In Black and White

Jake White, in his autobiography ‘In Black and White’ confirms that Luke Watson was never wanted by the Bok players.

Watson has never been initiated as a Bok player and White holds back nothing in detailing the circumstances that forced him to select Watson for one test against Samoa.

The Rapport Newspaper and Sunday Times newspaper brought exclusivity to the extracts of the book, due for release next week, and Rapport focused mostly on the Watson affair.

Both newspapers also detailed the prominent chapters in the book with White discussing political interference, transformation, player selection, the hell of 2006, the media’s role in South African rugby, the dislike for playing at Loftus among players outside of the Bulls, his relationship with John Smit and Victor Matfield, among others, and the political minefield that dogged his four year tenure.

He insists that Watson simply was never good enough and that the Watson family tried to broker a deal with him to include Luke as a Bok and be secured a future in South African rugby.

White writes his biggest regret is not beating the All Blacks in New Zealand and that would have been his greatest motivation to continue as Bok coach.

607 Comments

Pages: « 13 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 » Show All

• 501.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Jis, Jis
    Almal in Oz, and RP there HKG also.
    Howzit going on this kuk Monday with you all?

• 502.Koos: Reply to this comment

Sexy numbers?! Tell him to buy a magazine!

‘controlling little cow’ – do you at least have a boy to offset this Manly?

• 503.Koos: Reply to this comment

Dagse Pete, lekker kuk this side as well thanks! To much stuff to little time…

PS And my internet is slower than WO through a gap…

• 504.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

More piet :)

What are lot complaininn about k*k ? I worked all weekend on something that was due in Sydney no later than 9.30am sydney time – it still has not been submitted & now requires “sexing up” !

I think shortly I will be throwing a hissy fit & storm off shopping :(

• 505.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Good on Jake for telling the truth about the “inspirational” (NOT) Fluke Wotsup and his ANC brown-nosing lickspittle father, Cheeky.

• 506.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

And any coach’s contract contains all sorts of “non-disclosure” clauses which means that if you run to the press with your opinions, you can end up without a job and a few million Rands of potential income. Potential future employers will also have you marked as someone who provenly breaches sworn contractual agreements and then you’re pretty much unemployable.

Jake’s now off contract. He’s kept his end of the deal and now he’s free to say whatever he can. Even so, there are bound to be various OTHER little non-disclosure clauses which means that the 100% full truth will probably NEVER be known.

After all, has Keo himself ever FULLY spilt the beans on all the drama and chaos of his time right in the belly of the beast?

• 507.Koos: Reply to this comment

Hehehe Princess, you tell him where he can go and stick his ‘sexy’ numbers.

• 508.whatever: Reply to this comment

G’day ladies and gents. Nice sunny day in Auckland. Think I’m gonna put a snapper on the braai and have a few cold ones, afterall it is Monday.

You go JW, tell it warts and all. Luke “dingbat” Watson is not well liked by teammates. Thinks the sun shines out of his ar*e and I’ve heard this first hand from a few different sources.

As for Skopskiet, mate you need to go lie on a couch and talk to someone. Your hatred of JW is really not natural.

• 509.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

yes it was beautiful day today. I’m on the Shore..beautiful sights at mairangi Beach this afternoon.

jake oh Jake..just couldn’t go quietly.

• 510.Tinus: Reply to this comment

Jake my Man!!!

In a way I feel sorry for Luke. Think Cheeky is a very dominant father, not Luke’s fault that his dad wants him to succeed where he failed!

• 511.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

John Smit played in Clement-Auvergne’s Heineken win yesterday. He came on for Argentina’s Ledesma.

• 512.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Neil De Kock captain Eddie’s Saracens to a win. I can’t wait til Brent Russell is fit to see his impact.

• 513.Tinus: Reply to this comment

Whatever…

Agree.

What is the feeling on Jake’s book in Kiwi land and on the cricket massacre?

• 514.Tinus: Reply to this comment

Big Hit…

Good to hear Saffas are doing well in HC!

What did u think of the standard of rugby?

I thought it was quite good, Joel and Kobus thought it was very slow and not at the same level as S14.

• 515.ruck: Reply to this comment

#466 – Porra
    You
    have
    no
    frikkin
    idea
    how
    much
    of a
    *****….

• 516.Tinus: Reply to this comment

Any news on FdP yet?

• 517.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Standard of rugby is always decent in the HC but its Autumn over here and the ground is soft so it is slower. There’s no point sending the ball wide every two minutes if the outside backs aren’t going to gain ground.

I’d love to see some HC teams play in the Super 14 for a round or two. A team like Newcastle with Flood, the two Taits, Noon and Wilkinson could really play some running rugby which they never get an opportunity to up here, likewise Leinster with D’Arcy, O’Driscoll and others.

• 518.Tinus: Reply to this comment

Kobus and Joel thinks that HM has the best credentials for the Bok job.

• 519.superBul: Reply to this comment

Watson: Revelations laughable
    11/11/2007 22:03 – (SA)

No decision on Stormers capt

Luke played with broken ribs

White forced to pick Watson?

Stephen Nell , Die Burger

Cape Town – Neither Luke Watson nor his father, Cheeky, knows Brian Biebuyck, the lawyer who – according to Jake White’s autobiography – wanted to facilitate an agreement between the Springbok coach and the Watson family.

“Brian Biebuyck never negotiated on my behalf or on Luke’s behalf,” Cheeky Watson said on Sunday.

Sunday newspapers reported that Biebuyck had tried, on behalf of the Watsons, to reach an agreement with White that would have ensured the coach of a future in SA rugby if he, among other things, included Watson in his World Cup squad.

White reportedly accepted the deal through his agent, Craig Livingstone, but the Watsons “backed off”.

Cheeky Watson described this story, as well as other “revelations,” as laughable.

“A few months ago Luke was someone who had to go fetch beer; now he is a spy. I find all these stories laughable and absurd,” Watson snr said.

“If you think that I have so many contacts out there, even right to the president of the country, it becomes even more absurd because I did not agree with Luke going to the Springboks’ training camp or playing against Samoa.

“The reason for that was the history of Jake’s attitude towards Luke. The only protest I could show was by not attending the presentation of (Springbok) colours to Luke. That is, to any player or parent, a highlight.

‘Wonder what the next episode will bring’

“Luke himself did not want to attend the training camp or play against Samoa.

“Luke and I are being accused of so many things that I wonder what the next episode will bring.”

In a highly controversial move earlier this year, Luke Watson was included, against White’s will, in the national training squad. He injured his ribs in his Test debut, against Samoa.

“I find it deplorable that some sections of the media write these things as if they were facts, without investigating them,” Watson snr said.

“Neither I nor Luke know Brian Biebuyck. The only contact I have ever had with him was when Luke terminated his business involvement with Craig Livingstone.”

Watson said his son had felt Livingstone would be unable to act in his best interests because he was also White’s agent.

“Brian Biebuyck wrote me a letter in which he set out the terms for the termination of the agreement between Luke and Livingstone.”

Biebuyck does act as legal representative for Cheecky’s elder brother Ronnie, who is not entitled to negotiate on behalf of Luke or Cheeky.

Cheeky said stories of “telephone conversations being monitored” sounded to him as if they came “from the mouth of a man with delusions”.

“I wish him (White), his wife and the two fetchers everything of the best,” he said.

“As a Christian, it is my wish that nothing untoward will happen to him and that he will be blessed in everything he does.”

Biebuyck and Livingstone did not respond to telephone messages on Sunday

• 520.ruck: Reply to this comment

Sorry, morning all.
    Big Hit, it certainly seems as though playing in the NH agrees with our players, and their form. Brent Russell is Matt Gitteau: with class..Eddie J is gonna have a ball with Brent – we treated him like dirt here in SA..

Koos, your internet is slower than WO through a gap?? LOL – sheez, wasn’t aware there was anything slower – except possibly the ability of our administrators to frikking wake up.

Tinus, glad to see you agree that young Luke didn’t stand a chance, what with his father and everyone else adding to his woes…

Princess – close the deal…also spent the whole weekend working (in between sporadic bouts of aggression here) And today – same story, same ****….

• 521.Tinus: Reply to this comment

Big Hit…

Would be nice to see the HC winner to play in S14 and S14 winner to play in HC!

• 522.superBul: Reply to this comment

Tinus i think the Bulls are playing the winner end of January, not sure we the Bulls opponent is. Would love a return game in SA.

• 523.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Ruck
    I have a T-Shirt printed specially for times like these “SS,DD” – Same Sh*t, Different Day.

Am feeling the need for a bit of Retail Therapy & can see Harvey-Nicks being graced in a short while as I believe they have just received a new shipment of Veuve – who knows, there may even be a tasting :lol:

• 524.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

A 2 game series would be great and if its 1-1, a 3rd game to decide the winner.

Wasps are the current european champions so it will be they who take on the Bulls if it goes ahead.

• 525.ruck: Reply to this comment

Princess – nothing like blowing money you ain’t earned yet, on something you don’t really need, yet looks soooooo good in the window )or on the shelf…..) These boys will never get it.
    Tasting??? Grab the frikkin promotions gal, – take her stock and run………RUN FOREST RUN!

• 526.Manlybok: Reply to this comment

Hey Princess,I’m also having that kind of day, but the only retail therapy I need can be done across a bar counter…….”one of each of those coloured bottles please barman,spaced a minute apart”

• 527.kevin w: Reply to this comment

If all this is true then Cheeky would have to take a long hard look and realise that he has seriously done his son serious harm.

Problem is with activists, they will continue the fight long after it is over or they will find a new one to get involved in. Now EP has joint presidency I believe to allow Cheeky Watson onto the President’s Council. I always hoped and campaigned for an EP resurgence, not so sure I can support it now.

• 528.ruck: Reply to this comment

Manlybok – what you’re describing ain’t retail therapy – its called ADDICTION. (or lack of self discipline…..)

• 529.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Ruck
    Well exactly right ! The Harvey-Nics liquor lady & I are old foes. She only really complains when you bring a friend & drag chairs across from another section clearly setting up for a long visit :lol:

Manly
    Harvey-Nics you can get all liquored up while buying insanely expensive shoes (that you will rarely wear) – the best of both worlds ! Your method sounds more akin to “death by minibar”.

• 530.Koos: Reply to this comment

So Sexy, hows the Princess numbers coming on…?

Sorry, so Princess, hows the sexy numbers coming on?

• 531.David: Reply to this comment

Tackler #506
    Jake is still under contract until the end of December.

With all these conspiracy theories has anyone thought that Jakes tenure is no different from the infighting amongst the union presidents that dates back to the days when they used to select the Springbok sides? Players became the victims of horse trading between the major unions and the presidents personal preferences.
    Just look at Stofiles statement that “they” thought that Liefling should have been given a chance and that Britz was a better choice than a scrummaging hooker like JS. Then ask yourself who rates Liefling as one of the best 10s in the world and plays a mobile hooker, with his backup a retreaded flank?
    Leaving the race issue out, it appears that the the gossip behind the scenes was similar to the varied opinions you’ll find every day on Keo. The difference being that the people voicing them believed they had the power to be listened to.

• 532.ruck: Reply to this comment

Cheeky is already on the council…Co-opted on Thursday already.

I still think both sides of the story MUST be weighed up, I for one will not be blinded by the He said, he did, they did allegations UNTIL the facts are blown wide open.

Lucky Luke ain’t so lucky anymore – and I say again, I’m sad….

• 533.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

South Africa’s World Cup fly-half Butch James marked his Bath debut by scoring one try and setting up another in the 28-6 win at Auch on Saturday.

James settled quickly on a cold evening at the Stade Jacques Fouroux, jinking through four tackles to score after 17 minutes then putting back-rower Andy Beattie over with a pin-point accurate kick.

(telegraph)

• 534.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

If I hear Luke’s name once more I’m going to puke……eish……

He was good whem he played for the sharks and the first season at WP. He has become heavy and slow. Even if all of this hasnt happened he would have battled to make a bok weekday team. There are too many loosies around who r better. So please let it rest.

• 535.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Koos
    Oohh who knows ! I ripped their PJs off, oiled them up & squeezed them back in “commando” – if that isn’t sexy enough well I say feck them !

What do you think ?

• 536.ruck: Reply to this comment

#533 – Thats great Biggles. Our boys really are shining…..
    Good on ya BUTCHER….He’s playing with so much confidence…

• 537.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

I didn’t see the Bath game, I wanted to but I missed it, but I thought it was interesting to hear that Butch ‘jinked’ his way to the line. I’ve never seen him jink ever :)

• 538.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Off to Harvee-Nics & champers – bye you kids :-D

• 539.Koos: Reply to this comment

Ha I would have said feck them a while ago…a bit like I am feeling about the set I am looking at. The idiot can’t to a simple cashflow to save his life, will help if he check his calcs first, maybe he would have picked up the $1m he left out in his balance sheet or the $7m he left out of his cash number! But know, lets just put a highlighted block in the cashflow to say “This does not work” and leave it to Koos to fix. Well feck me, try to get your balance sheet to balance and we can take it from there…

• 540.ruck: Reply to this comment

#537 – Biggles, forgot to ask you yesterday. What the hell is this dreadful ’70′s facial hair fashion statement the Leicster team are trying to make??? Andy Goode looked like Hutch – its horrible….and quite a few others were sporting moustaches with sideburns??? Hideous….

Thank the fates Martin Corry is still ‘clean’.
    Are they trying to raise money or something Biggles?? I bloody well hope so, ‘cos if its out of choice………..WOE BE ME.

• 541.David: Reply to this comment

kevi 527
    The PC can coopt people onto the board without them being Provincial Presidents. Besides, I understand Watson is being put in charge of organising the Eastern Cape sides, EP, Border and SWD, not just EP. That’s a poisened chalice if ever there was one, although with his history there, it might be an inspired choice.

• 542.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Koos
    You are missing the point hon – the word “balance” in the term “Balance Sheet” is more of a guideline than an actual rule for some :lol:

• 543.trupisero: Reply to this comment

More Koos – having some fun at work I see.

Morning Doc – thanks for the great weather we had yesterday – keep it up please.

On the topic, I think Cheeky did his son no favours and I have to agree that he is presently simply not good enough for the bok side, he’s lost his mobility and if he doesn’t start bulking down he is going to end up looking like Dunning.

• 544.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

I saw that. The fullback as well. I thought I was watching the History channel.

• 545.trupisero: Reply to this comment

David, the EP/Border/SWD is rife with misstrust between the clubs and seem to remain split along racial lines unfortunately. The so called “black” clubs may support Cheeky but he is most definately not going to get the support from the rest of them.

• 546.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

Morning Trupi!!!!! O ja en Koos. Maar Koos gesels nie nie rugby hier nie.

• 547.Koos: Reply to this comment

More Trup, yip great stuff.

• 548.BHUPENDRA DU SOLANKY: Reply to this comment

I have read Luke and his dads response to the allegations made against them. I just really dont know what to make of it all!! I wonder really who is telling the truth!!Jake or Cheeky?

God bless Suid Afrika

• 549.trupisero: Reply to this comment

More basterbrak.

That facial hair display by Andy Goode was awful – wie gaan nou so `n bek wil soen?

• 550.RugbyStudent: Reply to this comment

I am utterly disgusted by all of this: I think Luke should be kicked out and Rassie should go with a team that looks like this:

15.) Conrad Jantjies
    14.) Sireli Naqelevuki
    13.) Dylan des Fountain
    12.) Jean de Villiers
    11.) Tonderai Chavanga
    10.) Peter Grant
    9.) Conrad Hoffman
    8.) Robbie Diack
    7.) Joe van Niekerk
    6.) Schalk Burger
    5.) Ross Skeate
    4.) Andries Bekker
    3.) Brian Mujati
    2.) Schalk Brits
    1.) JD MOller

Pages: « 13 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.