SF: Springboks v Argentina (Mon)

New Zealand’s exit has seen bookmakers favouring the Springboks to lift the Webb Ellis Cup.

Ladbrokes have installed South Africa as favourites to not only advance to the final, but to win it as well. The team are now on offer as evens, France are on offer at 6/4 while England and Argentina are at 8/1.

–Frans Steyn has elicited glowing praise from Springbok technical consultant Eddie Jones. The former Australia coach spoke openly about his admiration of the 20-year-old who has made a good impression since slotting in at centre. “He can be a French player, not so? – Jones said after their quarter-final victory over Fiji. “Frans is only 20 but has unbelievable natural talent. He passes well, runs well and kicks well. It is remarkable to think that he has been playing professional rugby for only two years. The next two (World Cup) matches will be a great test for him. But he has incredible talent and gets a lot of support from his teammates.”

- Steyn played down his star billing saying: “I don’t think I have star status. I’m still learning. My goal is to become a person such as John Smit or Percy Montgomery. There’s still a lot of hard work ahead. I think the players around me take all the pressure off me,” he said. “I have mentors such as Percy around me. When the pressure becomes too much, they talk to me and encourage me. One must only forget about the pressure and play good rugby.”

- JP Pietersen sought to divert the attention from his try saving tackle late in the game and praise the collective effort. “It was a good tackle,” Pietersen told Die Burger. “What made it easier, was that the guy had the ball in his wrong hand. It made it easier for me to attack the ball. I just gave everything and tackled him as hard as I could. I’m glad my [defensive] game has improved but there’s still a lot of work ahead. I try to keep my feet on the ground and to learn something every day.”

-Argentina captain Agustin Pichot admitted fatigue had played a role in them allowing Scotland back into the quarter-final. The Pumas held a 13-point lead midway through the second half but held on for a 19-13 victory. “We were very tired and Scotland played very well. But we stuck with it,” he told ITV1. “Scotland were very good and we didn’t underestimate them. They have a great team and we have a lot of respect for them.”

This thread will be updated throughout the day.

252 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 » Show All

• 201.Tinus: Reply to this comment

#67 Sharks-lover…

Read my post again . I did not say leave Juan out, I said Bobby and Wikus should come on so that Juan can have a breather! Nothing wrong with resting for 20 or 25 minutes, Wikus and Bobby are no Slouts!

I have critisized Butch and John in the past, and I think they are doing realy well now, especially Butch! Sure you have critisized many NON SHARKS in the past!

• 202.Cousin Cervix: Reply to this comment

#198, LD

Dit is een ding waaraan ons moet werk die week, ons hardloop lyne en defence!!!

• 203.36 - 0: Reply to this comment

Tinus – agreed. I thought the single biggest reason we won was leadership. Too often in the past we have crumbled when faced with a situation like 20 all with 20 to go. JS was superb in his leadership, and i’m sure was abley supported by the other senior players.

• 204.Tinus: Reply to this comment

Where is KiaKahaNZ?

• 205.36 - 0: Reply to this comment

in hiding, like Tackler!

odd how quiet the site is today…

• 206.mellowyellow: Reply to this comment

Can someone please tell me why Ali Williams was not cited for his knee into Betson’s head??

• 207.katman: Reply to this comment

Yes, and why weren’t Dunning, Sheperdson and Baxter cited for scrumming backwards?

• 208.Tinus: Reply to this comment

mellw…

Because he is on his way to the North Pole!

• 209.katman: Reply to this comment

Yes, and why weren’t Dunning, Sheperdson and Baxter cited for scrumming backwards?

• 210.fabio: Reply to this comment

The Sydney Mourning Herald had these fantastic words to say about us (Saffas)today…

We all love to hate certain teams, depending on our nationality or heritage: Aussies and Kiwis don’t much enjoy the successes of the other, ditto Ireland and Wales.

But it seems to me that most feelings of the raging dislike variety is reserved for England and South Africa, regardless of where rugby fans sit in relation to the equator.

Are they really that bad, or are the rest of us jealous?

The Springboks are dirty cheats, and England smug snobs, I hear.

What the average punter detests is an on-field thug, and South African lock Bakkies Botha has such a reputation. Botha has been accused of eye gouging, biting, and generally being a cheap-shot merchant.

Fans also possess elephant-like memories of off-field misdemeanours.

England veteran Lawrence Dallaglio lost the national captaincy after inadvertently telling newspaper reporters from News of the World, disguised as advertising executives, that he took cocaine and ecstasy on the 1997 Lions tour of South Africa, dealed in drugs before becoming a professional footballer and had *** romps with prostitutes. Dallaglio later denied all claims – except experimental drug use as a teenager – saying he was trying to impress the bogus executives, but the self-caked mud stuck.

Botha and Dallaglio are taking part in the World Cup.

Are we hating the teams because of the actions of individual players, or does it spread deeper, as I suspect, to the team’s supporters, many who are seen to have superiority complexes?

• 211.RedLion: Reply to this comment

He was on a plane home so it would be kinda difficuly getting him to attend the hearing.

• 212.yebo: Reply to this comment

Sorry but i have to do this again please….

Dear Tackler

Wooohahahahah ha ha haaa hahahaha haaaaaaa woooohahhahahaamahahhaha haaaaaaaaa hahahahhaaa MMMwaaaahahahaa hahahaha hahaaaaa wooohahhahaaaaaa wwwaaahahahaa

• 213.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Middag Baas Katman en hoe gaan dit.

Please spare a thought for the Mighty Elephants who lost their bid to join the big boys.

• 214.16 inch black: Reply to this comment

Credit be given to Whites favourites, they seem to be delivering for him! Had there been no Butch nor Smith, that game could have been lost.

On the Pumas. We better brush up on our high ball catching skills as this is what they’ll do for the whole afternoon. No that we’ll loose this one but we have reasons to worry because of Percy, JP. Come to think of it, this is our biggest weakness! We have enough to go all the way though. The pumas will run out of gas at the end. That is also how we’ll win the cup. The rest of the teams will not have enough gas to take them through to the final and we seem to !

• 215.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Mmmmmm

That Nivea Ultra Glide guy in the ad ain’t half bad.

• 216.fabio: Reply to this comment

Yebo, lets save that till AFTER we win the cup. He (Tackler) is gonna be all over us like a bad rash if we also fail. Dont give him the ammunition!!!

• 217.stew: Reply to this comment

197 – the lineouts didnt look to bad and we couldnt really steal their lineouts cause the ball was so scew – bad reffering

• 218.RedLion: Reply to this comment

Keo, what is wrong with keo.co.za? Can it handle the load?

• 219.Tinus: Reply to this comment

All rugby supporters are one eyed to a certain extent, no more so NZ and AUS.

Fact is, they don’t like us cause we are a mayor threat to them and cause we don’t have the same accent and cause we don’t call everyone MATE or LASS!

• 220.Dawn: Reply to this comment

RedLion

It’s that Ultra Glide guy ad daring me to do the ultra glide with him.

• 221.16 inch black: Reply to this comment

#216 Yeah! you are probably right but if we loose he’ll never get to savour the moment , would’nt he now?

• 222.kleinboer: Reply to this comment

Stating the obvious: the only two unbeaten teams, SA and Arg, to play each other this weekend.

It’s not improbable that the final game of the tournament will be between the same teams that started it, Arg and France.

But I think the Boks are favourites to beat Arg, although not by much.

Fidji were fantastic.

• 223.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Whoops

The Charade girls are back. Now the site’s gonna crash for sure.

• 224.Davaro: Reply to this comment

Dawn – bedaar…

• 225.Tinus: Reply to this comment

Yebo….

HIhiiihii Hooohaaaahiii!!!

• 226.RedLion: Reply to this comment

:;:

• 227.kleinboer: Reply to this comment

Sorry, Fidji, not Fiji.

Fourie du Preez make various mistakes. The Fiji scrummie was better.

Arg / Scotland was a dull affair after the great afternoon game.

I really hope France can klap the Poms.

• 228.Davaro: Reply to this comment

Nivea glide dude vs Dan Carter…

Dawn chooses Nivea dude. Why?

Cause Carter is a Loooooooooserrrrrrrrrr….

• 229.Tinus: Reply to this comment

Dawn, who is the Charade girls?

• 230.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Guys please be attentive.

You have to be REALLY FAST to click on the Charade girls link.

It disappears in an instant to be replaced by BMT Training, or (God forbid) THE ECONOMIST.

• 231.16 inch black: Reply to this comment

Well Well Well!

Skew line outs,
    high tackles
    fouls in the scrums and general play etc.
    yeah! i guess they were great!

• 232.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Davaro … no man I just feel so bad for Dan.

Besides … I am surveying all around so I can make an educated choice!

Tinus .. see link that flashes VERY QUICKLY across top of page.

• 233.SharkMarine: Reply to this comment

About 7000 New Zealand fans of to France…Watch out Mr Barnes,they are coming for you……Eish!!

• 234.Davaro: Reply to this comment

Tinus – sometimes Dawn get’s some baaad (Shizzle) in her Transkei Green. Makes her talk a bit of K*K

• 235.RedLion: Reply to this comment

Dawn, I am confused.

Is it the girls or the dudes that are slowing things down? And do you like girls too?

and I cannot see any girls, where are they?

• 236.Dawn: Reply to this comment

RedLion

Dunno what’s slowing things down, but I’m sure it’s that Charades link.

(Don’t blink or you’ll miss it).

And I like boys, thank you please.

• 237.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Davaro I’m serious! There’s a stripper Charades link that appears on the website now and again!

• 238.mellowyellow: Reply to this comment

I believe the Boks have a lot more to offer and were pacing themsleves. The only problem with this is that fatigue is not allowing them to play to their damaging best like they did against England.

My humble advice to jake would be to give the guys a rest this week!! They need to be fresh for the argies and france!!

• 239.katman: Reply to this comment

Howzit Dawn.

How’s Daniel doing after the bitter disappointment?

Did you press him to your bosom and soothe him with a gentle voice?

There, there, Daniel. There, there.

• 240.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Oh my goodness gracious.

Stoppit.

• 241.katman: Reply to this comment

• 242.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

#206 Can someone please tell me why Ali Williams was not cited for his knee into Betson’s head??

Maybe because it was not his knee but Robinson’s fist that laid Betson out,i think. Go check it out on youtube.

• 243.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Site is gone quiet.

All bloggers staring at the homepage waiting for the Charades girls to pop up.

• 244.Vossie: Reply to this comment

What’s the difference bewteen Graham Henry and Viagra?

At least with Viagra you get a semi.

• 245.Jake_White: Reply to this comment

I hears someone saying that When the boks put on the incredible hulk outfits for the TV ad, Schalk Burger commented “Now we look like pierre Spies”

• 246.Texbok: Reply to this comment

What a great week end fella’s. Wobblies/NZ going home now we can settle down and watch some good rugby without the wingeing..

Auusies will never make it as champs again they don’t have the forward power. (unless they go to SA and steal some big men and promise them the Aussie dream mate!! free sheila’s they look great after 6 VB’s nmate and a Holden.. yeah mate..

Quote: “Scrums don’t matter” is all we have heard from Australia for the last 15 years; rubbish it is. they plainly can’t hack a straight, manly fight.”

• 247.keepin_it_real: Reply to this comment

its goin to be very interesting looking at the RWC2011 pool groups. the semi-finalists automatically get seeded 1,2,3+4. lets say the boks beat france in the final

The boks wil be in pool A with 5th seeded new zealand and france will be heading group B with the aussies in the same group.

Unless the format is changed the winner of group A will play the 2nd in group B and 2nd in group A will play the group B winners. Only 2 of these 4 teams will progress to the semi finals

• 248.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Diego Maradona is on his way to Paris and it will be the anniversary of the death of Che Guevara. The Boks better be ready for a war with the Argies.

• 249.CHAZ: Reply to this comment

I find it rather strange that no matter how many times we don’t win the WC, we are still the team thats sets the bench mark in world rugby, wonder why??

• 250.kwas: Reply to this comment

#249 Funny thing is, you set this magical benchmark every year but, when it really matters, you simply fail to meet the benchmark you have set yourself. Pretty sad, actually.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.