Bok wait nearly over

The new Bok coach will be named on 11 January, according to Mike Stofile.

Jake White’s replacement was supposed to have been revealed in December, only for Saru to delay the decision until the end of January. Now a date has seemingly been set.

“The committee will meet on Monday and Tuesday to conduct interviews,” Saru’s deputy president told Die Burger on Thursday. Stofile is also the chairperson of the committee appointed to make a recommendation to the President’s Council. Others on the selection committee include James Stoffberg, Jannie Ferreira, Dawie Snyman, Elna van Niekerk, Mpumelelo Tshume, Jonathan Stones and Christo Ferreira.

“Interviews will be held with Heyneke Meyer and Peter de Villiers on Monday and with Allister Coetzee and Chester Williams on Tuesday,” Stofile added. “The President’s Council will meet on Wednesday and by Friday there will be a new Springbok coach.”

Meyer is expected to get the job, despite political pressure to appoint a black coach.

184 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 » Show All

• 101.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Big Hit
    Haven’t given it much thought. It will depend if those boys will be allowed to play for the Boks or not.

• 102.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

I have to say it would be embarrassing for the English clubs if they made it an all South African team and won the Guinness Premiership and Heineken Cup.

• 103.Pietman: Reply to this comment

102# Would be something, won’t it!!!

• 104.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Hi Pietman.
    Its where the money is! its a logical decision by SA companies, plus there will be a lot more SA boys heading North.
    Could soon select the Springbok side form players playing in N Hemisphere. S A rugby can save some cash.
    Even pull out of the tri nations, play with Pumas in 8 nations tournament

• 105.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Coach

You are awfully quick to abandon the ABs :cry:

• 106.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

If the Saracens side proves successful, SA could perhaps even compete in both the 6 Nations and Tri-Nations.

• 107.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

More Biggles :-D

Nice Christmas ?

• 108.Manlybok: Reply to this comment

Dagse Piet,hello all.

• 109.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Pete
    I think we should get out of the TriNations (too much travelling), but the problem is seasonal.
    The NH rugy season doesn’t fit in with ours, so the boys will have to play all year long!

• 110.Manlybok: Reply to this comment

Howzit Princess….sorry didnt see you there.

• 111.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Jis Manly
    Hoessit daar?
    Ek raak nou haastig SA toe, gatvol vir oorsee woon.

• 112.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Manly

Yes, I felt left out :cry:

• 113.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Most definitely Princess, et toi?

• 114.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Biggles

I had a lovely time … was spoiled something fierce & reciprocated in kind :-D

Was actually quite relaxing as I did not go away, so not flight /airport hassles – although that might change very shortly as I have a trip to Japan scheduled & they ALWAYS slap me around :(

• 115.Tinus: Reply to this comment

Morning all!

Did anyone see De Wet Barry for Harlequins yesterday? Have seen him play badly before, but nothing compared to yesterday! Aaron Mauger was awsome!

• 116.Tinus: Reply to this comment

5 Weeks before kick off!

• 117.Manlybok: Reply to this comment

#111 Ja Piet,ek is jaloers,stook daai potjie vir my.

#112 Princess

Was the left out …or the right out…if unsure send pic and I will confirm.

Greetings Big Hit….I’ll visit England when the beer freezes over.

• 118.Tinus: Reply to this comment

Wake up you all!

• 119.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Manly

Don’t give up the latex – you will starve as a comedian ! Leave the girls alone … Honey is gone & therefore they are back in hibernation.

You slowly recovering from NY ?

• 120.Tinus: Reply to this comment

Manly!

One can always count on you to save the day!

• 121.Tinus: Reply to this comment

Fern…

Praat met my, ek weet jy is daar iewers!

• 122.chch: Reply to this comment

Morning all

• 123.Tinus: Reply to this comment

chch…

Morning Mate! Still confident Crusaders will take cup back to NZ?

• 124.Tinus: Reply to this comment

chch…

Mauger had a great game yesterday! You guys will miss him!

• 125.Tinus: Reply to this comment

Is this site slow or what today?

• 126.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Chch
    Back form Thailand ?

Tinus
    Have you taken your Ritalin today ?

• 127.Koos: Reply to this comment

More almal!

• 128.Tinus: Reply to this comment

RP…

I did, I did! Can you imagine if I didn’t?

Koos…

More meneer! Gaan dit goed?

• 129.Tinus: Reply to this comment

This thing just told me “website expired”!

• 130.chch: Reply to this comment

We will miss Mauger.
    A New Zealand internet poll has the Saders at 40% of the votes to win the Super14 …. South African sides total to 6.5%
    It is being picked as Blues, Canes and Saders for the semis.

Princess,
    In Taiwan at the moment. back in Thailand later in the week. have been travelling around the mountains …. really amazing … suggest that you get yourself over here and into the mountains.
    I have to say that the the mountain passes beat new Zealand … very beautiful. I never new that Taiwan was like this

Looking forward to heading up the North East of Thailand this time. Chaing Mai was amazing though

• 131.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Tinus
    Okay, well someone has switched out your decaf then … :)

Koos !!

• 132.chch: Reply to this comment

129 Tinus,

Keo forgot to pay the bill with his new hosting company :-)

• 133.Tinus: Reply to this comment

Was great to wake up this morning with rain!

• 134.chch: Reply to this comment

Tinus,

I am picking the Saders with Caners being a close 2nd. It is a young side though and all could go wrong. I am already a bit worried about the word ‘conditioning’ that keeps coming up in every Saders article

• 135.chch: Reply to this comment

133 Tinus,

Was great to wake up at over 10,000 feet and look down on the clouds

• 136.chch: Reply to this comment

124 Caners??? woops

• 137.Tinus: Reply to this comment

RP…

So thats why the coffee tastes funny!

chch…

I also think a Kiwi side will take it. Must be Crusaders though! I do however think the Sharks and Bulls will be in the top 6, semis for one of the 2.

• 138.chch: Reply to this comment

137 Tinus,

The whole thing is going to be a lot closer than people think. The rule changes mean that the more dominant team has to play rugby to shut out a game … it’s going to be good

I am picking the Reds for last and all other Aus sides for bottom half table finishes

• 139.Koos: Reply to this comment

Princess!!

• 140.Tinus: Reply to this comment

chch…

Where you going? Naah, I dont think the Canes will do it. Havent seen their team yet, but heard that they are a little short on experience. Crusaders will be back with a bang.

I still hope the Bulls will do it, but I think the Sharks will carry the SA flag. They have the same coach, strong forwards and most properbly the most exciting backs in the competition!

• 141.Tinus: Reply to this comment

chch…

No Ausie side in semi’s? Again! I hope you are right!

• 142.chch: Reply to this comment

140 Tinus,

Landing in bangkok then going to the North East of Thailand…. do you suggest anywhere?

I will be consulting the Lonely Planet

• 143.chch: Reply to this comment

ok I am off to lunch and then a modern art museum in Thaichong (Taiwan)

• 144.Tinus: Reply to this comment

Shark backline could score the most tries this year. Guys like Pienaar, Cockett, Michalack, Murry, Barrit, Steyn, Peterson, Ndugane etc will be hard to stop if they get good ball, witch they should!

• 145.Tinus: Reply to this comment

chch…

Never been there! Enjoy, just be carefull of all the “goggas” in their religious temples!

• 146.Tinus: Reply to this comment

Cheers all!

• 147.Tinus: Reply to this comment

New year, big plans for 2008! This is MY year!

• 148.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Chch
    Everytime I visit there they get busy with their demonstrations – I try not to take it personally :( If you get the chance visit the National Gallery – this is where they keep all the treasures they “rescued” from China at the beginning of the cultural revolution.

Tinus
    Or are you abusing the cough mixture again ?

Koos
    What is happening in sunny Brissie ?

• 149.Tinus: Reply to this comment

RP…

Old grand-pa’s cough medicine.

• 150.Koos: Reply to this comment

Back at the grinding stone today Princess!!! Turning into a very long day…

Sunny Brisbane?! Believe it or not but we had very little sun the last 3 weeks, not a lot of rain but overcast most of the time. Sun today but steamy as anything.

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.