Robbie rates Boks

Crusaders coach Robbie Deans believes the Boks are the only team that can stop the All Blacks winning the World Cup.

Deans, writing in the French Rugby Hebdo paper, praised John Smit and Jake White and said the Boks and All Blacks were the only two realistic contenders.

“There are about eight or 10 contenders who are trying to convince themselves they can win the World Cup. But there are only two who know they really can win it: New Zealand and South Africa.”

Deans sees White’s Springboks as the squad most likely to crash the All Blacks World Cup party.

“I am sure they (New Zealand) have the potential to play at a higher degree of intensity no matter who their adversaries are, except perhaps for South Africa,” wrote Deans. “There are three reasons the Boks can win this World Cup. The first is historic. And it is not only because the core of the squad is from the Under-21 side, coached by a certain Jake White, that became [Under-21] world champions in 2002 by dominating the final against a New Zealand team that included five players who are here in France, including Daniel Carter.”

Carter actually did not play and the Boks beat NZ in a semi-final 19-18. Nevertheless, Deans continued.

“These Boks have since notched up some considerable success, like the Tri Nations victory in 2004 or that of the South African sides in this year’s Super 14.

“White has at his disposal a mature squad that prides itself on considerable confidence, which is based as much on their performances as the depth of their bench, which has been markedly superior to whatever his predecessors had.”

Deans also believes the Springboks will head into the quarter-finals realising that for a number of them, this could represent a fairytale end to their careers. “Victory could be the culmination of some of their careers, for players like John Smit or Victor Matfield … not to mention [coach] White,” Deans wrote.

He added that while the Springboks have maintained their physical prowess, White has introduced a broader mindset to the squad.

“South African teams always fall back on their physical prowess and a mentality that is unfailing, but White has added certain mental flexibility,” he said.

Deans also pointed to the pride South African players have in wearing the Springboks jersey and the leadership of Smit as being pivotal, as well as Smit’s calmness under pressure.

“Smit is not only a respected captain. He is also a man who can keep his emotions buried deep inside when faced with the pressure moments,” he said.

278 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 » Show All

• 51.schalla: Reply to this comment

Anvil…cos i looked up schalk burger on youtube wanting to see his big hits…and saw some movie of a guy who looked exactly like schalk and the caption read “schalk celebrating birthday traditional jewish style”

• 52.Manlybok: Reply to this comment

Lol, if Schalk wore a yamulka over his blond locks maybe they would stop blowing him up in the loose

Can definitely see Bakkies as a peace loving Buddhist though.

• 53.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

Lol… I’ve seen that… you need glasses bud… it’s not Schalk ‘Burger’…

• 54.Xkreni-WP: Reply to this comment

Montpellier – Wallabies scrumhalf George Gregan claimed on Tuesday that he helped persuade South African forward Victor Matfield to sign for French club Toulon in the middle of a Test match line-out.
    Gregan, who will join All Blacks Anton Oliver and Andrew Mehrtens along with Matfield at the ambitious French second division side after the World Cup, has confirmed a bizarre exchange with the Springbok lock during last June’s Tri-Nations Test in Cape Town.

Gregan, who last Sunday led Australia to a 55-12 victory over Fiji to equal Englishman Will Carling’s captaincy record of 59 Tests, said he had been urged by Toulon rugby president Mourad Boudjellal to get Matfield’s agreement to a club contract.

Rugby’s most-capped player seized the moment before a lineout in the June 16 Test, which Australia lost 22-19 after leading 16-10 at half-time.

“During the match I said to Victor that I had a contract in my bag for him and that Toulon needed his response before the end of the day,” Gregan was quoted as telling French rugby journal Midi Olympique.

“On the next lineout I insisted and he said, ‘Get out of the way’.

“I told him I wanted his answer before the lineout was over, that he had to give me a sign with a nod of his head if he was OK (to sign it).

“He nodded and three days later he had signed his letter of intent.

So I believe that I partly had a role in the negotiations that got him.”

Gregan has confirmed the French report to the Sydney Morning Herald.

Gregan, who is expected to play his first game for Toulon on November 10, met with his new teammates last Monday following Australia’s 32-20 victory over Wales in Cardiff.

Toulon will be coached by former All Blacks centre Tana Umaga, who has returned to the club after starring for them on the field last season.

• 55.Xkreni-WP: Reply to this comment

Watch all the yuppies (no not yarpies Tackler) start playing rugby instead of gholf.

• 56.Xkreni-WP: Reply to this comment

Watch all the yuppies (no not yarpies Tackler) start playing rugby instead of gholf.

• 57.Xkreni-WP: Reply to this comment

friggin web is so slow the last 2 days.

• 58.JL1: Reply to this comment

It is just gonna be one big happy family at Toulon

They would beat England in a test match next year with the amount of stars in their team

• 59.Manlybok: Reply to this comment

Xkreni

Hoe gaan dit boet?

Ek het nog nie van jou gehoor of jy by 7 sai ooit vir n Kpl Venter of Luit Arnold raakgeloop.?

• 60.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

#55 — gHolf?

Where the pHutt on the gHreen?

Ghood ghrief!

• 61.KiaKahaNZ: Reply to this comment

Horns, I aint livin in the past brother, Aussies beat us this year, we respect that, albeit, a tough schedule for our lads, but they still won.

SA on the other hand have pushed us close at home, and won a couple of games on their home tracks, Capetown and Rusty, we lost that game, handed it to you lot on a plate. Was pretorious using the sand line system back then? probably not.

hey look, I dont know why you keep saying we fear this and that, because I dont subscribe for one moment there is a Bok that fears the All Blacks and vice versa, OK? cant you just let that Saffa chest thumping be wheeled out for other nations?

Be a bit humble in your aspirations until the deal is done.

• 62.Bod: Reply to this comment

Whats going on in Kiwiland this morning?

Tackles showing glimpses of a sense of humour and Kiakaha being gracious and subjective…

Nerves maybe?

• 63.KiaKahaNZ: Reply to this comment

Nerves, hardly, as cool as a cucumer today mate,

have just finished reading an article by Brian Moore, the ex pom hooker, re the Pom v Samoa game, and its a good read.

Suffice to say, had England actually got their act together a little while ago, they could have mounted a challenge we all expected of them when they played the Boks. That they didnt is a tragedy, in that it took away a decent work out for the Boks A team.

With the Boks about to play Wales – most likely, it looks their run in to the finals could be a bit soft, anyone agree?

• 64.KiaKahaNZ: Reply to this comment

hey Big Hit, you’re getting soft in your old age mate, still havent received an excuse from you regarding Englands dismal record against France in the last 10 years, you hit the wall man?

• 65.Bod: Reply to this comment

Kia

Thats providing Argentina beat Ireland. If thats the case, our half of the draw includes Boks, Wales, Scotland/Italy and Argentina.

A hell of a lot more comfortable than the Blacks, Australia, England and France on the other side…

• 66.David: Reply to this comment

If it’s an AB/Bok final then I feel that SA have a better than 50/50 chance of winning the WC. As GH said after the Scotland game, the reason for so many mistakes was that the Scots really came at them and played an “in your face” game. This has been the one area, under JW, that SA have managed to upset the ABs rythmn on attack and they do it far better than the Scots.
    The only other side to regularly threaten the ABs is Australia, and they do it in a more thoughtful way. I have a feeling that our normal approach, with the addition of Eddie’s insight, will ask far more questions of the ABs than they’ve experienced in the past.
    The move that led to Bobby’s try, with backs and forwards effortlessly combining at speed out wide, is one that should have given GH a few things to think about. Matfields sublime timing of his pass at speed, in that movement, finally showed that when our forwards are involved in the backline they’re no longer getting in the way and slowing things down, but thinking like backs.
    My only concern is the quality of the AB forwards in the tight loose. What I wouldn’t give to know that AJ was there.
    Of course the ABs still have to get past France and Australia, which is far more hazardous than SAs route.

• 67.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Eddie Moans says every team is entitled to one bad game, and we had ours last Saturday.

Uphill from here.

• 68.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I feel like rambling on.

The A side will have to play every single game from here on in, even the USA.

The 2nd stringers are just along for the ride.

Joke.

• 69.KiaKahaNZ: Reply to this comment

David – I couldnt agree more, and we acknowledge the specific threats and dangers presented by the Boks.

Some of things we have seen are top drawer play from the Boks, and put it this way, does any team like playing against another team in your face all day, probably not.

the trick is to then isolate that part of the game and keep it moving – hence a distinct strength you failed to mention, the fitness and the impact off the bench, as we saw in Durban.

Its not all plain sailing for any team, but I dont think we have seen the best of the All Blacks yet, and I think that is qute deliberate too as part of their pool play execution.

Scotland was a work in progress, McCaw opting to kick at goal, playing the passage lines through the middle, no rolling mauls, and focussing on two key areas only, getting our scrum right and lineout right, we won all 18 of our lineouts, with Thorne at lock.

So, its all a bit premature isnt it, should we play France, then Aus, (win em both) and play you lot in the final, I still think we will see some changes in tactics specifically for that game.

• 70.Bod: Reply to this comment

David

I still think that The ABs vs France in the quarters is an accident waiting to happen, hence my nerves comment to ol’ Kia

If ever I have wanted Argentina to win a game, its the Irish game…

• 71.KiaKahaNZ: Reply to this comment

Bod – exactly mon ami, the Bok run in looks like a couple of training runs, compared to the AB’s taking on France then Aus then SA, tough track that one.

• 72.KiaKahaNZ: Reply to this comment

Bod – no not nervous, or even anxious, we know what they’re capable of, even at their top end, key is to hussle them, and not let them get the space they need.

France can be a tough nut to crack and can also roll over like a fat cat.

• 73.KiaKahaNZ: Reply to this comment

off to the gym lads, enjoy the day/night where ever you are

• 74.Bod: Reply to this comment

Kia

The only solace you can take out of playing France is that the ABs will always have a greater chance whilst they persist with their new image of trying to play a more structured game.

If they revert back to their traditional “kamikaze” style of play and it pans out on the day, they will be a handfull…

• 75.David: Reply to this comment

Kia
    Our problem, as bloggers, is that we tend to take a theoretical approach to these games. The idea that the coaches are keeping plays and tactics hidden to use in the final is a bit far fetched considering that from the QFs on, each game is a fight for survival.
    I have a feeling that GH is secretly hoping that England will out muscle the Wobblies as they pose far less of a threat to the ABs than Australia, who genuinely believe they know how to beat the ABs, having done it once this year.
    England might have found a better balanced side than the one that played SA, but their weaknesses are exactly where the ABs are most potent.
    The ABs crunch match is going to be France and SAs Argentina. I don’t think either is a forgone conclusion. This Argentinian side is not comparable to the ones we’ve met in the past and nobody really knows what the French will be like. One worrying indication for the ABs, though, is the way they took Ireland to the cleaners in the lineouts.

• 76.Dumb Supporter: Reply to this comment

Somewhat off the topic, but I would like to see Skinstadt at 8 and Burger at 6 during 2nd half for the remaining games.

While the game is tight, the combo of Burger, Smith and Van Heerder will do well. But later on we need another dimension to the loose trio.

I think Bob provides that.

• 77.mako: Reply to this comment

Good article. One thing that this world cup has highlighted is that Jake White is the best coach for the job. Also that John Smit is the right guy to be heading the team. The comments over the last couple of years calling for both of their heads are proven ridiculous. Some of us South Africans are too quick to call for change when things aren’t going our way. Sometimes good hard work, self belief and perseverance are what you need to right the ship, not wholesale firings and changes in personnel. The reason we are in with a real chance of winning this tournament is because Jake picked the core of his team four years ago and has stuck with them, believed in them and given them invaluable experience over the last four seasons. All that learning would be wasted if we lost any players or coach. Also I believe Jake should get full credit for bringing in Eddie Jones, fresh ideas and an outsiders perspective definitely give us the edge. It is ridiculous however, to give full credit for the England game to Eddie. How much impact can one coach have in such a short time. By the same token then does he become a loser due to the Tongan game? We need to accept that this team and its performances are the culmination of a four year plan, with the benefit of experience, excellent physical preparation and some good insight from a great coaching team.

• 78.vindicated: Reply to this comment

The biggest game for the Aussies will be the semi-final agaisnt the All Blacks

If we beat New Zealand sadly the final will be somewhat of an anti-climax

• 79.Anvil: Reply to this comment

Hang on Mako, We have’nt won the Cup yet.

We are in an easy pool and have a more favourable draw than Aus,NZ or France/Argies.

Go Bokke!

• 80.DEE DAH: Reply to this comment

Whatever!
    I always get a bit worried when the Kiwis start to flatter us. A few bok fans are falling for it already I see. Deans is trying to boost our players into being cocky and over confident. The Boks should ignore everything Deans has to say and carry on with what they are doing.
    Has anybody ever thought that the reason why the AB’s always fail is because they are talked up everytime and they become cocky and over confident. Deans is just trying to reverse the trend.

• 81.David: Reply to this comment

vindicated #78
    You’re quite right there. The whole world is looking forward to an AB/Bok final.

• 82.common sense: Reply to this comment

I don’t think that Deans’ comments are only deceiving hype. It’s all factual and I think he is spot on. Almost all neutrals would feel that SA are the biggest threat to NZ in a once-off match. I don’t think any side would beat this crop of All Blacks in a best of 5 series. But this is the WC and 80 min is all that’s needed.

If our team keep calm we will be there come 20 Oct and it will then be close, whoever the opponent. In a final, experience will be vital.

Jake has been pointing this out for years and will now reap the rewards.

Slowly but surely, things are happening for the boks. Let’s just be careful of complacency.

• 83.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Spot on 82:The Boks on there day can produce that freak ‘Bulls once year’ type performace where the packs goes nuts to such an extent that the backs also look good.

• 84.common sense: Reply to this comment

Remember Dee Hah, the fans won’t be on the field. I belive our squad has the maturety to survive the pressure.

• 85.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

Common sense

Who is a neutral?

I believe a neutral is someone who does not support rugby and has no idea about it. So they will guess who the best team is?
    There will be no science/fact behind their decision.

Please use common sense?

• 86.common sense: Reply to this comment

Yeah Londonshark, and with the added “mental input” from Eddie Jones, you feel the Boks can actually threaten from the back if our tight 5 go crazy.

• 87.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

those once off wins have been few and far between for the Boks in the past 2 years.

Nice facts you use!!!

If you go by FACTS they will tell you that the Boks have the least chance of beating the AB’s in a once off game.

So are you really using facts to back your statement or does the word “FACT” have a different meaning in a saffa dictionary?

• 88.common sense: Reply to this comment

Walla, this is a rugby blog. Contact your local university’s Languages department for the point you want to make. I’m sure the other bloggers understand….Or am I wrong guys?

• 89.Asterix: Reply to this comment

I have taken to ignoring Wallabie completley, he is only here as a wind up.

• 90.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

Facts

The wallabies have beaten the AB in all their COMPETITIVE WC games.

Fact

The wallabies have beaten the AB’s this year a once off game.

Fact

In 2003 after a hiding in the trinations the wallabies still beat the AB’s in their ONE off game in the semis.

Fact

The Boks have only beaten the AB’s in one competitive WC game…with some aid from suzie.

I must add playing for 3 & 4 place is not playing for the world cup so it is not deemed a Competitive WC game.

• 91.common sense: Reply to this comment

Actually Walla, I only refered to facts when commenting on the comments of Deans’ statements. I never quoted stats of my own. But anyway. Good luck to your team.

• 92.vindicated: Reply to this comment

If only the Aussies had conspired to finish 2nd in their group they could have knocked the Boks out in the Quarter Finals and avoid the All Blacks in the semis

would have set up the perfect final with the number 1 and 2 sides in the world meeting each other

• 93.common sense: Reply to this comment

Asterix, I think Walla is the Aus quota for this blog. Wouldn’t want to discriminate..

• 94.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Common sense,true,Alister Coetzee must feel like such a ****,he’s been our backline coach for 4 years and Eddie’s done more with them in 2 months.

Go Edddie!

• 95.theaardvark: Reply to this comment

Heard this story on BBC 5 yesterday.

Clint Eastwood may direct an upcoming Hollywood film based on former South African President Nelson Mandela and his appearance at the 1995 Rugby World Cup final, US media reported on Tuesday.

Oscar-winner Eastwood has been linked to the film as plans take shape for the post-apartheid drama, that will see Morgan Freeman portray Mandela, entertainment industry journal Daily Variety reported.

Matt Damon is in talks to play Springboks captain Francois Piennar, the report added.

The film is to be based on a book by British journalist John Carlin, “The Human Factor: Nelson Mandela and the Game That Changed the World.”

It will focus on events surrounding the Rugby World Cup in South Africa 12 years ago and how Mandela used the tournament — won by the host nation — to bring whites and blacks together.

Mandela appeared in a South Africa jersey to present the trophy to captain Piennar after the final at Ellis Park in Johannesburg, which has become an iconic moment in the history of the country and sport.

• 96.Stawm: Reply to this comment

Sorry Mr Deans, our resident idiot Tacitus says that Jake White is useless, so you must be wrong.

• 97.Asterix: Reply to this comment

I wish it were true, but with morons like Vindicated and Wallabie hanging around (until their boys get silenced) I tend to stay clear of Keo.co.za when I see they are logged in.

The Aussie quota should be reset to zero.

• 98.common sense: Reply to this comment

So Walla, you then “objectively” classify matches as being “competitive” or not??

Criteria: Aus win = competitive\Aus lose = non-competitive.

This is probably Aussie stats 101.

• 99.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

I am not having a wind up…just telling the truth!

Some saffas dont like the truth so they write it off as a wind up.

It is best to keep the feet firmly set to default – on ground zero.

Common sense

If you are ‘copying and pasting’ Deans statements or a greeing with them…you are agreeing with him!!!

get it!

I got to go

remember common sense!!

• 100.Kerneels: Reply to this comment

Matt Damon can’t pull off a Pienaar…I think they should ask Dulf Lungran :lol:

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.