Bobes takes WP reins
2 Jul 2008
Gcobani Bobo has been awarded the Western Province captaincy for the remainder of the domestic season.
Ross Skeate led WP in their first two matches, but coach Allister Coetzee made it clear at the start of the season no final call on the captaincy had been made. Bobo returned to WP last week after training with the Springboks, and after one Absa Currie Cup game Coetzee has opted to give him the job.
“Ross is the now the vice-captain of the side,” Coetzee told keo.co.za. “I feel he has led the side with distinction in the last two games, but it was always planned that Gcobani would captain the side.
“Gcobani was captain of WP Schools, so in a sense him captaining the Currie Cup side now sees him coming full circle.”
Schalk Brits has captained WP before, but given that Peter de Villiers rates him as the third-best hooker in South Africa, Brits is effectively on standby should incumbent Bok hookers John Smit and Bismarck du Plessis break down with injury.
Bobo, who was also surplus to Bok requirement, said he was thrilled with the opportunity.
“It’s an honour and a privilege, but I’m just a facilitator,” he said. “Having guys like Ross, AJ Venter and Schalk Brits in the team will make my job easier.”
Only one change is made to the side that beat the Blue Bulls last Saturday with prop Wicus Blaauw getting his first start in the front row. Blaauw will front up to Free State’s Kobus Calldo in a crucial scrum-time battle.
“We’ve gone for a horse for courses approach,” said Coetzee, who’s expecting a physical onslaught this Saturday. “Wicus did well coming on last week and I feel he will lend more stability in the scrum first up.
“I’m not saying Schalk Ferreira is a poor scrummer, but I think he will be better utilised off the bench.”
There was an injury concern with flyhalf Willem de Waal leaving the training field early on Wednesday. Coetzee believes it is not serious and the former Free Stater should be fit to meet his old team-mates at Newlands.
WP – 15 Gio Aplon, 14 Tonderai Chavhanga, 13 Dylan Des Fountain, 12 Gcobani Bobo (c), 11 Wylie Human, 10 Willem de Waal, 9 Alastair Siegelaar, 8 AJ Venter, 7 Francois Louw, 6 Pieter Myburgh, 5 Ross Skeate, 4 Adriaan Fondse, 3 Brok Harris, Schalk Brits, 1 Wicus Blaauw.
Subs: Deon Fourie, Schalk Ferreira, Francois van der Merwe, Justin Melck, Paul Delport, Isma-eel Dollie, Morgan Newman.
By Jon Cardinelli

179 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] Show All
2 Jul 2008, 15:54 pm
#14 greatest13gerber:
Waar loop jy rond boet?? Kan jy nou glo, WP gaan later vanjaar die Bulle op Loftus trap, en dit nogal met ‘n Rasta as kaptein!! Jy skaam jou seker al klaar dood? Shame…
2 Jul 2008, 15:55 pm
#149 Valkman: Ek speelie snap nie……. dis vir Kommin ous soos jy !
2 Jul 2008, 15:56 pm
#147 sondebok:
Adenochrome?
2 Jul 2008, 15:56 pm
sondebok, as soon as the baby arrives and there is some sort of order! early august, when do you get back from the trip?
2 Jul 2008, 15:58 pm
#152 grootblousmile: Howzit oom Bloues?
2 Jul 2008, 15:59 pm
#155 KingPaul: Goed en jy Koning, o Koning !
2 Jul 2008, 15:59 pm
#154 BuckT: I get back on the second weekend of august. I`m gonna play at Simola when we pass through Knysna.
#153 Valkman: Definitely not a laxative, judging by the kicking style.
2 Jul 2008, 16:03 pm
#157 sondebok: enjoy, it’s a great course…what about pinnacle point or the other courses in the area?
2 Jul 2008, 16:05 pm
Bobes?
Jeez, I hope none of his mates call him that.
Would someone PLEASE ask all coaches and “journos” to stop killing this wildly overused “horses for courses” cliché ****?
2 Jul 2008, 16:05 pm
#158 BuckT: It would be nice to play pinnacle point as well, but I suppose I need to spend some quality time with the wife too
Knysna is the place where it all started for us, and where we got engaged.
2 Jul 2008, 16:06 pm
#156 grootblousmile: Nee wat, lekker koud hier in Stellies, en gaan lyk my net nog kouer raak. Darem bly om weer op Keo te wees, alhoewel die ding nog steeds ‘n paar nukke het. Spyt ek kan nie saam met julle ‘n paar shots kom vat vanaand nie.
2 Jul 2008, 16:08 pm
#161 KingPaul: Janee, ek en Bonzai GBS moet juis so teen 17:00 maar innie pad val daar na die kuierplek toe…….
Goeie bordjie kossies wegpak en dan kan die alkohol maar vloei !
2 Jul 2008, 16:09 pm
#159 thefeather:
Ja, seems like they’re always trying to either add an “o” or an “s” for then nickname, i.e. “Smitto”, “Skeato”, “Bobes”, “Juano” etc.
Just call me Valko.
2 Jul 2008, 16:10 pm
#163 Valkman: Rock me Amadeus!
2 Jul 2008, 16:12 pm
#163 Valkman: without the V. Alko.
#163 Valkman: It seems to work in a sick it-just-sounds-right kinda way with the Ozzies, but Juano (isn’t that a bird dropping?), Smitto, Butcho, Beasto just don’t seem to go down that well.
What shall we call Watermelon Watson then?
Aaah, I know… Useless!
#162 grootblousmile: Living from hand to beer to mouth, I see. Mooi so!
2 Jul 2008, 16:14 pm
So does that mean Aplon’s first name is actually Gi?
2 Jul 2008, 16:18 pm
#166 thefeather:
Hey, leave Luke alone – he looks just like an oke I gym with!
2 Jul 2008, 16:20 pm
#169 Valkman: Does your oke also walk too far away from his arms and hang around the back of rucks looking frightened?
2 Jul 2008, 16:22 pm
#168 thefeather: Will Kank be playing this weekend? lol
#163 Valkman: And what about Os, or is he the man without a name??
2 Jul 2008, 16:23 pm
Force Valk Five, out!
2 Jul 2008, 16:25 pm
#171 KingPaul: Ha ha ha, nice one.
Os qualifies cos he has an O and an S. Legendary stuff. The commentators would have to go silent for a split second just before they say his surname every time.
2 Jul 2008, 16:28 pm
#163 Valkman: Only guy who can get away with that is Anton Chigurh (Javier Bardem) in No Country for Old Men. When he calls you friendo you meekly pee down your leg and think of all the things you never got round to doing.
2 Jul 2008, 16:39 pm
#166 thefeather: We can call Twatson “Melanoma”………. it’s mos a type of cancer……..
2 Jul 2008, 18:08 pm
#166 thefeather:
It’s actually Butchie! And Watson is just “that arrogant Tool”
2 Jul 2008, 20:18 pm
#176 Butch James 4 president: love the name….
and arrogant tool is pretty close….he must have a little bit of self loving sessions as well, so i’d be inclined to throw in wanker!
3 Jul 2008, 12:00 pm
This is BRILLIANT news. Couldnt of happened to a nicer guy. Gcobani is playing the best rugby of his career, and is very unlucky not to have gone to NZ with the Boks for the Tri-Nations.
A great choice for WP Captain.
4 Jul 2008, 05:56 am
Go Bobo.He has come a long way since leading WP in the Craven Week as Flanker.He wont let provice down!
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] Show All