Super 14 previews: Round 13

Keo.co.za analyses the key match-ups and picks the winners at the weekend.

Kempo, the quintessential cult hero, is currently bushwhacking through the Amazon (or paddling across the Pacific on a lilo – I can’t remember which) but has sworn to make his round 13 calls as soon as he finds an internet connection.

HURRICANES vs FORCE, WELLINGTON, FRIDAY 09:35

JC’s call: They’re two unpredictable teams capable of beating any side in the competition, but it’s hard to see the Canes losing at home. The jury is still out on the use of Willie Ripia at flyhalf, and if Piri Weepu eats any more pies the Canes could consider themselves well covered at prop. Aside from the soft spot at halfback, the Canes possess a potent midfield and equally electric back three. The loose trio, led by Chris Masoe, will make their mark thanks to a thriving tight-five. Force flyhalf Matt Giteau is the obvious dangerman, but coach John Mitchell needs a team effort if any upset is to be achieved.
Hurricanes by 9.

Kempo’s call: JC, Kempo was skirmishing to find a front row!

The Force do have that unpredictability about them, and Nathan Sharpe is an outstanding leader. Matt Giteau is maybe worth a mention but Drew Mitchell will be more of a problem for the Canes. Disagree that flyhalf is a problem, for if it was Piri Weepu, who played last year’s NPC at flyhalf, he would just slot into the role. Besides, whats left of the backline is just short of world class. The Canes loose trio will win this one though, and with the bonus point.
Hurricanes by 12 or more.

Hurricanes - Cory Jane, Hosea Gear, Conrad Smith, Ma’a Nonu, Zac Guildford, Willie Ripia, Piri Weepu, Rodney So’oialo, Scott Waldrom, Jerry Collins, Jason Eaton, Jeremy Thrush, Neemia Tialata, Andrew Hore, Tim Fairbrother.
Subs: Hikawera Elliot, John Schwalger, Craig Clarke, Jerry Collins/Thomas Waldrom, Alby Mathewson, Jimmy Gopperth, Shannon Paku.
Force – Cameron Shepherd, Dane Haylett-Petty, Josh Tatupu, James O’Connor, Drew Mitchell, Matt Giteau, James Stannard, Richard Brown, David Pocock, Matt Hodgson, Nathan Sharpe (capt), David Pusey, Troy Takiari, Tai McIsaac, Gareth Hardy.
Subs: Luke Holmes, Kieran Longbottom, Sitaleki Timani, Sam Wykes, Chris O’Young, Scott Daruda, Haig Sare.

BULLS vs BRUMBIES, PRETORIA, FRIDAY 19:10

JC’s call:The Bulls may have failed as defending champions, but are destined to finish this season on a high. Fourie du Preez’s tactical game will be instrumental in this victory with both Bulls halfbacks out-kicking their Aussie counterparts. The Bulls have the advantage up front, and the powerful Brumbies midfield will be significantly underdone given Stirling Mortlock’s stomach ailment earlier in the week.
Bulls by 7.

Kempo’s call: The Blou gals will blow these turkeys away! Stomach bug my ass. They were in Cape Town, the Mother City of all hangovers, so it’s more likely to be alcohol poisoning than any dodgy food. The ailment will have its effect, and the Bulle will convince them that these guys only became convicts after the Boer war!
Bulls by 14.

Bulls - Zane Kirchner, Akona Ndungane, JP Nel, Wynand Olivier, Bryan Habana, Morné Steyn, Fourie du Preez (c), Pierre Spies, Wikus van Heerden, Deon Stegmann, Wilhelm Steenkamp, Bakkies Botha, Werner Kruger, Derick Kuün, Gurthro Steenkamp.
Subs: Bandise Maku, Rayno Gerber, Jaco Engels, Danie Rossouw, Francois Hougaard, Burton Francis, Pedrie Wannenburg.
Brumbies – 15. Mark Gerrard, 14. Adam Ashley-Cooper, 13. Stirling Mortlock, 12. Tyrone Smith, 11. Afusipa Taumoepeau, 10. Christian Lealiifano, 9. Josh Holmes, 8. Stephen Hoiles, 7. George Smith, 6. Mitchell Chapman, 5. Mark Chisholm, 4. Alister Campbell, 3. Guy Shepherdson, 2. John Ulugia, 1. Nic Henderson.
Subs: 16. Saia Faingaa, 17. Ben Alexander, 18. Peter Kimlin, 19. Adam Wallace-Harrison, 20. Julian Salvi, 21. Patrick Phibbs, 22. Matt Toomua.

HIGHLANDERS vs BLUES, DUNEDIN, SATURDAY 09:35

JC’s call:The Blues have won only two of their six games in Dunedin, but head into this match needing five log points. Nick Evans’s switch with Isa Nacewa has proved inspired in recent games, and scrumhalf Taniela Moa has also proved more effective on attack. The abrasive back row of the Blues should win the battle at the breakdown, while an All Blacks front row should hand the Landers contingent a free lesson. The South Islanders are no easy beats, but a desperate Blues team finding some late form should put them away comfortably.
Blues by 12.

Kempo’s call: That Highlanders side is better than one thinks. They have just travelled, but they are at the House of Pain! N v S derby’s in NZ are a bit like the Sharks-Stormers games of old. Expect a bit of rough and rumble, but I agree that the front five will be found wanting. The loose forward battle will be tight, and Nick Evans might just be the difference at the end of the day.
Blues by 5.

Highlanders - 15 Paul Williams, 14 Glen Horton, 13 Aaron Bancroft, 12 Johnny Leota, 11 Fetu’u Vainikolo, 10 Mike Delany, 9 Jimmy Cowan, 8 Craig Newby (captain), 7 Alando Soakai, 6 Adam Thomson, 5 Tom Donnelly, 4 Hoani MacDonald, 3 Clint Newland, 2 Jason MacDonald, 1 Jamie Mackintosh.
Subs: 16 David Hall, 17 Chris King, 18 Isaac Ross, 19 Steven Setephano, 20 Toby Morland, 21 Daniel Bowden, 22 Niva Ta’auso.
Blues - 15 Nick Evans, 14 David Smith, 13 Anthony Tuitavake, 12 Benson Stanley, 11 Rudi Wulf, 10 Isa Nacewa, 9 Taniela Moa; 8 Nick Williams, 7 Daniel Braid, 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Troy Flavell (c)/Kurtis Haiu, 4 Anthony Boric, 3 John Afoa, 2 Keven Mealamu, 1 Tony Woodcock/Nick White.
Subs: 16 White/Tom McCartney, 17 Bronson Murray, 18 Haiu/Bryn Evans, 19 Justin Collins, 20 Danny Lee, 21 Isaia Toeava, 22 Ben Atiga.

REDS vs CRUSADERS, BRISBANE, SATURDAY 11:40

JC’s call:The mismatch of the weekend. The Reds welcome back Chris Latham, but as a unit they just don’t have the class to compete with the Crusaders. Quade Cooper and Berrick Barnes have produced some good touches on attack, but they will be a soft target for the direct Saders inside backs and hard-running loosies. The Saders have the best pack in the competition, and their demolition of the Reds eight will set the platform for a comfortable win.
Crusaders by 20.

Kempo’s call: Just read the Crusaders team sheet, and you’ll find they’re resting players – it’s not that rotation crap coaches throw around. I agree with you JC, it will be a try-fest, although that’s if the snow doesn’t freeze the pitch. Chris Latham is class, the rest simply don’t cut it. The Reds will be dominated in the tight and loose exchanges, so it will be a comfy Crusade!
Crusaders by 20 or more.

Reds – Chris Latham, Clinton Schifcofske, Morgan Turinui, Berrick Barnes, Peter Hynes, Quade Cooper, Ben Lucas, Leroy Houston, David Croft, Poutasi Luafutu, James Horwill (c), Van Humphries, Dayna Edwards, Stephen Moore, Ben Coutts.Subs: Sean Hardman, Ben Daley, Ed O’Donoghue, Scott Higginbotham, Will Genia, Charlie Fetoai, Digby Ioane.
Crusaders -15 Leon MacDonald, 14 Kade Poki, 13 Casey Laulala, 12 Tim Bateman, 11 Sean Maitland, 10 Stephen Brett, 9 Kahn Fotuali’i; 8 Mose Tuiali’i, 7 Richard McCaw (c), 6 Kieran Read, 5 Ross Filipo, 4 Brad Thorn, 3 Greg Somerville, 2 Ti’i Paulo, 1 Wyatt Crocket.
Subs: 16 Corey Flynn, 17 Ben Franks, 18 Ali Williams, 19 George Whitelock, 20 Andy Ellis, 21 Daniel Carter, 22 Caleb Ralph.

SHARKS vs CHEETAHS, DURBAN, SATURDAY 15:00

JC’s call:The Cheetahs are better than their log position suggests, but their second half failings could cost them yet another narrow win. The Cheetahs have the forwards to meet the Sharks challenge up front, and it will be interesting to see how two potentially potent backlines match up. The key to victory is at halfback. Falie Oelschig and Conrad Barnard have struggled with their consistency when it comes to decision-making. The combination of Rory Kockott and Ruan Pienaar is still new, but if they settle early on Saturday the Cheetahs could be trouble.
Sharks by 7.

Kempo’s call: Which Super 14 have you been watching, JC? If they were better than their log points suggest, are you backing the Lions to lift the trophy next year? Falie Oelshig has been a lone stand in an average backline with no direction. Jongi Nokwe would have had Bok ambitions, until these last two weeks. The loose trio of the Cheetahs is outstanding, and Juan Smith a dominant force. The Kockott and Pienaar combo is a weak link, and the Cheetahs loose trio will make things difficult for a Sharks side who’ve failed to show the magic of last year.
Sharks by 3 to 5.

Sharks – TBC
Cheetahs - 15 Hennie Daniller, 14 Eddie Fredericks, 13 JW Jonker, 12 Meyer Bosman, 11 Jongi Nokwe, 10 Conrad Barnard, 9 Falie Oelschig, 8 Duanne Vermeulen , 7 Juan Smith (c), 6 Heinrich Brüssow, 5 Barend Pieterse, 4 Rory Duncan, 3 CJ van der Linde, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Wian du Preez.
Subs: 16 Richardt Strauss, 17 Bees Roux, 18 David de Villiers, 19 Hendro Scholtz, 20 Tewis de Bruyn, 21 Bevin Fortuin, 22 Hendrik Meyer.

LIONS vs CHIEFS, JOHANNESBURG, SATURDAY 17:05

JC’s call:The Chiefs have too much firepower for the Lions and should pick up the bonus-point win. The hosts have Jaque Fourie back at centre, but one man won’t be enough to stop the Hamilton side running in four tries. The visitors will be boosted by the return of lock Jono Gibbs and big men like Sione Lauaki will test the competitive Lions loose trio. The Chiefs will relish a tight encounter and if the game opens up, Lelia Masaga and company will be in business.
Chiefs by 15.

Kempo’s call: The Lions have one problem! Thanks to Earl Rose they take the field 20 points in arrears every match, and have to spend the rest of the day playing catch up. That and the typical ‘moer hulle’ attitude of a juvenile pack will see the Chiefs having a whale of a time this Saturday. Too fast, too slick, and I back the Chiefs to comfortably win the physical fight too.
Chiefs by 15 or more.

Lions – Earl Rose, Louis Ludik, Jaque Fourie, Walter Venter, Rayno Benjamin, Jaco van Schalkwyk, Jano Vermaak, Willem Alberts, Joe van Niekerk, Cobus Grobbelaar (c), Gerhard Mostert, Dewald Senekal, JC van Rensburg, Willie Wepener, Heinke van der Merwe.
Subs: Ethienne Reynecke, Ross Geldenhuys, Franco van der Merwe, Wilhelm Koch, Chris Jonck, Jannie Boshoff, Dusty Noble.
Chiefs – 15 Mils Muliaina (c), 14 Lelia Masaga, 13 Dwayen Sweeney, 12 Callum Bruce, 11 Sitivini Sivivatu, 10 Stephen Donald, 9 Jamie Nutbrown, 8 Sione Lauaki, 7 Tanerau Latimer, 6 Liam Messam, 5 Kevin O’Neill, 4 Toby Lynn, 3 Ben Castle, 2 Tom Willis, 1 Ben May.
Subs: 16 Aled De Malmanche, 17 Simon Lemalu, 18 Jono Gibbes, 19 Faifili Levave, 20 David Bason, 21 Viliame Waqaseduadua, 22 Sosene Anesi.

STORMERS vs WARATAHS, CAPE TOWN, SATURDAY 19:10

JC’s call:The pick of this weekend’s games. The loss of Schalk Burger is huge, and the Stormers loose trio of Luke Watson, Francois Louw and Robbie Diack will have their hands full with a Wallabies back row. This is why the performance of the tight five is so crucial. The Tahs have a world-class line-out jumper in Dan Vickerman, but the Stormers Andries Bekker is no slouch. The Stormers scrum was a problem against the Brumbies, but the Waratahs have lost Matt Dunning following the defeat to the Bulls. The Stormers are blessed with some experienced backs with five Springboks and a Fijian international in the run-on side. This could prove the difference at Newlands, but only if the Stormers pack provides Peter Grant and company with front-foot ball.
Stormers by 5.

Kempo’s call: It will be a humdinger. The back rows should match up, although there are not too many players in the world who match up to Phil Waugh. I back Andries Bekker to have the better of his fellow countryman Dan Vickerman. The Stormers front row is worry, but for what they lack in scrumming prowess they more than make up for it in the tight-loose. It’s a tight one, and one where experience will win the day. Conditioning will be a factor, and one hopes this is not that game too far for the Stormers. It will be a three-point swing either way, and my SA bias goes with the Stormers.
Stormers by 3.

Stormers - Conrad Jantjes, Wylie Human, Gcobani Bobo, Jean de Villiers (c), Sireli Naqelevuki, Peter Grant, Enrico Januarie, Robbie Diack, Francois Louw, Luke Watson, Andries Bekker, Adriaan Fondse, Brok Harris, Schalk Brits, Brian Mujati.
Subs: Deon Fourie, Schalk Ferreira, Ross Skeate, Pieter Myburgh, Bolla Conradie, Tony Brown, Dylan des Fountain.
Waratahs (likely) - B Robinson, T Polota-Nau, A Baxter, D Mumm, D Vickerman, R Elsom, P Waugh, W Palu, L Burgess, K Beale, M Carraro, T Carter, R Horne, L Turner, L Tuqiri.
Subs: A Freier, S Kepu, W Caldwell, D Lyons, S Norton-Knight, B Sheehan.

339 Comments

• 1.49-0: Reply to this comment

highlander dragons to shock the blues

• 2.oom tas: Reply to this comment

force
    bulls
    blues
    saders
    sharks
    chiefs
    stormers

• 3.quota: Reply to this comment

Stormer-Tahs – a draw

• 4.HBone: Reply to this comment

Good calls all round. I think the Highlanders front row and the Reds pack are better than you give them credit for, but they will not be good enough to make much difference.

• 5.Koos: Reply to this comment

#3 quota:

Hey Ds Asyn, lewe jy nog?!

• 6.Manlybok: Reply to this comment

Kosie…lewe jy nog?

JC. I am still worrying about the Stormers scrum,the Tahs were edging the Bulls long before Dunning came on

• 7.SAussie: Reply to this comment

Hi Koos,

How are you going. enjoying the nice sunny weather? I think this year in the Sup 14 is looking pretty good, great competition

• 8.Koos: Reply to this comment

Dagse boys!

yes Manly, lekker snotsiekte but still here. You very quiet of late, making to much money?

SAus, weather is great although the evenings are getting a little chilly! It is a good comp, so many still in the running with two games left. I just lloked at the log and games to come and it will come down to bonus points in the last two games and if no bonus points to actual points difference between a few teams.

It would have been much better if my team were not so kuk but them are the breaks…

• 9.Manlybok: Reply to this comment

Well Koos,you cannot fault us Stormers for showing some joy,its been a long time.Tough game this weekend though,is Elsom still out?

• 10.Koos: Reply to this comment

#9 Manlybok:

Sheesh Manly, I don’t but seeing headlines like ‘empire rising’ etc may be a little to much to early…You boys must not muck it up now!

• 11.Koos: Reply to this comment

Oh and I don’t know about Elsom…

• 12.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Sharks need bonus point wins against Cheetahs and Chiefs to perhaps come through
    Stormers have to beat Waratahs and Lions to go through
    Hurricanes have to beat either Force or Blues to go through
    If Waratahs lose to Stormers they have to beat Reds to go through
    Chiefs have to beat Lions and Sharks with bonus points to go through

Still between Waratahs, Stormers, Hurricanes, Chiefs and Sharks to fight out for 2nd, 3rd and 4th, Blues have a very remote outside chance if they can get two bonus point wins and some other teams above lose without bonus points.

• 13.Koos: Reply to this comment

#12 skopskiet:

Ag vet Skop, can you draw me a picture please? Better still, just give me your top 4 and ranking…sorry, make that 2 to 4, even I can work out 1!

• 14.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Nows the acid test for Stormers, they need to take Waratahs else its all over rover.

Same goes with Sharks/Cheetahs, Hurricanes/Force, Blues/Highlanders and Chiefs/Lions, still all manner of permutations down to last two rounds.

• 15.Koos: Reply to this comment

#14 skopskiet:

Of that, the Canes, Blues and Chiefs look certain for at least 4 points…

Next week we have the Sharks/Chiefs and Blues/Hurricanes to play…

• 16.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

I got same top 4 as you Koos, Crusaders, Hurricanes, Stormers, Waratahs,

But thats on condition Stormers win both games against Tahs and Lions, Tahs lose to Stormers and beat Reds, Hurricanes beat both Force and Blues, and Chiefs don’t get two bonus point wins against Lions and Sharks or Sharks don’t get two bonus point wins against Cheetahs and Chiefs.

You get the drift?

• 17.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

#15 Koos:

Yeah those two games can swing the competition, Blues can beat both Highlanders and Hurricanes with bonus to take them to 41 and an outside chance to qualify if one or other above still lose.

Also Sharks have to beat both Cheetahs and Chiefs with bonus points to give themselves a chance to go to 42 points and hope Stormers, Waratahs or Hurricanes lose enough not to get above 42.

Quite a few permutations still open yet.

• 18.Koos: Reply to this comment

Ehhh sure, got it! Only thing that can happen this weekend is for the Sharks and Stormers to lose which will put them out of the run. They win and everything moves on to next weekend.

• 19.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

I notice since the Princess don’t frequent this place these days, not that much is happening this time of the morning no more.

• 20.oom tas: Reply to this comment

great article by keo on iol sport, no use complaining but its a fact we are hard done by in the super 14 comp with the traveling sa teams do.i agree we have made the kiwi and ozzy teams stronger by playing them so often, bring back the tours i say.

• 21.Koos: Reply to this comment

#19 skopskiet:

Had a number of things to do and was also sick, still around most mornings but not into talking to myself!

• 22.AB - Join RUGBY SUPPORTERS VOICE: Reply to this comment

#19 skopskiet: Are you missing her?
    #18 Koos: Morning! What happened to Princess?

• 23.whatever: Reply to this comment

I heard she ran off with Fern :)

• 24.AB - Join RUGBY SUPPORTERS VOICE: Reply to this comment

#23 whatever: The only way she will go with Ferney is when he kidnaps her! ;-)

• 25.Koos: Reply to this comment

More AB!

Not sure, maybe she got another weepee tattoo and it went wrong…

• 26.whatever: Reply to this comment

I have not seen her since she honered her wine bet with me. Still need to say thanks………. Koos, any idea?

• 27.Koos: Reply to this comment

Howzit whatever, recovered from your weekend babelas?

• 28.whatever: Reply to this comment

Howzit Koos, ja, just in time to inflict the next one :lol:

• 29.Koos: Reply to this comment

#26 whatever:

I know there was a new job on offer, may have something to do with that.

• 30.whatever: Reply to this comment

I see Manly has poped in a few time recently. He was also vary scarce for awhile……….no idea what happenned to Bokinz…….maybe he got a job?? :)

• 31.Koos: Reply to this comment

#28 whatever:

You think your liver can survive the Stormers reaching the final…let alone win it?

• 32.whatever: Reply to this comment

Ok boys, gotta run myself………cheers

• 33.Koos: Reply to this comment

Maybe he just gave up on you…

• 34.whatever: Reply to this comment

Hehe, Koos…….if they win it I’ll make a plan……… a big plan……cheers

• 35.Koos: Reply to this comment

#32 whatever:

Koebaai

• 36.BuckT: Reply to this comment

are the sharks playing home or away? if it’s in bloem, i think they might struggle..

• 37.AB - Join RUGBY SUPPORTERS VOICE: Reply to this comment

#35 Koos: Koos, dink jy daar gaan upsets wees die naweek?

• 38.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Evening guys

• 39.AB - Join RUGBY SUPPORTERS VOICE: Reply to this comment

#36 BuckT: At home

• 40.AB - Join RUGBY SUPPORTERS VOICE: Reply to this comment

#38 CoachPete: Morning coach

• 41.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

I think the predictions mentioned on this thread are basically correct. I think the hardest and closest game maybe be tahs vs our stormers

• 42.Koos: Reply to this comment

#36 BuckT:
    Homegame.

#37 AB – Join RUGBY SUPPORTERS VOICE:

Nee wat AB, dink nie so nie. Weet net nie wie van Stormers/Waratahs is veronderstel om te wen nie. Cheetahs sal ‘n goeie fight opsit maar soos die res van die seisoen weer aanjaag iewers

#38 CoachPete:
    Howzit Coach.

• 43.AB - Join RUGBY SUPPORTERS VOICE: Reply to this comment

#41 CoachPete: Its crunch time on Superbru and Grandslam points are crucial!

• 44.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Hey Koos I see you guys were asking about Princess.
    Strange she has not been on

• 45.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Stormers and tahs maybe closer than 5.

• 46.Koos: Reply to this comment

#44 CoachPete:

As I said Coach, maybe the new job…or the new tattoo :shock:

• 47.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Nope i am sure she would be on even just to say hi. Maybe her man is jealous

• 48.Koos: Reply to this comment

Also not sure if the Bulls beating the Brumbies should be classified as an upset…wat se die Bulle?

• 49.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

True Koos, a game that means nothing cant be an upset either way.

• 50.AB - Join RUGBY SUPPORTERS VOICE: Reply to this comment

I am just unsure about the first two games,winners, Force and Bulls or will it be Canes and Brumbies???

• 51.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Actually Force could be Canes, but think Bulls will beat Brumbies

• 52.AB - Join RUGBY SUPPORTERS VOICE: Reply to this comment

#48 Koos: My upset argument is based on Superbru predictions not competition outcome.

• 53.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

ok well cheers all

• 54.AB - Join RUGBY SUPPORTERS VOICE: Reply to this comment

My winners are:
    Canes 8
    Brumbies 10
    Blues 12
    Crusaders 20
    Sharks 17
    Chiefs 18
    Stormers 6+

• 55.Koos: Reply to this comment

Canes losing at home will be an upset…

• 56.Koos: Reply to this comment

#54 AB – Join RUGBY SUPPORTERS VOICE:

I go Bulls AB and your margin for the Sharks to big I think…

Cheers Coach, that was a quick visit!

• 57.AB - Join RUGBY SUPPORTERS VOICE: Reply to this comment

#56 Koos: I think the Sharks got a wake up call and will play out of their skins for this one, from there the margin.

• 58.BuckT: Reply to this comment

what’s with aussie leading the supabru??!

koos – rather a case of tahs were favourite’s to win and the bulls lifted their game

• 59.Koos: Reply to this comment

#57 AB – Join RUGBY SUPPORTERS VOICE:

Nah AB, they have had a number of such calls and nothing happened, why will this weekend be different?

#58 BuckT:

Tahs will be out on the sauce, who knows how they will pull up… :roll:

• 60.AB - Join RUGBY SUPPORTERS VOICE: Reply to this comment

#59 Koos: I am going against my Bulls team on this one, FdP’s return is not going to lift the team, in my opinion he is a losing captain and with the coach responsible for our p!sspoor performance so far.

• 61.Koos: Reply to this comment

Good point AB, I thought after the signing of Matfield maybe things would have settled down a little.

• 62.Steph: Reply to this comment

#12 skopskiet:

If that is the case, we can almost count the Chiefs out. If they have to beat both the Lions AND the Sharks to go through, they might just fall against the Sharks. Basically (realistically) between Stormers, Canes, Tahs and Sharks for 2-4.

• 63.Koos: Reply to this comment

#62 Steph:

The Canes will drop the Blues and the Sharks will drop the Chief, this unfortunately does not automatically means qualification for the Sharks…

• 64.Steph: Reply to this comment

#61 Koos:

coming back to Big Vic, if he just stayed in Europe I would not have blamed him, he is just looking after his family and for financial security (although at this rate supersport will have a job for him real soon). But the fact that he came back to the Bulls proves he is not a sell-out. This man has some heart!

• 65.Steph: Reply to this comment

#63 Koos:

No, you are right, but it does eliminate one more team and widens the gap for the other contenders. Sharks need those BP’s

• 66.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Darn.

Left my crystal ball at home.

• 67.daniel: Reply to this comment

I backed the Bulls for a big win, but that was before FdP was declared fit.
    I was hoping Wickus would still captain because it seems like Fourie’s play has gone south with the captaincy burden.
    Still hope they klap the Brumbies

• 68.Koos: Reply to this comment

#66 Dawn:

Kom nou Dawn, weet jy het hom verkoop vir drankgeld…

• 69.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#68 Koos:

No need for that.

Grow up.

• 70.WP Till I Die : Reply to this comment

Hallo maatjies!

• 71.Rugby_Fanatic: Reply to this comment

#60 AB – Join RUGBY SUPPORTERS VOICE: i think bulls will def win this one. i mean the brumbies are now out of contention for the semi’s and they are losing their coach. i think the team will be very demoralized and they will struggle to lift their game at loftus when they play a bulls who are a very proud team, and who have let us all down and are now trying to salvage what little digbity they have left from this tournament. plus if they play **** then they wont have support for the cc. cannot belive how empty their stadium was over the last few weeks.

• 72.Gr8ter: Reply to this comment

Mornin All! Agree tith KEO except think Sharks will go higher By at least 12 – I’m worried about the Stormers front row and put their chances against the Tahs at 50/50 …I just have a feeling that the tide is turning against the Stormers!

Canes by 10
    Bulls by 7
    Blues by 20
    Saders by 20
    Sharks by 15 (put my thing on a block here 4 try bonus)
    Lions by 3 (wishing for a miricle)
    Tahs by 6

• 73.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

Stormers must beat the Tahs with 8 points or more and not let them get a bonus point! The Reds are their bogey team! Then if the Sharks do what they supposed to do they will be in the semis!

• 74.Rugby_Fanatic: Reply to this comment

#72 Gr8ter: i think the stormers will do fine in the front row. i dont think they will dominate but i think they will manage. they know what they got riding on this game so if they truly want sa repect for the stormers again they will play like there is no tommorrow

• 75.eight ball: Reply to this comment

#70 WP Till I Die (TM): Hoozit, been out of town in the Kruger for 7 days, was lekka. Girlfriend got her WP jersey for her birthday, **** man she nearly cried with delight, he he he

• 76.WP Till I Die : Reply to this comment

#75 eight ball:

Good stuff, I like it a lot!

• 77.eight ball: Reply to this comment

#72 Gr8ter: It’s a test of character now, this is like a play off for the Stormers, but I have faith in my boys! So I hope you are wrong!

• 78.Koos: Reply to this comment

#69 Dawn:

Kom nou Dawn, since when mag mens nie ‘n grappie maak nie?

• 79.Gr8ter: Reply to this comment

#74 Rugby_Fanatic: Hope your right mate – just got a feeling – no logic at all!

• 80.eight ball: Reply to this comment

Going to buy tickets today to watch the Lions Stormers, as that’s the best us Joburg WP people can do. Hope they smash the Lions….

• 81.WP Till I Die : Reply to this comment

Hmmmm…average attendance at Newlands this Super 14 is at just about 44,500.

Six home games so far, and take an average ticket price of R60 each – you’re looking at just over R16 million in ticket sales.

Not too shabby. Expect some more purchases by Rassie soon.

• 82.Gr8ter: Reply to this comment

Got to go earn my dosh guys – see you this afternoon.

• 83.WP Till I Die : Reply to this comment

#72 Gr8ter:

You’re obviously a Sharks supporter.

• 84.eight ball: Reply to this comment

#81 WP Till I Die (TM): And who do you think would be top of his list??
    Who would you buy?

• 85.WP Till I Die : Reply to this comment

#84 eight ball:

Heinke van der Merwe.

• 86.Rugby_Fanatic: Reply to this comment

#79 Gr8ter: just nerves. i have had that feeling all week, but then again i had the same feeling during the week of the world cup final and we won that so lets hope the stormers can pull it out the bag. all we need is a 80 minute performance instead of a 40 minute one. if the stormers are trailing by half time then we will win, but if they go into the half winning then they will stop playing. its a known fact that they always do that and thats why they played so **** in the second half on sat.

• 87.eight ball: Reply to this comment

#85 WP Till I Die (TM): Just the one purchase? Albeit a good choice but don’t you think we need cover else where?

• 88.Dawn: Reply to this comment

test

• 89.Dawn: Reply to this comment

another test

• 90.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

‘Tahs to take it, unfortunately.

• 91.eight ball: Reply to this comment

#89 Dawn: Test approved

• 92.Sniper: Reply to this comment

#89 Dawn: Don’t the tests only start after the super 14? 1st test, 2nd test – ag nee man

• 93.katman: Reply to this comment

#16 skopskiet: That’s the way I see it too.

Just guessing bonus points for the remaining games, my prediction for the semis looks like this:

1. Crusaders (57)
    2. Hurricanes (44)
    3. Waratahs (43)
    4. Stormers (43)

(not sure how Stormers’ points difference stacks up against Waratahs’, so 3 and 4 could swap round)

• 94.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#81 WP Till I Die (TM): Iemand moet net die WP se skatkis dophou, anders raak die geld weer weg soos laas…

• 95.AB - Join RUGBY SUPPORTERS VOICE: Reply to this comment

#94 Pietman: Hallo my maat! Ja nee dit help nie mens gooi geld in n stukkende emmer nie! Hoop julle gaan Nuweland behou!

• 96.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#85 WP Till I Die (TM): Please leave Heinke where he is. Thank u!!!! U can buy back the Rose brothers and we’ll throw in Benjamin as a freebee.

• 97.katman: Reply to this comment

#85 WP Till I Die (TM): Not for sale. Rassie knows this.

• 98.AB - Join RUGBY SUPPORTERS VOICE: Reply to this comment

#96 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Hallo woef! Wanneer gaan buig ons weer n biertjie?

• 99.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#95 AB – Join RUGBY SUPPORTERS VOICE:
    Hello mater.
    Ja, ek hoop hulle kan daai skuld aflos, daar is nie n manier dat hulle Nuweland kan verkwansel nie.
    Dan kan hulle maar net sowel Tafelberg ook verkoop.

• 100.AB - Join RUGBY SUPPORTERS VOICE: Reply to this comment

#99 Pietman: Ja die berg sal nogal mooi lyk hier langs die Voortrekker monument ;-)

• 101.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#98 AB – Join RUGBY SUPPORTERS VOICE: Jis AB!!!! Ons moet plan sien. Ek laaik mos nie eintlik die bul supporters nie maar drink lekker saam hulle hehehehe

• 102.AB - Join RUGBY SUPPORTERS VOICE: Reply to this comment

#101 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Moenie dat jou persoonlikheid tussenin kom nie! Jyt darem lekker saam met die Bulle gekuier op die trein Kaap toe en dit oorleef!

• 103.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#102 AB – Join RUGBY SUPPORTERS VOICE: Hahaha AB…nee julle het darem oorleef.

• 104.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#100 AB – Join RUGBY SUPPORTERS VOICE: Die Leeus moet Nuweland maar koop. Langs Ellis neersit…..kan gebruik vir ‘n oefenveld.

• 105.Gaz: Reply to this comment

we need the blues to win against the highlanders so they still in with a shout of a semi with one game to go. that game will be against the hurricanes, which i hope they beat, thus allowing the stormers to get a home semi…

World domination is around the corner

• 106.Kempo: Reply to this comment

JC, Kempo was skirmishing to find a front row!
    Hurricanes v Force

The Force do have that unpredictability about them, and Nathan Sharp is an outstanding leader. Gitteau is maybe worth a mention but Drew Mitchell will be more of a problem for the Canes. Disagree that flyhalf is a problem, for if it was Piri Weepu, who played last years NPC at flyhalf would just slot into the role. Besides with whats left of the backline is just short of world class. Canes loose trio will win this one though, and with the bonus point!
    Canes by 12 or more!

Bulls v Brumbies

The Blou gals will blow these turkeys away! Stomach bugs my ***. They were in Cape Town, the mother city; mother of all hangovers; so it’s more like alcohol poisoning than any food of sort! The ailment will have its effect, and the Bulle will convince them that these guys only became convicts after the Boer war!

Bulls by 14

Highlanders v Blues

That Highlanders side is better than one thinks. They have just travelled, but they are at the house of pain! N v S derby’s in NZ are a bit like the Sharks Stormers games of old. Expect a bit of rough and rumble, but I agree that the front five will be found wanting. The loose forward battle will be tight, and Evens might just be the difference at the end of the day!

Blues by 5

Reds v Crusaders

Just read the Crusaders team sheet, and you’ll find they’re resting players, more than the rotation **** coaches through around! Agree with you JC it will be a try fest, although that’s if the snow doesn’t freeze things over. Latham is class, the rest simply don’t cut it. The Reds will be dominated in the tight, and loose exchanges, so it will be a comfy Crusade!

Crusaders by 20 or more

Sharks v Cheetahs

Which S14 you been watching JC? If they were better than their log points suggest, are you pipping the Lions to lift the trophy next year?? Falie Oelshig has been a lone stand in an average backline with no direction. Jongi Nokwe would have had Bok ambitions, until these last 2 weeks. The loose trio of the Cheetahs is outstanding, and Juan Smith a dominant force to be reckoned with. Cockett and Pienaar combo is a bit of a week link, and thus the Free State Trio will make tings difficult for a Sharks side that has shown little to no magic of last year!
    Sharks just by 3 to5
    Lions v Chiefs

Lions have one problem! Thanks to Earl Rose they take the field 20 in arrears every match, and have to spend the rest of the day playing catch up. That and the typical ‘moer hulle’ attitude of a juvenile pack will see the chiefs have a whale of a time. To fast, to slick, and I back the Chiefs to comfortably win the fight to!

Chiefs by 15 or more!

Stormers v Waratahs

It will be a humdinger. The back rows should match up, although there are not too many players in the world who match up to Phil Waugh! I back Andries Bekker to have the better of his fellow countryman Vickerman The Stormers front row is worry, but for what they lack in scrumming prowess they more than make up for it in the tight loose! It’s a tight one, and one where experience will win the day. Conditioning will be a factor, and one hopes this is not that game too far for the Stormers! It will be a 3 point swing either way, and my SA bias goes with the Stormers

Stormers by 3

• 107.katman: Reply to this comment

#106 Kempo: Who are you?

• 108.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

#106 Kempo: “The ailment will have its effect, and the Bulle will convince them that these guys only became convicts after the Boer war!” HA HA HA!!!!!

• 109.Gaz: Reply to this comment

anyone going to ellis park on Sat? im sure the atmosphere will be electric

• 110.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

#107 katman: Don`t be stupid Katman, it`s Glenda Kemp.

• 111.katman: Reply to this comment

#109 Gaz: Ja, but during a load shed.

• 112.Kempo: Reply to this comment

A figment of your imagination Katman, who the hell are you?

• 113.katman: Reply to this comment

Well, let me put it this way: who is your ghost writer when you’re not hacking your way through the Amazon?

• 114.Kempo: Reply to this comment

Missed the amazon trip, no other Mujati’s to be found!

• 115.the peanut gallery: Reply to this comment

hey kempo, didn’t you and naka scrum together at some stage.? clearly rubbing your heads together didn’t make you think alike. he reckons meyer bosman is the best centre in the country at the moment.

• 116.JL1: Reply to this comment

#115 the peanut gallery: Also the slowest centre by a mile

• 117.Kempo: Reply to this comment

Katman, I have ,a nd always will be my own scribe, even though that wee fella Keo doesn’t at times like my,…”Style” or so he says. Then again he’s bald, and I still have to get there!

• 118.the peanut gallery: Reply to this comment

#117 Kempo: your writing can’t be worse than some of the trash ryan dishes out, and he’s supposed to be a pro.

• 119.JL1: Reply to this comment

#114 Kempo: Are you aware that the Chiefs lost the last 3 encounters against the Lions at Ellis Park

• 120.katman: Reply to this comment

#117 Kempo: I was just yanking your chain, friendo.

- katto

• 121.Kempo: Reply to this comment

We rubbed and cuddled once upon a time, although never discussed backline play??

• 122.rangerman: Reply to this comment

morning all!
    sharks to cruise into semis, you heard it here!!!

kempo, you the real deal or what?

• 123.Kempo: Reply to this comment

No problem Katto, all in jest.

JL1 yes I am aware, but agree that this Chiefs side is widely diffierent from any other that has toured SA

• 124.Kempo: Reply to this comment

real as in it’s me, or ???

• 125.JL1: Reply to this comment

#123 Kempo: All Kiwis are afraid of Ellis Park, they love Loftus and Aussie touring sides do not do well in SA

Kempo what is your pick for the semi finals?

• 126.katman: Reply to this comment

#124 Kempo: No, as in a real prop or just another Province pretender.

• 127.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

Not often we have an actual celebrity on the site, closest we`ve been is G13G who is actually a transvestite performer who did a background “shot” in Priscilla Queen of the Desert…

• 128.Gaz: Reply to this comment

this week is gonna through a suprise or two just like last week… but who has the balls to call it? not JC or Kempo it seems…

• 129.HotLikeWasabi: Reply to this comment

Expect the great South African implode as usual. Tah’s, Cheetahs to take the ones that count. BMT? How do you spell that?

• 130.Gaz: Reply to this comment

#127 Tony Moneo:
    lol – top form!

• 131.Gaz: Reply to this comment

#129 HotLikeWasabi:

this is a rugby site – not a cricket one!

• 132.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#127 Tony Moneo:
    Jy is weer op jou snykant sien ek!

• 133.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#129 HotLikeWasabi: hmm, and comparing saffa sides to who mate? the kiwis? ja, they have bmt in spades!

• 134.st.a.t.w: Reply to this comment

now that j foerie is back in the lions side and many of you that believe he should be in the springbok side where is f steyn going to fit in.

• 135.rangerman: Reply to this comment

frans is gonna get some splinters in his arse (short answer).

• 136.Harry the beach walker: Reply to this comment

Hotlikewasabi @ 129 – I seek clarity on the “as usual”. My memory isn’t great, but I dont recall SA rugby teams having a tradition of choking when the pressure is on. We are either totally useless and outgunned (most super rugby campaigns) or we win (2007). If you are referring to our cricketers who definitely have this propensity, I would like to borrow / lend (never get it right) a phrase from Church and say “LAWN BOWLS”

Morning all

• 137.rangerman: Reply to this comment

morning harry

• 138.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Celebrity my eye.

• 139.rangerman: Reply to this comment

hello dawnie!!!! i will be watching for you in your jesters hat.

• 140.katman: Reply to this comment

#134 st.a.t.w: In jersey no. 21

• 141.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#134 st.a.t.w: JF is our only world class no 13 that we have. Steyn on the bench.

• 142.Kempo: Reply to this comment

Semi’s are tricky! This will irritate a few faithful
    Crusaders v Sharks
    Tahs v Hurricanes

Stormers worry me for Sat, and their record against the Lions is shocking!

• 143.Harry the beach walker: Reply to this comment

Rangerman @ 135 – fear not the kid can play anywhere. There will be space.

All this talk of BMT is making me hungry.

• 144.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#142 Kempo: i was once on a boat cruise in the game reserve with olly le roux. small river boat (max 8 people). we couldnt let olly near the side as the boat might capsize. hope he doesnt rock the stormers boat too much.

• 145.Kempo: Reply to this comment

Gaz. A surprise is the Bulls beating the Brumbies! The rest except the stormers game are pretty straight forward, unless Louis Lyt brings out his potion 95 to save the cubs

• 146.Harry the beach walker: Reply to this comment

Kempo @ 142 – from your keyboard to the recycle bin.

• 147.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#143 Harry the beach walker: i prefer a HLT or a BLT but i am just as satisfied with a BBQ.
    by the way harry, the posing went well on the weekend and the brown trout flocked to the fly.

• 148.Gaz: Reply to this comment

#142 Kempo:

have faith in the stormers

crusaders
    stormers
    hurricanes
    tahs

i hope!

• 149.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#148 Gaz: no sharks? i hope you are wrong.

• 150.Kempo: Reply to this comment

Ollie will be awesome for this current side. They need a old gent to help them though, and yes he’s snacked a few burgers in his life, but I’ll bet anyone on this sight he’ll beat you over 5m, and thrash you at squash. He’s just got that much natural talent

• 151.Harry the beach walker: Reply to this comment

Ranger @ 144 – the Bloemfontein cabal grows alarmingly. Rassie, Ollie, Brendan Venter etc. When Gary Gold goes to the Boks, does anyone reckon Naka will surface in CT as the forwards coach?

Rassie – head coach
    Naka – forwards coach
    Brendan – backline coach
    Ollie – conditioning coach

• 152.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I’ll bet anyone on this “sight” ….

• 153.Gaz: Reply to this comment

#145 Kempo:

i think landers/blues will be tight hoping for an away win, but i think this will be the suprise result of the w/e.

blues have been k@k, they looked good against the rubble reds, but hell Jeppes u13 would look good against them

• 154.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#150 Kempo: hmmm, maybe so kempo. in the annual spur 5m dash he is the current record holder (and has been for the last 10 years) and squash is not a game for backline players. i find the heavier menbers of the team always manage to use gravity more effectively.

• 155.katman: Reply to this comment

#150 Kempo: Ja, the only guy on this site who could possibly beat Ollie at squash is Jimmy Abbot (who calls himself greatest13gerber here).

Ollie would squash the rest of us in a heartbeat.

• 156.JL1: Reply to this comment

#142 Kempo: They have lost in the S14 against the Lions/Cats since 2001, what is so shocking

• 157.JL1: Reply to this comment

#156 JL1: Meant to say they (the Stormers) have not lost since 2001 against the Cats/Lions in S14

• 158.Gaz: Reply to this comment

#149 rangerman:

i think 42 points will get you a semi, which means sharks have to win both games with bonus points – something they haven’t looked like doing all season

• 159.rangerman: Reply to this comment

#158 Gaz: at the tank? anything is possible mate, i am keeping the faith.

• 160.Harry the beach walker: Reply to this comment

Dawn @ 152 – I can SEE where Kempo is coming from though. Kempo, would you like to CITE something in support of that statement?

• 161.trupisero: Reply to this comment

mroning all.

katman, Ollie played SA Schools squash and believe me, that barrel of a body is mobile on a court

• 162.rangerman: Reply to this comment

out for a while.

• 163.katman: Reply to this comment

#161 trupisero: I know. Just joking with the Oros Man. I used to play rugby against him in the laerskool – he was in Laerskool Louw Geldenhuys, the enemy. And even back then he was twice the size of most of us. And very mobile.

• 164.Harry the beach walker: Reply to this comment

trupisero @ 160 – I doubt whether Katman didnt know that. He invented squash.

Did Ollie also not play SA Schools waterpolo? Tough game as well, but far too many boys in speedos grabing each other’s nuts for the beach walker’s liking.

• 165.Gaz: Reply to this comment

#159 rangerman:

i hope you right ranger… but me thinks bonus points will come back to haunt them…

here is to hoping!

• 166.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Morning Ladies

Farktup deurmekaar day for me today……….

Damn, I hope the Sharks & Stormers have a great weekend….

I cannot for the life of me see the Lions do an upset against the Chiefs…….. there’s just no way !

Bulls………. jury is out…. Du Preez is cappie again, to my dismay…….. but I recon the Bulls heads are more focused now, so I’m hoping for a win for the Bulls.

• 167.Gr8ter: Reply to this comment

#83 WP Till I Die (TM): Oh yes! – I’m an imported Capetonian – but my rugger hart lives in Kings Park.

• 168.trupisero: Reply to this comment

#164 Harry the beach walker: Not sure. Think he might have. Know Mark Andrews did.

• 169.trupisero: Reply to this comment

#166 grootblousmile: More GBS! Elke dag is maar so vir jou :lol:

• 170.Gr8ter: Reply to this comment

#86 Rugby_Fanatic: Probably right but I’ve had a really bad feeling about this!

• 171.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#164 Harry the beach walker: LOL…I gave up waterpolo for that exact reason……and the fact that one must be a good swimmer :roll:

• 172.trupisero: Reply to this comment

#171 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Seker opgehou omdat niemand aan jou balle wou vat nie…hehehe

• 173.KingPaul: Reply to this comment

#171 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Jy lieg, jy het daai gelike…

• 174.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#169 trupisero: Neeeeeeeeeee Trupi, ek’s mos maar ‘n ewigdurende optimis jong……… die dinge van my pa se toestand het my dagboek erg deurmekaargekrap man…….. ek was al weer op voor “sparrow ****” vanoggend….. moes eintlik nog in Midrand ook uitgekom het vandag, maar dit sal maar moet wag vir more.

• 175.Kempo: Reply to this comment

Oversight on my part!

• 176.Harry the beach walker: Reply to this comment

Ranger @ 147 – nice work. The browns are a much better prospect than the rainbows. I’m planning on doing some shark fishing up at langebaan soon (no reference at all to your rugger team).

Stormers games on consecutive weekends are not helpful.

• 177.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

More GBS en Trupi

Watch maar die Lions die naweek. Wag al die hele jaar om Venter en JF langs mekaar te sien.

• 178.KingPaul: Reply to this comment

Aaa, hier is die Trupi ook, so wat is jou en K9 se tips vir die naweek se Superbru? Worry nie meer oor die andr donners nie, hulle is te ver agter.
    Ek is baaaaaie lus en back die Force vir ‘n wen. Net jammer daai Riaan Cross speel nie.

• 179.trupisero: Reply to this comment

#177 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Sal gereeld langs mekaar agter die pale staan.

• 180.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#172 trupisero: Ekt aangebied om saam die girls te speel…….toe word ek geskors na die eerste oefening.

• 181.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

Waratahs need 6 points from their remaining 2 games…ow many are they going to take off the stormers.
    me thinks at least 4…i have tipped the worrytahs.

My superbru success this weekend hangs on this game.

I need some points advantage going into next week as the last week games is going to be an absolute toughie.

• 182.trupisero: Reply to this comment

#178 KingPaul: Sal maar moet sien. Picks klaar gemaak met 1 of 2 waagstukke.

• 183.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#179 trupisero: KUK grap. Sit.

• 184.trupisero: Reply to this comment

#180 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: hahaha. Jou rudder seker bly in die pad kom…

• 185.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#177 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Ag ou K99 PlaasPoedel……….. die Lions sal nie eers ‘n wên kan KOOP teen die Chiefs nie………. hulle mag dalk naby trek innie 1 ste halfte maar daarna gaan die wiele weer afbliksem.

• 186.KingPaul: Reply to this comment

Jis jis GBS
    Watse ge vroeg opstanery is dit met jou?? Nie goed vir ‘n ou se bloedsomloop nie.

• 187.trupisero: Reply to this comment

#186 KingPaul: kateter sak was seker vol

• 188.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#178 KingPaul: KP hier is vir jou ‘n tip. Leeus met 40.

• 189.rugby911: Reply to this comment

#150 Kempo:
    By the way what are the rules for squad announcement – can you change your side on the day without announcment for reasons other then injury?

• 190.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#182 trupisero: Moenie so geheimsinnig wees nie….jy maak my senuwees klaar hehehehe

• 191.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#185 grootblousmile: mmmmmm….kan sien hoekom party van ons so ver agter is op superbru…hehehehehe

• 192.viewer: Reply to this comment

can anyone confirm juan smith’s renewal of his cheetahs contract on a long-term basis? he’s the world’s best blindside at test level. why would he sell himself so short?

• 193.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

Bok announcements should always be after SA local derbies.

Only choose those who have survived the humdingers…what is it with saffa teams that they want Klap each other.
    Is it to ensure Bok selection…take out your opponent for the jersey?

• 194.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

#192 viewer:

I can confirm………that I dont know!!

• 195.KingPaul: Reply to this comment

#188 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Speel Earl Rose?

• 196.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#195 KingPaul: Ja die BandAid Bandit speel Saterdag…….. heelagter

• 197.trupisero: Reply to this comment

#192 viewer: As far as i know only renewed for a year.

• 198.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#193 wallabie.: Jip….sort of trials for the players…..and local rivalry since the days Paul Kruger owned season tickets at Loftus.

• 199.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#161 trupisero:
    Also SA waterpolo.

• 200.KingPaul: Reply to this comment

#193 wallabie.: Thats true Wallabie. Thats also the reason why we love the CurrieCup so much. We hate each other!!

• 201.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#195 KingPaul: Hy gaan opdraf….maar of dit wat hy doen speel is weet ek nie.

• 202.trupisero: Reply to this comment

#199 Pietman: Naand Pieta!

• 203.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#199 Pietman:
    Harry, sorry, didn’t notice you answered that one already!

• 204.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#200 KingPaul: ..ek haat net die bulle….hehehe

• 205.KingPaul: Reply to this comment

#196 grootblousmile: hahaha, in daai geval back ek maklik die Chiefs met so 30 punte

Ek het nou weer deur die spanne gegaan, daai een slot van die Force het darem ‘n liedelike van…

• 206.viewer: Reply to this comment

wallabie, as a south african, i can answer you by saying that the SA teams feel at home when playing “bash-em” rugby thus SA derbies exhibit the type of thoughtless, route one rugby that SA teams very much know will not win them matches against the australasian team. for SA teams matches against the likes of the ‘saders, ‘canes, ‘tahs are too intellectually taxing for them to be competitive. hence the frequent melt-downs that they suffer.

• 207.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#202 trupisero: Jisjis, hoe hang die balle?
    Saterdag is DAAI tyd my maat, wens ek was op die Nuwelande…gaan jy kyk?

• 208.KingPaul: Reply to this comment

#204 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: En ook net as hulle wen. Moet erken ek like vanjaar se Bull span moers baie.

• 209.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#205 KingPaul: Hehehehe……. maar sy vrou het ‘n ongelooflike lekker van….. hehehe

• 210.trupisero: Reply to this comment

#207 Pietman: Wens ek kon Pietman. Ek’s in Plett tot Dinsdag toe, so sal maar die couch aanvat die naweek.

• 211.katman: Reply to this comment

If the Lions want to win this game they need to rope in a couple of Patels, a few Govenders, some Naidoos and a Reddy or two.

Until then there will simply be too many Chiefs and not enough Indians.

• 212.mongrel: Reply to this comment

tahs
    chiefs
    canes
    sharks
    and whatever

• 213.KingPaul: Reply to this comment

#206 viewer: So please explain to us how did we win the World Cup then??

• 214.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#205 KingPaul: Pocock and Pusey!
    Is that Australian or what?

• 215.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#205 KingPaul: ja ek het daai slot gesien. Dis soos Jan Fockens wat daar naby Kroonstad bly. Hyt so skaam gekry oor sy naam….toe verander hy dit na Piet Fockens toe.

• 216.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#212 mongrel: You going to Newlands?
    It is gonna be a big one!

• 217.KingPaul: Reply to this comment

#207 Pietman: Die game is bietjie op ‘n kak tyd. Afskop is eers na 7uur in die aand, en die winter is amper op ons hier in die Kaap. Ek gaan eers die weervoorspelling dophou voor ek commit.

• 218.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#215 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Skimp jy nou op my?

• 219.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#211 katman: Goeie een…..

• 220.trupisero: Reply to this comment

#215 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: hahahaha

• 221.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#218 Pietman: Hahaha nee Pietman……wat is jou van dan? hehehe

• 222.viewer: Reply to this comment

kingpaul,
    SA won the world cup because we had the best scrum, lineout, maul and defence. we played the old rules to perfection. it was a deserved victory. i don’t dispute our set-piece superiority. it’s just a pity we went through the whole WC without playing Aus or NZ.

• 223.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#215 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Daai Fokkens broers baaaie mooi Fokkens Trekkers en baie Fokkens beeste

• 224.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

het vergeet om ‘n het in te sit !

• 225.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#223 grootblousmile: Ja ek weet. Onthou van kleins af toe ons gaan kuier het het ek altyd hulle gesien waar mens inkom.

• 226.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#221 K9_BaasPatrolliehond:
    Daar was n Hoenderdos loodgieter in die N-Kaap (Prieska) destyds, n Hollander.
    Toe ek hom daarna vra, se hy sy van was eers Hoenderdoos, maar die boere het gelag vir hom, toe verander hy dit maar…
    Genuine storie!

• 227.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#225 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Ja, net voor die dorp begin, op die ou pad was daar ‘n bordjie aan die regterkant.

• 228.KingPaul: Reply to this comment

#226 Pietman: hahahaha

Gaan eers bietjie werk, gesels later weer.

• 229.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#226 Pietman: hahahaha….dit was seker maar die minste moeite om die een “o” maar net uit te haal…..minder admin.

• 230.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#226 Pietman: Daar was ‘n Hollandse Tandarts in Bloemmies jare terug met die van Hoendergatveer

• 231.Harry the beach walker: Reply to this comment

Pietman @ 216 – waratahff game this is going to be the stormers. If they win, they will be in tahching distance of the semis.

• 232.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#227 grootblousmile: Ja presies…sal dit nooit vergeet nie. En ek was nog baie klein……..so 20 jaar terug. Dink dis waar ek geleer vloek het.

• 233.trupisero: Reply to this comment

ek moet self seker iets begin doen die kant. Praat later.

• 234.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#230 grootblousmile: By ons in Bellville gemeente was n ‘Wortel-van-Voor’, een van die diakens.
    Was n moerse geproes daai aand in die gemeente met sy voorstelling.

• 235.CUZZY - Rugby Supporters Voice: Reply to this comment

Matrikulante sharrup bliksems!!!!

MORE, MORE DAMES!!!

Bliksem ek het lanklaas hier gepost…

Wat gaan aan???

• 236.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#231 Harry the beach walker: They will win, no worries.

• 237.Gr8ter: Reply to this comment

#211 katman: Ha Bloody Ha – good one!

• 238.CUZZY - Rugby Supporters Voice: Reply to this comment

Ek wonder waar ou king Shark is vandag, hy het gisteraand saam ek en kwagga action cricket gespeel… :?:

• 239.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#234 Pietman: Ek het hier rondom 1987 ‘n off-road bike gekoop by ‘n Jan Van Moerkerken

• 240.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#230 grootblousmile:
    Daaar is n interessante geskiedenis oor Hollandse name. Blykbaar was daar destyds n herbenaming wat deur die nuwe regering (Spaans) afgedwing was, toe gee die plaaslike bevolking hulleself sulke snaakse name uit protes, min wetende dat dit so in die bevolkingsregistrasie opgeneem sou word!

• 241.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#240 Pietman: Interessant Pieta……… daar leer jy my weer iets…………ou Pietiepedia

• 242.CUZZY - Rugby Supporters Voice: Reply to this comment

K9,

Gaan ons n biertjie inwerk voor ekke volgende Vrydag cheers???

• 243.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#231 Harry the beach walker:

“Tahching”?

I’m scared to ask.

• 244.katman: Reply to this comment

#243 Dawn: Since I trounced him at Matrixism, Harry can’t get out of wordplay mode.

• 245.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#242 CUZZY – Rugby Supporters Voice: Dink ons moet plan sien. Ek cheers ook dalk volgende Vrydag….moddereiland toe vir so ‘n paar weke.

• 246.CUZZY - Rugby Supporters Voice: Reply to this comment

dawn,

Is jy nog al die tyd hier op keo??/ Fok ek het gedink as ek terug kom na 3 weke dat jy al uit gesit is deur die municipality… :!:

• 247.CUZZY - Rugby Supporters Voice: Reply to this comment

K9,

Wat gaan jy daar maak??? Moddereiland???

• 248.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#239 grootblousmile: Ek het op n keer gaan inloer by die museum op n dorpie met die naam van Enkhuizen, aan die Noord-See in Nederland.
    Het my voorgeslag daar gaan nalees (my grootoupa was vandaar), toe kom ek toevallig op die naamstorie af.

• 249.st.a.t.w: Reply to this comment

the best bet for the sharks is if the huricanes lose both their remaining games.the force proved all yaer long that they are a bettr side when they play away from home .they have won more games away then at home so if they could beat the canes(which i think is possible) and the canes lose the following week against the blues (auckland)all the sharks then have to do is win (even without bonus points)

• 250.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Ja nee.

“waratahff”

I’m struggling with that one.

• 251.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#245 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Jy moet die tjommas gaan opsoek daar in London, JL1, Pauld, 4man, hef, Willie en daai ouens.

• 252.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#247 CUZZY – Rugby Supporters Voice: Engeland. So bietjie by familie en vriende kuier en paar dinge uitkyk.

• 253.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#252 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Onthou om by DaOne in te loer!

• 254.rugby911: Reply to this comment

They have just fired their coach, Vickerman may be leaving.. Wont be in top mental shape.. But then again the Boks won cup against worse odds. thank

Anyone with a cunning banner idea?

• 255.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#251 Pietman: Ja was klaar met Willie in kontak. Sal die ander manne kontak as my reelings finaal is.

• 256.CUZZY - Rugby Supporters Voice: Reply to this comment

#252 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Het jy n bietjie ander planne daar broer..??

Nee maar dan stel ek voor ons reel n kuier saam Kwagga, Weti, King Shark, AB ens vir so Dinsdag of Woensdag :?:

• 257.sondebok: Reply to this comment

Dagse mense! What a beautiful day here in Kuiptaun, gunmetal grey with around 100m visibility.

• 258.CUZZY - Rugby Supporters Voice: Reply to this comment

#256 sondebok: Not bad, not bad at all :lol:

• 259.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

#248 Pietman: My oorspronklike SA Stamvader wat in 1672 aan die Kaap arriveer het het ook van Holland gekom…. van iewers in Wesfale naby die Duitse grens……… Jan Barens was sy voorname…….. daar’s ‘n Dorpie met die naam van daai oorspronlike verbuiging van my van…….. vandag nog, daar in Holland.

• 260.rugby911: Reply to this comment

Lotsa Tequila .. another highball sir?

• 261.mongrel: Reply to this comment

#249 ja hey, maybe the canes motor coach or plane will crash killing half the team, neh. but then again, france lost to the argies, the abs lost to france and sa wins the world cup, stranger things have happened, i just can’t recall when!

• 262.Harlequin: Reply to this comment

‘Tah ‘tah ma chance
    ta ta ma semi finals

• 263.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#260 mongrel: You at Newlands Saturday?
    Gonna be a cracker, don’t miss it bro’ !

• 264.rugby911: Reply to this comment

#261 Harlequin: hehehe thats a cooker!

• 265.rugby911: Reply to this comment

Howzit Pietman I am at the Danie Craven side try-line – I bought tickets on Monday seating was nearly sold out!!!

• 266.KingPaul: Reply to this comment

#252 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Wanneer gaan jy oor? Ek vlieg self die einde van die maand oor vir 2weke. Bietjie daai Engelse wys hoe hou die Boere troue!!

• 267.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#264 rugby911: Good, the more the merrier!
    It is going be an awful evening at N’lands.

• 268.rugby911: Reply to this comment

Yup, expecting to get cold, maybe wet. But hey the vibe is always great. I was surprised last week how easy it is to chirp the players – you are close enough to do some solid work on the oppositions fragile psyche…

• 269.Harry the beach walker: Reply to this comment

Katman @ 244 – the ever self – effacing Katman. Considering that you invented wordplay, I don’t think that I did too badly.

Dawn @ 250 – I thought “waratahff” was rather colloquial and smart. I wouldn’t be surprised to see that on a lampost.

Waratahff crowd today.

• 270.Ed_the_Lion: Reply to this comment

Leeus by 90.

• 271.rugby911: Reply to this comment

#268 Harry the beach walker:
    Hi Harry, how about applying that commanding turn of phrase to a few good banner ideas re the Stormers/Tahs game?

• 272.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#256 CUZZY – Rugby Supporters Voice: Klink goed …ons sal nog bietjie praat.

• 273.katman: Reply to this comment

#268 Harry the beach walker: You’ll see I write my name with a lower case k. Please respect this.

• 274.Ed_the_Lion: Reply to this comment

Gelukkig weet JC en Kempo nie waarvan hulle praat nie.

• 275.rugby911: Reply to this comment

Sorry, meant Saturdays game

• 276.CRAZY-Shark: Reply to this comment

Hey everyone!

I’ve put together a chart showing possibile results for the last 2 rounds of the Super 14, and I’ve inserted these results into the log, showing us strong possibilities of where the teams will stand after each of these last two rounds.

Click my nick to go to the website, I think it’s the first story!

Do yourselves a favour and check it out!

And JC and Kempo, I reckon you lot are wrong on the Shark’s vs Cheetahs result…

• 277.katman: Reply to this comment

#269 Ed_the_Lion: Somewhere in that ballpark.

• 278.Harry the beach walker: Reply to this comment

Rugby 911 @ 264 – I’ll throw you a beer from my suite. How I miss the atmosphere and comraderie of the terraces. The copious amounts of free booze and tucker hardly make up for it. Pray tell what a ticket costs now? Last time I bought 1 was in 1998.

• 279.Dawn: Reply to this comment

#277 Harry the beach walker:

Pompous twit.

• 280.Ed_the_Lion: Reply to this comment

#276 katman
    I’m sitting in a very hot Mozambique drinking a 2M draught, connecting to the wireless, and now I must read their ****** predictions.
    I have a good feeling that the Lions are going to pull through this weekend.
    Not for the Sharks or any other SA side, but for themselves and their supporters.

• 281.Harry the beach walker: Reply to this comment

Rugby911 @ 270 – in how many words or less.

• 282.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#278 Harry the beach walker: Harry…u a barman there?

• 283.katman: Reply to this comment

#277 Harry the beach walker: Since your people started scoring the corporate suite tickets, the aunties that do the catering have been laughing all the way to the bank. Got to get your money’s worth, hey – al R0-00 of it.

Throw me a beer too, please.

• 284.Harry the beach walker: Reply to this comment

Dawn @ 278 – what? I offer to generously share alcohol and I’m labelled pompous? I bare my soul regarding the soullessnes of “corporate newlands” and you lambast me.

Will I ever do anything right in your sight/cite/site?

• 285.rugby911: Reply to this comment

Harry you are that guy.
    Now how about some banner ideas?

• 286.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#281 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: No, old Harry is high up in the VIP suites, sipping crackling, while us ordinary okes have to drink from a halfjack OB in the gatsak to keep warm out there on the terraces…

• 287.rugby911: Reply to this comment

#281 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: lol!

• 288.sondebok: Reply to this comment

#283 Harry the beach walker: You choose to partake of the soulless corporate hospitality on offer. No symapthy for you, you lucky bugger.

• 289.Harry the beach walker: Reply to this comment

K9 @ 281 – correct, mate. Ran the bar for a few years for the firm I worked for when I was too low a form of life to score tickets every week. Eventually I was no longer pond scum and graduated to marketing clients at rugger on a weekly basis. Now I’m fortunate enough to have access to box tickets for every game played at Newlands by virtue of my employment. Some childhood dreams do come true. The beach walker remembers being a young lad on the standing room terraces in the pouring rain shouting “Prooooovince” at the top of his lungs whilst looking up at the bright, inviting warm glow of the suites and thinking “one day, if i work hard, it could be me up there”.

The Gravy train – koo koo ka choo choo

• 290.rugby911: Reply to this comment

Harry just needs to get lots of attention, a bit tiresome. We have all had to deal with needy young uns in some circumstance or other. We must just keep him occupied.

• 291.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#288 Harry the beach walker:
    I admire your outlook on life, nothing wrong with the gravy train if you have earned your spot through hard work.
    Too many gavy trainers nowadays who just demand a ticket to ride along with the rest as their right without any contribution on their part.

• 292.AB - Join RUGBY SUPPORTERS VOICE: Reply to this comment

#275 CRAZY-Shark: I like your table, quite interesting! Is it based solely on this seasons performance and have you take home advantage into account as well?

• 293.KingPaul: Reply to this comment

Harry @288
    Pass ‘n bietjie van daai gravy die kant toe asseblief.

• 294.Gr8ter: Reply to this comment

#279 Ed_the_Lion: Life sucks Ed – sitting in my 4 x 4 office with strobe lighting sipping rooibos listening to clients talking ****! Hope you are right mate – but I some how don’t see it!

• 295.Harlequin: Reply to this comment

Will the stormers choke, like the Sharks and the All Blacks last year? Time will tell.

Quite frankly I thought the Stormers were quite lucky when they were awarded a penalty try last weekend. It seemed to me that the seriousness of the situation did not warrant both a yellow card for the Brumbies flyahalf and a penalty try. I thought that was harsh and ultimately the moment on which the result hinged.

I think this is the game where Peter Grant finally shows whether he is Springbok pedigree or not. Frankly I don’t see it, but given his form I have given him the benefit of the doubt. But I think this weekend will be make or break for his aspirations. If they lose, Stormers can forget about semi finals.

• 296.rugby911: Reply to this comment

#280 Harry the beach walker:
    Harry go for something short and chirpy, eg
    “Tah ‘tah ma chance
    ta ta ma semi finals”
    was a good one

• 297.Harry the beach walker: Reply to this comment

Katman @ 282 – yes, Katman. The hunter / gatherer mentality of the beach walkers mean they often over indulge in times of plenty in order to cope with the lean times. Unfortunately, the lean times are few and far between now. Being able to earn more than a slave wage in the Baas’ textile sweat shops has seen to that. Sadly, the mentality still lingers. You have no idea how it infuriates the beach walker when his own family keeps having birthday parties at buffet restuarants. Ala carte for f**k sake, please.

• 298.Gr8ter: Reply to this comment

#290 Pietman: Have for the past 3 years been at every home game (WP) thanks to being invited to a suppliers box – the buggers are doing well this year and the supplier does’nt have his Fing box any more!!! Hows that for kak!

• 299.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#289 Harry the beach walker: Thats the way to go…….just when I started to get myself into a box at Ellis on a regular basis…….the crowds stopped coming…… :roll: Some guys cant win.

• 300.Harry the beach walker: Reply to this comment

Rugbyjoumaseporsche911 – mmmmm, short and chirpy?

“Casper De Vries”

• 301.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#297 Gr8ter: Eish, yes bietjie van n kuk een daai, luck of the draw went against you.
    As K9 says, some guys just can’t win.

• 302.K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Reply to this comment

#298 Gr8ter: Unlucky!!!!!!!!

• 303.Dumb Supporter: Reply to this comment

Ok, I know this is a silly exercise and that other teams can make similar claims, but nevertheless, I would like to put down a Cheetahs team that could have been, had the union been able to compete with the bigger unions in keeping the talent in region.

15. Kirshner
    14. Windgat now playing in France
    13. Marius Joubert
    12. Meyer Bosman
    11. Frans Steyn
    10. Willem de Waal
    9. Ruan Pienaar
    8. Duane Vermeulen
    7. Juan Smith
    6. Heinrich Brussow
    5. Corniel van Zyl
    4. Barend Pieterse
    3. Jannie Dup
    2. Tiaan Liebenberg
    1. CJ

16. Hendro Scholtz
    17. Jongi Nokwe
    18. Rory Duncan
    19. Wian du Preez
    20. Falie Oelshig
    21. Nog ‘n yster

Coach: Rassie & Naka

• 304.rugby911: Reply to this comment

#294 Harlequin:
    You are right, another brain **** by SW – but this time in our favour. Yet Stormers still looked good, despite the sleep walking later. I must say watching Tony Brown closely, I was at the game, he seems to have an awarenness of the flow of play superior to PG. He makes the important tackles, and decision making has shown his great experience. I saw him steal a ball as he tackled (who?) and pass it out in one motion in his own 22. In this situation better then to do the ‘rule of thumb’ thing of kicking for safety.

• 305.katman: Reply to this comment

#295 rugby911: Here’s one for you:

Just what the Stormers need, Bryan. A banner.

(not sure who Bryan is in this sentence, but when you’re me you are granted obscene amounts of poetic license)

• 306.Harlequin: Reply to this comment

What better mentor for for a future bok flyhalf? Butch had Brown and that brilliant scot Townsend for his mentor before he blossomed into the quality flyhalf he is today.

• 307.cane: Reply to this comment

Rugby is best watched from among The Great Unwashed,
    On the terraces and from the Stands.

Alcohol induced enthusiasm, obtained from complimentary beverages.
    Sipped behind double glazing, in air conditioned luxury …………………is no match for being among the primal heartbeat of grassroots fans, who’s enthusiasm is so powerful, that it can lift a Team to Victory.

No Rugby Team was ever lifted to another level by those who watch from behind glass partitions…………..There, dwell those who have lost their spirit and their roots.

• 308.Gr8ter: Reply to this comment

#301 K9_BaasPatrolliehond: Ja – trying to convince the MD to get a box – tried all the marketing **** – won’t bite though – a cricket fan!

• 309.Pietman: Reply to this comment

#302 Dumb Supporter:
    Very interesting indeed.

• 310.rugby911: Reply to this comment

#299 Harry the beach walker: rather witty reparte. yawn

• 311.Gr8ter: Reply to this comment

#306 cane: Granted – in the summer rainfall areas fine until the shadow catches up – in the winter rainfall area – sorry I did my time in the trenches! Even with dry as a bone kit you still look and feel like a cat rescued from a drain!

• 312.BillTong: Reply to this comment

Kempo,

Yr internet wires are obviously a bit twisted.

“that’s if the snow doesn’t freeze the pitch” – if it snows in Brisbane where the game is being played, that probably means the Reds have won (as in in will be a cold day in hell before the Red’s beat the Crusaders).

• 313.jabba: Reply to this comment

thats forsure billtong!

• 314.rugby911: Reply to this comment

#304 katman: I guess it means I am Bryan. I need a banner.

• 315.Gr8ter: Reply to this comment

#311 BillTong: HaaaaaaHaaaaaHaaaa – that is such a good chirp!

• 316.katman: Reply to this comment

#306 cane: “Rugby is best watched from among The Great Unwashed”

Surely rugby can be watched and enjoyed outside Dunedin too?

• 317.katman: Reply to this comment

#313 rugby911: My inner voice told me to dumb it down. Should have listened.

• 318.rugby911: Reply to this comment

#306 cane: Too true Cane. Nicely imaged
    ” No Rugby Team was ever lifted to another level by those who watch from behind glass partitions”.
    And another small point for which I will be laughed at : I see whole families at games, fathers with kids, couples – and in my opinion they are there for the game and atmosphere not the booze and extras! The vibe in the stands is testament to this family atmosphere (with exceptions..).

• 319.sondebok: Reply to this comment

#304 katman: Was it your agency that had the banner competition among the staff when the Springboks paraded Billy Ellis around the mother city?

• 320.BillTong: Reply to this comment

Cane,

“No Rugby Team was ever lifted to another level by those who watch from behind glass partitions”.

Beg to differ mate – several rugby teams have been “lifted” from New Zealand by the “Box Dwellers” that own English & French rugby teams, I think.

• 321.rugby911: Reply to this comment

#316 katman: Well I am still hoping you are far too wylie a human to ignore your inner voice

• 322.Harry the beach walker: Reply to this comment

rugbyjoumasseporsche911 @ 320 – try keeping the humour fresh, mate. The whole wylie / human etc thing was done to death last week. Rehashing humourous phrases coined by others, a week later in the hope that everyone has forgotten, does not necessarily make you funny.

You do however make me laugh.

• 323.Harry the beach walker: Reply to this comment

Billtong @ 311 – nice and sharp there, Billtong. You certainly gave Cane something to chew* on. Cane, he certainly hasn’t sugar coated** it for you.

*biltong is chewy
    **sugar comes from cane (sugarcane)

• 324.BillTong: Reply to this comment

Harry,

I thought Cane came from a Bottle :-)

• 325.DucknMaul_1: Reply to this comment

How come Venter gets all teh credit for the Stormers backline play? Surely it must be Allistair, considering how long venter has been in the mix with WP rugby and all. I think Brendon is there to help the Stormers Team doctor.

• 326.cane: Reply to this comment

#319 BillTong:

I stand corrected and humble.

And they continue to “lift teams” even as I sleep.

They will be scouting age group players soon.

• 327.CRAZY-Shark: Reply to this comment

#291 AB – Join RUGBY SUPPORTERS VOICE:
    Hey AB.

Thanks for visiting the site. No money made. Just wanted folk’s opinions. Yeah, we’ve taken into account a number of factors. Home-ground advantage. Current form/momentum etc. IE Stormers are soaring. ‘Tahs are battling with their SA leg. Bulls playing good rugga.

But it’s always dangerous making such direct predictions, as you stand get more wrong! :-)

Hey, is everyone else experiencing Keo being SO slow!?? Especially this page!

• 328.rugby911: Reply to this comment

how now hairy the crack stalker, surely you do not live on this site?

Well forgive me for not trawling blogs 24/7, I mean honestly I had not thought this rather boringly obvious wordplay was funny at all, untill this specific opportunity forced my hand, the common denominator being wingers etc..

These newby bloggers are so desperate

• 329.WP Till I Die : Reply to this comment

#325 cane:

Kia ora, cane. Good to read you again.

• 330.rangerman: Reply to this comment

now i am no ,mathmetician, so i may be wrong here, but the s14 is made up of 13 games per side excluding the semis and the final. this means that there are 13 rounds before the semis, no?
    this is why i am a little confused about this being the preview for round 13.
    i am so confused!

• 331.rangerman: Reply to this comment

careless journalism. endemic to this site/cite/sight (with apologies to harry).

• 332.katman: Reply to this comment

#329 rangerman: Chuck in a bye for each team along the way and you have 14 rounds.

• 333.Blue Nine: Reply to this comment

#124 Blue Nine

Hurricanes
    Bulls
    Blues
    Crusaders
    Sharks
    Chiefs
    Stormers

• 334.katman: Reply to this comment

#332 Blue Nine: You want the Prediction thread. This is the Preview thread.

• 335.ruggamad_dave: Reply to this comment

canes
    bulls
    blues
    saders
    cheetahs
    chiefs
    stormers

• 336.stormbokbefok: Reply to this comment

i can’t wait for kick off and the taste of that first sip of the golden nectar.

stormers by 6

• 337.JC: Reply to this comment

Rangerman – Fourteen rounds before play-offs. Each team has a bye, remember?

You don’t need to be a journalist or a mathematician to know that. Somebody who looked up the meaning of ‘endemic’ before posting would surely have taken the time to gloss over the tournament’s structure.

I dunno. Maybe I’m asking too much. Keep that constructive criticism coming.

• 338.Buksie: Reply to this comment

35# Isigidi (My rekenaar het gekonk. Please receive prediction.)

Force
    Bulls
    Blues
    Crusaders
    Sharks
    Chiefs
    Stormers

• 339.Lang Giel: Reply to this comment

There is no prediction link in place. Therefore:
    Hurricanes
    Bulls
    Blues
    Crusaders
    Sharks
    Chiefs
    Waratahs

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.