Bulls burnt as Chiliboy crashes
22 Jan 2008
The Bulls’ already worrying injury situation was compounded yesterday when Chiliboy Ralepelle left training having injured the same knee that has kept him sidelined for nine months.
Ralepelle tore his cruciate knee ligament early in last year’s Super 14 and hasn’t played since. With Gary Botha’s departure for the London-based Harlequins, Ralepelle was expected to be the first-choice hooker.
Derick Kuün filled the role in the Currie Cup but his stint only reinforced the widely held view that he would be better suited to the flank, where he starred for the SA U21s. James van der Walt, signed from the Lions last year, has hardly had any game time in either the Currie Cup or Super 14 and would be a risky option for the Bulls.
Bulls team doctor Tommie Smook played down concerns about Ralepelle saying he would be out for around two weeks.
“It looks like a medial ligament and not the cruciate that he tore last year, but I’ll have to wait until the swelling subsides to know for sure,” Smook told keo.co.za. “If that’s the case we’re talking a few weeks out of the game, not months.”
Bulls coach Frans Ludeke will be concerned at how many of his key players are injured just three weeks from the start of the Super 14. Already Bakkies Botha and Gurthro Steenkamp are almost certain to miss start of the tournament, while Pierre Spies’ availability depends on the result of tests that will conducted at the end of January.
“They’ll do a few blood tests and scans to reconfirm that their is no longer a problem with Pierre,” Smook said of the Springbok loose forward who, in August last year, was diagnosed with blood clots on his lungs.
“From there the specialist will decide whether he requires further treatment on the blood thinning medication or whether he is fit to play. If he doesn’t get a clean bill of health there he’ll have another round of tests at the end of February, and I’m optimistic that those tests will show he has recovered.”

576 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 » Show All
22 Jan 2008, 15:45 pm
pauld
How about a Lieberstein rather, or a cold Paarl perle?
I personally would go for an Oom Tas or Golden Dice, a vyfbottle kan…
22 Jan 2008, 15:45 pm
Pauld # 395
What about Virginia wine with that radio jingle…Thew wine for men who love being men.
Or what about… Oom Tas. ****, kill your gut stuff.
22 Jan 2008, 15:46 pm
Pauld and Pietman
A bit of Springbok Radio for you. With Dulcie Van der Berg.
Hospitaaltyd:
Daar’s ‘n lied en ‘n glimlag vir jou,
In Hospitaal Tyd, onthou,
Verkleur die wolke van grys tot blou,
In Hospitaal Tyd, onthou,
Vanaf Maandag tot Vrydag, om half-een
Is daar musiek vir moeder, vader – en dogter en seun,
Ja daar’s ‘n lied en ‘n glimlag vir jou,
In Hospitaal Tyd, onthou!
22 Jan 2008, 15:46 pm
Anyone read how Drotske’s trying to lure Paulse to play for the Cheetahs this year as a fullback option.
With Fortuin and Hollenbach injured, there’s just Daniller.
I think Paulse would add necessary experience to the Cheetahs backline. And the guy’s got a serious boot on him.
Would love Breyton to say yes.
22 Jan 2008, 15:47 pm
Oom Tas, die man met die groot hoed en die groen oortjie.
22 Jan 2008, 15:47 pm
Katman
I like that unintended pun of being stuck in Stilfontein. Staan Stil in Stilfontein. Would prefer De Aar vir the okes.
All the Bulls/Cheetah okes know De Aar well. They take part in that rally from Parys na De Aar every year in their Ford XR6 interceptors
22 Jan 2008, 15:48 pm
I used to always think that it was the wine for men who enjoyed other men
Pietman and Pauld
Or you can have “So maak mens” with Esme Euvrard and Jan Cronje.
NOW I’ve seen it all … HOSPITAALTYD!!
22 Jan 2008, 15:49 pm
Vyfster!
That was a good show, and I really digged the theme music.
22 Jan 2008, 15:50 pm
For after action satisfaction…light a Lexington…LEXINGTON…Thaaaaaaat’s the one!
gerber, then don`t label Spies a great either. capiche?
What was that one with the guys on the border?
Was that also Esme?
In die bar op De Aar
sit ons almal bymekaar
en ons wag op die trein
na wie weet waar.
22 Jan 2008, 15:51 pm
#401 Pietman
Toe ek op skool was het ek in Langebaan se offsales gewerk. Die bestsellers daar was Honey Blossom en Voorslag. Daardie goed kon die chrome van n towhitch afbrand en die enamel van jou tande. Pure assyn
22 Jan 2008, 15:51 pm
Filter or straight… men rate Gunston great!
22 Jan 2008, 15:52 pm
Jinx
Daasit, Virginia, hel ek het gesukkel om daai ene te kry.
En n lekker Lexington agterna, ‘After action satisfaction’, of
“Give a man a Lucky, Lucky Strike’.
Of Rembrandt van Rhyn, “Elke hoes n meesterstuk’,
of Paarl Cigarettes, ‘So koel soos n bergbrand’…
22 Jan 2008, 15:52 pm
#413 Dawn
Fun with the Forces
Join de Force for Intercourse
22 Jan 2008, 15:53 pm
Dis My Geheim…
…met Aalwyn Lee, Cybil Coetzee and Karel Trichard.
Die Wildtemmer, storie op Springbok Radio
Nee man. It was almost like hospitaaltyd maar dit was vir die ouens op die border.
22 Jan 2008, 15:54 pm
The next best thing to a lexington isssssss another lexington.
Favourite radio add of all time was the Gunston (cough like a cannon) where they play the clip from the tabacco auction , 3 , 4 , 344 sold to Gunnnnnstonnnnnnnnnn
Gooi the Brylcreem my bru or Vitalis.
Before Jik there was Gillettes Javel.
New Ransom select…miracle filter.
Or…Rothman’s King Size…really satisfies.
Bog met blou Maandag
Staal Burger
Squad Cars
Who stil remembers Bill Davis and that Portuguese girl from LM Radio?
What was her name, a real looker, she was,
Evelyn Martin, no?
22 Jan 2008, 15:55 pm
Squad Cars.
And that’s the reason why
We’re going to light up the sky
We’re gonna taste America
My Winstons and I
they prowl the empty streets at night , waiting in fast cars or on foot , these are the men from SQUAD CARSSSSS
Wie onthou Willem met Tobie Cronje?
22 Jan 2008, 15:57 pm
HOE GAAN FIT MET TRIXIE SE SPENE!!??
ek skree nie ema…
22 Jan 2008, 15:57 pm
#429 Tony M
Tobie Cronje. As Samson Tobie se kakebeen gehad het dan het hy 100,000 filistyne dood gemoer
22 Jan 2008, 15:58 pm
anybody remember Captain Cremmin(?) on (then) Radio 5?
Paul Revere cigarettes.
Idlewild Menthol
Craven A ( those thin jobs) Both regular and menthol)Yak!!
Tony, When Greatest appears, all one has to do in silence is THANK THE NZ GOVT for granting him residence over there…….This tends to make me feel way better about his sour, bitter and distasteful commentary on all things local……
22 Jan 2008, 15:59 pm
431, nie as hy ook Tobie se gewrigte gehad het nie.
‘Liefdeslied’, met Jan Cronje, the thing ran for as long as I can remember (13 years?), and that flippin’ ‘Du Plooys from Soetmelksvlei’!
I can still picture my grandmother in front of the old Pilot set, transfixed….that theme song was enough to drive me out of the house at three o’clock in the afternoon and start smoking Gold Dollar Plain at a tender age….
All time best was Gold Dollar. In red or blue in packets of 10. Started smoking them at the age of 13
Katman # 427
F#cking classic.
22 Jan 2008, 16:00 pm
And the Omo ad where they had this m**rse sheet that they washed in a public swimmingpool!
22 Jan 2008, 16:00 pm
Pauld
Me too. Cavalla 10′s too.
22 Jan 2008, 16:01 pm
Ha Ha, Jinx.
Rodeo, stock cars, big trucks…. and Winston.
22 Jan 2008, 16:02 pm
Westminister ’85′ was a good starter too, or Cavalla Oval, 1 shilling three pence a pack of 30′s.
22 Jan 2008, 16:02 pm
431 and 435, classic!!!!
22 Jan 2008, 16:05 pm
ruck, I thank them everyday….
22 Jan 2008, 16:05 pm
my grandfather smoked Gold Dollar plain, annd my Oupa smoked Horseshoe pyptwak.
that stuff would f@ck the marlboro man up six ways from sunday.
22 Jan 2008, 16:07 pm
That wasn’t omo. That was White Giant. with miners and cows walking all over it
22 Jan 2008, 16:07 pm
best sa tv ad ever:
“its not inside its onnnnnn top!!!”
cremora, pure koffiekapitaal
22 Jan 2008, 16:09 pm
Tony, surely you can’t compare Spies to Chillyboy??
what exactly is great about Chillyboy??. He excelled at age group level. FACT.Lets wait til the boy goes thru S14 first. We all know Spies is going to be a great player.
Ruck,
Please don’t draw to racist conclusions regarding my analysis of Spies. We should be above that.
Bluebarb
Nee, die sterkste sigaret was ‘Five Star, so n blou pak met vyf rooi sterre op.
Ek het eenmaal daar op Nylstroom een gerook tydens n skoolkamp, jy sien sterre ek beloof jou.
Pyptwak?
Springbok of Black and White, lelike goete gewees daai.
Speaking of OMO and White Giant. When Robert Mugabe came to power in 1980 the first thing he did was ban SUPER BLUE SURF. It made the whites whiter , the coloureds brighter and did F… All for the blacks
Pages: « 1 … 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 » Show All