Butch bullish
26 Sep 2007
Butch James believes he is finally realising his potential at test level.
James described his performance against England as the best in a Springbok jersey, but more significantly as proof that he can control a game from flyhalf at this level.
James starts against the United States on Sunday in Montpellier and he is desperate not to lose the momentum of the England performance.
“The England game was the injection I needed at this World Cup. I thought I did okay against Scotland a few weeks before the World Cup, but I was very disappointed with my game against Samoa. I struggled to get into the game and wasn’t getting my hands on the ball. It was an indifferent start to the tournament and I owed everyone a big performance against England,†James told the Cape Argus. “I felt I delivered it and it meant a lot to me because a guy like Jake (White) had backed me unconditionally this season.â€
James, seven years after his test debut, delivered on the expectation that first won him a test start against France in 2001. White and Bok technical advisor Eddie Jones agreed it was James’s best yet and both predicted equally mature performances from their flyhalf in the World Cup play-offs.
“He has confidence and he has comfort that he arrived in France as the number one flyhalf in the squad,†said White. “I always knew he had the qualities to play like he did against England and he knows we have big expectations of him at this tournament. He has finally settled at test level, but that is also because he has been given a chance to find form.â€
James, having made nine consecutive starts for the Boks in his debut season in 2001, played just three times in the next four years. In the last season and a half he has doubled that game time for the Boks.
“It certainly helps to know your role in the squad and it makes a big difference when the coach is up front about whether you will be playing or not. I knew at the start of the international season this year that I would be starting against England at the World Cup, provided I was fit and playing well. Jake had given me that assurance and because of this there could be no reason for me to fail. The coach gave me every opportunity to succeed and surrounded me with people who could also make sure I delivered for the team.â€
Jones, in particular, gets an early mention from James, but scrumhalf Fourie du Preez gets the biggest rap.
“What a pleasure playing outside of him (Du Preez). He relieves so much pressure on a flyhalf because he has such an outstanding kicking game. He also reads the match so well and has a sense of when to do something or bring me into play. This is the first time in my test career that I’ve spent consistent game time playing as a combination with him and I’ve felt the difference in my play,†said James. “Eddie’s advice has also been influential, in that he emphasised the maturity required of a flyhalf. He felt I needed more composure in the opening 20 minutes of a test and there are certain plays that get me involved early and allow me to settle. Jake and Eddie have spoken a lot about game sense and of game plan implementation; be it in the first 20 minutes or the third quarter of the game. I now understand the structure to playing flyhalf for 80 minutes at this level a lot more than a few seasons back.â€
James’s discipline at the World Cup has also been outstanding and he said the team was extremely mindful of the need to maintain this standard against the USA and in the play-offs.
“We haven’t lost our physicality or our aggressiveness, but there is a lot more control and discipline in what we do. We showed great intensity against England and we have to produce that kind of display against USA because after that there won’t be any more matches in which to find the consistency needed to win this tournament. Once you get to the play-offs you simply have to produce or you’re out.â€
White will confirm the match 22 against USA only on Friday because it is a Sunday match. However, Akona Ndungane and Albert van den Berg will get starts. Neither is expected to start in the quarter-final.

232 Comments
26 Sep 2007, 16:41 pm
if I had to pick one player who is most likely to do something stupid to lose the big game it would be you Butch.
26 Sep 2007, 16:47 pm
Please give us something interesting to read. It’s the same old gunk over and over again.
26 Sep 2007, 16:56 pm
1 – Just like you would feature near the top of the list of posters most likely to write something stupid, nê?
26 Sep 2007, 17:02 pm
typically gerber you show ur one minded self always knocking players that aint bulls players
its sad really that one is so unsporting
i guess youd want ur bulls liefling moffie player in the bok team ????
damn mate get real , again go back to friday
SHARKS 26 BULLS 18
That with 14r players for the sharks and the ref helping you guys ??
fact is with liefling you got a klap because you have the most one dimensional flyhalf in the country
26 Sep 2007, 17:03 pm
Butch has incredible talent. He has to have it to wear that Bok 10 Jersey. But by modern standards he is just another average flyhalf. In 20 years people will be still talking about Mehrtens, Carter and Larkham but Butch James will be forgotten.
26 Sep 2007, 17:04 pm
sad how some people just cant support the bok players
BJ is far and away the best flyhalf we have
again it sahowed saterday when AP played
just like we agree fourie du preez is the best scrummy
26 Sep 2007, 17:07 pm
niceone lets talk after the world cup when we have won it and butch i tell you will be one of the reasons we win it
some people seriously just cant stop living in the past
26 Sep 2007, 17:08 pm
For sure Du Preez is the best scrummy … for now ! Wait till Piri Weepu finds form again. Those two really have amazing skills.
26 Sep 2007, 17:10 pm
#7 – HAHAHA ! You got NO chance bro ! The mighty ABS will win . It is destiny and you cant change that . Boks will get knocked out in the Semis ! TRUTH HURTS BRO !
26 Sep 2007, 17:12 pm
#1 lol how predicatble.
if i had to pick one stupid poster on this forum it would be you lol.
26 Sep 2007, 17:14 pm
#9 LMFAO if you think Piri Weepu is better than FDP then god help NZ lol.
He looks like an overwieght ORKS from the first lord of the rings.
26 Sep 2007, 17:15 pm
Keo how about your thoughts on the changing weather in Europe? Against England it was sunny and mid 20s during the day, already this has started to change and by the time the semis take place it will be positively autumnal. Do you think that this will de-rail the Boks’ more expansive game of recent?
26 Sep 2007, 17:16 pm
sharks_lover, liefling maybe predictable but he is solid when he is on form. Butch is on form but he is prone to erraticism and BTW he is NOT the best flyhalf we have, Steyn is far superior.
I do not expect Bulls to make same mistakes twice come the finals.
26 Sep 2007, 17:16 pm
#11 Haha ! Yeah ! – Piri Weepu – or POW – is a very talented player who has not even begun to tap his talent. You will eat humble pie by this tim next year
26 Sep 2007, 17:21 pm
#10 Butch has a history of bad option taking in big games. He needs to play percentage rugby in big games instead of his rush option taking.
26 Sep 2007, 17:24 pm
Gerber you are an idiot. Steyn is not the best flyhalf we have, he’s clearly the best centre. Against England, our 9, 10 and 12 was the best it’s been forever. Steyn is too young and erratic at FH (remember the last 5 minutes against NZ in Durban Tri-nations?). Butch is by far SA’s best flyhalf and no, he doesn’t always take bad options in big games. England was a big game wasn’t it? Name one bad option he did there?
26 Sep 2007, 17:25 pm
Butch is talking way 2 much here.
Save ur energy for the world cup cos one great game does not make one great..
Looking good so less talk and more action.
26 Sep 2007, 17:28 pm
#17 – Well Said ! You can apply that to the other 14 Boks aswell !
26 Sep 2007, 17:28 pm
9# niceone why do u support Weepu???
He has talent but he is incredibly stupid
26 Sep 2007, 17:30 pm
17# How can i apply that to Matfield or Bakkies
or … Dont show ur ignorance here just pretend to be clever. The less u say the cleverer u sound
26 Sep 2007, 17:31 pm
#19 – Joeboy . Always been a fan of him because I believe that he is heavily underrated . I reckon he deserves more respect and attention.
i mean 18#
I can’t believe some of you idiots!
We are 4 games away from lifting the Web Ellis and you are knocking a Springbok who is currently the no.1 in his position by a long shot.
Can’t some of you guys grow up and support the Boks or move to Australia where the real whingers live!!!
Great to hear that he is finding his feet. Good article Keo.
26 Sep 2007, 17:32 pm
21# niceone are u also an islander?
26 Sep 2007, 17:33 pm
#20 – Nah . I am just playing around and having a dig . Obviously the Boks are not all like that !
P.S. I have a MA in Contemporary Rugby Studies
26 Sep 2007, 17:34 pm
23# the real arrogant whingers are the islanders
26 Sep 2007, 17:35 pm
#16 I give you the english game but there always an element of risk with Butch. I think his major strength is his close quarter defence.
Steyn is a great flyhalf in the making, he needs to touch the ball as much as possible. 10 is his best position IMHO. His distribution is superior to Butch.
shame Steyn plays in Durban though.
#18 agree, I think the french are quietly getting their act together in the background of all the hype around the Boks and Abs.
26 Sep 2007, 17:38 pm
#26 – ay we not all like that bro .
26 Sep 2007, 17:39 pm
25# ok good to hear
26 Sep 2007, 17:41 pm
#27 – For sure – And I reckon if the Frogs get to the semis , they will win the whole damn thing ! They are a very real threat.
26 Sep 2007, 17:43 pm
28# im really glad to hear that cos
some of the islanders on this site are nothing less than awful, cool bru..
26 Sep 2007, 17:48 pm
if argentine beat ireland the French are dead
26 Sep 2007, 17:56 pm
Imagine the laugh we’ll get if Frogs beat AB’s in quarters. Damn that would be amusing.
26 Sep 2007, 18:03 pm
Keo you cant use the same heading every time you write about Butch! Surely….?
26 Sep 2007, 18:12 pm
With Fourie Du Preeze on your inside Derick Hougaard looks good. Enough Said, Butch doesn’t have to think Du preeze does it for him. Poo AP he had januarie on his inside and Julies WO on his outside. Had AP(even wilkinson is stuggling and Carter only mont and ellisad seem to be liking the new ball) had a good game at posts it would have been a diffeent game.
James is the king of self promotion. I for one can’t wait till he buggers off to the uk. Lets see if he can cope without great players around him.
26 Sep 2007, 18:13 pm
sorry rugger bloggers to change the tune of the thread – but this is something interesting – Clint Eastwood is about to direct a movie about the Bokke winning the World Cup in 1995 – well sort of. Morgan Freeman is to star as Madiba and Matt Damon as Francois Pienaar in a movie highlighting the 1994 elections with the 1995 World Cup as the apotheosis of teh process. It’s to be called The Human Factor: Nelson Mandela and the Game That Changed The World. Thought it’s an interesting script – not sure how successful it will be although Hollywood is saying it’s one of the hottest scripts they have seen.
I don’t think it will focus too much on the game itself – but more on the political climate at that stage.
On a lighter note – can we come up with actors or look a likes for the Bok 15 at the time for extras hahahahaha
26 Sep 2007, 18:15 pm
If u ruggbloggers are looking for the source of the Eastwood / Mandela movie – check out UK version of the Independent
26 Sep 2007, 18:16 pm
Evening ladies and foreigners
26 Sep 2007, 18:19 pm
Someone old and wise to play Kitch Christie – Paul Newman
Someone with a huge ego to play Joost – Tom Cruise maybe
Someone on the heavy side to play Kobus Wiese – maybe Big Fat B*stard from the Austin Powers movies
26 Sep 2007, 18:23 pm
some more
Andre Joubert – Tom Cruise
Chester Williams – Will Smith let’s try and find suitable actors
Japie Mulder -
Hennie le Roux
James Small
Joel Stransky
Joost van der Westhuizen;Os du Randt, Chris Rossouw, Balie Swart; Hannes Strydom, Kobus Wiese; Ruben Kruger, Francois Pienaar, Mark Andrews
26 Sep 2007, 18:25 pm
Matt Damon as Francois Pienaar, should be hilarious!!
what’s happened to teh above players – eg – James Small
Technically he’s got the lot. Great hands, good pass, good boot and physical with it. Don’t get ahead of yourself though, that was the worst English team since the 70s and they had an OAP playing 10. If you can’t control when faced with that you never will.
Keep it focused and you’ll be right Butch. Genuinely one of my favourites in the current crop, battled the odds and then some. Go boytie
that’s what I thought Castlelager – maybe Gerard depardeau with his big nose -
26 Sep 2007, 18:26 pm
Nah Stodders, Joost is a better actor than Tom!
26 Sep 2007, 18:32 pm
Joel Stransky
the guy from the Police Acadamy movies with the funny voice
26 Sep 2007, 18:32 pm
Joel Stransky as himself of course!
26 Sep 2007, 18:34 pm
I would have Vin Diesel and James Small.
Danny De Vito as Balie Swart (Yeah I know the height).
Naas as Pienaar ?
26 Sep 2007, 18:36 pm
Who would play Suzie?
26 Sep 2007, 18:36 pm
nice one niceone – the Pienaar/Naas bit hahahaha
26 Sep 2007, 18:37 pm
Dawn could play Suzie
26 Sep 2007, 18:37 pm
Suzie hmmmm Nicole Kidman. Dunno what made me think of this – but do you guys remember a stripper called Glenda Kemp
26 Sep 2007, 18:39 pm
Suzie to be played by Sly Stallone ?
26 Sep 2007, 18:39 pm
You want Glenda Kemp to be Suzie? Snake poison?
26 Sep 2007, 18:40 pm
Ultimate female villain – Sharon Stone for Suzie!
RedMan – ure the man – dis you ever see Glenda and her python?
I can just see her flashing her snatch at Fitzy while slipping poison in his dinner!
26 Sep 2007, 18:42 pm
Georgia are handing Namibia their asses by the way. 13-0 near HT. Shame it’s raining, has probably spoilt the game, hope it’s not the shape of things to come in the KO stages!
26 Sep 2007, 18:42 pm
# 57 excellent – lol – electric fuzz shining in the dim light of the club while she slips some gypo guts pills into their drinks
26 Sep 2007, 18:44 pm
I was still running around in nappies when she was in her prime. Is that a good thing or a bad thing?
I like it though – Sharon Stone poisons the Kiwi gash hunters with Glenda’s python.
26 Sep 2007, 18:44 pm
I still say Rambo to play Suzie !
26 Sep 2007, 18:46 pm
Red it’s good believe me. I remember watching it in the cinema as a 16 YO kakking myself ’cause it was an 18 rated flick!
26 Sep 2007, 18:46 pm
doesnt matter whether u were in nappies bru – she is a national icon – maybe we should start distributing T-Shirts with Glenda and Oupa(her slang) – make a fortune
26 Sep 2007, 18:48 pm
ja – i heard they made a movie 0 never seen it – only the real thing hahahah
26 Sep 2007, 18:49 pm
Someone not quite right in the head to play James Smal – Robert Carlyle (he of Begbie in Trainspotting fame)
We need a real villain of course to play Louis Luyt. I suggest someone everyone loves to hate – what about John O’Neill, the current head of the ARU
26 Sep 2007, 18:49 pm
Can’t see Sly doing subtle though. He’d probably waltz in to their hotel at breakfast and moer them with his machine gun. Now that would be a REAL excuse, not the lame rubbish that they trot out about food poisoning just because SA rocked up at their first ever RWC and won! Just think, if they had been playing in 1987 would the ABs have won it at all!?
Stand back and watch Tackles spout!
26 Sep 2007, 18:51 pm
Best film villian is either De Niro or Stephen Walken. Maybe the other oke who was in Speed. Can’t remember his name!
26 Sep 2007, 18:52 pm
So Bob De Niro as Luyt, Denzel Washington for Madiba anyone? ***** this is coming together!
jonnymain,
Yes they would have. Because the Boks would have all died in a tragic plane crash on their way over.
Ridiculous i know, but no more than saying the Boks would have won!
Believe in Butch James!!!!!!! Has long been touted as the best 10 in this country and he is finally getting the elongated-injury free run in the bok side to prove his detractors wrong.
better than anything else in SA and even OZ.barring the great Steve Larkharm.(Barnes,Q. Cooper,Norton-Knight(particularly horrendous even Hougie is better!),Beale,Hilgendorf-all a joke).
And anyone who claims to kno which is the best position for frans Steyn on this site is talking kak!!! not even the current Bok management and **** Muir his sharks coach who have worked exstensively with the boy-dont kno yet neither!!!a year ago it was 15 to replace Percy,then 10 until he had a few shockers(vs Free State Semi CC 2006),now its 12 until he messes up there,then the muppits will change their opinions again.Fickle i tell u.Steyn is a superb talent,he just needs to specialise now-hope at 10 as SA is quality lacking there.
#27 greatestgarbage…
Most of the time I cant take any of your posts seriously as u always to resort to childish comments based on provincialism(“pity Steyn plays in Durban-WTF?????),nationality,race etc.I question your objectivity at times
26 Sep 2007, 18:53 pm
morgan freeman as madiba
Jaws, from James Bond (can’t remember which one)?
I think Sly could play Rudi Straueli. Dom player, dom actor.
jonnymain,
Morgan Freeman as Madiba.
Dennis Hopper to play Louis Luyt.
26 Sep 2007, 18:54 pm
but it just doesn’t seem right – who the fuc**k wants to go and see a movie about rugby – the spin doctors will have a lot of work to do. I remember a rugby movie (South African) in about 1973 – can anybody recal? Think it was called Champions or something – about a @coloured” player in a team and plays for bokke and then finds out he is not white – something like that
Stodds. It was a wind up not meant to be responded to by a non Kiwi. Eish! I think perhaps you were a Kiwi in a former life.
morgan freeman already signed up as Madiba
26 Sep 2007, 18:55 pm
jonnymain,
I was thinking Schwarzenegger would play Straueli. I can hear him shouting “Do it, do it now!” as Stransky shapes to drop the winning kick
26 Sep 2007, 18:56 pm
jonnymain,
Sorry mate. Just thought it a pointless argument to bring up yet again…
26 Sep 2007, 18:56 pm
~78 yeasss – but the camera doesnt show Arnie shaking Joel and klapping him and then saying “Do It Now”
26 Sep 2007, 18:57 pm
Spot on, it was Hopper. Agreed on Madiba, Morgan Freeman is the business. Who would play Chester? maybe thingy Lawrence from Rush Hour(?!) My film knowledge is really being stretched now. Did we decide on the Captain? Who’d play Jonah? Don’t know many actors from the South Sea Islands! I can only apologies for this rubbish, it must be the pills I’m taking to stave off the flu! Autumn sucks!
26 Sep 2007, 18:58 pm
Jean-Claude van Damme as Andre Joubert
And The Rock as Jonah Lomu
26 Sep 2007, 18:59 pm
Yes. The Rock isn’t famous for being too clever either!
26 Sep 2007, 19:00 pm
jonnymain,
Bloke who plays Jake the Muss in “Once Were Warriors” should play Jonah Lomu. Temuera Morrison i believe.
26 Sep 2007, 19:00 pm
What about Hulk Hogan as Kobus Wiese
26 Sep 2007, 19:01 pm
Jonah could always play himself, seeing as he isn’t playing much rugby anymore these days
26 Sep 2007, 19:03 pm
Adam Sandler to play James Smal
26 Sep 2007, 19:03 pm
Classic stodders!
26 Sep 2007, 19:04 pm
So I’m delerious on full strength Lemsip, what’s your excuse!!?
26 Sep 2007, 19:05 pm
Brad Pitt as Joost
Jack Nicholson as Louis Luyt
Orlando Bloom as Stransky
26 Sep 2007, 19:05 pm
No, no, Ben Stiller as Joel Stransky.
Both quite small, both Jewish.
26 Sep 2007, 19:06 pm
Gotta find a place for Patsy Kensit, she is the owner of the “worst attempt at a Saffa accent in film history” award!
How about the blonde villian in MI 2 for the Rolls Royce? Not a bad likeness….
OK here’s another; if we were to ask who the greatest sportsman was in their respective sports ; eg Ali in Boxing, Pele in Soccer, Tendulkar or Lara in Cricket – who would we vote as the greatest rugby player of all time????
And Sharon Stone as Suzie.
William H Macy as Derek Bevan in the semi-final?
LOL @ WP
26 Sep 2007, 19:07 pm
jonnymain,
Wasn’t she great. I bet you guys love it when ppl ask you to say “Seth Efricken” hehehe
26 Sep 2007, 19:07 pm
Who do we get to play Ed Morrisson?
26 Sep 2007, 19:08 pm
worst seoouf effrikan ekksent must go to Nicole Kidman
Bok,
Now you’ve gone and done it. Can you qualify it a bit and say the best player in the professional era or last 30 years at least. It’s difficult to compare genres.
Arnold Vosloo to play Mark Andrews.
The likeness is uncanny!
26 Sep 2007, 19:09 pm
Stodders, I’ve actually heard worse from many an Englishman, they just don’t do other nations accents I find! He wasn’t paid a fortune to practice it for a blockbuster film though! ***** she could’ve spent 2 months in Jolly J to swat up or something!!
26 Sep 2007, 19:10 pm
OK Stodders – let’s talk icons – who would epitomise teh face of rugby – the hoo haa of rugby – the champion of rugby
We can always have two Suzies, who put on a bit of a show for the ABs in a local strip joint prior to the big game. How else will we get the obligatory *** scene in the movie
Hugh Bladen as James Small
26 Sep 2007, 19:11 pm
Hmmm, Bok Drol in India, maybe Gareth Edwards.
26 Sep 2007, 19:12 pm
The *** scene will involve Derek Bevan and Louis Luyt’s characters.
26 Sep 2007, 19:13 pm
Bok,
Each country will have their own icon though.
Lomu wasn’t the most skilled of players yet he had the biggest impact on the game of rugby. It was his deeds in the semi final of 95 that tempted Murdoch to dip his hand in his wallet and take the game into the professional era.
I guess you have to ask which player stood out far above his peers at any given time.
My preference would be for someone like Gareth Edwards. He was a rugby genius.
26 Sep 2007, 19:14 pm
Stodders, as per my post #105, I agree.
The man is revered as a god in Wales.
26 Sep 2007, 19:16 pm
#102 may I butt in?
So many candidates in my lifetime.
Jonah. Nobody did more for rugby than him in his heydey.
John Eales. Model pro, champion on the park as well.
Danie Gerber. Possibly the best 13 ever to play
If you were to talk Lynagh, Mehrtens or Fox you’d also have to say Naas.
I’ll be up all night at this rate!
From the NH.
Sella, Blanco. Epitomy of French flair
Johnson. Sadly
Wilkinson. see above
Good old Gavin Hastings!
The Welsh wizards of old. JPR, Edwards.
Stodders – what i am trying to highlight is that rugby (world perspective) is a relatively “new” game. Ask Joe Soap in the street who the greatest footballer is – who the greatest boxer is – who the greatest athlete is and you will get answers like Pele, Ali or Lewis – but rugby hmmmmm????
Bennie Osler for the Boks.
And Buck Shelford for the Kiwis.
26 Sep 2007, 19:17 pm
Did I miss something, Derek Beven is revered in Wales!?
26 Sep 2007, 19:18 pm
Hehehe, jonnymain, was talking about Gareth Edwards
What do you guys think of my idea for a *** scene between Derek Bevan and Louis Luyt’s characters in this movie about RWC 1995?
26 Sep 2007, 19:18 pm
WP,
He was that good that he would have been made the transition to the professional era easily.
For pure skill level, Mark Ella was one of the most gifted players i have seen play. Only on video mind, but he was like a consistently brilliant Carlos Spencer without the tendency to be erratic.
In the forwards, the usual candidates will be around – Frik Du Preez, Colin Meads, John Eales, Jean Pierre Rives. For pure impact on the game and skill level, i would go with Michael Jones. Most complete forward i ever saw.
26 Sep 2007, 19:19 pm
Ya there are only 2 real candidates for the greatest soccer player. Pele and my personal fave Maradona.
26 Sep 2007, 19:19 pm
g3g and alf are coupled on the tote.
both have a morbid hatred of durbs.
what happened boys? did some lifie or slack-arsed surfer scale your squeeze?
26 Sep 2007, 19:20 pm
#113 – I’m trying not to WP!
We’ve missed a trick anyway, how about Jabba the Hutt for Oom Louis??
WP,
I agree with you. It can be the scene after Bevan gets his gold watch and wants to thank Louis personally
so – there is no consensus – just rugby – with lots of excellent players like Ella, Jones, du Preez
26 Sep 2007, 19:21 pm
stodders,
Michael Jones was such a perfect all-round athlete.
A pity that injuries dogged his career so much.
I imagine that, at that cue, BlackPanther will jump in. Michael Jones was the second All Black to have that nickname.
26 Sep 2007, 19:21 pm
jonnymain,
Maradona…easily. Pele wasn’t even the best Brazilian. He just had a good PR team (like average Beckham does now).
26 Sep 2007, 19:22 pm
Who will play Sean Fitzpatrick?
26 Sep 2007, 19:23 pm
oh, and Stodders #118
That *** scene needs to happen BEFORE the semi-final against France.
Bruce Willis as Sean Fitz
Controversial stodds, but true!
26 Sep 2007, 19:24 pm
I am sure Clint Eastwood will weave some poetic licence into the movie and include Staaldraad in the movie – even if after the 1995 WC
26 Sep 2007, 19:25 pm
OK you asked for it. How about a mudbath scene on the field before the teams emerge?
My shivvers are coming back!
26 Sep 2007, 19:25 pm
Bok,
Rugby has so many different positions with so many different skills, each difficult to execute in their own right. Do you chose a hooker or a scrum half or a fullback or flyhalf?
Football is a simple game and players can play in different positions, yet share similar skills and it is easier to compare. Maradona was easily the most gifted player that has played in the last 40 years. Maybe someone like Puskas could claim to be better, but that is going back a fair way.
Individual sports like boxing or tennis are much easier to judge who was the best.
26 Sep 2007, 19:26 pm
WP,
There can always be two *** scenes, just to “ram” the point home hahaha
Semi-final #2 is going to be England v France.
You heard it here first.
Ah well, I gotta go. Good luck with the casting, lads!
Scene 1: Extreme Close Up: Os on top of Sean and whispers in Seans ear “Do you know Suzy Like I knowe Suzy?”
26 Sep 2007, 19:27 pm
Twig,
So England are going to beat Oz AND France are going to beat NZ?
Whatever you’re smoking, i’ll have some.
And it will be semi final #1. The Boks play in semi final #2 on the Sunday.
26 Sep 2007, 19:28 pm
LOL @ Bok Drol…that is frikkin funny!
26 Sep 2007, 19:29 pm
stodders, a man can dream, can he not?
I think I’ll have an aneurysm out of pure joy if that transpires…
26 Sep 2007, 19:31 pm
Twig,
Just make sure you bet some money on it. If it happens, you’ll be rolling in the money for the odds you’ll get from a bookie for both games to end the way you have predicted.
26 Sep 2007, 19:38 pm
Twig, you live up to your name broer – must be smoking some twig china. Dream on, nh teams have no chance
26 Sep 2007, 19:38 pm
seems to me that ej has had a calming effect on butch. against england there were no wild flying tackles – or was that because england were so poor butch didn’t lose his cool?
26 Sep 2007, 19:40 pm
charo,
Butch showed in the pre-WC game against Scotland that he still knows how throw out a stiff arm high tackle. It hasn’t gone from his game completely, but he does have more control over it these days. At least the shoulder charges appear to be a thing of the past.
26 Sep 2007, 20:04 pm
Samoa started the WC looking for a quarter final …. now they have to qualify for 2011
26 Sep 2007, 20:10 pm
Samoa will beat USA today and put England into the 2011 WC
26 Sep 2007, 20:20 pm
Who the hell is the English Supersports commentator in the Samoa v USA game.
This guy is an utter ***!
26 Sep 2007, 20:55 pm
yes stodders, butch does still lose his cool every now and then. he is not exactly einstein so we have to hope that ej manages to instill some calmness.
nevertheless, he is undoubtedly the best we have for this rwc and does have that element of the unexpected with reverse passes or skips that can break a stalemate.
26 Sep 2007, 21:20 pm
Why not Charlize Theron as Suzie? Solves the accent problem and she has experience playing the criminal type. She also has the sensuality to derail the mighty ABs – just picture their tongues hanging out as she slips the potion into their soup. The testosterone rises along with whatever else and voila! the ABs are had. Diarrhea flows and the rest is history…
26 Sep 2007, 21:43 pm
Look – you can’t have Matt Damon in a movie without having Ben Affleck – the two are joined at the contract. We just need to find a possie for Affleck – Hennie le Roux, perhaps? I agree on Arnold Vosloo vor Mark Andrews, that just works.
My cast – incomplete as it may be:
Andre Joubert – Johnny Depp (We need something that will pull the aldies to the team as well)
James Small – Vin Diesel
Hennie – Ben Affleck
Doost – Orlando Bloom
Mark Andrews – Arnold Vosloo
Chester – Will Smith – a bit of creative license, but what the hey. Actually, Smith will do better as Lomu! Okay, back to looking for Chester…
Japie Mulder – Tom Cruise
Kitsch – Clint himself, maybe? Else I’ll second the motion of Paul Newman.
Eddie Moans – Bruce Willis (Cameo Appearance)
Pity no great female roles here, we have to fit Charlize in somewhere!
Now that was fun!
26 Sep 2007, 21:55 pm
fitzpatrick would have to play himself.
there is nobody in the whole of hollywood with better acting credentials.
26 Sep 2007, 22:31 pm
# 120 Get it right MJones nickname was Iceman!!!!!
26 Sep 2007, 22:55 pm
You guys are all nuts. If there’s to be a US rugby flick you’ll find that OJ is going to be Francsois and Cuba Gooding is going to play Stransky. Might even find that Clint will play Madiba.
If it’s filmed in Bollywood you’re going to have the Indian Cricket team playing as SA and the Pakistani’s playing as NZ.
Eish okes, you really catch on slow.
26 Sep 2007, 22:57 pm
Chaz #141,
Is that becuase of the size of his John-Thomas?
26 Sep 2007, 23:39 pm
Butch is not saying anything about Alistair Coetzee. Wonder why…?
27 Sep 2007, 00:11 am
Read about this movie thing and it sounds really exciting!! not sure how much rugby is planned to be shown because I think the focus will be on Mandela. But they will certainly have to recreate the 1995 final scenes because that is where it all took place! that magical moment!!South Africa becoming one..even for a fleeting moment in our history…it showed what South Africa can become not what it had become. That vision in 1995 remains elusive and we must strive towards it.
There have been many sports movies but this one,if it is made properly will trump them all…It would be great for rugby and for South Africa when it is produced! Jeez I dont mind being an extra sitting in Ellis Park and waving my Bok flag like crazy!
27 Sep 2007, 00:20 am
wow, im shocked to hear that its only now that butch has been told how to play in terms of structure at #10. that knowledge should be developed early on in school rugby days.
why has it taken EJ to get butch up to speed. what the heck are our provincial, club and school coaches doing?????????????? no wonder we lack so much tactical ability on the pitch.
27 Sep 2007, 03:17 am
Tomsta
I think that because the flyhalf position is so contraversial in SA and seems to depend on the coach at the time, that we have not had a settled flyhalf who can play his own game,instead they have to follow orders to keep their position and not use their natural flair.
Butch has always been my first choice flyhalf,and if it wasnt for his yellow cards and injuries he should have played for the Boks for the last 7 years.
He would have by now been one of the worlds greats,I actually earmarked him in his first season for the Sharks.
Also being English and in your face has not made him a lot of friends with our Northern supporters.
PS I am a WP supporter so no bias.
27 Sep 2007, 04:01 am
More Manly
How is your week panning out ? I have seen no mention of the Chivalry in while … are you banned ?
27 Sep 2007, 04:16 am
Hi Princess
Good to hear from you………naah Ive just been sulking.
27 Sep 2007, 04:26 am
Manly
Sulking ? Why ?
27 Sep 2007, 04:49 am
Cos of that **** display of rugby against Tonga
and the chokers 11 SA cricket team,who should be forced to wear chokers bearing the word choker and then choked with said choker.!
27 Sep 2007, 04:58 am
#148 who is going to play Hansie Cronje and the bookie? Hi Princess.Hows Ms Stiletto today. Hi Fern
27 Sep 2007, 04:59 am
Manly
Oohh my you really are in a p*ssy mood
Wanna go cruising in the Chivalry & make fun of Australians ?
Don’t be sad – a Bok v AB final is only a few weeks away (hopefully) and while the outcome will not send you off into convulsions of joy (again hopefully) at least you will get in 80 mins of lusting cheering
I had a meeting with a guy yesterday who spoke to my chest the entire time – I thought that was un-pc nowadays but apparently not !
27 Sep 2007, 05:02 am
Gee and what a chest Princess!Disd he speak English or French. Off to lunch. The prawns are begging.
27 Sep 2007, 05:08 am
Hola Quota
I am a bit tired … long day yesterday. Why do airlines think that when you arrive after 10pm at night you would enjoy nothing more than a mile long walk to to immigration ?
27 Sep 2007, 05:09 am
Course its not, in business u have to let a counterpart know you appreciate her most impt. assets.
27 Sep 2007, 05:09 am
Quota
Oohh like you would know ! He was American so he spoke grammatically damaged English. You know prawns are bottom feeders …
27 Sep 2007, 05:13 am
Hey Biggles
You old chauvinist ! Or do you suffer from Napolean Syndrome too ?
You would not have enjoyed the flight back – storms everywhere at the moment it seems. But a beautiful fine day here today
So what is your prediction for tomorrow night ?
27 Sep 2007, 05:18 am
Morning Princess,
Its not chauvinist at all. Its a win-win situation for both parties. You should take it as a compliment.
I only fly as a last resort. I always think that any flight could be my last. Why risk it if you can find another way to travel.
I predict we’ll will win comfortably. All is well with us when Wilkinson is playing. Kind of like u guys and McCaw.
27 Sep 2007, 05:24 am
Princess
….did someone say lusting….anybody???
You sure the ogler wasnt just vertically challenged..?..you should have secreted a Bin Laden jack in the box in the cleavage….
27 Sep 2007, 05:28 am
So you back in your beloved HK from the vast wilderness of KL and I see successfully negotiated all impending typhoons and such, what else you successfully negotiate RP with those flashing stilettos most likely still moist from conquest hmm?
27 Sep 2007, 05:30 am
Biggles
Love your spin – “take it as compliment” indeed !
Honestly flying is probably the safest mothed of transport around – you are infinitely more liek to die /get injuerd ina car accident.
You might win but I doubt it will be comfortable. The Tongan lads tire in the last 20 mins & that is where they have lost their games – your poblem is so do your old boys.
McCaw has been rested for plenty of games the ABs have won …
27 Sep 2007, 05:33 am
I’m going to start claiming royalties on all these wonderfully accepted pseudo titles by now fully entrenched in the Keo vocabulary thesaurus eg. Ms Stiletto, and Chivalry etc, etc, after all it was humble lil me that dreamed them up to begin with, so where do I address my royalty claims to hm, Keo, or Manly, or Rugby Princess, or perhaps all three i.e. royalties x 3?
27 Sep 2007, 05:36 am
Skop who???….never heard of him.
27 Sep 2007, 05:40 am
When alluring chests are bared, if only slightly mind you, you may find all manner of un PC male species will invariable allow their attention to automatically be lowered without much coercion by the conscious mind I must add, No real fault of their own I must also bring to your attention as such automatic reflexes are somewhat unavoidable due to lack of conscious control of natural downward pulling tendencies attracted to that which is most naturally familiar to uhm the lower sense stimulation predomination of said male mind.
Explanation sufficient?
27 Sep 2007, 05:42 am
Biggles, your other name is not perhaps Denis Bergkamp by any chance is it?
27 Sep 2007, 05:42 am
Manly … Lusting ???
Yes he was definitely vertically challenged but that shouldn’t stop him from being able to look me in the eye when he spoke to me surely ? Anyway I was in a business suit so any cleavage he was seeing was in his imagination !
27 Sep 2007, 05:43 am
Lets be honest, the Kiwis wouldn’t even come close to the ABs if McCaw wasn’t playing. I’m willing to bet Scotland would’ve fielded a full-strength team if he was unavailable too.
Who is the replacement?
The Tonga game will be tough, but I’m confident of a win and a subsequent crack at the convicts.
27 Sep 2007, 05:45 am
On topic, Butch is a perfect fit for this Springbok team.
Solid defensively, good hands, creative, decent tactical kicker, wholly committed and capable of the unpredictable.
With Steyn outside him and Du Preez inside him Butch is playing with virtually no pressure and it allows him to play his best.
27 Sep 2007, 05:47 am
#169.skopy all those words come from the make believe world that you and rugby princess engage in here on this blog.maybe you 2 should see a shrink instead.rp throw in some cooking classes as well.
Mnr, Skop Skiet, address to be forwarded to the arbitrator commission authorized to deduct said Royalties from all parties inadvertently or intentionally in breach of using said terminology originated at source by the rightful owner Mnr. Skop Skiet. From here on out, please cough up.
More Skoppy
Yes home again (at least for a few days) & all negotiations successfully completed without having to resort to the use of stilettos even once
No, your explanation just confused me or was the the true original intent ?
27 Sep 2007, 05:50 am
I detect a little hint of, what is that other term, oh yes I think they refer to it as ‘jealousy’ or something of that ilk, or not ferny boytie?
27 Sep 2007, 05:51 am
Haha, no Skop, Bergkamp was a great but part of me never forgave him for the late goal keeping us out of the ’94 World Cup.
I can see his logic with the plane thing. Definitely. Sometimes losing someone can bring a reality home.
Who do you support in football (obviously SA) but do u follow the Netherlands too?
27 Sep 2007, 05:51 am
More Fernly
Ask any psychologist – A healthy fantasy is a good thing
& until you have yr stomach pumped after eating my cooking don’t knock it !
27 Sep 2007, 05:54 am
C’mon Princess I was sure you had left your blonde on blonde head back in NH, surely the explanation in post #171 is sufficiently illuminating to even the most simple of astute minds, unless you want me to simplify further that is?
27 Sep 2007, 05:59 am
no need for a stomach pump rp,i puked just now whilst reading you and skopy’s replies to my post.
27 Sep 2007, 06:00 am
Sorry to disappoint you Skoppie but the “Chivalry” is all Princess,Koos and mine…but I will credit you with the Ms.stiletto and honour the copyright.
Eish, please refrain from speaking about that swan diving round ball game on this site
27 Sep 2007, 06:02 am
Skoppy
Am tired today after landing late last night then came home & unpacked in case Fern (aka : Matha Stewart) tried to sping an inspcection on tme this morning … Pls forgive my being slow on the uptake.
27 Sep 2007, 06:03 am
Seems that flying in todays world is almost accepted as one of those absolute necessities as mode of transport and is entrenched in our daily activities as something unquestioned, until the gas runs out that is, when .. 2012-15 ??? What to do thereafter, cyber-transport or ‘beam me up Scottie’?
27 Sep 2007, 06:03 am
Don’t pretend you don’t watch it too.
27 Sep 2007, 06:04 am
“& until you have yr stomach pumped after eating my cooking don’t knock it !”
Suzie….is that you???
27 Sep 2007, 06:04 am
Jeez Fern – What did I ever do to you to make you so vitriolic every time we meet ?
27 Sep 2007, 06:07 am
Scottie actually passed away a couple of months ago. They shot his ashes up into space on a mini-rocket. I doubt he’ll be able to help…
27 Sep 2007, 06:08 am
No Manly, ‘Chivalry’ was a Skopskiet invention, if the blog still exists you may kindly revert back to its very first inception on this blog as you, Princess and Koos were so articulately conversing one fine morning, I injected the concept of Chivalry, or chivalrous, and I must add you all 3 latched onto it pretty quickly and almost instantaneously adopted this new terminology as your ‘own’. Please revert or should I be getting the arbitrator to point out your inadvertent ‘error’.
27 Sep 2007, 06:08 am
Manly
In my own defence – that only happened once & it was the result of alcohol poisioning rather than my cooking ! I was serving Stoly-Bolly & got the recipe the worng way round … hence 2 shots vodka & 1 shot champers instead of what it should have been – 1 shot vodka & 2 shots champers
27 Sep 2007, 06:12 am
Actually Skop I believe it was I who accused Koos & Manly of a lack of chivalry when they planned to take off in the Koo’s Valiant (an earlier model of the vehicle that later came to be known as a Chivalry) leaving me to fend off an angry Os in a red dress & high heels …
27 Sep 2007, 06:13 am
You can bere the stomach pump as ferny’s ‘strong’ (unless I should be using the opposite) disposition has taken care of its own problem by resorting to puking, all one has to do is utter some little retort of intelligence and ferny stomach muscles will automatically resort to a pumping action.
27 Sep 2007, 06:18 am
Sorry Skoppie but that would be one citing commission youre going to lose.
Big Hit,
I NEVER watch soccer,even though I played it until 12 yrs old.
27 Sep 2007, 06:20 am
My memory, although having tracked its way through arduous years of daunting reaches, is definitely not dead and buried just yet, ‘Chivalry’ was introduced to this blog by one said Mnr. Skop Skiet, please refer to the original blog, way back when while you were all 3 dodging and ducking and diving around Os chasing you in red dresses and fish net stockings, that was before the advent of Pudding and Vetkoek taking center stage in your wild days of wild imaginations in the ‘chivalry’ mind you.
27 Sep 2007, 06:21 am
So Princess…considering you dont eat seafood or spicy food,what do you eat????….Tongans?…..a favoured delicacy back home.
27 Sep 2007, 06:22 am
Jonny Wilkinson and Jonah Lomu are rugby’s only superstars. Only either one of those could be described as the truly global face of rugby.
You’re missing out on a great sport.
27 Sep 2007, 06:27 am
rp if having to choose between eating your “food” and eating you,full well knowing you are a redhead kiwi chick with irish blood(pauses to swallow back the bile shooting up in my mouth) i would prob choose the broth.
27 Sep 2007, 06:28 am
Skop – I believe you are mistaken
Manly – Who said I don’t eat spicy food ? Love chilli ! Pick of this week must go to a restaurant called Prego At the Westin Hotel – Incredibly wonderful flavoursome Italian food !
27 Sep 2007, 06:28 am
Soccer is just one boring spectator sport, I still fail to wonder how come millions if not billions of ardent hooligans are so wrapped up in its aimless meanderings for 90 minutes after 90 minutes, where very often the outcome is either determined by a 0-0 or 1-1 draw, and yet they still flock to its billion dollar draw, I mean they just paid Mourinho out £25 million just to get rid of him.
As for cricket, crickey moses, who invented that funny game?
27 Sep 2007, 06:29 am
Fern
Why so mean spirited ?
27 Sep 2007, 06:31 am
Oi Fern,watch out for a spear tackle mate.
27 Sep 2007, 06:32 am
whum hu whum u hum hum.where did the rest of you guys eat this week?now what is your pick?
i dont like you rp,nothing personal.you cant win them all over.thats life.
27 Sep 2007, 06:32 am
Soccer is the most popular sport in the world and whilst it will always be No.2 to rugby for me it is still a fantastic game to both watch and play
The 1-1 or 0-0 argument is an American argument. Its about the action on the field and there is none better than the English Premiership.
27 Sep 2007, 06:34 am
Fern
Nothing personal except the attacks.
Okay you win, I am gone.
27 Sep 2007, 06:36 am
cheers rp may you have a great prosperous life.
27 Sep 2007, 06:37 am
later people,gotta get to the office.
27 Sep 2007, 06:38 am
Aw jeez Big Hit here we go again,may I remind you.. 1966.
You mean the Americans can string whole sentences together…to make an argument..?…has to be seen to be beleived.
27 Sep 2007, 06:43 am
Fern you pratt,Princess never offends ,gives as good as she gets and is a pleasure to have on this site.
You on the other hand have offended a number of people over time and should go and take a long hard look at yourself.
27 Sep 2007, 06:48 am
I can take it in little doses, unlike rugby which is brimful excitement most of its 80-90 minute duration, soccer is downright boring about 70% of its 90-100 minute duration, now and then you get a top game but to adoringly tune in to watch the rise or demise of ones passionately supported billionaire club’s fortunes, jeeze what utter dejection, what a holy waste of time. If its World cup or European cup then it carries some interest otherwise they can have the Man United’s and the Chelsea’s and Arsenal’s and Liverpool’s week in and week out shenanigans.
27 Sep 2007, 06:52 am
Skoppie
I will give you credit for championing Steyn at centre long before they played him there.
So,I think ,he will become with time and maturity, one of the greatest flyhalves weve ever seen.
27 Sep 2007, 06:53 am
fern I’ll tell you something, whisper it in your young ear, to offend someone because your endeavor to win them over has not been successful is definitely NOT the way to curry favor with anyone, and in fact is the antithesis to being or portraying maturity, in fact it is downright childish, immature and worse, it is highly foolish and besides hurtful and offensive, so you have achieved worse than nothing, your behavior to RP deserves a serious rebuke and an apology from you.
27 Sep 2007, 06:58 am
Thanks Manly for that observation re Steyn.
Yes it is strange that even though some of us are but armchair spectators, it seems that our limited objectivity and ability to read situations and strategies sometimes outstrips that of the highly paid professionals who blunder and bumble along with trial and error tactics for months and years of hit and miss attempts.
27 Sep 2007, 07:11 am
Off to work see whoever might still be around again,
seriously hope there is an apology forthcoming to Princess from you fern, its real bad taste and shows high disrespect to someone who has never offended you other than not taking your advances too seriously.
27 Sep 2007, 07:12 am
Cheers Skoppie
27 Sep 2007, 07:13 am
skopskiet
I suggested trying Steyn at 12 about a year ago and caught flack for trying to turn him into a jack of all trades. Personaly, I feel that’s the closest to the scrum he should be. His reaction times and agility are just a shade too slow for him to be a great flyhalf. The guy is just a bit too big. I still feel he’s best suited at 15, and would develop into one of the greats there.
27 Sep 2007, 07:15 am
Dear RP,I apologise unconditionally for my remarks.
have a great day.
27 Sep 2007, 07:21 am
Agreed about not using him at 10 David, I think 12 or maybe later 13 is his definite first choice position, he reminds me of a young Mortlock even better and is deadly both on attack and defense. I would play Pienaar at 10 or 15, maybe Grant at 10 or 12 if they can hone some consistency into him, and develop some out and out speed on the wings, Habana and one other speedster, Jake did a disservice to some like Jacque Pretorius who he stuck out on the wing, these coaches know just how to ruin a budding career before it even starts and unlike Steyn and Pienaar how many other prodigious talents are going to fall through the cracks and be snapped up by opposing teams/countries? eg. Ronnie Cook is off to ply his trade for England.
27 Sep 2007, 07:22 am
Thats better fern, well done. hope at least she comes back here to see it.
27 Sep 2007, 07:23 am
I’m out too, see you guys, and hopefully Princess too.
27 Sep 2007, 07:39 am
SDhyt I missed it all.Whats this about a baring your chest Princes.Perhaps this site should cereate a capability to cam! lol Had a dozen prawns, a hair cut and now I am on top of the world. And when the Boks take the WC and I have the stillettos as a trophy, i wil go on a binge for one week….in Hong Kong.
27 Sep 2007, 07:46 am
Skoppie
I just do not see Pienaar as a no 10,he has all tha natural ability in the world but not the thinking when a different approach is needed halfway through the game.
Definitely a 9 or 15
27 Sep 2007, 07:51 am
Skop, Manly have you guys heard from Pietman in Korea> He hasn’t been blogging for weeks.Princess I see your relationship with Fern is on the mend. You guys are like an old married couple.!
27 Sep 2007, 08:02 am
Nope Quota,I have also been wondering where Pietman has gone.
27 Sep 2007, 09:22 am
PS – Back to James – If it’s an SA NZ final he’s the best guy to have against Carter. Carter sh!ts himself when he sees James.
27 Sep 2007, 09:37 am
carter is human, but i doubt he is not one to that would fear a certain individual. yes he may not look the part but get this: he has on numerous occasions consistently taken down mortlock and then compete for the ball. now that’s balls.
yes, he is a poster boy but this country ball got serious nerves/wits. just something i’ve began to notice: the numerous photos i’ve seen of carter, he always appears to be calm even with all the action of tacklers, arms, potentional tacklers surrounding him. just an observation as to why this fella plays so well.
27 Sep 2007, 10:00 am
Carter for a while now has been off the boil – and he’s feeling the heat because of that. In the test this year when SA almost beat the AB’s, Carter was ‘upset’ with James’s attention. If both countries are in the final and Carter still has not found form he will be under incredible pressure. James just has to nudge him that little further and he’ll crack. I reckon that Carter could another possible Carlos Spencer come final time. He won’t screw up but he’ll be totally nullified. If that’s the case a better option could be Evans.
27 Sep 2007, 10:36 am
228 i see your point. james is the kind of character that never gets intimidated and in fact it is his strength to intimidate, or at least show that he is the big dog in the duel betw the five-eigths.
carter in my opin can be misread even underestimated, and rightly so because he’s got the suave looks like steyn.
the best we could look for his consistency. yes, he hasn’t really done much of late but if one has watched enough of his games, this fella is not the type to buckle, the same way that i don’t expect steyn to do so – the latter has moved on.
there are players that are unassuming [even in the game of rugby where body language can/do play a big part]. most times these guys are even tougher, esp mentally. they are just in there to get the job done. i see carter in this mould.
spencer is mercurial and that is his brilliance. it is his genius to be unorthodox and uncannily creative. rugby doesn’t reward for creative ingenuity. and like with all brilliant people, there are blemishes that god have packaged in them – we know all about that part of spencer’s game.
carter isn’t cut from that same oak. went he started out – amongst the big boys – one could read after awhile that the mantel of this fella was not something that comes around often.
i’m talking about execution under pressure over a period of time. the body language only confirmed that this fella was going to stay.
hmm, evans! great talent. i feel for him.
27 Sep 2007, 10:44 am
i can see carter being nullified but most times when that happens he seems to be intentionally or not, still aiding the cause with others carrying out the exploits.
i am hoping for a bok/nz final!
27 Sep 2007, 11:26 am
lets see. The AB’s will probably meet France and I reckon the dirty tricks will really come out then. I reckon France is going to try everything to unerve the AB’s – citings, food, noise, the ref… anything.
27 Sep 2007, 23:08 pm
217) Agree, Steyn is probably better at 15 he can carry the ball up well, and also gets you out of danger with his booming boot(if he can find touch).
223)Without knocking his ability at 9 i think Ruan is more effective at 10. I remember him running riot against the Brumbies in **** Muirs first game as Sharks coach.