digimag-banner

Bok scrum expect AB onslaught

Springbok captain John Smit has highlighted the importance of outscrumming the All Blacks in the first Tri Nations Test in New Zealand.

It’s been a disappointing facet for the Boks, as they struggled in the first Test against Wales and then against a third-rate Italy front row. The man who lent them stability, BJ Botha, is not on tour while there is a possibility youngsters Brian Mujati and Beast Mtawarira could come up against Tony Woodcock and Greg Somerville.

Smit told Die Burger that this set-piece will present the most significant challenge of the 5 July fixture.

“The All Blacks have dominated their opponents in the scrums in every match they’ve played this season,” he said. “The All Blacks got the upper hand, despite England’s strong scrum. That’s a feather in their caps.”

The English didn’t provide much resistance for New Zealand, who scored comfortable victories in both of the two Tests. These were merely warm-ups for the upcoming clash against the World Champions.

“There are some Test matches that you know will be hard,” Smit said. “The All Blacks in New Zealand is one of those in which the physical aspect is non-negotiable.

“If you don’t stand up in that respect, you’re going to be on the back foot from the outset. We must not let ourselves down from a physical viewpoint.”

Smit said the absence of All Blacks captain of Richie McCaw won’t debilitate the hosts.

“The All Blacks would, of course, have liked Richie to be part of their team but there is no such thing as a weak All Blacks team. And they’re playing at home, which is a huge factor.”

The Bok captain also denounced the new laws. Saturday will be the first time he plays under the ELVs having spent the European season with French club Clermont.

“They never tried to reinvent the wheel before, so why do it now. There was nothing wrong with the old laws, and you couldn’t find an empty seat in stadiums in France.”

319 Responses to “Bok scrum expect AB onslaught”

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 » Show All

• 101. DazzlerReply to this comment :

#92 tight head:

“Play battle hardened, test match tight forwards.
    You build individuals off the bench.”

CJ has over 50 Bok caps, hence the reason he is first choice (BJ has less than 20). Mujati is the up and coming youngster, hence the reason he is playing off the bench, to build him.

I still fail to see what your arguement is. Everything you’re saying is in fact what the Boks are doing.

• 102. SniperReply to this comment :

#82 Tokyo Hooker: Being a Hooker in Tokyo should be rewarding – money wise! The Yen is stong! But Smit as prop – na get back to work.

• 103. SniperReply to this comment :

#93 eight ball: Morning China! Have been away and out of touch! Are you well?

• 104. DazzlerReply to this comment :

#100 tight head:

No my logic is just fine… YOU made that point when you were defending the weak Bok scrum when BJ was at tighthead.

Whats good enough for the goose is good enough for the gander I’m afraid. If it wasnt BJ’s fault that he got hammered in the scrums but rather the rest of the forward pack, then the same must be said for every other tighhead, including Mujati.

I’m just making a point

• 105. skolsReply to this comment :

Guys there is something really special about playing the All Blacks, i never feel like this before any game.

I just wish I could go to sleep and wake up on Saturday morning – I feel like a kid before christmas.

• 106. PlayBallReply to this comment :

#102 Sniper: He has actually played both tight and loosehead at stages in matches for SA and looked quite tidy!

• 107. tight headReply to this comment :

#101 Dazzler:
    Dazz, you convienently left out my last sentence.
    Bj is a better tight head than CJ and has enough test experience.
    That is my opinion.
    I am not arguing.

• 108. SniperReply to this comment :

#106 PlayBall: Tongue in cheek Bru. :lol:

• 109. eight ballReply to this comment :

#95 Francois Steyn is over-rated: Boet, let me state clearly that I don’t necessarily agree with what PDV is doing but that I do agree with what you are saying, basically I think front row forwards are very different to back line players in their maturing process. I think Beast and Mujati did well at S14 level this season, especially when in their position (Mujati) with a good pack around them.
    I’m no tight head, he knows his **** about the scrums, I don’t.

• 110. DazzlerReply to this comment :

#107 tight head:

On whose opinion is BJ a better tighthead, yours right? Ok now just because you think so, doesn’t make it fact and done and dusted and written into the 11 commandments.

That is the point I’m trying make

• 111. SharkMarineReply to this comment :

#97 captain fantail:
    I think our belief is solely based on the fact that NZ has lost a lot of players to European teams…..And ja, Richie not playing will also be a huge factor too. Break down points should be a walk in the park for Schalck.

• 112. BootsReply to this comment :

Cj Smit Guth front row will be fine to start with. My worry is later on the game when the ELVS have created tired legs for these big boys. What are they going to do then? Change the entire front row? Beast, Bis and Mujati, that would be looking for trouble. Not so much in the loose but more at scrum time.

Maybe he’ll move smit to prop but I dont know how his legs will feel at the end of 70 minutes not having played under the ELVS

• 113. Francois Steyn is over-ratedReply to this comment :

#106 PlayBall: I disagree, every time Smit has moved to prop at international level, our scrum has been weakened visually.

• 114. sienerReply to this comment :

#97 captain fantail: This is they way I see it: One if the things that Jake White achieved was to build a very strong core of players. PdV inherited that core, but unlike Jake he likes to mix things up a bit and he’s willing to try new things – like playing a more attacking game.

So, by not just giving us more of the same (that hasn’t been working for the last 10 years) it at least gives us the chance of a different outcome.

Of course it might also backfire horribly…

• 115. eight ballReply to this comment :

#103 Sniper: Howzit boet, noticed that you hadn’t been around much. I’m schweet thanks, even though I now work full time and probably wont be on this site as much as it picks up momentum… ho hum
    Looking forward to the game huge tho.

• 116. tight headReply to this comment :

#104 Dazzler:
    No Dazz.
    It is possible to blame a tight head in a particular match, just the same as it is possible to blame the scrumming techique of the whole pack in a particular game.
    You cannot simply draw a line through the reasoning and think it is a formula.

• 117. tight headReply to this comment :

Any way I am out of here now.
    Catch up later.
    Cheers Dazz!!

• 118. Richie_7Reply to this comment :

#74 Dazzler:

#75 Johnny T:

Everybody knows the ball is won up front, but its no use if you have a good scrum and a backline who can’t get the ball from scrumhalf to wing without kicking away possesion or knocking it on. Too much emphasis is being placed on the scrum at this stage and not enough on SA’s lack of creativity in the backline

• 119. DazzlerReply to this comment :

#116 tight head:

Then why do you argue that whenever BJ gets pushed backwards it’s not his fault but those around him? Could it not be that maybe, just maybe, BJ is not as good as everyone thinks?

• 120. SniperReply to this comment :

#115 eight ball: Had a lekka break and glad to see you are going to do some work again! :lol: Can’t wait for the game and really looking forward to see where we stand internationally. Good luck in the new job!

• 121. BootsReply to this comment :

I think because of the dynamics of SA Rugby Snor had to choose between BJ and CJ so decided to take CJ cause he can do both sides of the scrum.

• 122. Francois Steyn is over-ratedReply to this comment :

#110 Dazzler: Also Jake White’s. Look I know I am a bit biased, but it would probably be fair to say the Sharks have had the strongest scrummaging side in the S14 for the last 2 years? This is due to the scrumming prowess of our tightheads and possibly the fact that Johan Muller is a very strong scrummager and under-rated in this department. As a result my (perhaps biased) view is that BJ is one of the best tightheads in the S14.

• 123. JL1Reply to this comment :

#104 Dazzler: Tighthead likes the name “BJ” :lol:

• 124. Francois Steyn is over-ratedReply to this comment :

#121 Boots: That is probably the best explanation I have heard. Its the only one that makes sense.

• 125. brains_trustReply to this comment :

bla bla bla – we be having it !!!

• 126. eight ballReply to this comment :

#120 Sniper: Thanks buddy. I’m enjoying the frenetic pace and the energy. Working on my own was miserable.

I’m just hoping that we stand firm in the scrums because we should have the upper hand in the lineouts and loose… also hope that Adi has a big game.

• 127. SharkMarineReply to this comment :

#122 Francois Steyn is over-rated:
    Where on earth is Richard Bands?

• 128. DazzlerReply to this comment :

I don’t doubt BJ’s ability in the S14, but I’m yet to really see him impress at international level. The Bok scrum has been suspect for a number of seasons now, its not a new thing. And my arguement is, I really doubt the problem was OS, so could it be BJ? Possibly

• 129. asha1Reply to this comment :

“… the Sharks have had the strongest scrummaging side in the S14 for the last 2 years?”

nope, but they did have an awesome scrum last year!!
    now why is something bothering me ….
    last year …. last year ….. s14
    now whats bothering me?
    ag, dont know, there couldnt have been THAT many ab injured or not playing!
    (i’m sure i’ll get it sometime later today :shock: )

• 130. klingon_xReply to this comment :

#28 Dazzler:

“In light of the fact that BJ is now off overseas (so is CJ but they didnt know it at the time) and wont be playing for the Boks all that much due to the restrictions in place,”

What “restrictions” ?

• 131. klingon_xReply to this comment :

#129 asha1:

“nope, but they did have an awesome scrum last year!!”

It is because the presence of Frans Steyn disrupted their scrums too.

• 132. DazzlerReply to this comment :

#130 klingon_x:

That overseas based players are only allowed to play a certain amount of games for their country. A new ruling by the IRB, includes all countries not just SA.

We might lose Butch as well because of it…

• 133. WPjoulekkerdingReply to this comment :

#<#87 wpw: a href=”#comment-899608″>61 tight head: Should have written Pierre

• 134. FrenklyMuDeahReply to this comment :

#127 SharkMarine: Bands last I heard was playing for Bulls second team and thinking of going to Natal. Wasn’t in form and had head problems.

• 135. sienerReply to this comment :

#132 Dazzler: Do you maybe have details on the ruling? I’ve heard rumours, but I haven’t seen anything solid.

If you think it’s going to hit us hard, spare a thought for Argentina

• 136. DawnReply to this comment :

Does anybody know the identity of The Stig in Top Gear Extra.

• 137. klingon_xReply to this comment :

#132 Dazzler:

“That overseas based players are only allowed to play a certain amount of games for their country. A new ruling by the IRB, includes all countries not just SA.”

You must have picked that up from the sarugby webshite. There is no such an IRB ruling. Nothing. Nada. What that pisspoor journo was trying to refer to was the Woking Accord which stipulates that ALL players shouldn’t play more than 11 tests per year. The problem with overseas players like Butch has got to do with club versus national side commitments.

• 138. SharkMarineReply to this comment :

#134 FrenklyMuDeah:

Bands at his best would make any loose-head run for cover….And that includes Woodcock,Tialata and Sheridan

• 139. SniperReply to this comment :

#126 eight ball: Sorry had a short meeting but back now! I know working alone can be very lonely and agree with your regarding scrums. Adi will play a blinder – I am sure!

• 140. SniperReply to this comment :

#136 Dawn: Why?

• 141. sienerReply to this comment :

#119 Dazzler: Let me explain what TH is trying to say: When BJ gets pushed back it’s because the other 7 players in the scrum are useless. When people like CJ or Mujati get pushed back it’s their fault because they’re clearly useless.

I hope that clears it up.

• 142. DazzlerReply to this comment :

#141 siener:

Perfectly, that’s what I thought he was trying to say, but i was trying to make him see it. Because i dont think he does…

• 143. sparticusReply to this comment :

Hey Katman , how much more days for daddy time ? I see someone posting about it , Mine is due in 3 weeks.

Sprry I know not rugby related , just so happy and all

• 144. SniperReply to this comment :

#143 sparticus: Congrats! First one? Some advice:
    1. Go to bed early
    2. Sleep in

BECAUSE: You will be tired soon brother!

• 145. shooterReply to this comment :

This scrumming debate can go on forever. There are still 15 players on the field. Many sides won and lost with better possesion stats. We are still going to kill them in the loose, in the broken loose, in the line-outs and counter attack. Sing with me…Habanananana. And then.. the other important aspects of this game will be how our centres do against some straight running and midfield attacks with forwards. D Carter’s day on the day vs Butch.. and if January has a good day.
    As long as we don’t get shoved back all the time, we better concentrate on what we do well. That is what Juan, Schalk, Spies, JdV and Habana do.
    Shall we just choose to dominate instead of anticipating what we’ll be up against.

• 146. pepinilloReply to this comment :

Steyn is at least the best SA winger after Hebana. He should at least play in that position which would give him freedom to play around the park…….
    He is fast, strong, brave and has a huge boot……..he is defenetly better than the other wingers exept Hebana.

• 147. JL1Reply to this comment :

#136 Dawn: Some people think he is an alien, others think that he has a great power unknown to man

• 148. klingon_xReply to this comment :

#146 pepinillo:

“He is fast, strong, brave and has a huge boot”

By international wing standards Steyn can definitely not be described as “fast”. In my opinion he is too slow for 15,14,11 and 13.

• 149. shooterReply to this comment :

#145 shooter: plus Steyn, Smit, Bakkies and Matfield. And the 3 other guys I didn’t mention. oh yes, and the bad boys on the bench.

• 150. shooterReply to this comment :

#146 pepinillo: Sounds like the Rolls Royce of wings then.

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 » Show All

About the author

JC has written 4547 articles.

Personal website

Poll

Should Peter de Villiers be axed?
View Results

Back in time

Recent Comments

digimag-banner
Terms and conditions of use | My Profile
keo.co.za is the online partner to SA Rugby magazine and SA Cricket magazine.
Copyright 2008 Keo.co.za. All Rights Reserved.HSM Site
Design by osOutsource | Designed by Carthage.
Email Webmaster
Afrigator