Steyn stars in Kiwi clobbering
11 Nov 2007
Dale Steyn claimed 5-59 to power South Africa a 358-run win and a one nil series lead against New Zealand.
The Black Caps simply had no answer to the pace of Steyn, who finished with his best Test figures of 10-93.
Steyn picked up two of the three wickets to fall last night and continued the carnage on a pitch that held together beautifully, claiming the wicket of Scott Styris early in the day.
He peppered Brendon McCullum with short pitched deliveries before the plucky right hander eventually succumbed, guiding a half tracker to gully.
Steyn was ably supported by Andre Nel, Jacques Kallis and Paul Harris, the spinner dismissing a determined Jacob Oram.
Oram and skipper Daniel Vettori showed some resolve with a 45-run partnership, the latter showing scant regard for the match situation in smashing anything up to the bat to finish unbeaten on 46 off 58 balls.
But New Zealand’s resistance crumbled with Oram’s demise , Steyn striking the decisive blow in shattering Chris Martin’s stumps. The victory places the Proteas in a good position going into the second Test which starts in Centurion on Friday.
South Africa 1st innings: 226 all out in 74.3 overs
Herschelle Gibbs 63, Mark Boucher 43, Shane Bond 4-73, Chris Martin 3-67.
New Zealand 1st innings: 118 all out in 41.3 overs
Stephen Fleming 40, Dale Steyn 5-34, Makhaya Ntini 3-46, Jaqcues Kallis 2-11
South Africa 2nd innings: 422-3 declared in 126 overs
Jacques Kallis 186, Hashim Amla 176*
New Zealand 2nd innings: 172 all out in 51 overs
Daniel Vettori 46*, Jacob Oram 40, Dale Steyn 5-59
Click here for the full scorecard.
South Africa win by 358 runs and lead the two-Test series one nil

93 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All
11 Nov 2007, 09:38 am
Sad news about Shane Bond going home with his stomach strain. I truly love watching him bowl.
He’s the Johnny Wilko of international cricket – injuries always pissing on the parade of a prodigous talent…..
You buggers slamming cricket on the other thread….Skopskiet and Co. Go and slap the mackerel if you’re bored….I love rugby and cricket, equally. The 5 day test is a chess game, something idiots with ADD or ADHD could not possibly appreciate, without copius amounts of Ritalin……
Its a festival of intelligent plotting and planning, and it keeps me riveted……LONG LIVE TEST CRICKET…
20/20 was devised with ADD sufferers in mind…..
Even though I enjoy watching the shorter versions of the game – test cricket is still the ultimate.
Going to be in Jhb next weekend – and will get to Supersport Park (the dark side Centurion)for one days play.
So detractors of the game – piddle off now.
11 Nov 2007, 09:50 am
Well said Ruck. Not much strategy left in this game because of the SA dominance but a test is what the name suggests, an examination of technique, temperament, tenacity and talent. Not to mention character. NZ has failed this but SA hung in there after the first day’s sub par effort and turned the screws on day two.
Their fielding needs to be commended too. Kiwis dropped crucial chances while SA held all theirs. Even the much maligned captain is a very good slipper.
11 Nov 2007, 10:00 am
Hello Saturday. Yes, the Proteas have been good in all facets. Smith is often the target here in the good ol RS of A, but I for one find him to be of solid character and devious mind….qualities needed on the world stage. Jonty has really added something to the Proteas fielding since helping out.
I feel for the Black Caps though – I mean sheez, they had 4 substitutes on at one stage yesterday. Oram – fitness test on Monday, Bond – home, Papps – on a drip for stomach bug, Fleming – finger still faarrrhkkked. Not ideal at all.
Watched the “rained out” Oz, Sri Lanka test – I really like Mitchell Johnson – I think he’s going to play a huge role in Oz cricket….Just my gut feel.
11 Nov 2007, 10:42 am
Not sure about Johnson, when he doesn’t get swing he can be reasonably easy to combat. The second wicket he got was more due to the poor shot execution than anything he did. At least he’s pleasant though, unlike McGrath.
Jonty was a legend in the field; loved watching him. He does have your unit working well. Interestingly when he took up the job with Pakistan for a short stint he complained about their lack of work ethic, unlike the South Africans who’ll do anything he asks.
11 Nov 2007, 10:48 am
Saturday – I think its because the players respect him for what he is, a South African icon.
Jonty has not been the ONLY one to mention Pakistans lack of work ethic – seems to be a problem…
11 Nov 2007, 11:21 am
JC- an idea
could you make the click HERE application in capitals/bold print/a different colour etc 2 make it more noticeable for ppl wanting the score??
11 Nov 2007, 11:25 am
Test cricket IS cricket! I’ts irreplaceble!
11 Nov 2007, 11:26 am
Test cricket IS cricket! I’ts irreplaceble! Kiwi’s 90/5.
11 Nov 2007, 11:56 am
First ball from king kallis and papps is gone!
11 Nov 2007, 12:17 pm
Papps has been ill – very ill, on a drip the lot. I thought he did admirably just walking to the crease…..That said – this game is done and dusted……
11 Nov 2007, 12:57 pm
I don’t feel sorry for the kiwi’s. I can’t forget Vettori saying that they deserved to be in the t20 semi-final ahead of us.
11 Nov 2007, 13:02 pm
Did Papps perhaps **** in his pant’s when he saw Steyn trying to kill McCullum?
They’re really bowling well and from the 2 overs Harris bowled before lunch I wouldn’t be surprised if he continued after lunch.
I really feel for Shane Bond. Injuries have really screwed his career!
The Aussies should finish off Sri Lanka before lunch tomorrow.
11 Nov 2007, 13:13 pm
#Hooker
The Brisbane forecast is for showers, mainly in the morning, so weather could stretch it out.
But the Aussies should only need 30 overs or so.
11 Nov 2007, 13:20 pm
#13 – If that…….30 overs.
11 Nov 2007, 13:29 pm
Yip Harris into the wickets!
I hope Steyn gets 10 for the match!
11 Nov 2007, 13:36 pm
Cricketlover
I just popped in to see if you are still at the only one at the cricket?
11 Nov 2007, 13:40 pm
15# Hooker
I don’t think so.
I think Francois will be our# 12 for a while.
He has found a new niche there.
Come WC 2011, he might be our new Percy.
But for now, keep him at #12, not #10.
11 Nov 2007, 13:41 pm
#15 – Dale Steyn is really bowling beautifully.
Harris deserved that wicket. Ooops, great ctach Amla…170/8. Game over long before tea.
11 Nov 2007, 13:42 pm
Oooops, ball hit Amla’s helmet – maybe not out.
11 Nov 2007, 14:03 pm
And that is the ball game! Well done boytjies!
The Black Caps really are in trouble with all this injuries, cause they don’t have much depth. If Fleming doesn’t come off then they struggle. With Shane and possibly Oram out they will be a bit thin in the bowling department.
11 Nov 2007, 14:05 pm
In the words of the geriatric and seemingly permanently inebriated Hugh Bladen: OVEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEER….
11 Nov 2007, 14:06 pm
I played cricket yesterday in Fishhoek. It was one of that most wonderful rare days of barely any wind and lovely blue sky. It was truely a lovely day for cricket in a beautiful setting. Winning our match was off course the icing on the cake. I am a true Bull supporter but love living in the Cape of Good Hope.
11 Nov 2007, 14:09 pm
Nope there are others Pietman! What a beautiful game! The perfect test-match! Brilliant batting, superb bowling, tremendous fielding! I’m so proud to be a saffa, this country rocks! Graeme Smith may have been a dissapointment with the bat, but showed brilliant captaincy. Brilliant choice to bat, great field-setting and changing bowlers. Steyn you are also excellent! Brilliant 5 Wickets in the match! Kallis well, all-round greatness! Amla, great catch great batting. Saffas highest win by 358 runs. Well done manne! So glad to see we get rid of the tail quick. Boucher takes 400 dismissals!
11 Nov 2007, 14:11 pm
You’ve unearthed someone in Steyn. I love watching bowlers who scare the opposition. He had a few backing away. I don’t think O’Brien and Martin were that disappointed to depart. Biggest win ever for the Proteas in terms of runs and NZ’s heaviest ever defeat.
11 Nov 2007, 14:12 pm
Aaah. A demon from the dark side…..So the fact that Cape Town is “***” according to your brethren up north, doesn’t bother you, as a Bulls supporter?? Hehehehe. Congrats on the win, I follow the Boland League (mostly) Maties, Brackenfell, Easterns etc. I support the Maties, of course. But we ain’t been too flash….
11 Nov 2007, 14:13 pm
Yeh! The great Steyns! Francois Steyn in rugby and Dale Steyn in Cricket. Good talent for the future for the Steyn denasty. Hehehe
11 Nov 2007, 14:17 pm
Steyns, Morkels, du Plessis’s etc etc etc
11 Nov 2007, 14:20 pm
The griquas are gonna wint the currie cup one day.
11 Nov 2007, 14:22 pm
#17. Er….OK Pietman no more beer for you! HA HA!
Amla’s catch looked a bit suspect but Dale Steyn deserved the wicket!
Great play guys,albeit against an injured team!
11 Nov 2007, 14:23 pm
Thanks Ruck, but I must confess that I started my school career in Gauteng. Only moved to Bellville in standard 8. Been here since then. Born in Stellenbosh, so maybe thats why I love the Cape so much. Actually I am not one for the hectic rush of Gauteng, but like the more easy atmosphere of the Cape. But I truely love the Bushveld as well. I am more a lover of Gods creation than man’s creation. Funny thing is that I am the only Bull supporter in my house, the rest support WP. WP is my second team, but somehow I got stuck on the Bulls. But I enjoy sport and can appreciate a good sporting performance, doesn’t matter who it is.
11 Nov 2007, 14:28 pm
29# Hooker
Howzit!
Heheheheh!
11 Nov 2007, 14:30 pm
Cricketlover
Yes,I have been watching you and the Proteas.
Good on you, for sticking with the boys!
11 Nov 2007, 14:32 pm
Silence
You still in CY?
I lived in Kenridge all my life.
Good part of the world, CY.
Hope to return there some day.
Most of my old school friends still around CY, CFR, CK and CL.
Place to be bro’!
11 Nov 2007, 14:33 pm
#30 – Sheez, you must really get it from the family during Super 14/Currie Cup. I s’pose you watch elsewhere. If you play cricket for Bellville, my family were friends with The Ackerman family. I think James Ackerman used to coach Bellville. His son Shaun actually played top level cricket here, and overseas.
11 Nov 2007, 14:37 pm
Ja Pietman, dis ‘n lekker plek hierdie. Ek hou van die ligging v CY, so lekker in die middel van alles. 20km na CA, 20km na CL. Net ‘n entjie se ry dan is jy uit die stad. Lekker sentrums naby geleë, goeie skole en redelike rustige woonbuurte. Het by DF Malan gematrikuleer. Nou wil ek net my verloofde hier kry van daar uit die blikpens se wêreld uit, dan is die Kaap werklik weer Hollands. Hehe
11 Nov 2007, 14:38 pm
35# Blikpens = Blikoor ek bedoel.
11 Nov 2007, 14:38 pm
Man of the match to Steyn – well deserved!
11 Nov 2007, 14:42 pm
#34 – Pietman, I grew up in Kenridge. Kenridge Ave to be exact. Beautiful tree lined avenues..still the same. I used to walk to high school, Fairmont.
Sheez man, the world is one **** small place.
11 Nov 2007, 14:42 pm
Ja pietman dis moeilik om hulle te back, maar ek doen dit maar. Die bokke wen darm die wêreldbeker.
11 Nov 2007, 14:46 pm
We do niggle each other now and again(read me and my brother), I think my dad was a NT supporter but he died 20 years ago so I am not sure(I was still a kid), but we are a very mild manner family. I was the joke when the Bulls were so poor in the late 90′s and early 2000′s. A province friend of mine used to tell me that every one is allowed one bit of poor taste
Yes Sean is still playing for the club but the new coach is Alistair(West Indian – he played some games for WP or WP B). Bellville is a very good and healty club with great facilities. The politics ain’t so good though most of the time. I am actually playing with a bunch of friends in a closed team for Bellville CC. Much better that way and no politics.
11 Nov 2007, 14:53 pm
#40 – Better to steer clear of the politics. At least you still get to enjoy the game for what it is. Durbanville CC is where I spent most of my high school years, Dad played as an oldy and was Chairman/Club Captain or something to that effect. Always a blast…Used to be fun though (stealing booze from behind the bar and the sort)
As a really young tot, Dad played for WPCC, so I sort of grew up on cricket fields. (And rugby fields in winter – False Bay mostly…)
11 Nov 2007, 14:58 pm
Scenic wise the Cape is the best place to play a cricket match at. Just wonderful to play cricket with either Table Mountain as back drop or looking over the sea from Camps Bay.
11 Nov 2007, 15:05 pm
#42 – You’re so right. There isn’t an “ugly” ground to be had for miles. They’re all great.
11 Nov 2007, 15:12 pm
ok guys I am out now. Have a good weekend further everybody. Silence return to silence….
11 Nov 2007, 15:13 pm
ruck
Yes, Fairmont is ok.
They did have some average students though, like keo here!
But then there was Mark, from my old school, and he managed to ‘shuttle’ on and keep Durbanville’s averages up!!!
11 Nov 2007, 15:17 pm
#45 – LOL. And make Durbanville the highest income per capita suburb in SA for a while – until the Somerset West lot usurped the ‘D’villers.
11 Nov 2007, 15:27 pm
Hi all
Just got back from Wanderers! Again a wonderfull day with proper cricket being played! The gentlemans game will always surpass the other variants if only for class and atmosphere! The crowds are not huge but 90% knows the game well and thats what its all about! Not this instant coffee stuff that everybody gulps away!
11 Nov 2007, 15:31 pm
#47 – I waved to you on the telly….A great days play, and a super result. As I said earlier, Test cricket is not for ADD sufferers – but for conoisseurs…..
11 Nov 2007, 15:33 pm
Ruck
Some people just do not have enough of an IQ to realise that! See you at Centurion next weekend?
11 Nov 2007, 15:44 pm
Yip, am going to try and get there Saturday – in Jhb from Friday for business. I am a touch fearful of visiting the dark side though – but for the love of the game, I shall persevere.
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All