Butch bullish

Butch James believes he is finally realising his potential at test level.

James described his performance against England as the best in a Springbok jersey, but more significantly as proof that he can control a game from flyhalf at this level.

James starts against the United States on Sunday in Montpellier and he is desperate not to lose the momentum of the England performance.

“The England game was the injection I needed at this World Cup. I thought I did okay against Scotland a few weeks before the World Cup, but I was very disappointed with my game against Samoa. I struggled to get into the game and wasn’t getting my hands on the ball. It was an indifferent start to the tournament and I owed everyone a big performance against England,” James told the Cape Argus. “I felt I delivered it and it meant a lot to me because a guy like Jake (White) had backed me unconditionally this season.”

James, seven years after his test debut, delivered on the expectation that first won him a test start against France in 2001. White and Bok technical advisor Eddie Jones agreed it was James’s best yet and both predicted equally mature performances from their flyhalf in the World Cup play-offs.

“He has confidence and he has comfort that he arrived in France as the number one flyhalf in the squad,” said White. “I always knew he had the qualities to play like he did against England and he knows we have big expectations of him at this tournament. He has finally settled at test level, but that is also because he has been given a chance to find form.”

James, having made nine consecutive starts for the Boks in his debut season in 2001, played just three times in the next four years. In the last season and a half he has doubled that game time for the Boks.

“It certainly helps to know your role in the squad and it makes a big difference when the coach is up front about whether you will be playing or not. I knew at the start of the international season this year that I would be starting against England at the World Cup, provided I was fit and playing well. Jake had given me that assurance and because of this there could be no reason for me to fail. The coach gave me every opportunity to succeed and surrounded me with people who could also make sure I delivered for the team.”

Jones, in particular, gets an early mention from James, but scrumhalf Fourie du Preez gets the biggest rap.

“What a pleasure playing outside of him (Du Preez). He relieves so much pressure on a flyhalf because he has such an outstanding kicking game. He also reads the match so well and has a sense of when to do something or bring me into play. This is the first time in my test career that I’ve spent consistent game time playing as a combination with him and I’ve felt the difference in my play,” said James. “Eddie’s advice has also been influential, in that he emphasised the maturity required of a flyhalf. He felt I needed more composure in the opening 20 minutes of a test and there are certain plays that get me involved early and allow me to settle. Jake and Eddie have spoken a lot about game sense and of game plan implementation; be it in the first 20 minutes or the third quarter of the game. I now understand the structure to playing flyhalf for 80 minutes at this level a lot more than a few seasons back.”

James’s discipline at the World Cup has also been outstanding and he said the team was extremely mindful of the need to maintain this standard against the USA and in the play-offs.

“We haven’t lost our physicality or our aggressiveness, but there is a lot more control and discipline in what we do. We showed great intensity against England and we have to produce that kind of display against USA because after that there won’t be any more matches in which to find the consistency needed to win this tournament. Once you get to the play-offs you simply have to produce or you’re out.”

White will confirm the match 22 against USA only on Friday because it is a Sunday match. However, Akona Ndungane and Albert van den Berg will get starts. Neither is expected to start in the quarter-final.

232 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 » Show All

• 1.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

if I had to pick one player who is most likely to do something stupid to lose the big game it would be you Butch.

• 2.Big Apple: Reply to this comment

Please give us something interesting to read. It’s the same old gunk over and over again.

• 3.katman: Reply to this comment

1 – Just like you would feature near the top of the list of posters most likely to write something stupid, nê?

• 4.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

typically gerber you show ur one minded self always knocking players that aint bulls players

its sad really that one is so unsporting
    i guess youd want ur bulls liefling moffie player in the bok team ????

damn mate get real , again go back to friday
    SHARKS 26 BULLS 18
    That with 14r players for the sharks and the ref helping you guys ??

fact is with liefling you got a klap because you have the most one dimensional flyhalf in the country

• 5.niceone: Reply to this comment

Butch has incredible talent. He has to have it to wear that Bok 10 Jersey. But by modern standards he is just another average flyhalf. In 20 years people will be still talking about Mehrtens, Carter and Larkham but Butch James will be forgotten.

• 6.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

sad how some people just cant support the bok players

BJ is far and away the best flyhalf we have
    again it sahowed saterday when AP played

just like we agree fourie du preez is the best scrummy

• 7.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

niceone lets talk after the world cup when we have won it and butch i tell you will be one of the reasons we win it

some people seriously just cant stop living in the past

• 8.niceone: Reply to this comment

For sure Du Preez is the best scrummy … for now ! Wait till Piri Weepu finds form again. Those two really have amazing skills.

• 9.niceone: Reply to this comment

#7 – HAHAHA ! You got NO chance bro ! The mighty ABS will win . It is destiny and you cant change that . Boks will get knocked out in the Semis ! TRUTH HURTS BRO !

• 10.wls1: Reply to this comment

#1 lol how predicatble.
    if i had to pick one stupid poster on this forum it would be you lol.

• 11.wls1: Reply to this comment

#9 LMFAO if you think Piri Weepu is better than FDP then god help NZ lol.
    He looks like an overwieght ORKS from the first lord of the rings.

• 12.uja: Reply to this comment

Keo how about your thoughts on the changing weather in Europe? Against England it was sunny and mid 20s during the day, already this has started to change and by the time the semis take place it will be positively autumnal. Do you think that this will de-rail the Boks’ more expansive game of recent?

• 13.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

sharks_lover, liefling maybe predictable but he is solid when he is on form. Butch is on form but he is prone to erraticism and BTW he is NOT the best flyhalf we have, Steyn is far superior.

I do not expect Bulls to make same mistakes twice come the finals.

• 14.niceone: Reply to this comment

#11 Haha ! Yeah ! – Piri Weepu – or POW – is a very talented player who has not even begun to tap his talent. You will eat humble pie by this tim next year

• 15.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

#10 Butch has a history of bad option taking in big games. He needs to play percentage rugby in big games instead of his rush option taking.

• 16.Tiethewallabydown: Reply to this comment

Gerber you are an idiot. Steyn is not the best flyhalf we have, he’s clearly the best centre. Against England, our 9, 10 and 12 was the best it’s been forever. Steyn is too young and erratic at FH (remember the last 5 minutes against NZ in Durban Tri-nations?). Butch is by far SA’s best flyhalf and no, he doesn’t always take bad options in big games. England was a big game wasn’t it? Name one bad option he did there?

• 17.joeboy: Reply to this comment

Butch is talking way 2 much here.
    Save ur energy for the world cup cos one great game does not make one great..
    Looking good so less talk and more action.

• 18.niceone: Reply to this comment

#17 – Well Said ! You can apply that to the other 14 Boks aswell !

• 19.joeboy: Reply to this comment

9# niceone why do u support Weepu???
    He has talent but he is incredibly stupid

• 20.joeboy: Reply to this comment

17# How can i apply that to Matfield or Bakkies
    or … Dont show ur ignorance here just pretend to be clever. The less u say the cleverer u sound

• 21.niceone: Reply to this comment

#19 – Joeboy . Always been a fan of him because I believe that he is heavily underrated . I reckon he deserves more respect and attention.

• 22.joeboy: Reply to this comment

i mean 18#

• 23.ruhanv: Reply to this comment

I can’t believe some of you idiots!

We are 4 games away from lifting the Web Ellis and you are knocking a Springbok who is currently the no.1 in his position by a long shot.

Can’t some of you guys grow up and support the Boks or move to Australia where the real whingers live!!!

Great to hear that he is finding his feet. Good article Keo.

• 24.joeboy: Reply to this comment

21# niceone are u also an islander?

• 25.niceone: Reply to this comment

#20 – Nah . I am just playing around and having a dig . Obviously the Boks are not all like that !

P.S. I have a MA in Contemporary Rugby Studies

• 26.joeboy: Reply to this comment

23# the real arrogant whingers are the islanders

• 27.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

#16 I give you the english game but there always an element of risk with Butch. I think his major strength is his close quarter defence.

Steyn is a great flyhalf in the making, he needs to touch the ball as much as possible. 10 is his best position IMHO. His distribution is superior to Butch.

shame Steyn plays in Durban though.

#18 agree, I think the french are quietly getting their act together in the background of all the hype around the Boks and Abs.

• 28.niceone: Reply to this comment

#26 – ay we not all like that bro .

• 29.joeboy: Reply to this comment

25# ok good to hear

• 30.niceone: Reply to this comment

#27 – For sure – And I reckon if the Frogs get to the semis , they will win the whole damn thing ! They are a very real threat.

• 31.joeboy: Reply to this comment

28# im really glad to hear that cos
    some of the islanders on this site are nothing less than awful, cool bru..

• 32.joeboy: Reply to this comment

if argentine beat ireland the French are dead

• 33.Tiethewallabydown: Reply to this comment

Imagine the laugh we’ll get if Frogs beat AB’s in quarters. Damn that would be amusing.

• 34.Yetirat: Reply to this comment

Keo you cant use the same heading every time you write about Butch! Surely….?

• 35.obelix11a: Reply to this comment

With Fourie Du Preeze on your inside Derick Hougaard looks good. Enough Said, Butch doesn’t have to think Du preeze does it for him. Poo AP he had januarie on his inside and Julies WO on his outside. Had AP(even wilkinson is stuggling and Carter only mont and ellisad seem to be liking the new ball) had a good game at posts it would have been a diffeent game.

James is the king of self promotion. I for one can’t wait till he buggers off to the uk. Lets see if he can cope without great players around him.

• 36.Bok Drol inIndia: Reply to this comment

sorry rugger bloggers to change the tune of the thread – but this is something interesting – Clint Eastwood is about to direct a movie about the Bokke winning the World Cup in 1995 – well sort of. Morgan Freeman is to star as Madiba and Matt Damon as Francois Pienaar in a movie highlighting the 1994 elections with the 1995 World Cup as the apotheosis of teh process. It’s to be called The Human Factor: Nelson Mandela and the Game That Changed The World. Thought it’s an interesting script – not sure how successful it will be although Hollywood is saying it’s one of the hottest scripts they have seen.
    I don’t think it will focus too much on the game itself – but more on the political climate at that stage.
    On a lighter note – can we come up with actors or look a likes for the Bok 15 at the time for extras hahahahaha

• 37.Bok Drol inIndia: Reply to this comment

If u ruggbloggers are looking for the source of the Eastwood / Mandela movie – check out UK version of the Independent

• 38.vindicated: Reply to this comment

Evening ladies and foreigners

• 39.stodders: Reply to this comment

Someone old and wise to play Kitch Christie – Paul Newman

Someone with a huge ego to play Joost – Tom Cruise maybe

Someone on the heavy side to play Kobus Wiese – maybe Big Fat B*stard from the Austin Powers movies :-D

• 40.Bok Drol inIndia: Reply to this comment

some more
    Andre Joubert – Tom Cruise
    Chester Williams – Will Smith let’s try and find suitable actors
    Japie Mulder -
    Hennie le Roux
    James Small
    Joel Stransky
    Joost van der Westhuizen;Os du Randt, Chris Rossouw, Balie Swart; Hannes Strydom, Kobus Wiese; Ruben Kruger, Francois Pienaar, Mark Andrews

• 41.castlelager: Reply to this comment

Matt Damon as Francois Pienaar, should be hilarious!!

• 42.Bok Drol inIndia: Reply to this comment

what’s happened to teh above players – eg – James Small

• 43.jonnymain: Reply to this comment

Technically he’s got the lot. Great hands, good pass, good boot and physical with it. Don’t get ahead of yourself though, that was the worst English team since the 70s and they had an OAP playing 10. If you can’t control when faced with that you never will.

Keep it focused and you’ll be right Butch. Genuinely one of my favourites in the current crop, battled the odds and then some. Go boytie

• 44.Bok Drol inIndia: Reply to this comment

that’s what I thought Castlelager – maybe Gerard depardeau with his big nose -

• 45.jonnymain: Reply to this comment

Nah Stodders, Joost is a better actor than Tom!

• 46.vindicated: Reply to this comment

Joel Stransky

the guy from the Police Acadamy movies with the funny voice

• 47.castlelager: Reply to this comment

Joel Stransky as himself of course!

• 48.niceone: Reply to this comment

I would have Vin Diesel and James Small.

Danny De Vito as Balie Swart (Yeah I know the height).

Naas as Pienaar ?

• 49.RedMan: Reply to this comment

Who would play Suzie?

• 50.Bok Drol inIndia: Reply to this comment

nice one niceone – the Pienaar/Naas bit hahahaha

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.