Bok wait nearly over
4 Jan 2008
The new Bok coach will be named on 11 January, according to Mike Stofile.
Jake White’s replacement was supposed to have been revealed in December, only for Saru to delay the decision until the end of January. Now a date has seemingly been set.
“The committee will meet on Monday and Tuesday to conduct interviews,” Saru’s deputy president told Die Burger on Thursday. Stofile is also the chairperson of the committee appointed to make a recommendation to the President’s Council. Others on the selection committee include James Stoffberg, Jannie Ferreira, Dawie Snyman, Elna van Niekerk, Mpumelelo Tshume, Jonathan Stones and Christo Ferreira.
“Interviews will be held with Heyneke Meyer and Peter de Villiers on Monday and with Allister Coetzee and Chester Williams on Tuesday,” Stofile added. “The President’s Council will meet on Wednesday and by Friday there will be a new Springbok coach.”
Meyer is expected to get the job, despite political pressure to appoint a black coach.

184 Comments
4 Jan 2008, 17:19 pm
So there is life at Keo Central.
4 Jan 2008, 17:21 pm
Why’s it taking so long?
4 Jan 2008, 17:21 pm
Does Chester really think he’s got a chance?
4 Jan 2008, 17:22 pm
Will his stalker be outside waiting?
4 Jan 2008, 17:31 pm
WPTID
Moenie waai daar anderkant nie.
Ons moet Cane vang, hy is hier, glo my!
Dis sy ou truuk, le net bietjie laag tot so #990, dan maak ons die blog toe.
Wag vir dit.
4 Jan 2008, 17:35 pm
Would have liked **** Muir to have been interviewed too. But SARU is SARU… full of hot air and BS.
4 Jan 2008, 17:37 pm
One as to ask, how many top tier countries would even considers these guys for a head coach?
4 Jan 2008, 17:42 pm
interviews only held next week, wonder how much of it is just going thru the motions and if they know already.
4 Jan 2008, 17:43 pm
7# Rachel
None.
Never thought of that, good Q!
Heck, and we are the the world champions, and this is what we’ve got post-Jake?
Must be AC then.
4 Jan 2008, 17:45 pm
99% going through the motions. For Chester 100%. Seems like a really nice fella, but going through his 15 a side coaching CV must be a joke.
4 Jan 2008, 17:46 pm
Piet I sommer cry.
4 Jan 2008, 18:11 pm
cabbie
Your take on this?
Remember, the PC has the final say.
Does anyone remember Elna van Niekerk?
Wtf is she doing there,on the selection committee?
Is that the late Owens’s wife, the former SA athletics coach?
Daai vroumens is n springer.
4 Jan 2008, 18:12 pm
I wonder why Gert Smal didn’t bother applying? He has been involved with the Boks for a while now.
I would have liked to have seen Alan Solomons apply, he worked under Mallet.
I have a horrible feeling that the Boks are in for a torrid time next year. The momentum they had built up is now broken and will take time for the new coach to regain it!!
4 Jan 2008, 18:15 pm
Chester Williams becoming Bok coach is like Jacob Zuma becoming president of South Africa… oh hang on…
4 Jan 2008, 18:20 pm
Andrew
No, Chester is nowhere.
Must be AC.
But then I hope **** Muir and Heyneke will be in the mix as assistants.
But with poephol Mike Stofile on the high chair, who knows, we might get Winnie Mandela as coach!
He would insist on a black coach, I am sure, and there is none.
4 Jan 2008, 18:24 pm
Elna – the woman from HR?
4 Jan 2008, 18:24 pm
Pietman – I would like to see AC be selected for Bok just for continuity sake but i reckon Meyer has got it in the bag.
I just hope we don’t get another Strauli on our hands, Strauli had one good S14 and then was made Bok coach. Meyer has had only on good S14 season too, i f you look past last year. But atleast Meyer knows when to bring in foreign coaching staff.
4 Jan 2008, 18:25 pm
Solomons, Muir, White, Jones….
4 Jan 2008, 18:25 pm
racheltjiedebeer – All excellent coaches but not one has applied for the job, go figure!!!
4 Jan 2008, 18:26 pm
Pardon my ignorance, but insisting that the coach be of a certain race, is surely racist?
4 Jan 2008, 18:27 pm
Who is insisting the coach be of a certian race?
Certian calibre should be the question.
4 Jan 2008, 18:29 pm
I thought the goverment was, but I see it’s only political pressure.
21# Read the article above, last sentence.
That is what it says, ‘black coach’.
Did Jones get a Blazer?
4 Jan 2008, 18:33 pm
17# leeanthony
Meyer is OK, but he is not a political animal.
We need AC, to deal with Stofile& Co.
That is the reality of SA rugby.
4 Jan 2008, 18:33 pm
Pietman – If that is the case then i hope Alistair Coetzee gets the job and immediately hires Jake White as his technical assistant, was a snot clap in SARU’s face that would be!!
4 Jan 2008, 19:08 pm
#12 Who is Elna van Niekerk?
4 Jan 2008, 19:17 pm
Weti
She was a Springbok jumper (verspring), I think.
Skopskiet wil know.
Owen van Niekerk was her coach.
Divorced his wife and got married to her.
I think Owen is deceased now, he was much older than she is.
4 Jan 2008, 20:21 pm
Ok I’m going to try again seeing as my last post in this regard was removed.
This Elna van Niekerk may or may not be the long jumper, (I have my doubts its the same person) she is a human resources manager who has obviously some psychology background because she was in fact employed by White initially in 2004 to meld the players psychological thoughts and feelings, she features in a part of his book in this respect.
Now she is part of the coach selection panel, they must have some faith based in her psychological and human resources expertise otherwise why would she be part of the selection committee?
4 Jan 2008, 20:31 pm
Maybe because she is a “springer”
4 Jan 2008, 20:48 pm
Maybe its because she’s a woman, instinctively and intuitively they are streaks ahead of any male counterpart when it comes to recognizing hidden agendas or talent.
She’s a HR specialist probably trained in psychoanalysis, perhaps she’s a springer too, then we get the best of both worlds out of her.
(I wonder if she’s pretty also?) Elna for President.
4 Jan 2008, 21:03 pm
I hate the women intuition it should be banned as an illegal substance
4 Jan 2008, 22:14 pm
Big game for Butch and Claasens tonight. Top of the table clash v Gloucester.
5 Jan 2008, 00:02 am
Bath won 10-5 to go top of the league. Butch and Claasens excellent keeping Gloucester pinned in their 22 all game.
5 Jan 2008, 00:55 am
I watched bits of that game.
It’s no wonder that Neil de Kock is suddenly a top player in the English league. That game was slower than a Stellenbosch amateur club game.
Guinnes Premiership rugby must count among the most boring rugby games in the world. It is like watching paint dry.
The level of the S14 is lightyears faster and a quantum leap ahead in terms of skill.
Sure, blame the conditions. Problem is, those conditions are ALWAYS present in the UK. So the standard will never rise much above that of tonight’s game.
I’m surprised they get any viewers after what I’ve seen tonight.
5 Jan 2008, 03:33 am
‘ Problem is, those conditions are ALWAYS present in the UK. So the standard will never rise much above that of tonight’s game.’
lol Tacitus, conditions are rarely like that much as you would like to pretend they were.
It was a very good game considering the they were playing in the equivalent of a swimming pool and the Springbok halfbacks played very well.
The truth is, the GP and HEC are getting better and better and more and more top SH players are heading that way.
5 Jan 2008, 03:54 am
Skoppie
I think you have it right.
Wasn’t there a Maryna van Niekerk long jumper?
I confused her with this one.
Sorry Elna!
5 Jan 2008, 09:15 am
“Meyer is expected to get the job, despite political pressure to appoint a black coach.”
if Meyer doesn’t get it, it be an injustice and I will have to reconsider ever supporting the Boks again.
5 Jan 2008, 09:18 am
“Chester Williams”
LOL..still the best joke from last year
5 Jan 2008, 09:47 am
I see Jake is very pro Allister. His argument make sence. He says that Allister won’t change the training, the pre match build up or the mentality of being proud to play for the Boks.
I think Allister can work, if he surround him with the right people (and not Gert Smal).
Jake realised that, and brought in Eddie Jones.
5 Jan 2008, 10:49 am
Heyneke is the man, period
5 Jan 2008, 10:55 am
The continuing saga of appointing the new bok coach is like watching a hollywood soapie.In this
soapie maybe jake white will come back from the dead and be re-appointed bok coach with mike stofile as his assistant,and why not anything is possible in soapies.
5 Jan 2008, 11:01 am
blueboy! You’ve been reading too much fairy tales! whats the recent book you’ve read? Cinderella?
5 Jan 2008, 11:28 am
Pieter de Villiers for Bok Coach!!!
And to all the detractors of the coaching candidates…Who would have hired Jake White in 2004 as their coach of any of the top tier nations??? No one…
So put a sock in it…
5 Jan 2008, 11:47 am
Bolla Conradie for Bok coach!
5 Jan 2008, 12:33 pm
“The new Bok coach will be named on 11 January”.
And so, yet another good, well intentioned man, will be take the road of ridicule, spite, political interferance and ultimitely will be heartbroken by those who lurk in the shadows and grin like hyena’s.
Jake won the WC for you Okes. But not one of your 13 Provincial Unions had the good grace to say Thanks, we have had our differences, but well done to you and the Team.(or am I wrong here?).
This is a tough job.
5 Jan 2008, 13:52 pm
tough job?..Cane, its the toughest job in rugby.
its an absolute disgrace Pieter de Villiers and Chester Williams are there. Look at the people who haven’t applied?? or the treatment Jake recieved. Utter disgrace.
5 Jan 2008, 14:28 pm
a tope referee in south africa had dinner at my restaurant last night in richardsbay
he said it seems clear that it will not be mayer or chester to coach the boks
also gave me some news about the sharks that was interesting and good
but that i’ll keep for myself , till its publisized
5 Jan 2008, 14:28 pm
tope=top
5 Jan 2008, 14:33 pm
cane the unions did all their well wished with the boks and jake
its only the blue bulls union that as usual did things differently
5 Jan 2008, 14:42 pm
skopskiet 29,
what happened, i thought u were committed never to read that rubbish?
5 Jan 2008, 15:49 pm
Read an article in the Burger this morning….Heyneke warbling on about Fourie du Preez a dead cert for Bok captain in the future…….I never realised du Preez could change water into wine????
Anyways, Alistair Coetzee for Bok coach……Heyneke for Head of PR du Preez/Matfield Incorporated…..
GO THE WINDIES………
5 Jan 2008, 15:50 pm
Never read none of that rubbish, the information came pouring forth when I googled Elna van Niekerk and there she appeared as the Madame who Jake hired to psychoanalyze the poor overwrought hard done by kamp staaldraaders to the extent where Bakkies and Os howled like babies in her lap.
Otherwise I wouldn’t have known nutting, it just spilled out of google, I think it was from iol or Guardian that spilled the beans.
5 Jan 2008, 22:37 pm
Who cares? As long as they win that’s the main thing, but Chester as coach is a real worry. But hey that’s what they said about Jake.
6 Jan 2008, 01:13 am
Give it to Chester. The best SA player of the last 2 decades.
6 Jan 2008, 04:08 am
If you wanna choose the best SA player of last 2 decades as coach then you should pick old OS!!!
6 Jan 2008, 11:02 am
Wow Big Hit.
In truth, Chester isn’t even in the top 20 best SA players of the last two decades. (I’m only bothering with 20 here, but that doesn’t mean he is number 21. I’m just too lazy to extend the list.)
In no particular order, here are 20 names for you:
1. Joost v/d Westhuizen
2. Ruben Kruger
3. Victor Matfield
4. Fourie du Preez
5. Schalk Burger
6. Jean de Villiers
7. Henry Honniball
8. Gary Teichman
9. Andre Joubert
10. Mark Andrews
11. Andre Venter
12. Rassie Erasmus
12. Os du Randt
13. Bryan Habana
14. Naas Botha
15. Carel du Plessis
16. James Small
17. Bakkies Botha
18. Juan Smith
19. Percy Montgomery
20. And wait for it, Pieter Hendricks – who was selected ahead of Chester in the 1995 world cup until he was banned in a very unfortunate dust up against a minor team – I think it was Romania.
Now, Pieter Hendricks wasn’t even close to one of our top 20 players of the last 2 decades, but I merely put him in at no.20 to illustrate how far Chester is from that bracket.
In any case, I am sure you were joking when you made that post, but just in case you weren’t, hopefully this sets the record straight.
6 Jan 2008, 13:57 pm
Uli and Danie should being first names to come to mind Mr Tacitus
even Deon Oosthuysen was better then Chester.
6 Jan 2008, 14:26 pm
greatest13
I agree, Uli.
The list could be a lot longer, as Tact says, with players like Michael du Plessis not even getting a mention.
But I think Chester played a stormer in the WC final, containing Jeff Wilson the way he did.
The best center pairing in SA in SA the last 20 years?
Japie Mulder and Chritiaan Scholtz for the SA Barbarians, the team that the late Skip Hendersohn took to the UK.
6 Jan 2008, 14:28 pm
58# Hennie le Roux.
A midfielder with vision, par excellance.
And Bobby Skinstead, at his prime, 1998,
6 Jan 2008, 14:45 pm
Scholtz was a poor man’s HFuls but he did dominate at club level with Jaco Taute inside him.
du Plessis, Gerber
Venter, Muller
6 Jan 2008, 14:47 pm
Hennie should never have left OP
6 Jan 2008, 15:34 pm
Sorry to break it to you like this Heynecke, but I was informed that I will be appointed on the 11th.
Saru said in an e-mail:
“We have been following your posts on keo.co.za for a while now and we are very very very very impessed by your superior knowledge and rugby intelligence. Although Heynecke has the experience, you swung the council with your lovable personality.”
Sorry man…
6 Jan 2008, 15:48 pm
gerber
Yes, Hennie was good at EP, with that little red haired scrummie (Davidson/
Jamieson? Davison? What was his name again?
I think Davidson.
6 Jan 2008, 16:04 pm
jy nou weer gat gekruip skim?
6 Jan 2008, 16:13 pm
heck, what was that scrummie first name??..tired memory
Hennie actually I think felt intimidated with Michael du Plessis being there. I think it was a factor in him leaving.
6 Jan 2008, 16:21 pm
gerber
I think he was Davidson, got studded at Loftus by vuilgat Drickus Hattingh.
6 Jan 2008, 16:25 pm
hehe good old Drikus(correctional?)..now there was a NTvl “gentelman”
he met his match when he met Adri and Armand
6 Jan 2008, 16:29 pm
gerrber
Yes, Drickus was a big old softie, cry baby, softie, no way he could hold a candle to Adri and Armand and the ‘panel beaters’ from CB!.
6 Jan 2008, 16:33 pm
Gerber
Drickus is Rueben’s brother in law.
His only claim to fame, except from being a Springbok discus thrower and a Lt at Pta Central Prison.
Nice guy, al the same, big boy, small heart.
Farming at Vrede these these days.
Never been cut out to make the big time in sports, all power, no sense.
6 Jan 2008, 16:35 pm
those two were referee’s worse nightmare Pietman.
Wonder what they’re doing these days.
6 Jan 2008, 16:38 pm
Middag Pietman en g13g,
Piet het jy daai olifant foto gekry vroeer die week. Die foto wys nie hoe groot hy werklik was nie, baie mooi dier.
6 Jan 2008, 16:46 pm
Drikus was quite a lineout exponent
and kicker as well. One hit wonder.
6 Jan 2008, 16:55 pm
superBul
Ja dankie maat, geklry.
Wil nie kyk nie, verlang te veel bos toe!
Mar vandag oor d5rie weke klim ek, SA toe, weet nie of ek terugkom nie…
Gerber
Very few people know, Drickus was a kicker of note.
He used to kick for posts during his Blue Bulls days too.
I saw him slot those place kicks from 50 yds out many times.
He was a natural sporstsman,very gifted, but not a rugby player.
He didn’t have the ‘killer instinct’, like Bakkies or Vic.
6 Jan 2008, 16:58 pm
gerber
So, what was his name , the scrummie?
Tell me.
Or I’ll be up all night!
Davidson, Jamieson, something like that.
Hennie’s original partner at EP.
6 Jan 2008, 17:02 pm
agree Pietman, I always found him too short for a quality number 4 jumper. But kid was gifted.
6 Jan 2008, 17:07 pm
Pietman,
Craig Richardson..think he was a Junior Bok reserve ’90/’91 as well. Can’t recollect.
I am sure he retired from injury and then garth came back in ’93 to lead EP to 3rd in the CC.
6 Jan 2008, 17:09 pm
there was also Pote brother, Danie, who was a halfback for OP back around same time.
6 Jan 2008, 17:11 pm
gerber
Damn, double damn!!! You got it.
Thx!
Craig Richardson.
That’s the boytjie.
Now I can sleep in peace.
I hate this memory fading bit, must tell you.
6 Jan 2008, 17:14 pm
I always get confused between him and Craig Jamieson, the Natal cappie.
Or maybe I am just getting old…
6 Jan 2008, 17:14 pm
its called old age Pietman..heck, by hell, I still remember the Toyota club comp..great times, great tussles, great fights, when “hard men” played the game
6 Jan 2008, 17:16 pm
Craig Jamieson
Craig Richardson
heck, I think the Junior Bok selectors might being confused as well!
6 Jan 2008, 17:17 pm
Toyota Championships?
Only two teams of note.
Despatch and Despatch!
Draad Oliphant en Domkrag en die manne.
Black and White!
Maties a distant second.
6 Jan 2008, 17:19 pm
well,
catchup later PMan, need some sleep. Will need it before Bhu, Skop, Tac, Kat..and rest of the ladies return
6 Jan 2008, 17:22 pm
Dispatch
My old team, only because my oldman would have disowned me if I had moved to WP in my prime as a player. Dispatch, Club champions for many a years back in the day.
OP will rise again!
6 Jan 2008, 17:23 pm
Domkrag!!
6 Jan 2008, 17:28 pm
gerber
I went to a rugby day once, March 13 1991, at Velddrif on the West Coast, of all places.
Just to see Danie Gerber play, in the main game Despatch against Saldanha Naval Academy.
His opposite number was Chester Williams, an 18 year old.
Afterwards, in the the tent, we were just standing around with Kiewiet Bester( who sponsored the braai, Danie said, “Daai outjie gaan Springbok speel eendag…”
The late Tommie Loubser, I can still picture him with a Hunters Gold in his right fist, turned around and said, ‘Danie, daai is nie nonsies nie, die mannetjie gaan nog ggooooooot spiel!
6 Jan 2008, 17:38 pm
Chester was senter daai dae, en hy het twee keer om Danie gehol.
Danie was toe al bietjie dikker in die lyf, soos ek nou.
6 Jan 2008, 18:25 pm
Pieter Hendricks made the ’95 WC squad because Chester was *injured*. Chester recovered in time for the QF and thank god Hendricks got injured so he could be replaced. Anyone who thinks Hendricks was better than Chester needs to get off the computer and check him/herself into the nearest mental ward.
Chester was one of SA’s best players in the 1990s.
6 Jan 2008, 18:28 pm
Good to see SA not rushing into a decision …. the international sides don’t play for months
6 Jan 2008, 20:42 pm
I was joking Tacitus but I had no idea Williams was only cover for the 1995 team. He looked excellent when he played.
What do you think of this news story(from BBC), looks like there’s going to be a NH Blue Bulls:
A South African investment firm has reportedly emerged as the group behind the multi-million pound investment in Premiership side Saracens.
South African Investments Limited already has joint ownership of the Blue Bulls and Western Province.
“We hope Saracens will become a home away from home for South Africans in Britain,” SAIL chief executive Brand de Villiers told the Sondag newspaper.
“There is a big South African rugby market in Britain.”
The deal is likely to be finalised in the next six weeks.
SAIL employs a number of former South Africa players who have made it in business, and former Springbok captain Morne du Plessis sits on their board of directors.
He hopes the investment will enable player swaps between the South African provinces and Sarries.
6 Jan 2008, 21:14 pm
chch
It would be nice for the damn coach to be appointed, since a few S14 franchises are awaiting the decision to be able to organise their seasons (Bulls).
Stofile and his cronies are approaching the is the African way – apparently you are more important if you can make people wait for the longest amount of time for you.
6 Jan 2008, 21:42 pm
Watch this will end with a full Springbok team managed by Ruppert
Reports surfaced last week that Saracens were in negotiations with South African businessman Johann Rupert with regard to a £10m investment into Premier Team Holdings, the company that controls the club.
An investment of that size would be the biggest single investment in club rugby since the game went fully professional in 1996.
Rupert, chairman of the Switzerland-based luxury goods company Richemont, was behind the 2004 attempt to introduce an England-based, all-South African club in England.
6 Jan 2008, 21:49 pm
Big Hit, it makes it laughable that they are trying to invest here & tap into the S African market in the UK when Sky are busy ******** rugby supporters accross the country.
It is pathetic trying to watch a game here. This weekend their were 8 games played & only 2 televised. This coming at a time when they showed no soccer (FA cup is televised on BBC this weekend). If this is what they are like with their own league, what will happen when the S14 rolls round.
I will take my chances with Eurosport 2 for the French rugby and Setanta sport for the Magners league.
I will be dammned if I am going to subsidise the overpayed, fat head footballers that no next to nothing about being sportsmen & not get any rugby for my contribution.
Thanks for coming Sky, but no more!
Sky would do well to take a lesson from Supersport & create some extra channels for Rugby.
6 Jan 2008, 21:51 pm
Hi Big Hit Happy New Year. Yes I think some South African companies have realized where the biggest rugby market is at the moment, and is only going to grow.
Any surprises for the English squad?
Full back looks like Lewsey.
Wings Strettal and Sakie.
Centers could be anyone here.
Hipkiss, Noon, Waters, Ollie Smith, Barkley
maybe, even Allan.and Flood.
I would think of playing Ciprini at inside center, since Wilkenson is healthy.
S/half Gomersall.
Has Vickery retired? if not he should. Stevens and Sheridan at prop.
Hooker could be anyone.
Kenneday may have a shot,plus top Dec player not sure his name. Some really good locks coming through.
Looses forwards
Has to be Moody plus Easter and I guess Corry but I think Corry is too slow. Maybe Lund.
What do you think?
7 Jan 2008, 00:30 am
I think there will be a new full-back, either Tait or Abendanon and Flood will slot into the 12 position.
Other than that I expect them to go with the old guard with youngsters like Cipriani, Haskell etc on the bench.
7 Jan 2008, 01:29 am
I hope not Seems like its time to build towards 2011.
Cipriani should get some starts.
Yes I forgot Haskell I think he should start too.
I believe he is also #8 so its between him and Ester. I dont know about Abendanon he made a few mistakes recently.
I still like Brown at F/back.
7 Jan 2008, 03:11 am
I don’t know Coachpete. Ashton tried many many different combinations before arriving at a winning team so it might be foolhardy to change it around too much.
Cipriani is a great prospect but perhaps a little error prone and frail in defence. I’d definitely give him some time off the bench however.
I’m looking forward to see what he opts for.
7 Jan 2008, 03:27 am
Morning Pete/Big Hit
Did you see about Rupert?
What do you guys think?
Is it a good development?
7 Jan 2008, 04:03 am
I see it as a good development for SA rugby Pietman.
It will be home from home for the SA boys and will keep them playing together and give SA rugby some measure of control over their NH based players.
What are your thoughts on it?
7 Jan 2008, 04:11 am
Big Hit
Haven’t given it much thought. It will depend if those boys will be allowed to play for the Boks or not.
7 Jan 2008, 04:14 am
I have to say it would be embarrassing for the English clubs if they made it an all South African team and won the Guinness Premiership and Heineken Cup.
7 Jan 2008, 04:16 am
102# Would be something, won’t it!!!
7 Jan 2008, 05:17 am
Hi Pietman.
Its where the money is! its a logical decision by SA companies, plus there will be a lot more SA boys heading North.
Could soon select the Springbok side form players playing in N Hemisphere. S A rugby can save some cash.
Even pull out of the tri nations, play with Pumas in 8 nations tournament
7 Jan 2008, 05:22 am
Coach
You are awfully quick to abandon the ABs
7 Jan 2008, 05:27 am
If the Saracens side proves successful, SA could perhaps even compete in both the 6 Nations and Tri-Nations.
7 Jan 2008, 05:29 am
More Biggles
Nice Christmas ?
7 Jan 2008, 05:31 am
Dagse Piet,hello all.
7 Jan 2008, 05:32 am
Pete
I think we should get out of the TriNations (too much travelling), but the problem is seasonal.
The NH rugy season doesn’t fit in with ours, so the boys will have to play all year long!
7 Jan 2008, 05:32 am
Howzit Princess….sorry didnt see you there.
7 Jan 2008, 05:34 am
Jis Manly
Hoessit daar?
Ek raak nou haastig SA toe, gatvol vir oorsee woon.
7 Jan 2008, 05:35 am
Manly
Yes, I felt left out
7 Jan 2008, 05:38 am
Most definitely Princess, et toi?
7 Jan 2008, 05:46 am
Biggles
I had a lovely time … was spoiled something fierce & reciprocated in kind
Was actually quite relaxing as I did not go away, so not flight /airport hassles – although that might change very shortly as I have a trip to Japan scheduled & they ALWAYS slap me around
7 Jan 2008, 06:05 am
Morning all!
Did anyone see De Wet Barry for Harlequins yesterday? Have seen him play badly before, but nothing compared to yesterday! Aaron Mauger was awsome!
7 Jan 2008, 06:24 am
5 Weeks before kick off!
7 Jan 2008, 06:27 am
#111 Ja Piet,ek is jaloers,stook daai potjie vir my.
#112 Princess
Was the left out …or the right out…if unsure send pic and I will confirm.
Greetings Big Hit….I’ll visit England when the beer freezes over.
7 Jan 2008, 06:27 am
Wake up you all!
7 Jan 2008, 06:29 am
Manly
Don’t give up the latex – you will starve as a comedian ! Leave the girls alone … Honey is gone & therefore they are back in hibernation.
You slowly recovering from NY ?
7 Jan 2008, 06:29 am
Manly!
One can always count on you to save the day!
7 Jan 2008, 06:32 am
Fern…
Praat met my, ek weet jy is daar iewers!
7 Jan 2008, 06:42 am
Morning all
7 Jan 2008, 06:46 am
chch…
Morning Mate! Still confident Crusaders will take cup back to NZ?
7 Jan 2008, 06:48 am
chch…
Mauger had a great game yesterday! You guys will miss him!
7 Jan 2008, 06:49 am
Is this site slow or what today?
7 Jan 2008, 06:51 am
Chch
Back form Thailand ?
Tinus
Have you taken your Ritalin today ?
7 Jan 2008, 06:52 am
More almal!
7 Jan 2008, 07:00 am
RP…
I did, I did! Can you imagine if I didn’t?
Koos…
More meneer! Gaan dit goed?
7 Jan 2008, 07:02 am
This thing just told me “website expired”!
7 Jan 2008, 07:03 am
We will miss Mauger.
A New Zealand internet poll has the Saders at 40% of the votes to win the Super14 …. South African sides total to 6.5%
It is being picked as Blues, Canes and Saders for the semis.
Princess,
In Taiwan at the moment. back in Thailand later in the week. have been travelling around the mountains …. really amazing … suggest that you get yourself over here and into the mountains.
I have to say that the the mountain passes beat new Zealand … very beautiful. I never new that Taiwan was like this
Looking forward to heading up the North East of Thailand this time. Chaing Mai was amazing though
7 Jan 2008, 07:04 am
Tinus
Okay, well someone has switched out your decaf then …
Koos !!
7 Jan 2008, 07:04 am
129 Tinus,
Keo forgot to pay the bill with his new hosting company
7 Jan 2008, 07:06 am
Was great to wake up this morning with rain!
7 Jan 2008, 07:06 am
Tinus,
I am picking the Saders with Caners being a close 2nd. It is a young side though and all could go wrong. I am already a bit worried about the word ‘conditioning’ that keeps coming up in every Saders article
7 Jan 2008, 07:08 am
133 Tinus,
Was great to wake up at over 10,000 feet and look down on the clouds
7 Jan 2008, 07:08 am
124 Caners??? woops
7 Jan 2008, 07:10 am
RP…
So thats why the coffee tastes funny!
chch…
I also think a Kiwi side will take it. Must be Crusaders though! I do however think the Sharks and Bulls will be in the top 6, semis for one of the 2.
7 Jan 2008, 07:13 am
137 Tinus,
The whole thing is going to be a lot closer than people think. The rule changes mean that the more dominant team has to play rugby to shut out a game … it’s going to be good
I am picking the Reds for last and all other Aus sides for bottom half table finishes
7 Jan 2008, 07:15 am
Princess!!
7 Jan 2008, 07:16 am
chch…
Where you going? Naah, I dont think the Canes will do it. Havent seen their team yet, but heard that they are a little short on experience. Crusaders will be back with a bang.
I still hope the Bulls will do it, but I think the Sharks will carry the SA flag. They have the same coach, strong forwards and most properbly the most exciting backs in the competition!
7 Jan 2008, 07:18 am
chch…
No Ausie side in semi’s? Again! I hope you are right!
7 Jan 2008, 07:19 am
140 Tinus,
Landing in bangkok then going to the North East of Thailand…. do you suggest anywhere?
I will be consulting the Lonely Planet
7 Jan 2008, 07:21 am
ok I am off to lunch and then a modern art museum in Thaichong (Taiwan)
7 Jan 2008, 07:22 am
Shark backline could score the most tries this year. Guys like Pienaar, Cockett, Michalack, Murry, Barrit, Steyn, Peterson, Ndugane etc will be hard to stop if they get good ball, witch they should!
7 Jan 2008, 07:25 am
chch…
Never been there! Enjoy, just be carefull of all the “goggas” in their religious temples!
7 Jan 2008, 07:26 am
Cheers all!
7 Jan 2008, 07:27 am
New year, big plans for 2008! This is MY year!
7 Jan 2008, 07:34 am
Chch
If you get the chance visit the National Gallery – this is where they keep all the treasures they “rescued” from China at the beginning of the cultural revolution.
Everytime I visit there they get busy with their demonstrations – I try not to take it personally
Tinus
Or are you abusing the cough mixture again ?
Koos
What is happening in sunny Brissie ?
7 Jan 2008, 07:39 am
RP…
Old grand-pa’s cough medicine.
7 Jan 2008, 07:39 am
Back at the grinding stone today Princess!!! Turning into a very long day…
Sunny Brisbane?! Believe it or not but we had very little sun the last 3 weeks, not a lot of rain but overcast most of the time. Sun today but steamy as anything.
7 Jan 2008, 07:51 am
Tinus
I am pretty sure it has all kinds of ephedrine etc in it but it sure stops the coughing !
We have a VERY good one here – I don’t know the Chinese Name – only that it is called “Sour Plum Cough Mixture” & it works miracles on anyone I have given it to
Koos
Oohh there there, poor you … Sunny & 18-23 here today. Not bad for the middle of winter eh ?
7 Jan 2008, 07:58 am
Dagse Koos…condolences on the work thing….did you catch a fish while on hols…
P.S.the I&J fish fingers that you caught when they fell out the freezer dont count.
7 Jan 2008, 08:02 am
Nah, no need to feel sorry for me, I am not complaining at all. About 32 here today but it will drop some tomorrow if we can believe the weather people. Besides we need rain more than anything else.
7 Jan 2008, 08:04 am
Koos – Maybe you could trade some sunshine for rain with your southern neighbours ?
So what have you been up to Manly ?
7 Jan 2008, 08:12 am
The Mexicans you mean Princess?!
Howzit Manly, not even a fishfinger, stormy weather had most beaches closed so I postponed the fishing till a later date.
7 Jan 2008, 08:15 am
Yes the “wet backs” south of your border
7 Jan 2008, 08:24 am
i think it might be Pieter de Villiers to coach the boks.
i saw Julies and DeVilliers at Paarl Dros 2 weeks ago and there were a few other guys at the table.
DeVillers is most likely scheduling “face time” with the guys that he wants in his team….
{watch this SPACE_}
7 Jan 2008, 08:29 am
Princess
Sadly nothing exciting as I have worked through,but the people are fighting in the queue here to give me their money I’ve had such a good run,new store proving to be a real winner…..I’d rather be diving in the Carribean (no not that kind of diving Princess).
7 Jan 2008, 09:05 am
morning princess! how’s tricks?
7 Jan 2008, 09:07 am
did anyone see de wet barry’s dismal performance on sat? I bet Harlequins are starting to realise why he couldn’t make the stormers starting line up
7 Jan 2008, 09:15 am
Ja Buck
Its clear Harlequins’ scouting division is wanting, with their two serious SA scoops…. De Wet Barry and Gary Botha.
7 Jan 2008, 09:19 am
Manly
Oohh go on, I know EXACTLY what kind of diving you had in mind !
Morning Bucky
Nice Festive Season ?
Tricks are good … am building an imaginary hotel, car park & office complex today … If i hear just one more time “amend the incentive fee by half a point” someone is going to get moered !
But apart from that “tricks” are just dandy
7 Jan 2008, 09:20 am
Bodie ! You are back !! How is Bertie ?
7 Jan 2008, 09:23 am
Gary Botha is not a bad player at all Bod, I’m with you on De Wet Barry, but you cant lump GB in with him…
7 Jan 2008, 09:27 am
RP – festivities were ok, wife’s in london for 3 weeks, so enjoyed the single life a little to much!
bb – apart from GB’s average line-out throws, he was nowhere on the field, but was still better then dewet, although he was tripped before he could take that pass.
7 Jan 2008, 09:28 am
Try me Bluebarb…
Howzit babe
Bert is relaxed and well tanned. I bought him a speedo in order to sizzle on the beach over the holidays and he cooked. He spent most of the days causing grief on the beach, swimming until he could no more and then passing out on the bed come nightime… tough life.
7 Jan 2008, 09:32 am
i’ll admit freely that I havent seen much of him in the NH, so if you say he’s been dogpoo, i’ll have to accept that.
cant see it being a long term thing though, the man is a good player..
7 Jan 2008, 09:34 am
Buck
Sounds terrible
Bod
Although it does sound like he had fun – what a holiday !
You used poor Bertie to perpetrate a fashion crime ?
7 Jan 2008, 09:38 am
Morning all.
What a drag to be back at the office. Cant get started and dont feel like it either.
7 Jan 2008, 09:40 am
Hello Trupi
Ja, dis moeilik, ek kom ook nie aan die gang nie.
Oorgatvol vir werk.
7 Jan 2008, 09:44 am
bod – did you get bertie a sausage hammock?
7 Jan 2008, 09:45 am
So, wat se julle manne, wie gaan die nuwe coach wees, AC?
7 Jan 2008, 09:46 am
Hallo Pietman
Ek waai ook die einde van die maand so dit maak dit nog moeiliker.
Lankal oorgatvol!!
7 Jan 2008, 09:50 am
Pietman
My kop se dat HM coach moet wees – hy het tog die beste track record van hulle.
Weet nie of AC as hoofcoach sal shape nie en ek dink tog dis tyd vir nuwe bloed wat die assistente ook betref.
PDV het egter amper dieselfde paadjie as jake geloop so enigeiets is moontlik.
Op suiwer rugbybeginsels dink ek HM moet die job kry.
7 Jan 2008, 10:06 am
Princess
This is Cape Town… no fashion crime in that, actually its regarded as more of an overdress crime here.
7 Jan 2008, 10:09 am
Pietman
Alistar Coetzee will get the job… finished and klaar.
Who he appoints onto his management team is going to be the real topic of discussion
7 Jan 2008, 10:14 am
Bod
My gut feel as well, AC.
He is also the players’ choice, I believe.
But I hope he brings in good assistans, guys like Muir.
7 Jan 2008, 10:20 am
Pietman
Muir is out, as he sits with his bum in butter at the moment. There will be no room for Meyer, as Coetzee will retain Smal as the forwards coach and Meyer is not a backline coaches rear end.
Backline coach is going to be the interesting one
7 Jan 2008, 10:34 am
I am glad i siad farewell to real Springbok rugby last year, with Gert and AC i cant see myself watching all that ****.
7 Jan 2008, 10:39 am
superBul
Yes, I don’t know about Gert.
We surely have better forward coaches than him in SA.
7 Jan 2008, 10:45 am
Bod
According to the fashion police : “The only place /time it is ‘ok’ to wear Speedos is for the few minutes it takes to mount the centre podium & accept an Olympic Gold Medal.”
Bertie probably ought to spend time on Ruck’s couch …
7 Jan 2008, 11:06 am
Excuse the ignorance Princess, but what happens on Rucks couch?
You will change your perception on Speedos once you see Bert in his full Speedo glory. Ripped tummy, bulging biceps on those tiny paws, tanned (excuse the pun) all over, with that well endowed look as the speedo came with a built in sock.
How could any female sausage in her right mind resist him?
7 Jan 2008, 12:17 pm
Bod
Ruck’s couch is where the analysis occurs – she mends damaged souls.
Can you satisfactorily explain the reverse correlation between “full speedo glory” and “tanned all over” ? Does Bertie to the Lifesaver thing & run them up his little butt ?
8 Jan 2008, 06:20 am
Sorry Princess I left before I saw you come on.