Bulls burnt as Chiliboy crashes

The Bulls’ already worrying injury situation was compounded yesterday when Chiliboy Ralepelle left training having injured the same knee that has kept him sidelined for nine months.

Ralepelle tore his cruciate knee ligament early in last year’s Super 14 and hasn’t played since. With Gary Botha’s departure for the London-based Harlequins, Ralepelle was expected to be the first-choice hooker.

Derick Kuün filled the role in the Currie Cup but his stint only reinforced the widely held view that he would be better suited to the flank, where he starred for the SA U21s. James van der Walt, signed from the Lions last year, has hardly had any game time in either the Currie Cup or Super 14 and would be a risky option for the Bulls.

Bulls team doctor Tommie Smook played down concerns about Ralepelle saying he would be out for around two weeks.

“It looks like a medial ligament and not the cruciate that he tore last year, but I’ll have to wait until the swelling subsides to know for sure,” Smook told keo.co.za. “If that’s the case we’re talking a few weeks out of the game, not months.”

Bulls coach Frans Ludeke will be concerned at how many of his key players are injured just three weeks from the start of the Super 14. Already Bakkies Botha and Gurthro Steenkamp are almost certain to miss start of the tournament, while Pierre Spies’ availability depends on the result of tests that will conducted at the end of January.

“They’ll do a few blood tests and scans to reconfirm that their is no longer a problem with Pierre,” Smook said of the Springbok loose forward who, in August last year, was diagnosed with blood clots on his lungs.

“From there the specialist will decide whether he requires further treatment on the blood thinning medication or whether he is fit to play. If he doesn’t get a clean bill of health there he’ll have another round of tests at the end of February, and I’m optimistic that those tests will show he has recovered.”

576 Comments

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] Show All

• 551.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Jinne, maar ons het omtrent vandag ‘n wye, wye veld bespreek.

Ek moet sê, dit is nogals ‘n helse indrukwekkend klomp bliksems hier op keo.

Verbaas my elke dag.

• 552.Pietman: Reply to this comment

551# WP
    Ja, man leer elke dag hier, veral van die WP bloggers!!!

• 553.pauld: Reply to this comment

apparently louis luyt , as a youngster , was such a good fertiliser salesman that they say some farmers still have some of his stock left in their sheds to this day

• 554.pauld: Reply to this comment

Been a brilliant day. After all , one can only talk so much rugby.

• 555.Pietman: Reply to this comment

pauld
    You know that Piet Greyling (flank) and Piet Uys(scrummie) were his righthand men at Triomf?

• 556.pauld: Reply to this comment

Never knew that. But then again , you never seem to amaze this site with your inexhaustible database of trivia Pietman. Knowing what you know I am starting to think you are a reincarnate of Methusala

• 557.Isigidi: Reply to this comment

Ek verstaan Tassies word gemaak uit die oorblyfsels van gesertifiseerde wyne. Sê bv Tienie Momberg van Middelvlei sê die suur gehalte vab sy Pinotage is nie meer goed genoeg vir bottel, gooi hulle dit in ‘n tenk. So ook ander kelders. Uit die tenk word dan Tassies getap.
    So kan jy ‘n baie goeie Tassies kry, maar ook ‘n baie slegte.
    Die triek is om die bottelmeester by Farmers Winery te ken. Hy kan dan vir jou sê watter batch is meestal van watter wynland.

• 558.Pietman: Reply to this comment

Luyt was not his family name, he took his stepfather’s.
    Grew up at Phillipolis, son of a railway worker.
    But, respects, this man came from nowhere with nothing and worked for every cent he pocketed.
    His downfall was Richards Bay, and that railway business he got involved in over there, for exportation of some fertilizer or sulphur or something….

• 559.pauld: Reply to this comment

#557 Isigidi

So n bietjie soos Red Heart Rum. Word gemaak uit die leer van ou bokshandskoene and tampax. As jy hom drink wil jy of baklei of steek

• 560.Pietman: Reply to this comment

556# Pauld
    Ek is n Weskusklong….biscuits and biltong broer, en bokkoms en vaaljapie!
    Kos vir die brein daai….

• 561.pauld: Reply to this comment

Richards Bay. Had the misfortune of living there for three months in the late 70′s. Triomf and Alusaf. What a sh*thole

• 562.Pietman: Reply to this comment

561# Janee, daai is n kukplek.
    My vorige vrou se broer was aanlegbestuurder daar by Alusaf.
    Muskiete en hitte, in die ergste graad

• 563.pauld: Reply to this comment

Ja hulle het elke aand in die dorp rond gery met n moerse trok wat gif gespuit het teen die mozzies. Sif plek

• 564.Pietman: Reply to this comment

pauld
    Praat later, ek gaan eers tjaila.
    Cheers.

• 565.pauld: Reply to this comment

cheers pietman. ek moet begin werk. nog heel dag f all gedoen

• 566.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Here is a bet, to anyone who wants to take it.

No SA team will make the semi’s, the Bulls and Sharks (given their draw) will have a poor season with the Lions (for a change) not being the wooden spoonest’s.

Cheetahs to end last (of all SA teams) followed by the Stormers, Bulls, Lions and Sharks – in that order.

Western Force, Crusaders, Chiefs and Blues to be your semi final contenders.

• 567.Loosehead: Reply to this comment

I see that the Bulls newly signed backline coach, Nico le Roux, has already resigned. One week of working with Frans Ludeke must have been enough.

• 568.pauld: Reply to this comment

#567 Loosehead

Not sure if Ludicrous is to blame here. Looking at the following statement :

It was learnt that some senior Bulls players voiced their concern that Le Roux was not involved enough during training and that his coaching style did not add to their training sessions and game style.

Or maybe Ludicrous wants to be seen as a nice guy and is too insecure to tackle the egos in the squad.

TAlk about the tail wagging the dog

• 569.Loosehead: Reply to this comment

Howzit Pauld? This guy has had experience with most NZ S14 teams, the NZ age group teams and NZ A. He must have a lot to give. Perhaps he is too much of a free thinker. I wonder who Ludeke will get to replace Le Roux?

• 570.Loosehead: Reply to this comment

He can always come to the Cheetahs, although we can only pay him in mielies.

• 571.pauld: Reply to this comment

#569 Loosehead

I bet Ludicrous is glad to see him go. He wasn’t going to be upstaged by somebody who is a better coach than him. Expect the Bulls to end in bottom half of the table

• 572.Loosehead: Reply to this comment

Now the Bulls have, no Meyer, no Matfield, no coach, no backline coach, no hooker, no centers and no Steve Hofmeyer. Lets hope that they can pull this S14 out of the fire.

• 573.java: Reply to this comment

Loosehead its pittyfull really lol no more excuses now you kraakers

• 574.shooter: Reply to this comment

forcing the headline a bit. burnt? crashes? issues Ryan?

• 575.katman: Reply to this comment

Ryan rues rogue headline.

• 576.shooter: Reply to this comment

ryan’s word art not

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.