Bulls burnt as Chiliboy crashes

The Bulls’ already worrying injury situation was compounded yesterday when Chiliboy Ralepelle left training having injured the same knee that has kept him sidelined for nine months.

Ralepelle tore his cruciate knee ligament early in last year’s Super 14 and hasn’t played since. With Gary Botha’s departure for the London-based Harlequins, Ralepelle was expected to be the first-choice hooker.

Derick Kuün filled the role in the Currie Cup but his stint only reinforced the widely held view that he would be better suited to the flank, where he starred for the SA U21s. James van der Walt, signed from the Lions last year, has hardly had any game time in either the Currie Cup or Super 14 and would be a risky option for the Bulls.

Bulls team doctor Tommie Smook played down concerns about Ralepelle saying he would be out for around two weeks.

“It looks like a medial ligament and not the cruciate that he tore last year, but I’ll have to wait until the swelling subsides to know for sure,” Smook told keo.co.za. “If that’s the case we’re talking a few weeks out of the game, not months.”

Bulls coach Frans Ludeke will be concerned at how many of his key players are injured just three weeks from the start of the Super 14. Already Bakkies Botha and Gurthro Steenkamp are almost certain to miss start of the tournament, while Pierre Spies’ availability depends on the result of tests that will conducted at the end of January.

“They’ll do a few blood tests and scans to reconfirm that their is no longer a problem with Pierre,” Smook said of the Springbok loose forward who, in August last year, was diagnosed with blood clots on his lungs.

“From there the specialist will decide whether he requires further treatment on the blood thinning medication or whether he is fit to play. If he doesn’t get a clean bill of health there he’ll have another round of tests at the end of February, and I’m optimistic that those tests will show he has recovered.”

576 Comments

• 1.Steyn The Blue Bull: Reply to this comment

it does not look to bad.

Lets hope it stays that way.

We need him…if Kuun gets the job…we in kuk

• 2.odogg: Reply to this comment

with the new laws, I think Chilliboy was going to be one of the stars of this years S14

• 3.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

never talk up any player..Chillyboy is like 5 yrs away from reachimg his peak and living up to his hype.

sad he is down but he will not be a great loss.

• 4.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

#3 True but to reach his peak he needs gametime!!!

• 5.Loosehead: Reply to this comment

The Bulls are in trouble.

• 6.odogg: Reply to this comment

Okay G13, what of 21 yr old Spies

• 7.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Given who you have left to take up his position gerber, I reckon it would be quite a loss. That Kuun fellow hardly inspires confidence.

• 8.puff: Reply to this comment

Bulls have a mountain to climb with all these disruptions.

Sadly, Chilli’s turning ioto a sick-note ala Chavhanga. Fantastic potential, but never fit enough to build up any momentum…

• 9.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

#7 Kuun is not a good hooker!!!! but boy he is a good loosie

• 10.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

That did not come out right hehehehehe

• 11.ruck: Reply to this comment

#3 – Dear Lord, I’m unsure as to whether I should pray for Greatest, or just leave his soul to rot in the cesspit……God, please give me a sign as to what I should do??

#5 – They’ve lost their cheerleader Steve….I think that bothers the faithful more than the loss of a great player such as Chilliboy….Go figure!

• 12.Knersboy: Reply to this comment

i vote cesspit!

• 13.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

E,

I thought he was average at best in the CC in 2007, and his captaincy even worse.

Reminds me of that hooker WP used to have a couple of years back, Morne van Wyk I believe.

• 14.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

Hi there Ruck

Yippeeeeeee the bulls fan bashing can once again commence for a change!!!!

• 15.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

#13 Yes PA I agree but he was forced to play out of position and to captain……when he plays his postion he is brilliant

• 16.Loosehead: Reply to this comment

No Meyer, no Matfield, no hooker, an ever more injury prone Bakkies, Spies with a cloud surrounding him, no #12 centre and JP Nel at 13. It might just be a long season for the Bulls.

• 17.Dawn: Reply to this comment

There goes gerber again.

Blah blah blah whine whine whinge whinge.

gerber just admit it. He’s too black for your liking.

• 18.odogg: Reply to this comment

true Dawn. Hi, and compliments of the new year.

• 19.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

#17 Dawn just so you know………..not all Bulls fans have a problem with colour!!! In fact the majority don’t have, and this is not solely a bulls occurrence, unfortunately it is country wide, but of course, as all things bulls, it is apparantly just the bulls supporters!!!! My fave vodacom and CC player is John Mametsa!!!!!

• 20.rangerman: Reply to this comment

in greatests defence, we havent seen enough of chiliboy to really justify the hype.
    good player and definately talented enough but injury prone. damn and damn again.
    kinda reminds me of butch and his famous knees!

• 21.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

Before 1994 we shouted “white power” !
    After 1994 the ANC shouted “black power” !
    At last we can all shout together no “NO POWER” !

• 22.rangerman: Reply to this comment

lol trip
    no shouting for me. i am saving my vocal chords for the S14!

• 23.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

LOL #22

Cant wait, wish all the SA teams can feature this season!!!!! I love it love it love it!!!!! as long as the convicts’ teams dont feature!!!!!

• 24.rangerman: Reply to this comment

ja trip
    hope the convicts crash and burn. but we can be sure they will exploit these new laws, just hope our thinkers do the same. not too sure about ludekes ability to exploit anything but his contacts but time will tell and good luck to the man! (and thats from a wounded sharks supporter, still trying to mend my heart after the S14 final!)

• 25.Isigidi: Reply to this comment

Wonder what Escom has in mind during S14 time for power at the stadiums. I can also hear the construction PTY’s blaming escom for not finishing the stadiums.
    Wonder if the current stadiums can run from a generator(s)?

• 26.Isigidi: Reply to this comment

2010 soccer stadiums that is.

• 27.rangerman: Reply to this comment

isigidi
    morning to you.

everyone is buying gennies. all the stadiums will have one by now i am sure. what concerns me is the power going off when i am in front of the tv and the sharks are leading the crusaders by 2 pts in the final minute with the crusaders on all out attack!
    well, then again, the sharks will probably lose anyway so why worry?

• 28.Martin: Reply to this comment

i think chilli is faking. he got fed up with ludecrous’s mad mumbling and has decided he wants out of the bulls set-up hehe

• 29.Loosehead: Reply to this comment

Martin, you may not be too far off.

• 30.BHUPENDRA DU SOLANKY: Reply to this comment

Bulls to be wooden spooners in 2008

• 31.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

Is it true that Justin Marshall hit Chilliboy on the knee with a baseball bat?

• 32.Steyn The Blue Bull: Reply to this comment

Bhupendra.

Turn you log point shedule the right way around!!!

No wonder you support the team you do….you keep on seeing them at the top of the log every year.

Come buddy you can do better then that!

• 33.Bullsmaakseer: Reply to this comment

All anti-Bull supporters are powerless, their comments like Stormer dust in the wind….why? Because the Bulls are the SUPER 14 CHAMPS. Until any other SA team matches this feat….respect the Bulls. After all, we read these same old comments year after year….

We will FOREVER be the first SA team to have ever won the SUP14. Deal with it.

GO with the Blou.

• 34.odogg: Reply to this comment

33, maybe your arrogrance and graceless ways is what makes the rest of the country not like you

• 35.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

33. There are a few NZ sides who cannot wait to show who the actual S14 champs are. No 2nd NZ teams playing this year buddy, so a S14 title would actually be worth something, not kinda hollow like a Bulls supporters head.

• 36.ruck: Reply to this comment

EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE – Am I the only Bulls basher that strolls the hallowed halls of Keo??? It seems that in my absence an even harsher form of Bulls Breakdown-dancing takes place……Look, all you need to get most of us going is G13G. Hell, even Bhupendra, who is in Australia, is calling the Bulls wooden spooners……I don’t hate the Bulls, I am irritated by the karavaan/ratkas mindset that seems to dovetail Bulls support,IN GENERAL that is…You, Kwagga, Staal, Bluebarb and a few others are the EXCEPTION, unfortunately the rest are the RULE……..

• 37.Bod: Reply to this comment

I await the 16th Feb with anticipation… this mob do not look very convincing at all

A Bulls thread without GBS, Tacitus and Cousin seems a bit lame… time for the green card Ignatious (or Ignatious’ shadow)

• 38.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

This is a moerse set-back. Lets hope its not too serious.

True to form I see Dawn pulled the race card again………FFS!

#30 BDS I doubt if we will be wooden spooners but we are looking down the barrel at this point.

• 39.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

I`ve got your back ruck….

• 40.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

you lot must be careful about how you run the bulls down. if they are as bad as you make them out to be, what are you going to say when the third string, leaderless sicknote Bulls thrash your magnificent teams?

• 41.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

39, Ruck , i recommend you get some disinfectant and a good anti-bacterial..

• 42.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

bluebarb

And what will you say when your magnificent team gets dissected by the smallcocked ladyboy Stormers of dubious sexuality?

• 43.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

34, eat me, why should we be gracious in victory when you lot have been so disgraceful in defeat?

• 44.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

bluebarb, jou flippin grapgat!

• 45.Steyn The Blue Bull: Reply to this comment

Tony,

you see it as hollow!!

look at it this way…we won the super 14…against the 2nd stringers ( as you call them )now in this same year against the 2nd stringer….what happend to the Stormers, Lions and the cheaters?

Come now, Think about it…if we had a hollow victory…what did you have…seeing your teem get beaten week in and week out…by the so called kuk teams!!

• 46.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

42, i’d say i was quite sure about your lot being ladyboys, but the you revelation that they are hung like squirrels is very amusing.

• 47.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

Karavaa/ratkas mindset………fukkit Ruck jy crack my elke dag op……goeies!!!!

• 48.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

45, Steyntjie, we were just ****!!! Nobody`s arguing that.
    All I want to know is if you guys would`ve been champs if the Blues and Crusaders had their best teams on the field?

• 49.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

#45 Shot!!! More Steyn Bulletjie

• 50.Bod: Reply to this comment

Naaa Steyn

We see it as hollow, as you got away with disgraceful cheating in the last minute of the final in the build up to that “try”

Personally, I wouldnt be able to live with myself as a supporter if my team had won a trothy like that, never mind brag about it…

• 51.ruck: Reply to this comment

#41 – Tony Moneo is NOT Steve Hoff – If he was THEN I’d need frikkin disinfectant and anti-bacterial….along with a strong dose of penicillin…….(STD’s) I’d probably also need those “nursing nappies” for the first few days after the abortion………Seemingly I’d need Lithium, Alzam and Ativan 2 – as the loony bin is where one seems to end up after “bedding Stevie….”

• 52.Bullsmaakseer: Reply to this comment

Tony Moneo,

You virus. Not only are the Bulls the Sup14 Champs. SA are the world champs as well. As far as I remember the Bulls trashed a full strenth Crusader team at LOFTUS in the semis !!!!! Van Heerden showed Richie who is boss and Hougaard, and not Carter, was man of the match.

Also, the ABs did participate with their full squad in the World Cup did’nt they?

So, before you and kaapse klopse Ruck talk too much, make sure of your facts.

• 53.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

#48 I thought we played a full strength Saders team in the semis did’nt we?…………mmmmmm you’re loosing ground Tony

• 54.pompa: Reply to this comment

Biggest Bulls loss:Bakkies/ Matfield.
    Maybe try Jaco Engels at hooker??

• 55.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

whenever a Bulls fan proudly proclaims that we have won the S14, we get called arrogant, yet before the final the same chops who are calling us arrogant were the ones who were saying that you cannot brag untill you have won the S14. now we have, and you carp on about second string NZ teams. what about the Aus teams? they werent resting anyone, and that goes to show how lowly you regard your own teams.

no-one is saying that the Lions could have won, or the Stormers should have won. no your mantra is that the only reason the Bulls won is because the NZ teams let them.

therein lies the difference between the Bulls and the other SA franchises (apart from the Sharks), the belief that they CAN win the S14 as opposed to the assumption that the NZ teams need to ALLOW the SA teams to win.

any thoughts?

• 56.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

Bod FFS What about the previous years we were f8cked out of victories that would’ve/could’ve made a huge difference (ie home semi). Point in case the hurricanes game two years ago…….
    Has all the other other games been clear cut and dry??

• 57.Pietman: Reply to this comment

I am more worried about Willem Roos and his brother-in-law in combo than the Bulls’ team.
    And then there is that TMO, Manuals or something, dangerous combination….

• 58.Steyn The Blue Bull: Reply to this comment

Tony,

Did we not beat the Crusaders with there best team in the Semi’s….did the sharks not beat the blues with there best team in the semi’s…did we not beat the sharks in the final….with a bit of luck…..

Yes ok…if they where there from the begning….a diffrent story…..i think in any case…we did not target a win agains the saders in the game there in the pool.

So if you really look at it….the last game for us in the pool against the reds…..the same thing would have been on the cards…to make a semi…not talking about a home semi….

so looking back on the super 14 last year….the bulls and sharks would have been in the semi’s even if the NZ team put out there best teams from round 1

• 59.ruck: Reply to this comment

#51 – I am awaiting in anticipation, Steve’s “COMEBACK” runout onto Softus on the 23rd Feb……The Crusaders will either lose control of their bladders in laughter (which were not body parts targeted by Graham Henry’s conditioning program)……..OR Richie will dip him…simple.

Steve will be singing Liefling (for the 131st time – especially the kan ons nie maar vergeet en vergewe bit) LIVE during this game. His wife will be cocooned in a suite somewhere above the stadium….The Crusaders will once more lose contol over their bladders…….

Oh boy – I can’t wait,especially when the 50 000 Bulls fans, all turn around and face Steve’s wife in her suite….and sing along with him whilst gazing at Natasha imploringly, “Liefling, kan ons nie maar vergeet en vergewe…..”

I actually think, this deserves a trip to Softus…

• 60.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

ruck, how sure are we that Tony isnt Steve?

• 61.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

#57 Juis van daai bliksem wat ek praat in post #56

• 62.Bod: Reply to this comment

Kwagga, Kwagga, Kwagga

Two wrongs dont make a right (Ok maybe in Andrew Symonds case it does)

I still want to know how Steyn answered his son when he asked “Pa, daai man het die bal met sy hand gespeel terwyl hy op die grond gele het innie ruck… dis nie reg nie, of hoe?)

• 63.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

Ruck, the thing is that you cannot for one post, post something without saying something bad about the bulls supporters, it is as if that is all you can think about…what if I had to say that you capies are karavaan kinders blah blah blah with low IQ’s etc etc etc……..there is a distinct difference in “happing” the other teams supporters but the way you carry on it is like we are a bunch of hillbillies and you people in the south are oh so superior and more intelligent and more classy than the rest of SA……what a load of bull!!!!!! It is just all so predictable and one sided, there are other teams than the stormers and the bulls you know, dont ever see you Lion/Cheetah or Shark bashing!!!!!!!!! It is as if you are consumed by the Bulls and their supporters!!! Shake it off lady, you will be an infinitely happier person!!!!

• 64.ruck: Reply to this comment

Hell BMS – Yesterday I was Coco the clown, today I am a “kaapse klopse”. I am in NO way insulted by being called a kaapse klopse, and I am actually enjoying the new and exciting names you come up with for me every day…..

I will not be able to return the compliment (a new name/insult every day), as you unfortunately remain a *((*&*.

• 65.Steyn The Blue Bull: Reply to this comment

Hello Kwagga my maat,

Nee jong..jy kan mos nou weer sien…elke jaar is die selfde kuk…selfde ou stories oor en oor…al wat by kom die jaar is ons het n “hollow” s14 gewen…

Shame..ek kry hulle almal jammer……..ek weet ek sou al my kop af geskiet het as ek een van daai ander spanne moes support.

Hello Pietman!!!

• 66.katman: Reply to this comment

62 – I agree, Bod. Condoning that kind of cheating is like admitting that it was okay for Tyson to nibble on Holyfield’s ear as long as it was part of a cunning plan to win the bout.

• 67.ruck: Reply to this comment

#63 – WTF???? And no, thats not the World tricycle champs….We ARE superior. Were you not aware of that?? I think you would be “infinitely” happier if you didn’t take “all of this” so seriously………..

• 68.Bullsmaakseer: Reply to this comment

Ruck, we all still love you and Tony. Don’t be sad.

• 69.Loosehead: Reply to this comment

From the sound of things it seems as if we will need the riot police to keep the peace and quiet at Newlands Railway station on 23 Feb.

• 70.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

65.. soveel te meer kan mens se dat die cheetahs a ‘hollow’ CC gewen het met al die sharks en Bulls spelers wat oorsee was vir die wereldbeker…..hel man op ‘n stadium weet ek dat die Bulls 23 van hulle top spelers gekort het met die bokke en beserings…..geen span het genoeg diepte om dit te kan absorbeer nie!!!!

• 71.Namwp: Reply to this comment

#62 Nee my seun dis teen die reels maar die ref het dit nie gesien nie so dis oraait.

• 72.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

Bod it’s rugby and you are going to have dodgy discisions (gaan my sp nou vir n bol kak) We were on the correct side of it….this time round but the point is it happens.

• 73.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

i find it interesting that everyone focuses on the last “Hand of Wikus” incident, but esp Sharks fans conveniently forget that they only got to the the semi’s because of a forward pass that led to “that” Ndungane try.

so cry me a river sissies.

• 74.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

#67 LOL – in what way superior? Please enlighten me as my low IQ could not work it out…………..

O ja, ons het ‘n plat berg julle!!!!!

• 75.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Loosehead

It’s already been arranged.

Police-issue OC spray is a wonderful thing, range of 7 metres, quite accurate, burns for hours.

• 76.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

#67 Hey! Catfight! Whoohooo!!

Take it off! Take it off!

• 77.Steyn The Blue Bull: Reply to this comment

Bod,

it is simple…my son is only 3…so hy ken nie die reels so lekker nie…

I would have pointed to the earlier penaltythat the bulls did not get……and also point to him that in rugby the ref has the last say….now if he did not see it…then it is fare game……i would also then at a later stage in the CC..point out to him….when the Bulls played agains the Cheaters…..or should i say Blue bulls……..that DH’s kick at goal…did go over…but they did not show it as over…that you could say was the point in the game…when it turned south for the bulls……….

Then i will let him know…as his dad played the game……if the ref don’t see it….it is fair game….but if he does, you need to take it on the chin…and move on….simple..i think.

Bod if you ever played rugby in your life…and you can tell me you never did something that was not in the laws…..then good on you…but 90% of the player..i was one of them…will push as hard as he can…and see if he can get away with it….

I hope that helps you

• 78.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Evening Ms Ruck & Bodie :-D

• 79.ruck: Reply to this comment

#68 – I need your love like I need an HIV positive test result dude…..

Will you lot stop simpering and toughen up….Have mercy. Its “almal praat lelik van die Bulls voor” en “los ons uit agter” en “hoekom is niemand lelik met die Cheetahs” – frikkin hell.

• 80.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Jinne, guys, let’s stop the bitching and moaning.

What’s passed is past. Let’s move on.

16 February 2008! Will the Bulls “Greatest Supporters” Group arriving by train need a welcoming party? I imagine Ruck and Dawn in bikinis dancing on a stage, and Tony Moneo and katman inviting GBS, Cousin Cervix and Steyn the Blue Bull to smoke the peace pipe…

• 81.Namwp: Reply to this comment

In elk geval was die S14 veloor deur steyn wat nie die drie verdoel het nie.Wat daar na gebeur het moes nie n faktor gewwes het nie.

• 82.Bod: Reply to this comment

I think there is an identity crisis somewhere. Is it namwp or nambul?

Ja kwagga

and hollow victories happen as well…

Hola katman

• 83.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

How many ‘hollow’ S14 has McCaw won cause he does the same thing every game yet nobody has ever called the Crusaders ‘hollow’ victors……….Bietjie suurgat manne?

• 84.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

i love nothing more than to invited to a meal where every one else is choking on sour grapes while i try and hide my pleasure at being served a huge delicious slice of victory.

yum yum!

• 85.katman: Reply to this comment

Jeez, Steyn. No wonder the Bulls are such whingeing blameshifters. You have just proven to us that it is taught from a very early age.

• 86.ruck: Reply to this comment

#74 – I don’t do catfights……Ugly, messy, common affairs they are. Please discontinue this whining……You are most welcome to your opinions……I may even read them…….Allow me the same courtesy. Meeow!

• 87.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

kwagga, vergewe hulle, hulle weet nie hoe ons voel nie.

• 88.Steyn The Blue Bull: Reply to this comment

WP.
    I have no problem with Tony….he is a buddy…so no peace pyp neede there.

• 89.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

#79 no Ruck, not ‘almal” just you in each and every post, like a woman posessed, all consuming in your bull hatred!!!!!

Ok ok ok , just yanking your chain…..hehehehe just thought it was getting a bit boring here, seriously, you have your own views and thats fine!!!!!!

Ek vra nederig om verskoning!!!!

• 90.ruck: Reply to this comment

Hi princess…..How are things the “far side” of the world………???

I feel the time for rugby is now – the crowds are ready to storm the Bastille…….And I have no cake to offer the peasants….Perhaps a glass of good Merlot might do??

• 91.Bod: Reply to this comment

Hey babe

Simple question before we carry on… Bulls or Stormers?

Bluebarb

Surely that should be “the hand of Derrik”… damned disgraceful anyhow

• 92.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Steyn
    Quite right – besides, the Cape Town version of the “peace pyp” is highly, highly addictive.

Tik tik, jou storie is uit!

• 93.Isigidi: Reply to this comment

Ahhh Ruck…you crack me up….stop before I loose control of my bladder.

Sometimes don’t agree with all you say, but man, its fun having you around.
    Newlands will be packed first game. I will not count on my successes of last year to come take the points in CT if I was the Bulls.

• 94.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

#87 Nee wat ou maat ek sê hom maar soos ek hom sien. Sou ook seker de moer in gewees het as ek n Sharkie was maar wie kak en moan die meeste……almal behalwe die Sharks……….hollow se gat man

• 95.katman: Reply to this comment

Hola Bod.

• 96.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

ruck, i’m not whining, i’m debating. see #55.

if we dont argue about who’se best, then whats the point? i dont WANT to agree with you, i WANT you to have a go at me and my team, so we can have lively debates arguments.

the day there is no two way bitching between sa rugby fans is the day i become a Russian soccer fan.

• 97.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

#86 LOL…………Meeow

• 98.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Hello Steyna/WPTID/’Barb en die res
    Ja, ons sal maar sien die 16de, ek se.
    Kan nie wag nie, sal maar my stembande spaar tot dan.

• 99.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

80, 88, the only thing Tony smokes is Polony Cigars anyway.

• 100.Namwp: Reply to this comment

Hoekom is almal so boos.Julle praat oor goed wat verlede jaar gebeur het.Kom ons kyk eers wat hierdie jaar gebeur voor ons mekaar se spanne sleg se.

• 101.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

100, ons is boos omdat ons booswigte is.

• 102.Loosehead: Reply to this comment

When the choo choo stops at Newlands will it be called Die Blou Trein?

• 103.ruck: Reply to this comment

EEEEE – I have no Bull hatred….It’s more a sort of intolerance….(like Lactose intolerant adults and children..) In fact, I have huge admiration for many of Pretoria’s finest. Genuinely.

• 104.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

en ek het nie nodig om kyk wat gaan gebeur om jou span sleg te se nie..

• 105.Bod: Reply to this comment

WPTID

Are you insane? peacepipe?

The reception committee will be armed with baseball bats, 3 irons and bovver boots…

• 106.Bullsmaakseer: Reply to this comment

Ruck, 64.

I did not intend to insult you. Are’nt you proud of your city, kaapse klopse, tafel berg,the “see”, etc. etc..? I sure as hell know you can’t be proud of your rugby. So, if I wanna insult you, I’ll call you the WP/ Stormer captain.

• 107.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Bod

Can I say neither with out having the k*k whipped out of me ?

& is my little friend Bertie well ?

• 108.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

Nee dis reg Bod hoop hand-oog koordinasie is oraait. Dink nie daar gaan n nugter siel op daai trein wees nie

• 109.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

i saw a documentary on Russian soccer hooligans last night. they make us look like girl scouts.

400 russians throwing apples like there is no tommorow. they have strict rules called “fair-play”, no weapons, and they have pre-determined numbers. they only fight against groups of even numbers. and afterwards they shake hands and go home.

it was brilliant.

• 110.Steyn The Blue Bull: Reply to this comment

No Katman,

Pointed out to you and your buddy Bod…that it is simple to point to one thing that happend in history…but look at everything….and also try to keep up….i never moan about n game where we lost……..because of a bad call.

I believe that as a team…you should never be in a position where a bad call can make you loos the game.

So katman maybe you should read more…and really think before you….start pointing…to all the bulls are like…..

that is geting so old!!

• 111.katman: Reply to this comment

Tell me, is the Blue Train still on track? Are we welcoming The Traveling Bullbellies at Cape Town station, or are you okes sticking to what you know and hopping off at Belville?

• 112.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Miss Ruck things are fair to middling on the ‘far side” … I agree that a bit of rugby is required & soon, else things could get ugly :shock: What a waste of a good Merlot !

• 113.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

bod, i heard you cannot hit a 3-iron to save your life, so i suggest you go with a bat and boots..

or maybe get a rescue/hybrid.

• 114.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

if memory serves Princess is in the drug trade..?

correct?

• 115.Namwp: Reply to this comment

#104 En ek se liewers niks tot na die eerste game nie.Ons almal is nie so vol van ons self nie.

• 116.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Bod – you lost yr shirt to Mr Katman ? Say it ain’t so ! :lol:

• 117.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Bod

Fair enough. But I think that, considering the amount of Klippies that will be consumed before their arrival at Newlands station (that is, if the train actually arrives on time, which is debatable), we’ll be able to drop them with a dry towel.

I just really hope none of them falls from the train…oh, by the way, be careful when you’re looking out the train windows, you’ll get all sorts of **** in your eyes and develop bacterial conjunctivitis.

• 118.Bod: Reply to this comment

Very diplomatic princess.

Bert was sweating yesterday… 30degs at 16h00 down here. Swore and cursed at me when I got home very late after Sauvignon Blanc fuelled sundowner session over the tranquil, aqua blue Atlantic Ocean.

• 119.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Bluebarb

No that is only recreational :eek:

• 120.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

Hellooo! Ok, apologies to all the Bulls. You guys did beat the Crusaders at Moftus. BUT, would you have had a home semi if the Blues and Crusaders fielded their strongest teams throughout the S14?

WPTID, Steyntjie and Rhubarb, I mean, Bluebarb are cool. Two of the few Bluebulls who I actually like.

• 121.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

#113 Iemand hier het laat val dat Bod nie n perd se gwar met n kitaar kan raakslaan nie so ons is veilig

• 122.trupisero...almalsemoerebehalwemyne!!: Reply to this comment

what’s going on here?

You lot reverting to type again?

• 123.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Bod – Shame on you ! No wonder he has filed for divorce & asked to come & live with me !

• 124.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

#6 re: Spies

the kid has already shown signs of his protential. The Chillyboy has only done so at age group level.

• 125.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

katman #111

Utter class, you crack me up…

• 126.Pietman: Reply to this comment

pauld
    You out there?

• 127.ruck: Reply to this comment

#106 – From the mouth of anyone else, sure. Coming from you, with our track record on this blog of gross intolerance…..believe me, you menat it as a jibe….I am proud of my rugby dude – Win, lose or fall – I am proud. My, your attitude speaks vloumes……if the Bulls happen to have a bad season, you are no longer proud of them???????? Can I then take it, you are no longer stigter of the Stevieis’nbullenbly’bultothyvrekvanvrotvoelsindroom facebook group??

Tripple, I am going to initiate an excerise. I am going to attack the Lions, Cheetahs and Sharks…..with the same degree of intensity used to attack the Bulls. It will not be easy as good material on these teams is hard to come by…..

• 128.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

tony, the feeling is mutual. i also like myself and Steyn.

• 129.Steyn The Blue Bull: Reply to this comment

Kwagga,

Ek het daai ding ook gehoor…nee wat manne julle kan maar kom…en bring alles wat julle kan….gaan dit nodig kry….hierdie klomp bulle gaan slaap stad oor vat daai naweek

• 130.Bod: Reply to this comment

Hey

Who is questioning my golf game?? Katman and Buck will testify on my behalf.

Princess

The bet was my speedo… no way in hell I was going to loose that game

• 131.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

o ja en bullsmaakseer, wat de f*k het die WC met die Bulls en die S14 te doen?
    Wake up man.

• 132.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

ruck, the problem with (127) attacking the other unions is that like their teams, they just roll over and play dead, thats why you’ll always come back to bash the bulls, the other chops are too boring.

• 133.Namwp: Reply to this comment

Kaap stad Blou geverf eish! genoeg om van te kots

• 134.Bullsmaakseer: Reply to this comment

You have it all wrong. What you meant is that you LOVE your team (WP), but you cant be proud of them. (Rember they came 10th!!!) Like the brother-in-jail joke. You love him but you’re not proud of him….how can you be???

• 135.trupisero...almalsemoerebehalwemyne!!: Reply to this comment

bod

Katman’s testimony yesterday was that you shouldnt be allowed to play your 2nd on a par 3 from the green of the hole next door.

• 136.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

#129 Daai toer gaan mooi loop. Kannie wag nie.

• 137.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

130, if the bet was about you keeping your speedo on, i think katman and Buck may have sliced a few on purpose…?

i know i would.

• 138.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Bodie

Oohh what a mental picture you sketch – gives an entirely new meaning to “FORE !” :shock:

• 139.katman: Reply to this comment

Princess,

Bod and his partner with the interesting swing duffed, shanked and fluked their way to a well-deserved and comprehensive victory.

• 140.ruck: Reply to this comment

#109 – Bluebarb, did you not read my concept last week?? A Hooligans type docu-drama played out in SA. I missed last nights one, but saw the Polish and Dutch hooligans.

Picture it: The Blue lot with their weapons:a ghetto blaster playing Stevie songs, and Ms Jacaranda 2008. Tacitus banging his head on the ground…..

Then us – with our picnic baskets and blankets, all dressed in pastel colours as Katman says….Rubbing the late Anita Roddick’s Body Shop mint handcream in, whilst glaring at you menacingly…

WAR WAR WAR WAR WAR WAR!!!!!!!

• 141.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

135, esp not in your banana hammock.

• 142.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

#127 born a bulls supporter and would never change, even in the days that the bulls were so vrot i supported them…..although I was too scared to walk past Loftus with my Kitbag in case they put me in a team, and I am a chick!!! but as you were, so was I brought up by my father and taken to Loftus before I could even walk, to watch the bulls, therefor we are really the same…..except the teams we support are different, am just as passionate about my team as you………even if we are last I still go to Loftus, which is not what can be said about the WP crowd, they even boo-ed there own players a couple of seasons back!!!!

• 143.katman: Reply to this comment

135 – And I still maintain that this should be a rule. Bod will have to adjust his game somewhat though. :)

• 144.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Katman

“his partner with the interesting swing” ?

So Bodie swings both ways ??

Heavens ! Alert the media !!

• 145.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

140 LMAO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• 146.middles: Reply to this comment

hey guys, i wanted to let you know:

If you have DSTV, press the “TV” button on the remote, select the “PAS 7/10″ option, and go to channel 14. They are testing HD by replaying the 36-0 game over and over and over again. I love it! I must have been the most complete game i have ever watched.

• 147.Bod: Reply to this comment

“The Travelling Bullbellies”

Thats special…

Princess

You know his travelling terms. How is he going to survive coming from a “rough as a bears bum” environment into your calm, tranquil and sophistivated environment that is going to serve him up muesli and honey instead of steak, egg and chips??

• 148.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

140 LOL, steve is not war music. we need klipwerf boereorkes for that.

you lot can sing some paul simon ditties, or Carpenters.

i see this happening. i think Tac has started with the headbanging already, though..

• 149.trupisero...almalsemoerebehalwemyne!!: Reply to this comment

middles

that sounds brilliant.

RP 144 – the best part of his game? he putts very well from the rough!

• 150.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

148 ………what a scary thought!!!!! hahaha, think Tac headbangs eveery day and all day long, therefor the brains that are now mash!!!!

• 151.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Bodie

Perhaps you are not aware … after the weekend’s abandonment he phoned through a change of terms.

& don’t try to cloud the issues he knows muesli is only for breakfast – he will still get his treats !

• 152.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

146. middles, you serious brother???

• 153.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

why do we always end up discussing Bod’s budgiesmuggler on this site? surely kids have access to Keo, and it could ruin them for good?

• 154.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Trupi – a bit of rough every now & then never hurt anyone :lol:

• 155.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

dont you need a HD converter?

• 156.Bod: Reply to this comment

Trupisero

Its called course management. The best way in to that green with the howling wind was to shank it 45 degs to the adjacent green. Put the second stone dead… easy game.

• 157.Bod: Reply to this comment

Time to work

Its been fun, cheerio Ladies and Gentlemen… and princess

• 158.katman: Reply to this comment

(I’ve been in contact with Die Briels, and they’ve agreed to re-record this special version of an old classic)

Een aand op ‘n trein van Pretoria
    Die weer was bitterlik koud
    In ‘n hoekie sit ‘n outjie
    En hy lyk vir my baie benoud

Die kondukteur, die vra vir sy kaartjie
    Hy sê hy’t nie geld om een te koop,
    “Maar ek moet nou gaan na Kaapstad
    Al moet ek ook daarnatoe loop”

My span is diep in die akkies
    En ek is Steyn die Blou Bul
    Ek hoop en bid dat ons môre
    Dalk nog ‘n oorwinning kan kul

• 159.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

155 Rhubarb, you need an HD ready tv.

• 160.pompa: Reply to this comment

Fact is Bulls did win the Super 14 and my Lions lost their two best players before any play in in 2008. I have a feeling the Lions and Cheethas are going to struggle.

• 161.pauld: Reply to this comment

#158 KAtman

Quality

• 162.pompa: Reply to this comment

Katman

My span is diep in die akkies
    daarom wag ons vir Bakkies
    dan gaan almal in hulle broeke kakkies

• 163.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

damm. i pvr’d most of the WC games but slowly my gameslost out to vital things like Barney and Friends and Hanna Montana.

i’m beginning to suspect that my daugters may be Stormers fans..

• 164.ruck: Reply to this comment

#158 – LOL – Katman you rebel you. Who the hell are Die Briels?????

Tripple, I have never ever booed my team – any team in fact. I am a warrior (albeit a beleaguered warrior in recent times) I climb those frikkin stairs on the Railway stand in the pissin rain, and I sit. I buy a “lolly to keep me jolly” and a sucker “to keep me wakker” and a “wafer to keep my husband styfer”…..The Newlands cricket and rugby faithful will know exactly what I’m talking about……..BUT, regardless of how low we go – I am there – sigh!

In Wellington on Saturday, one oke pitched for the game wearing a Bulls jersey – so the dude that sells the suckers/lollies/wafers shouts out LOUD to this oke, “How about a wafer to keep your lineout styfer…..”

• 165.pauld: Reply to this comment

#164 Ruck

Been away for 7 years but the sucka seller I remember. He’s a jegend. Does he still wear a rather large lady’s sun hat ?

• 166.middles: Reply to this comment

Its labelled as HD testing but i don’t have an HD TV so not sure if its pure HD quality or not. On that Pas 7/10 is where DSTV test all their new stuff so a lot of it is disruptive and out of sequence.

What i like about the rugby is that its got no commentary so you can actually hear the crowd.

• 167.pauld: Reply to this comment

Die Briel Susters. You can hear some of their stuff on Youtube. They were the SA version of the Nolan Sisters

• 168.ruck: Reply to this comment

#165 – He sure does……He in fact wears a variety. His health wasn’t that hot a while back – but I asked him on Saturday and he says he’s GOOD TO GO for many seasons yet. A true legend…..

• 169.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

ruck

“‘n Chippie virrie lippie!”

• 170.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Hello pauld
    Sorry, I had to leave our discussion last night, and I have to be off again soon.
    Will talk to you about Carnarvon and Hotazel later!

• 171.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

166, asked my wife to check and apparently they`ve got football on at the moment. Damn, can`t wait for HD to be released!

ruck, nou praat jy! I adore Newlands. Such a great place to watch. Lots of characters.

• 172.pauld: Reply to this comment

# 168

He must be at it for around 30 years now. Remember him as a kid

• 173.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

One of the best rugby experiences that you have to try at least once is watch rugby at Newlands from the “cheap seats” along with the predominantly Cape Coloured supporters.

It is hilarious, to say the least, the quality of the chirps that come from there…

• 174.pauld: Reply to this comment

#170 Morning Pietman. How’s Korea today ? Had your labrador fillet and Kimshi yet ?

• 175.Pietman: Reply to this comment

WPTID
    The best spot for chirps is behind those rails in front of the South stand, standing room only.

• 176.pauld: Reply to this comment

Danie Craven pawel-june

• 177.katman: Reply to this comment

Ruck,

“Die Briels” was this old family that recorded terribly depressing songs way back in the 40′s and 50′s, I think. They’re still going, as some sort of cruel retro joke. Their songs were all about death, poverty, mining accidents, train wrecks. And they were sung in this mournful dragging drawl – perfect for a new Bulls theme song. To give you an idea, here is the track listing of their best-of double album:

Die Gebed Van ‘n Kind
    Vaarwel My Mammie
    ‘n Traan Van Droefheid
    Saans Deur Die Traalies
    My Hart Verlang
    Liewe *****
    Op ‘n Eiland
    Wat Is Groter As Liefde
    Anderkant Die Blou Berge
    Engin No. 5
    In Die Dorre Woestyn
    As Anita Jodel
    Die Trein Na Pretoria
    Net ‘n Glimlag
    Die Bootjie Na Kammaland
    Terug Na Die Berge
    Die Duiwel Is Skelm
    Ter Nagedagtenis Van 435 Mynwekers – Deel 2
    Die Graf In Myn
    Mammie Is Alles Verby
    Vou Jou Handjies
    Moet My Nie Vra Nie
    Op Ons Bosveldplaas
    Droog Af Jou Trane
    Weeskindjie
    Salome
    Kom Haal My Pappie
    Die Engele Sing
    Gisteraand
    Braaivleisaand
    My Moeder En Vader In Die Hemel
    Sy Leer My Om Te Jodel
    My Nonnie Hy Slaap
    Die Kleine Seuntjie
    Kan Jy Nog Onthou?
    Vir Al Die Ouers
    Wat Is Liefde?
    Ek Min Jou
    As Ek Sterf
    Luister Na Die Windjie
    In Die Groen Vallei
    Drie Wit Kissies
    Neem Jou Ring
    Sterwende Kind Se Boodskap
    In Die Maanlig Met Jou
    Mammie Se Liefde
    My Gryse Ou Moeder
    Jou Handskrif
    Twee Kruisies Van Hout
    Ek **** Hom Jodel
    Daar’s ‘n Spoortjie Getrap
    Ek En My Kersie
    Pappie Se Liefde
    Die Groot Wit Gebou
    My Sannie Lief
    As Ek Kyk Na Die Wolke
    Die Lieflike Beeld
    Mammie Vertel My Elke Dag

• 178.pauld: Reply to this comment

or is that pawel-djoen

• 179.Pietman: Reply to this comment

174# Pauld
    Clod, the place is frozen.
    Just had peri-peri chicken for dinner, washed down with a good malt, and I am off to work again.
    Talk during smoke breaks again later.

• 180.Isigidi: Reply to this comment

Ruck
    “and what about you young lady/man?”

• 181.Pietman: Reply to this comment

179# I mean ‘cold’.
    Ok have to go, later boys.

• 182.pauld: Reply to this comment

#177 Katman

All about wroeging,smart and ellende tot diep in hul binneste. A bit like leonard Cohen. You feel like a glass of water and a 9mm after listening to him/them

• 183.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

ruck

I can’t believe you’ve never heard of Die Briels?!?

They’re a national treasure!

Do yourself a favour, listen to “Trein na Pretoria”…

• 184.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

pauld #182

“You feel like a glass of water and a 9mm after listening to him/them”

LMAO!

• 185.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

180. Katman, daar was `n song, “Mammie waar is Pappie?” wat hulle na een of ander myn ramp uitgebring het. My pa het my vertel, ek het nie self gehoor nie. Dankie vader vir dit.

• 186.Pietman: Reply to this comment

185# Tony
    Coalbrook ramp, 1965.
    Ergste in SA myngeskiedenis.

• 187.trupisero...almalsemoerebehalwemyne!!: Reply to this comment

WPTID

that song is soooo slow it sounds like a 45 record played at 33rpm

• 188.Isigidi: Reply to this comment

Katman

Ek onthou my pa het altyd so lietjie gesing wat klink soos daai laaste een se titel. Iets soos: mammie vertel my elke dag, die duiwel sal my vang, en vir hom is ek so bang, en ek leer om hom te haat tot dat die son weer skyn……..en die res kan ek nie onthou.
    Sou dit daai liedjie gewees het?

• 189.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

Dis hy Piet! Hel, ek moes seker geweet het. Het in Sasolburg groot geword. Coalbrook het `n 9 putjie golfbaan gehad, het daar leer speel. What a dump!!!

• 190.trupisero...almalsemoerebehalwemyne!!: Reply to this comment

dankie pietiepedia!

• 191.pauld: Reply to this comment

The Briel Susters were on happy when they were unhappy. A bunch of psychotic pieces of wacko which would have made a great thesis topic for anybody studying psychiatry

• 192.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

ruck

Sannie, Fransie and Anita Briel (with her four children) are still going strong.

Frans and Sannie Briel were both orphans who met each other at the same orphanage. They both later worked for Yskor – Sannie operated a crane there for two years – but their great passion was music. They did not like using heavily-translated American songs like everyone else, but preferred to write their own lyrics and music. They provided a great deal of social commentary, especially with regards to the problems of the poverty-stricken, urbanised Afrikaner, the “armblankes”.

• 193.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

183……Briels are the most depressing thing to happen in SA!!!!! want to slit my wrists when I hear them…..cannot even believe that anyone can listen to a whole song of theirs!!!!!! National Treasure or not, I really hope they fade away in time!!! Tannie Sonja and waai wind is almost as bad

• 194.pauld: Reply to this comment

#193 Trips

I disagree. The most depressing thing to happen to South Africa is Steve Hofmeyer followed by the Soft Shoes. Remember those clowns

• 195.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

Pietiepedia!!!! LMAO!!

• 196.ruck: Reply to this comment

Katman – Those sound like Jurie Els titles….:’n Blom vir jou my mammie (or something)…

WPTID – I grew up in a house where Led Zeppelin, Deep Purple, Jethro Tull and the sort RULED the household airwaves……Die Briels didn’t quite feature.

Al this talk about suckers and wafers has me positively “delirious” with the thought of rugby on the 16th. Even Saturday was enough to “wet the appetite” – One supporter next to me screams to Bolla when they were warming up – and Bolla was like a meter away at most:, “Jy’s klaar hier Conradie..Ricki het sy vrou, sy kinders, sy ma en sy pa saam gebring Kaap toe…..jy’s klaar Conradie…” Oh hell this is the stuff my rugby memories are made of.

• 197.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

#194….LOL softshoes hehehehehe, unfortunately I do……EINA

• 198.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

Darren Scott was a Softshoe!

• 199.ruck: Reply to this comment

THE SOFT SHOES………My sister howled for that record, but my father resisted and said, “No daughter of mine listens to **** like that – EVER!!!) Those 4 w*k*s……Ah hell man. My personal best, is rather current, Dewald Dippenaar – Wys jou Muis…….

• 200.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

Ruck, That is what I listened to!!!! Man I LOVE Deep Purple!!!! not to talk about Judas Priest etc….and I was brought up on classical!!! Now theres something to wake up to on a Sunday Morning!!! Flippen Luciano and maria Callas played kliphard!!! to my parents, days of the Beatles and Elvis, they were SATAN!!!!!

• 201.Isigidi: Reply to this comment

Wys jou muis? hehehehe

Sounds like it should be a Steve H cover song!
    See, all these okes want to be like Steve.

• 202.Fern: Reply to this comment

gloria estefan was a back-up singer for leonard cohen.

• 203.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

Yip Tony….and I am sure it is something he would like to forget hehehehehe

• 204.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

200, I grew up listeing to Elvis. He`s still the man.

• 205.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

#199 heard that the other day on MK, there is really a load of **** coming through now!!!!

• 206.pauld: Reply to this comment

Deep Purple , Uriah Heep played at the baxter in 97 I think. Great bands.Jethro Tull still good.

• 207.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

Oh and I forgot to mention the ultimate: Pink Floyd!!!!

• 208.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

Tripp, we won`t let that happen! That said, it`s great to have Scotty back on Supersport. I`d so much rather listen to Darren than Joost of Joel!

• 209.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

I grew up listening to Frank Sinatra, Sammy Davis Jr, Dean Martin, Nat King Cole, and The Righteous Brothers.

• 210.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

Oh and of course a bit lighter but Queen were also brilliant, saw them in the superbowl and I must say was the best live act I have ever seen

• 211.Fern: Reply to this comment

toney moneo ek is seker hy het al amper soveel kappe soos ek opgetel toe hy n soft shoe was.
    ja die hele soft shoe episode is embarrising,maar dit kon erger gewees het.
    hy kon n bloubul supporter gewees het.

• 212.Pietman: Reply to this comment

WPTID
    ha ha ha!!
    And Pat Boone, Cliff and the Shadows, Brenda Lee, Min Shaw ….and Charles Jacobi!!!

• 213.ruck: Reply to this comment

Yes Tony yes – Darren Scott WAS a frikkin Soft Shoe……oh bloody hell, now I am falling about with laughter. A slimmer Darren of course…..

EEE – Yip, great music. To this day rock is the only genre for me. I have complete Metallica, Iron Maiden, ACDC, Motley Crue etc collections. I’m also deeplt into ZZ Top , Guns ‘n Roses, Linkin Park, Goo Goo Dolls etc. Maria Callas did have an extraordinary voice though – my gran digged her and Dame Kiri te Kanawa……

• 214.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

leonard cohen rocks, not the early stuff though, he sounds like a nasal asspunk. his voice only came into its own during the late 80′s early 90′s.

• 215.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

WPTID, Ol` Blue Eyes!!! What a man!

I recently bought a Sam Cooke cd. What cool music!

• 216.katman: Reply to this comment

WPTID (192)

If ever you wanted a gritty take on the life of the armblanke, read Marlene van Niekerk’s Triomf. It was translated quite well into English, but the Afrikaans is seriously hardcore. One of the best pieces of Afrikaans writing of the past decade or two.

• 217.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Maria Callas had to have a great voice, se was married to Ari Onassis, who was half deaf…..and on some other other Greek island then hers most of the time.

• 218.ruck: Reply to this comment

Sorry forgot about the Gods: U2, Gary Moore and of course Floyd…….

• 219.Loosehead: Reply to this comment

On the other hand Darren, a Soft Shoe? Never!

• 220.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

211. fern, LMAO!!!!

Bluebarb, Leonard Cohen is a legend. That`s for damn sure!

• 221.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

remember Kimera, she did pop-opera in the 80′s?

• 222.ruck: Reply to this comment

Koos Dup was the Afrikaans Leonard Cohen I believe…….Beautiful yet utterly depressing and morbid lyrics……

• 223.Pietman: Reply to this comment

And Eddie Eksteen was a drummer for ‘The Bats’.

• 224.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

Ben Harper is my favourite. anything he does, but i’m esp fond of his Pearl Jam collaborations.

• 225.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

katman

I have read Triomf. It is a fine book, you’re quite right.

I was actually privileged enough to be taught by Marlene van Niekerk, at Stellenbosch.

• 226.ruck: Reply to this comment

Anyone remember when Anneline Kriel released a song??? I was very young but remember my parents rolling around the kitchen in laughter????

• 227.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

Katman, WPTID, have you read Disgrace by JM Coetzee?

My favourite book by a long way!

Also, one of my alltime favourites has been made into a movie which is getting Oscar buzz. The Diving Bell and the butterfly. Awesome, awesome! Haven`t seen the movie but in this case I don`t think I want to. Great book.

• 228.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

Ruck Nirvana; 30 Secs to Mars, and Supertramps first album, not the newer stuff, Metallica for sure, Alice Cooper, even old Frank Zappa!!!! Who remembers “the Yellow snow” hahahaha, hysterical!!!

And of the newer stuff I love Blue October….Awesome stuff

Also some of the old Genesis stuff, there is one song, Mamma, cant remember off which album, but it is awesome!!!!

• 229.katman: Reply to this comment

Ruck,

Koos Dup’s songs weren’t all depressing – some were sad but some were incredibly uplifting. And some were just stories, like Die Pad na Nooitgedacht. Really cool.

• 230.ruck: Reply to this comment

#221 – Her face was always painted white???

• 231.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

Koos doep rocked, i had a CD of Johannes Kerkorrel singing Koos Doep songs. it was great, but KD also had a special quality to his voice.

Chris Chameleon is also a real talent, all the way from Boo, and Blue Chameleon before that he was innovating music.

• 232.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

Of the newer Afrikaans music, I rather like Jan Bloms stuff…..

• 233.Pietman: Reply to this comment

ruck
    Yes, Richard Loring tried to turn Anneline into a singer, but then Sol entered the scene…..not that she would have made the big time anyway.
    Richard actually had a song called ‘Anneline’ dedicated to her, I think they were engaged at some stage, for a while.

• 234.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

Oh ja and Chris Chameleon, he is soooooooo talented

• 235.ruck: Reply to this comment

#227 – Disgrace was a masterpiece. Have you read Barbarians at the Gate?? Brilliant.

Tripple…30 seconds to Mars will be here for the Coke Fest this year.

#229 – My hubby is a huge Koos Dup fan, but I haven’t really sat down and listened to the lyrics – I find the melodies depressing.

• 236.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Johannes Kerkorrel was a true talent.

Every time I hear “Hillbrow”, I almost cry.

The man was a genius, a poet.

• 237.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

I love the older stuff but also enjoy the newer releases. The Killers are my current favourites. Awesome band. I love Collective Soul and Counting Crows too.

• 238.katman: Reply to this comment

Tony Moneo,

I read Disgrace. And I stuck it out till the end, but it was a battle. Probably the most depressing book I’ve ever read. Everything just felt like this resigned futility. Make no mistake, I love Coetzee’s work. The Life and Times of Michael K is one of my all time best books and I’ve read it 3 times. But Disgrace just didn’t agree with my frame of mind at the time.

• 239.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

233…..hahahaha hy het beslis nie met sy musikale kop gedink nie!!!!

• 240.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

Frank Zappa LOL!
    “My balls are like a set of maracca’s”

i dont remember the song title but it was about him getting STD.. the guy was way WAY out there.

• 241.ruck: Reply to this comment

Whi sings, “Deur die straits” – thats cool Afrikaans music. Beeskraal??

• 242.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

235, Haven`t yet ruck. WIll make a point of getting it. JM Coetzee is amazing. Pity he lives in Aus now.

• 243.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

Frank Zappa……..” dont eat the yellow snow, cos thats where the husky’s go…”

And….” I cant see, dow dow dow dow dow…” cant remember…..

• 244.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

the Killers rock but please LISTEN TO ME!!
    burn your COLDPLAY cd’s- they are the AHA of the new millenium. save yourself and your family the shame, burn those discs NOW!

• 245.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

243 sorry was ” and the blind man says I cant see dow dow dow dow dow”

• 246.pauld: Reply to this comment

Speaking of wierd music/songs/singers. Remember Leonard Nimoy who played Mr Spock in Star Trek. Well when his career was faltering his agent suggested he release a single. He actually did. It was bloody awful. Try and find it on Youtube. You’ll throw yourself off a cliff after listening to it

• 247.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

238. I hear you Katman, that book hits you hard. Also enjoyed the Life and times on Michael K.

• 248.katman: Reply to this comment

244 – Amen to that. Coldplay is the male Dido. Muzak. Audio wallpaper.

• 249.pauld: Reply to this comment

Frank Zappa named his kids Dweezel and Moon Unit. What a boy

• 250.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

Bluebarb, I agree!!! Chris Martin and Coldplay were kinda cool with Yellow and I loved The Scientist BUT X&Y was utter ****! I`m off them completely.

• 251.rangerman: Reply to this comment

hi all
    Disgrace was easily the most depressing read of my life. no wonder he upped and f#cked off to oz and now refuses to have anything to do with sa.
    Coetzee can keep his vision of South Africas route into the future! (think it was semi biographical maybe).

• 252.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

#251….Hey Maybe Tacticus is his pseudo?

• 253.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

And Chris Martin called his kid Apple, wtf?

• 254.ruck: Reply to this comment

How about Bob Geldof and the late Paula Yates’s kids: Trinky Bluebell or something like that and Lemonandlime…what a croc. And that poor kid of Paula’s, fathered by auto-erotic now dead Michael Hutchence – Tigerlilysumthing.

• 255.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

253…. LOL he could have just as well called the kid IPOD

• 256.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

as a rule i turn off any song that begins with someone grunting “ughh, uggh, yeah yeah..”

if you dont have the decency to write freaking lyrics, then dont expect me to take you seriously.

• 257.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

Hey Rangerman, hit us with a story, QUICK!!!!

• 258.ruck: Reply to this comment

#251 – A lot of his work is semi-biographical. The UCT lecturer…blah blah blah……

• 259.pauld: Reply to this comment

Trixie Bluebell and Heavenly Tirana Tiger Lilly

• 260.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

254……..all these “stars” should be shot!!! same with River Phoenix’s hippie parents, I mean the kids were, River Leaf Rain Summer etc etc etc

• 261.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Whatsgoingonhere

• 262.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

when i was born my dad decided to call me tripod.

• 263.pauld: Reply to this comment

And the other daughter is called Peaches. Good thing she wasn’t called Guava. She would never have been able to visit SA with a name like that

• 264.Desert Stormer: Reply to this comment

Hello I’m looking for a rugby blog

• 265.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

i’d rather be river than ignatius.

• 266.pauld: Reply to this comment

Branjolina. Now there are two idiots. Maddox , Shiloh and various other exotic names

• 267.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

Jason Lee (My name is Earl) named his kid “Pilot Inspektor”!!!

• 268.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

keep looking.

• 269.pauld: Reply to this comment

Speaking of stupid names the South Africans are pretty good as well. Mom and DAd anagrams. Andre and Melanie results in a kid getting a handle like Melandre.

• 270.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

#265 hahahahahahaha oppas jy gaan ge- suspend word

• 271.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Can’t turn my back for an hour and the whole thread goes to pot.

As the temporary stand-in moderator I insist on order morality and a good brawl.

• 272.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Bakkies, Straatkat, Baksteen, Draadkar,…ook maar snaakse name in ons rugby soms

• 273.ruck: Reply to this comment

#264 – Because you have Stormer in your name, I shall accomodate your request. Rugby players with dodgy names it is……

• 274.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

272 – windpomp, clutch plate etc etc etc

• 275.Stawm: Reply to this comment

Speaking of local flavour books:

Acid Alex is an absolute must.

Read it!

• 276.pauld: Reply to this comment

Dawn wants us to talk rugby. Ok.Remember KAPSTOK van Greunen who played for Transvaal. Never could take him seriously. Then the all powerful Maties side of the 80′s had Hempies Du Toit and Broekies Visser in the frontrow

• 277.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Of Gert Theron se vrou, Eufesia Ossewania Kakabenia Theron (ernstig! vernoem na die Eeufeesjaar waarin sy gebore is).

• 278.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

273. Pierre Spies.. :-)

• 279.ruck: Reply to this comment

Aaah Pietman – great minds think alike (or fools never differ…..) Loads of good rugby names…

Hardes, FWCCFFHDNG, WP, Ignatius……IG?????

• 280.pauld: Reply to this comment

Or Jan Diddervogel Wasbak Van Zyl

• 281.WP-Matador: Reply to this comment

Die waarheid. n Kennis van n kennis wie se van Benz is doop sy dogter toe wragtig Mercedes. Ek meen .. is hy …? Kind lyk in elk geval meer na n Thames trokkie.

• 282.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Wingnut van Wyk, Diesel de Klerk…

• 283.Tripple E: Reply to this comment

281 LMGA!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• 284.pauld: Reply to this comment

Reminds me of Van’s brother who was a farmer. His wife had twins. A boy and a girl. Van’s brother was busy “met die oes!” and he asked van to take rhe boy and girl to the local magistraats office to register them. When he got back Van’s boet asked him what he named them. Van says , fior de girl i told him Denise and for de boy I sommer said Denephew

• 285.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

Dudes, ek het eendag `n ID gesien van `n man wat se naam “Stinky Pooe” was. No jokes.

• 286.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

guys, there’s a book called “how mumbo jumbo conquered the world”

read it of you do nothing else this year.

• 287.pauld: Reply to this comment

This is know lie but i do business with a guy called Mustapha ****

• 288.pauld: Reply to this comment

#287 no lie

• 289.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

i tip my hat to Chilliboy Ralepelle for having the coolest name in SA rugby.

• 290.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

Bluebarb, gee my jou email addy.

• 291.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

jiji@telkomsa.net

• 292.jack35: Reply to this comment

Shiloh Pitt (Brad Pitt’s daughter) will be called Piloh Sh*t by a dyslecsic

• 293.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

292 Lol!!!

• 294.rangerman: Reply to this comment

ha ha wp-matador!
    i worked in lake tahoe in california for a ski season and had a argentinean girlfriend named Mercedes! Its a popular latin name and in fact the car is named after the founders daughter (i think). when i told my dad my new girlfriends name he said “thats the closest you’ll ever get to driving a sports car!” lmao!

• 295.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

how can someone with the surname Hunt call their son Mike?

• 296.ruck: Reply to this comment

Bloody hell – are any of you suprised that the world is so utterly f***ed. We can’t even name our children decently anymore. Bluebarb – does Exclusive Books have it – who is the author??

#292 – LOL. Wasn’t there some frikkin singer in SA with the name Shiloh?? She had ad’s on the telly and all. Flippin hell people.

• 297.pauld: Reply to this comment

#296 Ruck

I think Neil Diamond had a song called Shiloh. Oh dear , that probably brings us back to the subject of Steve Hofmeyer

• 298.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

ruck, Francis Wheen. it kinda sums up how i feel about the world. another mind expanding read is the Sovereign Individual.

• 299.katman: Reply to this comment

281 – that’s almost like Mr and Mrs Burger (once again, no lie) naming their son Wimpie.

• 300.jack35: Reply to this comment

This is true, I swear.

My friend’s dad is a gynecologist, his surname is ‘Snoek’

• 301.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Julle kan maar al wat julle wil vir Ig skree hy sal nie antwoord nie.

I am here.

• 302.pauld: Reply to this comment

there was a guy i knew in the army called russell sprout

• 303.Dawn: Reply to this comment

jack

Don’t start with snoek.

• 304.jack35: Reply to this comment

I’m not even joking, I swear its true

• 305.ruck: Reply to this comment

Russell Sprout????? LOLOLOLOLOLOOLOO. oh hell. I can’t cope……

Bluebarb – I’m going to get my grubby little paws on that book.

• 306.Dawn: Reply to this comment

bluebarb

Here at the Keo book club we don’t just give the titles we give the AUTHORS TOO.

Dingbat.

• 307.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

305. Ja me too, sommer gonna take a walk to Exclusive Books down the road.

• 308.rangerman: Reply to this comment

once i was driving three young austalian couples around for a few days and on a particularly quiet drive (the wind was howling and all the game had taken cover) they got excited just to see a warthog. the young guys begged me to let them try and chase the warthog around and as it was a very open area and i know warthog can look after themselves, i agreed. The guys wanted photos of them stalking the warthog but as soon as they were about 10m from the vehicle, their wives urged me to drive off, which i did. these guys lost their nerve and ended up running after the vehicle and squealing, being filmed by the wives of course.
    we then had a boozy drinks stop for sunset and about 30 mins later, the ladies needed the loo. they were a little shy so i promised to keep the vehicle running. but no sooner had they gone around the back of the vehicle than all the guys scrambled for the cameras and then, ready to shoot, urged me to drive off! Revenge is what they had in mind, but it was after dark and i wasnt keen but they insisted. The laughter soon turned quiet and i turned back to the sight of these poor girls trying to run after the vehicle with their pants round their ankles.
    there was some deep silence on that drive till we got back to the lodge!lol!

• 309.Dawn: Reply to this comment

From here on in … anyone giving a book title without an author will be banned summarily.

• 310.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

anyone for a game of cricket

• 311.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

307. Francis Wheen

• 312.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

ig’s name has been intriguing me. possible explanations…

Inspector Gadget?
    Inspector General?
    Italian Greyhound?
    International Gangster?
    Insomniac Grandpa?

• 313.ruck: Reply to this comment

People, from a psychological angle – we are in fact all f***d. The **** that is being bandied about here is dreadfully sad….Even sadder, is that we have spent half the day doing the bandie-ing about of above mentioned ****…but the saddest yet, is that we ALL (no exclusionary clauses here) find this so incredibly entertaining…….Oh my jollyhockeysticks…..WE ARE LOSERS.

• 314.vloervreter: Reply to this comment

Goeie mirrag wesens uit die buitenste ruim, bidi bidi, hoe gaan dit op julle planeet, bidi bidi bidi.

Moneo, jy is een-oogig, maar sodra mens jou vriend, Yo-yo kritiseer dan rebelleer jy, bietjie dubbel standaarde en 2-gesig nê?

Hello bloubarb, EEE en maats

• 315.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

313, Impressive Analysis, very Frasier Crane like… he he he

• 316.Isigidi: Reply to this comment

OK this is true. I know a guy called **** Koekemoer.
    After a few beers, we call him **** Fannyslapper!

Jack
    I believe you, I heard about the gyne. His practice is in Durbanville I think.

• 317.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Please assist in drawing up the rules of engagement for the newly founded KEO book club.

No ruck … the cheerful exchange of anonymous book titles is most enlightening!

• 318.ruck: Reply to this comment

#310 – As long as I get to pick the officials standing in our game…….

• 319.pauld: Reply to this comment

#305 Ruck

That’s nothing. I deal with a guy in Thailand called Randy Poon. And get this , his PA is called Cassie Poo

• 320.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

310, no thanks, you’ll probably cheat..

• 321.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

Vloervreter, ek dink jy is die laaste om van 2 gesig te praat ou grote? Of sal ek vir die mense se wat jou naam is?

• 322.rangerman: Reply to this comment

great game the young zulu herdboys play on their even younger apprentices/ siblings.
    they tell them about a mythical zulu bird which buries its eggs in the sand. they then proceed to dig in a small mound of sand where they have already buried an egg and hey presto! breakfast.they then lead the unsuspecting little bugger to another identical mound of sound and urge him to dig! he does so with great excitement only to find a fresh pile of dung covered in sand!
    hey, it beats giving them chinese toys covered in lead.

• 323.ruck: Reply to this comment

#315 F**k Freud, I’ve always turned to Frasier for inspiration….I have found myself in the past, when faced with a “sensitive” case, pondering..”What would Frasier do??” – The answer is always the same – NOTHING.

#317 – Dawn if there is no wine, skinner, pole dancing lessons, or a male stripper named Groote de Kok, I have no interest in becoming a member. I shall then stick to my current Book club.

• 324.pauld: Reply to this comment

#323 Ruck

The first South African to contract HIV was Sakkie De Kock

• 325.ruck: Reply to this comment

I know who Vloervreter is. The “Mirrag” gives it away.

• 326.charo: Reply to this comment

bluebarb

isaac hunt?
    worse than mike

• 327.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

325. Ja, not very clever of him.

• 328.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Jissus! Chill!

This ain’t no normal book club!

• 329.BlueBlood: Reply to this comment

The Bulls will be OK. We are used to starting tournaments with 20 – 30 players unavailable. This S14 and CC will be no different.

At least it gives the other teams something to cheer about when they beat our 2nd and 3rd teams.

• 330.vloervreter: Reply to this comment

My magtig Moneo, jy’s ‘n bitsige bitchhh, as dit jou genot gaan gee, gaan voort, bulls basher.

Jy is soos ‘n muskietbyt, ‘n klein iritasie wat nie lank hou nie, dan verdwyn hy

• 331.rangerman: Reply to this comment

sheesh, things getting rough in these waters!

• 332.Isigidi: Reply to this comment

Pauld

En die inventor van die bikini die Italianer Kanipusini.

• 333.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

330, En nou, wat presies het jou upset? Ons het lekker gechat en toe kom jy in met jou yo-yo stories? Wat presies het ek gese wat jou so diep ontstel het?

• 334.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Ja. I think I know who it is too.

• 335.rangerman: Reply to this comment

cmon dawnie, spill the beans. is it cuz or gbs?

• 336.pauld: Reply to this comment

#332 Isigidi

You know the red Indians used to carry their babies on their backs in a special backpack called a papoose. When Van went on Flinkdink Edwil van Aarde asked him what a Papoose was. After some intense thought Van replied : Dis n ding wat in a pa-panty sit

• 337.Dawn: Reply to this comment

rangerman

I have my suspicions!

Looks like he was let back on the condition he uses the most demeaning nic possible (for a bull supporter, that is.)

• 338.ruck: Reply to this comment

Aaaah man – why can’t we all just get along?????
    It was all going swimmingly. Kanipusini?????
    Well, I feel parents that screw up their kids lives with crappy names should be quartered and drawn.

• 339.rangerman: Reply to this comment

lol ok dawn thanks.

• 340.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

Its STEVE HOFMEYER!?

• 341.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

vloervreter?
    IS JY STAN?

• 342.vloervreter: Reply to this comment

bluebarb, neewat Steve is my Pappa, dis nie ek nie

• 343.rangerman: Reply to this comment

lol bluebarb!

• 344.vloervreter: Reply to this comment

bluebarb, uitgevang, sorry

Nee ek’s nie Stan nie

• 345.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

340, Daai man het jarre se moeilikheid vir homself gemaak. Hy het so nice vrou en dan gaan jaag hy so aan.

• 346.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Nope, that ain’t Stan.

• 347.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

344, vloervreter, so gaan jy vir my se wat jou so greatly upset ?

• 348.Steyn The Blue Bull: Reply to this comment

jissie,

maar dit het lekker gegaan hier…daar is nou al oor alles gepraat……maar ek moan nie…daar is nie rugby om oor te praat nie…en die manne en dames van die kaap het nie rugby om te praat nie…al speel hulle span rugby

• 349.vloervreter: Reply to this comment

Moneo, doen ‘n “find on this page” op jou naam en tel die Bulls bash posts vandag en die afgelope ruk

• 350.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

Hello alweer Steyntjie. Ek sien my jokes het `n mede bul `n bietjie upset gemaak. Ag well, ek support die Stormers, ek het al ALLES gehoor.

• 351.Steyn The Blue Bull: Reply to this comment

vloervreter…

dit is Mondeo nie Moneo nie….

• 352.Steyn The Blue Bull: Reply to this comment

Hello Mondeo,

Nee moet nie stress nie…..jy is mos n ford…jy weet van frot wees…hehehehehe

• 353.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

349, so wat is die verskil? Julle hap die Stormers, ek hap die Bulls? Hoekom so sensitief skielik? Dis die flippin national pastime!

• 354.vloervreter: Reply to this comment

en ek hap jou en jou jou, Moneo

• 355.Jinx: Reply to this comment

Ruck, Tony Moneo, Pauld, Katman, Triple E, Bluebarb, Pietman,WPTID…and others…

****, what bloggers. I’m humbled to know I’m in damn fine rocking company. I’ve been reading all the music that you ou’s and ou-resses are into. You blow my mind. From Zappa to Koos Doep, from the Briels(heaven Forbid) to Pink Floyd, from Chris Chameleon to Darren Scott was a Soft Shoe(hilarious), from books like The Life and Times of Michael K to Triomf. Salute you brothers and sisters. Eish, I should have been here and hour and a half ago when you okes were ripping at full tilt.

AND THAT CHIRP…from Pauld (I think) about…a glass of water and a 9mm. ( I’m finished…cried laughing)

• 356.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

see you lot later..

• 357.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

Hey Jinxie, it was great fun and some great music and writing was mentioned.

• 358.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

354, fair enough

• 359.adoons: Reply to this comment

Cheers Chiliboy ,

It wasnt meant to be.The game was too tough for you.

• 360.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Jinx

Shows you we’re not the stereotypical rugby supporters, hey.

How’s it going putting that poem “Homeland” to music? Did you manage to get hold of that girl?

• 361.guessmyusernameandwinaprize:rules apply: Reply to this comment

THE RULES: If you have not won a prize from me in 2007, and if you DO NOT a have Tswane mailing address, you’re eligible to win. If one or both of those rules exclude you, you cannot enter.
    Oh, one more simple rule: One entry per person except for Bluebarb, Hangbal, Cane, Dawn & Katman.

Trupi joumoerook

• 362.Jinx: Reply to this comment

WPTID

No, not yet. I’m finishing off my CD and decided to leave “Homeland” for now. Don’t want to split my focus. Finishing mixing and going to master the tracks soon. Long journey turning the corner.

Let that Michelle Frost seed take root in its own time.

You guys were on fire earlier on. I enjoyed your banter thoroughly. Cultured and in tune bunch you are. Who said rugby lovers don’t know a thing or two about a thing or two?

• 363.Jinx: Reply to this comment

Must waai…back to town.

• 364.pauld: Reply to this comment

#233 Pietman

I had completely forgotten about Richard Loring. He was the oke who put on that show Joseph and his multicoloured wetdream I think

• 365.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

pauld

You must mean Joseph and the Amazing Technicolour Dreamcoat :-)

Richard Loring played in West Side Story as well, didn’t he?

• 366.ruck: Reply to this comment

Ten days short of their first Vodacom Super 14 clash against the defending champions, the Vodacom Stormers will call on their supporters to kick start the 2008 campaign at the team’s official Kick-off Party.

On Wednesday 6 February, the journey to the most challenging rugby tournament in the Southern Hemisphere will gain ground in the Railway Mall at Newlands Rugby Stadium and the Vodacom Stormers invite you to come on board for the ride of your life!

To book your ticket to the official Vodacom Stormers Kick-off Party, contact Club Newlands on 021 685 3333 or clubnewlands@supportersclub.co.za. If you are a Club Newlands member, entry will set you back R50, whilst non members pay R75.

Join the Vodacom Stormers Coach Rassie Erasmus, Captain Jean de Villiers and the entire team for an evening of entertainment, as Stormers supporters from around the Cape Peninsula get behind their team for a thunder struck season! Experience the passion, meet the players and proudly claim your allegiance by booking your ticket now.

The 2008 Vodacom Stormers kick-off party is hosted by Club Newlands, the official supporters club of the Vodacom Stormers and WP teams. The event will be sponsored by Klipdrift, Coca Cola and Nashua Mobile.

Wednesday 6 February, 19h30 – limited tickets available – book now to avoid disappointment!

• 367.pauld: Reply to this comment

#365 WPTID

Richard Loring is another of those awful characters in life. So much so that just the mention of his name causes instant nausea. Put him in the same mould as those two clowns who hosted the Money or the Box show. Peter Lotus and some dude called Bob I think.

But then again the all time great on SABC was Pryskiet. Hosted by Les “lasing dignity plan” Franken. With his trusty assistant Braam. “Braam die pyl asseblief”.

Never figured how Les Franken could do those lasting dignity plan adverts after he had prostituted his long before on all those stupid shows he hosted

• 368.ruck: Reply to this comment

#367 – Pauld, you are foregtting that *** from POPSHOP, Karl Kikillus I think????

You are killing me with these “blasts from the past…”

• 369.pauld: Reply to this comment

Karl Kililus. Yes what a pratt. He would put a beaver to shame with those knashers of his. Could work his way through a giant redwood faster than a gold gti goes from 0-60

• 370.pauld: Reply to this comment

#369 sorry golf gti

• 371.pauld: Reply to this comment

Money or the Box host was Bob Courtney I just remembered

• 372.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Gold gti works just as well

• 373.pauld: Reply to this comment

#372 Dawn

A bit too Bellville for me a Gold Gti. Actually in Bellville they only have GT cars. Ge-Tune

• 374.Martin: Reply to this comment

supa….hoe gaan dit?

• 375.BuckT: Reply to this comment

dawn, this book club, does it have an anthem, the *** louder version?

• 376.Steyn The Blue Bull: Reply to this comment

hey,the party sponsored by klippies…hehehehehehehehe…and you lot go on about us…

• 377.BuckT: Reply to this comment

remember alex jay’s lizard earings from his tv show, what was it called…rewind??

• 378.Pietman: Reply to this comment

I won something on the ‘Mobil Show Pick a Box’ once (used to be the ‘Surf Show), some vouchers for oil and gas, if I recall.
    And Peter Lotus sang and whistled some ‘Singing in the Sunshine’ song…I just stumbled into the show after a few beers, when they called my seat number…and I got bogged down on the 2nd question I think, capital of Canada on Geograpy, my favourite subject.
    I will never forget Ottawa after that for the rest of my life!

• 379.charo: Reply to this comment

sheez ruck,

the stormers jol sponsored by klippies and coke!
    now the bulls supporters are going to be the moeren

• 380.BuckT: Reply to this comment

what do you call a *** scotsman? phil MaCrackin

• 381.pauld: Reply to this comment

#380 BuckTeeth

Now waar val jy uit met daardie comment ?

• 382.Dawn: Reply to this comment

BuckT

Excellent idea.

We will test who cums loudest.

After we discuss the book de jour, of course.

• 383.katman: Reply to this comment

359 …he said, scratching his bum and burping Castle burps on his Grafton Everest.

• 384.Dawn: Reply to this comment

nee man pauld don’t be horrible to Buck!!!!

• 385.katman: Reply to this comment

380 – And his partner, Ben Doon.

• 386.pauld: Reply to this comment

#385 and the two irish mofs. patrick fitzgerald and gerald fitzpatrick

• 387.BuckT: Reply to this comment

sorry paulding, couldn’t stop myself, sorry if i offended you.
    do you think there might be some train wind-surfing on the ‘blue’ train headed for newlands?

• 388.pauld: Reply to this comment

#384 Dawn

Ag sorry man dawnie. i didn’t meant it ok

• 389.pauld: Reply to this comment

#387 BuckT

Never offended dude or dudette

• 390.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Is Wingnut van Blerk a real person?

• 391.pauld: Reply to this comment

#390 DAwn

Ask his mom , butterflynut van blerk

• 392.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

can’t believe people are labelling
    Chillyboy “great”???

come back in five years ladies then we can start throwing labels around.

for the record, Uli is the greatest player to ever
    the Bok 2 jersey. It will bloody hard for anyone to come close.

• 393.ruck: Reply to this comment

I also thought Nederburg Wines would have been more appropriate as sponsors…..Klipdrift are obviously trying to “re-align” themselves market wise. Seemingly need to add some class to the brand, that has in recent years become synonomous with well, you lot get the picture???

Its a smart move actually.

• 394.katman: Reply to this comment

My worry is that this Eskom fukkup could derail (pardon the pun) the Traveling Bullbellies’ little choo-choo excursion.

You see, having made the Trans Karoo journey many times myself, I know that the first and last stretches are by electric locomotive, with the middle bit under diesel power.

I can just see Cervix, GBS, Steyn & Co. stranded in Stillfontein in the middle of a load-shedding episode.

• 395.pauld: Reply to this comment

What about some Kelleprinz Late Harvest. Lekker Bonteheuwel Briefcase stuff with it’s own kraantjie.

• 396.ruck: Reply to this comment

#392 – And I can’t believe you keep returning to this “commnunist/liberal/pinko” site to bore us with your ideology….

• 397.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Ai vok.

He’s back again, singing the same old tune.

Uli Schmidt. That bully and thug.

Ja ja ja, wa wa wa.

• 398.ruck: Reply to this comment

#394 – LOL, and wearing their Bulls truitjies…..which basically guarantees no lifts will be on offer…….

• 399.Steyn The Blue Bull: Reply to this comment

katman.

i think getting stuck in Stillfontein is not that bad…it looks like…with the jokes you and your buddies are making…it will be really boring to chat with the locals there in slaap stad

• 400.pauld: Reply to this comment

#394 Katman

Trans-Karro. Good song by Herman Holtzhausen. Bring haar huistoe. Back on the music and crappy SABC TV shows theme now

• 401.Pietman: Reply to this comment

pauld
    How about a Lieberstein rather, or a cold Paarl perle?
    I personally would go for an Oom Tas or Golden Dice, a vyfbottle kan…

• 402.Jinx: Reply to this comment

Pauld # 395

What about Virginia wine with that radio jingle…Thew wine for men who love being men.

Or what about… Oom Tas. ****, kill your gut stuff.

• 403.Jinx: Reply to this comment

Pauld and Pietman

A bit of Springbok Radio for you. With Dulcie Van der Berg.

Hospitaaltyd:

Daar’s ‘n lied en ‘n glimlag vir jou,
    In Hospitaal Tyd, onthou,
    Verkleur die wolke van grys tot blou,
    In Hospitaal Tyd, onthou,
    Vanaf Maandag tot Vrydag, om half-een
    Is daar musiek vir moeder, vader – en dogter en seun,
    Ja daar’s ‘n lied en ‘n glimlag vir jou,
    In Hospitaal Tyd, onthou!

• 404.puff: Reply to this comment

Anyone read how Drotske’s trying to lure Paulse to play for the Cheetahs this year as a fullback option.

With Fortuin and Hollenbach injured, there’s just Daniller.

I think Paulse would add necessary experience to the Cheetahs backline. And the guy’s got a serious boot on him.

Would love Breyton to say yes.

• 405.vloervreter: Reply to this comment

Oom Tas, die man met die groot hoed en die groen oortjie.

• 406.pauld: Reply to this comment

Katman

I like that unintended pun of being stuck in Stilfontein. Staan Stil in Stilfontein. Would prefer De Aar vir the okes.
    All the Bulls/Cheetah okes know De Aar well. They take part in that rally from Parys na De Aar every year in their Ford XR6 interceptors

• 407.pauld: Reply to this comment

I used to always think that it was the wine for men who enjoyed other men

• 408.Jinx: Reply to this comment

Pietman and Pauld

Or you can have “So maak mens” with Esme Euvrard and Jan Cronje.

• 409.Dawn: Reply to this comment

NOW I’ve seen it all … HOSPITAALTYD!!

• 410.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Vyfster!

That was a good show, and I really digged the theme music.

• 411.Jinx: Reply to this comment

For after action satisfaction…light a Lexington…LEXINGTON…Thaaaaaaat’s the one!

• 412.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

gerber, then don`t label Spies a great either. capiche?

• 413.Dawn: Reply to this comment

What was that one with the guys on the border?

Was that also Esme?

• 414.katman: Reply to this comment

In die bar op De Aar
    sit ons almal bymekaar
    en ons wag op die trein
    na wie weet waar.

• 415.pauld: Reply to this comment

#401 Pietman

Toe ek op skool was het ek in Langebaan se offsales gewerk. Die bestsellers daar was Honey Blossom en Voorslag. Daardie goed kon die chrome van n towhitch afbrand en die enamel van jou tande. Pure assyn

• 416.katman: Reply to this comment

Filter or straight… men rate Gunston great!

• 417.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Jinx
    Daasit, Virginia, hel ek het gesukkel om daai ene te kry.
    En n lekker Lexington agterna, ‘After action satisfaction’, of
    “Give a man a Lucky, Lucky Strike’.
    Of Rembrandt van Rhyn, “Elke hoes n meesterstuk’,
    of Paarl Cigarettes, ‘So koel soos n bergbrand’…

• 418.pauld: Reply to this comment

#413 Dawn

Fun with the Forces

Join de Force for Intercourse

• 419.katman: Reply to this comment

Dis My Geheim…

…met Aalwyn Lee, Cybil Coetzee and Karel Trichard.

• 420.vloervreter: Reply to this comment

Die Wildtemmer, storie op Springbok Radio

• 421.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Nee man. It was almost like hospitaaltyd maar dit was vir die ouens op die border.

• 422.pauld: Reply to this comment

The next best thing to a lexington isssssss another lexington.

Favourite radio add of all time was the Gunston (cough like a cannon) where they play the clip from the tabacco auction , 3 , 4 , 344 sold to Gunnnnnstonnnnnnnnnn

• 423.Jinx: Reply to this comment

Gooi the Brylcreem my bru or Vitalis.

Before Jik there was Gillettes Javel.

New Ransom select…miracle filter.

Or…Rothman’s King Size…really satisfies.

• 424.vloervreter: Reply to this comment

Bog met blou Maandag

Staal Burger

Squad Cars

• 425.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Who stil remembers Bill Davis and that Portuguese girl from LM Radio?
    What was her name, a real looker, she was,
    Evelyn Martin, no?

• 426.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Squad Cars.

• 427.katman: Reply to this comment

And that’s the reason why
    We’re going to light up the sky
    We’re gonna taste America
    My Winstons and I

• 428.pauld: Reply to this comment

they prowl the empty streets at night , waiting in fast cars or on foot , these are the men from SQUAD CARSSSSS

• 429.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

Wie onthou Willem met Tobie Cronje?

• 430.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

HOE GAAN FIT MET TRIXIE SE SPENE!!??

ek skree nie ema…

• 431.pauld: Reply to this comment

#429 Tony M

Tobie Cronje. As Samson Tobie se kakebeen gehad het dan het hy 100,000 filistyne dood gemoer

• 432.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

anybody remember Captain Cremmin(?) on (then) Radio 5?

• 433.Jinx: Reply to this comment

Paul Revere cigarettes.

Idlewild Menthol

Craven A ( those thin jobs) Both regular and menthol)Yak!!

• 434.ruck: Reply to this comment

Tony, When Greatest appears, all one has to do in silence is THANK THE NZ GOVT for granting him residence over there…….This tends to make me feel way better about his sour, bitter and distasteful commentary on all things local……

• 435.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

431, nie as hy ook Tobie se gewrigte gehad het nie.

• 436.Pietman: Reply to this comment

‘Liefdeslied’, met Jan Cronje, the thing ran for as long as I can remember (13 years?), and that flippin’ ‘Du Plooys from Soetmelksvlei’!
    I can still picture my grandmother in front of the old Pilot set, transfixed….that theme song was enough to drive me out of the house at three o’clock in the afternoon and start smoking Gold Dollar Plain at a tender age….

• 437.pauld: Reply to this comment

All time best was Gold Dollar. In red or blue in packets of 10. Started smoking them at the age of 13

• 438.Jinx: Reply to this comment

Katman # 427

F#cking classic.

• 439.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

And the Omo ad where they had this m**rse sheet that they washed in a public swimmingpool!

• 440.Jinx: Reply to this comment

Pauld

Me too. Cavalla 10′s too.

• 441.katman: Reply to this comment

Ha Ha, Jinx.

Rodeo, stock cars, big trucks…. and Winston.

• 442.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Westminister ’85′ was a good starter too, or Cavalla Oval, 1 shilling three pence a pack of 30′s.

• 443.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

431 and 435, classic!!!!

• 444.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

ruck, I thank them everyday….

• 445.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

my grandfather smoked Gold Dollar plain, annd my Oupa smoked Horseshoe pyptwak.

that stuff would f@ck the marlboro man up six ways from sunday.

• 446.pauld: Reply to this comment

That wasn’t omo. That was White Giant. with miners and cows walking all over it

• 447.jack35: Reply to this comment

best sa tv ad ever:

“its not inside its onnnnnn top!!!”

cremora, pure koffiekapitaal

• 448.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Tony, surely you can’t compare Spies to Chillyboy??

what exactly is great about Chillyboy??. He excelled at age group level. FACT.Lets wait til the boy goes thru S14 first. We all know Spies is going to be a great player.

Ruck,

Please don’t draw to racist conclusions regarding my analysis of Spies. We should be above that.

• 449.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Bluebarb
    Nee, die sterkste sigaret was ‘Five Star, so n blou pak met vyf rooi sterre op.
    Ek het eenmaal daar op Nylstroom een gerook tydens n skoolkamp, jy sien sterre ek beloof jou.
    Pyptwak?
    Springbok of Black and White, lelike goete gewees daai.

• 450.pauld: Reply to this comment

Speaking of OMO and White Giant. When Robert Mugabe came to power in 1980 the first thing he did was ban SUPER BLUE SURF. It made the whites whiter , the coloureds brighter and did F… All for the blacks

• 451.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

i was just stuck in a lift for an hour because of the f@cking loadshedding.

at least it was better than the blonde WP fan who was stuck on the escalator.

• 452.Jinx: Reply to this comment

Google PUMAHOUSE for old Springbok Radio material.

Also other Springbok Radio sites. Fabulous stuff.

Also for old English Service and the Afrikaans service material. Also on PUMAHOUSENot to mention the radio commercials in original form. YOu will cry laughing. It will align you with your forgotten “parralel universe.”

Gooi with…the Creaking Door… Playhouse 90…Lux Radio Theatre…General Motors on Safari…Consider your verdict…The Mind of Tracey Dark…etc

Jet Jungle…actual clips…

• 453.jack35: Reply to this comment

pietman

dit was nou wel n tipe sigaartjie en nie strictly n sigaret nie, maar die sterkste wat ek ek ooit teegekom het was n ‘Cigarillo’, ek het amper die helfte van my een long uitgehoes na net een trek

• 454.Jinx: Reply to this comment

Elcano cigarillos

• 455.MR Lam: Reply to this comment

Middag almal
    wat se julle

ek persoonlik dink die bulls is in vir n lang seisoen geen agterlyn om van te praat nie teminste een geel kard per gam met nel daar vaste vyf wat lyk soos die vaste 6 sien uit na hierdie jaar

• 456.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

Consider your Verdict! classic! ek was in graad 1…

• 457.pauld: Reply to this comment

IMPORTANT ANNOUNCEMENT – PLEASE READ

With immediate effect “Nkosi Sikelele iAfrika” will be replaced as the National Anthem with : “HELLO DARKNESS MY OLD FRIEND”

From the management of EKSDOM

• 458.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

446, ja that’s right!

• 459.MR Lam: Reply to this comment

bluebarb where you at eskom website said no loadshedding today

• 460.MR Lam: Reply to this comment

gepraat van ciggies kan julle gold dollar onthou

• 461.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

LOL..so, the machine gun song is not going to be the new national anthem? :D

• 462.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

Hello LAM!!!

Bluebarb, ek is impressed dat Slummies geboue het wat elevators nodig het!

• 463.Pietman: Reply to this comment

jack
    Nee Cigarillos was nog ok, ook Van Dijk Cigarillos, ek het hulle lank gerook.
    Maar daai ‘Five Star’ sal ek nooit vergeet nie!

• 464.Steyn The Blue Bull: Reply to this comment

Mr Lam,

Jy moet kom vir n dop en n chop die naweek man…..ons moet weer saam kuier voor jy naai daai kuk plek gaan….

• 465.pauld: Reply to this comment

#463 Pietman

The biggest con was Senior Service mer geaktiveerde Houtskool. Some okes thought you could use them to braai on

• 466.Steyn The Blue Bull: Reply to this comment

oops!!!

sorry ek het bedoel naai daai kuk plek gaan

• 467.MR Lam: Reply to this comment

sorry blue just checked again its started

I wanna call my bank manager after this december holiday and ask if I can do some bill shedding over the next few months

Tony wasssup bro how is s/west treating you

• 468.Jinx: Reply to this comment

You can stay as you are for the rest of your life…or you can change to MAINSTAY.

• 469.Steyn The Blue Bull: Reply to this comment

hier is iets nie reg nie…ek se nie dit nie…en hy ply daai “i” daar gooi

• 470.MR Lam: Reply to this comment

steyn

klink na n plan gee my n luitjie saterdag ek het niks aan nie

• 471.Steyn The Blue Bull: Reply to this comment

ok Mr Lam..ek sal jou bel……dan maak ons so…

• 472.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Pauld

Yes, Riggio and Progress as well.
    And Ransom, of course.
    Charcoal filters.

Nee wat, ek is maar deesdae op die B&H Milds as ek in SA is, hier is dit Marlboro Lights.

• 473.MR Lam: Reply to this comment

471 cool

Steyn eerlik nou is jy nie bekommerd oor die bulle hierdie seisoen nie nog te vroeg om rerig te se maar dinge lyk nie goed nie

• 474.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Do you guys remember that Volkswagen add, with that song “I remember, the days of my life” about the whole lifespan of that Volkswagen Beetle?

I saw it somewhere again the other day, almost brought tears of nostalgia to my eyes.

• 475.jack35: Reply to this comment

Ja Jinx dis reg, Elcano

• 476.Steyn The Blue Bull: Reply to this comment

Lammie,

kyk daar is baie injuries ja, maar baie van daai manne weet waar oor dit gaan…..so ek sal vir jou kan se na die eerste 2 games….ons almal weet die bulle begin maar stadig…so as hulle die eerste game verloor soos laas jaar is dit ok…….ek wil nie he hulle moet nie…die bulle mag nooit teen die stormers verloor nie

• 477.Jinx: Reply to this comment

WPTID

That was sung by Andre De Villiers. Beautiful ad.

• 478.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Jinx

That’s an awesome website. The Pumamouse sure has gone to a hell of a lot of trouble to record some of the past.

I see they even have stuff from the old Rhodesian and Northern Rhodesian Broadcasting Corporations!

• 479.Steyn The Blue Bull: Reply to this comment

Pietman,

Hier is Marlboro Lights in SA….dalk nie die wat jy rook nie…die hier by ons kom mos uit een van die afrika lande….ek het dit vir lank gerook….maar die wat nou hier is…is nou maar vir my nie Marlboro nie

• 480.Pietman: Reply to this comment

WPTID
    Daai eerste 1600 Beatles was beroemd in die Namakwaland, Jowell’s het die agentskap gehad en kon nie voorbly om hulle te verkoop nie.
    Met daai 16 duim rims het hy n grondpad lekker gevat.
    Oom Peewee Howe by Jowell’s was die top verkoopsman in die land op n stadium (oud-Springbok senter).

• 481.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Now I remember – “Memories” by Andre de Villiers.

• 482.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Steyn
    Ja, ek weet, smaak nie dieselfde nie.
    Maar as ek oorkom sal ek jou van myne gee, uit die ‘duty free shop’, heeltemal anders.
    So ook die Lucky Strike Lights.

• 483.MR Lam: Reply to this comment

pietman

is daar n dorp op die weskus wat jy nie ken nie??

• 484.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Pietman

Mens kon lekker vry in daai goed.

Jonger vriend van my, jy moet hierdie storie ****: toe hy universiteit toe gaan, toe spoor sy pa wragtag die einste 1600 Beetle wat hy op universiteit mee rondgery het.

En toe vertel die bliksem wragtag vir sy seun dat hy verwek is op die agtersitplek van daai einste Beetle.

Die arme outjie kon nooit intiem raak met ‘n girl in daai kar nie, dit was net verkeerd…

• 485.MR Lam: Reply to this comment

piet bring liewer daai lekker opuim saam man moenie so wees nie hehehehe

• 486.blueboy: Reply to this comment

To bhupendra#30,my china i think you have got a wooden head if you you think the bulls will end up with the wooden spoon(poch mohone).

• 487.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Mr Lam
    Weet nie, was drie jaar laas daar!
    Maar ek is nie skaam om te se ek ken my land nie, ek het dit my werk gemaak om die plek te leer ken.
    Ek is ‘Proudly South African ‘ broer, en as ek daar kom besoek ek elke gehuggie vanaf Carnarvon tot Klaarwater met elke geleentheid..
    Ek hoop om bimnnekort weer die hele plek te gaan platry.

• 488.MR Lam: Reply to this comment

blueboy not wooden spoon,

but definately wont defend the title I doubt you guys even make the semis
    ludicrous as thats sounds (excuse the pun)

• 489.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

I remember the days of my life
    I re call the faces mostly yours
    Magic moments life was a mystery
    There’s no place on earth we’d rather be

Moving up, going through some changes
    Storing up the memories
    Tehn you gave me the light of my life
    I always gave the best I could give

Sometimes it never seemed like enough
    But we never quit when the going got tough

Do you remember the way it used to be
    Never counting the cost it was a matter of trust
    Covenant cut we’re lovers for life
    I still bear the scars do you still carry the knife

I remember the days of my life
    I recall the faces mostly yours
    Magic moments life’s still a mystery
    There’s no place on earth that we’d rather be

This is my life and I’m passing on the memories

• 490.Jinx: Reply to this comment

(Cheesy trumpets and brass music)

From the turn of the century it has become tradition to visit the showrooms of Alfred Dunhill… 30 Duke Street, St. James’, London. Here through the ages, craftsmen and blenders have brought the gentle art of smoking to perfection.

Today Dunhill King Size cigarettes are part of this tradition.

Dunhill King Size…from the most distinguished tobacco house in the world.

• 491.Pietman: Reply to this comment

485# WP
    Ek dink sy pa het hom net van die vryery probeer afsit met daai storie!
    n Pa is mos maar altyd bang sy seun vang dieselfde dinge aan as hy.

• 492.MR Lam: Reply to this comment

se my waneer ek gaan saam is mal oor daai deel van die land reg deur tot Upington toe

• 493.sondebok: Reply to this comment

My wife finally sold her 1969 1600 Beetle last year. It was her first car and she had it for 11 years, she could never get rid of it, even once she started working after she got her degree. I`ve never seen her cry so hard before or since. When her new car was stolen and stripped, she was more pissed off about the JBL soundsystem than the car! Those Beetles are classic cars. Everyone should drive one at least once in their lives.

• 494.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Lam
    Ja, sal lekker wees.
    Ek sal graag weer al my joggietjomme by die petrolpompe deur die land wil sien, ons kom lang pad saam.

• 495.MR Lam: Reply to this comment

493 couldnt agree more never owned one but did drive a lot of them classic cars

• 496.Pietman: Reply to this comment

sondebok
    Only one problem, their fuel tanks only held 40 liters and they were a little heavy on the juice, and the brakes were poor.

• 497.Jinx: Reply to this comment

WPTID # 479

You must also google PUMAHOUSE for the English service and Afrikaans service. Charles Fortune chirping away etc. Potent stuff.

• 498.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

WPTID, Andre De Villiers was the opening act when Michael W Smith performed at the Velodrome. He was absolutely amazing! He did that song, a classic!

• 499.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Jinne, Pietman, ek sal laaik om saam met jou deur daai wêreld te toer.

Amper iets soos daai TV-program, Going Nowhere Slowly…ons kry ‘n lekker groot skip van ‘n kar, soos ‘n ou Ford Fairlane, en dan ry ons rond deur Namakwaland…Pietman kan stories vertel vir die kykers, en dan kan ons klomp dinge doen saam met die locals. Potjiekos op Port Nolleth, olifante volg te voet in die Richtersveld…dit kan nogals werk ****! Noem dit “Namakwalandse Stories” of so iets…sommer so ‘n tribute aan Pieter Pieterse en Tolla en Worsie Visser.

• 500.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

• 501.Steyn The Blue Bull: Reply to this comment

Pietman,

Ek kan onthou toe begin rook het…was daar n klein cafe in PTA stad…daai man daar het altyd Malboro gekry…het dit so onder die counter verkoop…en later het my een oom by die lughawe gewerk…hy het altyd vir my gekry….het een keer die goed gekoop wat hulle nou hier het…nooit weer nie…bly maar by die Camel

• 502.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Jinx, Tony Moneo

That song is replaying in my head, time after time, at the moment…it’s real amazing.

It brings back so many memories, like just driving out into the middle of nowhere, finding a river or a dam somewhere, and sommer swimming kaalgat with your goose, having a picnic with some cheap red plonk on the grass…ah man, life is great!

• 503.katman: Reply to this comment

Get in the saddle with Paul Revere…

• 504.Jinx: Reply to this comment

WPTID

Tassies.

• 505.Pietman: Reply to this comment

500# WP
    Netso!
    Moenie die Muispisbos naby Lambertsbaai vergeet nie, en die Astoria Hotel op Carnarvon!
    CAO is n beroemde rugbyplek, die SA rekord vir die meeste punte in n SA eerste liga wedstryd is daar opgestel. Dit word selfs vermeld in n rugbykroeg in Carnarvon, n dorpie in die Skotse hooglande.

• 506.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Steyn
    Daai Griek by Sunnyside Kafee het altyd regte Marlboro gehad.
    Het altyd Sondae daar by hom gekoop.

• 507.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Jinx

The one and only…the classic!

Mind you, sometimes you were lucky and the Tassies was amazing!

It did vary greatly in quality though, still does.

It was always great at Stellies, buying a bottle of Tassies for something ridiculous like R15, then sitting at your table chatting with mates and eventually going through two or three bottles of Tassies in an evening.

• 508.Jinx: Reply to this comment

Katman

Yeah…when Paul revere rode from Charlestown to Boston or whatever.

Remember Hunter cigarettes. “You can’t steal Hunter’s taste, you can’t steal Hunter’s fla-vooouur.”

• 509.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

WPTID, that was one awesome add, I agree.

Remember the Castle ad with the guys braaing next to the airport runway with the portable tv?
    More than a feeling – Boston

Wow, that was great.

• 510.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

I was shocked when I saw last year they charge something like £5 or £6 for a bottle of Tassies in London.

Still a lot cheaper than other wines there, though…

• 511.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Tony Moneo

I must say, there have been some great SAB ads.

That one where they use “Africa” by Toto…beautiful too.

• 512.4teen: Reply to this comment

Pietman!

Stuur my bietjie `n e-possie… ek het jou vorige mail verloor. Ek het weer `n paar diere wat ek vir jou wil aanstuur.

Cheers!

• 513.Jinx: Reply to this comment

Can you remember Raadsaal coffee?

Er…3 Trees Tea?

Er…Pepsident Toothpaste? Or Signal Toothpaste? ( with the red stripe)

• 514.Steyn The Blue Bull: Reply to this comment

ok mense…ek is weg…geniet dit…met al die reen…gaan ek nou eers bietjie in die traffic speel..

cheers mense laat dit goed gaan

• 515.Pietman: Reply to this comment

WPTID
    Dave Stewart, Christian se oom en een van die oorspronklike eienaars van Logan Sports in die Kaap (waar Jinx se oom Alan al jare bestuurder is), het op Carnarvon vir Caltex gewerk.
    Hulle het tot onlangs nog n ‘Dave Stewart Rugbydag’ daar gehad, en dan het Villagers daar kom speel, met Mike English en HO de Villiers as busbestuurder en drinkafrigter van die span!

• 516.Pietman: Reply to this comment

4teen
    Maak so, en stuur my sommer die nuutste Pathfinder specs ook!

• 517.Jinx: Reply to this comment

Pietman

What about Tubby Teubes…

• 518.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

WPTID, I was thinking about that one too!!! I actually contacted SAB a few years ago to see if I could get the ads on dvd but they couldn`t help.

• 519.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Jinx
    Teubes, the front ranker?
    Was he from Carnarvon as well?
    The oke from Old Mutual?

• 520.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

“Good pure strong Virginia. The wine for men who enjoy being men”.

“Pure VIRGINIA is the wine for men who enjoy living life to the full…and have the strength to do it…”

And then the picture of a guy flexing his right bicep…

• 521.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

Cheers Steyntjie, ek is ook op pad.

Thanks for the walk down memory lane everybody. Today was a really cool day here.

• 522.trupisero...almalsemoerebehalwemyne!!: Reply to this comment

hallo everyone.

quick look in before closing time.

speaking of ads – I always wanted to be in a Mainstay / Peter Stuyvesant ad.

• 523.Jinx: Reply to this comment

Pietman

No. 8. Was captain of Villagers and WP B.

• 524.Jinx: Reply to this comment

Must make like Levi’s and fade…I need to do some shopping at Gardens Centre.

Cheers dudes and dudesses.

• 525.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Pietman

Drinkafrigter? Lekker! Baie belangrike rol daai…

Jinx

This talk of Tassies makes me think of that poem by Adam Small, contained in his book “Kitaar my Kruis”:

lat die wêreld ma’ praat pêllie los en vas
    ‘n sigaretjie en ‘n kannetjie Oem Tas
    en dis all right pêllie dis all right
    ons kannie worry nie

‘n sigaretjie en ‘n kannetjie Oem Tas
    en ‘n lekker meid en lekker anner dinge
    oe!
    lat die wêreld ma’ praat pêllie los en vas
    wat daarvan
    wat daarvan
    wat maak dit saak?
    soes die Engelsman sê it cuts no ice
    die Here het gaskommel
    en die dice het verkeerd gaval vi’ ons
    daai’s maar al

so lat hulle ma’ sê skollie pêllie
    never mind
    daar’s mos kinners van Gam en daar’s kinners van Kain
    so dis all right pêllie dis all right

• 526.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Jinx
    The last time I went to Carnarvon for the Dave Stewart Day, Trevor Pannack was cappie, the hooker, Roy Mac and Grant Abernethy half backs, Bruce (that WP cricketer, the burly one, was one of the centers) and would you believe Brian O’ Miles and Frans Oescher (the boytjie from the Tiger Norwood incident) were the wings!
    Tiny Neethling, team manager (he worked for Ransom way back then) insisted that we had Port and Castle Stout (mixed) in the Astoria Hotel before the game, it was a bleak, cold and blistery Karoo day.
    But what a jol!

• 527.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

525, WPTID, dit was flippin awesome….

• 528.pauld: Reply to this comment

Pietman

Wanneer is jy onder in die Kaap. Ek is vanaf 15-25 Feb in Langebaan

• 529.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Man, today was spent on Nostalgia Avenue.

I feel like a drink now. Pity they don’t serve Lion Lager anymore.

• 530.Pietman: Reply to this comment

pauld
    4 tot 26 Feb.
    Sal jou later my telnr mail, ek het jou addie by Norm gekry.

• 531.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

529 BUT THEY DO!!! I bought a box of 6 Lions in December at the local!!! Commemorative Edition!

• 532.pauld: Reply to this comment

#530 Pietman

Ons moet definitief by mekaar uitkom.

• 533.Pietman: Reply to this comment

WP 530#
    Lion Lager?
    No more?

• 534.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

Dis lankal uit die shops uit Pietman, maar ek het in Desember weer `n paar gekry. Moes net koop en `n lekker nostalgiese sopie vat.

• 535.katman: Reply to this comment

Down a Lion. Feel satisfied.

• 536.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

Ok, I must go!

Cheers guys

• 537.4teen: Reply to this comment

Pietman!

Jy het mail…

• 538.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Pietman,

Yip, they tried to rebrand with a blue and silver can to attract younger drinkers, but it failed.

They took it off the market in 2003, I think. Lion Lager was first brewed and sold in 1889, I think.

• 539.pauld: Reply to this comment

#535 Katman

LION the old no.17 or Let Indians Own Natal

• 540.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Tony
    Nou wat nou?
    Laas toe ek in SA was, was dit nog beskikbaar in so n snaakse blink blikkie.
    Heng, ek onthou Lion Ale, dit was n lekker bier altyd, veral die Natalse ene.

• 541.katman: Reply to this comment

539 – LOL

My dad used to drink Krönenbrau, but they took it off the market here before I reached full beer drinking maturity. Apparently ’twasn’t bad.

• 542.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Nou wat drink man nou by die huis daar in die donkerte?
    Is daar darem nog Castle?
    Ek gaan nie weer so lank wegbly nie, dinge verander te veel tuis as ek nie n ogie hou nie, lyk my.

• 543.pauld: Reply to this comment

#541 Katman

Kronenbrau 1308. Remember when Louis Luyt started Colt 45 beer. Followed by Stallion 54. SAB waited for him to set up his bottling plant then the next day introduced the screw-top dumpy. His beer biz folded overnight

• 544.Pietman: Reply to this comment

katman
    Kronenbrau was an excellent beer.
    Robbie Blair and Andries Krogmann (nowadays at Paarl Rock) used to be the reps in the Cape Pen.
    I remember they used to have wagons with tankards pulled by white horses, and German girls dishing out free cups of beer in Voortrekker Rd once.

• 545.pauld: Reply to this comment

#544 Pietman

Yes those German chicks with the plaited armpits and barbed wire unterhosen

• 546.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

“When former fertiliser king Louis Luyt entered the mass beer market with Luyt Breweries in the 1970s, SAB successfully countered Luyt’s Colt 45 by launching Stallion 54, resulting in a court battle.”

• 547.katman: Reply to this comment

Ah, sounds like my kind of beer. Although I must admit I’m more than happy with good old Windhoek Lager. It’s everything I want in a beer.

• 548.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Luyt Lager en Whitbread, beide LL biere.
    Dit was die kukste bier uit.
    Rogue was egter goed (daai lange met die olifant op).

• 549.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

“1972: South African market sees the entrance of a new, but short-lived local competitor – Luyt Breweries – salvaged and revitalised within a year by the Rembrandt Group as Intercontinental Breweries. (The so-called “beer wars” raged on for some seven years, generating unprecedented interest in beer and stimulating marketing sophistication and innovation never seen before.)”

• 550.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Louis Luyt…’hy maak hom die pes by die blek en die kuk by die sak’, het ou Simon gese.

• 551.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Jinne, maar ons het omtrent vandag ‘n wye, wye veld bespreek.

Ek moet sê, dit is nogals ‘n helse indrukwekkend klomp bliksems hier op keo.

Verbaas my elke dag.

• 552.Pietman: Reply to this comment

551# WP
    Ja, man leer elke dag hier, veral van die WP bloggers!!!

• 553.pauld: Reply to this comment

apparently louis luyt , as a youngster , was such a good fertiliser salesman that they say some farmers still have some of his stock left in their sheds to this day

• 554.pauld: Reply to this comment

Been a brilliant day. After all , one can only talk so much rugby.

• 555.Pietman: Reply to this comment

pauld
    You know that Piet Greyling (flank) and Piet Uys(scrummie) were his righthand men at Triomf?

• 556.pauld: Reply to this comment

Never knew that. But then again , you never seem to amaze this site with your inexhaustible database of trivia Pietman. Knowing what you know I am starting to think you are a reincarnate of Methusala

• 557.Isigidi: Reply to this comment

Ek verstaan Tassies word gemaak uit die oorblyfsels van gesertifiseerde wyne. Sê bv Tienie Momberg van Middelvlei sê die suur gehalte vab sy Pinotage is nie meer goed genoeg vir bottel, gooi hulle dit in ‘n tenk. So ook ander kelders. Uit die tenk word dan Tassies getap.
    So kan jy ‘n baie goeie Tassies kry, maar ook ‘n baie slegte.
    Die triek is om die bottelmeester by Farmers Winery te ken. Hy kan dan vir jou sê watter batch is meestal van watter wynland.

• 558.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Luyt was not his family name, he took his stepfather’s.
    Grew up at Phillipolis, son of a railway worker.
    But, respects, this man came from nowhere with nothing and worked for every cent he pocketed.
    His downfall was Richards Bay, and that railway business he got involved in over there, for exportation of some fertilizer or sulphur or something….

• 559.pauld: Reply to this comment

#557 Isigidi

So n bietjie soos Red Heart Rum. Word gemaak uit die leer van ou bokshandskoene and tampax. As jy hom drink wil jy of baklei of steek

• 560.Pietman: Reply to this comment

556# Pauld
    Ek is n Weskusklong….biscuits and biltong broer, en bokkoms en vaaljapie!
    Kos vir die brein daai….

• 561.pauld: Reply to this comment

Richards Bay. Had the misfortune of living there for three months in the late 70′s. Triomf and Alusaf. What a sh*thole

• 562.Pietman: Reply to this comment

561# Janee, daai is n kukplek.
    My vorige vrou se broer was aanlegbestuurder daar by Alusaf.
    Muskiete en hitte, in die ergste graad

• 563.pauld: Reply to this comment

Ja hulle het elke aand in die dorp rond gery met n moerse trok wat gif gespuit het teen die mozzies. Sif plek

• 564.Pietman: Reply to this comment

pauld
    Praat later, ek gaan eers tjaila.
    Cheers.

• 565.pauld: Reply to this comment

cheers pietman. ek moet begin werk. nog heel dag f all gedoen

• 566.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Here is a bet, to anyone who wants to take it.

No SA team will make the semi’s, the Bulls and Sharks (given their draw) will have a poor season with the Lions (for a change) not being the wooden spoonest’s.

Cheetahs to end last (of all SA teams) followed by the Stormers, Bulls, Lions and Sharks – in that order.

Western Force, Crusaders, Chiefs and Blues to be your semi final contenders.

• 567.Loosehead: Reply to this comment

I see that the Bulls newly signed backline coach, Nico le Roux, has already resigned. One week of working with Frans Ludeke must have been enough.

• 568.pauld: Reply to this comment

#567 Loosehead

Not sure if Ludicrous is to blame here. Looking at the following statement :

It was learnt that some senior Bulls players voiced their concern that Le Roux was not involved enough during training and that his coaching style did not add to their training sessions and game style.

Or maybe Ludicrous wants to be seen as a nice guy and is too insecure to tackle the egos in the squad.

TAlk about the tail wagging the dog

• 569.Loosehead: Reply to this comment

Howzit Pauld? This guy has had experience with most NZ S14 teams, the NZ age group teams and NZ A. He must have a lot to give. Perhaps he is too much of a free thinker. I wonder who Ludeke will get to replace Le Roux?

• 570.Loosehead: Reply to this comment

He can always come to the Cheetahs, although we can only pay him in mielies.

• 571.pauld: Reply to this comment

#569 Loosehead

I bet Ludicrous is glad to see him go. He wasn’t going to be upstaged by somebody who is a better coach than him. Expect the Bulls to end in bottom half of the table

• 572.Loosehead: Reply to this comment

Now the Bulls have, no Meyer, no Matfield, no coach, no backline coach, no hooker, no centers and no Steve Hofmeyer. Lets hope that they can pull this S14 out of the fire.

• 573.java: Reply to this comment

Loosehead its pittyfull really lol no more excuses now you kraakers

• 574.shooter: Reply to this comment

forcing the headline a bit. burnt? crashes? issues Ryan?

• 575.katman: Reply to this comment

Ryan rues rogue headline.

• 576.shooter: Reply to this comment

ryan’s word art not

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.