslae in NH conditions big stong ballcarrier cabable of protecting the scrummie and frans will shine in 12 just JPP that worries me but further tell the poms to COME GET SOME! hahahaha!
14 Sep 2007, 08:51 am
Lets dissect another crazy scenario.
If the Poms lose to the boks,it is still not over.
They will then play Wobblies in the QF and it is NOT a given that Oz will beat.
They could go on and play AB`s in semi`s…and then meet boks again in final.
What a strange WC it would be.
14 Sep 2007, 08:52 am
Are you absolutely sure the Chivlary is still in the garage ?? He made mention a while back of having a spare set of keys cut when you were not looking …
14 Sep 2007, 08:56 am
Changed the locks and everything….
PS Don’t tell him but I actually changed garages as well, old jeloppie in the old one, he never drives it anywhere and does his ‘homework’ in the garage so I am sure he won’t even notice in all the excitement…
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 » Show All