De Villiers is Bok coach
9 Jan 2008
Peter de Villiers has been named the new Bok coach.
15 May 2012
Frans Steyn will be given the opportunity to take ownership of the Springbok No 12 jersey upon his return to South Africa. Steyn has only started in 30 of his 47 Tests. Neither of his previous Test coaches has been sure of his best position, as he's featured at flyhalf, wing, in the centres and fullback. Neither Jake White nor Peter de Villiers started Steyn in one position for more than five consecutive games. BUY THE LATEST ISSUE NOW FOR R5.95 (DIGITAL EDITION) The good news is that the wild ride is over. There will be no roller-coaster, no uncertainty in 2012. No longer will Steyn's ... Read Article17 May 2012
The Waratahs have made a string of changes for their clash with the Stormers at Newlands on Saturday. Brendan McKibbin and Bernard Foley start at scrumhalf and fullback respectively, while Adam Ashley-Cooper shifts to inside centre. In the forwards, Dave Dennis starts at No 8 in place of Wycliff Palu, who plays off the wood. Sitaleki Timani and Dean Mumm pair up in the second row, with Kane Douglas dropping to the bench. There is uncertainty about the fitness of hooker Tatafu Polota-Nau following his concussion a fortnight ago. He will be monitored this week to determine his readiness ... Read ArticleWellington 9:35am - 11:35am (SAST)
Dunedin 7:30am - 9:30am (SAST)
Christchurch 9:35am - 11:35am (SAST)
Brisbane 11:40am - 1:40pm (SAST)
Bloemfontein 5:05pm - 7:05pm (SAST)
Cape Town 7:10pm - 9:10pm (SAST)
Perth 8:35am - 10:35am (SAST)
Hamilton 9:35am - 11:35am (SAST)
Wellington 7:30am - 9:30am (SAST)
Auckland 9:35am - 11:35am (SAST)
Canberra 11:40am - 1:40pm (SAST)
Perth 1:40pm - 3:40pm (SAST)
Durban 7:10pm - 9:10pm (SAST)
Melbourne 11:40am - 1:40pm (SAST)
Sydney 11:40am - 1:40pm (SAST)
Johannesburg 5:05pm - 7:05pm (SAST)
Pretoria 7:10pm - 9:10pm (SAST)
Dunedin 9:35am - 11:35am (SAST)
Perth 11:40am - 1:40pm (SAST)
Cape Town 5:05pm - 7:05pm (SAST)
Bloemfontein 3:00pm - 5:00pm (SAST)
Wellington 9:35am - 11:35am (SAST)
Canberra 7:30am - 9:30am (SAST)
Cape Town 3:00pm - 5:00pm (SAST)
Durban 5:05pm - 7:05pm (SAST)
TBC
TBC
TBC
TBC
TBC
16 May 2012
Tusi Pisi will start at flyhalf for the Hurricanes as coach Mark Hammett has opted to hand premier pivot Beauden Barrett a break. Brad Shields is also promoted to the starting line-up and will replace Faifili Levave at blindside flank. The Hurricanes will host the Brumbies in Wellington on Friday. Hurricanes - 15 Andre Taylor, 14 Cory Jane, 13 Conrad Smith (c), 12 Tim Bateman, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Tusi Pisi, 9 TJ Perenara, 8 Victor Vito, 7 Karl Lowe, 6 Brad Shields, 5 Jason Eaton, 4 Jeremy Thrush, 3 Ben May, 2 Dane Coles, 1 Reggie Goodes. Subs: 16 Motu Matu'u, 17 Jeffery Toomaga-Allen, ... Read Article13 Mar 2012
The white card citing system that has been introduced in the Super Rugby competition could be implemented in the Rugby Championship later this year. Sanzar CEO Greg Peters recently met with the IRB in London to discuss various issues around independent rule changes. The Sydney Morning Herald reports that Peters is pushing to have the white card system implemented in the inaugural Rugby Championship when the tournament kicks off in August. Peters told the newspaper that one of the aims of the conference in London was 'to look for flexibility for tournament organisers to arrange processes ... Read Article17 Mar 2012
Wales beat France 16-9 in Cardiff to claim their third Grand Slam in eight years and avenge their World Cup semi-final defeat. The Dragons now have 11 Grand Slams in total, just one less than arch-rivals England, and you wouldn't bet against them adding a couple more in the near future. Warren Gatland's side may be Six Nations champions but they can, and should, get better. France, in contrast, are in a downward spiral having finished their campaign with a draw and two defeats, and coach Philippe Saint-Andre has a lot of work to do. The French made a good start to this game and deservedly ... Read Article14 May 2012
GARETH DUNCAN looks at the Saffas who impressed in the leagues around the world over the weekend. The Ospreys picked up the big result in the Pro12 semi-finals over the weekend as they surged to a 45-10 victory to dethrone defending champions Munster, who had front rowers Wian du Preez and BJ Botha in their starting line-up. While flyhalf Dan Biggar was the star for the victors with an individual tally of 25 points, Krugersdorp-born wing Hanno Dirksen scored his second try in successive weeks as he dotted down in a convincing second-half display. The Ospreys led 25-10 at half-time before ... Read Article9 Apr 2012
GARETH DUNCAN watched Tuks rally to a 29-21 win over Maties in the 2012 Varsity Cup final in Pretoria. Forget the mixed reactions to the new scoring system and the late controversy following the team selection scandal, this final was a great advert for the Varsity Cup: rugby that rocks. Tuks clinched their first title as they beat three-time champions Maties in an epic finish to the year. It was a ferocious, physical battle between the two teams, especially up front among the forwards. The tackle points and rucks resembled a war zone as players put their bodies on the line to give their troops ... Read Article13 May 2012
The Springbok Sevens were beaten 19-17 by England in the Plate semi-finals on day two of the London Sevens. The Blitzboks led 17-15 against England as the final hooter sounded, and looked like advancing to the Plate title-decider. However, a poor defensive effort at the death saw Bishops old boy Mat Turner run away for the match-winning score - a move that was created from behind their own tryline. It was closely-contested match as South Africa led 10-5 at half-time. A Cornal Hendricks brace kept Blitzboks ahead as England crossed the chalk via Tom Powell. Sam Edgerly gave the hosts the ... Read Article11 May 2012
Griquas delivered a physically dominant performance to progress to the Vodacom Cup final with a 30-17 victory over the Blue Bulls. Griquas came into this match favoured to oust a young Bulls side and delivered on that expectation, their victory built on excellent defence that featured a brutal gainline contest. The Bulls could never settle into an attacking groove with their recycle stifled and Griquas' defensive line able to set. Griquas will face the winner of Saturday's other semi-final between Western Province and the Pumas in Kimberley next weekend. Former Bulls players Rocco Jansen, ... Read Article16 May 2012
The start of the 2015 World Cup will be moved back a fortnight so that the Rugby Championship is not disrupted. According to reports in England, the Rugby Football Union had been pressing for a 4 September start to the tournament. This would, however, conflict with the southern hemisphere showpiece, and the four Test teams involved were hoping the World Cup will start later on 25 September. The International Rugby Board met on Tuesday to discuss the matter, and a compromise was reached. The 2015 global tournament will start on 18 September. The IRB also discussed the way the income of ... Read Article9 Jan 2008
Peter de Villiers has been named the new Bok coach.
Dunedin 7:30am - 9:30am (SAST)
Cape Town 7:10pm - 9:10pm (SAST)
Perth 8:35am - 10:35am (SAST)
Wellington 7:30am - 9:30am (SAST)
Canberra 11:40am - 1:40pm (SAST)
Perth 1:40pm - 3:40pm (SAST)
Melbourne 11:40am - 1:40pm (SAST)
Dunedin 9:35am - 11:35am (SAST)
Perth 11:40am - 1:40pm (SAST)
Cape Town 5:05pm - 7:05pm (SAST)
Bloemfontein 3:00pm - 5:00pm (SAST)
Canberra 7:30am - 9:30am (SAST)
Cape Town 3:00pm - 5:00pm (SAST)
Durban 5:05pm - 7:05pm (SAST)
TBC
TBC
TBC
TBC
TBC
Patrick has written 15 articles.
22 Nov 2008
15 Nov 2008
The Waratahs have made a string of changes for their clash with the Stormers at Newlands on Saturday. Read More
Frans Steyn will be given the opportunity to take ownership of the Springbok No 12 jersey upon his return to South Africa. Read More
The start of the 2015 World Cup will be moved back a fortnight so that the Rugby Championship is not disrupted. Read More
The Springbok Sevens were beaten 19-17 by England in the Plate semi-finals on day two of the London Sevens. Read More
Wales beat France 16-9 in Cardiff to claim their third Grand Slam in eight years and avenge their World Cup semi-final defeat. Read More
The white card citing system that has been introduced in the Super Rugby competition could be implemented in the Rugby Championship later this year. Read More
Terms and conditions of use | keo.co.za is the online partner to SA Rugby Magazine.
Copyright 2011 Keo.co.za. All Rights Reserved. HSM Site.
109 Comments
9 Jan 2008, 13:51 pm
No real surprise there.
9 Jan 2008, 13:51 pm
de villiers the dragon
9 Jan 2008, 13:52 pm
oh goodness
9 Jan 2008, 13:53 pm
No way!
9 Jan 2008, 13:54 pm
And there goes the site…
9 Jan 2008, 13:55 pm
Well done, I think it is the correct choice.
I wonder what is to become of Meyer…
9 Jan 2008, 13:56 pm
Poor Meyer, the Best Coach WASNT appointed!
9 Jan 2008, 13:58 pm
9 Jan 2008, 14:00 pm
Mr Meyer is now without a job.
9 Jan 2008, 14:01 pm
Oepsie.
Een swart roukleed oor Pretoorsdorp.
En wat word nou van HM?
9 Jan 2008, 14:01 pm
Good luck to the man. I sincerely wish him all of the best in his new position. May it be a success.
9 Jan 2008, 14:04 pm
What bothers me is that almost no players backed him above Heyneke. You need the support of the players.
9 Jan 2008, 14:08 pm
The obvious choice. I reiterate, the obvious choice, not the best choice.
Well done Pieter De Villiers, like Jake White you will have my full support.
9 Jan 2008, 14:08 pm
Ek sal nou maar se…geluk…en ek hoop regtig hy sal die spelers sal saam met hom staan…..ons gaan in n donker tyd in nou…..die eerste springbok span gaan n groot skok wees……ek sal die man ondersteen vir nou…en kyk wat gebeur…..
9 Jan 2008, 14:12 pm
Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!
9 Jan 2008, 14:15 pm
Good luck to De Villiers. He has shown himself to be a good coach at various levels. I hope that he is able to take the step up and that he will be allowed to do his job.
Hopefully the whole race/quota issue about player selection can now be put to rest.
9 Jan 2008, 14:16 pm
Hallelujah!!! Praise the Lord!
9 Jan 2008, 14:16 pm
Now is also the time to get rid of the Springbok and appoint a black captain because from now on politics will rule SA rugby
9 Jan 2008, 14:18 pm
What a disaster
9 Jan 2008, 14:19 pm
Not a bad choice. Peter is a fan of John Smit and will probably still serve as Bok captain. Heyneke would have made the Bulls all Boks!
9 Jan 2008, 14:26 pm
# 20: Most of the Bulls are Boks, silly
9 Jan 2008, 14:35 pm
Congrats to Peter, a rugby man through and through – but I fear we will read many theories and articles that will turn the public against him before he even started.
9 Jan 2008, 14:37 pm
How many of the 250+ players polled by SARPA were actually coached by Meyer over the last 3 years? How many are able to use their own experience to compare Meyer with PdV? Since most of the SARPA players are white/Afrikaner, it’s not surprising that they would go with someone they can identify with, or who has a playing philosophy that accommodates their own comfort zone (or allays their fears of average white players losing out to black players).
It’s ridiculous that players should have a say in who the coach should be. Obviously they will choose someone who will not pose a threat to their chances of being selected. The selection of the coach should be based on not only his technical ability/competence, but also his playing philosophy and whether SARU believes this will promote the development of rugby excellence in the country and internationally.
Nick Mallett went from coaching Boland to coaching the Springboks, and Jake also made the jump. Viljoen and Straueli coached Super 12, and how successful were they?
Success depends on the players picked by the coach. A bad team with a good coach will fail, e.g., Cats under Lane. A good team with a bad/average coach can still succeed, e.g., England.
9 Jan 2008, 14:40 pm
Ah, now we will have two All Black teams again.
9 Jan 2008, 14:41 pm
gutted
9 Jan 2008, 14:41 pm
a day of mourning in pretoria tomorrow..don’t worry guys, HM will get his chance one day, unless he buggers off to australia
9 Jan 2008, 14:48 pm
i just want to see the best man for the job. Is that to much to ask?
Oz know it! and South Africa are still on the train ride to la la land.
Good luck PDV. I hope you bring the boks and SA Glory. But me thinks that you have bitten off more than you can chew.
9 Jan 2008, 14:57 pm
PissAnt
Every post of yours is so objective and seems as if its based on a sound frame of reference.
As a matter of interest what SA team are you a supporter of?
Me think de Villiers will de liver!!!!
9 Jan 2008, 14:57 pm
Not a bad call – how about HM as forwards coach and PdeV as head coach???
At least it spares us from having Heyneke’s liefling Derick Blerrie Hougaard as the Bok flyhalf!! And we’ll also be (hopefully) spared from all those other Bulls ***** like JP Nel and Pedrie Wannenburg.
9 Jan 2008, 14:58 pm
What does this mean for the transformation business? Full steam ahead?
By transformation I don’t mean developement, I mean quotas at Springbok level.
9 Jan 2008, 15:01 pm
HenriF,
One of the more sensible posts on this thread, thank you. Your comments on Mallett/White versus Straeuli/Viljoen are particularly apt.
But how you can call England a good team … No, my friend, no, no, no. An excellent example of a good team under a bad coach would be the Lions under Ludeke.
9 Jan 2008, 15:11 pm
Good decision. We are the champs, time to force this Transformation issue so we can move on…
9 Jan 2008, 15:12 pm
Windhoek,
A team is more than the individual players. Eloff has welded together a good Lions team, which Ludeke couldn’t do. The good players in the Springbok team only started delivering AS A TEAM in 2007, and we praise the coach for what the PLAYERS did on the field.
9 Jan 2008, 15:21 pm
Congrats Peter de Villiers!!!
Go do what Jake couldn’t…beat the All Blacks in their backyard.
Heyneke, shame,maybe next time.
Alistair, you a k@k coach,
Chester, get that stalker business sorted and you maybe in with a shot in 4 years.
9 Jan 2008, 15:29 pm
Great News
9 Jan 2008, 15:29 pm
Well I truly hope that Peter de Villiers can get the players on his side and instill some belief into them that he is indeed the man for the job.
Peter de Villiers you weren’t my first choice but for now you have my full support.
9 Jan 2008, 15:40 pm
Liewe bliksem, maar dit is vir my en my GROOT vriend Cousin n moerse verrassing!!!!! Ek en hy was al twee grootbek en het gese HM gaan die coach wees.
Een ding is verseker dat die nie die spelers of die supporters se keuse is nie, maar die PC se keuse. Ek dink hulle is donners mal!!!!
Soos ek van die begin af gese het ek sal saam PdV staan en hoop nie hy f*k dit op nie… Hy gaan verseker hulle pupit on a string wees!!!!
9 Jan 2008, 15:42 pm
When does he announce his support team?
9 Jan 2008, 15:46 pm
Look I don’t know much about PdV but from what I’ve heard he couldn’t be that bad.
In any case I think whatever coach is picked for the boks he or she will be will be criticised by the public in general as soon as the first loss to Aus.
On the other hand it could be exciting times ahead for Bok rugby.Just think about it for awhile. What if you can field after two years or so the best black and white players SA could deliver in one team. Is it not what everybody hopes for?
One thing is for sure players of colour will be given more chances and also more time to grow before it is decided they are not good enough for the boks and good white players will still be picked.
I for sure look forward to the next few years of rugby.
9 Jan 2008, 15:47 pm
Spot On Bagel I agree
9 Jan 2008, 15:50 pm
So what do the like of Victor Matfield and co do now???
9 Jan 2008, 15:54 pm
Dank Vader dis nie Chester wat gewen het nie…
9 Jan 2008, 16:02 pm
Henri F, I couldn’t agree more. Let’s give the guy our support. He can’t be worse than Straueli.
Werk die mense in Namibie nie?
Ons het vandag ‘n Windhoek Lager en ‘n Namblack op die site
Mr De Villiers has got my full support.
9 Jan 2008, 16:08 pm
Congrats to de Villiers. Pity he is not “white” but you have to live with that,ok you moaners ?Be fair please.
Maybe now we can beat NZ more than Jake`s 33% win ratio by playing exciting rugby.
The BOKS play the game not Peter.Anyone has a season ticket for me ?
Jake worked under de Villiers at age group level,so that tell us something about his mentoring skills. Viva bokke viva.
9 Jan 2008, 16:08 pm
Congrat Mr De Villiers. You are the best man to take our rugby forward. HM is a great coach also. We had 2 outstanding candidates and that is a good sign of the strength of our rugby
9 Jan 2008, 16:09 pm
I told you guys Peter de Villiers would be the coach.
I’ve known since Monday evening, hehe.
Does this mean Victor Matfield’s not coming back?
9 Jan 2008, 16:10 pm
Sorry, I mean Tuesday evening.
9 Jan 2008, 16:10 pm
All of you lot who don’t think its a good decision – why? This guy was coach of the Baby Bok U21 team that won the world Champs in 2005 and were runners up in 06. And he won an IRB tournament in Romania last year with the Emerging Springboks. His CV is as good – if not better – than Jake’s. But no one doubted Jake at the beginning.
So why? Is it because he is black and you simply can’t believe that a black person can do a job, ANY job, as well as a white person?
There really is no other reason to doubt De Villiers. He has shown he can do it. Can you see beyond your prejudices?
9 Jan 2008, 16:12 pm
Pieter, Pieter jy het dit gedoen ou maat. Die snoek loop nie verniet dik innie Kaap in nie. Glo nie hy kan so vrot doen soos Jake in sy 2 middelste jare van bokafrigting. Hy was n kans gegee en het ons almal vekeerd bewys. So shut the *** up. Ek se almal se moere behalwe Pieter s,n totdat hy ons wys hoe lyk sy eerste spankeuse.
9 Jan 2008, 16:12 pm
I would still support the Boks if they made Zet head coach, but that doesn’t mean I particularly agree with the appointment.
9 Jan 2008, 16:13 pm
I think PDV will do well.
Himself like White both have experience at U19/21 where there were alot of players of colour. It seems to help them in the long run. Atleast he seems to think like White, which is a good starting point.
Whatever people think, we are still in the White era and it would be good for Bok rugby to keep it going as long as possible
9 Jan 2008, 16:17 pm
WPTID.
It will be interesting to hear the reaction of Matfield and the like, in light of this decision.
My guess is he’ll backtrack when he realises how petulant his statement was.
The damage has, however, been done.
9 Jan 2008, 16:19 pm
joulekkading,
Ja, that’s true, PdV has a CV very similar to that of Jake.
But some of the reasons why the decision is criticised are:
1. Jake took over from Straeuli – any change would have been a change for the better.
2. PdV is taking over from a the coach that won the RWC. Them’s big shoes to fill
3. When Jake was picked, he was the best of a (relatively) bad bunch. PdV was chosen above Meyer who has proven himself at every level.
But, hey, I think PdV is a good choice. He has my full support (which I’m sure is a really comforting thought for him
).
9 Jan 2008, 16:20 pm
Why’s this thread growing so slowly? IO would’ve put money on it reaching a 1000 comments before 18h00…
9 Jan 2008, 16:22 pm
Henri F (#33)
Agreed mate, the sum of a good team is greater than the parts. That’s why I said that the Lions under Ludeke were a good team with a bad coach.
9 Jan 2008, 16:26 pm
Good decision, with the added bonus that it will hilariously rile the verkramptes.
9 Jan 2008, 16:27 pm
This is a positive move. I have no doubt that if Heyneke Meyer became coach we’d see Hougaard and the like in a Springbok jersey sooner rather than later.
Pieter De Villiers has an excellent track record, there’s no reason he can’t continue in that vain, his teams play expansive exciting rugby and that’s exactly what the boks need, not 10 man bulls rugby.
Windhoek.Lager – I reckon the reason for the slow post is suicide on mass as the news broke.
9 Jan 2008, 16:30 pm
Clanerk
Can you imagine the amount of brandy being downed in Pretoria right now?
Tacitus has swum out to the deep sea in grief.
9 Jan 2008, 16:31 pm
De Villiers, who has been given an initial two-year contract, told reporters that colour would be irrelevant when it came to selection.
“The fact that I am the first black coach must end now,” he said.
“Players out there must understand they will all stand an equal chance… If they are good enough, talented enough and work hard enough they will be part of the squad.”
Sounds good to me.
9 Jan 2008, 16:31 pm
i for one am more than happy with the new man. now the politicians will have no ammo on the race issue and us supporters can get back to just enjoying the game. i am hopeful that pieter will still keep the winning culture going. if not, i will of course change my tune
9 Jan 2008, 16:32 pm
Don’t forget that PdV has coached all the young ous in 2004,2005,2006 – those are the ous are will make the Bok team in the years to come. Just like Jake who knew what he had in Schalk, Fourie, Juan, JdV, etc after he coached them in U21 level, de villiers will have the same – he’ll know who the young stars of the last few years are and they will know him and they’ll be familiar with his coaching style. If the older ous don’t like the choice in coach, tough tekkie… adapt or go play your rugby in France.
9 Jan 2008, 16:33 pm
Hall to all of you Pretoria buggers, its ain’t gonna be the forward bashing for Boks, despite winning rugby, Bulls played KAK, just like the Boks.
The next big news is when LUKE WATSON IS MADE CAPTAIN.
When Jake made John Smit captain from day 1, we all grumble until they won the World Cup.
Grumble all of you that are against LUKE WATSON but you will be disappointed like many of us were, when SMIT started playing in his fourth year of being captain.
Aluta to MERIT and TRANFORMATION combined.
9 Jan 2008, 16:36 pm
WP Till I Die – I reckon all employees at the Klippies factory are in for some hectic overtime.
They’ll be fine. All I hope is that he’s given a fair chance by all the supporters, he’s a good coach, no doubt about it and the fact that he’s got no allegiance to any one union is a bonus.
9 Jan 2008, 16:37 pm
Sir Watson sounds as senile as NamBlack (post RWC)
9 Jan 2008, 16:40 pm
…and then there is Aus waiting for the boks with Robbie as their coach…
sigh!
9 Jan 2008, 16:40 pm
Apologies NamBlack, I meant pre world cup.
9 Jan 2008, 16:41 pm
Sir Watson
Jy gaan lank wag vir Luke.
PdeV praat al klaar anders, lees die ander thread.
Luke sal eers sy plek in WP moet herwin.
9 Jan 2008, 16:41 pm
Dead happy with PdV. Very exciting appointment. Sir Watson, if PdV appoints LW as his captain, I’ll be extremely disappointed. 1. Because he is not captain material. 2. He is too young. 3. He wont have many of the players’ respect. That’s enough to predict certain failure IMO.
9 Jan 2008, 16:45 pm
Hallo RedMan,
Just to think that nothing has really changed:
Namblack stil depressed post RWC.
Boks still AB`s ******* between WC`s.
Saffas still the moer in about their coach.
HiHiHiHi
9 Jan 2008, 16:48 pm
Thank you RedMan for allowing me the banter.
9 Jan 2008, 16:48 pm
To the Heineken fan Club
Anger, disappointment and dissatisfaction can build up to boiling point and reach a stage where one cannot handle the pressure anymore so they either commit suicide or murder their nearest and dearest or drink ‘Brannewynâ€
Please act responsible!
9 Jan 2008, 16:52 pm
I think most (75%) SA rugby supporters will support PdV for a start at least.
After that they have a right to call for his head in case he did not perform.
But he must be given a fair chance to biuld a good team, at least 2 years.
9 Jan 2008, 16:54 pm
Totsiens eers.
PdV is a good coach. He will have the good sense to know that his first task is to win. Second priority will be to transform. If he were to consider doing it the other way round, he’s going to fail badly. And the supporters, primarily conservative and afrikaans but not exclusively, will find something else to do(with their wallets). And not quietly. There will be a lot of outpouring and gnashing of teeth(those that still have them). That’s the reality. There will be no prisoners taken. No I think we are going to see a lot more of Skalla, FS, FDP, JS, Bakkies, Matfield, Jean etc etc. Don’t sweat boys.
“they either commit suicide or murder their nearest and dearest or drink ‘Brannewynâ€
Please act responsible!”
But if you just can’t find it in you to act responsibly, please don’t engage in numbers two and three in that list.
9 Jan 2008, 17:03 pm
I have this hope that PdV does a Jake White and finds us another Bryan Habs or three. They are out there and I’m pretty sure a few have crossed his bows at junior level. He’s been looking after the nursery for the past few years. No better qualifications to judge young talent. Ask Jake?
9 Jan 2008, 17:04 pm
yes! yes! yes!
Hard luck to HM, good coach but I’m extatic for De Villiers. I’m really looking forward to the year ahead. I just hope the Media could just lay off him and let him do what he wants. At least they need to give the guy about 2-3 years for the guy to plan. (there should be no excuses though. There should be experimentation without going to the lows of Viljoen or England)
9 Jan 2008, 17:04 pm
Sir Watson, wat is jou probleem seun? i’m from pta and i have zero issue with the new coach.
but may the rugby gods help us if luke is made captain. he has such a ‘moer my’ gesig. eish.
9 Jan 2008, 17:09 pm
Mshiniwami,mshiniwami,mshiniwami-awuleth’ UMSHINI WAMI!!!!!!
Hard luck for Heyneke but I really think this is a watershed moment for SA..Greater things to come!!!!
Congrats Pieter!!!
9 Jan 2008, 17:15 pm
Jislaaik mshiniwami, if the new black coach doesn’t give the boere a heart attack, your post surely will!!!
And if it didn’t work the first time, allow me…
Mshiniwami, mshiniwami, mshiniwami-awuleth’ UMSHINI WAMI!
9 Jan 2008, 17:20 pm
kleilat, kleilat, kleilat, kry my blerrie kleilat!!!
9 Jan 2008, 17:29 pm
#82 LOL!
Mshiniwami, mshiniwami, mshiniwami-awuleth’ UMSHINI WAMI!
9 Jan 2008, 17:42 pm
Let’s see what happens after the hype.
I think PdeV will be good, at least he is from the Cape!
The home of good rugby players….
9 Jan 2008, 17:44 pm
joulekkeding #82
Wie is die ‘boere’ wat jy van praat?
Of praat jy kuk?
9 Jan 2008, 17:51 pm
joulekkeding,
wie is die boere?
Dit beteken nie as jy afrikaans en wit is….dat jy nou nie saam stem met wat gebeer het vandag nie……mater dit is manne so jy wat kuk maak op die site…..
Ek het nie n probleem nie….die man moet ons wys wat in hom steek….dan praat ons weer….soos eenige ander voor hom…sal hy van my **** as hy kuk maak…simple…….hy is die bok coach…..hy doen die job reg…of hy moet gaan!!
9 Jan 2008, 17:54 pm
Steyn
Soos jy se, sy soort wil oor alles toy-toy.
Mens sal sweer PdeV is swart en het in Polokwane vir die ANC n oorwinning behaal, soos hy met sy goedkoop gesange oor masjiengeweeerliedjies verkondig.
Ons kan doen sonder daai soort in die nuwe SA, arme drommels.
9 Jan 2008, 17:56 pm
Piet my maat,
net so…dit is manne soos hy…wat maak dat die land nooit sal verander nie…..grou so aan n man se gat…en ons “boere” lyk nie van grou aan die gat nie.
9 Jan 2008, 18:01 pm
#85 Thats the spirit Pietman, now tell your crew to be less emotional on the issue and support the man. At least he’s better that some of the recent Bok appointments. He’s no Viljoen.
9 Jan 2008, 18:07 pm
I’m quite chuffed by the appointment of Peter de Villiers. What amuses me though, is how odogg and mshiniwami and 16 inch black have suddenly appeared back on keo for some reason…
9 Jan 2008, 18:09 pm
16 inch
My crew sopports the man.
I said so before his appointment.
Tell your crew to back off the ‘Boere ‘ jibe bro, please, it is uncalled for.
This is not a Boer/Black contest, the one between Heyneke and Pieter.
Ffsakes, Pieter is not even black and Heyneke doesn’t have a farm, so where does this ‘joulekkeding’s’ boere nonsense come from all of a sudden?
9 Jan 2008, 18:11 pm
Wp
I wonder the same thing…..man…back in a flash….just to start the **** again…..funny….for then it is like they won a slice of the war………..
9 Jan 2008, 18:12 pm
But that is me….work to do…and want to go home before the sun comes up.
cheers People
9 Jan 2008, 18:13 pm
WPTID
You called it a week ago.
He is the best man for the job, in our current situation.
If not he, I would have gone for AC.
Heyneke is too soft for this job, given the SA sport/politico scene.
P de V is a fighter and a winner, and he won’t be stuffed around by the likes of Stofile, believe me. He won’t coach a losing team.
9 Jan 2008, 18:43 pm
Pietman
I agree. P de V is a real brawler, a tough-as-nails Paarliet who doesn’t take any sort of sh*t.
The best man under the circumstances.
Also, can you imagine how his appointment is now going to inspire the local Cape Town coloured leagues to perform? They now have a hero to look up to. I have always said that a lot of our Springbok stars of the future will come from the Plain and the rest of the Flats.
9 Jan 2008, 19:18 pm
Congrats to PdV, as the last sentence in Jake’s book says . . . “Good Luck, you’re going to need it.
9 Jan 2008, 19:58 pm
joulekkading
The boere lived 100 years ago broer. Maybe you should go and look for a new laager. Try Orania
9 Jan 2008, 20:41 pm
PdV has my full support. He has shown himself to be astute in rugby analysis and coaching in winning the baby world cups, and his CV is impressive. When he was the coach of the Falcons, they were a bigger force than they ever were before (lets face it thy were never going to be CC winners). I reckon he would have been a good coach for the S spears too (if he had a chance to).
Matfield has said that he will play under PdV, and I reckon they are all professional enough to support the new coach.
While his techincal skills are good, I just hope that his man- management skills are good enough to make eveybody feel included and looked after. After all, professional rugby is more sensitive to things like this, because it is after all their livelihoods that you are dealing with not just a game (as it is in the U19′s).
9 Jan 2008, 20:50 pm
Clanerk #61
hallelujah to that!! The man sounds like he is no-one’s puppet, and that he is about performance. No boubt the PC will try and get their own agenda’s in, but maybe Pieter can take Jake’s number, and give im a call for advice when the politics start getting too hectic.
Its just a matter of time before Markgraaf makes his way back onto the scene…
9 Jan 2008, 22:11 pm
Kwaggies,
For the record I support WP from time to time…
For what its worth.
9 Jan 2008, 22:22 pm
I’ve got nothing against pieter, but yet i am a bit disappointed for meyer, he deserved a shot, De Villiers hasnt really coached top flight rugby yet(super14). However I think South africans need to get behind the bok coach and give him till NZ in 2011
9 Jan 2008, 23:44 pm
TASSIES #70,
He’s not captaincy material?
What qualifies you to make that statement (apart from personal dislike)?
10 Jan 2008, 00:12 am
A good decision that will, hopefully, lead to a brand of exciting, winning rugby from the Springboks.
And God knows we have the talent to play that sort of rugby.
Peter de Villiers and HM were the only real contenders and in PdV, we have chosen someone who can take us forward in style.
It will be a tough road, no doubt, but let’s all get behind him and give him our full support – until he appoints Watermelon Man as the national skipper!!!
Naaah, Peter’s too astute to do that.
10 Jan 2008, 00:23 am
He may just do it too JM then lets see who stands by him.
10 Jan 2008, 03:54 am
WPW (5),
And there goes the world champion boks.
Enjoy the ride on the gravy train pal.
10 Jan 2008, 07:55 am
Please, get over yourselves! De Villiers has led junior Springbok teams to victory and this is the natural next step up.
Meyer has won a few Currie Cups and a Super 14 – perhaps he needs to get involved in a few U19 or U21 Springbok teams first and work his way up.
Jake started at those levels and won SA the World Cup in 2007! The winning recipe was that he had worked with the boys as juniors so taking the position as Springbok coach was made easier by the faact that he knew most of the young guys and brought them through the system. De Villiers will do the same.
10 Jan 2008, 08:57 am
Sorry, ous. Didn’t mean to offend with my boere comment – was referring to racist Afrikaners (and other white South Africans) who can’t accept the changes in SA and not to Afrikaners in general, many of who have embraced our new democracy and new realities.
I’m all about reconciliation and moving forward as a nation and I accept that my comment undermined that. I do get mad at some of the comments made on this site… and so sometimes I feel the need to ***** slap those racists back.
Anyway, this Soutie says sorry!
10 Jan 2008, 22:00 pm
Just don’t pick Luke Watson …. then I am fine with this.