Butch bullish

Butch James believes he is finally realising his potential at test level.

James described his performance against England as the best in a Springbok jersey, but more significantly as proof that he can control a game from flyhalf at this level.

James starts against the United States on Sunday in Montpellier and he is desperate not to lose the momentum of the England performance.

“The England game was the injection I needed at this World Cup. I thought I did okay against Scotland a few weeks before the World Cup, but I was very disappointed with my game against Samoa. I struggled to get into the game and wasn’t getting my hands on the ball. It was an indifferent start to the tournament and I owed everyone a big performance against England,” James told the Cape Argus. “I felt I delivered it and it meant a lot to me because a guy like Jake (White) had backed me unconditionally this season.”

James, seven years after his test debut, delivered on the expectation that first won him a test start against France in 2001. White and Bok technical advisor Eddie Jones agreed it was James’s best yet and both predicted equally mature performances from their flyhalf in the World Cup play-offs.

“He has confidence and he has comfort that he arrived in France as the number one flyhalf in the squad,” said White. “I always knew he had the qualities to play like he did against England and he knows we have big expectations of him at this tournament. He has finally settled at test level, but that is also because he has been given a chance to find form.”

James, having made nine consecutive starts for the Boks in his debut season in 2001, played just three times in the next four years. In the last season and a half he has doubled that game time for the Boks.

“It certainly helps to know your role in the squad and it makes a big difference when the coach is up front about whether you will be playing or not. I knew at the start of the international season this year that I would be starting against England at the World Cup, provided I was fit and playing well. Jake had given me that assurance and because of this there could be no reason for me to fail. The coach gave me every opportunity to succeed and surrounded me with people who could also make sure I delivered for the team.”

Jones, in particular, gets an early mention from James, but scrumhalf Fourie du Preez gets the biggest rap.

“What a pleasure playing outside of him (Du Preez). He relieves so much pressure on a flyhalf because he has such an outstanding kicking game. He also reads the match so well and has a sense of when to do something or bring me into play. This is the first time in my test career that I’ve spent consistent game time playing as a combination with him and I’ve felt the difference in my play,” said James. “Eddie’s advice has also been influential, in that he emphasised the maturity required of a flyhalf. He felt I needed more composure in the opening 20 minutes of a test and there are certain plays that get me involved early and allow me to settle. Jake and Eddie have spoken a lot about game sense and of game plan implementation; be it in the first 20 minutes or the third quarter of the game. I now understand the structure to playing flyhalf for 80 minutes at this level a lot more than a few seasons back.”

James’s discipline at the World Cup has also been outstanding and he said the team was extremely mindful of the need to maintain this standard against the USA and in the play-offs.

“We haven’t lost our physicality or our aggressiveness, but there is a lot more control and discipline in what we do. We showed great intensity against England and we have to produce that kind of display against USA because after that there won’t be any more matches in which to find the consistency needed to win this tournament. Once you get to the play-offs you simply have to produce or you’re out.”

White will confirm the match 22 against USA only on Friday because it is a Sunday match. However, Akona Ndungane and Albert van den Berg will get starts. Neither is expected to start in the quarter-final.

232 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 » Show All

• 101.jonnymain: Reply to this comment

Stodders, I’ve actually heard worse from many an Englishman, they just don’t do other nations accents I find! He wasn’t paid a fortune to practice it for a blockbuster film though! ***** she could’ve spent 2 months in Jolly J to swat up or something!!

• 102.Bok Drol inIndia: Reply to this comment

OK Stodders – let’s talk icons – who would epitomise teh face of rugby – the hoo haa of rugby – the champion of rugby

• 103.stodders: Reply to this comment

We can always have two Suzies, who put on a bit of a show for the ABs in a local strip joint prior to the big game. How else will we get the obligatory *** scene in the movie :-D

• 104.castlelager: Reply to this comment

Hugh Bladen as James Small

• 105.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Hmmm, Bok Drol in India, maybe Gareth Edwards.

• 106.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

The *** scene will involve Derek Bevan and Louis Luyt’s characters.

• 107.stodders: Reply to this comment

Bok,

Each country will have their own icon though.

Lomu wasn’t the most skilled of players yet he had the biggest impact on the game of rugby. It was his deeds in the semi final of 95 that tempted Murdoch to dip his hand in his wallet and take the game into the professional era.

I guess you have to ask which player stood out far above his peers at any given time.

My preference would be for someone like Gareth Edwards. He was a rugby genius.

• 108.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Stodders, as per my post #105, I agree.

The man is revered as a god in Wales.

• 109.jonnymain: Reply to this comment

#102 may I butt in?

So many candidates in my lifetime.

Jonah. Nobody did more for rugby than him in his heydey.

John Eales. Model pro, champion on the park as well.

Danie Gerber. Possibly the best 13 ever to play

If you were to talk Lynagh, Mehrtens or Fox you’d also have to say Naas.

I’ll be up all night at this rate!

From the NH.

Sella, Blanco. Epitomy of French flair

Johnson. Sadly

Wilkinson. see above

Good old Gavin Hastings!

The Welsh wizards of old. JPR, Edwards.

• 110.Bok Drol inIndia: Reply to this comment

Stodders – what i am trying to highlight is that rugby (world perspective) is a relatively “new” game. Ask Joe Soap in the street who the greatest footballer is – who the greatest boxer is – who the greatest athlete is and you will get answers like Pele, Ali or Lewis – but rugby hmmmmm????

• 111.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Bennie Osler for the Boks.

And Buck Shelford for the Kiwis.

• 112.jonnymain: Reply to this comment

Did I miss something, Derek Beven is revered in Wales!? :)

• 113.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Hehehe, jonnymain, was talking about Gareth Edwards :-)

What do you guys think of my idea for a *** scene between Derek Bevan and Louis Luyt’s characters in this movie about RWC 1995?

• 114.stodders: Reply to this comment

WP,

He was that good that he would have been made the transition to the professional era easily.

For pure skill level, Mark Ella was one of the most gifted players i have seen play. Only on video mind, but he was like a consistently brilliant Carlos Spencer without the tendency to be erratic.

In the forwards, the usual candidates will be around – Frik Du Preez, Colin Meads, John Eales, Jean Pierre Rives. For pure impact on the game and skill level, i would go with Michael Jones. Most complete forward i ever saw.

• 115.jonnymain: Reply to this comment

Ya there are only 2 real candidates for the greatest soccer player. Pele and my personal fave Maradona.

• 116.charo: Reply to this comment

g3g and alf are coupled on the tote.
    both have a morbid hatred of durbs.
    what happened boys? did some lifie or slack-arsed surfer scale your squeeze?

• 117.jonnymain: Reply to this comment

#113 – I’m trying not to WP!

We’ve missed a trick anyway, how about Jabba the Hutt for Oom Louis??

• 118.stodders: Reply to this comment

WP,

I agree with you. It can be the scene after Bevan gets his gold watch and wants to thank Louis personally :-D

• 119.Bok Drol inIndia: Reply to this comment

so – there is no consensus – just rugby – with lots of excellent players like Ella, Jones, du Preez

• 120.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

stodders,

Michael Jones was such a perfect all-round athlete.

A pity that injuries dogged his career so much.

I imagine that, at that cue, BlackPanther will jump in. Michael Jones was the second All Black to have that nickname.

• 121.stodders: Reply to this comment

jonnymain,

Maradona…easily. Pele wasn’t even the best Brazilian. He just had a good PR team (like average Beckham does now).

• 122.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Who will play Sean Fitzpatrick?

• 123.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

oh, and Stodders #118

That *** scene needs to happen BEFORE the semi-final against France.

• 124.Bok Drol inIndia: Reply to this comment

Bruce Willis as Sean Fitz

• 125.jonnymain: Reply to this comment

Controversial stodds, but true!

• 126.Bok Drol inIndia: Reply to this comment

I am sure Clint Eastwood will weave some poetic licence into the movie and include Staaldraad in the movie – even if after the 1995 WC

• 127.jonnymain: Reply to this comment

OK you asked for it. How about a mudbath scene on the field before the teams emerge?

My shivvers are coming back!

• 128.stodders: Reply to this comment

Bok,

Rugby has so many different positions with so many different skills, each difficult to execute in their own right. Do you chose a hooker or a scrum half or a fullback or flyhalf?

Football is a simple game and players can play in different positions, yet share similar skills and it is easier to compare. Maradona was easily the most gifted player that has played in the last 40 years. Maybe someone like Puskas could claim to be better, but that is going back a fair way.

Individual sports like boxing or tennis are much easier to judge who was the best.

• 129.stodders: Reply to this comment

WP,

There can always be two *** scenes, just to “ram” the point home hahaha

• 130.Twig: Reply to this comment

Semi-final #2 is going to be England v France.

You heard it here first.

• 131.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Ah well, I gotta go. Good luck with the casting, lads!

• 132.Bok Drol inIndia: Reply to this comment

Scene 1: Extreme Close Up: Os on top of Sean and whispers in Seans ear “Do you know Suzy Like I knowe Suzy?”

• 133.stodders: Reply to this comment

Twig,

So England are going to beat Oz AND France are going to beat NZ?

Whatever you’re smoking, i’ll have some.

And it will be semi final #1. The Boks play in semi final #2 on the Sunday.

• 134.stodders: Reply to this comment

LOL @ Bok Drol…that is frikkin funny!

• 135.Twig: Reply to this comment

stodders, a man can dream, can he not?

I think I’ll have an aneurysm out of pure joy if that transpires…

• 136.stodders: Reply to this comment

Twig,

Just make sure you bet some money on it. If it happens, you’ll be rolling in the money for the odds you’ll get from a bookie for both games to end the way you have predicted.

• 137.bulletmwanza: Reply to this comment

Twig, you live up to your name broer – must be smoking some twig china. Dream on, nh teams have no chance

• 138.charo: Reply to this comment

seems to me that ej has had a calming effect on butch. against england there were no wild flying tackles – or was that because england were so poor butch didn’t lose his cool?

• 139.stodders: Reply to this comment

charo,

Butch showed in the pre-WC game against Scotland that he still knows how throw out a stiff arm high tackle. It hasn’t gone from his game completely, but he does have more control over it these days. At least the shoulder charges appear to be a thing of the past.

• 140.chch: Reply to this comment

Samoa started the WC looking for a quarter final …. now they have to qualify for 2011

• 141.chch: Reply to this comment

Samoa will beat USA today and put England into the 2011 WC

• 142.chch: Reply to this comment

Who the hell is the English Supersports commentator in the Samoa v USA game.
    This guy is an utter ***!

• 143.charo: Reply to this comment

yes stodders, butch does still lose his cool every now and then. he is not exactly einstein so we have to hope that ej manages to instill some calmness.
    nevertheless, he is undoubtedly the best we have for this rwc and does have that element of the unexpected with reverse passes or skips that can break a stalemate.

• 144.rex: Reply to this comment

Why not Charlize Theron as Suzie? Solves the accent problem and she has experience playing the criminal type. She also has the sensuality to derail the mighty ABs – just picture their tongues hanging out as she slips the potion into their soup. The testosterone rises along with whatever else and voila! the ABs are had. Diarrhea flows and the rest is history…

• 145.JellyMonster: Reply to this comment

Look – you can’t have Matt Damon in a movie without having Ben Affleck – the two are joined at the contract. We just need to find a possie for Affleck – Hennie le Roux, perhaps? I agree on Arnold Vosloo vor Mark Andrews, that just works.

My cast – incomplete as it may be:

Andre Joubert – Johnny Depp (We need something that will pull the aldies to the team as well)

James Small – Vin Diesel

Hennie – Ben Affleck

Doost – Orlando Bloom

Mark Andrews – Arnold Vosloo

Chester – Will Smith – a bit of creative license, but what the hey. Actually, Smith will do better as Lomu! Okay, back to looking for Chester…

Japie Mulder – Tom Cruise

Kitsch – Clint himself, maybe? Else I’ll second the motion of Paul Newman.

Eddie Moans – Bruce Willis (Cameo Appearance)

Pity no great female roles here, we have to fit Charlize in somewhere!

Now that was fun!

• 146.charo: Reply to this comment

fitzpatrick would have to play himself.
    there is nobody in the whole of hollywood with better acting credentials. :)

• 147.CHAZ: Reply to this comment

# 120 Get it right MJones nickname was Iceman!!!!!

• 148.OCO: Reply to this comment

You guys are all nuts. If there’s to be a US rugby flick you’ll find that OJ is going to be Francsois and Cuba Gooding is going to play Stransky. Might even find that Clint will play Madiba.

If it’s filmed in Bollywood you’re going to have the Indian Cricket team playing as SA and the Pakistani’s playing as NZ.

Eish okes, you really catch on slow.

• 149.OCO: Reply to this comment

Chaz #141,

Is that becuase of the size of his John-Thomas?

• 150.ENFORCER: Reply to this comment

Butch is not saying anything about Alistair Coetzee. Wonder why…?

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.